Skip to main content

Full text of "Clerical and parochial records of Cork, Cloyne, and Ross : taken from diocesan and parish registries, mss. in the principal libraries and public offices of Oxford, Dublin, and London, and from private or family papers"

See other formats


Google 


This  is  a  digital  copy  of  a  book  that  was  preserved  for  generations  on  library  shelves  before  it  was  carefully  scanned  by  Google  as  part  of  a  project 

to  make  the  world's  books  discoverable  online. 

It  has  survived  long  enough  for  the  copyright  to  expire  and  the  book  to  enter  the  public  domain.  A  public  domain  book  is  one  that  was  never  subject 

to  copyright  or  whose  legal  copyright  term  has  expired.  Whether  a  book  is  in  the  public  domain  may  vary  country  to  country.  Public  domain  books 

are  our  gateways  to  the  past,  representing  a  wealth  of  history,  culture  and  knowledge  that's  often  difficult  to  discover. 

Marks,  notations  and  other  maiginalia  present  in  the  original  volume  will  appear  in  this  file  -  a  reminder  of  this  book's  long  journey  from  the 

publisher  to  a  library  and  finally  to  you. 

Usage  guidelines 

Google  is  proud  to  partner  with  libraries  to  digitize  public  domain  materials  and  make  them  widely  accessible.  Public  domain  books  belong  to  the 
public  and  we  are  merely  their  custodians.  Nevertheless,  this  work  is  expensive,  so  in  order  to  keep  providing  tliis  resource,  we  liave  taken  steps  to 
prevent  abuse  by  commercial  parties,  including  placing  technical  restrictions  on  automated  querying. 
We  also  ask  that  you: 

+  Make  non-commercial  use  of  the  files  We  designed  Google  Book  Search  for  use  by  individuals,  and  we  request  that  you  use  these  files  for 
personal,  non-commercial  purposes. 

+  Refrain  fivm  automated  querying  Do  not  send  automated  queries  of  any  sort  to  Google's  system:  If  you  are  conducting  research  on  machine 
translation,  optical  character  recognition  or  other  areas  where  access  to  a  large  amount  of  text  is  helpful,  please  contact  us.  We  encourage  the 
use  of  public  domain  materials  for  these  purposes  and  may  be  able  to  help. 

+  Maintain  attributionTht  GoogXt  "watermark"  you  see  on  each  file  is  essential  for  in  forming  people  about  this  project  and  helping  them  find 
additional  materials  through  Google  Book  Search.  Please  do  not  remove  it. 

+  Keep  it  legal  Whatever  your  use,  remember  that  you  are  responsible  for  ensuring  that  what  you  are  doing  is  legal.  Do  not  assume  that  just 
because  we  believe  a  book  is  in  the  public  domain  for  users  in  the  United  States,  that  the  work  is  also  in  the  public  domain  for  users  in  other 
countries.  Whether  a  book  is  still  in  copyright  varies  from  country  to  country,  and  we  can't  offer  guidance  on  whether  any  specific  use  of 
any  specific  book  is  allowed.  Please  do  not  assume  that  a  book's  appearance  in  Google  Book  Search  means  it  can  be  used  in  any  manner 
anywhere  in  the  world.  Copyright  infringement  liabili^  can  be  quite  severe. 

About  Google  Book  Search 

Google's  mission  is  to  organize  the  world's  information  and  to  make  it  universally  accessible  and  useful.   Google  Book  Search  helps  readers 
discover  the  world's  books  while  helping  authors  and  publishers  reach  new  audiences.  You  can  search  through  the  full  text  of  this  book  on  the  web 

at|http: //books  .google  .com/I 


^n 

1 

H 

1 

SL,            iiS 

as 

4 

. 

m 

L/Z^V 


CLERICAL  AND  PAROCHIAL  RECORDS 


or 


CORK,  CLOYNE,  AND  ROSS, 


TAKEX   FROM 


DIOCESAN  AND  PARISH  REGISTRIES,  MSS.  IN  THE  PRINCIPAL  LIBRARIES  AND 
PUBUC  OFFICES  OF  OXFORD,  DUBLIN,  AND  LONDON,  AND  FROM 

PRR'ATE  OR  FAMILY  PAPERS. 


■ » 


BY 


Wr  MAZIERE  BRADY,  D.D., 

CHAPLAIN   TO  THB   L.ORO   UKITTKNANT,  AND  VICAR  OP  CLONPXRT,  CLOYNB. 


VOL.  II. 


LONDON: 
LONGMAN,  GREEN,  LONGMAN,  ROBERTS,  AND  GREEN. 

1864. 


«       • 


ABBREVIATIONS. 


Ab.  or  Abb. 
ad.  or  adm. 
Burke's  L.  G. 
Gaulfeild  MSS. 

O.B. 

Chor. 

coll.  Epi.  . 

Cotton 

D.R. 

£.  Ecca,  Eccia,  or  Ecclia 

F.F. 

F.P. 

Imp.  improp.  impropriata 

Lib.  Mun. 

M.B.  or  Mar.  Bond 

M.L. 

M.S. 

MS.  T.C.D. 

P.  or  Preb. 

P.C. 

Ptic. 

q.v. 

R.,  Rec,  Rect. 

R.V.  R.I.A. 

RV.  1615 
R.V.  1634 

Tax.  P.  Nic. 

U.O. 

V.  or  Vic. 

V.B. 

V.B.  D.R. 

V.B.  1699.  D.D. 

Vic.  Chor. 


Abbas  or  Abbatbiam. 

Admittitur,  or  admissus  fiiit. 

Sir  Bernard  Burke's  **  Landed  Grentry." 

Manuscripts  of  Richard  Caulfeild,  esq^. 

F.S.A. 

Chapter  Book. 

Chorum  or  choral. 

Collatione  Episcopi. 

Cotton's  "  Fasti  Ecclesise  Hibemicae." 

Diocesan  Registry. 

Eksclesia. 

First  Fruit  Records. 

Family  Papers. 

Impropriator,  impropriate. 

Liber  Munerum  Hibemise. 

Marriage  Bond. 
„        Licence. 
„        Settlement. 

Manuscript  in  Trinity  College  Lib- 
rary, Dublin. 

Prebend.  Prebendary. 

Perpetual  Curate  or  Curacy. 

Particula. 

Quod  Vide. 

Rectory  or  Rector. 

Royal  Visitation  in  the  Royal  Irish 
Academy. 

Royal  Visitation  of  the  year  1615. 

Royal  Visitation  of  1634,  now  in  the 
Consistorial  Office,  Dublin. 

Taxation  of  Pope  Nicholas. 

Ulster's  Office. 

Vicar  or  Vicarage. 

Visitation  Book. 

„  in  Diocesan  Registry. 

Visitation  Book  of  1699  by  Bishop 
Dive  Downes. 

Vicar  or  Vicarage  Choral. 


•     •    •      -        - 

,    •      •        •    * 


CLOYNE. 


The  Deans  of  Clotne  will  be  found  at  pages 
„  Precentors  „  „  „ 


„  Chancellors 
„  Treasurers 
,9  Archdeacons 
„  Vicars  Choral    „ 


5>                       »  » 

»                       »  » 

»                       J>  » 

»  5> 


196-207,  263 
306-312 
113-119 
387-394 
220-228 
157-169 


ROSS. 


The  Deans  of  Ross  will  be  found  at  page 

,y  Precentors 

99                       99 

jy  Chancellors 

»                        9> 

,9  Treasurers 

99                       »> 

„  Archdeacons 

»                       >5 

„  Vicars  Choral 

»                       » 

425-431 
432-435 
435-438 
438-440 
440-449 
541-546 


RECORDS  OF  CORK,  CLOYNE,  AND  ROSS. 


CLOYNE. 


AGHABULLOGK 

ld91.  "  Rectoria  de  Aghabollig  special  ad  Cancel,  et  Hospit.  de  Mora. 

Vicaria  eequestratur  pro  primitiis.     VacaL"     [MS.  T.C.D.  E. 

3.  14. 
O         1615.  Richard  Allby  is  Curate.     '' AgLabollock  als  Fanbolkej, 
cv  Cancellarias  de   Clone  et  Connack  MoDonogh  Cartj  teneot 

;  rectoriam  valoris  trium  Librarum.    Richardus  Alley  est  curatos. 

P  Ecclesia  et  cancella  rcpantur."     rR.y.  1615.]     Allay  was  also 

^  P.  Inniscarra,  q.  v. 

v         1616.    April  23.  Thomas  O'Obomtne,  adm.  Vicar  de  Aghabollig. 

N        [pj.] 

'         1618.  November  10.  John  Oldis  was  admitted  V.  deAghabolliocke 
l^  als  ffanbolikey  et  V.  de  Rathlearny  als  Eilcolman  quas  Epds 

univit.     Inductus,  5  March,  1618.     [R.V.  1634.] 
^  R.  de  AghaboUicke  als  ffanbolke  special  ad  Abb.  de  Mora. 

Cormack  McDonogh  Carty  est  Impropriator.  Valet  22  li.  per 
an.  Vicarios  est  John  Oldis,  Predicator.  Valet  22  li.  per  an. 
[R.V.  1634.] 

R.  de  Rathlyemey  als  Eilcolman  special  ad  Abb.  de  Mora. 
Cormack  McDonogh  Carty,  Impropriator.  Val.  8  li.  per  an. 
Vicarius  John  Oldis.     Val.  8  li.  per  an.     [R.V.  1634.] 

J.  Oldis,  Aldis,  or  Oldish,  was  ordained  Priest,  by  John, 
Bishop  of  Cork,  on  20th  Dec.,  16ia  In  1687  John  Oldish 
(probably  a  descendant),  and  Margaret  Harris,  both  of  Carrig- 
rohanebeg,  in  Cloyne,  were  married. 
1635.  June  21.  Thomas  Blaokwell  is  presented  to  the  rectory  of 
Ahaballack  and  Kilcoleman,  with  clause  of  union  pro  hac  vice. 
[Lib.  Mun.] 

In  1661  JBlackwell  became  P.  Cahirulian,  q.  y. 

1663  to  1665.  Richard  Botle,  Dean  of  Limerick,  appears  as  V. 

Aghabollig  el  Ralhbener  als  Eilcolman.    ''  Rex  est  Rector  ibm.** 

[V.B.  D.R.]     Mr.  Giles  is  Curate.     [lb.]    Boyle  was  also  R. 

Eilcolman,  q.  y. 

1666.  Agabollig  el  Eilcolman  als  Ralhberrin  yacanl.    [V.B.  D.R.] 

TOL.  XL  B 


2  AGHABUIXOGE.  [CLOTNE. 

1667.  "Mb^  25.  John  Easton,  V.  Agaballoge  and  Eilcolman,  and 
B.  V.  Aghinagh,  all  vacant  "per  cessionem  Richi  Boyle." 
[D.R.]  Easton  was  also  Chancellor  of  Ross,  q.  y.  In  1668 
the  rectories  of  AgaboUig  and  of  Eilcolman  '^spectant  ad 
Yicarias  ratione  confiscationis."     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1669.  October  15.  Richaedus  Stnge,  V.  Aghabulloge  and  Kilcol- 
man,  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  P.  Kilbrogan,  Cork,  and  Chancellor  of 
Ross,  all  vacant  per  mortem  Johis  Easton.  [V.B.  1669.]  In 
1674  Synge  became  Archdeacon  of  Cork,  q.v. 

1674.  June  5.  George  Synge,  V.  A^habolloge,  Kilcolman,  R.  V. 
Aghinagh,  and  P.  Rilbrogan.  [P.F.]  Vide  Eilbrogan,  in  Cork, 
for  George  Synge. 

1692.  October  29.  Edward  Synge,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  Kilcol- 
man, cum  particula  Aghabolloge  dicta  Magourney,  all  vacant 
per  mortem  Georgii  Synge.     p).R.] 

Edward  Synge  was  also  P.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1694.  R.  and  V.  Aghabollug,  val.  30  pounds.  R.  and  Y. 
Aghinagh,  val.  20  pounds.  Mr.  Edward  Synge  is  R.  et  V. 
Aghabollug  cum  p*ticula  Magourney  et  R.  et  V.  de  Aghinagh 
et  R.  et  v.  de  Kilcolman.  Dnils  EpOs  est  patronus.  Ecclesia 
in  paroch'  de  Aghabollug  oydificanda  hoc  anno  1694.  Mr. 
Synge's  livings  are  contignons.**     [Palliser.] 

1703,  May  20.  Mr.  Edward  Synge,  P.  Kilmaclenine,  is  to 
have  a  lease  of  the  CEcononiy  part  of  AgabuUoge  for  21  years, 
if  he  shall  so  long  continue  Incumbent  of  said  parish,  at  rent  of 
30^.  this  year,  and  40s.  for  the  remainder  of  said  term.  [Cloyne 
Chapter  Book.] 

1706.  December  23.  Mathbw  Jones,  R.  V.  AgabuUoge  et  Kilcol- 
man [P.F.]  per  cessionem  Synge.  [D.R.]  Jones  was  also 
P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 

1710.  November  16.  Mr.  Mathew  Jones,  P.  Donoghmore,  is 
to  have  a  lease  of  the  CEconomy  part  of  Aghabulloge,  at  3  li. 
Ijer  an.,  during  his  incumbency.     [Cloyne  Chapter  Book.] 

1717.  Fbanois  Bland,  a.m.,  R.  AgabuUoge,  vacant  per  mortem 
Jones.  [D.R.]  In  1735  Bland  became  R.  V.  Clondrohid, 
q.  v. 

1735.  December  17.  John  Jephson,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Aghabulloge  per 
oessionem  Bland  [D.R.],  and  also  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1742.  November  5.  Mabmadukb  Cox,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Aghabulloge  per 
mortem  Jephson.  [D.R.]  In  1761  Cox  became  V.  Clonmel, 
q.  v. 

1743.  June  23.  A  lease  of  the  (Economy  part  of  the  tythes 
and  glebe  of  Aghabollig  is  ordered  to  be  made  unto  Mr.  Mar- 
maduke  Cox,  Rector  and  Vicar  of  said  parish,  at  £6  per  an., 
for  21  years,  or  so  long  as  he  is  Incumbent.  This  lease  was 
signed  on  19th  June,  1746.     [Cloyne  Chapter  Book.] 

1761.  July  21.  Petee  Bbistow,  R.  V.  Aghabulloge  per  cessionem 
Cox.     [D.R.]     Bristow  was  also  R.  St.  Paul's,  Cork,  q.  v. 


ClOTirB.]  AGHABULLOOB.  8 

• 

1762.  Bristow,  non-resident.     Yalne  of  Aghabnllog,  £150. 
[A.  Hajman.] 
1769.  April  6.  Hbnbt  Agab,  a.b.,  R.  V.  Aghabnlloge  per  mortem 
Bristow.     [D.R.] 

lu  1770,  July  4,  be  took  a  second  collation  on  bis  accept- 
ance of  the  P.  of  Inniscarra,  q.  t. 

1774.  AgbabuUogue :  Rect  and  Vic.  in  the  bar.  of  Mns- 
kerry,  value  £400  per  an.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.  the  Bp. 
Glebe,  5a.  Ir.  1p.  En.  Proxy,  lOs,  Sd.  The  Vic.  is  taxed  in  the 
King's  books  by  the  name  of  Agabolighe,  £3  ster.  Incumb., 
Henry  Agar,  a.b.  Curate,  Edward  Wight,  A.B.  Another 
Rect.  in  this  parish  is  appropriated  to  the  archdeaconry  of 
Cloyne.     [Hingston.] 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  was  48.     [Land.] 
1798.  August  23.  Riohabd  Woodward,  R.  V.  Aghabnlloge,  and  P. 


Inniscarra  fF.P.]  per  mortem  Agar. 

In  1799  he  became  P.  Glanworth,  q.  r. 
1799.  March  20.  James  Kingston,  ll.b.,  R.  V.  Agabnlloge  [P.P.] 
per  cess.  Woodward. 

In  1805  this  parish  contained  16  Protestant  families.  [Abp. 
Broderick's  List.] 

1807.  Rev.  James  Hingston,  Vicar-General,  lives  chiefly  at 
Cloyne.  He  holds  Subulter  and  Whitechurch,  and  by  faculty 
Aghabulloge.     [Rep.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  113. 

1837.  Aghabullogue :  a  rectory  and  vicarage  with  cure, 
4  miles  long  by  three  broad,  containing  17,000a.  Gross  popu- 
lation, 5,054.  One  Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £90  ppr 
annum.  Tithe  composition,  £713.  30  acres  of  glebe,  valued 
at  £66  9<.  2|(f.  4  acres  of  mountainous  glebe,  valued  at  25«. 
per  acre,  £5,  subject  to  visitation  fees,  and  diocesan  school- 
master, £5.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  exempted  ^m 
residence  by  Act  of  Parliament,  being  Vicar-General  of  the 
diocese,  and  resides  at  his  oflBice  in  Cloyne.  One  church,  in  as 
good  order  as  so  old  a  church  can  be,  capable  of  accommo- 
dating 120  persons,  built  about  150  years  since,  but  at  what 
cost  unknown,  and  thoroughly  repaired  in  1828,  at  the  expense 
of  £50,  provided  by  parochial  assessment  No  charge  on  the 
parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is 
celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day  and  Good 
Friday.  The  sacrament  is  administered  monthly.  The  tithes 
of  this  parish  belong  to  Incumbent,  with  the  exception  of  the 
half  tithes  of  1,000  acres,  compounded  for  £37,  which  are  ap- 
propriated to  the  OEconomy  of  Cloyne.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

James  Hingston,  eldest  son  of  Rev.  James  Hin^ton,  P. 
Donoghmore,  q.  v.,  was  bom  in  1755,  and  was  ordained  Deacon, 
in  May,  1779,  at  Cloyne,  and  Priest,  at  Cork,  on  19th  Novem- 
ber, 1780. 
toIn  n.  b  2 


A  AGHABULLOGE.  [CLOTNB. 

On  20th  June,  1781,  he  was  licensed  to  the  cnracy  of  Rath- 
cormack;  and  on  18th  April,  1783,  to  that  of  Inniscarra. 
From  1788  to  1799  he  was  B.  Y.  Carrigdownanoy- and  from 

1798  to  1799,  v.  Ballyclogh  and  Castlema^ner.    He  held,  from 

1799  to  1836,  the  R.  V.  Whitechurch ;  and  from  1799  to  1840, 
the  B.  y.  Aghabullose.  He  appears  from  1789  to  1807  as 
Ourate  of  Cloyne,  and  was  also  P.  Sabulter  from  1790  to  1828. 

On  25th  November,  1794,  he  was  admitted  Vicar- General, 
Ac,  in  Glojne,  and  held  that  post  until  his  death  on  6th  Dec, 
1840. 

He  married  Anne,  dau.  of  Bev.  William  Hodnet,  V.  Eilmac- 
oabee,  Eoss,  q.  y.,  and  had  issue  Rev.  James  Hingston  (bis 
eldest  son)  R.  V.  Whitechurch,  q.  t.;  Rev.  William-Hales 
Hingston,  P.  Coole,  q.  v.;  and  Richard,  Lieut,  in  the  Army,  killed 
at  Talavera,  in  Spain,  in  1809.  He  had  also  three  daughters, 
Martba,  Louisa,  and  Anne.  Of  these,  Martha  was  wife  to 
Thomas  Johnston,  esq.,  of  Fort  Johnston,  county  Monaghan, 
to  whom  she  bore  Henry-Qeor^  Johnston,  esq.,  now  of  Fort 
Johnston  ;  and  two  daughters,  Anne-Matilda,  wife  of  Nicholas 
Dunscombe,  esq.,  of  Grenville-place,  Cork ;  and  Maria,  wife  of 
Rev.  R.  G.  Meredytb,  R.  Enockavilly,  Cork,  q.  v.  Anne,  the 
third  daughter  of  Rev.  Dr.  Hingston,  was  wife  to  Linegar 
Rogers,  esq.,  the  father  of  Rev.  William  Rogers,  R.  V.  Kil- 
mahon,  q.  v. 

The  Vicar-General  was  buried  in  Cloyne  on  the  9  th  December, 
1840,  and  a  monument  to  his  memory  is  in  that  cathedral. 

He  left  by  will  £10  to  aid  in  building  a  church  at  Aglish  ; 
XIO  to  each  of  the  parishes  of  Cloyne,  Whitechurch,  and  Agha- 
bulloge,  for  the  poor;  and  £10  for  purchasing  cushions  and 
ornaments  for  the  church  of  Aghabullo^e. 
1840.  Dec.  16.  William  Wellahd,  R.  V.  Aghabulloge  [D.R.]  per 
mort.  Hingston. 

In  1858,  Dec.  30,  Llewellin  Charles  Nash,  a.b.,  was  licensed 
as  Curate.     P-R.] 

1860.  W.  Welland,  Incumbent.  L.  C.  Nash,  Curate.  There 
is  no  font  in  this  church.  The  glebe-house  and  offices  in  good 
order.  Thirty  acres  of  glebe  in  Rector's  use,  held  at  a  very 
high  rent.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays,  and  also  on  the 
chief  festivals,  &c.  Sacrament  monthly ;  average  of  commu- 
nicants is  11.  No  school ;  the  school-house  is  out  of  repair,  and 
there  are  no  poor  children  in  the  parish.  The  Protestant 
population  is  66.  Value  of  benefice,  £441,  rentcharge,  and 
residence,  &c.     Mr.  Welland  is  also  P.  Killenemer,  q.  y. 


CLOTM.]  AQHADA. 


AGHADA. 

1291.  The  churob  of  Atlifada  is  rated  at  £2  13«.  4(2.  decima  5$.  id. 

[Tax.  P.  Nicholas.] 
1^91.  NiOHOLAS  YB&LiNa  appears  as  Vicar  of  Aghada  and  of  Ninch. 
[MS.  T.G.D.  E.  3.  14. J  Bat  in  another  copy  of  the  same 
visitation  the  rectory  of  Aghfaddy  is  said  to  belong  to  the 
"  Prior.  Exon.,"  and  the  vicarage  is  marked  **  vacant.** 
1614.  Sept.  3.  DiGOBT  Hawkes,  (per  mort.  ult  incumbentis),  R« 
and  V.  Aghada  and  Inch,  on  letters  patent  of  James  I.  (dated 
at  Dublin,  17tb  July,  1613),  uniting  these  vicarages.  He  was 
inducted  13th  Nov.,  1614.     [R.V.  1634,  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

Aghadda  R.  and  V.  Degorius  Hawkes,  inserviens  cune. 
Ecclesia  et  cancella  bene  repautnr.  Valor  10  li.  [R.V.  1615.] 
Hawkes,  in  1615,  was  also  Curate  of  Ardagh. 

1634.  E.  de  Aghadda,  Rex  est  Rector.  Johes  ffitzgerald, 
firmarius.  Val.  20  li.  per  an.  Vicarius  ibm  Diagoras  Hakes. 
James  Magner  de  Aghadda  ''generosus"  est  patronu&  Val. 
20  li.  per  an.     [RV.  1634.] 

Degorius  Hawkes,  literatus,  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  23rd 
September,  1604,  and  Priest,  on  24th  of  February  following, 
both  by  Wmiam  "Epum  Oxon."  [R.V.  1634.] 
1661  to  1662.  Mr.  Henbt  Parr  appears  as  Vicar,  with  E.  Fitz- 
gerald as  Rector,  of  Aghadda.  [V.B.  D.R] 
1663.  September  26.  John  Maskall,  R  V.  de  Ninch  als  Inch,  V. 
Aghadagh  Rostillan  et  Gorkebegg  in  Coll.  Epi.  [V.B.  1669.] 
Mascall  was  also  P.  Subulter,  q.  v. 

E.  Fitzgerald  is  Rector  improp.  in  1665 ;  and  in  1667 
^'Rectoria  spectat  ad  Vicar,  confiscationis  ratione."  [V.B. 
D.R] 

1694.  Rectory  and  vicarage  of  Aghaddow,  val.  9  pounds. 
R.  and  V.  Inch,  val.  10  pounds.  R.  and  V.  Corkabeg,  val. 
7  pounds.  R.  Titeskin,  val.  4  pounds.  P.  Subulter,  val.  40«. 
R  V.  Rostellanj  val.  9  pounds.  Mr.  Johes  Mascall  cursa  anima- 
rum  incumbit.  Dominus  Epus  patronus.  Legaliter  juxta 
formam  statuti  Vicar'  de  Inch,  Corkebeg,  Rostellan  et  Titeskin 
vicarisd  de  Aghaddow  in  perpetuum  unit'  sunt.  Ecclia  bene 
reparata  et  cura  animarum  debita  inservit.'  All  Mr.  MascaJl's 
livings,  except  Subulter,  are  contiguous,  and  perpetually  united." 
[Palliser.] 
1700  to  1835.  Aghada,  Corkbeg,  Inch,  Rostellan,  and  Titeskin, 
were  held  as  the  union  of  Aghada,  in  commendam  with  the 
Bishoprick  of  Cloyne,  until  the  death  of  Bishop  Brinkley,  on 
14th  September,  1835. 

The  following  account  of  the  manner  in  which  Aghada  was 
granted  to  the  Bishops  of  Cloyne,  is  taken  from  the  manuscripts 
of  Bishop  Bennet :— 


▲GHADA.  [OLOTKB. 

"  The  revenues  of  the  bishoprick  appear  to  have  been  at  a 
yery  low  ebb  in  1698,  soon  after  the  succession  of  Bp.  Pooley 
to  the  see.  The  long  lease  of  sixty  years  awarded  by  Bram- 
liall  to  the  Fitzgerald  &mily  was  not  yet  expired ;  and,  indeed, 
the  time  of  its  expiring  was  a  subject  of  dread  rather  than 
hope,  as  bringing  the  certainty  of  a  suit  at  law  along  with  it. 
Lord  Inchiqnin  claimed  to  hold  the  best  farms  on  that  estate, 
not  under  that  lease,  but  in  his  own  right,  as  heir  to  the  Fitz- 
geralds.  The  fine  estate  of  Ealmaclenin,  with  those  of  Inchi- 
quin,  Eilvagh,  and  Chor  Abbey,  were  entirely  lost,  and  that  of 
iBallybane,  tho'  the  right  of  the  see  to  it  had  been  often  allowed, 
was  in  a  hopeless  state.  The  markets,  mill,  and  other  rights 
of  the  manor  were  a  daily  subject  of  dispute.  And,  to  com- 
plete  the  whole,  all  hopes  of  Donoghmore  were  just  extinguished 
by  the  determination  of  the  Commissioners  against  the  claim 
of  the  church.  The  whole  estate  of  the  bishoprick,  both 
spiritual  and  temporal,  produced  no  more  than  £500  per  an. ; 
and  with  this  expensive  law  suits  were  to  be  maintained 
against  Lord  Inchiquin,  Sir  St.  John  Broderick,  Colonel  Corker, 
of  Ballymaloe,  and  others,  some  of  which  suits  had  been  run- 
ning on  for  near  thirty  years. 

"  Under  these  circumstances  Bishop  Pooley,  who  was  always 
attentive  to  the  interests  of  his  see,  was  encouraged  to  petition 
the  £arl  of  Rochester,  then  Lord  Lieutenant,  stating  that  Cloyne 
was  the  worst  endowed  of  all  the  Irish  Bishopricks,  so  that 
before  1641,  the  Wardenship  of  Toughal  had  been  added  to  it 
to  make  up  for  its  deficiency  of  revenue  ;  that  since  that  period 
the  see  had  been  deprived  of  some  very  considerable  estates  - 
that  in  parallel  cases  in  the  English  Church  it  was  uaxisA  to 
permit  a  Bishop  to  hold  in  commendam  some  other  fit  ecclesi- 
astical preferment ;  and  that  the  union  of  Aghada  which  was 
adjoining  and  convenient  to  the  Bishop's  place  of  residence, 
being  now  vacant  by  the  death  of  Mr.  John  Mascall,  and  in 
the  sole  gift  of  the  Bishop  himself,  he  humbly  prayed  his  Ma- 
jesty to  sdlow  the  said  union  of  Aghada  to  be  held  in  commen- 
dam with  the  bishoprick  of  Cloyne,  as  it  might  seem  good  to 
hiB  royal  pleasure.  This  petition  of  the  Bishop  was  granted, 
and  he  became  B.ector  of  the  union  of  Aghada,  consisting  of  the 
rectories  and  vicarages  of  Aghada,  Corkbeg,  Rostillan,  Tites- 
kin,  and  Inch,  which  has  now  gone  with  the  see  for  upwards 
of  100  years. 

"  By  the  judicious  improvement  of  this  fortunate  opportunity, 
Bp.  Pooley  laid  the  foundation  of  an  increasing  revenue  to  the 
Bishops  of  Cloyne,  which  has  made  more  than  amends  for  all 
the  estates  they  have  lost.  The  commodious  situation  of  the 
union,  which  includes  almost  the  whole  peninsula  between 
Cloyne  and  the  sea,  and  the  rise  from  the  increase  of  tillage 
in  all  the  livings  in  the  south  of  Ireland,  has  made  it  produc- 


CLOTVB.]       ^  AOHAPA.  7 

tire  liejond  any  idea  thai  could  have  been  formed  at  the  time. 
In  1700,  when  first  held  with  the  see,  it  was  worth  about  £400 
per  annum ;  in  the  time  of  Bp.  Agar,  1767,  it  rose  to  £800  ; 
in  1793  Bp.  Woodward  had  increased  it  to  £1,100  ;  Bp.  Bennet, 
in  1801,  made  of  it  full  £2,000  ;  and  ten  or  twelve  years  after 
it  was  valued  by  the  Proctor  at  £3,400.'* 

1710.  9th  Anne,  chapter  12,  sec.  7.  A  new  parish  church 
is  to  be  built  in  a  more  convenient  place,  at  Aghada,  in  Gloyne. 
[Acts  of  Parliament.] 

1774.  The  Bishop  holds  also  in  commendam  the  union  of 
Aghadda,  value  £600  per  an.,  consisting  of  the  following 
parishes,  viz.,  the  rec.  and  vie.  of  Corkbeg,  the  rec  and  vie.  of 
Aghadda,  the  rec  and  vie  of  Inch,  otherwise  Ninch  ;  the  rec. 
and  vie.  of  Rostillian,  and  the  rec.  and  vie.  of  Titeskin.  Ag- 
hadda Church  is  in  repair ;  the  other  churches  are  in  ruins. 
Glebe,  at  Corkbeg,  21a.  1b.  37p.  En.;  at  Aghadda,  20a.  1b.  29p. 
En. ;  at  Inch,  10b.  Ob.  26p.  En.;  and  at  Titeskin,  61a.  1b.  25p. 
The  Rect  of  Rostillian  was  formerly  part  of  the  possessions  of 
the  preceptory  of  Moume,  and  is  chargeable  with  15«.  per  an. 
crown  rent.  The  vie.  of  Corkbeg  is  taxed  in  the  King's  books 
£2  sterl. ;  the  vie.  of  Aghadda,  £1  lOs,  sterl. ;  the  rect.  of 
Inch,  by  the  name  of  Inishcullen,  £1  sterl. ;  the  vie.  of  Rostil- 
lian, £1  lOs.  sterl. ;  the  rect.  of  Q^iteskin,  by  the  name  of 
Siteskin,  £1  6«.  8d, ;  and  the  vie,  13«.  4d.  Before  these 
parishes  were  granted  to  the  bishoprick,  Corkbeg  paid  proxies 
10«.  8d, ;  Aghadda,  7s. ;  Inch,  Ss. ;  Rostillian,  12l ;  Titeskin, 
12«.  Incumbent,  the  Rt.  Rev.  Charles  Agar,  ll.d.,  Lord  Bishop 
of  Cloyne.     Curate,  John  Lawless,  a.m.     [Kingston. j 

1779.  May  1.  One  acre  of  glebe  is  grant^  to  Aghadda 
parochial  school.     [D.R.] 

1782.  Michael  Gould,  esq.,  of  Jamesbrooke  bequeathes  ''unto 
the  Ministers  and  Churchwardens  of  Aghadda,  and  their  suc- 
cessors, for  ever,  an  annuity  of  £10,  to  be  paid  yearly,  at 
Christmas,  unto  the  Curate  of  said  parish,  in  trust,  for  five 
of  the  poorest  blind  and  maimed  objects  who  shall  reside  near 
to  my  present  place  of  residence."  In  March,  1794,  £120 
(12  years  arrears  of  this  annuity)  were  paid  by  the  executor, 
Mr.  Wallis  Adams,  of  Kilbre.  Besides  the  ten  pounds,  nine 
pounds  annual  interest  on  savings  were  subsequently  distri- 
buted each  year  to  ten  instead  of  five  poor  persons  near  the 
estate,  who  were  generally  chosen  by  the  owners  of  the 
property. 

1785.  The  union  contains  58  Protestants.   [Vincent,  Curate.] 

1805.  The  union  contains  39  Protestant  families.  [Abp. 
Brod.] 

1807.  Aghadda  Union.  One  church.  One  Curate,  at  £75.  No 
glebe-house.  The  Curate,  Rev.  R.  Eirchofier,  is  also  R.  V, 
Bally voumey.    [Par.  Rep.] 


8  AGHABA.  [CLOtNfi. 

**  Id  1813,  some  business  relatire  to  this  liying  of  Aghada 
happening  to  come  before  the  Privy  Council,  the  Grown 
Officers,  misled  by  the  circumstance  of  its  having  been  so  long 
held  with  the  bishoprick,  and  regularly  granted  to  the  new 
bishop  at  every  vacancy,  were  much  inclined  to  consider  it  as 
a  Grown  Hying.  But  on  my  copying  out  the  parts  of  Bp. 
Pooley*s  memorial  to  Lord  Rochester  as  above  quoted,  and  re- 
ferring to  the  Privy  Gouncil  Books  for  the  original,  they  im- 
mediately gave  up  the  question.  Such  is  the  advantage  of 
having  a  book  of  this  sort  to  apply  to  upon  occasion."  [Bishop 
Bennett] 

1815.  Aghadda  Ghurch  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 
1830.  The  Protestant  population  of  Aghada  was  111. 
1835.  Dec.  26.  John  Gobe,  R.  V.  Aghada.     p.R.] 

1837.  Aghadda :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure;  3  miles 
long  by  2  broad,  containing  2,363a.  Gross  population,  2,512. 
No  Gurate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £292  15«.  6d.  17^ 
acres  of  glebe,  in  Incumbent's  occupation,  valued  at  20&  per 
acre,  £17  10«.;  subject  to  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  10s,  Visi- 
tation fees,  £1  6«.  8d,  Aghadda  glebe-house  built  in  1815, 
under  the  new  Acts,  at  a  cost  of  £1,107  13«.  lOcL  Brit,  whereof 
£923  Is,  6^d,  was  granted  in  way  of  loan,  and  £92  6s,  lid.  in 
that  of  gift  by  the  late  Board  of  rirst  Fruits,  and  the  residue  of 
£92  6s,  l|(f.  was  advanced  out  of  the  private  funds  of  the 
builder,  to  whom  the  present  Incumbent  is  third  in  succession, 
and  having  paid  his  predecessor's  representatives  £46  3«.  Id, 
on  account  of  the  sum  last-named,  he  will  be  entitled  to  receive 
£23  Is.  6\d,  from  his  successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there 
remained  £40  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable 
by  annual  instalments  of  £25  7«.  Incumbent  usually  resides 
in  the  glebe-house.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating 
300  persons,  built  in  1817,  by  means  of  a  loan  of  £923  Is,  6^d. 
Brit,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits,  of  which  loan 
there  remained  £288  chargeable  on  the  parish  in  1832,  re- 
payable by  annual  instalments  of  £19  4«.  Divine  service  is 
celebrated  twice  on  Sundays  during  the  summer  months,  and 
once  during  the  rest  of  the  year,  and  on  Ghristmas  Day,  Ash 
Wednesday,  and  Good  Friday.  The  Sacrament  is  administered 
monthly,  and  on  the  festivals.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory. 
[Pari.  Rep.] 

John  Gore  was  ordained  Deacon  on  1st  June,  1828,  for  the 
curacy  of  Clonfert, and  Priest,  on  23rd  Aug.,  1 829,  both  at  Cloyne. 
He  was  licensed  on  25th  July,  1832,  to  the  curacy  of  Ag- 
hadda ;  from  1833  to  1835,  was  V.  Marshalstown ;  and  from 
1835  to  his  death,  on  30th  March,  1837,  was  R.  V.  Aghada. 
1837.  April  26.  William  Robinson  Townsend,  R.  Y.  Aghada,  per 
mortem  Gore.     [D.R.] 

1 860.  The  church  in  good  order.    There  is  a  font^and  a  silver 


CLOtM.]  ▲QHADA_AaUSm>BlKAGH.  9 

obalice,  plate,  and  paten.  A  glebe-house  and  14  acres  of  glebe 
in  Rector's  use.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays  during 
summer,  and  once  in  winter  and  on  the  usual  fasts  and  feasts  ; 
also  a  service,  with  lecture,  once  a  month  in  summer.  The 
sacrament  12  times  in  the  year;  average  of  communicants,  21. 
40  boys  and  30  girls  are  on  the  rolls  of  two  Schools,  which  are 
maintained  under  the  Church  Education  Society.  The  Protes- 
tant population  is  228.  Value  of  rentcharge^  £219  lis,  7|c?. ; 
of  glebe  land,  £15.  Total  value  of  benefice  is  £234  11«.  7^., 
with  residence. 

W.  R.  Townsend  (grandson  of  Rev.  Horatio  Townsend,  P. 
Donoghmore,  q.v.)  was  second  son  of  Samuel-Philip  Townsend, 
esq.,  of  Firmount,  in  the  parish  of  Donoghmore,  county  Cork, 
by  Helena,  dau.  of  Rev.  Thomas  Robinson,  of  Coronea. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  24th  Sept.,  1809,  at  Cork,  and 
Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  8th  October,  the  same  year. 

On  9th  October,  1809,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of 
Inniscarra,  and  on  9th  Feb.,  1828,  to  that  of  Tracton.  From 
1833  to  1837  he  was  P.  C.  Nohoval. 

He  married  Isabella,  dau.  of  Major-General  Brooke  Young, 
of  the  Ro3ral  Artillery,  and  by  her  had  issue  three  sons  and  six 
daughters.  The  eldest  son,  Samuel-Philip,  was  a  Major  in  the 
Royal  Artillery.  He  married  Jane.  dau.  of  General  Campbell, 
but  died  Sp.,  being  killed  at  the  battle  of  Inkermann,  on  5th 
November,  1854.  The  second  son,  Brooke-Young,  was  a 
Surgeon,  and  died  unmarried.  The  third  son,  William-Chambers 
(P.  Ballysodare,  Achonry),  married  Emma,  dau.  of  Lieut. -Col. 
Edward  Thomas  Fitzgerald,  K.H.,  of  Furlough  Park,  county 
Mayo.  Of  the  daughters,  the  third  surviving,  viz.,  Georgina- 
Maria,  married  Richard  Thomas  Hill,  son  of  Kev.  James  Hill, 
R.  Rostellan  ;  the  fourth,  Catherine,  married  Rev.  Thomas 
Wakeham;  and  the  youngest,  Mary-Elisabeth,  married,  on  11th 
November,  1862,  John  Tuckey,  esq.,  of  Kilronau,  county  Cork. 

The  Rev.  W.  R.  Townsend  is  distinguished  for  his  skill  in 
agriculture,  and  has  published  a  lecture  on  Sheep-folding,  &c. 


AGLISHDRINAGH. 


1291.  Capella  de  Ballyochran  is  rated  at  five  marks,  decima  half  a 
mark.  [Tax.  P.  Nic]  This  entry  precedes  Shandrum,  and 
I  therefore  presume  it  refers  to  Ballynowran,  alias  Aglish- 
drinagh. 

1591.  E.  de  Ballinowran  W.  Wollbt,  incumbens.  [MS.  T.C.D.  E. 
3.  14.]     He  was  also  P.  Cooline,  q.  v, 

1615.  John  Hall,  who  was,  in  1616,  Precentor  of  Cloyne,  a.  y^,  is 
Rector ;  and  Elias  Motse  is  Vicar  of  Aglishdrinagh.    Moyse, 


10  AGUSHDRINAGH.  [CLOTVB. 

or  Moise,  was  admitted  Y.  de  BalliDowran  als  Aglis-Dradinagh, 
and  V.  Rathcogan  on  29th  June,  1615.  [V.B.  1615 ;  and  F.F.] 
'*  Ballinowran,  residens.  Rector,  John  Hall.  VaL  8  li.  per 
annam.  Vicarius,  Elias  Mojse,  minister  legens  et  inserriens 
cune ;  val.  4  li.  per  annum."  [R.V.  1615.] 
1619.  March  22.  Thomas  Holfobd,  V.  de  Ballynowran  als  Aglish- 
drinagh.     [F.F.] 

Holford,  in  1637,  was  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  y. 
1628.  May  20.  Thomas  Weight,  s.t.b.,  B.  Ballynoran  als  Aglisdra- 
dinagh,  vacant  per  mortem  Johannis  Hall.  Inducted  24th 
August.  [R.V.  1634.]  Weight  was,  in  1634,  P.  Kilnaglory, 
Cork,  q.  T. 
1 630.  January  8.  John  Shinkwin,  V.  Imphricke,  Eilbrowny,  and 
Aglish-dradinagh,  quas  yicarias  Epus  uniyit.     [R-V.  1634.] 

"  E.  de  Ballynowran,  als  Aglis-Dradinagh,  Thomas  Weight 
ffrauciscus  Slingsby,  miles,  patronua  Valet  xy  li.  per  annum. 
Vicarius,  John  Sheuguin.  Val.  6  li.  per  annum.  Epus  con- 
fert"     [R.y.  1634.] 

John  Shinkwin  was  ordained  Deacon  and  Priest  by  John, 
Bishop  of  Ardefert  and  Aghadoe,  on  20th  September,  1618. 
From  1618  to  1621  he  was  V.  Clonmell  and  Templerobin. 
1640.  March  2.  Edward  Johns,  R.  de  Aglishdradinagh  als  Balli- 
nowran.    [F.F.] 

Edward  Johns  was  ordained  Deacon  on  27th  October,  1628, 
and  Priest  on  14th  April,  1629,  both  at  Cork. 

From  1628  to  1639,  and  probably  later,  he  was  a  Vicar 
Choral  of  Cork  ;  and  from  1629  to  1640  was  P.  Inniscarra.  In 
1632  he  was  also  made  Vicar  of  Macroom. 
1661  and  1662.  Aglishdrinagh  is  marked  "vacant."  [V.B.] 
1663.  Sept.  24.  John  Vesbt,  Rec  integ.  de  Ballinowran  et  Ac^lis- 
dradinagh  et  R.  V.  Shandrum,  and  R.  de  Bruhenny,  and  V. 
Rathgogan.     [F.F.] 

Vesey  was,  in  1667,  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1668.  Oct.  19.  Chbistophsb  Vowbll,R.  and  V.  Aglishdrinagh,  and 
P.  Ballyhaly,  V.  Shandrum,  R.  V.  Bruhenny,  and  V.  Rath- 
gogan, all  vacant  by  the  resignation  of  John  Vesey.     [D.R.] 
For  Vowell,  vide  Ballyhay. 
1709.  Nov.  23.  Jonathan  Bruce,  R.  Aglishdrinagh,  V.  Rathgogan 
or  Cbarleville,  and  V.  Shandrum,  vacant  per  mortem  Vowell. 
[D.R.]     In  1719  he  became  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  v. 

From  1719  to  1826  Aglishdrinagh  was  held  with  P.  Bally- 
hay, q.  y. 

1826.  August  8.  Francis  Jones,  R.  Aglishdrinagh,  vacant  per 
mortem  Henry  Sandiford.  [D.R.]  He  was  afterwards  R.  V. 
Castrachore,  q.  v. 

1830.  July  8.  William  Welland,  R.  Aglishdrinagh,  per  cession  of 
Jones.     [D.R.]    Welland  is  also  P.  Killenemer,  q.  y. 


GLOTVB,]  AGLISHDRINAOH. — ^AHEBN.  11 

1830.  The  Protestant  population  is  0. 

1837.  Aglisbdrinagh,  a  rectory  entire,  with  cure,  3  miles 
long  bj  2  broad,  containing  3,481  acres.  Gross  population, 
973.  No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £240.  Sub- 
ject to  visitation  fees,  10a.  Sd.  Diocesan  schoolmaster,  5$.  No 
glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident ;  he  resides,  by  per- 
mission, in  Cloyne,  and  serves  the  cure  of  that  parish.  No 
church.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1860.  W.  Wellaud  is  Incumbent  No  church.  No  divine 
service.  No  Protestants.  No  school.  The  rentcharge  amounts 
to  £180  per  annum.     There  is  not  any  glebe-house  or  land. 


AHERN. 

1291.  Ecclesia  de  Atheame  is  rated  at  30«.  decima  3a.     [Tax  P.  Nic] 
1591.  John  Beydye  is  Vicar.     "  R.  de  Aghcarrin  Colleg.  Youghell. 

Vic.  ibm.  Johes  Brydye."  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  John  Irish  appears  as  V.  Ahem  and  Ballynoe.  "Agherrin 
R.  Coll.  de  Youghell.  Vic.  Johes  Irish.  Val.  3  li.  per  annum. 
Ecclesia  repata,  cancella  ruioata.*'  ^' Villa  nova  (Ballynoe) 
Rec.  ColL  Youghell.  Vic.  Johes  Irish.  Val.  4  li.  per  annum. 
Ecclesia  ruinata,  cancella  repata."  [R.V.  R.I.A.]  Irish  was 
also  R.  V.  Rathcormack,  q.  v. 
1633.  January  22.  James  Beuce,  a.m.,  V.  Agharen  et  Ballino, 
unitas  per  Epum.  Inductus  28th  January,  1633.  [R.V. 
1634.]     In  1662  Bruce  was  also  R.  Dungourney,  q.  v. 

1634.  R.  do  Agharren  ad  Coll.  de  Youghall.  Val.  x  li.  per 
annum.  Jacobus  Bruise,  clicus,  curatus.  Vicar,  James  Bruce. 
Valet  10  li.  per  annum.     Epus  confert.     [lb.] 

1634.  R.  de  Villa  nova  ad  Coll.  de  Youghall.  Valet  x  li. 
per  annum.  Vicarius  James  Bruce.  Valet  x  li.  per  annum. 
Epus  confert.     [lb.] 

1637.  August  14.  Bruce  was  admitted  R.  and  V.  Aghern 
and  Ballynoe.     [F.F.] 

1669.  Rex  est  patronus  rectoriarum,  vicariee  sunt  in  colla- 
tione  Epi.     [V.B.J 

Bruce  appears  in  1 674  as  K  V.  Ahem  and  Ballinoe. 
1675.  June   21.  Giles   Pooley  is  presented  to  R.  Agheme  and 
Ballynoe  by  letters  patent.     [Lib.  Mun.]     He  was  admitted  on 
10th  of  March,  1675/6.     [F.F.] 

Giles  Pooley,  born  at  Ipswich,  county  Suffolk,  was  son  of 
Thomas  Pooley,  esq.,  of  Dublin,  and  Hartest,  near  Boxted,  in 
Suffolk,  by  Douglas,  third  dau.  and  co-heiress  of  Edward 
Neville,  son  and  heir  of  Francis,  son  and  heir  of  Edward 
Neville,  Lord  Abergavenny. 

He  was  educated  in  Dublin  under  Mr.  Hill,  and  when  fifteen 


1^  AHEit^.  [cLomr^. 

years  old  entered  T.O.D.  as  Pensioner,  on  7tb  July,  1666,  be- 
came a  Scholar  in  1668,  and  a  Fellow  in  1672. 

His  father  was  m.p.  for  Mallow  in  1661,  and  his  brother, 
Thomas,  in  1692,  represented  Oastlemartyr  in  Parliament. 
Another  brother,  John,  was  Bishop  of  Olojme.  The  Rev. 
Giles  Pooley  was  married,  but  left  no  male  issue.  [Davis.] 
1681.  May  23.  Robert  Smith,  a.m.,  R.  Aghern  and  Ballynoe,  and 
on  27th  May  V.  Aghern  and  Ballynoe.  [F.P.]  On  letters 
patent  of  9th  March,  33°  Chaa.  II.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

He  was  Rector  of  Ahem  and  Ballynoe  from  1681  to  1686, 
when  he  resigned  in  favour  of  Thomas  Smith.  He  was  also 
Vicar  of  Ahem  and  Ballynoe  from  1681  to  1685,  when  he 
resigned  in  favour  of  Harrison. 

Among  the  Dublin  marriage  licences  I  find  one  of  Rev. 
Robert  Smith  and  Mary  Amold  (both  of  Dublin),  dated  13th 
May,  1685. 
1685.  August  24.  Thomas  Smith,  a.m.,  receives  letters  patent  to 
R.  Agheme  and  Ballynoe,  vacant  by  resignation  of  Robert  Smith. 
[Lib.  Mun.]     He  was  instituted  on  26th  June,  1686.     [F.F.] 

He  was  probably  son  or  brother  of  his  predecessor.  A 
Thomaa  Smith  was,  in  1669,  a  Sizar,  T.C.D. 
1693.  July  20.  Stephen  Handoook,  a.m.,  receives  letters  patent  to 
R  Agheme  and  Ballynoe,  vacant  by  death  of  Thomas  Smith. 
He  was  instituted  on  17th  February,  1693/4.  [Lib.  Mud.  and 
D.R.] 

1694.  "  Rector  de  Agheme  et  Rector  villsB  novse  Mr.  Stephen 
Hancocke.  Dom.  Rex.  patronus.  Spectat  ad  Collegium  de 
Youghall."    [Palliser.] 

Stephen  Handcock  (fourth  son  of  William  Handcock,  esq., 
of  Twyford,  ancestor  of  Lord  Oastlemaine),  was  bom  in  county 
Meath,  and  when  seventeen  years  old  entered  T.O.D.  as  Pen- 
sioner, on  4th  November,  1675. 

From  1693  to  1718  he  was  R.  Ahem,  <&c. ;  and  in  1699  was 
Dean  of  Kilmacduagh,  which  dignity  he  held  also  until  his 
death,  in  1718.  He  was  also,  in  1699  or  1700,  Dean  of  Olon- 
macnoise.  He  was  father  of  Qnstavus  Haudcock  (whose 
grandson,  Gustavns,  of  Waterstown,  county  Westmeath,  as- 
sumed the  name  of  Temple),  and  of  Margaret  Handcock,  wife 
of  Rev.  Peter  Wybrants. 
1718.  Sept.  18.  Barry  Hartwell,  a.m.,  is  presented  to  R  Aghern 
and  Ballynoe.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

In  1731  he  became  R  Moumeabby,  q.  v. 
1731/2.  April  28.  Mabmaduke  Philips,  a.m.,  R.  Aghern  and  Bally- 
noe, on  letters  patent,  dated  5th  January.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

In  1750  Philips  became  P.  Inniscarra,  q.  v. 
1770.  June  22.  Stephen  Rolleston,  a.b.,  receives  letters  patent 
to  R.  Agheme  and  Ballynoe,  vacant  by  death  of  Philips.     He 
was  inducted  on  18th  July.    [Lib.  Man.  and  F.F.] 


GLOTNE.]  AHEBN.  13 

1774.  Aghern,  Rect.  in  the  bar.  of  Kilnataloon.  Valae 
£70  per  annum.  Church  in  repair.  Patron,  the  King.  Proxy, 
2«.  6df.  It  formerly  belonged  to  the  College  of  Youghal,  and 
is  taxed  in  the  KiDg*s  books  by  the  name  of  Agharen,  £3  ster. 
Incumbent,  Stephen  Rolleston,  a.b.  The  Vic.  is  in  the  coUa- 
tion  of  the  Bishop.  Value  £70  per  annum.  Proxy,  2s.  6d. 
Taxed  in  the  King's  books  by  the  name  aforesaid,  £1  10«. 
ster.     Incumbent,  William  Vowel,  a.m.     [Eingston.] 

1774.  Ballynoe,  otherwise  Villa-nova,  Rect.  in  the  bar.  of 
Kilnataloon.  Value  £80  per  annum.  Church  in  ruins.  Pa- 
tron, the  King.  Proxy,  5s.  It  formerly  belonged  to  the  Col- 
lege of  Tonghal.  Incumb.  Stephen  Rolleston,  a.b.  The  Bishop 
collates  to  the  vie.  Glebe,  1b.  30p.  Eng.  Proxy,  5«.  Incum- 
bent, Stephen  Rolleston,  a.b.     [Hingston.] 

Stephen  Rolleston  (son  of  Stephen  Rolleston,  of  Curryglass, 
county  Waterford),  was  bom  in  county  Tipperary ;  and  when 
nineteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner,  on  19th  May, 
1734,  and  obtained  Scholarship  in  1736. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  Curacy  of  Knockmourue  on  8th 
March,  1742. 

In  1748  he  became  V.  Ballynoe,  and  in  1756  V.  Knock- 
mourne ;  and  in  1770  was  R.  Agherue  and  Ballynoe.  He 
retained  all  those  livings  until  his  death  in  1780. 

He  had  issue,  inter  alios,  two  sons,  Stephen  and  James ;  and 
^ye  daughters,  Frances,  Harriett,  Elisabeth,  Dorothea,  wife  of 
Rev.  Charles  Percival,  R.  Bruhenny ;  and  Catherine. 

In  his  will,  dated  1st  Feb.,  1780,  and  proved  the  9th  of 
May  following,  he  is  styled  the  Rev.  Stephen  Rolleston,  of 
Bridgepark,  county  Cork. 
1780.  June  18.  Honourable  James  St.  Leobb,  R.  Aghem  and 
Ballynoe,  on  letters  patent  of  15th  April,  vice  Rolleston,  de- 
ceased.    [F.F.  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

In  1789  he  became  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne ;  and  in  1810  was 
Rector  of  the  union  of  Castletown,  q.  v. 
1789.   June  27.   Christopher  Robinson,  a.b.,  R.  Agheme  and 
Ballynoe.     [F.F.]     On  letters  patent  of  June  16.     [Lib.  Mun.l 

1806.  Robinson  resides  in  Dublin.  A  perfect  sinecure.  [Rep.J 

Christopher  Robinson  was  grandson  of  Bryan  Robinsou,  m.d., 
of  Dublin,  who  died  1754,  and  was  third  son  of  Christopher 
Robinson  (second  Justice  of  King's  Bench  in  Ireland),  by 
Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Hartstongue  Martin,  esq.,  of  Kilkenny. 

Rev.  Christopher  Robinson  married  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Sir 
Hercules  Langrishe,  bart.,  and  by  her  had  issue  three  daugh- 
ters— ^Elisabeth,  wife  of  John  Tatlow,  esq.,  of  Crossdoney, 
county  Cavan ;  Hannah,  wife  of  James  Cottingham,  esq.,  of 
Dublin ;  and  .Jane.  He  had  also  two  sons — ^Christopher,  who 
died  young;  and  Hercules,  Captain,  b.n.,  who,  by  his  wife, 
Frances-Elisabeth,  only  dau.  and  heiress  of  Heniy-Widman 


14  AHERN. — 4HSBir  VICABAOE.  [OLOTHB. 

Wood,  esq.,  of  Rossmead,  had  issae  fire  sons,  Henry,  Hercules, 
Loftns,  William,  and  Frederick;  and  a  daughter,  Frances- 
Elisabeth.  [U.O.] 
1806.  Sept.  5.  HoNouBABLB  John  Db  La  Poer  Beresford  is  pre- 
sented to  R.  Aghem  and  Ball3moe,  vacant  by  cession  of  Robin- 
son, on  letters  patent  of  5th  September.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

1837.  Ballynoe  union,  without  cure,  conBisting  of — I.  Bally- 
noe  rectory ;  2.  Ahem  rectory.  No  Curate  employed.  Com- 
position for  the  rectorial  tithes  of  Ballynoe  parish,  £610  2«. ; 
of  Ahem  parish,  £185  95.  id.  Subject  to  visitation  fees, 
XI  175.  9d.  Diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  ds.  Sd.  No  glebe- 
house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident;  he  resides  in  England. 
No  church.  The  parishes  forming  this  union  are  rectories. 
[Pari.  Rep.] 

John  Beresford  (son  of  the  first  Lord  Decies,  Archbishop  of 
Tuam),  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  29th  September, 
1803. 

From  180G  to  1855  he  was  R.  Aherne  and  Ballynoe;  and 
he  was  also,  from  1812  to  1855,  P.  Kilrosantie,  Lismore.  He 
married,  in  1810,  Charlotte,  only  dau.  of  Robert  Horsley,  esq., 
and  took  the  name  of  Horsley-Beresford  in  consequence  of  that 
marriage.  He  succeeded  to  the  title  of  Baron  Decies  in  1819, 
on  his  father's  death.  For  the  lineage  and  issue  of  Rev.  John 
Horsley  Beresford,  vide  the  Peerage. 

On  the  death  of  the  Reverend  the  Lord  Decies,  on  let  March, 
1855,  the  presentation  to  this  benefice  was  suspended,  by  order 
of  the  Privy  Council. 


AHERN  VICARAGE. 


1591.  John  Brydyb  is  V.  Ahern  and  Knockmourae.  Vide  the 
Rectory. 

1597/8.  February  15.  Alexander  Stint  is  presented  to  the  per- 
petual vicarages,  respectively,  of  Aghcarrin  and  Cnockmorney, 
m  the  diocese  of  Cloyne,  vacant,  and  in  the  disposition  of  the 
Crown,  tam  ratione  lapsus  et  devolutionis,  quam  per  multos 
alios  legitimes  modes  de  jure  et  de  facto,  pro  bao  vice.  [Mor- 
rin's  Patent  Rolls  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

1615  to  1675.   Vide  the  Rectory. 

1675.  June  1.  Garret  Barry,  V.  Aghem  and  Ballymoe.     [F.F.] 

He  was,  in  1678,  R.  Kilsaran,  Armagh  ;  in  1680,  K  Clogh- 
ran.  Swords ;  and  in  1681,  Chancellor  of  Armagh,  and  R.  Kil- 
more,  Armagh.     He  died  in  1685. 

1681.  May  27.  Robert  SMirn,  a.m.,  V.  Agherne  and  Ballynoe,  per 
cessionem  Barry.  [F.F.]  He  was  also  R.  Ahern  and  Bally- 
noe, q.  ▼. 


CLOTHE.]  AHERN  TIGABAOE.  15 

1685.  Augast  6.  Hbnbt  Habrison,  a.m.,  V.  Agherne  and  Bally noe, 
per  cessionem  Smith.  [D.R.]  And  on  same  day  V.  Castle- 
lyons,  q.  v. 

1694.  "  Vicarage  of  Agherne.  Value  £11.  Vicar  de  Agh- 
erne Mr.  Henry  Harrison,  cune  animarum  incnmbit.  Dom. 
Episcopns  patronus.  This  parish  is  united  with  V.  Oastleo- 
leaghane,  R.  V.  Nethlash,  V.  Kildorrery,  V.  Clondukne,  B.  de 
Brettway,  and  V.  Villa  Nova.  Ecclia  de  Agherne,  bene  repa- 
rata,  in  ceteris  nulla  est  ecclesia.  Churches  of  Kildorrery 
and  Nethlash  out  of  repair  since  the  Rebellion,  1641.  All 
Mr.  Harrison's  livings  lie  contiguous,  and  are  united  pro  hoc 
vice:'  [Palliser.]  "  V.  Villa  novsB,  value  £9."  [lb.] 
1747.  November  4.  William  Vowell,  V.  Ahem,  and  R.  de  Bret- 
way,  per  cessionem  Harrison.     [D.R.] 

1762,  Aghern,  &c  Vowell  non-resident.  Yearly  income, 
£80.     [A.  Hayman.] 

1774.  Ahern  Vicarage  is  worth  £70  per  an.  The  church  is 
in  repair.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Britway,  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Banymore.  Value,  £80. 
Church  in  ruins.  Pat.  the  Bp.  I*roxy,  is.  Incumb.  William 
Vowell,  A.M.  The  Rect.  is  Improp.  The  present  Impropriator 
is  the  representative  of  Mr.  Henry  Harrison.     [Hingston.] 

1779.  A  chalice  now  (1863)  in  use,  bears  this  legend: — 
*'  The  gift  of  the  late  Mrs.  Barbara  Giflbrd  to  the  parish  church 
of  Ahern.     Anno  1779." 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Ahern,  14  ;  of  Bretway,  2. 

William  Vowell  was  descended  from  David  Vowell,  esq.,  of 
Rathcorman,  county  Cork,  who  died  in  1667,  leaving  a  son, 
Richard,  of  Castlelyons,  who  died  in  1681,  leaving  issue  (be- 
sides the  Rev.  Christopher  Vowell,  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  v.),  an 
eldest  son,  Thomas,  who  was  father  of  Christopher  Vowell,  esq., 
of  Ballyoran,  county  Cork,  who  married,  in  1697,  Elisabeth, 
dan.  of  Thomas  Harrison,  esq.,  of  Castlelyons,  and  died  in  1724, 
leaving  issue  by  her  two  sons,  William  and  Thomas. 

William,  the  elder  of  these  sons,  was  bom  in  Cork,  and  when 
seventeen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner  on  25th  July, 
1736,  and  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  31st  May,  1747, 
having  previously,  in  1744,  graduated  as  a.m.,  T.C.D.  He 
was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Ahern  on  19th  September,  1746. 
From  1747  to  his  death  in  1788  he  was  V.  Ahem,  and  R. 
Bretway. 

He  married  Martha,  dan.  of  John  Watkins,  esq.,  of  Pallace- 
town,  county  Cork,  by  whom  he  had  no  issue.     His  brother, 
Thomas,  was  father  of  Major  Richard  Vowell. 
1788.  November  10.  Marmaduke  Grove,  V.  Ahern,  and  R.  Bret- 
way, per  mortem  Vowell.     [D.R.] 

He  was  licensed  on  15th  September,  1764,  to  the  curacy  of 
Brahenny.     From  1780  to  1788  he  was  V.  TuUilease,  and 


i: 


16  AHEBN  VICABAGE.  [CLOTNK, 

from  1788  to  1795  was  Y.  Ahern^  and  E.  Bretway.     He  died 
in  1795. 

I  find  among  the  Cloyne  Marriage  Bonds  one  dated  in  1808, 
between  Marmaduke  Groye,  of  the  connty  Waterford,  and 
Eliza  Rourke,  of  Youghal. 

1795.  February  8.  Thomas  Carson,  a.b.,  V.  Ahem,  and  R  Bretway, 
per  mortem  Grove.  [D.R.]  Carson  was  afterwards  R.  V. 
Ailmahon,  q.  y. 

1796.  September  1.  Tobias  Adams,  V.  Ahem,  and  R  Bretway,  per 
cessionem  Carson.     [D.R.] 

T.  Adams  (son  of  Mr.  Robert  Adams,  of  Dublin),  was  a 
Scholar  T.C.D.  in  1762,  and  graduated  a.m.  in  1771. 

From  1771  to  1796  he  was  V.  Templebodan,  and  from  1772 
to  1796,  y.  Clondulane.  From  1796  to  his  death  in  1805  he 
was  V.  Ahern,  and  R.  Bretway. 

He  married,  in  January,  1773,  Jane  Owen,  of  Dublin,  by 
whom  he  had  issue,  Rey.  Charles-Robert  Adams,  R.  V.  Car- 
rigdownan,  q.  y.  Rev.  Tobias  Adams  was  buried  in  Cloyne 
Cathedral  on  23rd  January,  1805. 
1805.  May  4.  Edward  Spread,  V.  Ahern,  and  R.  Bretway,  per  mor- 
tem Adams.     [D.R.] 

1805.  Ahern  and  Bretway  contain  seven  Protestant  families. 
[Abp.  Brod.] 

1807.  Spread  resides  near  the  parish.     pParl.  Rep.] 

Edward  Spread  (eldest  son  of  Rev.  Mathias  Spread,  V.  Kin- 
sale,  Cork,  q.  v.),  was  ordained  Deacon  at  St.  Mark's,  Dublin, 
by  the  Bishop  of  Ferns  and  Leighlin,  on  25th  March,  1777, 
and  Deacon  on  7th  February,  1779,  at  Cork. 

On  25th  June,  1778,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Ma- 
goumey.  From  1789  to  1805  he  was  R.  Dingindonovan,  and 
from  1805  to  his  death  on  25th  March,  1814,  was  V.  Ahern, 
and  R.  Bretway. 

He  married,  firstly,  Isabella,  dau.  of  Hibernicus  Scott,  esq., 
by  Anne,  dau.  of  Percy  Smyth,  esq.  He  had  by  her,  who  was 
buried  in  St  Nicholas,  Cork,  on  15th  August,  1797,  one  dau. 
Anne,  who  was  wife  of  Rev.  H.  Beamish,  of  Mount  Beamish, 
county  Cork.  E.  Spread  married,  secondly,  in  1800,  Sophia 
Hyde,  of  Youghal  (sister  of  Rev.  Arthur  Hyde),  by  whom  he 
had  no  issue,  at  least  he  mentions  no  children  in  his  will. 
1814.  August  15.  John  Bennet,  V.  Ahern,  and  R.  Bretway,  per 
mort  Spread.  [D.R.]  Ben  net  was  afterwards  Chancellor  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1814.  October  29.  Honoitbablb  Ludlow  Tonson,  V.  Ahem,  and  R. 
Bretway,  per  cession,  of  Ben  net.     [D.R.] 

1817.  A  paten  now  (1863)  in  use,  oears  this  legend: — 
"EcclesisB  de  Ahern  Gulielmus  Bennet  Episcopus  Clonensis 
D.D.D.  in  nsum  mens.  Dom.  MDCCCXVII." 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Ahem,  82  ;  of  Bretway,  16. 


3 


CLOTHE.]  AHERN  YICARAQB.  17 

1837.  Ahern  union  :  5^  English  miles  long  by  3  broad,  with 
care,  consisting  of: — 1.  Ahern  vicarage,  3  miles  long  by  1 
broad.  2.  Britwaj  rectory,  2^  miles  long  by  2  broad.  The 
onion  contains  7,192a.  Qross  population,  2,465.  One  Curate 
employed,  at  an  annual  stipend  of  £69  As.  7^.  Brit.  Com- 
position for  vicarial  tithes  of  Ahem  parish,  XI 85  lOs,  d^d. 
Tithe  composition  of  Britway  parish,  £230  150.  4|(f. ;  7a.  of 
glebe,  in  Ahern  parish,  valued  at  258,  per  plan,  acre,  £8  15s. ; 
subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  17«.  9d,  ;  diocesan  schoolmaster, 
£i  3s.  8d.  The  glebe-house.,  situate  in  Ahem  parish,  built  in 
1822,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £923  1^.  6f  V.  Brit., 
whereof  £369  4^.  7^d.  was  granted  in  way  of  gift,  and  a  sum, 
to  the  same  amount,  in  that  of  loan,  by  the  late  Board  of  First 
Fruits ;  and  the  residue  of  £184  I2s.  3|«i.  was  supplied  out  of 
the  private  funds  of  the  Incumbent,  who  will  be  entitled  to 
receive,  on  account  of  the  sum  last-named,  £138  9s,  2}c/. 
from  his  successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there  remained 
£249  is.  A^d,  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable 
by  annual  instalments  of  £14  I5s.  i^d.  Incumbent  resides  in 
the  glebe-house.  One  church,  situate  in  Ahern  parish,  capable 
of  accommodating  150  persons,  built  in  1816,  at  the  cost  of 
£738  98.  2f  <f .  Br.,  whereof  £461  10a.  9^d.  wa«  granted  in  way 
of  loan,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits,  and  the  residue  of 
£276  ISs.  5id.  was  raised  by  subscriptions.  Of  the  loan  afore- 
said, there  remained  £257  6s.  lid  chargeable  on  the  union  in 
1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £15  3«.  Divine 
service  is  celebrated  twice  on  Sundays  in  summer,  and  once  in 
winter,  and  on  particular  holidays.  The  sacrament  is  admin- 
istered six  times  in  the  year.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  one 
moiety  of  the  tithes  of  Ahern  parish  are  appropriate,  and  held 
by  an  ecclesiastical  Incumbent.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

Ludlow  Tonson,  born  in  1784,  was  seventh  son  of  the  first 
Lord  Riversdale,  and  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cork  on  6th 
May,  1810,  and  Priest  on  the  20th  May,  same  year,  at  Cork. 
From  1810  to  1814  he  was  V.  Marshalstown,  and  from  1814 
to  1839,  V.  Ahem,  and  R.  Bretway.  He  also  held  from  1818 
to  1839  the  R.  V.  Nathlash  and  Kildorrery.  From  1839  to 
his  death  on  13th  December,  1861,  he  was  Lord  Bishop  of  Kil- 
laloe.  In  1848,  on  the  death  of  his  brother,  he  became  Baron 
Riversdale.  His  Lordship  died  unmarried,  and  that  title  is 
now  extinct 
1839.  May  30.  Geoboe  Beucb  Nason,  V.  Ahem  and  R.  de  Bretway, 
on  presentation  of  the  Crown  for  this  turn  only.     p^.R.] 

1860.  G.  B.  Nason,  Incumbent ;  William  Agar,  Curate. 
The  church,  &c,  in  good  order.  A  chalice,  paten,  and  poor- 
box,  of  silver.  A  glebe-house  and  seven  acres  of  glebe  in  In- 
cumbent's use.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays,  and  once 
OD  Christmas  Day,  Ash  Wednesday,  Good  Friday,  and  Asoen- 

TOLi  IL  0 


18  AUEBN  VICARAGE. — AaHINAGH.  [CLOTNS. 

sion.  The  sacrament  twelve  times  in  the  year;  average  of 
communicants,  16.  22  children  are  on  the  rolls  of  a  Church 
Education  school     The  Protestant  population  is  71. 

G.  B.  Nason,  son  of  John  Nason,  esq,,  of  Newtown,  county 
Cork,  hy  Catherine  Bruce,  of  Mil  town,  was  ordained  Priest  at 
Cloyne  on  21st  November,  1813,  and  on  same  day  was  licensed 
to  the  curacy  of  Aheru  and  Bret  way.  He  died  on  10th  Feb- 
ruary, 1861,  at  Ahem  Vicarage,  aged  seventy-five.  He  left 
issue,  by  his  wife,  Catherine  Sargint,  of  the  county  Limerick, 
three  sons  :  John-George,  of  Terramount,  Rathcormack,  a  ma- 
gistrate for  county  Cork ;  Charles,  of  Woodview  ;  and  George- 
Saul,  of  Newtown. 
1861.  May  2.  Hbnbt  Joseph  Woodbooffb,  a.m.,  V.  Ahem  and  R. 
de  Bretway,  per  mortem  Nason,     [B.B.] 

Value,  rentcharge,  ^312  4«.  8d. ;  land,  7  acres,  £7.  Total 
value,  £319  4«.  Sd,  per  an.,  with  residence. 

H.  J.  Woodroofie  (second  son  of  James  Woodroofie,  esq.,  of 
Dublin),  was  bom  on  20th  Dec.  1811,  and  graduated  A3.  T.C.D. 
in  1838,  and  a.m.  in  1841. 

In  1846  he  was  Curate  of  Carrigaline.  From  1852  to  1861 
he  was  V.  Ballynoe. 

He  mariied,  on  25th  January,  1849,  Jane-Stewart,  eldest 
dau.  of  Henry  Warren,  esq.,  of  Bridgemount,  county  Cork. 
By  her  he  has  issue,  besides  two  children  who  died  young, 
three  sons,  Latham- James,  born  24th  August,  1851  ;  John- 
Fitzhenry,  born  29th  June,  1^55  ;  and  Augustus-Warren,  born 
31st  March,  1857.  He  has  also  one  daughter,  Elisabeth- 
Janette. 


AHTNAGH. 

1591.    Rectoria  sequestratur  pro  primitiis.      Vicar,   Flobencius 

EuoENH.    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  Georob  Lee  appears  as  Rector  and  Vicar.  ''Aghinia(residens) 

R.  V.  George  Lee,  Decanus  Cork.     Curatus  Richardub  White, 

minister  legens.    Val.  8  li.  per  an.     Ecclesia  et  cancella  re- 

pantur."     [R.V.  R.I.A.]     For  Lee,  vide  Deans  of  Cork. 
1627.  Feb.  11.  John  Johnson,  R.  V.  Aghinaughe.     Inducted  16th 

Feb.,  1627.     Valor  24  li.  per  an.     Vicecomes  Musgragh  est 

impropriator  rectorisB.     [R.V.  1634.1 

In  1629  Johnson  became  also  V.  Kinsale,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1663  to  1665.  Richabd  Boyle,  Dean  of  Limerick,  appears  as  R.  V. 

Aghinagh.     Mr.  Giles  is  Curate.     [V.B.]     Boyle  was  also 

R.  Kilcolman,  q.  v. 

1666.  The  rectory  and  vicarage  are  vacant     [V.B.] 


ClfOTlTE.]  AHINAQH.  19 

1667.  May  2/>.  John  Easton,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Aghenagh  et  V.  Agha- 
bollig  et  Kilcolman.  [F.F.]  He  was  also  Chancellor  of  Ross, 
q.  V. 

1668.  November  12.  "Vacant  per  mortem  Johannis  Eabton." 
[T.B.] 

16G9.  October  15.  Riohardus  Stnoe.  R.  Y.  Aghenagh,  V.  Agbabolliff 
et  Kilcolman,  per  mortem  Johis  Easton.   [V.B.  1669.]    Richard 
»  Synge  appears  in  1673,  and  in  1674  became  Archdeacon  of 
Cork,  q.  v.  « 

1^74.  June  4.  Grorob  Stngb,  R«  V.  Aghinagh,  V.  Agabnlloge  et 
Kilcolman,  et  P.  Kilbrogan,  Cork.  [D*R.]  Yidt  Kilbrogan, 
in  Cork,  for  George  Synge. 

1692.  October  29.  Edward  Stngb,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  V.  Aga- 
bulloge  et  Kilcolman,  per  mortem  Georgii  Synge.  [D.R.j 
Edward  Synge  was  also  P.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1692/3.  January  11.  Richard  Brownb  is  presented  by  Crown  to 
the  vicarage  of  Aghinagh,  with  a  clause  of  union  to  other  livings. 
[Lib.  Mnn.]     Browne  was  also  R.  Macroom,  q.  v. 

1706.  Februarys.  Philip  Townsbnd,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Aghinagh.  [F.P.] 
He  was  also  P.  Lisclery,  Cork,  q.  v. 

About  1 7 1 5  is  the  following  memorandum  in  the  Cloyne  regis- 
try: **  P.  Townsend  to  be  R.  V.  Aghinagh  (on  letters  patent  from 
Crown),  vacant  by  promotion  of  Edward  Synge  to  the  bishop- 
rick  of  Raphoe.*'  Perhaps  Synge  resigned  the  vicarage  only 
in  1692/3,  and  kept  the  rectory  of  Aghinagh  until  1714. 

1735.  July  28.  Michael  Davies,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  vacant  per 
mortem  Philippi  Townsend.  [D.R.]  In  1742  Davies  became 
also  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1762.  Davies,  non-resident.  Value  of  Ahena,  £150.  [A. 
Hayman.1 

1774.  Aghinagh:  rect.  and  via,  in  the  bar.  of  Muekerry  ; 
value  X300  per  an.  Church  in  ruins.  Patron,  the  Bp.  Glebe, 
24a.  1r.  27p.  En.,  with  a  bouse.  Proxy,  £1  8«.  Taxed  in  the 
King's  books,  by  the  name  of  Aghenagh,  the  rect.  £6,  and  the 
vio.  the  like.     Incumb.,  Michael  Davies,  a.m.     [Hingston.] 

1779.  June  18.  Jambs  Mookleb,  ll.b.,  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  and  also 
Archdeacon  of  Cloyne,  all  vacant  by  death  of  Davies.     [D.R.] 
Vide  the  Archdeaconry. 

1782.  August  22.  Mockler  takes  a  second  collation  to  Aghi- 
nagh.    [D.R.] 

1785.  The  Protestant  population  is  21.     [Davies.] 

1789.  March  26.  William  Bbbkblet,  a.m.s  R.  y  .  Aghinagh,  per 
cession  of  Mockler.  [D.R.]  BerkeleywasalsoP.Ballyhooly,q.v. 

1810.  September  25.  John  Rydkr,  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  per  cession  of 
Berkeley.     [D.R.]     He  was  also  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1819.  July  24.  John  Michael  Bkookb,  a.m;,  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  per 
mortem  Ryder.     [D.R.] 
VOL.  n.  0  2 


20  ABIHAGH.  [CLOTKB. 

J.  M.  Brooke  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Cloyne,  on  15th 
October,  1815.  He  held,  along  with  Aghinagh,  the  R.  Kil- 
mahon  from  January,  1824,  to  his  death  on  19th  July  in  that 
same  year. 

He  married  Louisa,  third  dan.  of  Holt  Waring,  Dean  of 
Dromore.     She  afterwards  married  Colonel  St.  John  Augustus 
Gierke,  K.H. 
1825.  January  11.  Samuel  Gebabd  Fairtlough,  R.  V.  Aghinagh, 
per  mortem  Brooke.     [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  119. 

1837.  Aghinagh  :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  5  miles 
long  by  4  broad,  containing  9,300a.  Gross  population,  2,442. 
No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £738  3«.  lid  25^ 
acres  of  glebe,  valued  at  30«.  per  acre,  £28  os.,  subject  to  visi- 
tation fees,  £1  15«.  Diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  Os,  5d.  Aghi- 
nagh glebe-house  in  excellent  order,  built  in  1814,  under  the 
new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £2,388  78.  A^cL  Brit,  whereof  £1,384 
I2i.  3jd!.  was  granted  in  way  of  loan,  and  £92  6t.  1}</.  in  that 
of  gift  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  and  the  residue  of 
£911  8s,  lid  was  supplied  out  of  the  private  funds  of  the 
builder,  to  whom  tbe  present  Incumbent  is  second  in  succes- 
sion; and  having  paid  his  predecessor  £683  1  Is.  7d.  on  account 
of  the  sum  last  named,  he  will  be  entitled  to  receive  £455 
14s.  5^(L  from  his  successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid  there  re- 
mained £862  18s.  Ad.  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832, 
repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £45  Ss.  4d.  Incumbent  is 
constantly  resident  in  the  glebe-house.  One  church,  capable 
of  containing  130  persons,  built  in  1791,  at  the  cost  of  £461 
10».  9id.  Brit.,  granted  in  the  way  of  gift  by  the  late  Board  of 
First  Fruits.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of 
the  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and 
on  Christmas  Day  and  Good  Friday.  The  sao'ament  is  ad- 
ministered eight  times  in  the  year.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory. 
[Pari.  Rep.1 

S.  G.  Fairtlough  (son  of  Major  Samuel  Fairtlough,  of  the 
63rd  Regt.)  was  an  officer  in  the  army  before  he  entered  the 
ministry,  and  graduated  in  Trin.  Coll.,  Dub.,  in  1824.  In  1823 
he  was  made  P.  Coole  ;  in  1824,  R.  V.  Clonmult ;  and  from 
1824  to  his  death,  on  23rd  December,  1852,  was  R.  V.  Aghi- 
nagh. In  February,  1825,  he  was  also  for  a  few  months  P. 
Killenenor. 

He  married  Sophia-Caroline,  dau.  of  John  Mongan,  m.d.,  by 
a  daa.  of  Colonel  Alcock,  and  niece  of  Bishop  Mongan  alias 
Warburton,  and  by  her  had  issue  three  sons,  Charles-Edward, 
Capt.  63rd  Regt.;  Samuel,  Lieut.  12th  Regt;  and  James,  Lieut. 
63rd  Regt. ;  besides  two  daughters,  Isabella-Catherine,  wife  of 
Rev.  R.  Kirchofier,  R.  Ballyvourney,  q.  v.;  and  Sophy,  wife  of 
Nathaniel-George  Philips,  Lieut.  47th  Regt. 


CLOTNE.]  AHINAGH. — ARDA6H.  21 

1853.  January  1.  Henry  Jellbtt,  a.m.,  IU  and  Y.  Agbinagb,  per 
mort.  Fairtlough.     [D.R.] 

1854.  A  Acuity  was  granted  for  the  repair  of  the  church. 
[D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  in  good  order.  25  acres 
of  land  in  Rector's  use.  Divine  service  on  all  Sundays,  &c. 
Evening  service  on  Sundays  in  a  school-house.  The  sacra- 
ment monthly,  and  at  chief  festivals.  The  average  of  commu- 
nicants is  18.  7  children  attend  a  school,  which  is  maintained 
by  Rector*  The  Protestant  population  is  47.  The  rentcharge 
is  £458,  and  the  value  of  laud  is  £25,  Total  value,  £483, 
with  residence. 

Henry  Jellett  (a  younger  brother  of  John-Hewitt  Jellett, 
F.T.o.D.)  was  son  of  Rev*  Morgan  Jellett,  P.  Tullycorbet,  by 
Harriett,  dau.  of  Hewett  Poole,  esq.,  of  Mayfiold,  county  Cork. 

He  graduated  a.b.,  T.C.D.,  in  1842,  and  a.m.  in  1846.  He 
was  ordained  in  1844.  On  4th  March,  1846,  he  was  appointed 
a  Surrogate  for  Cork,  and  on  13th  May,  same  year,  was 
licensed  to  the  curacy  of  SU  Peter's,  Cork*  f^rom  1851  to  1853, 
he  was  V.  Ballyspillane. 

He  is  married,  and  has  issue. 


ARDAGH. 

1291.  Nicholas  de  Cleb  is  Rector,  and  Robert  de  Haltwell  is 

Vicar  of  Ardagh,  &c.    Also  of  Toughal,  q.  v. 

"  Capella  de  Ardaych  in  qua  idem  Rector  et  idem  Vicax^  ad 

Iin  li.  unde  decia  VIIIs.     [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1615,  circa,  Capella  de  Ardagh  Membrum  Collegii  de  l^oughall;  the 

church  and  chancel  ruynous  for  these  twenty  years,  served 

heretofore  by  Mr.  Hawkes,  now  by  Mr.  Wood.  [F.F.]  Hawkes 

was  V.  Aghada,  q.  v.     Mr.  William  Wood  was  Curate  also  of 

Qarravoy  and  of  Kilcredan  in  1615. 
1634.  E.  de  Ardagh  spectat  ad  Coll.  de  Youghall.     Valet  20  li.  per 

an.     Robert  Millinoton,  curatus^  habet  pro  servitio  suo  10  li. 

per  an.     rR.V.  1634.] 
1637.  August  10.  Gborob  Leadbbtbr,  Rec.  Integ.  de  Ardagh ;  on 

letters  patent,  dated  July  22.     [F.F.  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

In  1631  he  was  V.  Castletown,  which  he  probably  held  along 

with  Ardagh. 
On  20th  May,  1631,  George  Leadbetter,  Vicar  de  Castletown, 

signs  a  bond  for  marriage  with  Sara  Moody.     [Cork  Mar. 

Bonds.] 
1661  to  1664.  Ardagh  is  marked  ''  vacant."     [V.B.] 
1665  f  John  Sterne,  R.  Ardagh,  and  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1667.  Ardagh  is  marked  ''vacant,  per  mortem  Stbrnb."    [V.B.] 


22  AEDAGH.  [l 

1668.  Jalj  31.  JoHV  Wkbb,  &  Ardmgb,  in  mMntatione  Re^  p«r 
nsortem  JohannU  Sterne.  [73. 1669. J  And  mne  dnj  Chan- 
cellor of  Clojne,  q.  t. 

Webb  appears  mb  R.  Ardagh  from  1668  to  1670.     [V.B.] 
1671.  Isaac  Mavsvibld  appears  as  K  Ardagh.    [V.R]    But  he 
seems  not  to  hare  been  admitted.     Ue  was  afterwards  P.  Lw- 
kennj,  q.  v. 
1671.  December  15.  William  FinoBKAU),  R.  Ardagh,  yaeaai  bj 
cession  of  Webb,  on  letters  patent  of  November  4.     [F.F.  and 
Lib.  Man.]     On  3rd  Angnst,  1671,  Fitxgerald  was  admitted 
R.  Clonpriest,  ya4sant  bj  death  of  Rugg,  and  from  1671  to  1789 
CloDpriest  and  Ardagh  were  held  together. 
Fitzgerald  was  also  Dean  of  Clojne,  q.  t. 
1691.  Octol^r  14.  William  Jkphsov,  a.m.,  R.  Ardagh  and  Clon- 
priest,  vucant  bj  promotion  of  Wm.  Fitzgerald  to  the  Bishop- 
rick  of  Cloufert.     [Lib.  If  nn.] 

1694.  *'Rectonr  of  Ardagh;  val.  £24.  Rector  integ*  de 
Ardagh.  Mr.  Wm.  Jephson,  Dean  of  Lismore.  He  has  had 
the  King^s  patent  above  three  years  for  Clonpriest  and  Ardagh, 
and  jet  never  came  to  the  Bishop  to  take  oat  institution  and 
indaction,  so  that  the  livings  are  vacant  in  law.  He  is  a 
most  scandalous  non-resident.  Dominus  Rex  est  patronus. 
Nulla  ecclesia.  Spectat  ad  collegium  de  YoughaJl.  Clonpriest 
and  Ardagh  are  contiguous."     [Palliser.] 

1694.  June  19.  A  sequestration  of  Ardagh  and  Clonpriest  is 
to  be  given  to  Francis Beecher,  "proximo  incumbenti."  [D.R.] 
1712.  Mr.  ffranois  ffoulke  is  Curate.     [V.B.] 
1714.  Mr.  Dire  Downes,  Curatus  non  extraxit  litteras  cura- 
tisB.     [V.B.] 

William  Jephson  was  son  of  Major-Ceneral  Jephson,  and 
grandson  of  Sir  John  Jephson,  knight,  of  Frojle,  Hants. 

From  1680  to  1684  he  was  a  Minor  Canon  of  St  Patrick's, 
Dublin;  from  1682  to  1711,  P.  Donoghmore,  Limerick  ;  and 
from  1691  to  bis  death  on  11th  April,  1719/20,  he  was  Dean 
of  Lismore,  R.  V.  Innislonaght,  and  R.  Ardagh  and  Clonpriest 
He  married  Anne,  dan.  of  Redmond  Barrj,  of  Bathcorroaok, 
and  relict  of  geinuel  Hart  well.  Bj  her  he  had  issue  an  onlj 
son,  John,  Archdeacon  of  Glojne,  q.  v.,  and  two  daughters, 
Marj,  wife  of  Honourable  James  O'Brjen,  and  mother  of  the 
first  Marqness  of  Thomond  ;  and  Anne,  wife  of  Sir  Winwood 
Mowet,  hart  P»«  Jephson  was  buried  in  Lismore  Cathedral. 
1720.  August  8.  A»THi;»  Da  Awvebsb,  a.m.,  R.  Ardagh  and  Clon- 
priest,  vaisant  per  mortem  Jephson.  [F.F.  and  D.R.]  On 
letters  patent  of  -^"n*  22.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

Mr.  b'Anvem  wan  eminent  for  his  zeal  in  preaching  the  doc- 
trines of  the  R»?forffiation,  and  was  iostramental  in  Icnuling  man j 
persons  from  th<5  ^rtorn  hi  tlie  Church  of  Rome.  He  published 
the  following  misrm^^   - 


CLOYNE.]  ARDAGH.  23 

.  1.  "  King  George's  Title  asserted,  in  a  Sermon  preacbed  at 
Clojnepriest,  in  the  diocese  of  Cloyne,  on  August  1,  1721.  By 
Arthur  D*Anvers,  ll.b.^  Rector  of  Cloynepriest  and  Ardagh, 
and  Chaplain  to  his  Grace  the  Duke  of  Bolton.  At  the  request 
of  the  Worshipful  the  Mayor^  the.  Recorder,  some  of  the  Alder- 
men of  Youffhal,  and  of  several  other  gentlemen,**  pp.  16. 
(Beside  a  Dedication  to  the  Mayor,  Recorder,  and  other  gentlemen 
of  Youghal.)  Cork.   Printed  by  George  Bennett,  1721.     4to. 

2.  "  Salvation  scarce  possible  in  the  Church  of  Borne,  but 
secure  in  the  Church  of  Ireland,  by  law  establish*d,  asserted  in 
a  Sermon  preached  at  Foughaf,  on  the  28th  day  of  March,  1736, 
at  the  recantation  of  several  persons  brought  over  by  the 
Author  horn  the  erroneous  Church  of  Rome  to  our  Church 
(Matt.  XV.  9).  Published  at  the  request  of  the  Protestant  In- 
habitants of  Youghal.  By  Arthur  D' An  vers,  ll.b..  Rector  of 
Clonpriest  and  Ardagh,  in  the  diocese  of  Cloyne,  and  Chap- 
lain to  the  Right  Honourable  Richard,  Earl  of  Corke  and  Bur- 
lington,**  pp.  20.  (Beside  a  Dedication  to  the  Bishop  of  Cloyne, 
George  Berkeley,  and  a  list  of  forty-six  subscribers).  **  Dublin, 
Printed  by  Christopher  Dickson,  in  the  Post  Office-yard,  Syca^- 
more-aUey,  for  Samuel  DAnvers,  brother  to  the  Autfior,  and  are 
to  be  sold  by  T.  Moore,  at  Erasmus's  Head,  Bookseller,  in 
Dame-street,  and  the  rest  of  the  booksellers,  1736.** 

The  persons  who  read  their  recantation  of  Popery,  and  were 
received  into  the  Church  of  Ireland  in  St  Marys  Collegiate 
Church,  Youghal,  28th  March,  1736^  when  the  foregoing  sermon 
was  delivered,  were  the  following : — 1.  Mr.  James  D'Anvers, 
brother  of  the  Preacher.  2.  Arthur  D'Anvers,  son  of  James 
D*  An  vers.     3.  Catherine  Prendergasti     4.  Elisabeth  Day. 

3.  ''  The  Daily  Sacrifice  of  the  Mass  :  a  Novel,  Anti-Scrip- 
tural, and  impious  doctrine,  asserted  in  a  Sermon  preached  at 
Youghal,  on  the  1st  day  of  August,  1736,  at  the  recantation 
of  a  Gentlewoman  converted  from  Popery  by  the  Author  (Heb. 
ix.  29).  Published  at  the  request  of  the  Protestant  Inhabitants 
of  Youghal.  By  Arthur  D'Anvers,  ll.b.,"  &c.  (as  before),  pp. 
24.  (Beside  a  Dedication  to  the  Mayor,  kc,  and  a  Pre^Eice  to 
the  Reader.)  Dublin.  Printed  by  Christopher  Dickson  (as 
previous  Sermon),  1736.  N.B.  The  gentlewoman  who  re- 
canted was  the  wife  of  Mr.  James  D*Anvers,  the  Preacher's 
brother. 

The  Rev.  Mr.  Arthur  D'Anvers  was  married.  His  wife  was 
buried  on  2nd  April,  1753,  and  he  was  buried  on  23rd  July, 
1754,  at  St.  Mary's  Church,  Youghal^ 
1755.  March  18.  William  Chabtrbs,  a.m.,  R.  Ardagh  and  Clon- 
priest, on  letters  patent  of  March  10,  vacant  per  mortem  Dan- 
vers.    [F.P.  D.R.  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

1762.  Chartres  non-resident ;  yearly  income,  ^220.  [A. 
Hayman.] 


24  ARDAOU.  [CLOTN£. 

William  Ohartres,  or  Charters,  was  probably  son  of  William 
Charters,  esq.,  who  was  sod  of  William  Chartres,  of  Cork',  who 
died  circa  1723. 

In  1753  he  became  P.  Blackrath,  Ossoiy  ;  in  1754,  V.  Cla- 
rah  and  St.  John's,  Kilkenny,  all  which  livings  he  held  along 
with  Ardagh,  until  his  death  in  1764. 

He  married,  on  7th  September,  1749,  Miss  Mary  Giles,  of 
Yonghal,  and  by  her  had  issue.  His  daughter,  Elisabeth,  was 
baptized  in  1750,  and  died  in  1751 ;  his  son,  George,  was  bap- 
tized in  1751  ;  another  son,  William,  was  buried  in  1755  ;  and 
another  son,  Richard,  was  received  into  the  church  on  13th 
March,  1759.  [Youglial  Parish  Register.] 
1764.  October  5.  John  Eillbn,  d.d.,  R.  Ardagh  and  Clonpriest,  per 
mortem  Chartres,  on  letters  patent  of  24th  September.  [F.F. 
D.R.  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

1774.  Ardagh,  rect.  in  the  bar.  of  Imokilly.  Value  £150 
per  ann.  Church  in  repair.  Pat  the  King.  Glebe,  5a.  2b.  35p. 
En.  Proxy,  6s.  It  formerly  belonged  to  the  College  of 
Toughall.  Incumb.  John  Killen,  d.d.  Curate,  Walter  Giles, 
A.M.     [Hingston.] 

1785.  The  Protestant  population  of  Ardagh  was  3  ;  of  Clon- 
priest, 7.     [Dr.  Killen.] 

Dr.  Killen  married,  at  Toughal,  on  23rd  April,  1771,  Miss 
Mary  Day,  and  by  her,  who  was  buried  at  Youghal  on  5th 
May,  1772,  had  issue  a  son,  Robert,  who,  as  appears  by  Dr. 
•  Killen's  will  (dated  in  1787,  and  proved  in  1789),  had  a  son, 
John  Killen. 
1789.  July  28.  Brinsley  Nixon,  a.m.,  R.  Arda^ch,  vacant  by  death 
of  Killen,  on  letters  patent  of  7th  July.     [F.F.  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

In  1805,  Ardagh  contained  one  Protestant  family.  [Abp. 
Brod.] 

1807.  Nixon  has  cure  of  souls  ;  he  resides  chiefly  on  his 
other  living  in  Meath.  The  duties  are  performed  by  his 
Curate,  Rev.  John  M*Beth,  who  has  a  stipend  of  £50,  and 
resides  near  the  parish.  One  church  in  this  parish.  No  glebe- 
house.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1813.  June  21.  A  caveat  is  lodged  in  the  registry  from  Lord 
Ponsonby  against  instituting  a  clerk  to  Ardagh  or  Clonpriest. 
[D.R.] 

B.  Nixon  was  a  Scholar,  T.C.D.,  in  1769.  In  1794  he  became 
R.  P&instown  and  Ardmulchan,  in  Meath  diocese,  which  he 
held,  along  with  Ardagh,  until  his  death  in  1822  or  1823. 

He  is  styled  in  his  will,  proved  13th  May,  1823,  Rev. 
Brinsley  Nixon,  of  Stephen's  Hospital,  Dublin.  He  was  father 
of  Rev.  Arthur  Herbert  Nixon,  Incumbent  of  Booterstown, 
near  Dublin  ;  and  of  Francis  Horatio  Nixon,  and  of  Edward 
Nixon,  also  of  Mrs.  Elisabeth  Gould,  his  eldest  daughter ;  of 
Catherine  Nixon,  iic,  iic 


CLOYNK.]  ARDAGH.  25 

1823.  December  10.  Sombrs  Patne,  R.  Ardagh,  vacant  by  deatb  of 
Nixon,  and  on  letters  patent  from  the  Grown.    [D.R.J   In  1831 
be  became  Treasurer  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1831.  Marcb  1.  Joseph  Jertois,  R.  Ardagh,  vacant  by  cession  of 
Payne.    p.R.] 

1830.  rrotestant  population,  14* 

1837.  Ardagh  :  a  rectory,  with  cure,  nearly  4  miles  long  by 
3i  broad,  containing  8,000a.  Gross  population,  2,658.  No 
Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £600.  5  acres  of  glebe, 
with  a  cabin  thereon,  valued  at  £1.  Subject  to  visitation  fees, 
£1.  Diocesan  schoolmaster)  ld«.  9(f.  No  glebe- house.  Incum- 
bent, although  not  resident  in  the  benefice,  resides  conveniently 
thereto,  and  pays  a  sum  of  £40  a-year  jfor  house-rent.  One 
church,  capable  of  accommodating  80  persons,  but  so  old  that 
the  date  and  cost  of  its  erection  are  unascertainable.  No  charge 
on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service 
is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  festivals. 
The  sacrament  is  administered  six  times  in  the  year.  The 
benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

The  Rev.  Joseph  Jervois  was  descended  from  Captain 
Samuel  Jervois,  of  Glandore,  county  Cork,  who,  by  his  wife 
Martha,  dau.  of  James  Salmon,  esq.,  of  Glandore,  had  an  eldest 
son,  Samuel,  of  Droonie,  coun^  Cork,  esq.,  who  married  Anne, 
dau.  and  co-heir  of  Samuel  romeroy,  esq.,  of  Pallice,  county 
Cork,  and  had  by  her  an  only  son,  Sampson  Jervois,  esq.,  of 
Cork,  who  died  in  1750.  Sampson  left  issue  by  his  wife,  Anne, 
sister  of  Arthur  Gifibrd,  esq.,  an  eldest  son,  Samuel,  who  died 
in  1787,  leaving  a  son  and  heir,  Sampson  Jervois,  esq.,  of 
Bandon,  who  had  issue  by  his  wife  Anne,  dau.  of  William 
Parks,  esq.,  of  Cork,  two  sons,  Joseph,  the  Rector  of  Ardagh ;  and 
Francis ;  oesides  three  daughters,  Frances,  Catherine,  and  Anne. 

Joseph  Jervois,  the  eldest  son,  was  ordained  Deacon,  at 
Cloyne,  on  30th  August,  1801,  and  Priest,  at  Cork,  on  1st 
January,  1802. 

From  1813  to  1825,  he  was  V.  Ballymodan,  Cork;  from 
1825  to  1831,  Treasurer  of  Cork  ;  and  from  1831  to  his  death, 
on  22nd  February,  1856,  was  R.  Ardagh. 

He  was  Provost  of  Bandon  in  1817.     [Cork  IntellJ 

He  married,  in  1807,  Mary,  dau.  of  Kev.  Robert  Dring,  of 
Rockgrove,  Cork,  by  Eleanor,  dan.  of  Robert  Uniacke,  esq.,  of 
Corkbeg.  He  had  issue  by  her  five  sons  : — 1.  Sampson,  in  holy 
orders,  lately  Rector  of  Walton,  Burton-on-Trent.  2.  Robert- 
Dring,  also  in  holy  orders,  Incumbent  of  Kilnaboy,  Killaloe. 
3.  Francis,  Surgeon,  married  Miss  Maunsell,  and  died  in  1862, 
leaving  issue.  4.  John.  5.  Joseph.  The  Rev.  Mr.  Jervois 
had  also  three  daughters  : — 1.  Mary,  wife  of  Sobieski  Kildahl, 
esq.  2.  Fiibnces,  wife  of  Rev.  Maurice  F.  Hewson,  R.  Clon- 
priest.     3.  Barbara,  who  died  unm,  at  Bath,  in  1861. 


{ 


26  ABDAGH. — ABDSKEAGH.  [cLOTHB. 

1856.  March  20.  Edwabd  Loftus  Fitzgebald,  a.m.,  R.  Ardagh, 
Taoant  bj  death  of  Jervois,  and  on  letters  patent  from  the 
Crown.     [D.R.] 

I860.  A  church.  No  glebe-house.  5  acres  of  glebe  in  Rectoif's 
use.  Rector  resides  in  Youghal.  Divine  service  once  on  all 
Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day,  Ash  Wednesday,  Qt)od  Friday, 
and  Ascension.  Sacrament  monthly;  average  of  communi- 
cants, 8.  No  school.  Protestant  population,  19.  Rentcharge, 
£450,  Glebe,  £7.  Total  value  of  benefice,  £457,  without  resi- 
dence. 

E.  L.  Fitzgerald  (a.b.,  T.C.D.,  in  1835,  and  a.m.  in  1838) 
was  Curate  of  Lisbum,  diocese  of  Connor,  when  he  was  ap- 
pointed by  Lord  St.  Germans  to  Ardagh. 

He  married  Miss  Lilly  Maxwell,  daughter  of  a  Judge  in  India, 
and  has  issue. 


ARDSKEAGH. 


1291.  "  Eccft  de  Fersketh  unde  decia  di  mr."     [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1580.  Feb.  6.  Maubicius  0  Hwohwyn.  Vicar.     [D.R.] 

I  give  this  collation  at  length  :  "  Yicaria  de  fiartskyeh  als  de 

Ardskyeh,  et  vicaria  de  Cloncoareth  clonen.  dioc  colla^  sunt, 

nnione  facta,  dnO  Mauricio  0  Hwohwyn  presbitero  limeriken. 

dioc.  YI  february,  1580.     Sigillum  capitulare 

est  appositnm  huic  nnioni  per  Phil.  Gold,  Registrarium.'*   [First 

Book  of  Cork  Registry.] 
1591.  "  R  de  feartskeith  locus  est  desertus."     [R. V.  R.LA.] 
1615.  Thomas  HoLFOBD  is  Vicar.     "Ardskeagh.     Rectoria  impro- 

priata,  Cormack    M'Donogh   M'Carty  est  firmarius.     Vicar, 

Thomas  Holford,  Minister  legens,  residens  et  inserviens  cursB. 

Valor,  50«.     Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur."     [R.V.  1615.] 
In  1637  Holford  was  Treasurer  of  Clovne,  q.  v, 
1634.  RooEB  DoNKQANE  appears  as  V.  Ardskeagh.     '^E.  de  ffarts- 

keigh  spectat  ad  Abb.  de  Mora.     Valet  8  li.     Cormack  Donogh 

Carty  est  Impropriator.     Vicarius  Roger  Donegane.     Valet  8 

li.  per  annum.     [KV.  1634.] 

Donegane  does  not  appear  elsewhere. 
16 — ?  RiOHABD  Gbbman,  or  Jbbxtn,  V.  Ardskeagh.     He  was  also 

V.  Rahan,  q.  v. 
1661  to  1665.  ''  Vicaria  de  Ardskeagh  vacat.**     E.  de  Ardskeagh  in 

1661  ''spectat  ad  Cormucke  M'Donogh."     [V.B.] 
1667.  July  6.  Dayid  Elliott,  per  mortem  Richard!  Jermin,  V. 

Ardskeagh,    Raghine   et  Oetrrigamleary.     [V.B.    1669.]     In 

1682  Elliott  became  P.  Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

1668.  E.  de  Ardskeagh  spectat  ad  Christchurch,  Dublin.   In 

1672  Rectoria  spectat  ad  Vicar.     [V.B.] 


CLOTNE.]  ABDSKEAOH.  37 

1683.  June  6.  John  Burdett,  a.m.  (vice  Elliott,  resigned),  R.  Y. 
Ardskeagh  and  Garrigamleary.     [D.R.] 

John  Burdett  (second  son  of  Samuel  Burdett,  esq.,  of  Lismolin, 
county  Tipperary),  was  bom  in  Dublin ;  and  when  seventeen 
years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner,  on  10th  March,  1674, 
and  graduated  a.m.  in  1683. 

On  5th  June,  1683,  he  was  licensed  to  the  Curacy  of  Char- 
leville,  and  Bidl  intern  pie,  Kilbolane,  Sfaandrum,  and  Ballyhay. 
From  1683  to  1685  he  was  V.  Carrigamleary ;  from  1683  to 
1691  ?  R.  V.  Ardskeagh  ;  from  1687  to  1692  P.  Ballycahane, 
Limerick ;  and  from  1691  to  his  death  in  1726  Dean  of  Clon- 
fert  and  P.  Tipper,  St.  Patrick's,  Dublin.  He  was  also,  from 
1696  to  1726,  V.  Clane,  Mainham,  and  Clonshamboe,  in  Eil- 
dare  diocese. 

Dean  Burdett  was  first  cousin  to  Sir  Thomas  Burdett,  of 
Dnnmore,  county  Carlow.  ( Vide  Weldous,  Baronets,  in  Burke's 
Baronetage.)     He   (the  Dean)  married,  in  1682,  Jane  Evatt. 

SCloyne  Mar.  Bonds.]     He  also  married  Margaret,  dau.  of  Sir 
ohu  Cole,  Baronet,  of  Newland,  county  Dublin,  and  by  her 

had  issue.     He  was  ancestor  of  the  Burdetts  of  Bally  many, 

county  Kildare,  and  of  the  Burdetts  of  Hunstanton,  King's 

county.      Vide  Burke's  L.  G. 
1691  (?)  to  1706.  Mr.  Matthew  Jones  (P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v.),  ie 

tL  ^r    A.rdskeaiFh 

16*94.  "R.  and  V.  Ardskeagh.     Val.  £5  10#.     Mr.  Mathew 

Jones,  Rector  et  Vicar,  cursB  animarinm  in  Toughall  incnmbit 

Dominus  Epus  patronus.     Nulla  ecclesia.     Mr.  Jones'  livings 

not  contiguous."     [Palliser.] 
1706.  January  25.  William  Tbitnisov,  a.m.,  R.  and  V.  Ardskeagh, 

and  V.Ballyclogh  ;  and  on  19th  Feb.,  1706,  Preb.  Kilmaclenin. 

[P.F.]     In  1712  he  became  R.  V.  Macroom,  q.  v. 
1714.  March    11.  William   Hadlook,  R.   V.  Ardskeagh  and  V. 

Carrigamleary.     [D.R.]     He  was  also  R.  Knooktemple,  q.  y. 
1719.  November  24.  Jonathan  Bbuob,  R.  V.  Ardskeagh,  per  mor- 
tem Hadlock.     [D.R.]     Bruce  was  also  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  y. 
1758.  August  2Q.  Josbph  Stopfobd  (vice  Bruce,  deceased),  R.  Y. 

Ardskeagh  ;  and  same  day  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  y. 

1774.  Ardskeagh,  rect.  and  yic  in  the  bar.  of  Condon  and 

Clangibbon.     Value,    £100    per  annum.     Church    in   ruins. 

Pat  the  Bishop.     Glebe,  4a.  Ok.  SOp.,  En.     Proxy,  6s.     The 

rect.  formerly  belonged  to  the  Preceptory  of  Mourn ;  and  is 

subject  to  la,  per  annum   Crown  rent.     Incumbent,  Joseph 

Stopford,  A.M.     [Hingston.] 
1801.  July  27.  Hbnbt  Sandifobd,  A.u.(viee  Stopford,  deceased), 

R.  V.  Ardskeagh,  and  same  day  P.  Bftllybay,  q.  t. 
1826.  August  7.  William  Wblland  (vice  Sandiford,  deceased),  R. 

V.  Ardskeagh,  now  disunited  from  Ballyhay.    [D.R.]    Welland 

was  also  P.  Killenemor,  q.  y. 


28  ABDSKEAGH. — ^BALLTCLOOH.  [CLOTNB. 

1830.  August  11.  Richard  Hastinqs  Graybs  (vice  WeUaud,  re- 
signed), R.  V.  Ardskeagh.  [D.R.]  In  1832  he  became  P. 
Brigowne,  q.  v. 

1830.  Protestant  popnlation,  0. 
1832.  August  16.  Robert  Scott  {vice  Graves,  promoted),  R.  and 
V.  Ardskeagh.  [D.R.]  He  became,  in  1833,  V.  Clondulane,  q.r. 

1834.  Ardskeagh,  a  vicarage,  with  cure,  1^  Irish  miles  long 
by  I  broad,  containing  1,993  acres.  Gross  population,  302. 
Tithe  composition,  £88  1  Is.  9d.  6a.  Ir.  36|p.  of  glebe,  valued 
at  £12  6«.  Sd,  Subject  to  visitation  fees  and  diocesan  school- 
master, £1  8«.  Sd,  No  glebe-house.  No  church.  The  bene- 
fice is  a  rectory.  The  appointment  of  a  clerk  to  this  benefice 
has  been  suspended,  under  the  provisions  of  the  Church  Tem- 
poralities Act.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1860.  ''Ardskeagh  was  so  called  from  St.  Sciath,  Virgin. 
The  west  gable  of  the  ancient  church  is  still  standing,  with  a 
veiy  beautiful  round-headed  doorway.**     [Reeves.] 


BALLYCLOGH. 


1291.  ''Ecca  de  Lathban  Ylmr.  undo  decia  VIls."     ''CapeUa  de 

Arumdewony  Ilmr.  unde  decia  lis.  Vllld."     [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  Edmund  Flinn  is  Vicar.     ''  Ecclesia  de  Ballyclogh  :  Rectoria 
pertinet  ad  Bothon.     Edmundus  Flinn  est  Vicarius."     [MS. 
T.C.D.  E.  3.  U.]     "Droradowney  R.  Prior  Bothon.     Vicar, 
RiCHUs  Prendergaste."     [lb.] 
1615.  July  6.  John  Temple,  V.  Ballyclogh  als  Laban.     [F.P.] 

He  is  said  to  have  been  admitted  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Drom- 
downey,  on  5th  July,  1615,  in  the  visitation  book  of  1634,  and 
same  day  Chancellor  of  Oloyne,  q.  v. 

**  Balliclogh  aU  Laban  ;  residens  :  Rectoria  impropriata, 
Joh^  Jephson,  miles,  est  firmarius.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  in 
ruina.     Vicarius  Johes  Temple.     Val.  5  li.  per  an.** 

Drumdowny;  residens:  Rectoria  impropriata,  Johes  Jephson, 
miles,  firmarius.  Vicarius  Johes  Temple  inserviens  curse. 
Valor  3  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur.*'   [R.V.  1615.] 

^  E.  de  Ballyclogh  als  Labane  spectat  ad  Ballybege.  Valet 
30  li.  per  an.  Johes  Jepson  miles  impropriator.  Vic  Johes 
Temple.     Valet  15  li.  per  an."     [KV.  1634.] 

*'  E.  de  Drumdowney  spectat  ad  Ballybege.  Joh§s  Jephson, 
miles,  impropriator."     [R-V.  1634.1 

1636.  March  27.  Thomas  Cadooanb,  Y.  Ballyclogh  als  Laban,  et 
V.  de  Dromdowney.     [F.P.l 

1637.  July  2.  Thomas   Fisher,  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Dromdowney. 
[F.F.J     He  was  also  R.  Mallow,  a.  v. 

1661.   Mr.  Noroott  appears  as  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Dromdowney. 


OLOTNE.]  BALLTCLOGH.  29 


^'. 


T.B.]     He  was  also  Curate  of  Mallow.     He  was  afterwards 
^.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

1662.  Mr.  James  Cox  appears  as  Y.  Ballyclogh  and  Dromdowney 
[V.B.]  Ue  is  also  P.  Kilmacleniue,  q.  v.  He  was  instituted 
on  16th  June,  1663.     [P.F.] 

1687.  June  1.  Matthew  Jonss,  a.m,,  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Drom- 
downey, and  P.  Kilmaolenine,  vacant  et  in  collatione  Epi  per 
mortem  Jacobi  Cox.  [B.R.]  Jones  was  also  P.  Donoghmore, 
q.  V.     He  was  V.  Dromdowney  in  1712.     [V.B.] 

1694.  Ballyclough  :  vicarage;  val.  £7  10#.  Mr.  Jones,  vicar. 
Epus  patronus.  Church  of  Ballyclouj^h  much  damnified  by  the 
Irish  in  the  late  war,  but  since  well  repaired.  Impropriator  of 
Ballyclough,  the  present  Bishop  of  Ely.  Dromdowney :  Vicar, 
Mr.  Jones.  Nulla  Ecclia.  [Palliser.]  Rectoria  impropriata 
de  Drumdowney  Johes  Jephson  oHm  fuit  impropriator,  nunc 
vendit  Carolo  Newman.  [lb.]  Reot*  improp*  de  Ballyclogh, 
vaL  14  pounds,     [lb.] 

1706.  January  25.  William  Tbnnibon,  a.m.,  (vice  Jones,  resigned), 
Y.  Ballyclogh,  and  R.  Y.  Ardskeagh.     [D.R.]     Tennison  did 
not  succeed  Jones  in  Dromdowney  vicarage,  which  Jones  held 
in  17)2,  but  he  succeeded  him  in  Kilmaclenin. 
In  1712  Tennison  became  R.  Y.  Macroom,  q.  v. 

1713.  April  18.  Robert  Carleton,  a.m.  {vice  Tennison  resigned), 
Y.  Ballyclogh  cum  particula  vel  vicaria  de  Dromdowney,  and 
Y.  Castlemagner,  per  cess  of  Edward  Sayers.  [D.R.]  In  1721 
Oarleton  became  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1714.  August  7.  Francis  Qore,  a.m.,  (vice  Carleton,  resigned),  Y. 
Ballyclogh  and  Castlemagner.  [D.R.]  In  1717  he  became 
also  P.  Kilmaclenine,  q.  v. 

1748.  June  1 6.  William  Mockleb,  a.m.,  (vice  Gore,  deceased),  Y. 
Ballyclogh,  Dromdowney,  and  Castlemagner.     [D.R.] 
1762.  The  value  of  the  union  whs  £140.     [A.  Hayman.] 
William  Mockler  (son  of  Edward  Mockler)  was  born  at  Trim, 
county  Meath,  and  when  eighteen  years  old,  obtained  a  Sizar- 
ship  in  T.C.D.,  on  27th  May,  1730,  and  a  Scholarship  in  1732. 
He  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  7th  March,  1736,  and  Priest, 
on  24th  September,  1738,  both  at  Cloyne.     On  the  day  he  re- 
ceived Priest's  orders  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Bally- 
clogh and  Castlemagner,  and  held  the  vicarages  of  those  parishes 
from  1748  to  his  death  in  1764.     He  was,  in  1756,  a  member 
of  the  Moyallow  Loyal  Protestant  Society.     He  died  unmarried, 
and  left  his  brother  James  Mockler  (Archdeacon  of  Cloyne, q.  v.) 
his  heir. 

1764.  July  2.  Atkin  Hayman,  Y.  Ballyclogh,  Dromdowney,  and 
Castlemagner.     [D.R.] 

1774.  Ballyclogh,  otherwise  Leban,  vie.  It  lies  part  in  the 
bar.  of  Duhallow,  and  part  in  that  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore. 
Yalue  £70.  Church  in  repair.  Pat,  the  Bishop.  Glebe,  1a.  14p. 
En.    Proxy,  3ff.    Taxed  in  the  King^s  books,!  Of.  star.    Incurob., 


30  BALLTCLOGH.  [CLOTITB. 

Atkin  Ha3ni)aDy  A.M.  CnnXe,  Charles  Coote,  a.b.  The  reel, 
is  impropriate.  John  Longfield,  esq.,  Impropriator.  Proxj, 
4<.  6d     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Drumdowney,  vie  Value,  £5  per  ann.  It  lies  in  the 
bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore.  Church  in  ruins.  Patron,  the 
Bp.  Proxy,  U.  6d.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £2  10#.  ster. 
IncnmK,  Atkin  Hayman,  a.m.  The  rect  is  imp.  Mrs.  Eliza- 
beth Newman,  impropriatrix.     Proxy,  Is,  6c?.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Castlemagner,  otherwise  Monymandrugh,  vie.  It  lies 
in  the  bar.  of  Duhallow,  and  part  in  that  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore, 
value  £120  per  ann.  Church  in  repair.  Pat,  the  Bp.  Glebe, 
2r.  12p.  plant.  Proxy,  5s.  Taxed  in  the  King's  book  by  the 
name  of  Castlemagner,  £2  ster.  Incnmb.,  Atkin  Uajrman,  a.m. 
Curate,  Charles  Coote,  A.B.  The  rect  is  imp.  John  Longfield, 
esq.,  Impropriator.      Proxy,   7s,  6d.     [Hingston.] 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Ballyclogh,  49 ;  of  Castle- 
magner and  Dromdowney,  15.     [Hayman.] 

Atkin  Hayman  (fifth  son  of  Samuel  Hayman,  esq.,  of  The 
College,  Youghal,  by  Elisabeth,  eldest  dau.  and  co-heiress  of 
Richard  Paradise,  esq.,  a  French  Protestant  refugee)  was  bom 
at  Youghal,  on  11th  June,  1714,  and  entered  T.C.D.  as  a 
Pensioner  on  6th  July,  1733,  and  graduated  in  1738. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  2l8t  December,  1740,  and  Priest, 
on  15th  March,  1741,  by  Bishop  Berkeley,  at  Cloyne.  On  22nd 
December,  1741,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Middleton, 
which  he  held  until  1753.  From  1753  to  1764,  he  was  Curate 
of  Youghal.  In  1754  he  was  appointed  Chaplain  to  the  Earl 
of  Hillsborough.  From  1759  to  1764,  he  was  R.  V.  Carrigro- 
hanebeg,  and  from  1764  to  his  death,  on  13th  April,  1793,  was 
V.  Ballyclogh  and  Castlemagner. 

He  married,  firstly,  in  June,  1742,  his  cousin,  Elisabeth, 
youngest  dau.  of  Rev.  Walter  Atkin  (Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v.); 
and  by  her  (who  was  buried  in  the  Atkin  family  vault,  at 
Middleton,  on  30th  January,  1756,)  had  issue  &Ye  ^ons  and 
three  daughters.  Three  of  the  sons  died  infants,  and  one  (the 
third  eldest,  Walter  Atkins  Hayman)  died  without  legitimate 
issue.  All  the  daughters  died  unmarried.  Samuel,  his  fourth 
son,  succeeded  to  the  family  inheritance,  much  diminished  by 
the  alienation  of  the  greater  part  thereof  to  the  illegitimate 
issue  of  his  brother  Walter.  Samuel  was  bom  in  1753,  and  in 
1779  took  out  a  diploma  at  Edinburgh  as  a  Physician.  He 
married,  in  1782,  Melian,  dau.  and  co-heiress  of  Matthew  Jones, 
esq..  Collector,  of  Youghal,  and  by  her  had  issue,  inter  alios, 
a  son,  Matthew  Hayman,  heir  to  his  father,  who  was  bom  in 
1789,  and  married,  in  1816,  Helen,  second  dau.  of  Arundel 
Hill,  esq.,  of  Doneraile.  By  this  marriage  Matthew  Hayman 
had  issue,  inter  alios,  an  eldest  son,  Samuel  Hayman,  now 
Rector  of  Ardnegihy,  Cork,  q.  v. 

The  Rev.  Atkin  Hayman,  V.  BaDyclogh,  on  12th  Augnst, 


QLOTNB.]  BALLTCLOGH.  31 

1757f  married  a  second  wife,  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Frank  Wilson, 
esq.,  of  Youghal,  but  bad  bj  her,  who  was  buried  in  Youghal, 
on  6th  Oct.,  1776,  no  issue. 

The  family  of  Hayman,  Hejman,  or  Aymon  (as  the  name  is 
spelled  in  the  well-Kuown  early  French  romance — *'  ffistoire 
dea  quaJtre  JUs  Ayrrums^  tres- Nobles  et  tres-vaillans  Chevaliers**) 
is  of  undoubted  antiquity.  Sir  B.  Burke,  in  bis  Landed  Gentry 
(article  Hatman,  of  Youghal)  gives  the  £amily  a  Norman  origin, 
and  describes  their  genealogical  roll  as  embracing  a  period  of 
more  than  nine  centuries.  He  traces  them  downwards,  gene- 
ration after  generation,  from  the  year  931  to  the  present  time. 
Deeds,  wills,  and  family  letters,  from  the  reign  of  Charles  L, 
are  in  the  muniment  chest  of  Rev.  Samuel  Hayman,  the  repre- 
sentative of  the  Irish  branch,  who  is  sixth  in  descent  from 
George  Heyman,  or  Hayman,  of  Minehead,  Somersetshire,  who 
migrated  to  Ireland  in  1629.  George  Heyman  was  grandson 
of  Robert  or  Roger  Heyman,  who,  to  avoid  religious  persecu- 
tion in  Queen  Mary's  reign,  fled  from  Kent,  and  found  refuge 
in  the  west  of  England,  where  numerous  lines,  owing  their 
origin  to  him,  may  yet  be  found.  A  baronetcy  of  the  creation, 
12th  August,  1641,  existed  in  the  parent  house,  in  Kent,  until 
20th  Nov.,  1808,  when  the  Rev.  Sib  Hbnbt  Fix  Hetman,  the 
fifth  baronet,  expired  without  issue  male.  (Vide  Burke's 
Extinct  BaronetcifS,  article  Hetman  of  Somebfibld  ) 

The  Rev.  Atkin  Hayman  left  numerous  sermons  in  manu- 
script, and  an  account  of  the  Diocese  of  Oloyne  in  1762,  which 
are  in  the  possession  of  Rev.  Samuel  Hayman,  of  Ardnegihy. 
1793.  June  17.  Riciiabd  Woodwabd,  V.  Ballyclogh,  Dromdowney, 
Castlemagner,  and  Olonfert  [F.F.]  In  1799  he  became  P. 
Glan worth,  q.  v. 

1798.  Sept.  18.  James  Hinoston,  Y.  Ballyclogh,  Dromdowney,  and 
Castlemagner.  [F.  F.]  In  1799  he  beeamo  R.  V.  Agabulloge,  q.  v. 

1799.  March  14.  John  Lombabd,  a.b.,  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Drom- 
downey, and  Preb.  Kilmaclenin.  [F.F.]  In  1801  he  was 
collated  to  Kilshannig,  q.  v. 

1801.  July  25.  Joseph  Domett,  a.m.,  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Dromdow- 
ney.    [D.R.]     In  1803  Domett  became  also  R.  V,  Bally vour- 
ney,  q.  v. 
1804.  Feb.  25.  John  M'Cobmick  (vice  Domett,  deceased),  V.  Bally- 
clogh and  Dromdowney.     [D.R.] 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families,  31.     [Archb.  Brod.] 

John  M'Cormick  was  licensed  on  2nd  Nov.  1778,  to  the 
Curacy  of  Ballyclogh  and  Castlemagner. 

From  1799  to  1804  he  was  V.  Castlemagner;  and  from 
1804  to  his  death  in  1816  V.  Ballyclogh. 

He  was  buried  in  the  church-yard  of  Castlemagner  on  18th 
Feb.  1816.  His  relict,  Sarah,  survived  him,  and  was  buried 
on  11th  Sept  1847,  in  Castlemagner,  aged  73. 


32  BALLTCLOGH.  [CLOTVS* 

1816.  May  10.  Johh  Chester,  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Dromdowney. 
[D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Ballyclogh,  226 ;  of  Drom- 
downey,  0. 

1837.  Ballyclougb  union,  3^  Irish  miles  long  by  3  broad, 
with  cure,  consisting  of — 1.  Ballyclough  vicarage,  3^  miles  long 
by  24  broad  ;  2.  Drumdowney  vicarage,  ^  mile  long  by  ^  mile 
broad.  The  union  contains  10,11  1a.  1b.  26p.  Gross  popula- 
tion, 4,017.  No  Curate  employed.  Composition  for  vicarial 
tithes  of  Ballyclough  par.,  £400.  22a.  1b.  24fp.  of  glebe  iu 
said  parish,  valued  at  £43  3^.  6d  3b.  9|p.  of  old  glebe  ad- 
joining, on  which  four  cabins  have  been  erected,  producing  an 
income  of  £5  Is.  6d.  Composition  for  vicarial  tithes  of  Drum- 
downey parish,  £30.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  14#.  Dioce- 
san schoolmaster,  11&  Sd,  Ballyclough  glebe-house  in  excel- 
lent order,  built  in  1824  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of 
£923  U.  ^d.  British,  whereof  £692  6$.  2d.  was  granted,  in 
way  of  loan,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits,  and  the  residue 
of  £230  \5$,  4^.  was  supplied  out  of  the  private  funds  of  the 
Incumbent,  who  will  be  entitled  to  receive  the  entire  of  the 
sum  last  mentioned,  from  his  successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid, 
there  remained  £581  10^.  lOd.  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in 
1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £27  13«.  lOd,  In- 
cumbent is  constantly  resident  in  the  glebe-house.  One  church, 
situate  in  the  parish  and  village  of  Ballyclough,  capable  of 
accommodating  230  persons,  built  in  1829,  at  the  cost  of 
;£1,030  British,  and  enlarged,  bv  the  addition  of  a  gallery,  in 
1831,  at  the  cost  of  £63.  Of  the  cost  of  erection,  £300  were 
raised  by  subscription,  and  the  residue  of  £730  was  granted  in 
way  of  loan  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits  ;  of  which  loan 
£671  12#.  remained  chargeable  on  the  union  in  1832,  repayable 
by  annual  instalments  of  £29  As,  The  expense  of  erecting  the 
gallery  was  provided  for  by  Col.  Lotigfield,  without  any  charge 
on  the  union.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  twice  on  Sundays  in 
summer,  and  once  in  winter,  and  on  the  principal  festivals. 
The  sacrament  is  administered  monthly,  and  at  Easter  and 
Christmas.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  one  moiety  of  the 
tithes  of  the  parishes  forming  this  union,  are  impropriate,  and 
belong  to  John  Loogfield,  esq. ;  those  of  Ballyclough  are  com- 
pounded for  £381  10«. ;  and  those  of  Drumdowney  for  £28  10«. 
per  annum.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

John  Chester  was  third  son  of  Richard  Chester,  esq.,  of 
Chesterfield,  county  Cork,  by  Helena  Gibbings.  He  was,  from 
1809  to  1816,  V.  Castlemagner ;  and  from  1816  to  1849  V. 
Ballyclogh. 

He  bid  a  numerous  family  by  his  wife,  Catherine  Bastable, 
who  was  buried  in  Castlemagner  church-yard  on  15th  March, 
1838.     His  sons  were — ^Richard,  now  Y.  Ballyclogh ;  Thomas- 


CLOTNE.]  BALLTCLOGH.  33 

GibbiDgs,  born  1812  ;  Jobn-Wight-Seymour,  born  1816  ;  Char- 
les-Roberi,  born  1819;  and  William-Bennet^  born  1820^  now 
Bector  of  Nenagh,  Eillaloe. 

The  Rev.  John  Chester  died,  aged  77,  on  30th  April,  1849, 
in  Cork,  and  was  buried  on  the  2nd  May  in  the  church-yard  of 
St.  Mary,  Shandon,  Cork. 
1849.  June  23.  Riohard  Chesteb,  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Dromdowney. 
[D.R] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  are  in  good  order.  20 
statute  acres  of  glebe  in  Vicar's  use.  Divine  service  twice  on 
Sundays,  and  once  on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly 
and  at  festivals ;  average  of  communicants,  30,  36  children 
attend  a  Church  Education  school,  in  which  the  books  of  the 
National  Board  are  used.  The  Protestant  population  is  186. 
The  rentcharge  of  Ballyclogh  is  <£300 ;  of  Dromdowney, 
£22  10«.  The  glebe  land  is  worth  £3S,  Total  value  of  bene- 
fice, £360  10^.,  with  residence.  Mr.  Chester  holds  also  the 
curacy  of  the  suspended  parish  of  Kilmaclenine. 

A  bequest  of  £3  13«.  10c?.  per  annum  was  left  to  the  poor  of 
Ballyclogh  parish  by  a  member  of  the  Lysaght  family,  and  is 
now  punctually  paid.     [Chester.] 

Richard  Chester  (eldest  son  of  his  predecessor),  was  bom  on 
7th  October,  1811,  and  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on 
11th  January,  1835,  and  Priest  at  Cork  on  11th  September, 
1836.  On  12th  September,  1836,  he  was  licensed  to  the 
Curacy  of  Clonfert,  which  post  be  held  for  some  years.  He 
was  afterwards  Curate  of  Cloyne. 

Mr.  Chester  is  married,  and  has  issue. 

He  has  published  (besides  many  articles  in  the  "  Christian 
Examiner,"  "  Irish  Church  Journal,"  "  Sunday  at  Home,"  and 
"  Leisure  Hour"),  the  following  :— 

1.  "General  Redemption  the  Doctrine  of  Scripture."  Ball, 
Arnold,  and  Co.     London.     1840. 

2.  "  Union  with  Christ."  A  sermon  preached  in  Newmarket 
Church.     "  New  Irish  Pulpit "     Dublin.     1840. 

3.  "  The  Potato  Blight :  its  Cause  and  its  Remedy."  A  sermon 
preached  in  the  Cathedral  of  Cloyne.     Oldham,  Dublin.     1846. 

4.  "  The  Parable  of  the  Ten  Virgins,"  A  sermon  preached 
at  Rostellan.     Evans,  Cork.     1848. 

5.  "  Prize  and  other  Poems."  Hodges  and  Smith,  Dublin. 
1849. 

6.  "  The  Papal  Supremacy."  A  sermon  preached  in  Christ 
Church,  Cork.     Tract  Society,  Cork.     1851. 

7.  "  Imagination :  its  Uses  and  Abuses."  A  lecture  deli- 
vered before  the  Cork  Toung  Men*s  Association.  Tract  Society, 
Cork.     1852. 

8.  "The  Irish  Schoolmaster."  A  tract.  London  Tract 
Society.     1853. 

VOL.  II.  D 


34  BALLTCLOOH. — BALLTBELOUGHT.  [CLOTKK. 

9.  "  Sir  Walter  Scott.''  A  lecture  delivered  before  the  Cork 
Yoang  Men's  Association.     Tract  Society,  Cork.     1853. 

10.  "The  Derelopment  of  Antichrist  A  sermon  preached 
in  Balljmodan  Churchy  Bandon.     "London  Pulpit."     1855. 

11."  Three  Sermons  on  the  Typical  Character  of  the  People 
of  Israel."  Preached  in  the  Free  Church,  Cork.  "London 
Pulpit."     1857. 

12.  "  Is  the  second  coming  of  Christ  Premillennial  ?"  A 
speech  delivered  in  the  Rotundo,  Dublin.  Dublin  Tract  Society. 
1859. 

13.  "Satan."  A  lecture  delivered  before  the  Cork  Young 
Men*s  Association.     Tract  Society,  Cork.     1859. 

14.  "The  Debt  Paid."  A  tract.  Dublin  Tract  Society. 
1860. 

15.  "  The  coming  of  Christ  to  the  Antichrist."  A  sermon 
preached  in  Ballymodan  Church,  Bandon.  "London  Pulpit." 
1861. 

16.  "  Speech  at  Annual  Meeting  of  Cork  Auxiliary  to  Society 
for  promoting  Christianity  amongst  the  Jews."  Dublin  Jews' 
Society.     1862. 


BALLYDELOUGHY. 


1291.  "  Ecca  de  Loch  Ilmr.  unde  decia  lU  \Uldr  [Tax.  P.  }^i 
1543.  Oct.  27.  Onobius  Coffb  is  presented  to  the  vicarage  of  Bs 

laghlowe,  in  the  diocese  of  Cloyne,  belonging  to  the  £f 

presentation,  pleno  jure.     [Morrin's  Patent  Rolls,  voL  i.  p. 
25 —  ?  John  Dillon,  V.  Ballyloghlany. 
1560.  Nov.  5.  William  Keyas  is  presented  by  Crown  to  the  v 

a^e  of  the  Holy  Trinity  of  Ballyloghlany,  in  the  diocr 

Cloyne,  vacant  by  the  death  of  John  DiUon.     [Morrin 

and  Close  Rolls,  vol.  i.  p.  442.1 
1591.  "  R.  de  Ballilogha  spectat  ad  E.  StSB  Eatherins,  Wr 

Vicaria  vacat  sub  sequestrat."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14, 
In  other  copies  of  this  MSS.  Mr.   Shelton  anc' 

Browne  appear  as  Vicars.    [R.y.  R.I.  A.] 
1615.  Robert  Ford  (V.  Kildorrery,  q.  v.),  appears  as  \ 

loughy.     "  Balliloghah  Rectoria  est  impropriata. 

Esmond,  miles,  est  firmarius.     Vicarius  Robert  ffo 

legens,  residens  et  inserviens  curs.     Eoclesia  et 

piLntur  cum  libris."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 
1633.  May  28.  Richard  Jermtn,  V.  Raghine,  BaP 

Rathgogane.     [R.V.  1634.] 

"  £.  de  Ballyloghay  spectat  ad  Monasteriu 

Waterford.     Valet   9  11.     Vicecomes  Iismond, 

Vicar  Richd.  Jerman.     Val.  9  U."     [R.V.  163^ 


CLOTHS.]  BALLTDELOUQHT. — BALLTHAT.  35 

For  Jermjn,  vide  Rahan. 

1661.  E.  Balliloughie  spectat  ad  St.  Catherine,  Waterford.  In  1667 
it  belongs  to  Christ  Church,  Dubliu  ;  and  in  1669,  Mr.  Halsej 
is  firmarius.     Mrs.  Anne  Delaune  is  firniar.  in  1712.     [V.B.J 

In  1661,  Vicaria  vacat.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1662.  Mb.  Noboott  is  Vioar.  [V.B.  D.R.]  This  was  probably 
John  Norcott,  who,  in  1676,  was  V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

1665.  Ballydeloghie  vacat.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1667  to  1721.  ^Ijdeloghie  was  held  with  Brigowne,  q.  v. 

1721  to  1847.  Ballydeloghie  was  held  with  Glanworth,  q.  v. 

In  1847,  the  further  appointment  of  a  Clerk  to  Ballydeloghie 

was  suspended,  and   the  revenues  were  transferred   to  t)ie 

Ecclesiastical  Commissioners. 


BALLYHAY. 

1224.  Flobxvcb,  Archidiaoonus  Belagbatensis,  was  made  Bishop  of 
Cloyne  on  25th  August,  1224.     [Prynne*s  Records.] 

1250  to  1320.  Between  these  years  five  Incumbents  held  the  Church 
of  Ballyhay,  as  may  be  seen  by  the  extract  which  follows  from 
the  Pipe  Roll  of  Cloyne.  They  were  Master  Henby  (son  of 
John  Coqan),  who  died,  and  was  succeeded  by  John  (son  of 
John  CooAv).  He  resigned  in  &vonr  of  Philip  Sabsfibld,  who 
died  soon  afterwards.  Then  Waltbb  Cqqan  held  it  until 
Magister  William  Cooan  came  from  '^  the  schools**  from  Eng- 
land, and  was  inducted  by  the  Bishop.  At  this  time  the  church 
was  made  prebendal,  the  vicarage  with  XL.  shillings  being  re- 
stored "  ad  Clone.** 

**  Dominus  Johannes  Cogan  dedit  Ecclesiam  de  Eallaghath 
magistro  Henrico  filio  suo.  Et  postea  predictus  Johannes  dedit 
predicto  Henrico  certas  terras  in  Conac,  et  tunc  decessit  predic- 
tus Johannes,  et  postea  Johannes  Cogan  filius  et  heres  predieti 
domini  Johannis  Cogan  fecit  unum  excambium  cum  predicto 
Henrieo,  pro  illis  terris  in  Conac  pro  Rath-cogan  et  Ballaghath 
cum  pertinentiis,  ad  terminum  vitse  suas ;  et  tunc  predictus 
magister  resignavit  ecclesiam  de  Ballaghath  ia  manibus  fratris 
Nicholai  Episcopi  Clone,  et  postea  dedit  illam  ecclesiam  Philippe 
Sarsfield,  et  inductus  fuit  per  predictnm  Episcopum  Nicolaum, 
et  oito  post  predictus  Philippus  mortuus  fuit,  et  tunc  predictus 
Dominus  Henricus  dedit  illam  ecclesiam  Waltero  Cogan,  et 
cito  post  Magister  Willielmus  Cogan  venit  de  Anglia  de  scolis, 
et  predictus  Walterus  resignavit  illam  Eeclesiam  predicto  Wil- 
lielmo  Cogan,  et  inductus  fuit  per  Episcopum  Clone,  eo  ouod 
fuit  sub  custodia  dicti  Henrici,  auiquidem  Episcopus  preoen- 
davit  illam  ecclesiam  reddendo  aL*.  ad  Clone  cum  vicaria.** 
[Caulfield*s  Pipe  Roll,  page  25.] 

VOL.  II.  D  2 


36  BAIXTHAT.  [clothe. 

Bishop  Nicholas  de  Effingham  died  in  1320.  WilIiIAM 
OoGAM,  Clk,  in  1366  held  the  Manor  of  Balbighath.  [Pipe 
Roll,  p.  24.] 

1291.  "  Ecca  de  Baletach  XVmr.  unde  decia  XX*."     [Tax.  P.  Nicl 

1579,  circa.  The  Bishop  of  Cloyne  has  two  Archdeacons,  viz.,  of 
Clojrne  and  Telalakath.     [Cooper's  MS.  additions  to  Ware.] 

1591.  WiiiUAM  Cabnet,  a  layman,  is  V.  Balljhay,  the  Prebend 
being  usurped.  '*  R.  de  Bealaghathy  usurpatur  per  Priorem 
Pontis.  Vicarius  William  Oamejr,  laicus,  qui  propter  defectum 
sacrorum  ordinum  et  manifestam  contumaciam  est  deprivatoa." 
[MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14J 

1601.  Sept.  15.  Thomas  Holmes,  admissus  fuit  ad  V.  de  Ballahah, 
Cloine.     [R.V.  1634.] 

1615.  "Balljhalie  Prebenda.  Dnus  Roch  nsarpat  eandem. 
Vicarius  Thomas  Holmes,  minister  legens  et  inserviens  cursB. 
Val.  5  11.  per  an.  Ecclesia  ruinata,  cancella  ex  parte  vicarii 
repata."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

T.  Holmes  was  ordained  Deacon  on  28th  Oct.  1576,  and 
Priest  on  21st  September,  1577,  both  bj  ^'Thomam  Coven,  et 
Lich." 

He  appears  from  1615  to  1630  as  P.  Cooline,  and  V.  Shan- 
drum  ;  and  from  1601  to  1634,  and  later,  was  V.  Balljhay. 

1619.  March  7.  John   Binns,  or  Btmns,  is  presented  by  letters 

gitent  to  the  Preb.  Ballyhay,  als  Ballyhaly,  with  V.  Oaatletown, 
ridgetown,  and  Battevant,  with  clause  of  union,  pro  hac  vice, 
&c.,  <kc.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

Bynns  was  afterwards  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1634.  "P.  de  Ballyhey.     Val.  30  li.  per  an.     Dnus  Roch 
recepit  fructus  et  vacat  per  resignacoem  Johis  Bynns,  derici, 
ult.  incumbentis,  per  lapsum  Dno  nro  Regi  devoluta.     Vicariua 
Thomas  Holmes.     Valet  12  li.  per  annum."    rR.V.  1634.] 

1634.  May  28.  Edwabde  Woobb  is  presented  on  letters  patent  to 
Preb.  Ballyhay.     [Lib.  Mun.]     He  does  not  appear  elBewhere. 

1635.  June  14.  Fbanois  Thursbie,  Preb.  de  Ballyhalie.  [P.P.] 
He  does  not  appear  elsewhere. 

1661. ''  Mb.  Riohabd  Clebke,  P.  and  V.  Ballyhaly,  non  comparuit.** 
[V.B.  D.R.] 

1663.  Mr.  Clerke,  Preb.  The  vicarage  vacant.  [V.B.] 
On  14th  July,  1663,  the  Preb.  is  vacant.  [C.B.J  In  1664 
Clerke  was  collated  to  the  Precentorship  of  Cork,  q.  y. 
1663.  Sept.  24.  John  VesBt  is  admitted  to  R.  V.  Shandrum,  B. 
Ballinowran  and  Bruhenny,  and  V.  Rathgogan.  [F.F.]  And 
probably  at  same  time  received  this  Prebend.  He  appears  in 
V.B.  of  1665  as  P.  Ballyhay. 

In  1667  Vesey  became  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1668.  Oct.  19.  Chbistopheb  Vowell  (vice  Vesey,  resigned),  P.  Bally- 
hay, V.  Shandrum  and  Rathgogan,  R.  Aglishdrinagh  and  Bru- 
henny.    [V.B.  1669.] 


CLOYNB.]  BALLYHAT.  37 

1694.  Y.  Eatbgogan;  ya].  £2  I0«.  Epus  patronus.  Ecclia 
bene  reparata.  Impropriator,  Earl  of  Orrery.  V.  Shaodrum  ; 
val.  £15;  Epns  patronus.  Nulla  ecclia.  P.  Ballyhay ;  val. 
£30.  Epus  patronus.  Nulla  ecclia.  V.  Clancore;  vaL  £2. 
Epus  patronus.  Nulla  ecclia.  V.  Ballydraxien  (Aglishdrinagh, 
als  Ballynoran  ?) ;  vaL  £10.  Epus  patronus.  Nulla  ecclia. 
Mr.  Vowell's  livings  are  contiguous,  but  not  perpetually  united. 
Reef  imp'  de  Bathgogah ;  val.  £5,  Comes  Orrery,  Impropria- 
tor.    [Palliser.] 

On  the  margin  of  the  font,  now  in  Charliville  Church,  is  the 
following  inscription  : — "Immortali  Deo  se  et  hoc  didicat 
XPRS  Vowell,  Hvis  Eocl.  Vic."  The  pillar  on  which  this  font 
stands  is  very  ancient  On  a  flag  which  was  transferred  from 
the  old  church,  and  now  lies  close  to  this  font  is  inscribed  :-— 
"  The  virtuous  Mary  Vowell,  wife  to  the  Rev.  Christopher 
Vowell,  and  daughter  to  Thomas  Moore,  of  Ahem,  esq.,  dyed 
the  5th  of  April,  1683,  anno  setats  susb  46.** 

Christopher  Vowell,  second  son  of  Richard  Vowell,  and 
grandson  of  David  Vowell,  of  Rathcornan  (vide  Rev.  William 
Vowell,  V.  Aghem),  was  bom  at  Castlelyons,  county  Cork,  in 
1640,  and  was  educated  in  Cork  by  Mr.  Verling.  He  entered 
T.C.D.  on  3rd  Oct.  1658,  and  was  a  Scholar  and  a.b.  in  1660. 

From  1662  to  1663  he  was  R.  Garryvoe,  Cloyne  ;  from 
1663  to  1668,  Vic.  Chor.  Cloyne;  from  1664  to  1668,  R.  Bo- 
hillane  and  Eilmahon  ;  and  from  1667  to  1669,  R.  Ightermur- 
ragh.  From  1668  to  his  death  in  1709  he  held  Ballyhay, 
Shandrum,  Rathgogan,  and  Aglishdrinagh.  He  held  Bruhenny 
from  1668  to  1700.  He  claimed  the  impropriate  tithes  of  Kil- 
maghan  and  Garryvoe.  (  Vide  List  of  Claims,  Chichester  House, 
No.  108.) 

He  married  Mary,  dan.  of  Thomas  Moore,  esq.,  of  Ahem, 

county  Cork;  and  by  her,  who  died  in  1683,  had  issue  two 

sons,  John  (who  married  Catherine,  dau.  of  Rev.  Chidley  Coote), 

and  Christopher. 

1709.  Nov.  24.  RiOHABD  Davies  (vice  Vowell,  deceased)  P.  Ballyhay. 

SD.R.]     He  took  the  chapter  oath  of  secrecy  on  16th  Nov., 
710.     [C.B.]     From  1715  he  was  also  V.  Durrus,  Cork,q.  v. 
1719.    August  30.    Jonathan   Bbuob  (vice  Davies,  resigned),  P. 
Ballyhay ;  and  on  24th  of  November  following,  R.  V.  Ards- 
keagh  (vice  Hadlock,  deceased).     Bruce  was,  in  1709,  V.  Rath- 
gogan, or  Charleville,  V.  Shandrum^  and  R.  Aglishdrinagh. 
KR.]     He  appears  also  in  1711  as  V.  Clancore.     [V.B.] 
1720.  January  31.  The  R.  and  V.  Ballyhay  were  consoli- 
dated. 

1728.  The  parish  registry  of  Charleville  begins. 
1730.  On  a  timber  tablet  in   Charleville   Church   is  thig 
inscription,  in  ffilt  letters  : — **  Fuimus —  M —  S —  MarisB  Revi. 
Ludi.  Aprodonci,  d.b.,  Fili»  Uzs.  CarissimsB  Matrs.  Aman- 


g* 


36  BALLTHAT.  [CLOTHS. 

tissimse  Omnibs.  com  Corporis  Turn  Animi  DotiboB  Omatas 
Posait  MsBstas  Conjx.  Revs.  Jonats.  Brnce,  a.m.,  Fcenabs. 
Decanus  Hujusque  UnionB.  Rector,  obt.  MDCOXXX.  Aets, 
XXXX." 

1746.  Mr.  Jonathan  Bruce,  P.  Balljhay,  is  fined  20«.  for 
being  absent  from  a  chapter  meeting,  held  on  16th  October, 
1746.     [C.B.] 

''  In  this  town,  the  first  Earl  of  Orrery  endowed  a  celebrated 
free  school,  who,  although  he  had  great  offices  and  a  plentiful 
estate,  yet  his  soul  seemed  much  larger  than  his  fortune.  The 
master  has  an  house  and  £40  per  an.  salary. 

**  The  late  Earl  of  Orrery  gave  15  acres  of  land,  worth  £1 1 
per  an.,  for  the  encouragement  of  a  charter  working  school, 
near  this  town,  erected  for  the  reception  of  40  children.  The 
building  cost  £350  ;  it  was  opened  on  the  18th  of  April,  1748, 
and  20  children,  10  of  each  sex,  admitted,  being  completely 
clothed.  On  the  following  Sunday  a  sermon  was  preached  on 
the  occasion,  by  the  Rer.  Dean  Bruce,  who  gave  the  children 
bibles  and  other  useful  books,  and  a  subscription  to  the  school. 
The  house  properly  supplied  with  necessaries  ;  the  kitchen 
and  potato  gardens  are  well  planted ;  the  land  enclosed  with 
quickset  hedges,  and  ornamented  with  trees. 

'*  In  this  towQ  is  a  decent  parish  church,  erected  by  the  first 
Lord  Orrery .*•     [Smith's  Cork,  vol.  i.,  p.  304.] 

Jonathan  Bruce  was  descended  from  Sia  Ah  drew  Bruob,  of 
Earlshall,  in  Scotland  {vide  Robertson's  Baronage  of  Scotland), 
who,  by  his  wife  Helen,  dau.  of  Patrick,  7th  Lord  Grbt,  had 
issue  inter  aiio%  a  second  son,  Alexander  Bruce.  This  Alexander 
was  a  steady  loyalist,  and  was  taken  prisoner  by  the  Parliamen- 
tarians at  the  battle  of  Worcester,  in  1651.  He  came  to 
Ireland,  and  settled  in  Bandon,  county  Cork,  in  1654.  He 
married  Mary,  dau.  of  Captain  Brookes,  of  the  '^Swallow"  Sloop  of 
War,  and  niece  of  Jonathan  Saul,  esq.  Bj  her  he  had  issue 
a  son,  Saul  Bruce,  esq.,  who  was  twice  Provost  of  Bandon. 
Saul  married  Mary,  dau.  of  George  Crofts,  esq.,  of  Church  town, 
county  Cork,  and  by  her  had  five  sons  and  two  daughters,  11 
of  whom  died  without  issue,  except  the  second  son,  Jonathan, 
who  was  P.  Ballyhay. 

Jonathan  (the  last  named)  was  bom  in  county  Cork,  in  1681, 
and  when  seventeen  years  old,  was  entered  a  Pensioner  of 
T.C.D.  on  19th  January,  1698;  and  became  a  Scholar  in  1702, 
and  graduated  subsequently  a.m.  and  d.d. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  23rd  Sept,  1705,  and  Priest  on 
29th  Oct.,  1710,  both  at  Cloyne. 

From  1708  to  1729  he  was  Curate  of  Kilbolane.  Prom  1709 
to  1758  he  was  R  Aglishdrinagh,  and  Y.  Shandrum  and  Rath- 
gogan.  Prom  1710  to  1736,  P.  Cooline.  On  11th  Sept.,  1714, 
he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Ballyhay  and  Imphric.   From 


CLOTNE.]  BALLYHAT.  39 

1719  to  1758  he  was  P.  Ballyhay  and  R.  V.  Ardskeagli.  From 
1721  to  1758  he  was  K  Shandrum,  and  from  1724  to  his 
death,  at  Charleville,  on  27th  August,  1758,  was  Dean  of 
Eilfenora. 

He  married  in  1709  [M.L.  Cloyne,  20th  April]  Mary,  dan. 
of  Rev.  Lewis  Prythergh,  P.  Effin,  Limerick,  and  by  her  had 
issue  eight  sons  and  three  daughters,  Mary,  wife  of  Samuel 
Hobson,  esq.,  of  Youghal ;  Sarah,  wife  of  R«uben  Roberts,  esq., 
of  CharleviUe ;  and  GEitherine,  Mrs.  de  la  Hoyde. 

The  Dean's  eldest  son,  Lewis,  was  born  at  CharleviUe,  in 
1710,  and  in  1725,  when  sixteen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.  He 
was  afterwards  d.d.  He  was  ordained  Priest  on  23rd  Sept.,  1 734, 
at  Cloyne,  for  the  curacy  of  Rathgogan ;  was  Chaplain  in  ordi- 
nary to  His  Majesty  for  Somerset  House,  and  was  V.  Rainham, 
county  Essex,  from  1759  to  1779.  He  married,  in  1738, 
Elisabeth  Roberts,  of  CharleviUe,  [Cloyne,  M.B.,]  by  whom  he 
had  issue  a  daughter,  Mary-Elisabeth,  who  was  privately  bap- 
tised in  1 739.  [CharleviUe  parish  register.]  He  appears  to  have 
bad  no  other  issue,  and  his  daughter  probably  died  an  infant. 
In  his  wUl  (dated  22nd  Oct.,  1778,  with  a  codicU  of  18th  Feb., 
1779,)  Dr.  Lewis  Bruce  bequeathes <£50  to  the  poor  of  CharlevUle 
parish,  the  interest  thereof  to  be  laid  out  in  the  like  manner  as 
the  interest  of  the  JB50  bequeathed  by  his  father  s  will,  **  in 
purchasing  of  bread  for  the  poor,  to  be  distributed  on  the  3rd 
Sunday  in  every  month,  by  the  Minister  and  churchwardens 
for  the  time  being,  in  the  open  church,  next  after  divine  service, 
the  persons  so  to  be  relieved  to  be  nominated  by  my  heirs,  and 
for  want  of  such  nomination,  by  the  said  Minister  and  church- 
wardens.** He  also  bequeathed  "  to  the  Vicar,  churchwardens, 
and  overseers  of  the  poor  of  the  parish  of  Raynham,  county 
Essex,  £50,  the  interest  to  be  toward  the  support  and  main- 
tenance of  a  reading-master,  to  teach  the  poor  children  of  said 
parish  to  read,  and  to  instruct  them  in  their  catechism."  He  also 
bequeathed  to  twenty  of  the  oldest  and  poorest  inhabitants  of 
Raynham  10«.  6d.  apiece. 

He  left  to  Wills,  Earl  of  Hillsbosooh,  ''a  picture,  by 
Casteels,  of  tame  fowl,  and  two  pictures,  by  Teniers;**  and  to 
Viscount  Fairford,  son  of  the  Earl  of  HiLLSBORoaH,  **  two 
small  fruit  pieces.*' 

He  left  also  to  Francis  Bernard,  of  Basinborough  Hall,  his 
^  onyx  ring  of  Ganymede  and  the  eagle,  brought  by  the  late 
Lord  Holland  from  Herculaneum.'*  And  to  the  Hon.  Thomas 
Fitzmaurice  he  left  his  *'  silk  partridge  net.** 

Dr.  Lewis  Bruce  mentions  in  his  will  several  relations; 
among  others,  "  Miss  Elisabeth  Catherine  Bruce,  sister  to 
Robert  George  Bruce,  chief  engineer  at  the  Island  of  St. 
Dominique  ;**  and  Ismena  and  Arabella,  daughters  of  the  late 
Mr.  David  Brace,  of  the  Corn-market,  DubUn. 


40  BALLYHAY.  [CLOYKB. 

Dr.  Lewis  Bruce  was  bnried  in  Charleville  on  20th  October^ 
1779 ;  and  on  28th  May,  1780,  his  will  was  proved,  and  adminis- 
tration was  granted  to  his  nephew  and  heir,  Bev.  Jonathan 
Bruce. 

The  Dean^s  second  son  was  Saul,  who  was  ordained  Deacon, 
on  5th  January,  1737,  and  Priest,  on  21st  Dec.,  1740,  both  at 
Cloyne.  He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Rathgogan  on  22nd 
Dec.,  1740,  and  was  Curate  in  1742.  Jonathan,  son  of  Rev. 
Saul  Bruce,  was  baptized  in  Charleville,  on  10th  January,  1742. 
[Par.  Reg.] 

The  Dean's  third  son,  Charles,  died  unm.  His  fourth  son, 
David,  was  probably  the  same  person  mentioned  in  Dr.  Lewis 
Bruce*s  will  as  of  the  Corn-market,  Dublin. 

George,  the  fifth  son  of  the  Dean,  was  a  counsellor-at-law, 
and  resided  at  Cork.  He  married  Mary,  eldest  dau.  of  Thomas 
Evans,  esq.,  of  Miltown  Castle.  (  Vidt  Burke's  L  G.  Evans,  of 
Ashhill  Towers.)  He  died  in  1788,  leaving  numerous  issue.  His 
eldest  son.  Rev.  Jonathan  Bruce,  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  11th 
May,  1777,  and  Priest,  on  20th  Dec.,  1778,  both  at  Cork. 
From  1785  to  1788  he  was  Curate  of  Marmullane,  Cork,  and 
in  1790  wajs  Curate  of  Eilbolane.  He  (Rev.  Jonathan)  inhe- 
rited from  his  uncle.  Dr.  Lewis  Bruce,  the  impropriate  tithes  of 
Kilbolane,  'M82  volumes  of  classics,  bound  in  Turkey,"  and 
other  property.  He  married,  first.  Miss  Augusta  Archdall, 
of  c<mnty  Fermanagh,  who  died  Sp.  He  married,  secondly,  his 
cousin  Mary,  daughter  of  George  Evans,  esi].,  and  by  her  had 
issue — I.  (jreorge  (representative  of  this  branch  of  the  Bruce 
family),  bom  1782,  married  Frances,  second  dau.  of  Major 
Greene,  of  Lota,  and  has  issue.  2.  Eyre,  Major-General,  H.E.I.C., 
married  Miss  M'Auley,  and  has  issue.  3.  Jonathan,  married 
Ann,  dau.  of  Robert  Maxwell,  esq.,  and  has  issue.  4.  Elisabeth, 
wife  of  Charles  Conyers,  esq.,  of  Castletown  Conyers.  5.  Mary, 
wife  of  Eyre  Massy,  esq.,  of  Glenville. 

The  second  son  of  George,  the  Dean's  fifth  son,  was  George- 
Evans  Bruce,  High-Sheriff  of  county  Limerick.  He  inherited 
the  estates  which  his  uncle.  Dr.  Lewis  Bruce,  acquired  by 
marriage,  in  Hertfordshire,^  Finchley,  and  Middlesex,  and  he 
•old  them,  having  first  levied  fines,  and  suffered  recovery,  &c., 
to  enable  him  to  do  so.  He  married  Miss  Bayley,  niece  of 
Lord  Sandwich,  and  left  no  issue. 

The  other  sons  of  Dean  Bruce  were  Walter,  John,  and  James, 
who  all  died  Sp. 
1758.  Sept.  20.  Joseph  Stopfobd,  a.m.,  P.  Ballyhay,  and  on  26th 
August,  R.  V.  Shandrum  and  Ardskeagh,  R.  Ballynoran,  V. 
Rathgogane  and  Clanicore.     [F.F.] 

He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  3rd  July,  1760.     [C.B.] 
1762.  Joseph  Stopford,  resident;  yearly  income,  £700,  out 
of  which  he  pays  a  Curate  £40.    [Hayman  MSS.] 


CLOYNK.]  BALLYHAY.  41 

1774.  Ballyhay,  consolidated  with  the  vie.  of  same.  It  lies 
part  in  the  barony  of  Orrery  and  Eilmore,  and  part  in  that  of 
Fermoy ;  value,  £100  per  an.  Church  in  ruins.  Patron,  the 
Bishop.  Glebe,  1a.  2b.  8p.,  plant.  Proxy,  9s.  Taxed  in  the 
King's  books  by  the  name  of  Bellaghathye,  13«.  id.  ster. 
Incumb.,  Joseph  Stopford,  a.m.  Curate,  Qteorge  Monroe,  a.m. 
[Kingston.] 

1774.  Shandrum,  als  Shandrome,  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery 
and  Kilmore,  consolidated  with  the  rectory^  value  £200  per 
ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Glebe,  3a.  1b.,  plant. 
Proxy,  I6s.  8d.  The  rect  is  taxed  in  the  King's  books, 
£7  6$.  Sd.  ster.,  and  the  vie,  £3  13s.  id,  ster.  Incumb., 
Joseph  Stopford.     [Kingston.] 

1774.  Ballynorane,  otherwise  Aglishdradynagh,  rect.  in 
the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore.  Value,  £80  per  an.  Church 
in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Proxy,  3s,  Taxed  in  the  King's 
books  by  the  name  of  Ballyvorane,  the  rect.,  £1  ster.,  the  vie., 
10«.  ster.     Incumb.,  Joseph  Stopford,  a.m.     [Kingston.] 

1774.  Rathgogan,  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore ; 
value,  £60.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Proxy,  4«.  Taxed 
in  the  King's  books,  £3  ster.  Incumb.,  Joseph  Stopford,  a.m. 
The  rect. is  imp.  TheEarlofCor'k,Imp.  Proxy,  6<.  [Hiii^^ston.] 

1774.  Clancore,  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore ; 
value,  £60.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bishop.  Proxy,  6s. 
Incumb.,  Joseph  Stopford,  a.m.  The  rect.  is  improp.,  and  the 
Bishop  of  Limerick  Impropriator.  Proxy,  12«.  lib  is  taxed 
in  the  King's  books  by  the  name  of  the  Church  of  Clanrore, 
£5  5s,  ster.     [Kingston.] 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  the  union,  125.     [Stopford.] 

1793.  Oct.  21.  John  Anster,  the  poet,  was  born  at  Charle- 
ville.  Ke  was  the  only  son  of  John  Anster,  esq.,  of  Charleville, 
by  Mary,  eldest  dau.  of  Terence  M^Mahon  Kifieman,  esq.,  of 
Leskennett,  county  Limerick. 

Joseph  Stopford  (son  of  James,  Bishop  of  Cloyne)  was  bom 
in  Dublin  in  1732,  and  when  fifteen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D. 
as  Pensioner,  on  5th  January,  1746/7,  and  graduated  a.b.  in 
1750. 

Ke  was  ordained  Deacon  on  28th  Sept.,  1755,  and  Priest 
on  5th  Dec.,  1756,  both  at  Cloyne. 

Ke  was  licensed  on  10th  July,  1758,  to  the  curacy  of  Innis- 
carra.  From  1758  to  his  death,  on  24th  May,  1801,  he  was 
P.  Ballyhay,  Ac.  Ke  held  also  from  1759  to  1780  the  R.  V. 
Clondrohid,  and  from  1780  to  1795  the  V.  Garrvcloyue. 

Ke  married,  in  1765,  Miss  Angel  Wray,  of  the  fiamily  of 
Wray  of  Ards,  county  Donegal ;  and  he  left  issue  at  his  death 
three  sons,  James  ;  William,  V.  Garrycloyne,  q.  v.;  and  Joseph  ; 

besides  a  daughter  Anne,  wife  of ?  Ker,  esq.     Rev.  Joseph 

Stopford  left  £50  to  the  poor  of  Bathgogan  parish,  and  his 


42  BALLYHAT.  [CLOYNE. 

remains  were  interred  in  Oharleville  churcb-yard,  with  this 
inscription  on  the  tombstone,  "  Hie  jacet  Reverendus  Josephus 
Stopford  per  annos  XLUI.  hajus  Parochias  Rector,  Qui  obiitdie 
XXIV.  Mai  MDCCGI.  anno  aetatis  suie  LXIX.  Filii  in  memo- 
riani  optimi  Patris  hoc  monamentum  posueruut." 
1801.  July  27.  Henry  Sandifobd,  a.m.,  per  mortem  Stopford,  P. 
V.  Bally  hay,  R.  V.  Shandrum  and  Ardskeigh,  R.  Ballinoran, 
Y.  Rathgogan  and  Olanicore.  [D.R.]  In  1790  he  became 
also  Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1805.  The  union  contains  32  Protestant  families.     [Abp.  B.] 
1807.  Sandiford  is  Precentor  of  Cork,  and   lives  half  the 
year  in  each  of  his  parishes..  [Rep.1 

1815.  April  9.  "William,  son  of  Boles  Reeves,  esq.,  was 
baptized."  [Charleville  Parish  Register.]  This  refers  to  Dr. 
Reeves,  the  antiquarian.  He  was  born  on  16th  March  in  Rath- 
gogan parish. 

"  The  ancestor  of  Lord  Cork  endowed  a  school  at  Charleville 
with  £40  per  an.  There  were  ruins  in  1788  of  a  large  school- 
house  in  Charleville,  destroyed  by  fire."     [Rep.  of  1812.] 

"  The  school  of  Castleharrison,  near  Charleville^  (built  by 
Henry  Harrison,  esq.,  and  endowed  with  £20  per  an.,  charged 
on  an  estate  in  Dublin)  has  been  many  years  without  a 
scholar.  The  school-house  was  repaired,  and  some  arrears 
recovered,  on  the  interference,  28  years  ago,  of  the  Charitable 
Committee  of  the  House  of  Lords,  but  of  late  nothing  has  been 
done."  [Bennet,  1812.] 
1826.  June  27.  William  Dunn,  P.  V.  Ballyhay,  and  V.  Rathgogan, 
per  mortem  Sandiford.     [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Ballyhay,  15 ;  of  Rathgogan, 
325. 

William  Dunn,  bom  1757,  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne,  on 
1st  May,  1783,  for  the  curacy  of  Ballyhay,  in  which  parish  he 
served  as  Minister  to  his  death.  He  held  from  1810  to  1826 
the  R.  V.  Aglish,  Ardfert  and  Aghadoe ;  and  from  1812  to 
1826  the  R.  V.  Carrigdownane.  From  1826  to  his  death,  on 
25th  March,  1834,  he  was  P.  Ballyhay.  He  was  buried  in  the 
church-yard  of  Charleville,  where  a  stone  with  an  inscription 
has  been  placed  by  his  children  over  his  remains.  He  left 
three  daughters,  Ann,  and  Elisabeth,  and  Mary  (second  dau.) 
wife  of  Rev.  William  Benn. 
1834.  May  17.  Joseph  Rogbbson  Cotter,  P.  V.  Ballyhay,  and  V. 
Rathgogan.  [p*^  ^^  184:1  he  became  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 
1837.  Bally nea  Union  :  6^  miles  long  by  4  broad,  with  cure, 
consisting  of — 1.  Ballyhea  rectory,  4^  miles  long  by  3^  broad. 
2.  Charleville  vicarage.  The  union  contains  8,205a.  1e.  16p. 
Qross  population,  7,400.  One  Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend 
of  £75  per  ann.  Tithe  composition  of  Ballyhea  parish,  £400. 
1a.  2b.  19^p.  of  glebe  in  said  parish,  let  for  £3  3«.    Composi- 


CLOYNK.]  BALLYHAY. — BAIXYHOOLY.  43 

tton  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of  Charleville  parish,  £224  As.  lid. 
Rents  of  houses,  £23  ;  subject  to  visitation  fees,  14^.  lOd.  Dio- 
cesau  schoolmaster,  lis.  No  glebe-honse.  Incumbent  constantly 
resides  within  the  benefice  in  the  town  of  Charleville,  and  p^ys 
the  sum  of  £50  per  annum  for  house- rent  One  church,  situate 
in  the  parish  and  town  of  Charleville,  capable  of  accommodating 
400  persons^  but  when,  or  at  what  cost,  built,  unascertainable. 
No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  this  church. 
Divine  service  is  celebrated  twice  on  Sundays,  and  once  on  the 
festivals,  and  on  all  Fridays.  The  sacrament  is  administered 
monthly,  and  on  Christipas  Day.  The  rectorial  tithes  of  Char- 
leville parish,  compounded  for  £102  lOs,  lld.j  are  impropriate, 
and  belong  to  the  Earl  of  Cork  and  Orrery.  [Pari.  Rep?] 
1841.  Dec  7.  William  Hall  (vice  Cotter,  resigned)  P.  Ballyhay. 
[DJl.] 

1846.  Rathgogin  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

On  4th  May,  1849,  Hall  became  R.  V.  Kilshannig,  q.  v. 
1849.  June  14.  Hbnby  Evans  Sadlibr,  a.m.,  (vice  Hall,  resigned) 
P,  Ballyhay.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  in  good  order.  No  glebe-house.  A  glebe 
of  one  acre  set  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays,  and  on 
usual  holidays,  &c  Sacrament  monthly,  and  at  festivals  ; 
average  of  communicants,  38.  16  children  attend  a  school 
maintained  by  local  aid.  The  Protestant  population  is  170. 
Tiie  rentcharge  of  Ballyhay  is  £300  ;  of  Rathgogan,  or  Charle- 
ville, £168  3s.  9d.  The  laud  and  houses  are  worth  £25.  Total 
value  of  benefice,  £493  3s.  9c?.,  without  residence. 

H.  E.  Sadlier  was  ordained  Deacon  on  18th  June,  and  Priest 
on  24th  Dec.,  1815,  bothat  Cork,  for  the  curacy  of  St  Nicholas. 

From  1825  to  1840  he  was  V.  Kilmocamoge,  and  from  1840 
to  1849,  R.  V.  Inchigeelah,  Cork. 

He  married,  on  6th  August,  1818,  Miss  Frances  Maguire,  and 
hab  issue. 


BALLYHOOLY. 


1291.  "P.benda  Magri  Rioi  Ooabban,  Ecca  de  Athull  ad  XVI«. 

Vlllrf.  unde  decima  XXc?."    [Tax.  P.  Nic]    "Ecca  de  Athulla 

Ls.  unde  decia  V«."     [lb.]     ''Ecca  de  Killaych  Vmr.  et  di. 

unde  decia  VII«.  IIIIc/.**     [lb.]     Ocarran  was  also  Y.  Bally- 

grigan  als  Wallstown. 
1591.  Dbbmitius  Hogan  is  P.  Aghultie.    "  Rectoria  de  Killathie 

spectat  ad  Priorem  Pontis.     vicarius  ibm  Dermicius hogan  per 

unionem."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  William   Holiday  is   P.    Aghultie.     "Aghultie  prebenda, 

William  Holidayi  ipse  iaservit  curte.    Valor  10  li.     Killathie^ 


44  BALLYHOOLT.  [CLOYNE. 

Dominus  de  Rape  et  Fermoj  firmarius  Rectorise.    Yicarins  est 
Wm.  Holiday.     Valor  hujue  in  precedente."     [R.V.  RI.A.] 

1634.  "  P.  de  Agihultie  Wm.  Holiday  :  sub  lite.     Val.  40  li. 
%  per  an.     R  de  Killathie  Dominas  Roch  tenet  rectoriam.     Val. 
16  li.  per  an.     Vicarius  Wm.  Holiday,  sub  lite.     Val.   16  li. 
per  annum.*'     [R.V.  1634.] 

164L  Wm.  Holiday,  P.  Ballyhooly,  was  plundered  by  the 
rebels  of  goods  to  amount  of  £300,  besides  the  loss  of  his  church 
livings,  worth  £150  per  an.     [MS.  T.C.D.  F;  2.  16.] 

On  38th  Nor.  1609,  Holiday  was  presented  probably  to 

Oarrigamleary ;  and  in  1610  he  was  R.  Bruhenny.     He  appears 

in  1615,  and  in  1634  as  P.  Aghultie,  R.  Bruhenny,  and  V. 

Oarrigamleary. 

1661  to  1665.  Mr.  William  Bortlbt  appears  as  P.and  V.  Aghultie. 

"Killathie  R.  Dominus  Roch.  Vicaria  vacat"  in  1661.  In 
1663  "E.  de  Killathie  in  manu  Resris,  Vicarius  Edmundus 
Wade."     [V.B.]     Wade  was  P.  Glanworth,  q.  v. 

1663.  «July  14.  In  a  chapter  entry  of  this  date  Wilhelmus 
Earles  appears  as  P.  Aghultie.  [C.B.]  He  does  not  appear 
elsewhere.  Bortley,  in  1661,  was  V.  Kilcummer  and  Carrig- 
downan.  In  1666  he  resigned  the  P.  Killenenior,  V.  Castle- 
town, Wallstown,  Bridgetown,  Monanimy,  and  Aghultie. 
1666.  Dec.  5.  William  Smyth,  d.d.,  institutus  ad  P.  Aghultie  als 
Ballyhooly,  per  cessionem  Willmi  Bortly.  [V.B.  1669.]  Smyth 
was  also  P.  Killaspugmullane,  Cork,  q.  v.  He  died  circa  1681. 
1682.  August  10.  David  Elliott,  a.b.,  P.  de  Aghultie  als  Bally- 
hooly et  R.  V.  de  Rathcormack.  [F.F.]  On  10th  Nov.  1682, 
he  took  the  secrecy  oaths  as  Prebendary.     [C.B.] 

1694.  P.  Aghulty  alias  Ballyhooly ;  val.  £18.  Mr.  Elliott 
Incumbent.     Nulla  ecclia.     Epus  patronus.     [Palliser.] 

D.  Elliott  (son  of  Alexander  Elliott,  armiger),  was  born  in 
London,  and  educated  by  Mr.  Cor  at  St.  Patrick's  school  in 
Dublin.  When  sixteen  years  old  he  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pen- 
sioner, on  23rd  March,  1656,  and  was  elected  a  Scholar  on  7th 
March,  1660,  being  then  a.b.  He  took  the  degree  of  a.m.  in 
1682. 

Prom  1663  to  1719  he  was  V.  Leitrim,  Kilcrumper,  and 
Macroney.  From  1667  to  1682  V.  Ardskeagh  and  Carrigam- 
leary.  From  1682  to  1719  P.  Ballyhooly  and  R.  V.  Rathcor- 
mack. From  1667  to  1719  V.  Rahan;  and  from  1671  to 
1674  Curate  of  Cahirduggan. 

He  married  Ellen  (dau.  of  Rev.  Septimus  Dunsterville,  P. 
Timoleague,  Ross,  q.  v.),  and  died  in  1719. 
1719.  November  4.  Thomas  Rtdbr,  a.m.  {vice  Elliott,  deceased),  P. 
Ballyhooly.     [D.R]     He  took  the  chapter  oath  as  P.  Aghultie 
on  9th  June,  1720.     [C.B.] 

In  1721/2  Ryder  became  P.  Brigowne,  q.  v. 
^.781/2.  March  21.  Cornelius  Pine,  a.m.  (vice  Ryder,  resigned),  P. 


CLOYNE.]  BALLYHOOLY.  45 

BaJlyhooly.  p-RJ  He  ^ok  the  oaths  of  secrecy  on  17th 
May,  1722.  [C.B.J  And  in  1726  was  elected  (Economus  of 
Cloyne.     [O.B.] 

1729.  March  12.  Bally hooly  and  Killathy  were  united  by 
act  of  Council. 

Cornelius  Pyne  (son  of  Rev.  John  Pyne),  was  bom  in  county 
Devon  in  1688,  and  when  nineteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D. 
He  obtained  a  Scholarship  in  1711. 

He  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  23rd  Sept.  1716.  From 
1719  to  1721  he  was  P.  Lackeen  and  R.  V.  Dingindonovan ; 
and  from  1721  to  1749  was  P.  Ballyhooly  and  V.  Kilworth. 
He  was  also,  from  1719,  to  his  death  in  1749,  V.  Macroney, 
Leitrim,  and  Eilcrumper. 
1749.  Sept.  20.  Crowtheb  Dowdino,  a.m.  (vice  Pyne,  deceased),  P 
Ballyhooly,  and  V.  Kilworth,  Macroney,  Kilcrumper,  and  Lei- 
trim.    [D.R] 

He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  21st  June,  1750.     [C.B.] 

1762.  Value  of  Dowding's  union  is  £300.  [Atkin  Hay- 
man.] 

1774.  Aghultie,  otherwise  Ballyhooly,  to  which  is  annexed 
for  ever  the  Vic.  of  Killathy,  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy,  value  £S0 
per  annum.  Church  of  Ballyhooly  in  repair  ;  that  of  Killathy 
in  ruins.  Pat.  the  Bishop.  Proxy,  15$.  Taxed  in  the  King's 
books,  £3  6«.  Sd.  sterling.  Incumbent,  Crowther  Dowding,  a.m. 
[Hingston.] 

Crowther  Dowding  (son  of  William  Dowding  **  generosi**), 
was  bom  in  Dublin  circa  1709,  and  when  eighteen  years  old 
entered  T.C.D.  on  Ist  June,  1727,  and  obtained  Scholarship  in 
1730. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  7th  March,  1736,  and  Priest  on 
24th  Sept  1738,  both  at  Cloyne.  In  1739  he  was  Curate  of 
Macroney  and  Kilworth. 

From  1741  to  1749  he  was  R.  Mourneabbey ;  and  from 
1749  to  his  death  in  1779  he  was  P.  Ballyhooly  and  V.  Kil- 
worth.    He  was  buried  in  Kilworth  on  9th  May,  1779. 

Buckner  Dowding  was  probably  a  son  of  Crowther  Dowding. 
He  (Buckner)  was  ordained  Deacon  on  19th  July,  1775,  and 
Priest  on  13th  June,  1777,  at  Cloyne,  for  the  Curacy  of  Bally- 
hooly. He  was  buried  on  20th  July,  1783,  at  Kilworth. 
1779.  May  17.  William  Bebkblet,  a.m.  {vice  Dowding,  deceased), 
P.  Ballyhooly  or  Aghultie.     [F.F.] 

1785.  The  Protestant  population  was  60. 

1805.  Six  Protestant  families.     [Archb.  Brod.] 

1807.  Mr.  Berkeley  lives  near  Ballyhooly,  and  has  a  Curate, 
Rev.  Basil  Orpin,  at  £50,  for  his  living  of  Ahinagh,  which  is 
twenty-five  miles  distant.  One  church.  No  glebe-house  in 
Ballyhooly.     [Rep.] 

William  Berkeley  (son   of  Robert  Berkeley,  Treasurer  of 


46  BALLTdOOLT.  [CLOTVE. 

Oloyne,  q.  v.),  was  nephew  to  Bishop  Berkeley ;  and  was  or- 
dained Priest  at  Cloyue  on  17th  Feb.  1771. 

He  was  licensed  by  his  fatlier^  Robert  Berkeley,  who  wa« 
Vicar-Qeneral,  to  the  Curacy  of  Midleton,  on  6th  April,  1772. 
This  assumption  of  power  was,  I  suppose,  distasteful  to  the 
Bishop  (Agar),  who,  on  11th  May,  1772,  is-fued  letters  to 
''  Johanni  Harding  ELegistrario  de  annihilanda  licentia  pnedicti 
William  Berkeley;'*  who,  notwithstanding,  appears  to  have 
acted  as  Curate  of  Midleton  from  1772  to  1783.  He  was, 
from  1774  to  1779,  R.  V.  Gonmult;  from  1776  to  1779  V. 
Carrigtowil;  and  from  1779  to  1814  P.  Ballyhooly.  He  was 
also,  from  1789  to  1810,  R.  V.  Aghinagh;  and  from  1810  to 
1814  R.  V.  Monanimy. 

He  married  Miss  Jane-Cole  Bowen,  of  Bowensoonrt,  and  by 

her  had  issue  an  only  child,  Arabella,  who  was  wife  to  Mr. 

Ryall,  of  Clonmel.     Rev.  W.  Berkeley  was  buried  at  Farrahy, 

on  19th  August,  1814. 

1814.  Oct.  11.  John  Benhktt,  P.  BaUyhooly.     [D.R.]     In  1819 

he  became  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1817.  Feb.  1.  William  Butlxb  (vim  Bennet,  promoted),  P.  Bally- 
hooly.   [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Ballyhooly,  68  ;  and  of  Eil- 
lathie,  13. 

1837.  Ballyhooley  union,  6  miles  long  by  3^  broad,  with 
cure,  consisting  of — 1.  Ballyhooley  rectory,  4  miles  long  by  2 
broad.  2.  Killathy  vicarage,  6  miles  long  by  1^  broad.  The 
union  contains  10,333 a.  2k«  25p.  Gross  population,  3,699. 
No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition  of  Ballyhooley  parish, 
£468.  34  acres  of  glebe  in  said  parish,  valued  at  £54  12«.  ^d. 
\\  acres  of  old  glebe  in  said  parish,  £3.  Composition  for  the 
vicarial  tithes  of  Killathy  parish,  £150.  Subject  to  visitation 
fees,  £1  16«.  Zd. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  2$. ;  and  to  glebe- 
rent,  £54  I2s.  id.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  resides  occa- 
sionally within  the  benefice,  in  Ballyhooley  village,  and  pays  a 
sum  of  £16  a-year  for  house-rent ;  but  usually  he  resides  at 
Fermoy,  distant  two  miles  from  the  benefice,  for  want  of  a  suit- 
able residence  within  it,  and  pays  the  sum  of  £52  iOs.  for  house- 
rent  in  that  parish.  One  church,  situate  in  Ballyhooly  parish, 
capable  of  accommodating  160  persons,  built  in  1774,  at  the 
cost  of  £553  16«.  lid.  British.  No  charge  on  the  union  in 
1832  on  account  of  this  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated 
once  on  Sundays.  The  sacrament  is  administered  four  times  in 
the  year.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  one  moiety  of  the  tithes 
of  Killathy  parish,  compounded  for  £150,  are  impropriate,  and 
belong  to  Trinity  College,  Dublin.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

William  Butler  (nephew  of  Bishop  Bennet),  was  ordained 
Priest  at  Cloyne  on  21st  Sept.  1807. 

From  1807  to  1808  he  was  R.  V.  Ballyvourney ;  from  1808 


CLOYNE.]  BALLYHOOLY. — BALLYGOUBNEY.  47 

to  1810  R.  Kilneniartery;  from  1810  to  1817  P.  Desertmore, 
Cork;  and  from  1817  to  his  death  on  1 9th  Dec.  1848,  P.  Bally- 
hooly.  He  was  licensed,  on  28th  June,  1808,  to  he  Curate  and 
Preacher  at  Cloyne.  He  held  also,  from  1808  to  1816,  the  P. 
Lackeen. 

He  married,  on  14th  May,  1812,  Sophia,  dau.  of  Rev.  G.  S. 
Cotter,  R.  Igtermurra^h,  q.  y.,and  hy  her  left  issue  eight  children. 
1849.  January  22.  William  Gabbett.  P.  Ballyhooly.     [D.R.] 

In  1856  he  hecame  P.  Inniscarra,  q.  v. 
1856.  Sept.  — .  Frakcis  Conner,  P.  Ballyhooly.     [D.R.] 

1860.  Church  in  good  order.  No  glebe-house.  One  acre  of 
glebe  set.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays^  and  once  on 
Christmas  Day,  and  the  usual  feasts  and  fasts.  Sacrament 
monthly  ;  average  of  communicants,  10  ;  at  festivals,  18.  No 
school.  Protestant  population,  45.  The  rentcharge  of  Bally- 
hooly (reduced  in  1854  by  the  com  averages)  <is  .£277  1«.  2d. ; 
and  the  vicarial  tithes  of  Killathy  are  £112  10«.  Total  rent- 
charge  is  £389  11«.  2d.  The  value  of  the  land  is  £2.  Total 
value,  £391  lis,  2d,  per  annum,  without  residence. 

F.  Conner  (youngest  son  of  Roderick  Conner,  late  Master  in 
Chancery,  by  Maria,  dau.  of  William  Bourne,  esq.,  of  Elford 
Lowe,  county  Stafford),  was  ordained  Deacon  in  1846  by  the 
Archbishop  of  Tuam,  and  Priest  in  1847  by  the  Bishop  of 
Chester.     He  was  for  some  time  Curate  of  Inniscarra. 


BALLYGOUBNEY. 


1291.  "Capella  de  BallygorU  cujns  Rectores  Prior  de  Exoo  et 
Philippus  Ocelman.  Vic.  Maur.  M'etuoan.  Ad  V  marks 
unde  decia  di.  mr."     [Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1591.  Mauricius  Supple  is  Rector,  and  Philip  Qollye  is  Vicar  of 
Ballygourney.  **  E.  de  Ballygorny  spectat  ad  Priorem  Exon. 
Rector  est  Mauricius  Supple.  Vicarius  Philippus  Gollye,  idem 
V.  de  Corkbeg  sine  assensu  capituli."  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
In  another  copy  of  this  visitation  Gollye  is  said  to  be  without 
letters  of  orders.     For  Supple,  vide  Inch. 

1616.  John  Hall,  s.t.b.,  appears  as  Vicar  of  Ballygourney.  "Balli- 
gourney  Rect.  imp.  Heres  Johis  Fitzgarrett,  militis,  firmarius. 
Vicar.  Johes  Half,  residens,  8.T.B.  Val.  5  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia 
et  cancella  rninantur."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

In  1628  John  Hall  was  R,  V.  Aglisdrinagh,  q.  v. 

16 — 1  Edward  Byam,  V.  Ballygourney.  In  1627  he  was  Precen- 
tor of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1631/2.  April  29.  Charles  Coldwell,  V.  Ballygourney,  als  Bally- 
temple,  Cloine,  per  cessionem  Edwardi  Byam.     [R.V.  1634. J 
E.  de  Ballygourney  Rex  est  Rector,  Johes  Fitzgerald,  mile^, 


48  BALLYGOURNEY. — BALLYNOE.  [CLOYNK. 

Impropriator.     Valet  10<.  per  an.     Vicar  Charles   Cold  well. 
Valet  XI.  li.  per  annum.     Epus  confert.    [R.V.  1G34.] 

In  1626  Coldwell  was  P.  Lisclery,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1661.  E.  de  Ballygoarny  Rex  est  Rector,  Sir  Henry  Tynt  firmarius. 
[V.B.  D.R.J  In  1664  and  1665  E.  Fitzgerald  is  Rector  improp. 
[lb.]     In  1668,  R.  de  Ballygoumey  spectat  ad  vicariam  con- 
fiscationis  ratione.     [lb.] 

1662  to  1668,  Vicariade  Ballygonrney  spectat  ad  precentor. 
[V.B.]  Vicaria  de  Ballygonrney,  als  Ballin temple,  est  parti- 
cilia  et  menibmm  precentor.  Clonen.  [V.B.  1669.]  From 
this  time  Ballygonrney  has  been  part  of  the  corps  of  the  Pre- 
centorship  of  Cloyne,  q.  y. 


BALLYNOE. 

1291.  "  Ecca  de  nova  vilja  XIL  marks,  undo  decima  XVI»."    [Tax. 

P.  Nic] 
1591.  **E.  Ville  noya  Coll.  Toughell,  vicaria  vacat  per  multos  an- 

nos."    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  John  Irish  is  Vicar  of  Ballynoe.     "  Villa  nova  Rec.  Coll. 

Youghall.     Val.  4  li.  per  an.     Vicarius  Johes  Irish.     Val.  4  li. 

per  annum.     Ecclesia  rninata,  cancella  repata.*"     [RV.  R.I.A.] 

Irish  was  also  R.  V.  Rathcormack,  q.  v. 
1633.  January  22.  James  Bruce,  V.  Ballino  et  Ahem.  [R.V.  1634.] 

R  do  Villa  nova  spectat  ad  Coll.  de  Youghall.     Valet  10  li. 

per  annum.   Vicarius  James  Bruce.    Valet  10  li.  per  an.    [lb.] 

For  Bruce,  vide  Dnngourney. 
1637  to  1855  (when  it  was  suspended),  Ballynoe  rectory  was  held 

with  Ahem  rectory,  q.  v. 


BALLYNOE  VICARAGE. 


1633  to  1747.  The  vicarage  of  Ballynoe  was  held  with  Ahem 

vicarage,  q.  v. 
1748.  January  27.  Stephen  Rolleston,  a.b.,  V.  Ballynoe,  vacant 
by  death  of  Harrison.     [D.R.J 

In  1756  Rolleston  became  also  V.  Knockmourne ;  and  from 
1756  to  1795,  Ballynoe  V.  was  held  along  with  the  V.  Knock- 
mourne, q.  v. 
1795.  Dec.  24.  Thomas  Spread  Campion,  a.m.,  V.  Ballynoe  and 
Knockmourne,  q.  v. 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families  in  the  union,  6.     FAbp. 
Brod.] 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Ballynoe,  48. 


CL0T5E.]        BALLYNOE  VICARAGE. — BALLY8PILLANE.  49 

T.  S.  Campion  was  ordained  Priedt  at  Olojne  on  29th  Sept. 
1786.  He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Donoghmore  on  6th 
July,  1786,  and  to  that  of  St.  Peter's,  Cork,  on  2nd  Nov.  1792. 
He  resigned  Knockniourne  in  1848,  but  retained  Ballynoe 
vicarage  until  his  death  in  1852.  He  was  buried  at  Eilworth 
on  11th  Oct  1852,  having  reached  the  great  age  of  ninety-one 
years.     He  was  d.d.,  T.C.D. 

He  married  Ann,  dau.  of  Alderman  Johnson,  of  Cork,  and 
by  her  had  issue,  R.  D.  Campion,  V.  Enockmoume,  q.  v. ; 
Melianus-S.  Campion,  P.  Killanully,  Cork,  q.  v. ;  William  Ben- 
net  Campion,  esq.,  £arrister-at-Law  ;  and  Anna  Campion,  who 
married  Henry  Wigmore,  esq. 

The  Campion  family  came  to  Ireland  temp.  Charles  IL 
Captain  Thomas  Campion  obtained  under  the  Act  of  Settle- 
ment, in  1667,  a  grant  of  lands  in  Leitrim  parish,  near  Eil- 
worth, county  Cork. 
1852.  Nov.  6.  Henry  Joseph  Woodrooffb,  a.m.,  V.  Ballynoe,  vacant 
by  death  of  Campion.  [D.R.]  In  1861  Woodrooffe  became 
V.  Ahem,  q.  v, 

1856.  Ballynoe  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  and  offices  in  good  order. 
4  acres  of  glebe  in  Vicar's  use.  Divine  service  twice  on  all 
Sundays,  and  once  on  the  usual  holidays,  dire.  Sacrament 
monthly;  average  of  communicants,  14;  and  at  three  great 
feasts,  average  22.  14  children  attend  a  Church  Education 
school.  The  Protestant  population  is  55. 
1861.  May  16.  William  Agar,  a.b.,  V.  Ballynoe.  [D.R.]  The 
rentcharge  is  X228  16«.  per  an.  The  land  is  worth  £1.  Total 
value,  £229  16«.  per  annum,  with  residence. 

William  Agar,  junior,  a.b.,  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cork  on 
5th  May,  1844.  He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Castlemartyr 
on  9th  April,  1844.  In  1846  he  was  Curate  of  Glengarriffe, 
and  in  1853  was  Curate  of  Ahem. 


BALLrSPILLANE. 


1291.  "  Ecca  de  Balyspellan  XXs.  unde  decima  lis."    [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  '*  E.  de  Ballispillane  spectat  ad  Abb.  de  Tracton,  Ballybog 
et  Chore.     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3. 14.] 

1615.  ''Ballispillane  Rectoria  improp.  Heres  Johls  Fitzgerald 
militis  firmarius.  Vicaria  vacat  et  usurpatur  per  firmarium 
Rectoriae.     Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur."     [R.V.  R.I. A.] 

1616.  Feb.  11.  SoiPio  Sturlbt,  V.  Ballyspillane,  Castrachore,  In- 
chinabacky,  Mogeely,  and  Clonmult.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

Id  1618  he  became  V.  Carrigtowil,  q.  v. 
1629.  Dec.  22.  Donatus  0*Connor,  V.  Ballispillane,  on  the  preseo- 

VOL.  II.  1 


I 


80  BAIXTSPILLAKB.  [CLOTHS. 

tation  of  the  Earl  of  Cork.     [F.F.]     He  was  also  V.  Inchina- 

backy,  q.  v. 
\6ii.  TJlick  Bottbk  is  Curate  of  Ballyspillane.    "  E.  de  Ballispillane 

Rex  est  Rector.      Valet  6  li.  per  annum.     Joh€s  Fitzgerald 

miles  impropriator.     Ulick  Bourk  curatus  habet  iOs.  per  an. 

pro  servitio  suo.     Vicaria  usurpatnr  per  RectorisB  firmarium. 

Valet  6  li.  per  an."    [R.V.  1634.]    Bourk  was  R  Dungoumej. 
1637.  April  15.  Augustine  Einosmell,  senr.^R.  V.  DingindoDovaDy 

Clonmulty  and  Ballyspillane.  [F.F.]   He  was  also  R.  Mogeesba, 

q.  V. 

1661.  Mr,  Wandriokb  appears  as  V.  Ballyspillane.  [V.B.]  He  is 
also  V.  Oastrachore,  q.  v. 

1662.  "  Vicaria  Ballyspillane  vacat.  Mr.  John  Maboall,  curatus. 
Edmund  Fitzgerald  occupat  fructus  rectorise  per  usurpaconem." 
[V.B.] 

1664  and  1665.  Vicaria  vacat.  E.  of  Cork  and  Jephson  appear  for 
the  rectory.     [V.B.] 

*ii  1666.  William  Smyth  is  V.  Ballyspillane.     He  was  P.  Killaspug- 

mullane,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1667.  June  29.  Daniel  Conbidine  (V.  Castrachore,  q.  v.)  is  ad- 
mitted V.  Ballyspillane  and  Templebodane  per  resignationem 
Willi  Smyth.    [V.B.  1669.] 
m  1669.  March  8.  The  impropriate  tithes  of  Ballyspellane  are 

granted  to  the  Vicar  for  ever.     [Act  of  Settlement] 
1691/2.  January  14.  Benjamiv  Luket  (vice  Considine,  deceased)  is 
admitted  V.  Ballyspellane,  and  V.  Castrachore,  q.  v. 

1694.  Vicaria  de  Ballyspillan,  valor  8   pounds.     Rectoria 
J  imp'.     Johes  Jephson  olim  impropriator,  nunc  Ben.  Lukey,  at 

fertur.  Ecclia  de  BallyspeUan  unita  est  vicarise  de  Castrachore. 
[Palliser.] 
1698.  Dec.  27.  Walter  Atkin  (vice  Lukey,  deceased)  is  admitted 
V.  Ballyspellane,  Castrachore,  &c.     In  1710  he  became  Trea- 
surer of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1710  to  1833.  Ballyspillane  was  held  as  part  of  the  corps  of 
the  Treasurer  of  01o3me,  q.  v. 

1830.  Protestant  Population,  0. 

1833.  Sept.  27.  John  Ware  Edoar,  V.  Ballispillane.     [D.R.] 

1837.  Ballyspillane  :  a  vicarage,  with  cure,  1^  miles  long 
by  IJ  broad,  containing  3,321a.  2r.  28^p.  Gross  population, 
577.  The  occasional  duties  of  this  parit<h  are  discharged  by 
the  Curate  of  a  neighbouring  benefice,  at  a  stipend  of  £30  per 
annum.  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes^  £114,  subject 
to  visitation  fees,  6$.  6d.  No  glebe-liouse.  Incumbent  is  non- 
|H  resident ;  he  resides  in  the  parish  of  Coole,  in  the  same  county 

ll  and  diocese.    No  Church.    The  rectorial,  consisting  of  a  moiety 

of  the  tithes  of  this  parish,  compounded  for  £114,  are  impro- 
priate.    The  Earl  of  Shannon  is  Patron.     [Pari.  Bep.] 


CLOTHE.]  BALLY8PIIXANE. — BALLYVOURNEY.  51 

John  Ware  Ed^r  was  ordained  Deacon  on  1st  Sept.,  1799, 
and  Priest  on  24tn  August,  1800,  both  at  Clojne. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacjofCastleljons  on  27  th  June,  1806. 

From  1833  to  his  death  in  1843  he  was  Y.  Ballyspillane. 

In  1797  a  marriage  bond  was  signed  for  the  intermarriage  of 
John  Ware  Edgar,  of  Tipperary,  and  Sarah  Peard,  of  Knock- 
mourne.     [Cloyne,  M.B.] 

He  left  issue  a  son,  Dr.  Edgar,  and  several  daughters. 
1843.  April  24.  Thomas  Lloyd  CoGHLAN,A.B.,V.Balli8piUane.  [D.R.] 

T.  L.  Coghlan  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Clonmel  on 
19th  July,  1826,  and  on  22nd  Oct.,  1827,  to  that  of  Shandrum. 
He  held,  in  1836,  the  curacy  of  Clonmel. 

He  married,  on  21st  Nov.,  1826,  Phillis-Jane,dau.  of  William 
Cole,  esq.,  of  Cork,  and  by  her  had  issue  inter  alios  John-Cole, 
R.  Mourneabbey,  q.  v.,  and  Thomas-Lloyd,  R.  C.  Chaplain, 
H.M.S.  Forces. 

Dr.  T.  L.  Coghlan  resigned  Ballyspillane  on  4th  March,  1851, 
and  became  a  Roman  Catholic. 
1851.  April  22.  Henry  Jbllett  {vice  Coghlan,  resigned)  V.  Bally- 
spillane. [D.R.1  In  1853  Jellett  became  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  q.  v. 
1863.  January  8.  William  Meadb,  V.  Ballyspillane.  [D.R.]  He 
resigned,  and  became  V.  Ballyspillane,  on  10th  December,  1853, 
and  also  R.  V.  Inchinabacky,  q.  v. 


BALLYVOURNEY. 


1591.  "David  JmrENis  O'Hearlky,  laicus,  Vicarius  de  Balljrvorny 
propter  defectum  sacr.  ordinum  ot  manifestam  contumaciam 
deprivatus  est"     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.1 

**  Daniel  o  Hierlihie  was  buried  in  March,  1637,  at  Bally- 
worn  ey,  the  family  burial  place  of  the  o  Hierlihies."  [Funentl 
Entries  U.O.]  "  On  the  north  side  of  the  altar  of  the  church 
of  Bally vourney,  which  is  dedicated  to  St.  Gobnate,  is  a  tomb 
of  the  O'Hierly's,  who  were  the  ancient  proprietors  of  this 
rugged  country."     [Smith's  Cork,  vol.  i.  p.  185.] 

1615.  MuRTAOH  AoHARRiN  appears  arfV.  Ballyvourney.  "Bally- 
vourney  als  Barnagh  :  R.  iraprop.  Cormack  M'Donogh  Carty 
est  firmarius.  Vicar,  Murtagh  Agharrin,  Studiosus.  Valor, 
305.  Dominus  Epus  tenetur  promisso  pro  servitio  curaB.** 
[R.V.  RLA.] 

Agharen  was,  in  1633,  V.  Grenagh,  q.  v. 

1626.  Nov.  4.  Benjamin  Hkabice,  V.  Ballyvourney.     [R.V.1634.] 

Una  rectoria  de  Ballyvourney  spectat  ad  Abo.  de  Mora* 

Cormack  M*Donogh  Carty  est  impropriator.  Val.  40«.  Altera  R. 

spectat  ad  Precentor.  Clonen.     Val.  40«.    Vicar,  ibm.  Benjamin 

Hearice,  Fredicator.    Val.  £4  lOs,  per  annum.     [R.V.  1634.] 

YOL.  IL  X  2 


1'- 


52  BALLYVOURNEY.  [CLOYWB. 

In  1630  Hearice  was  R.  Y.  Lislee,  Rosa,  q.  v. 
1637.  Not.  9.  Bryan  Roch,  V.  de  Balljvonrney.     [F.P.]    In  1640 

Roch  was  V.  Lisclery,  Cork,  q.  t. 
1641.  April  6.  John  Eablb,  V.  Ballyvourney.     [P.P.]    He  does 

not  appear  elsewhere. 
1667.  John  Wbbb  appears  as  V.  Balljvoumey.    [V.B.]    He  waa, 

in  1668,  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1669.  Oct.  29.  RiOHABD  Browne,  V.  Ballyvoumey  and  Macroom, 

per  resign.  Johis  Webb.     [V.B.  1669.] 
For  Browne  vide  Macroom. 
1694.  Una  R.  et  V.  de  Ballyvonmey.    Valor  £8.    Epns 

patronus.     [Talliser.] 
1713.  April  23.  Thomas  Ryder,  a.m.  (vice  Browne,  deceased),  R.  V. 

Ballyvoumey.     [D.R.]    In  1721  Ryder  became  also  P.  Brig- 

owne,  q.  v. 
1747.  June   17.  William    Spratt,  a.m.  (vice  Ryder,  deceased), 

adniiss  ad  unam  R.  V.  Ballyvoumey.     [D.R.]    In  1748/9,  he 

became  V.  Castlelyons,  q.  v. 
1749.  June  9.  Niobolas  Poster,  a.b.  (vice  Spratt,  resigned),  ad 

unam  R.  V.  Ballyvoumey.     [D.R.] 

1762.  Porsternon-resident.  Yearly  value,  £70.  [A.Hayman.] 
1774.  Ballyvoumey  R.  and  V.  in  the  barony  of  Muskeny. 

Val.  £100  per  annum.     Church  in  ruius.     Patron,  the  Bishop. 

Glebe,  4  acres  plant.    The  rectory  formerly  belonged  to  Moome 

Preceptory,  and  is  subject  to  7«.  per  annum  crown  rent     The 

vie.  is  taxed  in  the  King^s  books  £2  sterling.     Incumbent^ 

Nicholas  Poster,  a.m.     Another  rectory  in  this  parish  belongs 

to  the  Chancellorship.     [Kingston.] 
1784.  June  28.  Edward  Synoe  Townsend  (vice  Poster,  resigned), 

R  V.  Ballyvoumey.     [P.P.] 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  was  4,     [Townsend.] 
Townsend  resigned  in  1789,  but  took  this  living  again  in  1793. 
1789.  January  7.  Edward  Delanet  (vice  Townsend,  resigned),  R, 

and  V.   Ballyvoumey.     [P.P.]     In   1793  he  became  R  V. 

Whitechurch,  q.  v. 
1793.  January  29.  Edward  Synge  Townsend  (vice  Delaney,  re- 
signed), R  and  V.  Ballyvoumey  and  Clondrohid.     [P.P.] 
He  was  also  P.  Killenemer.      Vide  Clonmeen. 
1799.  March  10.  Riohard  Towksend,  P.  Killenemer,  and  R.  V. 

Ballyvoumey,  per  resignation  of  E.  S.  Townsend.    [D.R.]    In 

1801  R.  Townsend  became  P.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 
1801.  July  29.  John  Ryder,  P.  Killenemer  and  R.  V.  Ballyvoumey 

[D.R.]     In  1802  Ryder  became  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1803.  June  9.  Joseph  Domett  (vice  Ryder,  resigned),  R  V.  Bally- 
voumey. [D.R]  He  was  also  V.  Ballyclogh  from  1801  to  1804. 

1804.  January  21.  Robert  Kirchoffkr  (vice  Domett,  deceased), 
R.  and  V.  Ballyvoumey.  [D.R.]  In  1808  he  became  R. 
Clondrohid,  q.  v. 


CLOYNB.]  BALLYVOUKNEY.  53 

1805.  Protestant  families  in  Bally  vourney,  0.    [Archb.  Brod.] 
1807.  Kirchoffer  is  non-resident,  there  being  no  church.    He 
resides  in  Aghadda  as  Curate.     [Rep.1 

1807.  Sept.  24.  William  Butler,  R.  V.  Bally vourney,  vacant  by 
resignation  of  Kirchoffer.  [D.R.]  In  1817  Butler  became  r. 
Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

1808.  July  15.  Basil  Oepin,  R.  V.  Ballyvourney,  vacant  by  resig- 
nation of  Butler.     [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  30. 

1837.  Ballyvourney,  a  rectory,  in  part,  and  vicarage,  with 
cure,  10  Irish  miles  long  by  8  broad,  containing  27,219  acres. 
Gross  population,  3,681.  No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  com- 
position, £500.  64^  acres  of  glebe  in  Incumbent's  use,  valued 
at  20«.  per  acre,  £64  10«.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  5«. 
Ballynavourney  glebe-house,  built  under  the  new  Act€^  at  the 
cost  of  £576  18s.  5^d.  British,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of 
First  Fruits,  viz.,  £369  4«.  l^d.  in  way  of  gift,  and  £207 
13«.  I0\d.  in  that  of  loan ;  of  which  loan  there  remained 
£174  10«.  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by 
annual  instalments  of  £8  Gs,  Incumbent  has  been  always 
resident  in  the  glebe-house.  One  church,  capable  of  accommo- 
dating 200  persons,  built  iu  1824  by  means  of  a  gift  of 
£830  15^.  A^d.  British,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First 
Fruits.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832,  on  account  of  the 
church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on 
the  principal  festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  six 
times  in  the  year.  A  portion  of  the  rectorial  tithes  of  this 
parish,  consisting  of  a  twentieth,  or  half  tithes  of  twelve  plough- 
lands,  compounded  for  £231  lis.  7^d,  are  appropriate,  and 
belong  to  the  Chancellor  of  the  Cathedral  Church  of  St.  Colo* 
man's,  Cloyne.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

Basil  Orpin  (son  of  Rev.  Abel  Orpin,  Curate  of  Drishane, 
dioc.  Ardfert  and  Aghadoe,  by  his  second  wife,  and  grandson 
of  Robert  Orpin,  esq.,  of  Dublin),  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne 
on  29th  Sept.  1786. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  Curacy  of  Clonmeen  and  Roskeen  on 
4th  March,  1786.  In  1807  he  was  Curate  of  Aghinagh.  From 
1804  to  1808  he  was  V.  TuUilease ;  and  from  1808  to  his 
death  in  1842  was  R.  V.  Ballyvourney.  He  was  buried  at 
Millstreet,  Drishane,  Ardfert  diocese,  on  1st  Nov.  1842.  He 
left  issue  by  his  wife,  Ellen  Lewis,  four  sons — John,  Benjamin 
(dead),  Richard  (dead),  and  Basil;  besides  four  daughters — 
Mary,  Johanna,  Isabella,  and  Charlotte. 

Ho  wrote  a  statistical  account  of  this  parish  for  Mason's 
Parochial  Survey. 
1842.  Dec.   1.  Richard  Boylb  Kibchoppkr,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Bally- 
vourney, vacant  by  death  of  Orpin.     [D.R.] 

1860.  Church  in  good  order.     No  vestry-room.    The  glebe- 


1) 
J"' 


54  BALLYVOURNEY BOHILLANK.  [CLOYNE. 

house  in  good  order.  67  acres  of  glebe  in  Rector's  use.  Divine 
service  twice  on  Sundays  in  summer,  and  once  in  winter,  and 
on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly ;  average  of  com- 
municants, 11.  The  children  attend  a  National  school,  and  are 
instructed  by  the  Rector  on  Saturdays  and  Sundays.  The 
Protestant  population  is  30.  The  rentcharge  is  £375,  and  the 
land  is  worth  £64.     Total  value,  £439  per  an.,  with  residence. 

R.  B.  Kirchoffer  (son  of  Rev.  Robert  Kirchoffer,  R.  V.  Clon- 
drohid,  q.  v.),  graduated  a.b.,  T.G.D.  in  1S24,  and  a.m.  in  1832. 
He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  10th  April,  1825,  and  Priest  on 
25th  April,  1826,  both  at  Cloyne. 

He  was  licensed  to  be  Curate  of  Clondrohid  on  17th  July, 
1826. 

He  married,  in  1843,  Isabella-Catherine,  dau.  of  Rev.  S.  G. 
Fairtlough,  R.  V.  Aghinagh. 


BOHILLANE. 

1291.  "  Gapella  de  Bofyllan  pporcone  turn  Rector,  taxat.  ad  Ilmr. 

unde  decia  Us.  Vllld."     [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  James  Sullivan  appears  as  Rector  de  Boghillane.     [MS. 
T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.1     In  another  copy  "  Johes  Sullivan  laicus" 
appears.     [R.V.  11.1.  A.] 

ror  John  Sullivan,  vide  Dungourney. 
1615.  Bohillan.  Rector ;  integ  ;  Thomas  Wilson,  minister  et  predi- 
cator,  Incumbens.  residens.     Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur. 
[R.V.  R.I.A.]     Wilson  was  also  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 
1618.  Nov.  26.  John  Keably,  R.  de  Bohillane.     [F.F.]     He  does 

not  appear  elsewhere. 
1626.  April  5.  Charles  Coldwell,  R.  Bohillane,  and  V.  Kilmag- 
hane  united  by  Bishop.     He  was  inducted  14th  April,  1626. 
[R.V.  1634.] 

E.  de  Bohillane  Charles  Coldwell.     Yalet  6  li.  per  annum. 
[R.V.  1634.] 

Coldwell  was  also  P.  Lisclery,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1661.  E  de  Boghillane  vacat.     [V.B.] 
1662   to   1668.   Chbibtopher   vowell  appears  as  R.   Bohillane. 

rV.B.]     He  became  in  1668  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  v. 
1669.  April  30.  Henricus  Rugo  instit.  R.  de  Bohillane  et  V.  Eil- 
maghane,  per  acceptaconem  aliorum  beneficiorum  per  Xporum 
Vowell  priorem  Incumb.  in  coll.  Epi.   [Y.B.  1669. J  Rugg  was 
Dean  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1671.  August.  Vacat  per  mort.  Rugo.     [V.B.] 
1671.  Oct.  16.  Isaac  Mansfield  (vice  Rugg,  deceased),  R.  Bohillan^ 
and  V.  Kilmaghan.  [F.F.]  He  was  also  P.  Inskenny,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1674.  E.  de  Bohillane  vacat.     [V.B.] 


CLOYNE.]  BOHILLANS.  55 

1682.  March  19.  Matthew  Jones,  a.m.,  E.  BobillaDe  and  Eilmag- 

bane,  P.  Coolinej,  and   V.  Liscarroll  and  Bregoge.     [D.E.] 

In  1687  he  became  P.  Donoghmore^  q.  v. 
1685.  August  16.  John  Rugg,  a.m.,  E.  Bohillane,  and  E,  Y.  Kil- 

maghane.     [F.FJ     He  was  also  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  q.  v. 

1G94.  E.  de  ^ogbillan  ;  val.  £6.     E.  V.  Kilmaghan ;  val. 

XI 5.     [Palliser.] 
1708.  January  21.  Charles  Northcote,  a.m.  (vice  Eugg,  deceased)^ 

E.  Bohillane,  and  E.  V.  Kilmaghan,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  Y.  Clon- 

fert,  and  Y.  Knocktemple.     [P.P.]      Vide  Kilmacdonogh. 
1780.  August  28.  Peter  Bunworth,  a.m.  ^i/ectf  Northcote,  deceased), 

R  de  Bohillane.     [D.E.]     Ho  was  also  P.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 
1730.  Nov.  6.  John  Kempston,  a.m.  (vice  Bunworth,  resigned),  R. 

de  Bohillane.  [D.E.]  In  1773  he  became  E.  V.  Olonmult,  q.  v. 
1762.    Kempston,   non-resident ;   yearly  value,   £28.     [A. 

Hay  man.] 
1773.  July  1.  Francis  Attkrbury,  ll.d.  (vice  Kempston,  resigned), 

E.  de  Bohillane.     [P.P.]     Atterbury  was  also  Precentor  of 

Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1774.   Bohillan,  als   Kilboally,  als  Boghelane,  rect.  ia  the 

barony  of  Imokilly.     Val.  £80.     Church  in  ruins.     Pat.  the 

Bp.     It  has  three  glebes,  viz.  : — the  chuich  glebe,  3a.  1r.  9p. 

Eng. ;  the  north  glebe,  5a.  1r.  39p.  Eng. ;  and  the  south  glebe, 

4a.  3r.  18p.  Eng.    Proxy,  2s,    It  formerly  belonged  to  Mourne 

Preceptory,  and  pays  Is,  per  an.  crown  rent     Incumbent  F. 

Atterbury,  ll.d.     [Hingston.] 
1777.  June  7.  Stephen  Baggs,  a.m.  (I'ic^  Atterbury,  resigned),  E.  de 

Bohillane.  [F.F.]  Inl782hebecameY.Kilmaccabee,EodS,q.  v. 
1782.  July  15.  Jeremiah  Harte  (vice  Baggs,  resigned),  E.  de  Bo- 

hillaue.     [F.F.] 

]  785.  Protestant  population  of  Bohillane,  0. 

"Harte  resides  at  Killeagh,  seven  miles  off,  where  he  is 

Curate.     No  place  of  worship  at  Bohillane,  although  there  is 

cure  of  souls."     [Eep.  1806.] 

J.  Harte  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Killeagh  on  8th  April, 

1775.     From  1782  to  his  death  in  1810  he  was  E.  Bohillane. 
1810.  May  2.  William  Chatterton,  E.  de  Bohillane.     [F.F.] 
1830.  Protestant  population,  0. 
1837.  Bohillane  :  a  rectory,  with  cure,  1^  miles  long  by  1 

broad,  containing  1,100a.     Gross  population,  487.     No  Curate 

employed.     Tithe  composition,  ^203  158,  l^d, ;  19a.  Ie.  30p. 

of  demised  glebe,  valued    at  2ls,  per  plan,  acre,  £12   12«. ; 

subject  to  visitation  fees,  6s. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  Qs,  Sd. 

No  glebe-house.     From  want  of  any  suitable  accommodation 

within  the  benefice,  Incumbent  is  non-resident,  by  permission  of 

the  diocesan.  No  church.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory.  [Pari.  Eep.] 
W.  Chatterton  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  12th  Sept. 

1802. 


I 


I 


I 


56  BOUILLANE. — BOTHON.  [CLOYNE. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Whitecharch  on  22nd 
June,  1808.  Prom  1810  to  his  death  in  1846  he  was  E.  Bo- 
hillane.  In  1830  he  was  Chaplain  of  the  Foundling  Hospital 
at  Cork. 

He  left  issue  by  his  wife,  Amelia,  three  sons — Thomas  (who 
died  ante  patrem),  Qeorge,  and  William ;  and  a  daughter,  Susan. 

In  1846,  on  the  death  of  Chatterton,  the  further  presonta- 
tion  of  a  Clerk  to  Bohillane  was  suspended.  In  1860  the 
revenues  are  still  in  the  hands  of  the  Ecclesiastical  Commis- 
sioners, and  the  Rev.  T.  W.  Garde  has  charge  of  the  occasional 
duties.  No  church.  No  glebe-house.  No  glebe.  The  Protestant 
population  consists  of  seven  Scotch  Presbyterians. 


I 


t'] 


BOTHON. 

1291.  "  Ecca  de  Boctanaund  XVmr.  unde  decla  XXs."  [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  «  E.  de  Bothon.    Prior  loci  Rec.  et  Vic."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3. 

To  Daniell  Norton,  of  Tyesteede,  in  county  Southampton, 
knt.,  were  demised,  on  14th  Feb.,  in  the  third  year  of  the 
reign  of  King  James  I.,  pursuant  to  Privy  of  27th  April,  1604, 
the  sciteand  precinct  of  the  late  dissolvea  Abbay  of  Ballibegge, 
conteyninge  about  1a.,  60a.  arable,  and  70a.  pasture,  of  the 
demesne  lands  thereof,  and  150 a.  arable  and  pasture,  belong- 
inge  to  Ballybegge,  in  county  Corcke ;  alsoe,  the  rectories  of 
Ballibegge,  Kilkeran,  Ardophiell,  alias  Ardofoylle,  Kilgarowph, 
Hathbarrie,  Balliclough,   Ballycastell,  Clonemrtey,  Kilvroint, 
Crasserulynie,  alias  CrussenmuUynie,  in  M^illiam  Fighters 
countrey,  in  Connoght,  Carrutwohill,  Kilculeyhine,  Liscorele, 
Castelleighan,  alias  Castlebeghan,  Killemallagh,  alias  Buttevant, 
Liscarrowle,  Eussagh,  alias  Rossaugh,  Downerabill,  and  Cahlr- 
dowgan,  in  counties  Corcke  and  Maio,  being  the  landes  and 
possessions  of  said  abbay ;  and  all  other  castles,  landes,  tiethes, 
parsonadges,  commodities,  proffites,  meadows,  pastures,  messu- 
ages, manses,  cottages,  glebe-landes,  oblations,  altorages,  and 
hereditaments,  spiritual  or  temporall,  to  said  abbay  belongiuge  ; 
woodes,   underwoodes,   knight's  fees,  wards,  &c.,   excepted ; 
with  allowance  of  sufficient  hedgeboote,  houseboote,  plongh- 
boote,  carteboote,  and  fireboote  to  be  expended  on  the  pre- 
misses, and  not  elsewhere  ;  to  holde  for  thirty  years  from  next 
Easter,  beinge  the  remaine  of  the  terme  of  forty  yeares,  as  yet 
unexpired,  and  in  his  Majesties  possession  by  reason  of  forfei- 
ture for  non-payment  of  rent,  yieldinge  £81  10«.  Irish  ;  to 
maynteyne,  on  the  premises,  two  able  horsemen  of  Englishe 
nation,  sufficientlie  armed,  for  defense  of  the  realme ;  to  keepe 
upp  all  edifices  and  chauncelles,  <S:c.  ;  to  pay  yerclie  all  proxies. 


C]:X)YHB.]  BOTHOX.  57 

sinodalles,  stipends  of  Curattes,  aud  other  chardges ;  and  not  to 
alien  the  premisses  to  any  persons,  <S:c.,  nor  chardge  them  with 
oojne  ana  liverie,  &c.     [Patent  Rolls  of  James  I.J 

Letters  patent,  dated  10th  Nov.  in  the  6th  year  of  the  reign 
James  I.,  were  enrolled  on  13th  May  following,  granting  to 
Sir  John  Jephson  (in  reference  to  certain  claims  of  the  late  Sir 
Thomas  Norreys),  all  the  lands  and  estates  of  the  late  dissolved 
ahhey,  monastery,  or  religious  house  of  Baliyheg ;  also  the 
whole  rectory  of  Baliyheg ;  and  also  the  rectory  of  Killkevan^ 
otherwise  Kilkernamoore,  of  Ardophiell,  or  Ardophoyle,  Killgar- 
owphe,  Rathharry,  Blacklogh,  or  Ballycloghy,  Ballycastle, 
Castlemaguer,  Carricktwoghill,  or  Carntwoghill,  Eillculehine, 
Liscorrell,  or  Liscarrule,  Castleleighan,  or  Oastlehegan,  Butte* 
vant,  als  Killmallogh,  Russagh,  als  Russaugh,  Downeraile, 
Caherdowgan,  Bregoge,  Drumdoney,  Kilbrine,  Kilmaboe,  Ros- 
keyne,  Karkarre,  Croghe,  Killtanny,  Lisgowle,  Gortacrough, 
and  Killferdston,  and  Castleniaghighie  ;  and  also  the  rectories 
of  Clonfertie,  Kilcromte,  als  Killcrone  ;  and  also  the  rectory  of 
Grossmullyne,  als  Crusemullyn  (county  Mayo),  with  tithes  of 
sheaves  of  com,  of  grain,  hay,  wool,  flax,  hemp,  and  eels." 
[Patent  Rolls  of  Chancery,  as  quoted  by  Sir  Denham  Norreys, 
baronet.] 
1615.  Anthony  KiNGSMiLL  (V.  Bregoge,  q.  v.),  is  curate  of  Bothon. 
''  Buti vaunt  R.  impropriata — Johes  Jepson,  miles,  est  firmarius 
— Vicaria  vacat  et  usurpatur  per  firmariuni  Rectoriae — Eccelsia 
rep&ta,  cancella  ruinata.  Curatus  Anthonius  Eingsmill.** 
[R.V.  R.I.A.] 
1619.  March  7.  John  Btnns  is  presented  to  V.  Buttevant,  Bridge- 
town, Castletown,  and  the  Preb.  Ballyhay.     [Lib.  Mnn.] 

In  1641  he  was  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

In  1620  Sir  John  Jephson  disputes  the  right  of  Bynns  to  the 
vicarage  of  Buttevant,  to  which  he  had  been  presented  by  the 
Crown  by  lapse.     [Ferguson  MSS.  vol.  i.  p.  101.] 

E.  de  Bothon;  Prior  Bothon  Rector.  Val.  60«.  per  an. 
Joh€s  Jepson,  miles.  Impropriator.  Vic.  ibm  usurpatur  per 
rectorem.     [R.V.  1634.1 

In  1634,  August  10,  John  Bynns  obtains  a  second  patent  to 
y.  Cahirdowgan  and  Bothon,  als  Buti  vant,  with  clause  of  union 
to  Wallstown  and  Corkbeg.  [Lib  Mun.] 
1661.  E.  de  Bothon  :  Prior  Rec,  et  usurpatur  Vic.  Jephson  fir- 
marius. Nullus  Curatus.  [V.B.  D.R.J  Baliyheg  spectat  ad 
Buttevant.  [Ib.J 
1665.  Mr.  Alpobd,  Curatus.     [V.B.]     He  was  P.  Brigowne,  q.  v. 

From  1665  to  1740  the  successions  to  the  curacy  of  Bothon 
are  very  irregularly  noticed  in  the  Visitation  Books  and  Dio^ 
cesan  Records;  yet,  I  think,  during  that  period  as  well  aa 
from  1740  to  the  present  time,  it  was  always  held  with  the  V. 
Bregoge,  q.  v. 


58  BREGOGB.  [CLOnE- 


BREQOQE. 

1291.  "Capellade  Bregog  VImr.unde  decia  VIXIs."  [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  "  K  de  Bregoge  Prior  Bothon.     Vicar,  Willmus.  Biohabdi 

Pbenderoaste,  laicus,"     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  U.] 
1591.    July  31.    Bregoge   vicarage  vacant  ''per  resignationem.** 

[Ferguson's  MSS.,  voL  i.,  p.  152.] 
1615.  Sept.  1.  Akthonius  Kingsmell,  V.  Bregoige.    Inducted  6th 

Sept,  1615.     [R.V.  1634.] 

£.  do  Bregoige  spectat  ad  Ballybegg.      Valet  5  li.  per  an. 

Jobes  Jepson,  miles,  impropriator.     V.  Anthoniua  Eingamill. 

Valet  20«.  per  an.     [R.V.  1634.1 

On  15th  Sept.,  1642,  Antony  Kingsmill,  elk.,  late  of  Moyallo, 

depones  to  loss  of  £91  4«.  debts,  partly  due  from  *'  Walle,  of 

^Yale8towne,  gent,  who  was  lately  in  rebellion,  and  for  the 

same  hath  bad  his  castle  of  Walestown  demolished,  and  was 

himself  there  taken  prisoner.**     He  also  depones  to  loss  of 

ecclesiastical  means  to  amount  of  £100  during  two  years  last 

past     [MS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  15.] 

Anthony  Ringsmill,  a.b.,  was  ordained  Deacon  on  22nd  July, 

and  Priest  on  4th  Nov.,  1.'599,  by  the  Bishop  of  Peterborogh. 

He  was  of  Trinity  College,  Cambridge;  and  in  December,  1603, 

was  V.  Tongue,  in  Kent.     [Cotton.] 

In  1G15  he  was  V.  Bregoge,  and  Curate  of  Doneraile,  Butte- 

vant,  and  Cahirduggan.     From  1615  to  1633  he  was  also  R. 

Mogeesha  and  Kostellau,  which  he  then  resigned  in  favour  of 

Augustine  Kingsmill.     From  1633  to  1640  he  was  P.  Cahir- 

ultan,  and  in  1640  he  became  V.  Derryvillan. 

In   1683,   AVilliam   KingsmiU,   of  Mallow,  and   Susannah 

Meyers,  were  married ;  and  in  1687,  Thomas  Kingsmill  and 

Anne  Batten,  both  of  Mallow,  were  married.     This  family  of 

Eingsmills  seems  to  be  now  (1863)  extinct  in  the  male  line. 
1661  to  1663.  Vicaria  vacat.    £.  de  Bregoge  spectat  ad  Ballybeg. 

In  1668  Jephsou  appears  as  firmarius.     [V.B.] 

1668.  Vicariam  tenet  Mayne  per  seguestrationem.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1669.  June  2.  Samuel  Alford,  V.  Bregoge  and  Kilbrowney. 
[F.F.]     Alford  was  P.  Brigowne,  q.  v. 

1671.  May  13.  Thomas  Wilcox  (vice  Alford,  deceased),  V.  Bregoge, 
P.  Brigowne,  R.  Kilgulane,  V.  Marshalstown,  Liscarroll,  Kil- 
browney, and  Ballyloughy.     [F.F.]     Vide  Brigowne. 

1681.  Vacant  per  mort.  Wilcox.     [V\B.] 

1682.  March  19.  Matthew  Jones,  a.m.,  V.  Bregoge  and  LiscarroUy 
P.  Cooliney,  R.  Bohillane,  and  Kilmaghan.  [D.R.]  In  1687 
he  became  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 

1684.  Nov.  14.  Jonathan  Falkneb,  a.m.,  V.  Bregoge  and  Liscarroll. 

[D.R.]     In  1688  he  became  also  Treasurer  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1693.  Feb.  28.  Thomas  Ellis,  a.b.,  V.  Bregoge.    [D.R.] 


CLOYNB.]  BREQOOE.  59 

On  2n(l  May,  1693,  Ellis  is  admitted  Curate  of  Doneraile, 
Cahirduggan,  Ballebeg,  Rossdole,  Eossagh,  and  Buttivan t  [D.  R] 

1694.  May  24.  The  sequestration  of  Cahirduggan  and  Bally- 
beg  is  to  be  continued  to  Thomas  Ellis,  A.B.,  in  order  to  supply 
a  Curate,  &c.     [D.R.J 

1694.  Yicaria  de  Bregoge,  yal.  4  pounds.  Nulla  ecclesia, 
sed  cnra  animarum  una  cum  Doneraile  curat'  commissa  est. 
Jobes  Jephson  olim  impropriator,  nunc  vendit  Carolo  Newman. 
Bector  impropriator  do  Cahirdowgan  Johes  Jephson  armiger 
olim,  nunc  vendit  George  Crofts  armigero.  Nulla  ecclia.  Beet, 
imp.  de  Danueraile  (Ecclia  bene  reparata) — R.  imp.  Sonagh 
(nulla  ecclia) — p'ticula  Ballygregine  (nulla  ecclia)— Rossdoik 
et  Rossagh  spcctant'  ad  Buttcvant  (nulla  ecclia)  Johes  Jeph- 
son armiger  olim  impropriator  nunc  Ed.'  Denny  ut  fertur.  R. 
et  V.  de  Bothon  als  Templebroody  als  Butte  van  t  (ecclia  de 
Templebroody  in  ruinam  lapsa)  Ballybeg  spect.'  ad  Buttivant 
Johes  Jephson  armiger  olim  impropriator  nunc  vendit  Carolo 
Newman.     [Palliser/I 

1698.  On  a  chalice  now  (1863)  in  use  in  Buttevant  Church, 
is  this  legend  : — "  This,  with  the  cover,  was  given  to  ye  Parish 
Church  of  Buttevant  by  ye  Viscountess  Lanesborough,  wife  to 
Denny  Muschamp,  esq.,  1 698,  February."  The  chalice  and 
cover  are  silver,  gilt,  and  weigh  about  20  oz.  The  same  lady 
endowed  a  school  at  Buttevant  with  £'20  per  an.,  a  house,  and 
half  an  acre  of  laud.  But  this  bequest  ceased  in  1818,  when 
the  interest  of  her  heirs  iu  the  lands  on  which  the  annuity  was 
charged  expired. 

T.  Ellis,  on  2nd  May,  1693,  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of 
Doneraile,  <fec.,  as  above.     From  1693  to  1705  he  was  V.  Bre- 
goge, and  from  1699  to  1705,  V.  LiscarroU. 
1705.   Oct.  11.    Kerbt  Fitzmauricb,  V.  Bregoge  and  LiscarroU. 
[F.F.]     He  was  also  R.  Bruhenny,  q.  v. 

In  1712  Fitzmaurice  is  Curate,  and  Mr.  Charles  Newman  is 
Impropriator  of  Bothon  als  Buttivant.  Cahirduggan,  Ballybeg, 
Doneraile,  Rossdole,  and  Rossagh  are  vacant  m  1711,  1712, 
and  1714.  [V.B.] 
1728.  Nov.  6.  John  Murdoch,  a.m.  (vice  Fitzmaurice,  deceased), 
V.  Bregoge,  LiscarroU,  and  Kilbrowny.     [F.F.  and  D.R.] 

John  Murdock  was  son  of  Benezer  Murdoch,  esq.,  of  county 
Cork,  by  his  wife  Catherine  (dau.  of  Rev.  J.  Norcott,  V.  Clon- 
meen,  q.  v.),  and  was  grandson  of  Joseph  Murdoch,  of  Youghal, 
merchant,  who  died  in  1670,  leaving  by  his  wife  Dorcas  three 
eons,  Daniel,  John,  and  Ebenezer,  or  Benezar. 

J.  Murdoch  was  born  at  Mallow  circa  1681,  and  entered 
T.C.D.  on  20th  Feb.,  1699,  being  then  eighteen  years  old. 
1740.  Oct.  20.  Charles  Bunworth,  a.m.  {vice  Murdoch,  deceased), 
V.  Bregoge  and  Kilbrowney,  and  Perpet.  Cur.  of  Bothon  and 
Cahirduggan.     [D.R*] 


60  BREGOGE.  [CLOYNE. 

1757.  The  parish  register  begius. 
1762.  Value  of  Buttevant,  &c.,  £90.     [A.  Hayman.] 
Charles  Banworth  (second  son  of  Richard  Bunworth,  esq.,  of 
Newmarket,  county  Cork,  by  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  John  Philpot^ 
•esq.,  of  Newmarket),  was  born  circa  1704;  and  when  eighteen 
years  old,  entered  T.CLD.  as  Pensioner,  on  4th  April,  1722;  and 
was  ordained  Deacon  on  21st  December,  1730,  and  Priest  on 
15th  March,  1731,  both  at  Cloyne. 

From  1729  to  1740  he  was  R.  Knocktemple,  and  from  1736 
to  1740,  P.  Cooline.  From  1740  to  1773  he  was  V.  Bregoge. 
He  was  also,  from  1748  to  1773,  V.  TuJlilease,  and  from  1764 
to  1773,  V.  Kilbrin.  He  married,  in  January,  1742,  Mary,  dau. 
of  John  Delacour,  of  Cork,  esq. ;  and  by  her  had  issue  two 
daughters,  Elizabeth,  died  unmarried,  and  Mary,  wife  of  Croker 
Dillon,  esq. 
1773.  January  28.  Henry  Newman,  a.m.,  V.  Bregoge  and  Kil- 
browney,  and  P.  C.  Bothon  and  Cahirduggan,  vacant  per 
mortem  Caroli  Bunworth.  [D.K]  In  1799  he  was  R.  V.  Kil- 
shannig,  q.  v. 

1774.  Bregoge,  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore,  value 
£20  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Proxy,  4«. 
Taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £2  ster.  Incumb.,  Henry  Newman, 
A.B.  The  rect.  is  impropriate.  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Newman,  Im- 
propriatrix.     Proxy,  is.     THingston.] 

1774.  Kilbrony,  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore,  value 
£20  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Proxy,  Sd, 
Incumb.,  Henry  Newman,  a.b.  The  rect.  is  imp.  Westropp 
Watkins,  esq.,  Impropriator.     Proxy,  Is.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Cahirdowgan,a  perpetual  curacy,  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy, 
value  £13  6«.  8<f.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat,  the  Bishop.  Curate, 
Henry  Newman,  a.b.  The  rect.  is  impropriate.  Denham 
Jephson,  esq..  Impropriator.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Bothon,  otherwise  Buttevant,  otherwise  Kilnamul- 
Iagh,a  perpetual  curacy  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore,  value 
£13  6«.  Sd,  Church  in  repair.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Curate,  Henry 
Newman,  a.b.  The  rect.^  is  impropriate.  Mrs.  Elizabeth 
Newman,  Impropriatress.  Proxy,  I5s.  The  rect.  is  worth 
£300  per  ann.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Temple-Breedy,  an  imp.  rec.  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and 
Kilmore.  Church  in  ruins.  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Newman,  Impro- 
priatrix.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Ballybeg,  Souagh,  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore. 
An  impropriate  rect.  Church  in  ruins.  The  Impropriator, 
Denham  Jephson,  esq.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Rosdole,  als  Rosdoyke,  an  imp.  rect.,  in  bar.  of  Orrery 
and  Kilmore.  Proxy,  5^.  Denham  Jephson,  esq.,Imp.  [Hingston.] 

1774.  Rossagh,  an  imp.  rect.,  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy.  Church 
in  ruins.    Mrs.  Elizabeth  Newman,  Impropriatrix.   [Hingston.] 


CLOTNE.]  BREGOGE.  61 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Bregoge,  3  ;  of  Kilbrowney, 
6;  of  Cahirduggan,  25  ;  of  Bothon,  30.     [Newman.]     And  in 
another  part  of  these  returns,  the  Protestant  population  of 
Ballybegsonagh,  Rossdale,  Kilmanloe,  Kilbroghane,  and  Olough- 
ane  is  stated  as  184.     [Bennet  MSS.] 
1794.  Feb.    15.  John  Lombard,  V.  Bregoge,  Kilbrowney,  P.  C. 
Cahirdaggan  and  Bothon,  and  P.  Kilmaclenine.     [^F.]     In 
1800  he  became  B.  V.  Kilshaunig,  q.  v. 
1799.  May  6.  Thomas  Stanistrbbt  (vice  Lombard),  V.  Bregoge, 
&c.     [F.F.]     In  1805  he  became  R.  V.  Dingindonovan,  q.  v. 
1805.  August  21.  James  Hamilton,  Y.  Bregoge,  &c.     [[D.R.] 

1805.  There  were  twenty  Protestant  families  in  Buttevant 
nnion.     [Archb.  Brod.") 

In  1809  the  value  of  Caherduggan  was  certified  to  the  Board 
of  First  Fruits  as  £26  13^.  4d  ;  of  Buttevant,  £0  0«.  Od. ;  and 
of  Doneraile,  £13  6«.  8d, ;  of  Kilbrowney  and  Bregoge,  £65 
each.     [D.R.] 

1820.  January  26.  Bregoge,  Kilbrowney,  and  Cahirduggan 
were  united  to  Buttevant. 

1826.  Buttevant  church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

James  Hamilton  wasordaiucd  Deacon  on  1st  May,  1783,  and 
Priest  on  5th  Dec.  1784,  both  at  Cloyne. 

On  25th  Sept  1794,  he  was  licensed  to  the  Curacy  of  Bregoge 
and  Kilbrowney ;  and  from  1804  to  1805  was  V.  Castlemagner. 

He  married,  in  1783,  Miss  Catherine  Barry,  of  Ballyellis; 
and  he  was  buried  at  Buttevant  on  5th  Dec.  1828,  having 
reached  the  age  of  75. 
1829.  Feb.  5.  Thomas  Walker,  a.m.,  V.  Bregoge  and  Kilbrowney, 
'and  P.  C.  Bothon  and  Cahirduggan.     [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Bregoge,  11 ;  of  Kilbrowney, 
0;  of  Bothon,  i!09 ;  of  Cahirduggan,  61.  Total  Protestant 
population  of  union,  281. 

Thomas  Walker  married  Susannah-Hannah,  only  child  of 
Rev.  Samuel  Downing  (R  Fenagh,  Leighlin),  by  Anne,  dan. 
of  Joseph  Weld,  Archdeacon  of  Ross.  Mr.  Walker  was  buried 
at  Buttevant  on  8th  January,  1831. 
1831.  March  11.  James  Laurenoe  Cotter,  V.  Bregoge  and  Kil- 
browney, and  P.  C.  Bothon  and  Cahirduggan,  vacant  per  mor- 
tem Walker.     [D.R.] 

1837.  Buttevant  union,  9  English  miles  long  by  8  broad, 
with  cure,  consisting  of — 1.  Buttevant  perpetual  cure,  3  miles 
long  by  5  broad.  2.  Ballybeg  perpetual  cure,  1^  miles  long 
by  1  broad.  3.  Cahirduggan  perpetual  cure,  3^  miles  long  by 
4  broad.  4.  Kilbrowney  vicarage,  1^  miles  long  by  2  broad. 
5.  Bregogue  vicarage,  1  mile  long  by  1  broad.  The  union 
contains  19,736a.  1r.  32p.  Gross  population,  8,495.  No 
Curate  employed.  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of  Kil- 
browney parish,  £64  4«. ;  of  Bregogae  parish,  £75.     Stipend 


62  BREGOOE  [CLOTVB. 

pa3rab1e  by  Impropriators,  £24  I2s.  id.  Subject  to  visitation 
fees.  Us,,  diocesaa  schoolmaster,  9«.  6d,  No  glebe-house.  In- 
cumbent is  resident  in  Buttevant  parish,  and  pays  the  sum  of 
£A0  per  annum  for  house-rent.  Oae  church,  situate  in  Butte- 
vant  parish,  capable  of  accommodating  220  persons  ;  rebuilt  in 
1826  by  means  of  a  loan  of  £1,476  ISs,  5^d,  British,  granted 
by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  of  which  loan  there  remained 
£1,063  Is.  i^d.  chargeable  on  the  union  in  1832,  repayable  by 
annilal  instalments  of  £59  1$.  Id.  Divine  service  is  celebrated 
in  the  church  twice  on  Sundays  during  three-fourths,  and  once 
during  the  remainder  of  the  year;  and  on  the  principal  festi- 
rals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  monthly,  and  on  Christ- 
mas Day.  Service  is  also  celebrated  by  Incumbent,  as  Chap- 
lain, generally  once  on  Sundays  for  the  garrison,  when  numer- 
ous, which  has  generally  been  the  case  since  the  admission  of 
the  present  Incumbent.  The  tithes  of  Buttevant,  Ballybeg, 
and  Cahirduggan  parishes,  forming  part  of  this  union,  are 
wholly  impropriate  ;  those  of  the  two  former,  compounded  for 

£962  10?.  belong  to Oliver,  esq.,  the  Impropriator,  and 

are  leased  to  Mr.  Robert  Weldon ;  and  those  of  Cahirduggan, 
compounded  for  £340  11«.,  belong  to  C.  D.  0.  Jephson,  esq., 
Impropriator.  A  stipend  of  £24  per  annum  is  allowed  by  the 
Impropriators  for  the  service  of  the  cure  in  these  parishes.  The 
rectorial  tithes  of  the  remaining  members  of  the  union,  viz., 
Kilbrowney  and  Bregogue  parishes,  the  former,  consisting  of 
two-thirds,  compounded  for  £128  8s.;  and  the  latter  of  one- 
half,  compounded  for  £75,  are  also  impropriate,  and  belong — 
those  of  kilbrowney  to  Edmond  G.  Barry,  esq.,  and  those  of 

Bregogue  to  Oliver,  esq.     The  vicarial  tithes  of  these 

parishes  belong  to  Incumbent,  the  amount  of  which,  respec- 
tively, has  been  already  stated.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

J.  L.  Cotter  was  ordained  Deacon  on  24th  August,  1806,  and 
Priest  on  8th  October,  1809,  both  at  Cloyne. 

On  18th  August,  1818,  he  was  licensed  to  the  Curacy  of 
Igtermurragh.  From  1828  to  1831  he  was  V.  Marshalstown. 
From  1831  to  1850  he  was  V.  Bregoge,  <fec.  He  had  been 
Curate  of  Youghal  from  1819  to  1831. 

He  married,  firstly,  in  1807,  Matilda  Sampeyo,  of  Cork  ;  and 
he  married,  secondly,  Harriet-Louisa,  dau.  of  Rev.  E.  M.  Carle- 
ton,  R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg. 

The  Rev.  J.  L.  Cotter,  ll.p.,  was  buried  at  Buttevant,  aged 
68,  on  26th  Sept.  1850. 
1850.  Oct  4.  John  Lovbll  Robinson,  a.m.,  V.  Bregoge,  Kilbrow- 
ney, P.  C.  Bothon,  and  Cahirduggan.     [D.R.]     In  1861  he 
became  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1860.  The  church  in  good  order.  No  glebe  or  glebe-house. 
Divine  service  twice  on  Sundays  during  summer  in  the  church 
and  once  in  winter,  and  on  usual  holidays.    In  winter  evening 


CXOTKB.]  BREOOOE. — BRETWAY.  68 

eemce  is  held  on  Sundays  in  the  school-house.  Saeraraent 
monthly,  and  on  three  chief  feasts ;  ayerage  of  communicants, 
29.  12  children  attend  a  school  supported  by  local  aid.  The 
Protestant  population  is  158.  The  rentcharge  of  Bregoge  is 
£56  58. ;  of  Rilbrowney,  £48  3«. ;  and  the  stipend  paid  by  the 
Impropriators  is  £24  I2s.  id.  Total  value  of  union,  £129 
Os,  4<f.  per  annum,  without  residence.  The  Incumbent  of  But- 
te vant  is  also  chaplain  to  the  garrison,  and  receives  an  annual 
sum  for  his  services  to  the  soldiers. 
1861.  May  25.  John  Pickerinq  Phair,  a.b.,  V.  Bregoge  and  Kil- 
browney,  and  P.  C.  Bothon  and  Gahirdoggan.     [I).R.] 

J.  P.  Phair,  born  1822,  graduated  a.b.  T.C.D.  in  1845,  hav- 
ing obtained  classical  honors  in  that  university.  He  was  or- 
dained Deacon  on  5th  April,  and  Priest  on  6th  Dec.  1846,  at 
Eillaloe.  He  was  successively  Curate  of  Glondrohid,  Taxax, 
and  St.  Mary,  Shandon.  From  1850  to  1861  he  was  P.  C. 
Tracton. 

He  married,  in  1850,  Miss  Eliza  Smith,  of  Castlelyons,  and 
has  issue. 


BRETWAY. 

1291.  Perhaps  Bretway  is  mentioned  as  "Bregwacir   under  the 

Prebend  of  Coole,  q.  v. 
1591.  "  E.  de  Bretway,  David  Tiery  incumbcns."     He  is  also  V. 

Kilcurfin,  and  P.  Lackeen.     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  Thomas  Westmore  is  Rector.     "Bretway,   residens,   Rect. 

integ.   Thomas  Westmore  incumbens,  et  inserviens  cur».     Val. 

3  li.     Ecclia  et  cancella  in  ruina.**     [R.V.  R.I.A.]     Westmore 

is  also  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Cloyne,  and  Curate  of  Corkbegg,  Kil- 

coan,  Kilmahou,  and  Castlemartyr.     He  was,  in  1639,  Curate 

of  Ballydelohar,  in  Cork. 
1615.  November  18.  Robert  Potter,  R.  dc  Bretway.    [P.P.]     He 

is  also  a  Vic.  Chor.  of  Lismore,  and  V.  Knockmonme. 
1633.  Dec.  11.  Lewis  Trix,  or  Trickes,  R.  de  Bretway  and  Tites- 

kin,  and  V.  Templebodan  (united  by  Bishop).     [R.V.  1634.] 
E.  de  Bretway  Lewis  Trix.     Valor  10  li.  per  an.     Epus  con- 

fert     [R.V.  1634.]     Trix,  in  1637,  became  V.  Corkbeg,  q.  v. 
1638.  Feb.  8.  Edward  Byam  was  admitted  R.  de  Bretway.     [P.P.] 

In  1627  he  was  Precentor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
16 —  ]  Edward  Eyres,  R.  de  Bretway. 

He  appears  1661  to  1665.     [V.B.]     He  was  also  V.  Enock- 

mourne,  q.  v. 
1666.  July  29.  Robert  Browne  (V.  Castlelyons,  q.  v.),  is  admitted 

R.  Bretway.     [P.P.]     He  was  instituted  on  29th  June,  1666, 

per  mortem  Edwardi  Eyres.     [V.B.  1669.] 


64  BRETWAT. BRIDOETOWX,  [CLOYNE. 

1677.  Sept  26.  Henrt  Habbibon  (vi(x  Brown),  was  admitted  R  de 
Bretway,  &c,  and  V.  Castlelyons,  a.  v. 

1694.  Bretway,  valor  £10.     Nulla  eccleeia.     [Palliser.] 

From  1747  to  the  present  time,  the  R.  Bretway  has  been 
held  with  the  Y.  Ahem,  q.  v. 


BRIDGETOWN. 


1591. ''E.  Yille  Pontis.     Prior  Pontis — particula  de  Legane  locus 

vastus."    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  Geobgb  Bbadfobd  is  Curate  of  Bridgetown.     <<  Rect.  imp. 

Dominus  Roch  et  Daniel  O'Brien,  miles,  sunt  firmarii.     Vicaria 

vacat  et  usurpatur.     Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur.     Ouratus 

George  Bradford."     \B..Y.  R.LA.] 
Biudford  was  also  r.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 

1619.  March  7.  John  Bynnb  is  presented  to  P.  Ballyhaly,  als  Bally- 
hay,  and  v.  Castletown,  Bridgetown,  and  Buttevant  [Lib. 
Mnn.] 

1634.  E.  Ville  Pontis  Dnus.  Roche,  Rector.  Valet  25  li.  per 
annum.     Yicaria  vacat  per  lapsum  temporis  et  Dno.  nro.  Regi 
devoluta.     Yal.  25  li.  per  an.     Epus  confert.     [RY.  1634.] 
Bynns  was  afterwards  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1661  to  1835.  Bridgetown  vicarage  was  held  with  Castletown,  q.  v. 

1835.  April  2.  John  Maoinn,  R.  and  Y.  Bridgetown.  [D.R.]  He 
became,  in  1836,  R.  Castletown,  q.  v. 

1836.  January  21.  Michael  Henby  Becher  (vice  Maginn),  pro- 
moted to  Castletown,  R.  and  Y.  Bridgetown.  [D.R.J  Beecher 
was  also  P.  Cooline,  q.  v. 

1837.  Bridgetown  :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  4  Eng. 
miles  long  by  2  broad,  containing  3,015a.  Gross  population, 
970.  The  occasional  duties  of  this  benefice  are  discharged  by 
the  Incumbent  of  an  adjoining  parish,  at  a  stipend  of  £4  per 
annum.  Tithe  composition,  £185 ;  subject  to  visitation  fees, 
58,  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident;  he  resides 
in  the  parish  of  Kilshannig,  six  miles  from  this  benefice.  No 
church.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1847.  Feb.  16.  John  Smith  (vice  Becher,  resigned),  R.  and  Y. 
Bridgetown.     [F.F.] 

John  Smith,  only  son  of  John  Smith,  esq.,  of  Cork,  was 
ordained  Deacon  on  18th  March,  1820,  and  Priest  on  18th 
Oct.  1821,  both  at  Cloyne. 

On  27th  April,  1825,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Agha- 
buUoge. 


CLOTNB.]  BRIDGETOWN. — BRIGOWNE.  65 

He  married,  in  1831,  Martba,  eldest  daughter  of  Adam 
Tyrrell,  esq.,  of  Grange  Castle,  county  Kildare,  and  by  ber  had 
issue. 

Rev.  J.  Smith  died  suddenly  on  2nd  June,  1858. 
1858.  Oct.  7.  Samuel  Barker  Green  Youno,  a.b.,  R.  V.  Bridge- 
town,  als  De  Villa  Pontis.  In  1860  he  resigned,  and  took  a 
second  collation  on  17tli  September,  1860,  to  E.  V.  Bridge* 
town  and  Kilcummer,  now  episcopally  united  under  sanction 
of  the  Lord  Lieutenant  and  Privy  Council.     [D.K.] 

I860.  No  church.  No  glebe.  No  glebe-house.  Divine 
service  is  performed  once  on  Sundays  and  on  usual  holidays  in 
a  licensed  place  of  worship.  Sacrament  eight  times  a  year ; 
average  of  communicants,  6.  No  children.  No  school.  Pro- 
testant population,  14.  Bentcharge,  £138  15«.  per  annum. 
Mr.  Young  is  now  (1 863),  also  R.  Kilcummer ;  val.  £99  15^. 
Total  income,  £238  lOs. 

S.  B.  G.  Young  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cork  on  19th  Sept 
1841.  He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Eillaspugmullane  on 
24th  April,  1843. 


BRIGOWNE. 

1291.  ''Fbend  Magri  Jobis  Cantok  porco  Ecca  de  Brigowe  ad 
Illlmr.  undo  decima  Vs.  Illld."     [Tax.  P.  Nic.] 

1340.  15.  Edw.  III.  Edmund  fir  David  de  St.  Michael  sued  John, 
Bp.  of  Cloyne,  for  tho  advowson  of  the  church  of  Brigowne, 
county  Cork.     [Placita  Com.  Banci  Hib.] 

1584.  June  2.  John  Condan  is  admitted  Vicar  of  Brigowne.  *'  Epus 
contulit  vicariam  ecclesise  parochialis  de  Brigowne  Clonen. 
dioc.  Joanni  Willmi  Condan,  Schulari,  2^  Junii,  1584,  qui 
inductus  est  virtute  mandati  in  p5em  per  Philippum  Goldeum, 
Archidiaconum  Clonen.  8^  die  Junii,  proximo  sequentis.*' 
[First  Book  of  Cork  Registry.] 

1591.  The  Prebendary  of  Brigowne,  "  Wilhelmus  Thom-b  Connor, 
laicus,  propter  defectum  Sacr.  ordinum  et  contumaciam  depri- 
vatus.  Vicar,  Maurioius  Wilhblmi,  laicus,  propter  defectum 
Sacrorum  ordinum  et  manifestam  contumaciam  deprivatus.** 
[MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  R.  and  V.  Brigowne,  Richard  Fox.  Valent  10  li.  per  an. 
Ecclesia  et  cancella  repantur  cum  libris.  [R.V.  R.LA.J  Fox 
was  also  V.  Marshabtown,  and  R.  Litter. 

1626.  Feb.  12.  Eoinius  Baden,  a.T.B.,  P.  Brigowne.  [F.F.]  In 
1627  he  became  Dean  of  Ardfert,  and  R.  Tralee,  and  in  1630 
was  also  V.  Dysert  and  Lystowen,  Ardfert  dioc. 

1628.  April  11.  Robert  Naylor,  Preb.,  sen  potius  Rector,  de 
Brigowne.     [F.F.]     He  was  installed  on  12th  April. 

TOL.  XL  V 


66  BRIGOWVB.  [CLOTKX. 

1C34.  P.  Brigowne,  Robertas  Nejler.  Vai.  60  li.  per  an. 
[R.V.  1634.] 

In  the  rebellion  of  1641  he  was  plundered  of  property  to  the 
amount  of  £1,797,  besides  his  church  preferments,  worth, 
eammunibus  annis,  £500.  [MS.  T.G.D.  F.  2.  13.]  He  died  ia 
1661.  A  high  testimony  is  borne  to  his  exemplary  character, 
by  the  fact,  that  in  1662  the  Convocation  subscribed  liberally 
for  the  support  of  his  destitute  widow  and  children.  [MS. 
Lambeth.  684.] 

Robert  Naylor,  a.m.  (son  of  Robert  Naylor,  esq.,  of  Canter- 
bury, county  Kent,  and  brother  of  Joan  Naylor,  mother  of 
Richard,  the  first  Earl  of  Cork),  was  ordained  Beacon  on  25th 
Sept.,  1625,  and  Priest  on  18th  Dec.,  1625,  both  by  John  Boyle, 
Bp.  of  Cork,  Cloyne,  and  Ross. 

In  1628  he  became  P.  Brigowne ;  in  1629,  Dean  of  Lismore, 
P.  Dysert  and  Kilmoleran,  Lismore;  and  in  1639,  Dean  of 
Limerick.     He  was,  in  1640,  a  member  of  Con  vocation. 

He  married,  in  May,  1630,  Anne  Maunsell,  and  had  issue 
inter  alios  a  dauglitcr,  Margaret,  who  married  on  21st  March, 
1659,  John  Drew,  esq.,  of  Kilwinny,  county  Waterford,  and  of 
Menus,  county  Kerry,  ancestor  of  the  county  Waterford  and 
Toughal  lines  of  that  family. 
1661  and  1662.  Mr.  Devereux  Spratt  appears  as  P.  Brigowne, 
R.  Kilgulane,  and  V.  Marshalstown.  [V.B.]  In  1661,  Mr.  D. 
Spratt,  P.  Brigowne,  is  admonished  to  exhibit  his  lettera  of 
orders  within  five  months.  [lb.]  ''  E.  Vilisa  Marshalli :  Rectoria 
spectat  ad  St.  Katherine  Waterford.  Yicarius,  Mr.  Spratt,  per 
titulos."     [lb.] 

Devereux  Spratt,  born  1st  May,  1620,  was  the  son  of  the 
Rev.  Thomas  Spratt,  of  Stratton,  on  the  Yosse,  county  Somerset, 
by  his  wife,  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Rev.  Robert  Cooke,  Minister  of 
the  Island  of ?  Kerry. 

Devereux  was  the  first  of  his  family  who  came  to  Ireland. 
He  held  the  parishes  of  Membury  and  W^ithecombe,  Exon,  in 
Devonshire.  In  1640  he  came  to  Ireland,  and  was,  from  1641 
.  to  1664,  Chancellor  of  Ardfert;  and  from  1661  to  1663,  P. 
Brigowne.  He  was  also  Rector  of  Tipperary  and  Galbally, 
and  from  i  676  to  1685  was  P.  Lattin,  Emly.  He  was  also  R. 
Kilgobbin,  and  V.  Stradbally,  Ardfert,  and  Aghadoe.  In  the 
rebellion  of  1641  he  lost  property  to  the  amount  of  X237,  and 
the  income  of  his  church  livings,  worth  £100  per  an.  Vide  the 
MSS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  21. 

He  died  in  1685. 

He  married,  in  1660,  Palgrave  Cubitt,  of  Tipperary;  and  had 
issue  by  her  (besides  a  daughter,  Margaret,  wife  of  John  Love, 
esq.,  of  Castlesaffron,  county  Cork)  several  sons,  all  of  whom 
died  childless,  except  Devereux,  who  was  born  at  the  &mily 
residence,  Torbay,  near  Mitchelstown,  on  30th  May,  1670,  and 


eLOimB.]  BRIOOWKE.  6T 

Urbo  miirri^  in  1698,  Martha  Bond,  of  Glanore,  and  had  bj  her 
inter  alios  two  sons,  William,  V.  Oastlelyons,  q.  v.,  and  Harnier. 

Harmer  Spratt  was  of  Lisnagourneen,  near  Kildorrery,  and 
married,  in  1742,  Catherine  Nash  of  Farrihy,  and  had  issue 
two  sons,  James  and  Harmer,  and  a  daughter,  Margaret.  Of 
these,  Harmer,  the  second  son,  alone  married.  He  was  of 
Ballybeg,  and  married,  in  1778,  Martha  or  Mary  Foot,  of 
Springfort,  Buttevant.  By  her  he  had  two  sons,  Harmer 
(died  unm,),  and  Thomas-Edward ;  and  two  daughters,  who 
died  unm.  The  second  son,  Thomas -Edward,  hy  his  wife 
Barbara,  dan.  of  Lieut.-CoL  Foott,  of  Milfort,  had  issue  (besides 
a  second  son,  Richard,  who  married  his  cousin,  Eliza-Louisa, 
dau.  of  Hennr  Baldwin  Foott,  esq.^  of  Carrigacunna  Castle)  an 
eldest  son,  Harmer  Deverbux  Spratt,  esq.^  now  of  Pencil  Hill, 
near  Mallow,  who  married  Eliza-Louisa,  dau.  of  the  late  Edward 
Townsend  Warren,  esq.,  by  Penelope,  dau.  of  the  late  Rev. 
B.  M.  Carleton,  R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg,  q.  v. 

The  estates  of  Ballinaburna  and  Ballinrush,  in  the  county  of 
Wexford,  and  Torbehy,  or  Torbay,  and  Ballybeg,  near  Mitchels- 
town,  were  possessed  by  royal  patent  by  Devereux  Spratt  in 
1641,  and  were  alienated  or  lost  by  his  descendants. 
1663.  July  24.  Brigowne  is  vacant.  fC.B.] 
•1663.  Sept.  23.  Samuel  Alforo,  P.  Brigowne  als  Mitchelstown,  R. 
Kilgulane  and  V.  Marshalstown,  per  resignacou.  Devoreux 
Spratt,  in  coll.  Epi.  [V.B.  1669.]  On  2nd  June,  1664,  Samuel 
Allyford  attended  a  Chapter  meeting  at  Cloyne.     [C.B.] 

1669.  Ulick  Bourke  est  curatus  de  Mitchelstown.  [V.B. 
1669.] 

S.  Alford  graduated  a.b.,  T.C.D.,  in  1663,  and  a.m.  in  1667. 
In  1663  he  became  P.  Brigowne,  &c. ;  in  1667,  V.  Ballyloughy 
and  LiscarroU,  aud  Curate  of  Doneraile,  Cahirduggan,  j&llebeg, 
Rossdouke,  and  Ros3agh ;  in  1669,  V.  Bregoge  and  Eilbrowiiey. 
All  these  livings  and  curacies  he  held  until  his  death,  which 
took  place  early  in  the  year  1670. 

Mr.  Alford's  will,  made  probably  shortly  before  his  death, 
was  lost  by  his  executor;  but  a  draft  of  it  was  attested  on  6th 
June,  1670,  and  proved  17th  June,  same  year.  By  this  will 
Alford  seems  to  have  had  no  issue,  if  he  had  ever  married ;  for 
he  leaves  legacies  to  servants,  and  the  remainder  of  his  bills, 
books,  and  miscellaneous  effects  to  all  his  brothers  and  sisters 
in  England  who  may  prove  their  claims,  in  equal  portions. 
This  will  is  the  earliest  of  those  made  by  clergymen  which 
remain  in  Cork  registry.  [D.R.]  He  was  probably  a  member 
of  the  Alford  family  in  Somersetshire.  I  find  a  Lancelot  Alford 
was  appointed  Clerk  of  the  Hanaper  in  Ireland,  on  5th  Nov., 
1560,  and  Surveyor-General,  in  1572.     He  died  in  1591. 

1671.  May  13.  Thomas  Wilcox  (vice  Alford,  deceased),  P.  Brigowne, 
R.  Kilgulane,  and  V.  Marshalstown,  Liaoarroll,  Bregoge,  Eil- 
voL.  II.  r  2 


68  BRIGOWNB.  [CLOTVB. 

browney,  and  Ball  jlongbie.    [F.F.]   He  took  the  chapter  oath 
as  P.  Brigowne  on  30th  May,  1672.     [CB.] 

T.  Wilcox  waa  from  1669  to  1671  P.  Inniscana  and  P. 
Liscleryy  Cork.  From  1671  to  his  death  in  1681  he  was  P. 
Brigowne,  <bc.  He  left  Walter  Wilcox  his  executor;  and  I  think 
that  he  was  the  eldest  son  of  Nicholas  Wilcox,  of  Dublin,  who, 
by  his  wife,  Joyce,  whose  will  was  dated  in  1664,  had  two  sons, 
lliomas  and  Walter,  and  a  daughter,  Sarah.  There  was  another 
Thomas,  eldest  son  of  Thomas  Wilcox,  of  Dublin,  who  in  1660 
entered  T.C.D.  at  the  age  of  twelve. 
1681.  January  23.  Fbancis  Quails,  a.m.  {vice  Wilcox,  deceased), 
P.  Brigowne,  R.  Kilgulane,  V.  MarshaLstown,  Eilbrowney,  and 
Ballydeloughie.  [F.F.]  He  took  the  chapter  oath  13ih  Not., 
1682,  and  audited  the  chapter  accounts  in  1695  and  in  1700« 
[C.B.]  In  1703  he  was  "Proctor  Cleri,  Clonen,"  in  Convo- 
cation, and  in  1704  became  also  Archdeacon  of  Ross,  q.  y. 

1682.  The  Church  of  Mitchelstown  is  presented  to  be  repaired. 
[County  Cork  Qrand  Jury  Presentments.] 

1694.  P.  Brigowne :  val.  40  pounds.  £pns  patronua  Dr. 
Frank  Quaill,  Incumbent.  Ecclia  de  Brigowne  bene  reparata. 
Church  of  Brigown,  or  Mitchelstown,  much  abused,  damnified 
by  the  Irish  in  the  late  war,  but  now  in  pretty  good  repair* 

R  integra  de  Kilgullane,  val.  25  pounds.  Epus  patronna. 
Nulla  ecclia.  Vic.  Marshalstown,  val.  18  pounds.  JBpns  pa* 
tronus.  Nulla  ecclia.  Earl  of  Cork,  Impropriator.  V.  Bally* 
logliy,  val.  5  pounds.  Epus  patronus.  Nulla  Ecclia.  Earl  of 
Cork,  Impropriator.  All  Dr.  QuailFs  livings,  except  Kll- 
browny,  are  contiguous,  and  united  pro  hac  vice.  [Palliser,] 
In  another  part  Mr.  Carol'  Delaune  is  said  to  be  Impropriator 
of  Ballydelogby. 
1716.  In  this  year  Georoe  Strode  (vice  Quaile,  deceased),  was  ad- 
mitted to  the  P.  Brigowne,  R.  Kilgulane,  V.  Marshalstown  and 
Ballydeloughy.  The  date  of  his  admission  is  not  now  in  the 
registry,  but  he  appears  from  the  chapter  books  to  have  taken 
the  usual  oath  as  P.  Brigowne  on  15th  Nov.  1716.  He  was 
again  collated  to  these  benefices  on  30th  June,  1721,  when  he 
received,  in  addition,  the  vicarages  of  Litter,  Derryvillane,  and 
Killathie.  [D.R.]  In  1721/2,  March  14,  Strode  became  P. 
Glan worth,  q.  v. 
1721/2.  March  21.  Thomas  Rydeb,  a.m.  (vice  Strode,  resigned),  P. 
Brigowne,  and  R.  V.  Dingindonovan.  [D.R.]  He  took  the 
chapter  oath  on  17th  May,  1722,  was  elected  (Economus  13th 
Nov.  1724 ;  and  on  16th  Oct.  1746,  he  was  fined  20«.  for  non- 
attendance  at  chapter  meetings.     [C.B.] 

Thomas  Ryder  (bom  at  Wyanstown,  county  Dublin,  circa 
1683),  was  son  of  Thomas  Ryder,  esq.,  by  Mary  Gyles;  and 
was  nephew  of  Henry  Ryder,  Treasurer  of  Cork,  q.  v.,  and 
Bishop  of  Killaloe. 


CLOTITB.]  BRIGOWXK.  69 

He  entered  T.C.B.  wben  seventeen  years  old,  on  18th  April, 
1700,  aad  graduated  afterwards  a.m. 

In  1712  and  1714  he  was  Corate  of  Youglial.  From  1713 
to  1747  he  was  R.  V.  Bally voumey.  He  was  also  from  1716 
to  1720,  P.  Killenemer;  from  1719  to  1721,  P.  Ballyhooly ; 
and  from  1721  to  his  death  in  1747,  P.  Brigowne,  &c. 

He  was  also  V.  Kilfinane  and  Darragh,  in  Limerick  diocese, 
which  he  resigned  in  1 743  to  his  son-in-law,  Rev.  James  Graves. 

He  married  Martha,  dao.  of  Bretridge  Badham,  esq.,  of  Rock- 
field,  M.p.  for  Rathcormack;  and  by  her  had  issue  four  sons  and 
three  daughters,  for  whom  vide  Burke's  L.  G.  He  died  on  2nd 
June,  1747. 
1747.  June  6.  Charles  Pkrceval,  a.m.  (vice  Ryder,  deceased),  P. 
Brigowne.  [F.P.]  On  18th  June,  1747,  he  took  the  chapter 
oath.  [C.B.J  He  became,  in  1759,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  q.  v. 
1751.  April  28.  William  Nash  (vice  Perceval,  resigned),  P.  Brig- 
owne. [F.F.]  On  20th  June,  1751,  he  took  the  oath  in 
Chapter.     [C.B.] 

1762.  Yearly  value  of  Mitchelstown,  £200.     [A.  Hayman.] 

William  Nash  was  eon  of  Captain  Llewellyn  Nash,  of  Far- 
rihy  (whose  father  was  of  Ballyteigue,  county  Limerick,  and 
who  was  descended  of  the  family  of  Nash,  of  Almond  Hall, 
Gloucester),  by  Margaret,  dau.  of  Bate  French,  esq.,  of  Cork. 

He  was  born  in  county  Cork,  circa  1712,  and  when  seven- 
teen years  old  entered  T.C.B.  on  13th  Nov.  1729,  and  gradu- 
ated subsequently  a.m. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  1st  Nov.  and  Priest  on  21  at 
Dec.  1740,  at  Cloyne;  and  on  3rd  Nov.  1740,  was  licensed  to 
the  curacy  of  Castletown. 

In  1751  he  became  P.  Brigowne,  and  in  1768,  R.  V.  Kildor- 
rery  and  Nathlash,  all  which  livings  he  held  until  his  death  at 
Farrihy,  in  September,  1769. 

He  married  Judith,  dau.  of  Dr.  Bonbonas,  of  Cork,  and  had 
issue  three  sons — Llewellin,  William,  and  Andrew,  and  a  dau. 
Mary.  William,  the  last-named,  married  in  1788  Amelia 
Spread,  of  Castlelyons ;  and  by  her  had  issue.  Rev.  W.  R. 
Nash,  V.  Kilbonane,  Cork ;  Llewellin,  a  barrister ;  Major 
Charles  Nash,  and  the  Rev.  Robert  Spread  Nash. 

1769.  Dec.  20.  Henrt  Agar,  a.b.  (vice  Nash,  deceased),  P.  Brig- 
owne.    [F.F.]     In  1770  he  became  P.  Inniscarra,  a.  v. 

1770.  June  14.  Francis  Atterbitrt  (vice  Agar,  resigned),  P.  Brig- 
owne. [F.F.]  In  December,  1770,  he  became  Precentor  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1771.  April  19.  Jambs  Hinoston,  a.m.  (vice  Atterbury,  resigned), 
P.  Brigowne.  [F.F.]  He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  20th 
June,  1771.  [C.B.]  In  1772  he  became  P.  Donoghmore, 
q.  V. 

1773.  Feb.  16.  Thomas  Bushb,  a.b.  (trtc«  Hingston,  resigned),  P. 


70  BBIQOWNEi  [OLOTNS, 

Brigowne.     [F.F.]    On  8th  July,  1773,  he  took  the  chapter 
•   oath.     [C.B.] 

1774.  Brigown,  in  the  barony  of  Condon  and  Clangibbon. 
Church  in  ruins,  but  a  chapel  of  ease  in  repair  at  Mitcbelstown  ; 
value,  £300  per  an.  Patron,  the  Bp.  Glebe,  9a.  Oe.  30p.  plant. 
Proxy,  12«.  The  rect.  taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £6,  and  the 
vie.  £6  ster.     Incumb.  Thomas  Bushe,  a.b.     [Hin^stonJ 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  was  140,     [Barry. J 

Thomas  Bushe  (son  of  Arthur  Bushe,  esq.,  of  Kilmurry, 
county  Kilkenny,  by  Mary,  dau.  of  Rev.  Thomas  Martin,  of 
Kilkenny),  was  born  in  county  Kilkenny ;  and  when  sixteen 
years  old  entered  T.CD.  on  28th  Jane,  1743,  as  a  Fellow 
'Commoner,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1746. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  19th  Feb.  1748,  by  the  Bishop 
.    of  Ossory, 

On  19th  June,  1761,  he  became  R.  V.  Gowrau,  Ossory, 
From  1773  to  his  death  in  Sept  1795,  he  was  P,  Brigowne,  and 
Chaplain  of  Mitcbelstown  College. 

He  married  Catherine,  dau.  of  Charles  Doyle,  esq.,  of 
Bramblestown,  county  Kilkenny,  and  sister  of  General  Sir 
John  Doyle,  baronet;  and  by  her  had  issue — 1,  Charles-Ken- 
dal ^born  at  Kilmurry  on  13th  January,  1767),  Lord  Chief 
Justice,  K.  B.  2.  Rev.  Thomas.  3.  Elisabeth,  wife  of  Rev. 
William  Gorman.  4.  Mary-Martin,  wife  of  William  Warren, 
esq.,  the  second  son  of  Sir  Robert  Warren,  hart.  6.  Catlierine. 
7.  Harriet. 

Rev.  T.  Bushe  was  buried  at  MitcheLstown  in  September, 
1795. 
1796.  Feb.  9.  Henby  Sandifobd,  a.m.,  P.  Brigowne.     [F.F,]     He 
was  also  Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1801.  Order  of  Council  to  change  the  site  of  the  parish 
church  of  Brigowne,  als  Mitcbelstown.     [Lib.  Mun.] 
180L  July  27.  Robbbt  Austen,  a.m.  (vice  Sandiford,  resigned),  P. 
Brigowne.  [D.R.]  In  1810  he  became  Treasurer  of  Cloy  ne,  q.  v. 

1805.  Brigowne  church  was  consecrated. 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families,  71,  exclusive  of  the 
•college.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

1807.  Dr.  Austen  resides  at  Brigowne.     [Rep.] 

In  1807,  on  building  the  glebe-house  at  Brigowne,  the  base 
of  the  round  tower  there  was  dug  up  to  furnish  squared  stones 
for  that  work.  It  stood  south-west  of  the  old  church,  and  had 
long  been  reduced  to  a  level  with  the  ground.  On  digging  some 
feet  below  the  surface,  it  appeared  evidently  to  rest  on  a  square 
foundation,  in  one  of  the  angles  of  which  was  built  up  the  frag- 
ment of  a  large  stone  (carelessly,  however,  and  as  a  thing  of  no 
value),  on  which  the  letters  H,  U,  and  0  could.be  distinguished. 
A  letter  shaped  like  P  was  repeated  more  than  once,  as  also  C 
or  G.     Three  rowd  of  these  letters  were  visible.  {Benuet  MSS.] 


CU>TVB.]  BRiaOWKE.  71 

1809.  April  22.  Bobbbt  Disitbt  (vice  Austen,  resigned),  P.  Brig- 
owne.     [B.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  390. 

Robert  Disney,  descended  from  tbe  Norton -Disney  branch 
of  the  ancient  &mily  of  Disket,  or  D'Isignt,  who  came  over 
to  England  with  William  tbe  Conqueror,  was  fourth  son  of  Rev. 
Brabazon  Disney,  d.d.,  s.f.t.c.d.,  by  Patience,  dau.  of  W. 
Meade  Ogle,  m.p.  for  Drogheda. 

He  had  been  Minister  of  Glasnevin  before  he  took  the  living 
of  Brigowne,  and  was  presented  with  a  silver  salver  by  the 
parishioners  of  Glasnevin  in  token  of  their  regard.  He  left 
issue,  by  his  wife,  Jane  Brabazon,  five  sons — Harry,  V.  Mar- 
shalstown,  q.  v. ;  Lambert,  William-Thomas,  Edward-George, 
and  James-W.-K. ;  and  two  daughters,  Jane  and  Caroline. 

He  died  on  8th  July,  1832,  and  was  buried  at  Mitchels- 
town,  where  a  tablet  to  his  memory  has  been  erected  in  the 
parish  church. 
1832.  July  30.  Richard  Hastings  Graves,  P.  Brigowne.     [D.R.] 

1837.  Brigown  :  a  rectory,  with  cure,  4^  miles  long  by  4 J 
broad,  containing  23,491a.  Or.  17|p.  Gross  population,  9,1G9. 
One  Curate  employc<l,  at  an  annual  stipend  of  £100  British. 
Titho  composition,  £1,000  ;  33a.  3r.  IO^p.  of  glebe  in  Incum- 
bent's use,  valued  at  £^0  ISs.  Gd. ;  subject  to  glebe  rent, 
£51  19«.  Gel.;  visitation  fees,  £1  ds.  Id.;  diocesan  school- 
master, £1  lOs.  Brigown  glebe-liouso  built  in  1807,  under 
the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £2,278  12^.  3|rf.  British,  whereof 
£923  1^.  6^</.  was  granted  in  way  of  loan,  and  £92  6s.  1|</. 
in  that  of  gift,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  and  the  resi- 
due of  £1,2G3  is.  7^.  was  supplied  out  of  the  private  funds 
of  the  builder,  to  whom  the  present  Incumbent  fs  second  in 
succession ;  and  having  paid  his  predecessor  £947  8s.  5^d.  on 
account  of  the  sum  last-named,  he  will  be  entitled  to  receive 
£6SI  I2s.  3|d  from  his  successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there 
remained  £101  8s.  6d.  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  re- 
payable by  annual  instalments  of  £5  I8s.  2d.  Incumbent  is 
resident  in  the  glebe-house.  One  church,  situate  in  Mitchels- 
town,  capable  of  accommodating  450  persons,  built  in  1800, 
at  the  private  expense  of  the  late  Countess  of  Kingston,  the 
amount  of  which  is  not  known  ;  and  enlarged  in  1830,  at  the 
cost  of  £1,800  British,  whereof  £500  was  a  donation  from  the 
present  Earl  of  Kingston,  and  the  residue  of  £1,300  was 
granted  in  way  of  loan  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  of 
which  loan  there  remained  £1,250  chargeable  on  the  parish 
in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £52,  Divine 
service  is  celebrated  twice  on  Sundays  in  summer ;  and  once  in 
winter,  and  on  the  principal  festivals,  and  on  Fridays  in  Lent 
The  sacrament  is  administered  twelve  times  in  the  year.  The 
benefice  is  a  rectory.    [IWL  Rep.] 


72  BRIOOWME. — BBUHSNMT.  [CLOTXB. 

1860.  Dr.  Graves,  Incumbent ;  Bey.  John  Scott^  Carate. 
The  cliuroh  and  glebe-lioose  in  good  order.  12  acres  of  glebe 
are  rented,  and  eight  are  in  fee ;  all  are  in  Incnmbent*8  nse. 
Divine  service  twice  in  the  chnrch  in  summer  and  once  in 
winter,  and  on  usual  holidays.  Service  is  also  held  in  the 
chapel  of  the  college  of  Mitchelstown.  Sacrament  monthly ; 
average  of  communicants,  21  ;  and  at  festivals,  average  58. 
16  children  attend  a  school,  chiefly  maintained  by  Dr.  Graves. 
The  Protestant  population  is  150,  exclusive  of  the  ooUege  of 
Mitchelstown.  The  rentcharge  is  £750.  The  land  is  held  at 
an  exorbitant  rent,  and  is,  therefore,  of  no  profit.  The  total 
value  is  £750,  aud  residence.  * 

Richard  U.  Graves  (eldest  son  of  Richard  Graves,  Dean  of 
Ardagh,  and  nephew  to  Thomas  Graves,  Dean  of  Ardfert,  and 
R.  Rincurran,  Cork,  q.  v.),  graduated  a.b.  in  1812,  and  d.d.  in 
1828. 

He  was  ordained  in  1814.  In  1823  he  became  P.  0.  Bally- 
moyer,  Armagh ;  and  from  1830  to  1832  was  R.  V.  Ardskeagh. 

Dr.  Graves,  besides  other  minor  publications,  has  edited 
"  The  Whole  Works  of  Richard  Graves,  d.d..  Dean  of  Ardagh," 
drc.,  in  four  volumes,  8vo.  Dublin,  1840.  And  to  this  edition 
is  prefixed  an  interesting  memoir  of  the  life  of  that  good  and 
learned  divine. 


BRUHENNY. 

1891.  "Boot  de  Brucuny  Xllmr.  undo  decia  XVIs.**  [Tax.  P. 
Nic] 

12 — f  RoBEBT  Chbubnbr  was  presented  by  Odo  de  Barry  to  the 
Vicarage  of  Bruytoyng,  in  county  Cork. 

12^- )  John  de  Barry,  Clerk,  was  presented  by  Philip  de  Barry, 
son  and  heir  of  Odo  de  Barry. 

1311.  Thomas  O'Holan,  Clerk,  was  presented  by  Odo  de  Barry, 
who  established  his  right  to  the  advowson.  He  was  seized  of 
Lisboyne,  county  Cork.     [Placita  Com.  Banci  Hib.] 

1384.  Vide  Cahirultan.  Was  the  Rectory  of  Brothing  there  men- 
tioned Bruhenny? 

1545.  Feb.  10.  James  Roche  is  presented  to  R.  Ballintemple  als 
Broghenny  als  Churchtown,  devolved  to  the  Crown  ''pleno 
jure."     [Fat.  Rot  36.  Hen.  VIII.] 

1591.  "  Lucas  Brady,  laicus,  Rector  de  Bruhenny.  Vicar,  Thomas 
Prbkdergaste,  desunt  litteraa  ordinum."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3. 

14.] 

Luke  Brady  was  probably  the  eldest  son  and  heir  of  Hugh, 
Bishop  of  Meath.  As  chief  of  his  nation,  he  signed  the  Settlement 
of  Thomond,  on  17th  August,  1585.     His  niece  married  James 


CLOTHS.]  BRUUBNNY.  73 

aajton,  of  Mallow.     This  Luke  Brady  died  1612.     [U.O.] 
Vide  Nicbolaa  Brady,  P.  Kilnaglory,  Cork,  1688  to  1692. 

1610.  January  16.  William  Holiday,  K  de  Brahenny  als  Bra- 
thenny.     [Lib.  Men.] 

1615.  R.  and  V.  Bruhenny  William  Holiday.  Valent  1011. 
per  annum.  Ecclesia  rep&ta.  Cancella  ruinata.  Ipse  inservit 
cur».    [R.V.  R.LA.] 

In  1615  he  is  als  r.  Bally hooly,  q.  ▼. 

1615,  July  3.  John  Hull,  V.  Wallstown,  Templeroan,  and  Ballin* 
temple.  [F.P.]  Hull  was  afterwards  Precentor  of  Cloyne, 
q.  V. 

1625.  January  11.  WltLiAM  Burlby,  V.  Bruseny  and  Inchina- 
backy.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

Burley  resigned  firuhenny  in  1630,  according  to  Ferguson's 
MSS. ;  but  in  the  R.  V.  1634  William  Holiday  appears  as  R. 
and  Y.  Bruhenny  snb  lite.  James  Barry  appears  as  Impro- 
priator of  the  Rectory  in  the  same  R  V.  of  1634.  Barley,  in 
1630,  obtained  other  preferments  in  other  dioceses;  and  in 
1637  became  R.  Scull,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1661.  "R  Bruhenny  Mr.  Packikgton."  [V.B.]  He  was,  in  1662, 
Archdeacon  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1662.  John  Veasy  appears  as  R.  Bruhenny.  [V.B.]  He  was  ad- 
mitted on  24th  Sept  1663,  to  R  Bruhenny,  R.  V.  Shandrum, 
R.  Aglishdrina^h,  and  V.  Rathgogan.  [F.F.]  In  1667  he 
became  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1668.  Oct  29.  Chbistopher  Vowell  institutus  fuit  ad  R.  de  Bru- 
henny als  Ballytemple,  per  cessionem  Johls  Veasy  et  per  pre- 
sentationem  philippi  percivall,  militis.  [V*B.  16o9.]  He  was 
also  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  v. 

In  1671  ''Dominus  monuit  Vowell  ad  ezib.  lit  ordlnum." 
[V.B.] 

1694.  R.  integ.  Bruhenny  alias  Ballintemple ;  val.  £35. 
Olim  James  Barry  nunc  vero  Johes  Percivall,  Baronet,  est  pa- 
tronns.  Nulla  ecclia.  Mr.  Vowell,  Incumbent  [Palliser.J 
1700.  August  31.  Kerby  Fitzmaubioe,  Rec.  integ.  de  Bruhenny  als 
Ballintemple,  in  presentatione  Johis  Perceval,  Baron etti  (a 
minor),  et  Roberti  Southwell,  militis,  tutoris ;  vice  Christopher 
Votoell,  deprived,     [F.F.  and  D.R] 

1710.  An  Act  of  Parliament  sanctions  the  change  of  the  site 
of  the  parish  church  of  Bruhenny.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

1713.  Sir  John  Perceval  founds  a  charitable  institution  at 
Burton,  and  endows  it  with  £42  per  annum.  [Smith's  Cork, 
Tol.  i.  p.  393.] 

1715.  Bruhenny  church  was  consecrated.  [I)*R.]  On  the 
silver  flagon,  chalice,  and  paten,  now  (1863)  in  use  in  the 
church,  is  this  legend,  **  Ex  dono  viri  honorabilis  Johannis  Per- 
cival  equitis  aurati  in  usum  Ecclesice  Parochialis  de  Brow* 
heny.** 


74  ,  BRUHENNT.  [CLOYNK. 

1717.  November  13.  ^'Resolved,  that  Rev.  Mr.  Kerry  Fitz- 
maarice  be  discharged  by  the  Chapter  of  all  arrears  of  the  tithes 
of  Kilbrogan  parish,  and  that  the  Chapter  reassume  it,  to  be  set 
by  the  CEconomus  to  the  best  advantage."     [Cloyne  C.  B.] 

Kerry  Fitzmaurice  (son  of  Ulysses  Fitzmaurice,  esq.,  of  the 
Lansdowne  family),  was  born  in  the  county  Kerry,  circa  1677  ; 
and  when  eighteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner,  on 
26th  June,  1695.  In  1712  he  was  Curate  of  Buttevant.  He 
became,  in  1700,  R.  Bruhenny ;  in  1705  V.  Bregoge  and  Lis- 
oarroll ;  and  in  1721  V.  Kilbrowney,  all  which  livings  he  re- 
tained until  his  death  in  1728. 
1728.  March  18.  Downes  Conron,  R.  Brnlienny,  on  presentation 
of  John,  Viscount  Perceval.  [D.R.]  In  1735  he  became  V. 
Clonmel,  q.  v. 
1735.  Dec.  23.  Robert  Bbebeton,  a.m.  (vice  Conron,  resigned),  R 
de  Bruhenny,  on  presentation  of  John,  "  Comitis  de  Egmont.** 
[D.R.] 

1762.  Value  of  Bruhenny  and  Kilbrin,  £200.  [A.  Hay- 
man.] 

Robert  Brcreton  (second  son  of  George  Brereton,  esq.,  of 
Carrigslaney,  county  Carlo w,  by  Catherine,  dan.  of  George 
Perceval  and  Mary  Crofton),  held  Bruhenny  from  1735  to 
1764,  and  Kilbriu  from  1741}  to  1764. 
1764.  June  27.  Charles  Percival  (vice  Brereton,  deceased),  R. 
Bruhenny,  on  presentation  of  John,  Earl  of  Egmont.  [D.R.] 
He  was  also  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  q.  v. 

1765.  July  11.  The  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Cloyne  lease  the 
tithes  of  Kilbrogan  to  Mr.  Charles  Perceval  at  £3  yearly  during 
his  incumbency  in  the  parish  of  Churchtown.  He  obtains  a 
fresh  lease  in  1780  and  1781  of  same  lands,  for  £1  lOs,  per 
annum.     [C.B.] 

1774.  Bruhenny,  otherwise  Ballintemple,  or  Churchtown, 
'  rect.  in  the  barony  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore ;  value  £200  per 
annum.  Church  m  repair  at  Churchtown,  the  site  being 
changed  by  Act  of  Parliament,  9  Ann,  c.  12.  Bruhenny  Church 
in  ruins.  Patron,  the  Earl  of  Egmont.  Glebe,  11a.  1e.  35p. 
English.  Another  glebe,  3b.  34p.  English.  Incumbent, 
Charles  Perceval,  a.m.  ;  Curate,  Marmaduke  Grove,  a.b.  [Hing- 
ston.] 
1780.  April  6.  Charles  Perceval,  a.m.,  junior,  R.  Bruhenny,  on  the 

Sresentation  of  James,  Earl  of  Egmont^  vacant  by  cession  of 
harles  Perceval,  senior.     [D.R.] 

Charles  Perceval  (son  of  William  Perceval,  esq.,  of  Dublin, 
by  his  wife,  Eliza,  dau.  of  Robert  Ward,  esq.),  was  ordained 
Deacon  at  Cork  on  23rd  April,  1775,  and  was  V.  Fennock,  in 
Leighlin  diocese,  before  he  became  R.  Bruhenny.  His  father, 
W^iUiam,  was  second  son  of  William  Perceval,  Dean  of  Emly. 
His  uncle,  Charles  (P.  Kilmacdonogh,  q.  v.),  resigned  Bruhenny 


GLOTNE.]  BRUHEMNY.  75 

io  his  fovoor.  The  Rev.  Charles  Perceval,  junior,  married,  on 
6th  Maj,  1784,  Dorothea,  seventh  dau.  of  Eey.  S.  Rolleston,  of 
Enockmourne,  and  he  had  issue  hy  her  two  daughters — Helena, 
horn  3rd  April,  1785,  wife  of  John  Crosbie  Graves,  esq. ;  and 
Caroline,  born  6th  May,  1787,  who  married  her  cousin,  Charles 
Perceval,  esq.  Rev.  Charles  Perceval  died  in  1795. 
J795.  Nov.  9.  Matthew  Purcell,  R.  Bruhenny.     [D.R.] 

In  1805  Bruhenny  contained  but  one  Protestant  family. 
[Archb.  Brod.] 

1827.  April  16.  £B  was  voted  at  vestry  for  a  stone  font. 
[Par.  Reg.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  no  return. 

1837.  Bruhenny,  an  entire  rectory,  with  cure,  4  miles  long 
by  2  broad,  containing  7,996a.  2r.  35p.  Gross  population, 
2,795.  One  Curate  employed,  at  an  annual  stipend  of  £69 
4«.  l\d.  British.  Tithe  composition,  £550.  11a.  Ir.  14^p.  of 
glebe,  valued  at  50«.  per  plantation  acre.  Subject  to  visitation 
fees,  XI  14».  lOtZ. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  16«.  6(i.  No  glebe- 
house.  Incumbent  is  resident ;  and  considers  £60  per  annum 
a  reasonable  rent  for  the  house  he  occupies,  exclusive  of  the 
land  belonging  to  it.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating 
300  persons,  built  about  120  years,  but  at  what  cost  unknown. 
No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church. 
Divine  service  is  celebrate  J  unco  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  prin- 
cipal festivals.  Tlio  sacrament  is  a<lministered  seven  times  in 
the  year.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

Matthew  Purcell,  clde:;t  son  of  Sir  John  Pukcell,  of  iligh- 
fort,  county  Cork  (who  was  knighted  for  the  gallant  defence  he 
made  when  attacked  by  robbers),  by  Gertrude,  dau.  of  Matthew 
Franks,  esq.,  was  bom  circa  1771. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  28th  Oct.  and  Priest  on  Ist 
Nov.  1795,  at  Cloyne,  and  held  Bruhenny  from  1795,  and 
Dungourney  from  1808,  until  his  death  on  12th  June,  1845. 

He  married,  on  17th  July,  1800,  Elizabeth,  dau.  of  William 
Leader,  esq. ;  and  by  her,  who  was  buried  at  Churchtown  on 
30th  Dec.  ]  848,  had  issue  one  son,  John  Purcell,  esq.,  of  Bur- 
ton, who  died  in  1853,  leaving  issue  by  his  wife,  Anna-Maria 
Dempsy,  an  only  son,  John-Matthew,  born  1852,  now  a  ward 
of  Chancery.  Rev.  Matthew  Purcell  had  also  eight  daughters 
— 1.  Matilda,  died  unm. ;  2.  Eliza,  wife  of  George  Crofts,  esq. ; 
3.  Henrietta,  who  married  on  6th  Oct.  1836,  Edward  Labarte, 
esa.,  junior,  of  Clonmel,  county  Tipperary ;  4.  Margaret,  wife 
of  William  Purcell,  of  Altamira ;  and  secondly,  wife  of  Richard 
Harris  Purcell,  esq. ;  5.  Emily,  who  was  wife  to  Rev.  Fraaei9 
Sands  Bradshaw,  and  who  was  buried  on  8th  January,  1850, 
at  Churchtown ;  6.  Louisa ;  7.  Octavia,  wife  of  Richard  Gib^ 
bings,  esq. ;  8,  Georgina,  who  was  married  on  7th  Nov.  1834,  t^ 
William  Gumbleton,  esq.,  of  Curryglaas  House^  county  Cork. 


7(5  BBUHKNNY. — CAHIRDUOGAK.  [CLOTNK. 

The  Rev.  Matthew  Purcell  was  hurled  at  Ohurchtown  on 
14th  June,  1845  ;  and  an  inscription  on  his  tomhstone  testifies 
to  his  virtues  and  the  luve  of  his  parishioners. 
1845.  Dec.  6.  Lucius  Geobgb,  R.  Bruhenny.     Sir  Edward  Tiemej, 
patron.     [D.R.] 

Lucius  George  was  for  many  years  Curate  of  Farrahy.  He 
died  on  28th  Dec.  1859,  aged  68,  and  was  hurled  at  Uhurch- 
town,  where  an  inscribed  stone  was  placed  over  his  grave  by 
Dudley  O'Qrady,  esq. 
1860.  June  2.  Matthew  Tierney,  a.m.,  R.  Bruhenny,  on  presenta- 
tion of  Rev.  Sir  Lionel  Darell,  Baronet,  of  Fretherne  House, 
in  Somersetshire.     [D.H.] 

1860.  Church  in  good  order.  No  glebe-house.  Divine  ser- 
vice once  on  Sundays  and  chief  feasts,  &c.  Sacrament  monthly 
and  at' the  three  great  festivals ;  average  of  communicants,  6. 
No  school.  Protestant  population,  27.  Rentcharge,  £412  IO5. 
Land,  11  acres,  worth  £17.  Total  value,  £429  10«.  per  an. 
without  residence. 

Matthew  Tiemey  (son  of  the  late  Matthew  John  Tierney, 
esq.,  of  the  Bengal  Civil  Service),  was  educated  at  Rugby  and 
Trin.  Coll.  Cambridge.  He  graduated  b.a.  in  1851,  and  m.a. 
in  1854.  He  was  ordained  Deacon  in  1851,  and  Priest  in 
1852,  both  by  Bishop  of  Worcester.  He  was  Curate  of  St. 
Peter's,  Malvern,  from  1851  to  1855 ;  and  from  1857  to  1860 
was  R.  Enmore,  Bath  and  Wells. 


CAHIRDUGGAN. 


1291.  "Ecca  de  Cathirdugan  XVImr.  undo  decia  XXIs.  Illld." 
[Tax.  P.  Nic.] 

1591.  K  de  Cathirdowgan,  Prior  Bothon  est  Rector,  et  usurpatar 
vicaria.     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3. 14.] 

1615.  Anthony  Kinosmill  (V.  Bregoge,  q.  v.)  is  Cuiute  of  Cahir- 
duggan.  "  Rec.  spectat  ad  Bridgetown.  Val.  cum  vicaria  20  li. 
per  an.  Vicaria  vacat  et  usurpatur  per  fimiarlum  Rectorise. 
Ecclesia  repata,  cancella  in  ruinis.  Curatus,  Anthonius  Kings- 
mill."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1634.  E.  de  Cahirdowgan,  spectat  ad  Ballebogg.  Joh§s 
Jepson,  miles,  impropriator.  Anthonius  Kingsmill,  Curatus, 
nil  habet  pro  stipendio  suo.  Vicaria  ibm  usurpatur  per  Rec- 
torem.     Valent  LXXXX  li.  per  annum.     [R.V.  1634.J 

1634.  August  10.  John  Btnns,  V.  Cahirduggan  and  Bothon. 
[Lib.  Mun.]     He  was  afterwards  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1661.  «« Nullus  curatus."    [V.B.] 

1665  to  1670.  Samuel  Alford  (P.  Brigowne,  q.  v.)  is  Curate  of 
Cahijrdowgan.     [V.B.] 


CLOTNB.]  CAHIRDUG6AN.*-CAHIRULTAN.  77 

1671  to  1674.  David  Elliott  appears  as  Curate  of  Cahirdowgan. 
[V.B.]     In  1682  he  became  P.  Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

Betw^een  1675  and  1740  the  successioDS  to  this  curacy  are 
not  mentioned  with  regularity  in  the  diocesan  records.  It  is 
probable  that  for  that  period,  as  well  as  from  1740  to  the  pre- 
sent time,  Gahirduggan  was  served  by  the  Vicar  of  Bregoge,  q.y. 


CAHIRULTAN, 


1291.  '^P'benda  Ha^ri  Phi  Obrodere  Ecca  de  Cathimltan  Illmr. 
unde  decima  IIIIs/* — ''Eccia  de  MartirVmr.  undedecimadi  mr.** 
[Tax.  P.  Nic] 

13 —  1  <<  DoHiNUs  Johahnbs,  Rector  de  Earulchan"  appears.  [Caul- 
field's  Pipe  Roll,  page  5.] 

1384.  John  (hFKARD  was  Prebendary.  King  Richard  11.,  in  con- 
sideration of  his  great  services,  granted  licence  to  the  Bishop 
and  Chapter  of  Cloyne  to  unite  the  rectory  of  Brothyng  to  this 
prebend  during  Giffard's  life.     [R.C] 

1591.  "  E.  de  Cahirultan  :  Johes  Edmundi  [Fitzedmundl  Vicar. 
Jaoobub  .JuvEHis,  Rector." — "R.  de  Ballimarter  :  Prior  Omnium 
Sanctorum  est  Rector.  Johes  Edmundi,  Vicar."  [MS.  T.C.D. 
E.  3.  14.] 

In  another  visitation  book  of  this  date  Robert  Stvrton,  Dean 
of  Ross,  appears  to  be  Vicar  of  Ballimartir.     [lb.] 

1615.  Cahirultan  Prebenda.  Rector,  William  Thomas,  non-residens. 
Nulluscuratns.  Admonitus  est  Rector  ad  providendum  curatum. 
Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  bene  rep&tione  cum  libris.  [R.V.  R.I.A.] 
Thomas  was  also  P.  Cahirlag,  Cork,  q.  v. 

Ballymartrie.  Rec.  improp.  Johes  Fitzgerald  firniarius.  Vic., 
Wni.  Thomas,  non-resideus.  Valet  6  li.  per  an.  Curatus,  Thomas 
Westmore,residens.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  ruina.  [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

Mogellie  Rectoria  impropriata.  Johannes  Fitzgerald  firma- 
rius.  Vicaria  vacat  et  usurpatur  p*  Armarium.  Curatus  nullus. 
[R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1616.  Feb.  28.  John  Thomas  is  admitted  P.  Cahirultan,  V.  de 
Ballinter,  V.  de  Corkbeg  et  R.  Cahirlag,  Cork.     [F.F.j 

1618.  Nov.  16.  Roger  Boyle,  P.  and  V.  Cahirultan,  V.  de  BaUinter 
et  Corkbegg.     [F.F.] 

R.  Boyle  was,  from  1616  to  1621,  P.  Kilmacdonagh ;  and 
from  1621  to  1633,  P.  Mora,  Lismore. 

1633.  January  22.  Anthomt  Kinosmill,  a.b.,  P.  Cahirultan,  qnam 
Prebendam  et  vicariam  de  Bally  martyr  Epus  univit ;  instal- 
latus  24°  Januarii,  1633.  [R.V.  1634.]  In  1640  Kingsmill 
became  V.  Berrivillane.     He  was  also  V.  Bregoge,  q.  v. 

"  P.  de  Cahirultane  Anthony  Kingsmell.  Epus  confert.,  rale t 
3  li.  per  an." 


78  CAHIRVLTAH.  [gLOTVB< 

^  R.  de  Martery,  Bex  est  Rector.  Joh^t  iltzgerald,  IQilel^ 
firmarius ;  yalet  1 6  li.  per  an.  Vicar*  Antony  EingsmeU,  Valet 
8  li.  per  an.     Epus  confert." 

''  R.  de  Mogeeley,  Rex  est  Rector.      Valet  40  IL  per  an. 
Johannifl  ffitzgerald,  miles,  est  Impropriator.     Vicaria  usar- 
patur  p'  rectorem.     Val.  20  li.  p'  an."    [R.V.  1634.] 
1640.  April  8.  Hbnry  Rugo,  P.  de  Cahirultan.     [F.F.]     In  1661 
he  became  Dean  of  Clojue,  q.  v. 

In  1641  he  lost  property  to  amount  of  £1,928,  and  his  living, 
worth  com.  an.  £150  per  an.     [MS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  17.] 
1661.  April  8.  Thomas  Blackwell,  P.  Cahirultan,  V.  Mogeely,  and 
Uartery,  als  Ballyoughtra.  [D.R.]  Magister  Thomas  Blackwell 
took  the  oaths  on  14th  July,  1663.     [C.B.] 

From  1633  to  1663(1)  Blackwell  was  V.  Garrycloyne  and 
Carrigrohanebeg,  and  also,  from  1635  to  1661  (?)  V.AgabaUog^ 
and  R.  Kilcoleman. 
1682.  September  9.  Thomas  Coaklt,  a.m.,  P.  Cahirultan,  R.  V. 
Ballinter,  and  V.  Mogeely.     [F.F.] 

He  took  the  chapter  oath  Nov.  13,  1682.     [C  B.] 

Thomas  Coakly  eutered  T.C.D.  as  a  Pensioner  on  28th  May, 
1672.  He  was  liceosed  to  the  curacy  of  Dungoumey  on  29th 
Nov.,  1683. 
.1692.  August  20.  Antony  Ibby,  a.m,,  P.  Cahirultan,  R  V.  Kiloe- 
martery,  als  Ballyoughtra,  and  V.  Mogeely,  in  coll.  Epi  per  cess 
of  Thomas  Cokely.     [D.R] 

Antony  Irby,  a.m.,  of  Triii.  Coll.,  Cambridge,  and  afterwards 
D.D.,  was,  from  1692  to  1693,  P.  Cahirultan;  from  1693  to 
1706,  P.  Mallahidert,  Dublin  ;  from  1674  to  1706,  Treasurer 
of  Cashel;  and  from  1675  to  1706,  P.  Killenegage,  Emly. 

He  was  attainted  by  James  U.  in  1689,  and  in  1704  was 
"  Proctor  cleri"  Cashel  to  Convocation. 

Dr.  Irby  resided  at  Clonmore,  county  Tip.  His  will  was 
dated  8th  Nov.,  1703,  and  proved  18th  June,  1706.  He 
married  Elisabeth,  or  Alice,  dau.  of  Captain  Hugh  Massy,  of 
the  county  Limerick  [vide  the  Peerage,  Lord  Masst  and  Lord 
Clabina];  and  by  her  had  issue  Elisabeth  (eldest  dau.  and  co- 
heir, wife  of Brady,  esq.,  of  Raheens,  county  Clare,  and 

mother  of  Antony  Brady,  esq.,  of  Raheens),  and  Alice,  youngest 
dan.  and  co-heir,  wife  of  John  Parkeri  esq.,  of  Dunkiss,  county 
Limerick. 
1692.  October  15.  Thomas  Symcocks,  P.  Cahirultan,  R  V.  Kilnemar- 
tery,  als  Ballyoughtra,  and  V.  Mogeely,  in  coll.  Epi  per  cession  of 
Antony  Irby.     [D.R.] 

In  1 693,  June  2 1,  he  was  collated  asecond  time  to  this  Prebend. 
"D.R.]  He  took  the  chapter-oath  on  14th  of  November,  1693. 
[q  1705  he  was  elected  Economus,  and  in  1727  leased  the. tithes 
of  Shinlis  from  the  Chapter.     [Cloyne  C.B.] 

1694.  P.  Cahirultan,  val.  7  pounds.      R.  V.  Ballintra,  val. 


E 


CMTirS.]  CAHUtUXTAN.  79 

10  ponncb,  V.  Mogealy,  val.  16  pounds.  Mr.  T.  Synicockt 
coraa  animaram  iucumbit.  Epus  patronus.  Ecclia  de  Ballintra 
in  ruina  lapsa  est,  in  ceteris  nulla  Ecclia.  Impropriator,  pre- 
tended, of  Mogealy,  Mr.  James  Fitzgerald.  Ail  Mr.  Symcock*8 
livings,  united  pro  bac  vice,  lie  contiguous.     [Palliser.] 

1710.  9th  of  Anne.  Ballyoughtra,  Mogely,  and  Cahirultan, 
are  united  for  ever,  and  a  new  church  is  to  be  built  on  ground 
to  be  conveyed  by  Henry  Boyle  for  ever  to  these  uses.  [Lib. 
Mun.] 

1731.  Castlemartyr  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1748.  **  Here  is  an  almshouse,  founded  by  the  first  Earl  of 
Orrery,  for  six  poor  men,  and  as  many  women,  who  have  a 
weekly  allowance,  and  clothing  once  a-year.  The  Lady  Mary 
Boyle,  mother  to  Henry  Boyle,  esq.,  bequeathed  £100,  to  be 
put  to  interest  towards  buying  them  clothes.  His  Excellency 
conveyed  to  the  Incorporated  Society  two  English  acres  of  land 
for  ever,  valued  at  4«.  an  acre,  for  the  erection  of  a  charter- 
school  near  this  place  ;  and  gave  a  lease  of  three  lives  of  ten 
English  &CTe6  of  land,  at  40^.  per  aun.,  which  ten  acres  were  to 
pay  no  more  tlmn  an  acknowledgment  of  5s.  a  year  during  his 
Excellency's  life.  Also  a  lease  of  ten  English  acres  more,  at 
4«.  an  acre.  The  school  contains  20  boys  and  10  girls.  There 
are  several  voluntary  subscriptions  for  the  support  of  this 
foundation.  Over  the  door  of  the  school  is  this  inscription,  on 
a  black  marble  : — *In  the  year  of  our  Lord  1748  this  Charter- 
School  was  erected,  at  the  charge  of  the  Incorporated  Society, 
on  ground  given  for  that  purpose  by  the  Right  Hon.  Henry 
Boyle,  Speaker  of  the  House  of  Commons,  and  one  of  the  Lords 
Justices  of  this  kingdom.* "     [Smith's  Cork,  vol.  i.  p.  126,  &c] 

Thomas  Symcocks  was,  from  1692  to  1693,  a  Vicar  Choral, 
Cloyne  ;  and  from  1693  to  1732,  P.  Cahirultan.  He  was  also, 
from  1701  to  1707,  V.  Clonmult ;  from  1714  to  1718,  Dean  of 
Cloyne ;  and  from  1719  to  1732,  V.  Whitechurch.  H«  was 
also,  from  1705  to  1732,  K  Killeagh. 

He  married,  in  1698,  Mary  Spence,  of  Mogeely,  and  by  her 
had  issue,  inter  alios,  two  sons,  James  and  Thomas  (both  bom 
at  Castlemartyr,  in  1699  and  1700  respectively);  and  a  daughter, 
Catherine. 

In  1740  Thomas  Symcocks  (probably  a  son  of  the  Dean),  and 
Elisabeth  Lukey,  both  of  Middle  ton,  were  married. 

The  family  of  Symcocks  were  also,  before  the  time  of  Dean 
Symcocks,  resident  in  Cork.  "George,  son  of  George  Simkocks, 
was  buried  21st  December,  1659,"  in  the  parish  of  Chris tchurch, 
Cork.  [Par.  Reg.] 
1732.  Dec.  22.  Gsorqe  Cuinnbbt,  a.m.,  P.  Cahirultan,  R.  V.  de  Kil- 
nemartery  in  coll.  Epi,  per  mortem  Thomse  Symcocks.  [D.R.] 
He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  9th  July,  1733.  [C.B.  D.R.J 
Ohinnery  was  also  R.  Mallow,  q.  v. 


80  CAUIRULTAN.  [cLOYME. 

1752.  January  10.  Georob  Ghinkebt,  juniori  a.m.  aod  ll.d.  (vice 
pfttris)  P.  Cahirultan  and  union  of  Castlemartyr,  consisting  of 
r.  Cahirultan,  R.  and  V.  Ballymartjr,  and  V.  Mogealie.  fF.F.] 
Dr.  Chinnery  took  the  chapter  oath  on  14th  Feb.,  1753.  [C.B.J 
In  1763  he  became  also  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1762.  Chinnery  non-resident ;  yearly  income,  £250 ;  out  of 
which  he  pays  two  Curates,  one  £40,  the  other  £20.  [Hay- 
man  MSS.J 

1774.  Cahirultan,  in  the  bar.  of  Imokilly,  to  which  are  an- 
nexed for  ever  the  R.  Y.  Kilnemartery,  alo  Ballyonghtra,  als 
Ballymartyr,  and  the  Y.  Mogealy,  als  Moyellie,  under  the  name 
of  the  parish  of  Castlemartyr,  is  valued  at  X250  per  an.  The 
Church  of  Castlemartyr  is  in  repair,  the  rest  are  in  ruins.  Glebe 
at  Cahirultan,  3r.  14p.  En. ;  at  Bally oughtragh,  3a.  Or.  25p.  ; 
and  three  glebes  at  Mogealy,  one  containing  3a.  Ob.  38p.;  the 
second,  3a.;  and  the  third,  16a.  2r.  20p.  Proxy,  £1  2s,  AcL 
The  vie.  of  Ballymartyr  is  taxed  in  the  King^s  books  at  £1  5$.; 
the  vie.  of  Cahirultan,  6&  Sd. ;  and  the  vie.  of  Mogeely,  £2. 
G.  Chinnery,  ll.b.,  Incumbent.  Thomas  Cooke,  a.b.,  Curate. 
[D.R.] 
1779.  March  25.  Johh  Ersrine,  a.m.  {vice  Chinnery,  promoted)  on 
letters  patent^  dated  January  24,  1779.  P.  Cahirultan,  and 
Dean  of  Cork.  [Lib.  Mnn.  and  F.F.]  He  was  also  R.  Killeagh. 
Vide  Deans  of  Cork.     He  died  in  1795. 

1785.  Protestant  population,  89.     [Smyth.] 
1795.  December  30.  George  Smith,  a.r,  (vice  Erskinc,  deceased), 
P.  Cahirultan,  Y.  Kilnemartery,  als  Bailyougtra,  als  Ballinter, 
als  Ballymartyr,  and  R.  Mogeely,  als  Mocalue,  united  under 
name  of  Castlemartyr  by  Act  of  8th  Anne.     [F.F.] 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families,  35.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  248. 

1837.  Castlemartyr  Union  :  5^  miles  long  by  3  broad,  with 
cure,  consisting  of — 1.  Ballyoughtra,  rectory  and  vicarage,  5^ 
miles  long  by  3  broad.  2.  Mogeely  vicarage,  5  miles  long  by 
3  broad.  The  union  contains  10,412a.  2r.  20p.  Gross  popula- 
tion, 4,556.  No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition  of  Bally- 
oughtra parish,  £435  12«.  7^d  Composition  for  the  vicarial 
tithes  of  Mogeely  parish,  £390.  21a.  Or.  25|p.  statute  measure 
of  glebe  in  said  parish  in  Incumbent's  use,  valued  at  £16  6«.  7d.; 
subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  ISs.;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  5&; 
quit  rent,  £3  17«.  6d.  The  glebe-house,  situate  in  Bally- 
oughtra parish,  built  in  1815,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost 
£1,940  165.  7|rf.  Brit,  whereof  £1,246  3s.  Id,  was  granted 
in  way  of  loan,  and  £92  6«.  l^.  in  that  of  gift  by  the  late 
Board  of  First  Fruits;  and  the  residue  of  £602  Is.  5d.  was 
supplied  out  of  the  private  funds  of  Incumbent,  who  will  be 
entitled  to  receive  the  whole  of  the  sum  last  mentioned  from  his 
successor.    Of  the  loan  aforesaid  there  remained  £643 1 89.  1  Od. 


CLOTKB.]  CAHIBULTAN.  81 

chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instal- 
ments of  X41.  Incumbent  is  constantly  resident  in  the  glebe- 
house.  One  church,  situate  in  Mogeely  parish,  capable  of 
accommodating  220  persons,  built  about  90  years  ago,  but  from 
what  cost,  or  from  what  funds  supplied,  unknown.  No  charge 
on  the  union  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service 
18  celebrated  twice  on  Sundays,  and  once  in  each  week  during 
Lent,  and  on  the  principal  holidays.  The  sacrament  is  ad- 
ministered monthly.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  a  moiety  of 
the  tithes  of  Mogeely  parish,  forming  part  of  this  union,  and 
compounded  for  JB390,  are  impropriate,  and  belong  to  Mr. 
William  Davis.  The  Incumbent  observes  that  report  states 
there  are  2a.  1r.  35p.  of  glebe  in  Mogeely  parish,  and  92  acres 
in  Ballyoughtra  parish,  known  by  the  name  of  Bally broher 
glebe,  which  appears  to  have  been  alienated,  and  are  not  in  his 
possession.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

George  Smith  was  ordained  Priest  by  the  Bishop  of  Cork,  on 
23rd  Sept,  1792. 

He  died  on  8th  March,  1851,  leaving  his  niece,  Emily  Esther 
Jephson,  sole  executrix.     He  was  P.  Cahirultan  for  56  years. 
1851.  April  22.  William  Hallaban,  P.  Cahirultan,  per  mortem 
Smith.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  in  order.     20  acres  of 

flebe  in  Rector's  use,  except  f  of  an  acre  near  the  chapeL 
)ivine  service  twice  on  Sundays,  and  once  on  festivals,  &o. 
Sacrament  monthly,  and  on  festivals ;  average  of  communicants, 
35.  37  children  are  on  the  rolls  of  a  school  maintained  partly 
by  Incumbent.  The  protestant  population  is  160.  The  rent- 
charge  of  Ballyoughtra  is  X274  9«.  8^^;  of  Mogealy,  ^292  10«. 
The  land  is  worth  £16.  Total  value,  £582  Ids.  S^d.  per 
annum,  with  residence. 

W.  Hallaran  (son  of  W.  Saunders  Hallaran,  M.D.,  of  Cork,  by 
Miss  Cotter,  and  grandson  of  William  Hallaran,  of  Castle- 
martyr),  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cork,  on  9th  Feb.,  1817. 

He  was  Curate  of  Youghal  from  1817  to  1819.  On  26th 
May,  1819,  he  was  licensed  to  the  Curacy  of  Holy  Trinity,  Cork. 
On  11th  August,  1822,  he  again  became  Curate  of  Youghal. 
From  1828  to  1833  he  was  a  Vic.  Chor.,  Cloyne  ;  from  1833  to 
1840,  R.  Macroom  ;  and  from  1840  to  1851,  R.Magourney,  or 
Kilcoleman. 

He  is  married,  and  has  issue  a  son,  Thomas  Tuckey  Hallaran, 
P.  C.  Marmullane,  Cork. 


VOL.  n.  o 


83  OABBIOAMLEABT.  [CLOTVX. 


CARRIGAMLEARY. 

1291.  "  Eoca  de  Carrug  Vmr.  unde  decia  di.  mr/'     [Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1591.  *'R.  de  Carrigemlery.  Prior  Bothon.  Vicar  Thouab  Sue- 
EBTHius  (or  SuiTHsoN,  or  Smithes),  minor,  laicus,  propter  de- 
fectum sacrorum  deprivatns."     [MS.  T»C.I).  E.  3.  14.f 

1609.  Not.  28.  William  Holydaib  is  presented  to  certain  vicar- 
ages in  Cloyne  diocese,  I  presume  to  Y.  Carrigamleary  and 
Rahan.     [Lib*  Mun.]     In  1615  he  was  P.  £al1yhooly,  q.  v. 

1610.  "  Rectoria  spectat  ad  Bridgetown.  Valet  cum  vicaria 
12  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinate.  Vicarins  William 
Holiday.*'     [R.V»  R.I.A.] 

1634.  "  Prior  Pontis  Rector.  Valet  16  li*  per  annum.** 
[RV.  1634.] 

16 — ?  Riohabd  Jebmyn,  V.  Carrigamleary.  He  was  also  V»  Ra- 
han,  q.  v. 

1661  to  1665.  The  vicarage  is  vacant     [V.B.] 

1667.  July  6.  David  Elliott,  institutus  est  ad  V.  Ardskeagh,  Rag- 
hine,  et  Carrigamleary,  per  mortem  Richardi  Jermin.  [V.S. 
1669.]     In  1682  Elliott  became  P.  Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

1668.  Rectoria  spectat  ad  chorum  Christ  Church,  Dublin. 
[V.B.] 

1683.  June  6.  John  Bubdett,  a.m»  (vice  Elliott,  resigned),  V.  Car- 
rigamleary and  Ardskeagh.  [F.F.]  In  1683  Burdett  was 
B.  V.  Ardskeagh,  q.  v. 

1685.  August  13.  Kichabd  Veblino  (vice  Burdett,  resigned),  V. 
Carrigamleary.  [F.F.]  In  1686  Verling  became  R.  Castle- 
town, q.  V. 

1687.  July  18.  John  Bulkelet,  a.m.  (vice  Verling,  resigned),  V. 
Carrigamleary,  P.  Killinemor,  R.  V.  Monanimy,  Kilcummer, 
and  R  Templeroan.  [D.R.]  In  1693  Bulkeley  was  P.  Kil- 
maclenine,  q.  v. 

1694.  V.  Carrigamleary ;  val.  £5.  Mr.  Bulkeley,  Incum- 
bent. Epus  patronus.  Nulla  ecclia.  The  impropriate  rec- 
tories of  Carrigamleary,  Eillathie,  and  Templebodane  belong  to 
the  Vicars  Choral  of  Christ  Church,  Dublin,  and  are  worth 
together  XI 5.     [Palliser.] 

1702.  November  12.  Chablbs  Nobthcote  (vice  Bulkeley,  deceased), 
V.  Carrigamleary.  [D.R]  In  1708  he  became  P.  Eilmac- 
donogh,  q.  v. 

1708.  January  21.  Fbancis  Gobe  (vice  Northcote,  resigned),  V. 
Carrigamleary,  and  P.  Killinemer.  [F.F.]  In  1717  Uore 
became  P.  Kilmaclenine,  q.  v. 

1714.  William  Hadlock  (R.  Knocktemple,  q.  v.),  appears  as  V. 
Carrigamleary.  [V.B.]  On  11th  March,  1715,  he  is  admitted 
to  V.  Carrigamleary,  vice  Qore,  resigned^  and  to  R.  V.  Ards- 
keagh.    [D.R.] 


CLOTVB.]  CARRIGAMLEARY.  8) 

1715.  Carrigamleary  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1719.  January  13.  Nicholas  Quaytrod  (vice  Hadlock,  deceased)^ 
V.  Carrigamlearj  and  Rahan,  and  R^  Knocktemple.  [D.R.J 
In  1730  Quaytrod  hecame  also  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1724.  "The  Gift  of  Doctor  Charles  Crow,  Lord  Bishop  of 
Cloyn,  to  the  Church  of  Carrigamleary,  in  the  diocese  of  Cloyn, 
1724.*'  Such  is  the  legend  on  the  silver  chalice,  with  paten, 
now  (1863)  in  the  church  of  Carrigamleary. 

1742.  November  12.  John  Bun  bury  (vice  Quaytrod,  deceased),  V. 
Carrigamleary  and  Rahan.     [F.F.] 

1762.  Bunbury  is  non-resident.  The  value  of  Carrig  and 
Rahan  is  £60  per  an.     [Atkin  Hayman.] 

J.  Bunbury  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Mallow  on  26th 
Sept.  1732.     He  died  in  1765. 

1766.  January  18.  Edmund  Lombard,  V.  Carrigamleary  and  Rahan. 
[F.F.]  He  took  a  second  collation  to  Carrigamleary  and  Ra^ 
han  on  22nd  Feb.  1769.  [D.R.]  In  1772  he  became  R.  V. 
Kilshannig,  q.  v. 

1772.  June  26.  Arthur  France  (vice  Lombard,  resigned),  V.  Car- 
rigamleary and  Rahan.     [D.R.] 

1773.  In  this  year  the  parish  registry  begins. 

1774.  Carrigleamleary  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy;  value 
X70.  Church  in  repair.  Patron  the  Bp.  Proxy,  4».  Taxed 
in  the  King's  books,  £2  10«.  ster.  Incumb.  Arthur  France^ 
The  rect.  is  appropriated  to  the  Vicars  Choral  of  Christ  Church, 
Dublin,  and  pays  5s.  6d.  per  ann.  crown  rent;  Proxy,  4«i 
[Uingston.] 

1774.  Raghan  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy;  valae  £70  per 
ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.  the  Bp.  Proxy,  6s.  Incumb; 
Arthur  France.  The  rect  is  imp.  It  formerly  belonged  to 
the  Abbey  of  Bridgetown,  and  pays  58.  per  ann.  crown  rent. 
John  Longfield,  esq.,  Imp.     Proxy,  6s.     [Hingston.] 

1785.  There  are  6  Protestants  in  Carrigamleary,  and  19  in 
Rahan.     [Travers.] 

Arthur  France  was,  I  think,  nephew  to  Rev.  Nathaniel 
France,  Precentor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v.  He  was  ordained  Deacon 
at  St  Munchin's,  Limerick,  on  16th  August,  1767,  and  Priest 
at  Cork  on  25th  January,  1768.  He  was  licensed  on  2nd 
Sept  1767,  to  Rathcormack  curacy,  which  he  held  until  1773. 
He  was  blind  for  some  years  beK)re  his  death,  yet  officiated 
with  accuracy  and  punctuality  to  the  end  of  his  life.  He  was 
buried  in  Rahan  church-yard  on  22nd  Nov.  1793. 
1794.  Feb.  15.  William  Kino,  V.  Carrigamleary  and  Rahan. 
[F.F.]     King  was  also  R.  Mallow,  q.  v. 

1802.  Sept.  22.  Rahan  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.K] 

1805.  There  are  eleven  Protestant  families  in  Carrig  and 
Rahan.     [Abp.  Brod.] 
1808.  June  23.  Christmas  Vajtl  Walub  {vice  King,  deceased),  Y. 
VOL.  II.  a  2 


84  CABRIOAMLEABT.  [CLOTHB. 

Carrigamleary.     [P.P.]     In  1814  be  became  R.  V.  Monanimy, 
q.  V. 
1814.  Oct  14.  John  Baowell  Cbeaqh  (vice  Wallis,  resigned),  V. 
Carrigamlery.     [P.P.]     In  1829  be  was  also  R.  V.  Rincurran, 
q.  V. 

1830.  Protestant  population,  23. 

1837.  Carrigamleary  :  a  vicarage,  witb  cure,  3  miles  long 
by  2  broad,  containing  3,240a.  Gross  population,  1,133.  One 
Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £60  per  annum.  Composi- 
tion for  tbe  vicarial  titbes,  £130  ;  la.  of  glebe,  valued  at  £2  ; 
subject  to  visitation  fees,  about  6«. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  5«. 
No  glebe-bouse.  Incumbent  is  non-resident ;  be  resides  on  bis 
otber  benefice,  in  tbe  county  and  diocese  of  Cork.  One  cburcb, 
capable  of  accommodating  100  persons,  but  when,  or  at  what 
cost,  built,  or  from  what  funds  supplied,  unknown.  No  charge 
on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  ser- 
vice is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays  and  on  the  principal  festi- 
vals. The  sacrament  is  administered  ten  times  in  the  year. 
The  rectorial,  consisting  of  a  moiety  of  the  tithes  of  this  parish, 
compounded  for  £130,  are  appropriate,  and  belong  to  the 
Vicars  Choral  of  the  Cathedral  of  the  Holy  Trinity,  otherwise 
Christ  Church,  Dublin.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1846.  April  9.  Andrew  Todd  {vice  Creagh,  deceased),  V.  Carrigam- 
leary.    [D.R.]     In  1847  he  became  V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

1847.  July  3.  Horatio  Nelson  Ormsby,  a.b.  (vice  Todd,  resigned), 
V.  Carrigamleary.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  The  Incum- 
bent and  Parish  Clerk  both  reside  in  Mallow.  Divine  service 
once  on  all  Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day,  Ash  Wednesday, 
and  Good  Priday.  Sacrament  twelve  times  in  tbe  year ;  aver- 
age of  communicants,  5,  No  children.  No  school.  The  Protes- 
tant population  is  7.  Tbe  rentcharge  is  £97  10«.  The  land 
is  worth  £2.     Total  annual  value,  £99  10«.,  without  residence. 

H.  N.  Ormsby  was  ordained  Deacon  on  12th  May,  1831,  and 
Priest  on  14th  July,  1833,  both  at  Cloyne. 

He  was  married,  and  has  issue.  His  eldest  daughter,  Judith 
Elisabeth,  was  married  on  9th  January,  1862,  to  Rev.  James 
Ghdwey  (son  of  the  late  St.  John  (Jalwey,  m.d.,  of  Mallow),  who 
was  ordained  Priest  at  Cork  on  21st  Dec.  1851,  for  the  curacy 
of  Timoleague,  Ross,  and  who  left  that  diocese  for  Ferns,  in 
1854. 


CLOTHB.]  CABRIGDOWNAN.  85 


CARRIGDOWNAN. 

1291.  "Capella  Cachoyrdunan   Illlmr.   unde  decia  Vs.  Vllld.** 

[Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  **E.  de  Carigdownan  Prior  Pontis  est  Rector,  et  usurpatur 

Vicaria.     Note  Mr,  Archdeacon  for  the  vicarage.^^     [MS.  T.C.D. 

E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  "Rect  imp.  Daniel  O'Brien,  miles,  et  Doms.  Roch  sunt  fir- 

marii.     Vicaria  vacat  et  nsarpatur  per  firmarios.     Ecclesia  et 

cancella  in  minis."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 
1615.  Oct.  11.  MoRTAQU  O'IIarran,  or  Aoharen,  is  admitted  V. 

Carrigdownane,  united  with  V.  Nathlasb  ;  inducted  10th  March. 

[R.V.  1634.]     In  1637  he  was  V.  Grenagh,  q.  v. 

1634.  E.  de  Carigdownane  Prior  Pontis.     Dominus  Roch 

tenet.     Vicecomes  EUich  imp.     Val.  6  li.  per  an.     V.  Murtagh 

Agharen.     Val.  3  li.  per  an.     [R.V.  1634.] 
1661.  Mr.  Bortley  appears  as  V.  Carrigdownane.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

He  is  also  P.  Rallyhooly,  q.  v. 
1661.  April  30.  Lancellott  Smyth  institutus  V.  Carrigdownane. 

[V.B.  1669.]     He  was  also  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 

In    1669  Smyth  is  **nupcr  mortuus,"  and  the  vicarage  is 

vacant  in  16G9  and  1670.     [V.B.] 
1670.  April  20.  Francis  Beecher  is  admitted  V.  Carrigdownan, 

R  Mogeely,  V.  Knockmourne,  and  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 
He  appears  in  1712.     [V.B.] 

1694.  K  V.  Carrickdownane.     Val.  30«.     Mr.  Beecher,  In- 
cumbent    Epus  patronus.     Nulla  ecclia  ab  anno  1641.     [Pal* 

liser.] 
1713.  April  23.  Richard  Hopkins,  a.m.  {vice  Beecher),  R.  V.  Car- 
rigdownan.    [D.K]     He  appears  from  1713  to  1725.     [V.B.] 
Richard    Hopkins,  son  of  Edward  Hopkins,  was  born  in 

Cork ;  and  when  seventeen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pen- 
sioner, on  16th  Nov.  1696. 

He  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  29th  Oct.  1710.     On 

10th  July,  1709,  he  was  admitted  (being  "  Diaconus,  in  artibus 

Magister")  ad  curatiam  Bregowne,  Marshallstowne,  Ballydo- 

loghy  et  Kilgulane.     [F.F.] 
1726  to  1735.  Peter  Bun  worth  (P.  Lackeen,  q.  v.),  appears  as  R. 

V.  Carrigdownan.     [V.B.] 
1735.  Dec.  19.  Peter  White,  a. b.  (vice  Bunworth,  resigned),  R  V. 

Carrigdownane.     [D.R.l     He  is  also   admitted   ad  curatiam 

Parochio)  de  Farrihy.     Tib.] 

Peter  White,  son  of  WiUiam  White,  generosi,  was  born  in 

Bandon;  and  when  eighteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.,  on  19th 

June,  1716. 

He  was  ortiained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  27th  February,  1728. 
He  was  licensed  to  the  Curacy  of  Grarrycloyne  and  Grenagh 


86  CABRIGDOWNAN.  [CLOTNB. 

on  16tb  Sept.  1731  ;  to  that  of  Donogbmore  on  15th  Septem- 
ber, 1733;  and  to  that  of  Nathlash  and  Templemologgj  in 
1735. 

He  died  in  1754. 

1754.  Oct.  7.  Joshua  Browne,  R.  V.  Carrigdownane,  and  Curate  of 

Farrab J.    [D.R]    In  1 759  Browne  became  V.  Castlel jons,  q.  ▼. 

1759.  August  7.  Enuuin)  Lombard,  a.m.  (vice  Browne,  resigned), 

R.  V.  Carrigdownane,  and  Curate  of  Farrahy.     [D.R. J     In 

1772  be  became  R.  Y.  Eilsbannig,  q.  v. 

1762.  The  value  of  Carrigdownane,  including  a  cure  of  £iO 
per  annum,  is  £60  per  annum.     [Atkin  Hajinan.] 
1765.  Sept  26.  Edward  Delany,  a.b.  (vice  Lombard,  resigned), 
R.  y.  Carrigdownane,  and  Curate  of  Farrahy.     [D.R.J    He 
became,  in  1793,  R.  V.  Whitecburch,  q.  v. 

1774.  Carigdownane,  otherwise  Carrigbonane,  rect.  and  tic. 
in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy ;  val.  £60  per  ann.     Church  in  ruins. 
Pat.  the  Bishop,     Glebe,  7a.  1r.  25p.  plant.     Proxy,  is.    The 
rect  formerly  belonged  to  the  Abbey  of  Bridgetown,  and  pays 
13«.  per  annum  crown  rent.     The  vie.  is  taxed  in  the  King's 
books  £5  10«.  sterling.    Inc.  Edward  Delany,  A.R    [Hingston.l 
1 785.  Protestant  parishioners  in  Carrigdownane,  1.  [Delany.] 
1788.  May  21.  James  Hinoston  (vice  Delany,  resigned),  R.  V.  Car- 
rigdownane.    [F.F.]     He  took  a  second  collation  on  3rd  June, 
1790,  to  Carrigdownane.     And  in  1799  became  R.  V.  Agabul- 
lege,  q.  v. 
1799.  March  19.  Tristram  Land,  a.b.  (vice  Hingston,  resigned), 
R.  V.  Carrigdownane.     [F.F.] 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families  in  Carrigdownane,  0. 
[Archb.  Brod.l 

1807.  Land  resides  at  Rathcormack,  where  he  is  Curate. 
[Pari.  Rep.] 

1809.  This  benefice  is  certified  to  the  Board  of  First  Fruits 
as  worth  £100  per  annum.     [D.K.I 

Tristram  Land  was  licensed  to  the  Curacy  of  Rathcormack 
on  25th  Sept  1773.     He  died  at  Rathcormack  on  10th  May, 
1812. 
1812.  Sept.  5.  WiLUAM  Dunn,  R.  V.  Carrigdownane.     [D.R.]     In 

1826  he  became  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  v. 
1826.  June  24.  Charles  Robert  Adams  (vice  Dunn,  resigned),  R 
V.  Carrigdownane.     [D.R.] 
1830.  Protestant  population,  4. 

1837.  Carrigdownane,  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  1 
English  mile  long  by  -^  broad,  containing  912  acres.  Gross 
population,  219.  No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition, 
£90.  10^  acres  of  glebe,  let  at  an  annual  rent  of  £12.  Sub- 
ject to  quit-rent,  £1  10«. ;  visitation  fees,  £1  5$, ;  diocesan 
schoolmaster,  15«.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resi- 
dent    No  church.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 


CLOTirS.]  CARRIGDOWNAN. — CARRIGLOGHER.  87 

C.  R.  Adams  (son  of  Rev.  Tobias  Adams,  V,  Ahern,  q.  v.), 
was  ordained  Deacon  on  12tL  Sept.  1802,  and  Priest  on  24tii 
Angnsi,  1803,  both  at  Clo3rne, 

He  was  licensed  on  let  April,  1804,  to  Dungoumey  curacy; 
and  on  8th  June,  1814,  to  that  of  Aghada.  He  held  along 
with  Oarrigdownane  the  P.  C.  Nohoval,  Cork,  from  1837  to 
1844. 

He  married,  on  15th  July,  1829,  at  St,  Mary,  Shandon,  Con- 
stance Buckmaster ;  and  by  her  left  issue  two  sons,  Benjamin- 
Hallowell  and  Thomas  Carpenter. 

He  was  buried  in  Cloyne  Cathedral  on  31st  January,  1844. 

In  1844,  on  the  death  of  Adams,  Carrigdowuane  was  sus- 
pended, and  the  revenues  were  transferred  to  the  Ecclesiastical 
Commissioners,  who  pay  £10  annually  to  the  Rector  of  Nath- 
lash  for  discharging  the  occasional  duties  of  Carrigdownane 
parish. 


CARRIGLOGHER, 

1291.  "Ftic'ladeCarrikelochir  Xs.  unde  decia  Xlld."     [Tax.  P. 

Nic]     N.B. — This  occurs  between  Rathgogan  and  Ballyhay. 
1591.  "Particula  de  Cariglohir  vacat."     [MSS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

This  follows  Ballyhay. 
1634.    "Particula  de  Carriglohir,   Dominus   Roch  tenet."     [R.V. 

1634.]     This  occurs  between  Ballyhay  and  Ardskeagh. 
1668   to  1674.  "Particula  de  Carrigloghier  spectat  ad  Norcott.** 

[V.B.]     Norcott  was  V.  Wallstown. 

1669.   "Carriglohir  p*ticula  sive  memb.  de  Wallestowne.** 

[V.B.  1669.] 
1682.  Carriglogher  is  mentioned  as  a  parish  in  the  Rural  Deanery 

of  Bothon,  by  Dean  Davies,  in  his  "  State  of  the  Diocese." 
1774.  "  Carriglogher,  a  particle,  scite  unknown."     [Hingston.] 


CARRIGROHANEBEG. 


1579.  August  12.  Charles  Field  is  collated  to  V.  Carrigrohanbeg. 
"  Yicaria  p*petua  de  Carrigrohan-beg  collata  est  in  Carolum 
fildium  core.  dioc.  clericum  XII.  die  August,  1579.  Vic.  est 
dioc.  Clonen.    Phil.  Goldeus  Registrarius.     [D.R.  Cork.] 

1633.  January  24.    Thomas  Black  well,  a.b.,  V.  G&rraclone  and 

Carrigrohanebeg,  ouas  vicarias  Epus  univit,  Inductus  fuit  2^ 

Feb.,   1633.     [R.V.  1634.]      In  1661   Blackwell  became  P. 

Cahirultan,  q.  v. 

"  R.  Carigrohanebeg  spectat  ad  Abb.  de   Mora.     Cormack 


88  CARRIOBOHASBBEG.  [CLOYNK. 

M^onogh  M'Carty,  Impropriator.  Val.  4  li.  per  an.  Vic^ 
Thomas  Blackwell.  Val.  4  li.  per  an.  Epus  confert.  [R.y. 
1634.] 

16 — ?  Phbliu  Fitzstmohs,  V.  Carrigrohanebeg.  He  was,  \n  1661, 
Precentor  of  Cork,  q,  v. 

1663  to  1665.  Mr.  William  Scbogos  appears  as  V.  Carrigrohane-beg. 
Rex  est  Rector.     [V.B.] 

William  Scroggs  made  his  will  on  27th  October,  1666,  and 
it  was  proved  on  24th  November  following.  I  give  an  extract 
from  it : — "  Imprimis,  I  give  to  my  seaven  children  twelve 
pence  a  piece — Item,  I  give  to  Dorothy,  my  wife,  all  the  rest 
of  my  goods,  chattels,  cattle,  and  money."  He  was  father  of 
William  Scroggs,  R.  Eilnemartery  ;  of  Charles,  also  R.  Eilne- 
martery ;  and  of  Benedict  Scroggs,  who  was  a  Scholar  T.C.D. 
in  1675. 

1666.  Vacant     [V.B.] 

1667.  May  26.  Richabdus  Clbbke  (Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v.)  instit. 
V.  Carrigrohanbegg  per  mortem  Philemi  Fitzsymons  in  colL 
Epi.     [V.B.  1669.] 

1668.  Rectoria  spectat  ad  Vic.  ratione  confiscationis.  [V.B.] 
1685/6.  January  25.  John  Toeway,  a.m.,  (vice  Clerke,  deceased), 

R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg,  and  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 
1687  or  1688.  Mathew  Jones  {vice  Torway),  R.  V.  Carrigrohanbeg, 
and  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 

He  appears  1693  to  1717.     [V.B.] 

1694.  R.V.  Carrigrohanbeg,  Mr.  Jones.  Val.£3  10«.  Epus 
patronus.     Nulla  ecclia.     [Palliser.] 

''Sept  1700.  The  chappel  at  Kerigroghanbeg  stands  on  the 
north  of  the  River  Lee,  over  against  Kerigrohan.  This  is 
uncovered.  The  north  wall  is  down.  The  rest  of  the  walls  are 
standing,  overgrown  with  ivy.  No  bounds  of  the  church-yard 
appear.  This  is  in  the  diocese  of  Cloyne."  [Dive  Downes'  TourJ 
1718  to  1734.  Thomas  Cooper  (P.  Coole,  q.  v.)  appears  as  R.  v. 
Carrigrohanebeg.     [V.B.] 

1728.  July  12.  Robert  Bulfell,  a.b.,  is  admitted  a(2  ci/ra^tom 
de  Carrigrohanebeg.     [D.R.] 
1734.  Sept.  19.  Robert  Bulfell,  a.b.  (per  cess  of  Thomas  Cooper), 
R.  and  V.  Carrigrohanebeg.     [D.R.]     He  was  also  R.  Kilcol- 
man,  q.  v. 
1755.    Oct.  10.    Nathaniel  Botse,  a.m.  (vice  Bulfell,  deceased), 
R.  and  V.  Carrigrohanebeg.     [F.F.]     In  1759  he  became  P. 
Lackeen,  q.  v. 
1759.  May  19.  Atkin  Hatuan  (vice  Boyse,  resigned),  R.  V.  Car- 
rigrohanebeg.     [D.R.]     In  1764  he  became  V.  Ballyclogh, 
q.  V. 

1762.  Carrigrohanebeg  is  worth  £100  per  an.  This  is  inclu- 
sive of  a  cure  (Youghal)  of  X25  a  year,  and  w^utt  Jte  can  catch; 
supposed  to  make  in  the  whole,  £40.     [Atkin  Uayraan.] 


CLOTNE.]  CARRIGROHANEBEG.  89 

1764.  July  3.  Jeremiah  Pratt,  ll.b.  (vice  Haynian,  resigned), 
R.  and  V.  Carrigrohanebeg,  and  Curate  of  Youghal.     [D.R.] 

1774.  Carrigrohan-beg,  otherwise  Killigrohan-beg,  rect.  and 
vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Barrets,  value  £70  per  an.  Church  in  ruins. 
Pat.  the  Bp.  Proxy,  45.  The  rect.  formerly  belonged  to  the 
Preceptory  of  Mourne,  and  pays  9«.  6d,  per  an.  crown-rent. 
Incumb.,  Jeremiah  Pratt,  a.m.     [Hingston.] 

Jeremiah  Pratt  (son  of  Jeremiah  Pratt,  mercatoris),  was  born 
in  Cork,  and  when  seventeen  years  old  obtained  a  Sizarship, 
T.O.D.,  on  26th  May,  1740,  and  became  a  Scholar  in  1743. 

He  was  ordained  Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  24th  August,  1754, 
On  3rd  November,  1753,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Clon- 
priest  and  Ardagh ;  and  from  1764  to  1777  he  was  Curate  of 
Youghal,  and  R.  V.  Carrigrohanbeg. 

He  married,  on  19th  July,  1764,  Mary  Ann  Green,  of 
Youghal.  He  died  on  22nd  January,  1777,  and  was  buried  on 
25th  January,  at  Youghal.  "  In  every  instance  a  most  worthy 
character."  [Youghal  Par.  Reg] 
1777.  April  3.  Geoege  Berkeley,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg,  als 
Killigrohanebeg.     [P.F.]     He  was  also  Vic.  Choral,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1785.  Protestant  population,  3.     [Berkeley.] 
1801.   August  26.    Joshua  Berkeley,  a.b.  (vice  G.  Berkeley,  re- 
signed), R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg.     [F.F.]     In  1824  he  became 
also  V.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families,  3.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

1806.  Berkeley  resides  near  his  parish.  No  church.  No 
glebe-house.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1825.  May  14.  Edward  Mitchell  Carleton  (vtc^  Joshua  Berkeley, 
deceased),  R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg.     [F.P.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  38. 

1837.  Carrigrohanebeg :  a  rectory,  with  cure,  2  miles  long 
by  1  broad,  containing  2,100a.  Gross  population,  659.  No 
Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £169  Is.;  subject  to 
visitation  fees,  65.  6d.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  resident, 
and  considers  £30  a  year  a  reasonable  sum  to  be  allowed  as 
house-rent.  No  church.  It  is  observed  that  the  church  in  this 
parish  has  been  in  ruins  from  time  immemorial,  but  divine 
service  is  celebrated  in  Incumbent's  house  once  on  Sundays. 
The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

E.  M.  Carleton  was  the  eldest  son  of  John  Carleton,  esq.,  of 
Woodside  (who  was  only  son  and  heir  of  Christopher  Carleton, 
esq.,  of  the  city  of  Cork),  by  Penelope,  dan.  of  George  Duns- 
come,  esq.,  of  Mount  Desert,  by  Penelope  Colthurst. 

He  was  ordained  Priest  by  the  Bishop  of  Cork,  on  23rd  Sept., 
1792,  and  on  4th  Oct.,  1793,  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of 
Carrigrohan,  Cork.  From  1803  to  1825  he  was  P.  St.  Michael's, 
Cork. 

He  married,  on  28th  January,  1799,  at  Christchnrch,  Cork, 


90  CABBIGROHANEBEa.  [CLOTKB. 

Elizabeth  Withers,  and  by  her  had  issue  six  sons,  John,  William, 
Edward,  Christopher,  George-Guy,  and  Robert- Farmer;  besides 
seven  daughters,  Jane  (wife  of  Henry  Baldwin  Foot,  esq.,  of 
Carrigaounna  Castle);  Penelope  (wife  of  Edward  Townsend 
Warren,  esq.) ;  Harriet  (wife  of  Rev,  J.  L,  Cotter,  V.  Bregoge, 
q.  V.)  ;  Mary  Anne,  Elisabeth,  Sarah,  and  Emily. 

The  Rev.  E.  M.  Carleton  died  in  1837. 
1837.  Nov.  7.  James  Gollock,  R.  Y.  Carrigrohanebeg.      In  1850 

he  became  V.  Desertserges,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1842.  September  9.  William  Speddinq  (vice  Gollock),  R.  Y.  Car- 
rigrohanebeg.    [D.R.] 

18G0.  No  church.  No  glebe-house.  Half  an  acre  of  glebe. 
No  school.  Incumbent  is  not  resident.  He  is  Chaplain  to  the 
garrison  at  Ballincollig,  in  the  parish  of  Carrigrohan,  Cork 
dioc.  The  Protestant  population  is  2.  The  rentcharge  is 
£127  per  annum,  and  the  Incumbent  has  also  a  stipend  as 
Military  Chaplain  at  Ballincollig. 

W.  Spedding  (son  of  D.  Spedding,  m.d.,  by  Wilhelmina  C. 
Beey),  was  born  near  Bray,  county  Dublin,  on  24th  March, 
1804;  and  was  educated  at  Mr.  Anderson's  school,  Hoeyfield, 
near  Delgany.  He  obtained  prizes  for  composition  and  reading 
tlie  Liturgy, and  graduated  A.B.,T.C.D.in  1830,  and  a.m.  in  1832. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  by  the  Bishop  of  Killaloe  on  26th 
August,  1832,  and  Priest,  at  Cork,  on  3l8t  March,  1833. 

He  became  Curate  of  Kilseily,  Killaloe,  on  20th  August, 
1832;  of  Kilbrogan,  Cork,  in  January,  1833;  and  on  16th 
Sept.,  1833,  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Kilnaglory. 

He  married,  on  23rd  Oct.,  1834,  Miss  Lydia  Brownrigg,  and 
by  her  had  issue  four  sons,  William-Alexander,  Robert-Deey, 
John-Brown rigg,  and  Benjamin-Henry ;  and  one  daughter, 
Wilhelmina-Elisabeth. 

In  1861  Mr.  Spedding  exchanged  Carrigrohanebeg  with  his 
successor  for  the  P.  Ballyhalbert,  in  the  diocese  of  Down. 
1861.  December  5.  Thomas  Nblioan  Eeabnbt,  ll.d.  (vice  Spedding, 
resigned),  R.  Y.  Carrigrohanebeg.     pD.R.] 

T.  N.  Kearney  (son  of  John  Kearney,  esq.,  a.m.,  ex-Scholar, 
T.C.D.,  who  was  the  eldest  son  of  Bernard  O'Kearney,  esq.,  of 
Thurles,  county  Tip.),  was  born  in  1819,  his  mother  being 
Maria,  second  daughter  of  Rev.  James  Neligan,  R.  Kilmactighe, 
Achonry. 

He  obtained  a  classical  sizarship  in  1838,  and  first  rank 
prizes  in  science  and  classics  in  1839.  In  1842  he  obtained 
scholarship,  and  took  the  first  place  at  the  general  degree 
examination  in  1844.     He  graduated  ll.d.  in  1855. 

He  was  ordained  in  1848  for  the  curacy  of  St.  Andrew's, 
Dublin  ;  in  1851  was  Rector  of  Rathfamham,  Dublin,  and 
exchanged  that  living  for  the  vicarage  of  Ballyhalbert,  diocese 
of  Down,  in  1854. 


CLOTHS.]  CARRIGROHANEBEO. — CARRIGTOWIL.  91 

He  marriei),  in  1856,  Martha  Matilda,  second  daughter  of 
Thomas  Neligan,  esq.,  late  Lieut.  83rd  Foot,  the  youngest  son 
of  Rev.  James  Neligau,  R.  Kilmactighe.  Dr.  Kearney  has 
issne  one  daughter,  Mary  Alice,  bom  in  1857. 


CARRIGTOWIL. 


1291  "Ecca  de  Carrugtochil  XVImr.'^unde  decima  XXIs.  Illld. 
Ecca  de  Kylcurfyn  XXs.  unde  decia  lis."     [Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1319.  JoiTN  DE  Baery  was  sued  for  the  advowson  of  Carrigtowil 
by  Thomas,  Prior  of  Botavaunt     [Rot.  Com.  Banc] 

1524.  Edward  Tyrey  appears  as  V.  Carrigtowil.  [D.R.]  And 
Edmond,  or  Edward  Tyrry,  "Vicar  de  Karrigthwohylle,"  is 
witness  to  a  deed,  dated  at  Cork,  9th  Feb.  1528.  [Caulfield 
MSS.] 

1591.  David  Tyrry  is  Vicar  of  Carrigtowil  and  Eilcurfin  : — '*  R. 
Carrigtowil  and  Kilcurfin,  spectat  ad  Ballebeg.  V.  Carrigto- 
wil and  Kilcurfin  David  Tyrry,  who  holds  one,  twoe,  three, 
foure,  fyve  livings."     [MS.  T.O.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  Thomas  Sherin  appears  as  Vicar  of  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcur- 
fin. **  Carrigtowil  (residons)  R.  impropriata.  Johes  Jephson, 
miles,  flirniarius.  Val.  30  li.  Vicarius  ibm  Thomas  Sherin, 
minister  ct  prcdicator,  iuserviens  curae.  Val.  10  li,  Ecclia 
repata,  cancella  in  ruina.  Kilcurfin  Rect  impropriata,  parti- 
cula  est  de  Carrigtowill.  Johes  Jephson,  miles,  firmarios. 
Vic.  Sherin  inserviens  curse.  Val.  in  precedente.  Ecclesia  et 
cancella  in  minis.'*     [R.V.  R.LA.] 

Thomas  Sherin,  Scholaris,  was  ordained  Deacon  and  Priest 
by  the  Bishop  of  Bath  and  Wells  on  18th  January,  1589.  On 
18th  Dec.  1591,  he  was  admitted  V.  Kinsalebeg  and  Lisgennon, 
in  Lismore  diocese.  In  1615  he  appears  as  V.  Carrigtowil ;  in 
1617,  Oct.  15,  he  became  Treasurer  of  Lismore.  [MS.  Consist. 
Dub.] 

1618.  Oct  31.  SciPio  Stukley,  V.  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcurfin.  [F.F.] 
In  1616  he  was  Vicar  of  Cajstrachore,  and  of  four  other  parishes. 

1633  April  1.  John  Love,  V.  Carrigtogh ill  and  Kilcurfin.  Inducted 
6th  April,  1633.     [R.V.  1634.] 

**  E.  de  Carrigtowill.  Prior  Bothon  Rector.  Johes  Jephson, 
miles,  Impropriator.  Valet  30  li.  per  an.  V.  John  Lowe  (or 
Love).  Valet  18  li.  per  an.  Epus  confert.''  "  E.  de  Kilcur- 
fin— Similiter.  Val.  10  li.  per  an.  V.  idem  Lowe.  Valet  6 
li.  per.     Epus.  confert."     [R.V.  1634.] 

John  Love,  I'raiuSi  was  ordained  Deacon  by  **  William 
Oxon"  on  5th  March,  1614,  and  Priest  by  the  same  Bishop  on 
25th  Feb.  1615. 


92  CARRIGTOWIL.  [CLOTNE. 

1661  and  1662.  Mr.  Robert  Shaw  appears  as  V.  Carrigtowil,  Kil- 
curfin,  Clonroel,  and  Templerobin,  and  also  as  Treasurer  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1663.  June  22.  Thomas  Smith  is  admitted  Vicar  de  Carrigtoghill 
et  particula  de  Kilcurfin,  R.  de  Mogeasagh  et  V.  de  Temple- 
robin.     [F.F.]     He  was  in  1665  (?)  P.  Cooline,  q.  v. 

1665.  Nov.  3.  Vacant,  per  mortem  Thomjb  Smith.     [V.B.] 

1666.  January  20.  Nathaniel  Giles,  instit.  per  mortem  Thomas 
Smith,  R.  Mogeasagh,  V.  Templerobin,  Carrigtowell,  cum 
pticula  Kilcurfin  et  Clonniel.     [V.B.  1669.]      Vide  Clonmel. 

Giles  appears  in  1670.     [V.B.J 
1671  and  1672.  Nathaniel  Escot  (V.  Clonmel,  q.  v.),  appears  aa 
V.  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcurfin.     [V.B.] 

1673.  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcurfin  are  vacant.     [V.B.] 

1674.  June  6.  Rowland  Davies  is  admitted  V.  Carrigtowil  and 
Kilcurfin,  R.  Mogeesha,  V.  Clonmel,  and  Templerobin,  and  P. 
Inskenny,  Cork.  [F.F.]  In  1709  he  became  Dean  of  Cork.  q.  v. 

1676.  Nov.  27.  Benjamin  Luket  (vice  Davies,  resigned),  V.  Carrig- 
towil and  Kilcurfin,  R.  Mogeesha,  and  V.  Clonmell.  [F.F.] 
In  1691  he  was  also  V.  Ca^trachore,  q.  v. 

1694.  Vicaria  de  Carrigtoghill ;  val  £24.  Mr.  B.  Lukey 
cursB  animarum  deligentur  incumbit  et  ecclesise,  quarum  est 
incumbens,  sunt  contigun?.  Comes  de  Barrimore  et  Dominus 
Epus  alternis  vicibus  patroni.  Ecclia  bona  reparatu.  Impro- 
priator of  Carrigtohill,  Mr.  Benjamin  Lukey.     [Palliaer.] 

1698.  Dec.  27.  Richard  Roffen  (vice  Lukey,  deceased),  V.  Carrig- 
towil and  Kilcurfin.     [F.F.]     He  was  also  P.  Cahirlag,  q.  v. 

1725.  May  19.  Valentine  French  (vice  Roffen,  deceased),  V.  Car- 
rigtowil and  Kilcurfin,  on  alternate  patronage  of  James,  Earl 
of  Barrymore.     [D.R.]     He  was  also  Dean  of  Ross,  q.  v. 

1732.  December  22.  Thomas  Frankland,  a.m.  (vice  French,  de- 
ceased), V.  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcurfin,  in  coll.  Epi.  [D.R.] 
He  was  also  P.  Killinemer,  q.  v. 

In  1762,  Prebendary  Frankland  non-resident.  Carrigtowil 
yearly  income,  £90.     [Hayman  MSS.] 

1774.  Carrigtwohil  vie,  with  the  particle  Kilcurfin,  in  the 
bar.  of  Barrymore ;  value  £150  per  an.  Church  in  repair.  Pat. 
the  Bp.  and  the  Earl  of  Barrymore  alternately.  Glebe,  6a.  En. 
Proxy,  105.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £2  ster.  Incumb. 
Thomas  Frankland,  a.m.  The  rect.  is  imp.  George  Lukey, 
esq.,  Imp.     Proxy,  12«.     [Kingston.] 

1776.  January  13.  William  Berkblet  (vice  Frankland,  deceased), 
V.  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcurfin.  [F.F.]  In  1779  he  became  P. 
Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

1779.  April  3.  Robert  Dbino,  a.m.  (vice  Berkeley,  resigned),  is  in- 
stituted by  mandamus.  The  certificate  of  Michael,  Archbishop 
of  Cashel,  bears  date  3rd  Nov.  1779.  On  9th  March,  1780, 
Dring  is  also  admitted  to  V.  Kilcurfin.     [F.F.] 


dOTNE.]  CARRIQTOWIL.  93 

1780.  Feb.  15.  A  deed  of  conveyance  of  tbe  alternate  pre- 
sentation to  Carrigtowhill  and  Kilcurfin  is  made  by  Wm.  Ton- 
son  to  tbe  Countess  of  Barrymore.     [D.R.] 

1785.  Tbe  Protestant  population  of  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcur- 
fin is  21.     [Dring.] 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families,  10.     [Arcbb.  Brod.] 

Robert  Dring  (son  of  Simon  Dring,  esq.,  by  Mary  Lombard), 
was  ordained  on  22nd  Sept.  1771,  and  Priest  on  9tb  August, 
1772,  botb  at  Cork. 

On  4tb  May,  1773,  be  was  licensed  to  tbe  Curacy  of  Bath- 
cony;  and  from  1779  to  bis  deatb  in  1805  be  was  V.  Carrig- 
towil. 

He  married  Eleanor,  dau.  of  Robert  Uniacke,  esq.,  of  Cork- 
beg  [MS.  18tb  May,  1782],  and  by  ber  left  issue  a  son,  Robert- 
Cbristopber;  and  four  daughters — Frances  (wife  to  Adam 
Newman,  esq.,  of  Dromore) ;  Mary  (wife  of  Rev.  Joseph  Jer- 
vois,  K  Ardagh,  q.  v.) ;  Helen  (wife  of  Thomas  O'Grady, 
brother  to  Lord  Guillamore)  ;  and  Clotilda-Elisabeth. 

The  Rev.  R.  Dring  was  of  Rockgrove,  county  Cork. 
1806.  January  7.  Henry  Johnston,  V.  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcurfin, 
in  Coll.  Epi.     [D.R.] 

1807.  Johnston  resides  on  bis  other  living  in  Limerick. 
[Rep.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  101. 

1837.  Carrigtwohil,  a  vicarage,  with  cure,  5  miles  long  by 
4|  broad,  containing  15,550a.  1r.  25p.  Gross  population, 
3,666.  One  Curate  employed,  at  an  annual  stipend  of  £69 
4«.  7id.  British,  and  the  use  of  the  glebe-bouse.  Composition 
for  vicarial  tithes,  £345  1».  4d  24a.  Ir.  7^p.  statute  measure, 
of  glebe,  valued  at  £22  10«.  Subject  to  glebe-rent,  £12.  Visi- 
tation fees,  £1  ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  14«.  Carrigtwohili 
glebe-house,  built  in  1822  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of 
£784  128.  3}d  British,  whereof  £276  18«.  d^d.  was  granted 
in  way  of  gift,  and  £415  7«.  S^d.  in  that  of  loan  by  the  late 
Board  of  First  Fruits;  and  tbe  residue  of  £92  6«.  1|<£.  was 
supplied  out  of  the  private  funds  of  Incumbent,  who  will  be 
entitled  to  receive  the  whole  of  the  sum  last  mentioned  from 
his  successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there  remained  £420 
18s,  lOd.  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by 
annual  instalments  of  £22  3«.  Incumbent  is  non-resident ;  he 
resides  on  his  other  benefice  in  this  diocese.  The  Curate  re- 
sides in  the  glebe-house.  One  church,  capable  of  accommo- 
dating 90  persons,  but  when,  or  at  what  cost  built  unknown. 
No  charge  on  tbe  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church. 
Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  all  Sundays,  and  on  the 
principal  festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  monthly. 
The  rectorial,  consisting  of  two-thirds  of  the  tithes  of  this 
parish,  compounded  for  £690  2«.  &d»  are  impropriate,  and  be- 


94  CARRIGTOWIL. CASTLELTONS.  [CLOTNB. 

long  to  George  Lukey,  of  Middleton,  esq.  The  Bishop,  alter- 
nately with  the  representatives  of  Mr.  Anderson,  of  Fermoy, 
has  the  patronage  of  Carrigtowil.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

Henry  Johnson  (a  nephew  of  Bishop  Bennet,  of  Cloyne),  was 
ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  Ist  Sept.  1799.  In  1803  he 
was  Curate  of  Clonpriest.  In  1806  he  oecame  V.  Carrigtowil; 
and  in  1819  R.  Magonrney.  He  held  both  livings  until 
his  death,  on  4th  March,  1840.  He  left  issue  by  his  wife, 
Elisabeth  Eustace,  htter  alios,  a  son.  Rev.  Benjamin  Henry 
Johnson,  of  Montpelier-hill,  near  Dublin,  who  was  ordained 
Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  11th  January,  1835,  for  his  father's  curacy 
of  Magoumey,  and  who  was  admitted  to  Priest's  orders  at  Cork 
on  13th  Angust,  1837. 
1840.  Sept.  4.  William  Herbert  Saunders,  V.  Carrigtowil  and 
Kilcurfin.     Patron,  William  Herbert  Saunders,  esq.     [F.F.] 

1860.  The  church  in  order.  A  glebe-house  and  12  acres  of 
glebe  in  Incumbent's  use.  Divine  service  once  on  all  Sundays 
and  on  the  usual  holidajrs.  Sacrament  8  times  a-year ;  average 
of  communicants,  12.  No  school.  The  Protestant  population 
is  64.  The  rentcharge  was  reduced  by  the  com  averages  in 
1854  to  £219  4«.  2{d,  The  land  is  worth  £22.  Total  value, 
£241  4«.  2\d.y  with  residence. 

W.  H.  Saunders  (son  of  the  late  John  Saunders,  esq.,  by 
Catherine,  dau.  of  Noblet  Rogers,  esq.,  of  Lota,  and  relict  of 
Michael  Morrison,  esq.)  is  grandson  of  Rev.  William  Herbert 
Saunders,  who  married  Alice,  dau.  of  William  Freeman,  esq., 

of  Glenanore,  relict  of Lane,  esq.,  of  Cork.     The  Rev.  W. 

H.  Saunders  last  mentioned  was  son  of  Arthur  Saunders,  who 
married  Miss  Bolton,  of  Toughal,  which  Arthur  was  of  Rillar- 
ney,  and  was  son  of  Arthur  Saunders,  esq.,  of  Currens,  county 
Kerry,  whose  wife  was  Lucy  Herbert,  of  Brewsterfield,  KiUar- 
ney. 

Mr.  Saunders  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cork  on  11th  Sept. 
1836,  for  the  curacy  of  St  Nicholas,  Cork. 


CASTLELYONS. 


1 291 .  *'  Ecca  de  Casto  de  Clethan  XXmr.  u  nde  decima  Ilmr."    [Tax. 

P.  Nic] 
1402.  May  11.  Dominus  Thomas  appears  as  Vicarius  de  Castelole- 

than.     [Cauifield's  Pipe  Roll,  p.  (}5.'\ 
1591.  '*R  de  Castlelions  rrior  de  Bothon.    Vic.  James  Prbhper- 

OASTE."    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.]     Prendergaste  was  also  P. 

Coole,  q.  V. 
1615.  ''R.  imp.  Johes  Jephson,  miles,  firmarius.     YaL  20  IL     Vic. 

Thomas  Llotp.    Yal.  10  li.    Ecclia  repata  et  pro  repatione 


CLOTNE.]  CASTLELT0N8.  95 

•   cancellsB  Ordinarius  accepit  obligationem.     Curatus,  Thomas 
HoLFoBD,  minister  legens.     Vic.  non  residens.     Curatus  resi- 
dens."     [R.V.  R.I. A.]     Lloyd  was  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
Holford  was  also,  in  1637,  Treasurer  of  Clojme,  q.  v. 

1631.  Feb.  27.  John  Etelbigh  is  admitted  to  ^'Vic.  de  Castle 
0  Leoghane."     [F.F.] 

Eveleigh  was  Chancellor  of  Ross,  and  afterwards  became 
Dean  of  Ross,  q.  v. 

1632.  July  25.  Edward  Byam,  a.m.,  is  admitted  to  V.  Castle- 
legbane.  [R.V.  1634.]  He  was  also  Precentor  of  Cloyne, 
q.  V. 

R.  de  Castlelions  spectat  ad  Prior  Botbon.  Job€s  Jepson 
miles  firmarius.  Valet  55  li.  per  an.  Vic.  Edward  Byam. 
Val.  25  li.  per.  an.    Comes  Barrymore,  patronus.     [R.V.  1634.] 

Rev.  E.  Byam  died  in  1639. 
1661.  Nov.  12.  "  Mr.  Robert  Browne  tenet  [vicariam  de  Castle- 
lyons]  per  seqnestracionem.  Monitus  fuit  ad  exbibend.  litt 
ordinum  in  primaria  visitatione.  Non  snnt  exbibita.  Ordered 
to  produce  tbem  on  the  morrow."  [V.B.  D.R.]  On  the  26th 
April  following  "  Mr.  Browne  comp.  ad  exbibend  litteras  ordi- 
nacionis."  [V.B.  D.R.]  And  on  4th  May,  1663,  "  Robertus 
Browne  instit.  ad  V.  Castle  O'Leaghane  p'  mortem  Edwardi 
Byam."  [V.B.  1669.]  On  the  same  day  he  was  admitted  to 
V.  de  Clondulane,  Nathlash,  and  Kildorrery.  [D.R.]  In  1666 
he  was  also  R.  Bretway. 
1677.  Sept.  26.  Henry  Harrison,  V.  Castlelyons,  Clondulane,  R. 
V.  Nathlash,  V.  Kildorrery,  and  R.  Bretway.  [F.F.]  He 
took  a  second  collation  to  Castlelyons  on  Oct.  20,  1712.     [D.R.] 

1682.  January  2.  Garrett  FitzQerald,  of  Qillabby,  and  John 
Gwynn,  are  appointed  Sequestrators,  "Decimarum  <tc.,  spect. 
ad  R.  Castleleaghane,  John  Jephson  armiger,  et  Decimarum 
spt  ad  V.  Castleleaghane,  R.  V.  Nathlash,  V.  Kildorrery,  V. 
Clondulane,  E.  Bretway,  E.  Boghillane,  R.  imp.  Kilmaghan  and 
V.  ibm.,  P.  Cooliny,  V.  LiscarroU,  V.  Bregoge,  V.  Tullalisb,  R 
Knocktemple,  V.  Clonfert,  P.  Kilmaclenine,  E.  Moyalloe, 
Morneabbey,  V.  Ballyclogh,  V.  Dromdowny,  E.  Killeagh,  R. 
V.  Dingindonovan,  R.  V.  Clonmult,  R.  V.  Inchinabacky,  R. 
Desert,  R.  V.  Gortroe,  pticula  Regan,  V.  Rathgogan,  V.  Shan- 
drom,  R.  V.  Ballyhay,  E.  Bruhenny,  E.  Ballynoran,  R.  V.  Aga- 
bullog,  R.  Aghinagh,  R.  V.  Kilcolman,  Eee,  imp.  Moyalloe, 
Tullalisb,  Macrony,  Clondullane,  Leitrim,  Kilcruniper,  R.  Mar- 
ehalstown,  Clancore,  et  R.  V.  Templegall.     [D.R.  Cork.] 

1694.  Vicaria  de  Castleoleaghan,  val.  1 6  pounds.  Mr.  Henry 
Harrison  curse  animarum  incumbit.  Dominus  Epus  patronus. 
Ecclesia  de  Castleoleaghan  bene  reparata.  Johes  Jephson, 
armiger  olim  impropriator,  nunc   vendit   M.    Purdon   vidusB. 

SEiUiser.]     Clondulane  vicarage,  val.  12  pounds.    Nulla  ecclia. 
ward  Boyle,  Impropriator.     All  Mr.  Harrison's  livings  lie 


96  CASTLELYONS.  [CLOTKE. 

coDtiguoQS,  and  are  united  pro  hac  vice.     Beet.  imp.  de  Olon- 
dulane  ;  vaL  24  pounds.     [Palliser.] 

1703.  Humphrey  Sheares,  of  Cork,  in  his  will  (dated  30th 
October,  and  proved  11th  Dec.  1703),  bequeathed  "tenne 
pounds  sterling,  the  interest  to  be  given  yearly  to  foar  of  the 
most  indigent  housekeepers  of  the  Protestant  religion  of  the 
nearest  relation  to  testator  in  the  parish  of  Gastlelyons.  Hum- 
phreys left  issue  three  sons — Humphrey  (married,  and  having 
an  only  son,  Thomas) ;  Christopher  (P.  Killaspugmullane,  Cork, 
q.  V.) ;  and  Robert ;  besides  daughters.     [Cork  Wills.] 

Henry  Harrison,  from  J  671  to  1G77,  was  V.  Skerke,  Clar- 
age,  and  Dungarvan,  in  Ossory  diocese  ;  and  in  1675  was  abo 
V.  Templeathy,  Lismore.  [Lib.  Mun.]  From  1677  to  1747 
he  was  R.  Bret  way,  V.  CasUelyons,  Ciondulane,  Nathlash,  and 
Kildorrery ;  and  from  1685  to  1747  was  also  V.  Ahem  and 
Ballynoe. 

Ue  died  in  1747  ;  and  of  him  Smith  records  as  follows  : — 
"  The  late  Rev.  Mr.  Harrison,  of  Carrigabrick,  gave  £1,000 
lately  to  the  charter  schools  of  this  kingdom.'*  [Smith's  Cork, 
vol.  i.  p.  349.] 

His  son,  Henry,  was  P.  St.  Michael's,  Cork,  in  1705. 
1748.  Feb.  7.  William  Spratt,  a.b.  (vice  Harrison,  deceased),  V. 
Castlelyons  and  Ciondulane.     [D.R.] 

William  Spratt  (grandson  of  Devereux  Spratt,  P.  Brigowne, 
q.  v.),  was  son  of  Devereux  Spratt,  esq.,  and  was  born  at  Mit- 
chelstown,  county  Cork,  in  1712.  He  entered  T.C.D.  on  7th 
Feb.,  1718,  when  sixteen  years  old,  and  afterwards  graduated 

A.B. 

He  was  nominated  to  the  curacy  of  Castlelyons  in  1727,  and 
was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  23rd  Sept  1728.  From 
1747  to  1748  he  was  R.  V.  Ballyvoumey. 

He  died  in  1750  or  1751. 
1751.  April  5.  Chables  Pebckval,  V.  Castlelyons  and  Ciondulane. 
[F.F.]     In  1759  he  was  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  q.  v. 

1 752.  Aug.  27.  '*  Resolved  to  reduce  from  6  to  5  per  cent 
the  interest  of  £500  bequeathed  by  Mr.  Henry  Harrison,  late 
Vicar  of  Castlelions,  to  Dean  and  Chapter,  in  trust  for  the  Pro- 
testant poor  of  said  parish."  On  21st  June,  1759,  Mr.  Charles 
Perceval  is  ordered  to  receive  the  interest  of  the  said  £500,  the 
principal  to  be  lodged  in  Mr.  Falkiner's  bank  in  Cork.  [Cloyne 
Chapter  Book.] 
1759.  August  7.  Joshua  Bbownb,  a.m.  (vice  Perceval,  deceased),  V. 
Castlelyons.     [F.F.] 

1762.  Yearly  income  of  Castlelyons,  £100.     [Hayman.] 

1774.  Castlelehan,  otherwise  Castlelyon,  vie.  It  lies  part  in 
the  bar.  of  Fermoy,  and  part  in  that  of  Condon  and  Clangibbon  ; 
value  £150  per  an.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.  the  Bishop. 
Qlebe,  2a.  3ft.  12p.     Proxy,  6$.  ScL    Taxed  in  the  King's 


GLOTlTB.]  CA8TLELT0KS.  97 

bookcs  £5  128,  sterling.  Incnmbeni,  Joshua  Brown,  a.m.  The 
rect  is  imp.  John  Hely  Hutchinson,  Impropriator.  Proxy, 
10«.     [HingstoD.] 

1785.  Protestant  population,  90. 

Joshua  Browne  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  24th 
August,  1 7*^)4  ;  and  on  7th  Oct.  following  was  licensed  to  the 
curacy  of  Farrahy.  From  1754  to  1759  he  was  R.  V.  Carrig- 
downane ;  and  from  1759  to  his  death  in  1795  was  V.  Castle- 
lyons. 

He  married,  in  1759,  Margaret^  dau.  of  Llewellin  Nash,  of 
Farrihy;  and  by  her  had  issue  a  daughter,  Margaret,  wife  of 
Rev.  John  Ryder,  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1795.  May  12.  Henry  Sandifoed,  V.  Castlelyons.     [F.F.]     He 

was  also  Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1T96.  Feb.  1.  Gustavus  Wybrants  (vice  Sandiford,  resigned),  V. 
Cajstlelyons.     [F.F.] 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families,  44.     [Archb.  Brod.] 

1807.  Wybrants  resides  on  his  other  living  in  Limerick 
diocese.  The  duties  are  performed  by  Rev.  John  Edgar,  who 
is  Curate,  at  £50  stipend,  and  resides  close  to  the  church. 
There  is  no  glebe-house.     [Rep.] 

Gustavus  Wybrants  was  descended  from  Joseph  Peter  Wy- 
brants, who  came  from  Antwerp  to  Dublin  in  1G22,  and  was 
naturalized  in  1623.  He  is  thought  to  have  returned  to  Hol- 
land, and  to  have  brought  his  wife  and  other  children  to  his 
native  country.  However,  one  of  his  sons,  Peter,  remained  in 
Dublin,  and  left  issue,  [vide  his  will,  dated  7th  August,  and 
proved  21st  Oct.  1639,]  by  his  wife,  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  John 
Rantoq)S,  of  Lyenborgh,  in  Germany,  a  son,  Peter,  who  was, 
in  1658,  Mayor  of  Dublin.  This  last-named  Peter  married 
Sarah,  dau.  of  Bartholomew  Drope,  of  London,  and  died  intes- 
tate, leaving  (besides  a  son,  Peter,  to  whom  administration 
of  his  father*s  effects  was  granted  on  7th  Nov.  1699),  a  son, 
Bartholomew,  who  was  father  to  Rev.  Peter  Wybrants,  who 
married  Margaret,  dau.  of  Rev.  Steplien  Handcock,  Dean  of 
Clonmacnoise.  The  children  of  this  marriage  wore  three 
daughters — Hannah,  wife  of  Rev.  Daniel  Mathews  ;  Anne,  and 
Elisabeth  ;  besides  a  son,  Stephen,  who  married,  in  1752,  Alicia 
Cane.  This  Stephen  last  named  had  issue,  besides  eight  child- 
ren, who  died  unmarried,  Peter  (eldest  son)  who  marrie<l  Martha 
Burton,  and  had  issue  a  daughter,  Maria-Jane,  and  two  other 
children,  both  dead;  Robert  (second  son)  who,  by  his  wife, 
Christiana  Browne,  had  issue,  Robert,  now  of  47,  Rutland- 
square,  Dublin,  who  married,  firstly,  Emily  Trevilian  ;  and 
secondly,  Maria  M'Grigor  Skinner,  but  has  no  issue ;  and 
Gustavus  (fifth  son)  the  V.  Castlelyons. 

The  above  account  of  the  Wybrants  family  has  been  taken 
from  the  MSS.  of  the  late  Sir  W.  Betham,  now  in  the  Ulster 

YOL.  II.  H 


98  CA8TLELYON8.  [ctOTNE, 

Office,  witb  some  additions  from  family  papers  now  in  the  pos- 
session of  Robert  Wybrants,  esq,,  of  Rutland-square,  wbo  is 
also  owner  of  the  houses  on  MerchaHts*«>quaj  and  in  Bridge- 
street,  mentioned  by  Gilbert  (in  his  History  of  Dublin,  vol.  i. 
pp,  330  and  375)  to  have  been  occupied  by  Alderman  Peter 
WybranU  in  1658  and  1669, 

The  Rev,  Gnstavus  Wybrants  was,  from  1793  to  1824,  Rector 
of  the  union  of  Askeaton,  in  the  diocese  of  Limerick;  and  from 
1796  to  his  death  in  March,  1824,  V,  Castlelyons. 

He  married,  in  1797,  Mary,  relict  of  Rev.  Arthur  Cham- 
pagne, and  dau.  of  Rev.  Philip  Honian,  He  left  issue  by 
her  one  son,  Stephen-William,  deceased ;  and  six  daughters — 
Mary- Anne,  wife  of  Lieut,-Col,  Middleton,  42nd  Regt, ;  Alice 
(deceased)  who  was  wife  to  Rev.  Edward  Herbert,  P.  Kilpeacon, 
Limerick  ;  Henrietta  (deceased)  who  was  wife  to  Charles-Paul 
Dawson,  esq. ;  Elisabeth  (deceased)  who  was  wife  to  Charles- 
Widenham  Fosbery,  esq. ;  Frances-Harriet ;  and  Letitia. 
1824.  July  17.  Abthue  Champaqnb,  a.m.  (vice  Wybrants,  deceased), 
V.  CasUelyons.     [F.F.] 

Arthur  Champagne  was  a  descendant  of  the  ancient  family  of 
De  Robillard,  of  Saintonge,  in  France.  His  more  immediate 
ancestor  was  the  Chevalier  Josias  de  Robillard,  Seigneur  de 
Champagne,  in  the  parish  of  Torc^,  in  Saintonge,  who  left  that 
place  at  the  revocation  of  the  edict  of  Nantes,  and  became  a 
Captain  in  Scravenmore's  dragoons.  He  was  deputed  by  the 
Huguenot  officers  of  William's  army  to  represent  their  suffer- 
ings and  privations  to  government,  and  for  that  purpose  re- 
mained in  London  after  the  departure  of  his  companions  for 
Ireland.  The  efforts  he  made  to  come  up  with  his  regiment, 
and  the  fatigue  he  underwent,  brought  on  so  severe  an  illness, 
that  he  died  in  Belfast,  in  October,  1688.  He  took  the  name  of 
Champagne  instead  of  de  Robillard,  according  to  the  practice 
of  all  refugees  of  landed  property,  who  adopted  generally  their 
territorial  designation  in  place  of  the  patronymic. 

His  wife  was  Marie  de  la  Roohefoucauld,  a  daughter  of  that 
great  ducal  house,  and  her  genealogy  can  be  traced  in  an  unbroken 
line  from  "  vir  illustrissimus  et  potentissimus  Fulcandus  de 
Castro  qui  rocatur  Rocha,**  otherwise  "de  Rupe  Fulcandus," of 
the  11th  century.  By  this  lady,  who  was  buried  at  Portar- 
lington,  the  Chevalier  had  issue  two  sons,  Josias  and  Augustus; 
and  a  daughter,  Susanne,  wife  of  the  Baron  Tonnay-boutonne 
et  de  St.  Surin,  and  mother  by  him,  of  Henri  Auguste,  Baron 
de  la  Motte  Fouque,  the  celebrated  Prussian  General  under 
Frederick  the  Great,  grandfather  of  Baron  de  la  Motte  Fouque, 
the  distinguished  German  writer  of  romance. 

The  Chevalier's  eldest  son,  Josias,  accompanied  his  parent  in 
his  exile,  and  was  Ensign  in  La  Mcllionier's  regiment  at  the 
Buyne  when  but  seventeen  years  old,  where  ho  so  distin- 


OLOTNE.]  CASTLELTONS.  99 

gnished  himself  that  he  was  appoiDted  Aide-de-camp  to  the 
Lord  Lieatenant,  and  afterwards  attained  the  rank  of  Major  in 
the  army.  This  Major  Josias  Champagne  married  Jane,  the 
eldest  daughter  of  Arthur  Forhes,  second  Earl  of  Oranard,  and 
had  issue  by  her  an  only  son,  Arthur  Champagne  (bom  1714, 
died  1800)  who  was  in  holy  orders,  and  held,  among  other 
church  pr^erments,  the  deanery  of  Clonmacnoise. 

Dean  Arthur  Champagne  married  Marianne,  dau.  of  Major 
(afterwards  Colonel)  Isaac  Hamon,  and  by  her,  who  was  buried 
at  Mallow,  county  Cork,  on  22nd  August,  1784,  had  issue 
four  sons  : — 1.  Arthur,  in  holy  orders,  P.  Monnehonnock,  St. 
Patrick's,  Dublin,  and  R.  Cloncah,  Derry.  He  married,  in 
May,  1788,  Mary,  dau.  of  Rev.  Philip  Homan,  of  Siroch,  county 
Westmeath,  and  died  in  1791,  leaving  an  elder  son,  Arthur, 
y.  Castlelyons,  and  a  posthumous  ehild,  Forbes;  2.  George, 
Canon  of  Windsor,  and  Rector  of  Twickenham ;  3.  Forbes,  a 
Brigadier-General ;  4.  General  Sir  Josias,  who  married  Dorcas, 
sister  of  Rev.  Thomas  Brownri gg,  of  Rathdowny,  county  Wick- 
low,  and  Ballydaniel,  county  Wexford,  and  relict  of White, 

esq.  Sir  Josias  left  an  only  child,  Artliur,  of  55,  Harley-street, 
Cavendish-square,  London.  Dean  Champagne  had  also  six 
daughters : — 1.  Jane,  CouifTESS  of  Uxbbidoe  ;  2.  Henrietta, 
wife  of  Sir  Frasmvs  Dixon  Borrgwes,  Baronet ;  3.  Marianne, 
wife  of  Sir  Charles  Des  YiEux,  Bart. ;  4.  Charlotte,  wife 
of  Colonel  William  Armstrong.  5.  Deborah,  wife  of  Rev. 
Samuel  Close,  of  Elm  Park,  county  Armagh ;  6.  Letitia,  wife 
of  George  Stepney,  esq.,  of  Durrow,  King's  county;  and  after 
his  death  wife  of  Edward  Skeffington  Smyth,  esq.,  of  Mount 
Harry,  Queen's  county. 

The  Vicar  of  Castlelyons  had  been  P.  C.  of  Durrow,  Meath, 
before  he  accepted  Castlelyons.  He  was  presented  to  Durrow 
by  his  cousin.  Colonel  Stepney.  He  resigned  Castlelyons  in 
1830,  and  resided  afterwards  in  the  county  Limerick.  Having 
succeeded  to  the  estates  of  his  uncles,  George  and  Forbes,  and 
of  his  brother,  Forbes,  he  died,  unmarried,  in  Dublin,  on  2nd 
Nov.,  1862. 
1830.  April  20.  Philip  Berry,  a  b.,  V.  Castlelyons.    [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  179. 

1837.  Castlelyons;  a  vicarage,  with  cure,  6  miles  long  by  3 
broa<l,  containing  11,680a.  Gross  population,  5,G47.  One 
Curate  employed,  at  an  annual  stipend  of  JLH  Brit  Compo- 
sition for  the  vicarial  tithes,  £bl\  3«.  8^^.  9  acres  of  glebe 
in  Incumbent's  use,  valued  at  30«.  per  acre,  £\Z  10«.,  subject  to 
glebe-rent,  £17  6«.  %d.\  visitation  fees,  £1  16«. ;  diocesan 
schoolmaster,  158.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  usually  resi- 
dent, and  pays  the  sum  of  JLoO  per  annum  for  house-rent  One 
church,  capable  of  containing  200  persons,  rebuilt  about  sixty 
years  since,  at  the  private  expense  of  the  Barrymore  fiamily, 

TOL.  II.  H  2 


100  CA8TLBLT0V8. — CA6TLEHA0NEB.  [CLOTNE. 

the  amouDt  of  which  is  nnknown.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in 
1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated 
twice  on  Sundays  in  summer  and  once  in  winter,  and  on  the 
principal  festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  eight  times 
m  the  year.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  two* thirds  of  the  tithes 
of  this  parish,  compounded  for  £1,142  7«.  5d,,  are  impropriate, 
and  held  under  lease  by  Joseph  B.  Ryder,  clerk,  from  the  repre- 
sentatives of  Mr.  Travers.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1849.  A  fELCulty  was  issued  for  the  repair  of  the  church. 
[D.R.] 

1860.  P.  Berry,  Vicar.  Samuel  Penrose,  Curate.  No  glebe- 
house.  9  acres  of  glebe  in  Vicar's  use.  Incumbent  absent 
from  ill-health.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays,  and  once 
on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly,  average  of  com- 
municants, 21 ;  and  on  the  three  chief  festivals,  average,  34. 
21  children  attend  a  school  maintained  by  Vicar.  The  Protes- 
tant population  is  148.  The  rentcharge  is  £428  7i.  9^^.  The 
land  is  worth  £13.   Total  value,  £441  7$.  9d ,  without  residence. 

P.  Berry  (son  of  Berry,  esq.,  by  ,  daughter  of 

Rev.  Philip  Homan),  is  a  younger  brother  of  Thomas  Berry, 
esq.,  of  Hume^street,  Dublin,  and  was  first-cousin  to  his  prede- 
cessor, who  resigned  in  his  ^Eivour.  He  graduated  a.b.,  T.O.D.  . 
in  1823,  and  a.m.  in  1832.  In  182d  he  was  Curate  of  St 
Stephen's,  Dublin.  In  1862  he  resigned  Castlelyons. 
1862.  November  1.  James  Gwtnn,  a.m.,  V.  Castle- Lyons  als  Castle- 
leghane.     [D.R.] 

James  Gwvnn  (brother  of  Rev.  John  GwyYin,  f.t.cd.,  who 
was  ordainea  Deacon  at  Cork,  on  18th  Dec,  1853),  was  a 
Scholar  of  T.C.D.  in  1848,  and  obtained  a  Senior  Moderatdr- 
ship  in  Ethics  and  Logics,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  18^1.  He 
was  for  some  time  Curate  of  St.  Anne's,  Dublin. 

Mr.  Gwynne,  who  was  a  widower  when  he  came  to  Cloyne 
diocese*  in  1858,  married,  secondly,  on  13th  January,  1863, 
Jane,  eldest  daughter  of  Charles  Osborne,  esq.,  of  Down  End, 
Hants. 


CASTLEMAGNER. 


1291.  '^  Eoca  de  Munemanarrach  XXs.  unde  decia  lis."     [Tax.  P. 

Nic]     "  E.  Monymandragh  idem  cum  Castlemagner."     [V.B, 

of  1670.] 
1591.  "E.  Ville  Castri — R.  spectat  ad  Bothon.     Edmund  Maoner 

est  Vicar."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  Peter  Betkbwortii  (P.  Subultor,  q.  v.)  is  Vicar ;  and  Emanuel 

Phaire  (P.  Kilmaclenino,  q.  v.)  is  Curate.      "  R.  impropriata, 

Joh^  Jeplison,  miles,  firmarius.     Vicariam  Betesworth  habet, 


CLOYNB.]  CASTLEMAQNER.  lOl 

studendi  gratia,  per  quinquennium.  Valet  4  li.  per  annum. 
Curatus  Emanuel  Phaire,  minister  et  predicator."  [R V.  R.I.A.] 
1616.  September  23.  Patrick  Coyne  is  admitted  V.  Oastlemagner 
and  Kilbriu,  and  P.  Subulter,  q  v. 

1618.  Thomas  Fitzmaurice,  Baron  of  Kerry  and  Lixnaw, 
had  a  grant  on  6th  June,  1618-,  of  the  advowsons  of  V.  Oastle- 
magner^ Kilbrowney,  Ballyclogh.  Killenballinaglish,  and  i)un- 
bulio^r.     [Ferguson's  MSS  ,  vol.  ii.  309.] 

1634.  B.  de  Oastlemagner  spectat  ad  Ballybeg.  Val.  15  li. 
per  an.     Vicar,  Patrick  Ooyne.     Val.  15  li.  per  an. 

E.  de  Kilbrin  spectat  ad  Ballebege.  Val.  20  li.  Johos  Jephson, 
miles,  Impropriator.  V.  Pat.  Ooyne.  Val.  20  li.  [R.V.  1634.] 
Kilmabo  Scrulane,  Johes  Jephson,  Impropriator.  Nulius 
curatus.     [MSS.  Oonsistorial  Office,  Dublin.] 

1661.  Vicaria  vacat.     [V.B.] 

1662.  July  28,  Edwabd  Bullen  is  admitted,  per  mortem  Patricii 
Ooyne,  V.  Oastlemagner,  Rogeri  Oalvi,  et  Kilbrin.  [D.R.] 
Bullen  appears  at  the  visitation  of  2nd  August,  1670.  He  was 
also  P.  Kilnaglory,  Oork,  q.  v. 

1670/1.  April  17.  John  Webb  is  admitted  (vice  Bullen)  V.  Oastle- 
magner, Kilbrin,  and  R.  Templeroan.  [F.F«]  He  was  also 
Ohancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1679.  The  communion  plate,  now  (1863)  in  Oastlemagner 
Ohurch,  consists  of  a  cup  and  paten  of  silver,  weighing  together, 
a  pound  and  a  half.  On  the  cup  is  this  legend — "  This  Oup 
belongs  to  the  Parish  Ohurch  of  Oastlemagner,  1679." 

1685.  Nov.  14.  Gilbebt  Heathcote,  a.m.  (vice  Webb)  is  admitted 
V.  Oastlemagner ;  Rogeri  Oalvi,  Kilbrin,  and  Ohancellor  of 
Olovne,  q.  v. 

1693.  June  26.  Edwabd  Saybbs  (vice  Heathcote,  deprived),  V. 
Oastlemagner ;  Rogeri  Oalvi,  Kilbrin,  and  Ohancellor  of  Oloyne, 
q.  V. 

1694.  V.  Oastlemagner;  val.  10  pounds.  Mr.  Sayers,  In- 
cumbent. Epus  patronus.  Ohurch  of  Oastlemagner  much 
damnified  by  the  late  war,  but  now  in  repairing.  Impropriator 
of  Oastlemagner,  Mr.  Jephson  olim,  nunc  vendit  Johi  Longfield. 
R.  imp.  val.  20  pounds.     [Palliser.] 

1713.  April  18.  Robebt  Oablbton,  a.m.  (vice  Sayers,  resigned),  V. 
Oastlemagner,  and  on  same  day  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Dromdow- 
ney,  per  cession  of  Tennison.  [D.R.]  In  1721  Oarleton  became 
Dean  of  Oork,  q.  v. 

1713  to  1799.  Oastlemagner  was  held  with  Ballyclogh,  q.  v. 

1799.  March  14.  John  M*Oobmiok,  a.b.,  V.  Oastlemagner.  [P.F.] 
In  1804  he  became  V.  Ballyclogh,  q.  v. 

1804.  Feb.  25.  James  Hamilton  (vice  M'Oormick,  resigned),  V. 
Oastlemagner.     [D.R.]     In  1805  he  became  V.  Bregoge,  q.  v. 

1805.  August  7.  SaokyillbRobsbt  Hamilton  (vice  James  Hamilton, 


102  CA8TLEMA0NEB.  [OLOTKB. 

resigned),  V.  Castlemagner.     [D.R.]     He  became  in  1828  R. 

Mallow,  q.  v. 

1805.  Castlemagner  contained  six  Protestant  families.  [Abp. 

Brod.] 
1809.  Sept  9.  John  Ohesteb,  a.b.  (vice  Hamilton,  resigned),  V. 

Gastiemagner.    [D.R.]    In  1816  he  became  V.  BallycTogh,  q.  y. 
1809.  The  present  parish  registej*  begins  in  this  year.     The 

earliest  entry  is  that  of  the  induction  of  Mr.  Chester,  Sept  15. 
1816.  May  17.  Joseph  Rogebson  Cotteb  (vice  Chester,  resigned), 
V.  Castlemagner.     [D.R.]     In  1841  he  became  P.   Donogh- 
more,  q.  v. 

1830.  Protestant  population,  106. 
1834.  July  4.  John  Denis  Pbnbosb  (vice  Cotter,  resigned),  V. 
Castlemagner.  [D.R]  In  1851  he  became  R.  Kilcoleman,  q.  v. 
1837.  Castlemagner  :  a  vicarage,  with  cure,  5  miles  long  by 
3  broad,  containing  8,099a.  Ob.  27p.  Gross  population,  2,853. 
No  Curate  employed.  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes, 
£404  I2s.  6^.  3b.  9|p.  of  glebe,  valued  at  £1  U.,  subject  to 
visitation  fees,  £1  I5s. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  14«.  Castle- 
magner glebe-house  built  in  1813,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the 
cost  of  £738  9s.  2|i/.  Brit,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First 
Fruits,  viz.,  £276  18«.  5hi.  in  way  of  gift,  and  £461  10«.  9Jrf. 
in  that  of  loan,  of  which  loan  there  remained  £252  chargeable 
on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  iustalments  of 
XI 8  0«.  icL  Incumbent  is  resident.  Incumbent  reports  that, 
exclusive  of  the  moneys  aforesaid,  he  has  expended  about 
£184  I2s.  Sd.  in  making  additions  and  improvements  to  the 
house,  but  that  he  has  not  taken  the  steps  necessary  to  charge  his 
successor  with  the  repayment  of  any  portion  of  this  expenditure. 
One  church,  capable  of  accommodating  120  persons,  built  in 
1816,  by  means  of  a  loan  of  £461  10«.  9^d.  Brit,  granted  by 
the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits,  of  which  loan  there  remained 
£212  135.  5d.  chargeable  on  the  parish  in  1832,  repayable  by 
annual  instalments  of  £11  16^.  id.  Morning  service  is  cele- 
brated in  the  church  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  festivals; 
and  evening  service  is  performed  on  Sundays  in  a  parochial 
school-house  in  consequence  of  the  inconvenient  situation  of 
the  church  to  the  Protestant  parishioners.  The  sacrament  is 
administered  monthly.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  one-half 
of  the  tithes  of  this  parish,  compounded  for  £404  12«.  6i<f.,are 
impropriate,  and  belong  to  John  Longfield,  of  Longneville,  esq., 
and  are  held  by  Mr.  Jeremiah  Callaghan  under  lease,  of  which 
there  remains  one  very  old  life.  [Pari.  Rep.] 
1851.  May  1.  Fbavois  Webb  (vice  Penrose,  resigned),  Y.  Castle- 
magner.   [D.R] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  in  order.  |  of  an  acre 
of  glebe  in  Vicar^B  use.  Divine  service  twice  on  Sundays  in 
snmmer,  and  once  in  winter,  and  on  the  usual  holidays.    Sacra- 


CLOTNE.]  CASTLEMAGNBR. — CASTLETOWN.  103 

tnent  monthly,  and  at  the  three  great  festivals ;  average  of 
communicants,  9.  The  Protestant  population  is  about  60.  The 
rentcharge  payable  to  the  Vicar  is  £303  15«.  lid.  The  Im- 
propriator, John  Longfield,  esq.,  has  an  equal  amount.  The 
present  Vicar  has  a  charge  on  the  benefice  for  £94  expended 
on  the  glebe- house.  There  is  no  approach  from  the  road  to  the 
glebe-house  except  through  land  rented  by  the  Vicar  from 
Lord  Limerick. 

Francis  Webb  [of  the  family  of  Wbbb,  of  Maidstown  and 
WooDviLLE,  county  Tip. — for  which  vide  Burke*8  L*G. — edition 
of  1850,  voL  ii.,  page  1341],  was  born  at  Lakelands,  in  the 
parish  of  Kilmacud,  near  Dublin,  on  25th  January,  1814,  being 
fourth  son  of  the  late  Commissary-General j  William  Webb,  by 
Jane,  eldest  dau.  of  Richard  Blackburne,  e^q.,  of  Great  Fools- 
town,  county  Meath,  and  sister  to  the  Right  Honourable  Francis 
Blackburne,  Lord  Justice  of  Appeal  in  Ireland. 

He  was  educated  by  Rev.  J.  Huddart,  of  Dublin^  and  ob- 
tained in  Trinity  College,  Dublin,  a  Hebrew  premium  at 
entrance,  three  science  premiums,  two  certificates  (under  the 
old  system),  a  science  honor,  a  senior  mathematical  moderator- 
ship  (with  gold  medal),  and  one  of  Bishop  Law^s  mathematical 
premiums.     He  graduated  a.b.  in  1836,  and  a.m.  in  1840. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  4th  August,  1839,  and  Priest  on 
14th  June,  1840,  both  at  Bishopthorpe,  by  the  Archbishop  of 
York. 

From  1839  to  1841  he  was  Curate  of  St*  Helen's^  Stonegate, 
York  ;  from  1841  to  1843^  Curate  of  Bilborough,  near  Tad- 
caster,  York  ;  from  1843  to  1846,  Assistant^Curate  of  Holy 
Trinity,  Micklegate,  York;  from  1846  to  1849,  Curate  of 
Stanley,  near  Wakefield,  Ripon  ;  from  1849  to  1850,  Curate  of 
South  Kilvington,  near  Thirsk,  York  ;  and  from  1850  to  1851, 
Curate  of  St.  Luke*s,  Haywood,  in  Lancashire,  Manchester. 

He  married,  on  27th  April,  1854,  Anne- Jane,  fourth  dan.  of 
Adam  Tyrrell,  esq.,  of  Grange  Castle,  near  Carbury,  county 
Kildare  [vide  Burke's  L.  G.,  vol.  ii.,  page  1450,  edition  of  1850J. 
Mr.  Webb  has  issue  by  her  one  daughter,  Jane^Wilhelmina, 
born  12  th  January,  1856. 


CASTLETOWN. 


1291.  "^  Ecc&  Caste.  David  XVImr.  andedecla  XXIs.  tllld.'*  [Tax. 

P.  Nic] 
1591.  "  E.  de  Ville  Caatri.    Prior  Pontis  Rec.  et  Vic.'*    p^S.  T.C.D. 

E.  3.  14.1 
1615.  Villa  Casiri  als  Castletown,  Rectoria  imp.     Dnus  Rocb  et 

Daniel    cyBrine,  finnarii.       Bcolesia  et    canoella  repantur. 


104  CASTLETOWN.  [CLOTNB. 

Vicaria   vacat    et  usurpatur    p'   finnarios   rectorioB.     fR-V. 
R.I.A.] 

1619.  March  7.  John  Btnns  was  presented  by  Crown  to  V.  Castle- 
town, Bridgetown,  Biittevant,  and  P.  Ballybay.  [Lib.  Man.] 
He  was  afterwards  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

E.  Villa  Castri.  Prior  Pontis  Rector.  Valet  25  li.  per  an. 
Dnus.  Roch,  Impropriator.  Vicaria  vacat  per  lapsum  temporis 
Dno.  nro.  Regi  devoluta.  Valet  25  li.  per  an.  Epus  confert. 
[R.V.  1634.] 

1631.  Geobge  Leadbbtteb  was  Vicar  of  Castletown  in  this  year,  as 
appears  by  his  marriage  bonds,  quoted  under  Ardagh  parish. 
On  3rd  July,  1634,  he  was  presented  by  the  Crown  to  V. 
Castletown.  [Lib.Mun.]  In  1637  he  became  also  R.  Ardagh,  q.y. 

1661  to  1666.  Mr.  William  Bortly  appears  as  V.  de  Villa  Castri, 
Bridgetown,  Wallstown,  Monanimy,  and  P.  Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

1666.  Dec.  8.  John  Noeoott  was  collated  to  V.  Castletown,  Bridge- 
town, Wallstown,  Monanimy,  and  P.  Killenemer,  in  coll.  Epi. 
ger  resignation  of  Wm.  Bortly.  [D.R.]  On  20th  May,  1667, 
e  was  again  admitted  to  these  benefices.  [F.F.]  He  was, 
in  1676,  V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

1680.  April  29.  Ca bolus  Nswbbogh,  a.m.,  adm.  ad  vicariam  ecclise 
parochialis  yillo)  Castri  als  Castletowne,  P.  ecclisB  parochialis 
de  Killenemer,  vicar,  eccliae  parochialis  de  Wallstowne  cum 
p*ticulis  ejusdem,  vicariam  ecclise  parochialis  do  Monanimy 
cum  p'ticula  de  Eilbrenagh  et  vicariam  eccliaB  parochialis  villsB 
pontis  ala  Bridgetowne.     [F.P.]      Vide  Killenemer. 

1683.  August  27.  John  Shierlt,  a.m.  (vice  Newborough,  resigned), 
V.  Castletown,  Bridgetown,  Wallstown,  and  Monanimy,  and  P. 
Killenemer.  [F.F.]  On  8th  Feb.  1684,  John  Sherley  is  pre- 
sented to  R.  V.  Castletown,  Bridgetown,  Wallstown,  Kilcum- 
ner,  Preb.  Killenemer,  and  Monanimy.  [Lib.  Mun.j  Vide  Kil- 
lenemer. 

1686.  April  1.  Richabd  Veblino,  a.m.,  was  collated  to  R.  V.Castle- 
town, WaUstown,  and  Bridgetown,  in  coll.  Epi.  [D.R.]  But 
on  letters  patent  from  Crown,  dated  5th  Nov.  1C86,  according 
to  the  Liber  Munerum.  He  was  again  collated  to  these  bene- 
fices, and  to  Kilcummer  and  Monanimy,  de  jure  vacant  et  in 
coll.  Epi.  on  14th  Nov.  1693.     [D.R.] 

He  appears  from  1693  to  1724  for  all  these  benefices.  [V3.] 
1694.  R.  V.  Castletown;  val.  £14.  Mr.  Richard  Vierling 
euro  animarnm  incumbit.  Epus  patronus.  Church  of  Villa 
Castri,  or  Castletown,  much  damnified  in  the  late  war,  but  now 
a  repairing.  R.  V.  Kilcummer ;  vaL  £4.  Mr.  Vierling,  Incum- 
bent. Epus  patronus.  R.  V.  Villse  pontis,  or  Bridgetown  j  val. 
£12.  Mr.  Vierling,  Incumbent.  Epus  patronus.  V.  Wallstown  ; 
TaL  £6.  R.  and  V.  Monanimy ;  val.  £14.  Epus  patronus.  All 
Mr.  Vierling*8  livings  are  contiguous,  and  perpetually  united 
to  Castletown,  ubi  cura  debita  inservitnr.     [Palliser.] 


GLOTNE.]  CASTLETOWN.  105 

Richard  Verling,  a  younger  son  of  John  Verling,  was  born 
in  county  Cork,  about  1659,  and  was  educated  by  bis  father  at 
Lismore.  He  entered  T.C.D.  on  27th  July,  1677,  when 
eighteen  years  old,  and  graduated  a.b.  and  a.m.  in  that 
University. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Gastlemagner  and  Eilbriu 
on  5th  June,  1683 ;  and  from  1685  to  1687  was  V.  Carrigam- 
leary. 

He  married,  in  1709,  Margaret,  or   Mary,  relict  of  John 

Widenham,  esq.,  and  dau.  of Maunsell,  esq.     By  her  he 

had  issue  four  daughters — Catherine  Tryphcena,  Laura  (Mrs. 
Blood) ;  and  another,  wife  of  Mr.  Lane,  and  mother  of  Thomas 
Lane,  of  Cork.  He  had  also  two  sons,  Richard,  the  younger, 
and  William,  elder  son  (born  1716,  entered  T.C.D.  1734),  who 
married,  in  1738,  Martha  Roberts,  of  Bridgetown,  and  had  issue, 
inter  alios,  a  son,  William,  who,  by  his  wife,  Abigail  Newman, 
had  issue,  inter  alios,  Richard,  m.d.,  Surgeon  to  the  Wexford 
lllilitia ;  Eliza,  wife  of  Henry  Carey,  esq. ;  and  Jane,  wife  of 
Rev.  Richard  Archer,  R.  Clonduff,  Dromore. 
1724  to  1810.  Castletown  was  held  with  the  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 
1810.  August.  The  Honourable  James  St.  Leoeb  was  admitted  R. 
y.  Castletown,  Kilcummer,  and  Bridgetown.  [F.F.]  The 
precise  date  of  collation  is  not  stated.  The  institution  is  sup- 
posed to  have  been  made  in  Dublin. 

1830.  Protestant  population,  168. 

James  St.  Leger  (third  son  of  the  first  Viscount  DoneAaile, 
of  the  second  creation  of  the  title),  was  born  on  4th  October, 
1757.  He  was  ordained  Deacon  in  May,  1779,  by  the  Bishop 
of  Cloyne,  for  the  curacy  of  Bothon,  or  Butte  van  t.  From  1780 
to  1789  he  was  R.  Ahem  and  Ballynoe ;  from  1789  to  1810, 
Archdeacon  of  Cloyne;  and  from  1810  to  his  death  on  29tli 
November,  1834,  he  was  Rector  of  Castletown  union.  He  was 
also  from  June  4,  1789,  to  his  death.  Rector  of  Tipperary,  in 
the  diocese  of  Cashel. 

He  married  on  2nd  March,  1809,  Catherine,  youngest  dau. 
of  Thomas  Williams,  esq.,  by  whom  he  had  issue  three  sons, 
James  and  William,  who  died  unmarried,  and  Charles  Arthur, 
now  of  Harrow-on-the-Hill,  Middlesex ;  and  two  daughters, 
Caroline,  wife  of  Thomas  Netherton  Langford,  esq. ;  and 
Catherine,  wife  of  Rev.  Francis  Knyvett  Leighton.  [Vide 
Burke*s  Peerage,  under  Lords  Daneraile,] 

Rev.  J.  St.  Leger  was  buried  at  Bath.     He  left,  by  his  will, 
which  was  proved  at  Canterbury  on  7th  July,  1836,  to  the 
poor  of  Tipperary,  £10 ;  to  the  poor  of  Castletown,  XIO ;  and 
to  the  poor  of  Doneraile,  £5. 
1835.  April  1.  Thomas  Hoare,  R.  and  V.  Castletown.     [D.R.] 

Thomas  Hoare,  ycmngest  son  of  Sir  Edward  Hoare,  baronet 
[vide  Burke's  Peerage  and  Baronetage],  was  bom  in  Cork  on 


106  CASTLETOWN.  [CLOTNE. 

20th  April,  1779,  and  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cork  on  7tli 
Sept.  1800. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Youghal  on  2nd  Sept.  1805, 
and  on  25th  June,  1807,  to  that  of  Castletown.  From  April, 
1835,  to  his  death  in  December,  1835,  he  was  R.  V.  Castletown. 

He  married  Marianne,  eldest  dau.  of  Henry  Jesse  Lloyd, 
esq.,  of  Lloydsboro*,  county  Tipperary,  and  by  her  had  issue 
three  sons,  Edward  (now  of  Glenanore,  Castletownroche) ; 
Henry,  died  young ;  and  William-Jesse  (now  of  Temple  Hill, 
Blackrock,  near  Cork);  besides  five  daughters,  Ellen-Mary- 
Anne  (wife  of  Rev.  J.  R.  Cotter,  R.  Innishannon,  Cork ;  Chlo- 
tilda-Lucy ;  Henrietta,  wife  of  George  Sackville  Cotter,  esq., 
M.D. ;  Lucy;  and  Eliza- Anne-Louisa,  who  was  married,  in  1849, 
to  Thomas  St.  John  Grant,  esq.,  of  Kilmurry,  county  Cork,  d.l., 
of  county  Waterford. 

The  Rev.  Thomas  Hoare  was  author  of  an  account  of  the 
parish  of  Castletownroche,  which  he  drew  up  for  the  **  Paro- 
chial Survey  of  Ireland,^  published  by  Mr.  Mason,  and  for 
which  he  received  that  gentleraan^s  thanks  in  March,  1825. 
He  was  also  distinguished  by  his  active  and  zealous  charity. 
In  1817  he  received  the  thanks  of  his  parishioners  at  Castle- 
townroche for  his  ability  in  devising  a  system  for  the  relief  of 
the  then  distress,  and  for  his  constant  attendance  on  the  Com- 
mittees for  distributing  aid.  [Cork  Intelligencer  of  26th 
August,  1817.]  His  unexpected  death  was  alluded  to  by  the 
Doneraile  Bible  Society  in  their  second  report  in  terms  of 
regret,  for  the  *'  removal  of  a  truly  amiable  and  much  lamented 
member"  of  their  Committee.  He  was  buried,  by  his  own 
desire,  in  the  church-yard  of  Castletownroche. 

William  Jesse  Hoare  (youngest  son  of  Rev.  Thomas  Hoare), 
was  a  Captain  in  the  7th  Royal  Fusiliers,  and  is  now  a  j.p. 
for  the  county  Cork,  and  is  resident  at  Carrigrohane  Castle,  near 
Cork. 

He  married,  firstly,  Anna,  dan.  of  Frederick  Lidwell,  esq., 
of  Dromard,  county  Tipperary;   and   secondly,  he   married 
Mary-E.,  dau.  of  John-Henry  Gamble,  esq. 
1836.  January  4.  John  Maqinn,  R.  Y.  Castleto^vn.     [D.R.] 

1837.  Castletown  :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  3  miles 
long  by  3  broad,  containing  6,333a.  Gross  population,  3,648. 
No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £518  Ids,  4|<f. ; 
subject  to  visitation  fees  and  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  iOa, 
No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  resident,  and  pays  the  sum  of 
£42  a  year  in  way  of  house  rent.  One  church,  capable  of 
accommodating  200  persons,  built  in  1825,  by  means  of  a  loan 
of  £1,153  16«.  l]d.  British,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First 
Fruits;  of  which  loan  there  remained  £876  ISs.  lOd,  charge- 
able on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repajrable  by  annual  instalments 
of  £46  3s,  Id,    Divine  service  is  celebrated  twice  on  Sundays 


CLOTNE.]  CASTLETOWN. CA8TRACH0BE.  107 

in  summer  and  once  in  winter,  and  on  the  principal  festivals. 
The  sacrament  is  administered  eight  times  in  the  year.  The 
benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.J 

John  Maginn  (brother  of  the  celebrated  William  Maginn, 
LL.D.,  for  whose  biography,  vide  The  Dublin  Univebsitt 
Magazine  for  January,  1844,  Vol.  XXIIL,  No.  CXXXIII,  page 
72,  and  also  The  Irish  Quabtbrlt  Review,  Vol.  II.,  page,  593, 
Dublin,  Kelly,  1852),  was  son  of  John  Maginn  (who  kept  a 
famous  school  in  Marlborough-street,  Cork),  by  Anne,  dau.  of 
William  Eccles,  esq.,  of  the  county  T3n*one,  This  last-named 
John  Maginn,  died  suddenly  of  rupturing  a  blood-vessel,  on 
22nd  January,  1819. 

The  Rev.  John  Maginn  was  a  Scholar  of  T.C.D.  in  1822,  and 
was  ordained  Deacon  on  10th  June,  1827^  and  Priest  on  1st 
June,  1828,  by  Bishop  Brinkley,  at  Cloyne. 

Prom  1835  to  1836  he  was  R.  V.  Bridgetown.     He  died 
suddenly  on  25th  October,  1840. 
1840.  Nov.  10.  Charles  Arthur  Maginn,  a.b.,  R  V.  Castletown. 
[D.R.] 

1860.  The  church,  &c.,  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  No 
glebe.  Incumbent  resides  in  Clenore  parish.  Divine  service 
twice  on  all  Sundays  and  once  on  the  usual  holidays,  also  on 
Wednesdays  in  Advent,  and  on  Fridays  in  Lent,  &o.  Sacrament 
monthly;  average  of  communicants,  16  ;  also  on  the  chief  fes- 
tivals, average  34.  13  children  attend  a  Church  Education 
school.  The  Protestant  population  is  86.  The  rentcharge  is 
X389  U.  6(i. 

C.  A.  Maginn  (brother  of  his  predecessor),  entered  T.C.D. 
on  4th  June,  1832,  being  then  seventeen  years  old,  and  gradu- 
ated a.b.  in  1838,  and  a.m.  in  1841.  He  was  ordained  Deacon 
at  Cork  on  20th  May,  1839. 

He  was  licensed  on  19th  May,  1840,  to  the  curacy  of  St 
Anne,  Shandon,  Cork. 

He  married  on  15th  August,  1850,  Mary-0*Callaghan,  dan. 
of  Pierce  Power,  esq.,  of  Roskeen,  county  Cork,  by  whom  he 
has  issue. 


CASTRACHORE. 


1291.  "Eccft  de  CasUi  Chori  Illmr.  unde  decia  IIIIs."  [Tax.  P. 
NicJ 

1591.  ''  Ecclesia  de  Castro  chori  spectat  ad  Prior  Omnium  Sanc- 
torum et  Abb.  de  Chore."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1615.  '' Castrochoria  Rect.  improp.  Vicaria  vacat  et  usurpatur 
p'  heredem  Johls  fitzgerald,  railitis.  Curatus  nnllus.  Eoclesia 
et  cancella  in  rnina.*'    [R.V.  R.I.A.] 


108  CABTRACHOKE.  [CLOYNE. 

1616.  Feb.  11.  SciPio  Stukbly,  V.  Castrachore,  Incliinabacky, 
Mogeely,  Cloomult,  and  Balljspillane.  [Lib.  Mun.]  In  1818 
be  became  V.  Carrigtowil. 
1623.  July  31.  Thomas  Da  vies,  Y.  Castracbore  and  Mojallie,  uni- 
tas  per  Itras  pat.  domini  nuper  Regis  Jacobi  7tb  July,  an° 
regni  sui  21°.  [RV.  1634.J  Inducted  30th  August,  1623. 
He  was  also  P.  Inskenny,  q.  v. 

Thomas  Da  vies,  of  Carrigrohau,  Clerk,  was  seized  in  fee  of 
the  vicarages  of  Ballinachore  and  Moyallege,  being  vicarages 
presentative.  He  was  disturbed  by  Sir  John  Fitzgerald,  of 
Cloyne,  and  Thomas  Skiddy,  and  others,  from  1623  to  1626. 
The  pleadings  state  that  Queen  Elizabeth  was  seized  of  the 
Ab.  de  Chore,  of  which  the  said  vicarage  were  parcels,  and 
granted  same  to  Sir  John  fitz  £dmund  Uerald,  the  plaintiflTs 
grandfather,  and  his  heirs,  for  ever,  who  found  the  Curates' 
stipends.  The  plaintiff  is  son  and  heir  of  Sir  Edward,  son  and 
heir  of  said  John,  and  entered  therein,  and  his  mother,  Ormery, 
during  his  minority,  found  curates.  [Plead.  Cane.  vol.  i.  p.  60, 
quoted  in  Ferguson's  MSS.,  vol.  ii.  2^8.] 

1634.  E.  de  Castrochory  Rex  est  Rector  Johes  Fitzgerald, 
miles,  Impropriator.  Valet  40  li.  per  an.  Vic.  ibm  usurpatur 
per  rectoreui.  Val.  £13  13«.  4c?.,  beside  the  tithe  of  fuure 
ploughlands  unjustly  detadned.  [R.V.  1634.] 
1637.  Oct  27.  Thomas  Ledsham,  V.  Mogeely  and  Castrachore. 
[F.F.]     On  letters  patent  of  July  15,  1637.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

T.  Ledsham  (son  of  Thomas  Ledsham,  or  Ledisham,  a  stu- 
dent of  Oxford,  who  was  ordained  Deacon  and  Priest  by  Wil- 
liam, Bishop  of  Cork,  Cloyne,  and  Ross,  on  5th  Sept.  1591,  and 
who  was  from  1609  to  1632,  P.  Kilgobinet,  Lismore),  gra- 
duated in  T.C.D.  in  1629  as  a.b.,  and  was  afterwards  d.d. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  and  Priest  on  14th  July,  1629. 

From  1632  to  1670  he  was  P.  Kilgobinet,  Lismore.  He 
was  also,  from  1633  to  1666,  Chancellor  of  Waterford;  and 
from  1666  to  1670  Dean  of  Waterford  and  R.  Druracannpn. 
He  was  also,  from  1639  to  1670,  P.  Doon,  Emly.  From  1661 
to  1666  he  was  also  Dean  of  Ossory ;  and  from  1662  to  1670 
he  was  P.  Stagonil,  Dublin. 

He  was  married,  and  had  issue  a  son,  Thomas,  bom  at  Gehin, 
county  Hampton,  in  1650,  who  entered  T.C.D.  on  2nd  July, 
1668,  aged  18. 

1661.  Mr.  Wandrioke  appears  as  V.  Castrachore,  Ballyspillane, 
Mogeesha,  and  Inchinabacky.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1662.  John  Masoall  appears  as  Vicar  de  Castrachore.    [V.B.  D.R.] 
In  1663  Mascall  became  P.  Subulter,  q.  v. 

1663.  Sept  20.  Danibl  Considine,   V.  Castrachore  als   Ballyni- 
chore.     [D.R.] 

1671.  Decanus  allegat  Danielem  Considine  tenet  locum  gene- 
ralis  ludiniagistri  dioc.  Clonen.,  necnon  unum  locum  Vicarii 


CIOTNE.]  CASTBACHOBB.  109 

CkoraUs  in  Ecolesia  oatliedrali  CloneD.,  et  viearias  de  Castra- 
chore,  Balljspillane,  et  Templebodan  quod  Diaconus  non 
potest  tenere.  The  Bishop  orders  Oonsidine  to  resign  either  the 
vicarages  or  the  post  of  schoolmaster  within  eight  days.    [V.B.] 

Daniel  Considine  was,  from  1663  to  1691,  V.  Castraohore. 
He  was  also,  from  1663  to  1674,  Vic.  Ohor.  Oloyne  ;  and  from 
167-$  to  1691  P.  Djsert,  Killaloe.  He  held  also,  from  1667 
to  1691,  the  y.  Balljspillane  and  Templebodane. 

He  married  Catherine  Walker,  spinster.     [M.  B.  Cloyne,  8th 
June,  1661.]     He  died  in  1^91. 
1691/2.  January  14.  Benjamin  Lukey,  a.m.  (vice  Considine,  de- 
ceased), y.  Castrachore  als  Middleton,  cum  V.  de  Ballyspillane. 
[D.R.] 

1 694.  R.  and  V.  Castrachore ;  val.  £50,  Dominus  Epus 
patronus.  EccHsb  de  Moygesha,  Ballyspellane,  Templenecar- 
rigy,  et  Inshinabaeky,  united  sunt  in  p'petuum  vicarise  de  Cas- 
trachore ubi  cura  debita  inservita  et  eccl)a  bene  reparatu. 
[Palliser.] 

Benjamin  Lukey  (son  of  the  Rev.  John  Lukey)  was  bom  at 
Nangle,  in  Wales ;  and  when  eighteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D. 
as  Pensioner,  on  2nd  July,  1669. 

From  1676  to  1693  he  wajs  V.  Clonmel.  From  1676  to 
1698  he  was  R.  Mogeesha,  V.  Carrigtohill  and  Kilcurfin  ;  and 
from  1679  to  1693  V.  Teraplerobin.  From  1691  to  1698  he 
was  y.  Castrachore  and  Ballyspillane. 

He  was  owner  of  the  impropriate  tithes  of  Carrigtohill,  Lis- 
^oold,  and  Ballyspillane. 

He  married  [M.  B.  Feb.  3,  1678],  "Elisabeth,  dan.  of  Jane 
Gough,  of  ye  little  Island,  widow."  Mrs.  Jane  Gough  was 
relict  of  William  Gough,  fourth  son  of  Francis,  Lord  Bishop  of 
Limerick^ 

He  liad  issue  by  her  four  sons — John,  P.  Eilmacdonogh, 
q.  V. ;  William  ;  Edward,  in  holy  orders,  who  married  in  1715 
Catherine  Butler,  of  St.  Michan's,  Dublin ;  and  Benjamin,  also 
in  holy  orders. 

The  will  of  Rev.  B.  Lukey  was  dated  16th  July,  1698;  and 
was  proved  at  Cloyne  on  8th  August,  1699.  His  relict  after- 
wards married  a  son  of  Rev.  John  Rugg,  P.  Eilmacdonogh. 

A  descendant  of  this  family  of  Lukey  resides  on  his  property 
near  Midleton,  county  Cork. 
1698.  December  27.  Waltee  Atkin  (vice  Lukey,  deceased),  y. 
Castrachore,  Ballyspillane,  and  R.  Mogeesha.  [F.F.]  He  was 
inducted  on  28th  Dec.  1698.  [Par.  Reg.]  In  1710  he  became 
Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  a.  v. 

1669.  A  chalice  of  silver,  gilt,  weighing  17  oz.,  and  two 
silver  plates,  gilt,  weighing  together  1  lb.,  avoirdupois,  bear  this 
legend,  "  Given  for  the  use  of  St.  John*s  Church  in  Middleton, 
1699." 


110  CASTRACHORE.  [CLOYNB. 

1709.  "  Besides  an  English  school  for  the  education  of  poor 
children  in  the  Protestant  religion,  there  is  a  public  free  school, 
which  is  an  elegant  bailding,  composed  of  one  main  structure 
and  two  returns,  over  which  was  lately  a  han<Is()me  dome. 
This  school  was  founded,  anno  1709,  by  the  Lady  Elizabeth  . 
Villiers.  She  was  eldest  daughter  of  Sir  Edward  Vifliers,  father 
of  Edward,  Earl  of  Jersey,  and  Maid  of  Honour  to  Queen  Mary 
when  Princess  of  Orange;  and  in  1695  was  married  to  the 
Lord  George  Hamilton,  third  son  of  William,  Duke  of  Hamil- 
ton, afterwards  created  Earl  of  Orkney.  She  expended  a  con- 
siderable sum  of  money  in  building  this  house,  and  settled  a 
good  estate  on  this  endowment  for  the  support  of  a  master, 
two  ubhers'  assistants,  a  writing-master ;  and  £50  a-ycar  for 
scholars  entered  from  this  school  into  the  University  of  Dub- 
lin." 

"She  reserved  for  herself  a  power  to  make  rules  for  the 
governing  this  school.  The  governors  first  appointed  by  the 
charter  were  the  Earls  of  Orkney  and  Inchiquin,  Thomas  Brod- 
rick,  Alan  Brodrick,  and  Samuel  Maynard,  esqrs. ;  Lieutenant 
Peter  Bettesworth,  and  their  respective  heirs,  together  with  the 
Bishop  of  Cork,  and  the  Sovereign  of  Middleton.  They  nomi- 
nate the  master,  who  has  £100  a-year  salary ;  an  usher,  who 
has  £20  per  annum  ;  and  a  writing-master,  £20  per  annum. 
There  is  £10  per  annum  for  repairs  of  the  house  ;  with  the 
sum  of  £50  to  be  distributed  in  exhibitions  to  scholars  (of  this 
house)  in  Dublin  College,  as  the  majority  of  the  governors  shall 
direct,  provided  that  not  more  than  £15  be  paid  to  one  person  ; 
and  if  such  scholars  are  not  to  be  had,  this  money  is  to  go  to 
such  charitable  uses  as  the  governors  shall  direct.  The  estate 
bequeathed  to  this  school  are  the  lands  of  Ballynehortig,  Bally- 
nerequine,  Ballynameuile,  Ballynudagha,  G4  acres  of  Tullagh 
loane,  lying  in  the  barony  of  Kinalea  and  Kerricurihy,  and  all 
the  lands  leased  by  the  late  King  James  to  Sir  Richard  Mead, 
at  the  rent  of  £100  per  annum  ;  the  lands  of  Ballysabeg  and 
Kilgoban,  in  the  barony  of  Carbery,  containing  33 1  dcres  ;  and 
all  other  lands  in  the  said  barony  formerly  set  to  William 
North,  esq.,  by  the  late  King  James,  at  £100  per  an.**  [Smith's 
Cork,  voL  i.  p.  145.] 

"  The  chnrch  is  a  neat  structure,  and  well  pewed,  and  the 
steeple  is  capable  of  holding  a  ring  of  bells.  On  a  white 
marble,  on  the  Gospel  side  of  the  altar,  is  this  inscription  : — 
'Elizabeth  Atkin,  alias  Coningsby,  wife  to  Walter  Atkin, 
Clerk,  and  Incumbent  of  this  parish,  of  the  family  of  Hampton- 
court,  county  of  Hereford,  England,  A  sincere  friend,  A  prudent 
mistress,  A  tender  mother,  A  dutiful  wife,  A  true  Christian  ;  Died 
in  fervent  Faith  and  Devotion,  November  the  4th,  1713.  Arms : 
Argent,  three  conies  gules,  a  chief  vairy,  or  and  azure.*'* 
[Smith's  Cork,  vol.  i.  p.  146.] 


:^     0I.OTKR.1  CA8TRACH0RB.  Ill 


JL  From  1710  to  1833  Castrachore,  alias  Midletoo,  was  held 

■pJS*'  with  the  Treasurerehip  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

^^  1726.  A   silver  flagon,  weighing  2  lb.   6  oi.  avoirdupois, 

^  \\-^       bears  this  legend,  ''£x  dono  Honorabilis  Ann»  Brodrick  Eccle- 
,4^!       siie  Parochiali  de  Midleton,  anno  1726." 

'//  j  1830.  Protestant  population,  436. 

1833.  Sept.  26.  Francis  Jonbs,  R.  V.  Castrachore  als  Middletoo. 
[D.R.] 

1837.  Middleton,  alias  Castrachore,  a  rectory  and  vicarage, 
with  cure,  2  miles  long  by  2  broad.  Gross  popuktion,  6,599. 
One  Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £75  a-year.  Tithe  com- 
position, £897  16«.  7d,  14a.  1b.  34p.  of  glebe,  in  Incumbent's 
occupation,  valued  at  £35.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  4S:c., 
&c.,  X2  10<. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  17«.  6d  Middleton 
glebe-house,  built  in  1791,  under  the  old  Acts,  at  the  cost  of 
£2,123  Is.  6Jc?.  British,  of  which  sum  £92  6?.  1  j(/.  was  granted 
as  gift,  and  the  residue  of  £2,030  15«.  i^d.  was  supplied  out  of 
the  private  funds  of  the  builder.  Improved,  during  the  incum- 
bency of  Doctor  Ben  net,  at  the  certified  cost  of  £240  Ss.  5^ 
British ;  and  further  improved,  under  certificate,  in  1824,  at  an 
expense  of  £1,192  0^.  lO^d,  British.  The  present  Incumbent 
is  fifth  in  succession  from  the  original  builder,  third  in  succes- 
sion from  the  first  improver,  and  next  in  succession  to  the  last 
improver;  and  having  paid  his  predecessor  £1,014  2$.  4^.  on 
account  of  the  improvement  charges,  he  will  be  entitled  to  re- 
ceive £656  Is.  3^d.  from  his  successor.  Incumbent  resides  in 
the  glebe- house.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating  500 
persons,  rebuilt  in  1825,  at  the  cost  of  £2,842  3«.  Id.  British, 
whereof  £2,307  13.^.  \0\d.  was  granted  in  way  of  loan  by  the 
late  Board  of  First  Fruits;  £186  9s,  2|<£.  arose  from  the  sale 
of  old  materials  ;  and  £348  from  donations  of  Lord  Middleton, 
the  late  Rector,  Doctor  Austen,  and  money  in  the  hands  of  the 
churchwardens.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there  remained  £1,569 
4s.  6d.  chargeable  on  the  late  union  in  1832,  repayable  by 
annual  instalments  of  £92  6s.  2d.  Divine  service  is  celebrated 
twice  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  festivals.  The  sacra- 
ment is  administered  the  first  Sunday  in  each  month,  and  on 
the  festivals.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari*  Rep.] 

Francis  Jones  was,  from  1813  to  1827,  r.  C.  Fennoy ;  from 
1817  to  1826  Chancellor  of  Ardfert ;  from  1825  to  1833  P.  St 
Michael's,  Cork  ;  from  1826  to  1830  R.  Aglishdrinagh ;  from 
1830  to  1833  R.  Macroom ;  and  from  1833  to  his  death  in 
1859  K  V.  Castrachore.  He  was  elected  by  the  Chapter  in 
1856  P.  Kilmacleniue, 

He  married  Eliza,  dau.  of  Andrew  Armstrong,  esq.,  of  Clara, 
King's  county. 

He  has  issue,  inter  alios,  Rev.  Andrew  A.  Jones,  R.  Kilmore, 
Killaloe ;  and  Rev.  R.  Bathoe  Jones,  R.  Kilfinaghty,  Killaloe. 


114  CLENORK,  CHANCELLORS.  [CLOYNE. 

unio  confirmata  per  Dec.  et  capit.  Cloncn.  6th  May,  1617. 
[R.V.  1634.] 

1615.  CaDcellarius  Eccleeias,  residens,  Johannes  Temple, 
minister  legens.  Tenet  etiam  vicariam  de  Balleclogh,  in  hac 
Diocesi,  val.  5  li.,  et  vicariam  de  Dromdowney,  valor.  5  li.,  et 
vicariam  de  Liscorall,  valoris  3  li.  et  Knocktemple,  valor.  3  li. ; 
quffi  vicarisB  sunt  infra  tria  miUiaria,  canoelke  omnium  harum 
ecclesiarum  sunt  in  ruina,  excepta  cancella  spectante  ad  Can- 
oellariatum  qute  est  rep&ta.  Ecclesis  item  omnes  ruinosao. 
[R.V.  R.I.A.J 

1615.  Aghcrost  spectat  ad  cancellarium  uui  inservit  cuno. 
Ecelesia  et  cancella  repantur.     [R.V.  R.I.A.J 

1634.  The  value  of  the  dignity  is  25  li. — E.  de  Clenor,  Prior 
Pontis  Rector.  Valet  XX  li.  per  an.  Vicecomes  Roch  impro- 
priator. Vicaria  spectat  ad  Cancellar.  Cloine.  E.  de  Agcroste 
spectat  ad  Cancell. — E.  de  Nynane  als  Templemolaggie  spectat 
adCanoell.     [KV.  1634.] 

John  Tem^^e^  Studioetts,  was  ordained  Deacon  on  11th  April, 
1605,  by  Miler,  Abp.  of  Cashel,  and  Priest  by  William,  Bp.  of 
Cork,  on  10th  March,  1606.  [MS.  Consist.  Office,  Dublin.]  He 
was  P.  Kilrossantie,  Lismore,  in  1607.  He  vacated  all  his 
livings  in  1634  or  1635. 

1635.  July   13.  Joseph   Travebs,  Chancellor  of   Cloyne — taxat 
Ss.  lO^d.     [F.F.] 

He  appears  as  Chancellor  in  1663.  [C.B.]  And  also  in 
1664.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

Joseph  Travers,  a  younger  son  of  John  Travers,  esq.,  of  Cork, 
by  Sarah,  sister  of  Edmund  Spbnseb,  the  poet,  was  brother  to 
Sib  Robebt  Tbavebs,  Judge- Advocate  in  Ireland,  and  Vicar- 
Qeneral  of  Cork  ;  and  also  to  Zachary  Travers,  whose  son 
Walter  was  Provost  of  T.C.D.  Joseph  graduated  as  a.b.  in 
T.C.D.  in  1620,  and  was  subsequently  a.m.  He  was  ordained 
Priest  by  William,  Bp.  of  Derry,  on  22nd  Sept.,  1630.  From 
1627  to  1635  he  was  R.  V.  Innishannon,  and  from  1635  to  his 
death  in  1664,  was  Chancellor  of  Clo3me.  He  was  also,  in 
1634,  R.  V.  Clonfeacle,  Armagh;  and  from  1663  to  1664  was 
Archdeacon  of  Kildare,  and  second  Canon  of  Kildare.  He 
married  Mary  Browne,  and  left  issue,  as  appears  by  his  will, 
dated  28th  Oct.,  1664,  three  children,  Charles,  Rose,  and  Alson. 
[U.O.  and  MSS.  penes  FisherJ 

1665.  Vacat  per  mortem  Joseph  i  Tbavbbs.     [V.B.  DR.] 

1665.  Nov.  13.  Jambs  Stbene  (trice  Travers,  deceased),  appears  in 
a  V.  B.  of  this  date  as  Chancellor.     [V  B.  D.R.] 

1668.  July  31.  John  Webb,  Cancel  per  mort.  John  Sterne,  in  coll. 
Epi  et  ad  R.  Ardagh  in  presentatione  Regis.     [V.B.  1669.] 

He  appears  as  Chancellor  at  a  chapter-meeting  of  30th  May, 
1672,  and  in  1680,  Nov.  12,  was  chosen  (Economus  of  Cloyne. 
[C.B.] 


CLOTKE.]  CLENORE.  115 

John  Webb,  born  circa  1644,  in  Dublin,  (son  of  George 
Webb),  entered  T.C.D.  on  10th  Nov.,  1660,  being  then  sixteen 
years  old. 

From  1667  to  1670  he  was  P.  Inskenny,  Cork ;  and  from 
1667  tol669,V.  Macroom  and  Ballyvoumey,  andV.Macloneigh, 
in  Cork.  From  1668  to  1670  he  was  R.  Ardagh.  In  1669  he 
was  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Cork,  and  in  1670  held  the  P.  Coole,  but 
resigned  both  these  preferments  in  1670.  From  1668  to  1684 
he  was  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  and  from  1670  to  1684  was  also 
R.  Templeroan,  and  V.  Castlemagner  and  Eilbrin. 
1685.  NoY.  14.  GiLBBRT  Hbathgote,  A.M.,  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  and 
V.  Castlemagner,  Rogeri  Calvi,  and  Kilbrin.     [F.F.] 

Gilbert  Heathcote  was  son  of  Captain  Gilbert  Heathcote, 
who  was  son  of  George  Heathcote,  of  Brampton,  near  Chester- 
field^ the  brother  of  Gilbert  Heathcote,  Alderman  of  Chester- 
field, regno  Caroli  I.  This  Alderman  Gilbert  Heathcote  was 
the  progenitor  of  the  two  Baronetical  fiskmilies  of  Heathcote  now 
extant. 

Captain  Gilbert  Heathcote  served  in  Ireland  in  the  Parliamen- 
tary forces  in  1658,  as  is  mentioned  by  his  sister's  husband,  John 
Shaw,  author  of  **  The  Saint's  Tombstone.**  The  Captain's  son, 
Gilbert,  studied  at  Cambridge,  and  became  m.a.  of  Christ's 
College.  He  took  holy  orders,  and  in  1683  was  Curate  of 
Toughal ;  and  from  1685  to  1693,  when  he  was  deprived, 
doubtless  for  nonconformity,  was  Chancellor  of  Cloyne. 

He  married,  circa  1680,  Sarah,  eldest  daughter  of  Sir  Bioha&d 
Kennedy,  Bart,  of  Mountkennedy,  county  Wicklow.  She  was 
sister  to  the  wife  of  Dr.  Edward  Jones,  Bishop  of  Cloyne. 
Mrs.  Heathcote  died  at  Tomore,  county  Wicklow,  part  of  her 
father's  estate,  in  Sept.,  1731,  being  then  in  her  seventy-third 
year.  [Hayman.] 
1693.  June  26.  Edward  Sayers  (vice  Heathcote,  deprived).  Chan- 
cellor, and  V.  Castlemagner,  Rogeri  Calvi,  and  Eilbrin.  [T).R.] 
On  14th  Nov.,  1693,  he  took  the  chapter-oath.  [C.Bj  In 
1706,  Sept.  3,  he  was  fined  40«.  by  the  Chapter  for  contuma- 
ciously absenting  himself;  but  in  1710,  Nov.  16,  was  elected 
GSconomns.     In  1723  he  attended  a  chapter-meeting.     [C.B.] 

1694.  "  Livings  perpetually  annext  to  the  Chancellorship- 
value,  20  pounds — y.  de  Clenor,  Ecclia  de  Agross,  Ecclia  de 
Templemolagy,  una  R.  de  Ballyvoumey.  The  vicarage  of 
Castlemagner,  val.  10  pounds,  and  V.  de  Rogeri  Calvi  als  Kil- 
brin, val.  10  pounds,  are  also  perpetually  annext  to  the  Chancel- 
lorship, but  are  not  contiguous.  DominusEpusest  patron  us.  Nulla 
Ecclesia.  There  is  but  one  church  in  all  the  Chancellor's  livings, 
the  church  of  Castlemagner,  much  damnified  by  the  late  war, 
but  now  in  repairing.  Mr.  Jephson  is  Impropriator  of  Castle- 
magner and  Kilbrin.  Mr.  Edward  Sayres  cures  aniroarum 
sedulo  incumbit."  [Palliser.] 
YOL.  n.  1 3 


116  CLENORE.  [CLOTNE. 

Edwar4  Sayers,  or  Seajers^  was  born  in  county  Cork,  and 
entered  T.C.D.  op  16th  July,  1679,  He  obtained  Scholarship 
in  1680,  and  Fellowship  in  1686.  In  1692  he  resigned  his 
Fellowship,  and  accepted  the  rectory  of  Conwall,  Raphoe. 
From  1693  to  1730  he  was  Chancellor  of  Cloy ne,  and  V.  Kilbrin. 
He  was  also,  from  1693  to  1713^  V.  Castlemagner,  and  from 
1708  to  17.30,  R.  Templeroan. 

He  mawied,  in  1Q91,  Margaret  Upham,  of  Castlelyons,  and 
had  issue  a  son,  Rev.  Arthur  Sayera,  P.  St  Michael's,  Cork, 
q.  y. ;  and  a  daughter,  Hannah,  who  was  wife  to  Hey  ward 
Gilman,  esq.,  of  St.  Finbarry's  Cork,  and  of  Curriheen,  co.  Cork. 
1730.  OcU24tk  Nicholas  Quaytrod  (vice  Sayers,  deceased).  Chan- 
cellor of  Cloyne.    [D.R,]    He  took  the  chapter-oath  10th  June, 

1731.   ro.B.] 

Nicholas  Quaytrod  (son  of  Nicholas  Quaytrod,  a  lawyer,  who 
was  probably  a  descendant  of  Nicholas  Quaytrod,  Mayor  of 
Dublin,  Anno  Domini  1523)»  was  born  in  Dublin,  circa  1687; 
and  when  seventeen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.  as  a  Pensioner, 
on  26th  Feb.,  1704,  and  obtained  Scholarship  in  1708. 

From  1719  to  1Z42  he  was  V.  Carrigamleary  and  Rahan. 
He  was  also,  from  1719  to  1728,  R.  Knocktemple;  and  from 
1721  to  1730,  P.  Subulter ;  and  from  1730  to  1742,  Chancellor 
of  Cloyne.    He  was  also  Curate  of  Mallow  in  1723. 

He  married  Susannah,  daughter  of  Peter  Carey,  esq.,  of 
Careysville,  county  Cork,  and  relict  of  James  Graham,  esq.,  of 
Ballymacallen  and  Dromore,  county  Cork. 

Quaytrod  had  no  issue.  He  was  buried  in  the  church-yard 
of  St.  Peter's  Cork,  where  his  tombstone  is  still  preserved,  with 
this  inscription  : — "  Here  lyeth  the  Body  of  the  Reverend 
Nicholas  Quaytrod,  Chancellor  of  the  Dioces  of  Cloyne,  who 
departeil  this  life  the  23rd  June,  1742,  aged  55,'' 

He  left  to  the  Widows'  Fund  .^0.  Administration  of  his 
will  was  granted  at  Dublin,  on  15th  Nov.,  1742.  His  wife,  by 
her  first  husband,  had  4  sons,  Peter  Graham  (who  married 
Susan,  daughter  of  Dillon  Newman,  esq.,  of  Newbury,  and  had 
issue  a  son,  Nicholas) ;  James,  George,  and  Arthur.  She  (Mrs. 
Quaytrod)  had  also,  by  her  first  husband,  3  daughters,  Mary, 
who  married,  in  1720,  Christopher  Crofts,  of  Velvets  town;  Anne, 
wife  of  Richard  Franklin;  and  Catherine,  wife  of  James 
Nesbitt,  esq.  Peter  Graham  (the  eldest  son  of  Mrs.  Quaytrod) 
sold  to  his  brother-in-law,  Mr.  Newman,  ^f  Newbury,  the  estate 
of  Dromore.  [Davis.] 
1742/3.  March  15.  William  Lewis,  a.m.  (vice  Quaytrod,  deceased), 
Chancellor.     [D.R.] 

He  took  the  chapter-oath  on  23rd  June,  1743,  and  was 
elected  CEconomus  in  1749.     [D.R.] 

1762.  Mr. Chancellor  Lewis  (non-resident).  Bally  vourny,  <kc.; 
yearly  income,  XI 90.     [Hayman  MSS.] 


.CLOTNE.]  C^ENORV..  117 

1765.  June  11.  It  is  ordered  by  the  Chapter  that  the  Econo- 
mist pay  20  li.,  left  by  will  of  Rev.  Nix;.  Quaytrod,  for  use  of 
the  Widows'  Fund,  and  lately  received,  unto  the  trustees  of  said 
fund,  to  be  applied  as  directed  in  the  will.     [O.B.] 

W.  Lewis  (son  of  David  Lewis,  of  Waterforc^  who  died  1718), 
was  born  in  Waterford ;  and  when  nineteen  yeats  old  entered 
T.C.D.  &a  Pensioner,  on  9th  July,  1711. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  (being  then  a  Master  of  Arts)  on 
19th  June,  1719,  and  Priest  on  20th  June,  1720, both  at  Cloyne. 
From  1728  to  1730  he  was  P.  Killenemer,  and  from  1730  to 
1754,  Vic.  Chor.,  Cloyne.  From  1735  to  1742  he  was  also  V. 
Eilbrin^  and  from  1742  to  1767  was  Chancellor  of  Cloyne.  He 
was  also,  from  1737  to  1743,  P.  Fennor,  Clonfert ;  from  1743 
to  1767,  Archdeacon  of  Kilfenora  ;  and  from  1745  to  1758,  P. 
Fennor  again.  He  died  in  1767.  He  married  Elisabeth  (sister 
of  Rev.  William  Buckner,  who  married  Briana  Longfield),  and 
had  issue  two  sons,  WiHiaiii,  who  was  ordained  Deacon  on  2nd 
April,  1749;  and  David,  who  was  in  1754  Vicar  Choral,  Cloyne, 
q.  V. 
1767.  August  29.  Danihl  Sand  ford,  ll.d.  (vice  Lewis,  deceased). 
Chancellor.  [F.F.l  Tiie  corps  of  the  Chancellorship  was  now 
R.  V.  Clenore,  V.  Kogeri  Calvi,  R.  Ahacross,  Ballyvourny,  and 
Nenane  als  Templem6loggi.    ^F.P.] 

1768.  January  20.  Instrumentum  locationis  magnae  paludis 
Clonensis  constans  279^  Jugeris  et  13  Perticiis  a  Frederico 
Clon.  Epd  Daniel i  Sandford,  clerico,  60  annorum  a  1  Nov., 
1767,  ad  an.  reditum  X48  18«.  6d.  [D.R.] 
1771.  December  26.  John  Palliseb,  d.d.  (vice  Sandford,  deceased), 
Chancellor.     [F.F.] 

1774.  Val.  of  Chancellorship,  £200  par  an.  The  corps  con- 
sists of  R.  V.  Clenore,  Rect.  integ.  Aghacross  and  Templemo- 
loggy,  and  one  Reel,  in  Ballyvonmey.  The  churches  in  ruins. 
Glebe  at  Clenore,  4A.  Oa.  34p.  Clenore  rectory,  which  formerly 
belonged  to  Bridgetown  Abbey,  is  subject  to  13«.  per  annum 
crown  rent.     [Kingston.] 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  of  Clenore  was  2  ;  of 
Rogeri  Calvi,  0  ;  of  Tempi  em  ologgi,  5  ;  and  of  Ahacross,  1. 

John  Palliser,  D.D.,  was,  from  1747  to  1771, R.  V.  Kilshannig; 
and  from  1771  to  his  death  in  1795,  Chancellor  of  Cloyne. 

He  had  issue  by  his  wife  Mary  Holmes,  inter  alios,  a  son 
Thomas-H.  Palliser,  and  a  daughter  Mary,  wife  of  Thomas 
Loftus,  esq.,  M.p. 
1796.  May  21.  Thomas  Lemon,  a.m.  (vice  Palliser,  deceased).  Chan- 
cellor. [F.F.] 
1802.  December  27.  John  Ryder,  a.m.  (vice  Lemon,  resigned), 
Chancellor.     [F.F.J 

1805.  The  number  of  Protestant  families  in  Clenore  was 
3;  in  Templemologgi,  1. 


118  CLKNORB.  [CLOYNE. 

1806.  '^  The  IncnmbeDt  resides  at  Castlelyons,  8  miles  distant 
from  parts  of  this  union.  No  church.  No  residence.  The 
duties  are  performed  by  ministers  of  neighbouring  parishes. 
Curate,  Rev.  Martin  Armstrong  ;  no  salary."     [Rep.] 

In  1813  the  present  church  at  Clenore  was  built,  and  Bishop 
Bennet  presented  to  it  a  conveniently-sized  cup  and  paten  of 
silver,  with  this  inscription  on  each  : — ''  In  usum  Mensaa  SacrsB 
Eoclesias  do  Clenore  Quls.  Bennet  Episc  Clonens,  d.d.d.,  a.d. 
MDOooxni.** 

1815.  Clenore  church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

John  Ryder  (son  of  St  George  Ryder,  esq.,  and  grandson  of 
Rev.  Thomas  Ryder,  P.  Brigowne,  q.  v.),  was  ordained  Deacon 
at  Cloyne,  in  May,  1779.  He  was  Curate  of  Castlelyons  in 
1793,  and  on  16th  Dec,  1794,  was  appointed  Surrogate. 

From  1801  to  1802  he  was  P.  Killenemer,  and  R.  V.  Bally- 
Toumey ;  and  from  1802  to  1819,  was  Chancellor  of  Cloyne. 
He  was  also,  from  1810  to  1819,  R.  V.  Aghinagh.  He  married, 
in  1782,  Margaret,  dau.  of  Rev.  Joshua  Browne,  V.  Castlelyons; 
and  had  issue  Joshua-Browne  Ryder,  R.  V.  Ringrone,Cork,  q.  v.; 
St  Qeorge  Ryder,  died  unm. ;  and  William  Ryder,  Archdeacon 
of  Cloyne,  q.  v.  He  had  also  two  daughters,  Margaret,  and 
Dorothy.  He  died  on  14th  May,  1819,  and  was  buried  in  the 
old  grave-yard  within  the  demesne  of  Mitchelstown. 
1819.  July  13.  John  Bbnnett,  ll.d.  (vice  Ryder,  deceased).  Chan- 
cellor.    [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Clenore,  9 ;  of  Templemo- 
loggi  and  Ahacross,  8.    Total  Protestant  population  of  union,  17. 

1837.  Cleanore  union,  with  cure,  consisting  of — I.  Cleanore 
rectory,  3  miles  long  by  2  broad.  2.  Templemologgi  rectory, 
6  miles  long  by  3  broad.  3.  Ahacross  rectory,  1  mile  long  by 
1  broad.  The  union  contains  8,487a.  Gross  population,  3,179. 
Two  Curates  employed,  one  for  Cleanore  parish,  at  a  stipend  of 
£83  1«.  6^.  British,  and  the  other  for  the  occasional  duties  of 
Templemologgi  and  Ahacross  parishes,  at  a  yearly  stipend  of 
£5  British.  Tithe  composition  of  Cleanore  parish,  £350.  6  acres 
of  glebe  in  said  parish,  valued  at  10«.  per  acre,  £3.  Tithe  com- 
position of  Templemologgi  parish,  £179  lis.  5d.;  of  Ahacross 
parish,  £30  5«.  7d,  subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  16^.;  diocesan 
schoolmaster,  £1  10^.  Quit-rent,  11^.  6cL  No  glebe-house. 
Incumbent  is  non-resident,  by  permission,  in  consequence  of 
ill-health ;  he  resides  in  the  city  of  Cork.  One  church,  situate 
in  Cleanore  parish,  capable  of  accommodating  80  persons,  built 
in  1813,  by  means  of  a  gift  of  £738  9^.  2^d.  Brit,  granted  by 
the  late  Board  of  First  Fraits.  No  charge  on  the  union  in 
1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated 
once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  festivals.  The  sacrament  is 
administered  four  times  in  the  year.  The  benefice  constituting 
this  union  are  rectories.     The  Chancellor  has  also  an  income  of 


CLOTNS.]  CLSNORE.  119 

X231  lis,  7^d.  from  the  rectorial  tithes  of  BalljyoDmy  parisL 
[Pari.  Rep.] 

John  Bennett  (nephew  of  Bishop  Bennett,  of  Cloyne),  was 
ordained  Deacon  on  3l8t  July,  1814,  at  Cork,  and  Priest  on  the 
14th  August,  same  year,  also  at  Cork. 

From  August  15  to  Octoher,  in  1814,  he  was  V.  Ahem,  and 
R.  Bretway;  from  Oct.,  1814  to  1816,  P.  Ballyhooly;  from 
1816  to  1819,  R  V.  Eilmahon  and  Clonmult;  and  from  1819 
to  his  death,  in  the  Isle  of  Jersey,  on  27th  Sept.,  1853,  Chan- 
cellor of  Cloyne. 

He  married,  on  29th  January,  1817,  at  the  Foundling  Hos- 
pital, Cork,  Mary  Louisa,  eldest  daughter  of  Robert  Otway,  esq., 
of  Sidney-place,  Cork. 
1853.  Dec.  1.  William  Cotter  Williamson  (vtc^  Bennett,  deceased), 
Chancellor.  [D.R.]  The  corps  of  the  Chancellorship  in  1854 
was  R.  V.  Clenore,  R.  Ahaeross,  Templemologgi,  and  Bally- 
voumey.     fD.R.] 

In  1861  he  became  Precentor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1860.  One  church  in  Clenore  parish.  No  glebe-house.  5  acres 
of  glebe  let.  Incumbent  and  parish  clerk  both  reside  in 
Mallow.  Divine  service  twice  on  Sundays  in  summer,  once 
in  winter,  and  on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly, 
and  on  festivals;  average  of  communicants,  17.  No  school. 
The  Protestant  population  is  35.  The  rentcharge  is,  from 
Clenore,  £262  10«.;  from  Templemologgi,  £134  15«.  9d,;  from 
Ahaeross,  £22  14«.  2d.;  and  from  the  half  tithes  of  Bally- 
voumey,  £173  15«.  llrf.  The  glebe  is  worth  X3.  Total  value, 
£596  Ids,  10c/.,  unthout  residence. 
1861.  January  3.  William  Johnson,  a.b.  (t^tf  Williamson,  resigned). 
Chancellor.     [D.R.] 

W.  Johnson,  (son  of  the  Rev.  William  Moore  Johnson,  Rector  of 
St.  Perran's,  Exeter,  by  his  wife,  Mary  Clarke),  is  a  Graduate  of 
Oxford,  and  was  some  time  Chaplain  in  the  Royal  Navy.  From 
1834  to  1837  he  was  V.  Rahan  ;  from  1837  to  1850,  V.  KiU 
kerranmore  and  Castrumventry, Ross;  and  from  1850 to  1861, 
R.  Knockavilly,  Cork.  *He  is  also,  since  1837,  Chancellor  of 
Ross. 

He  married  Elisabeth -Anne,  daughter  of  Rev.  William 
Hamilton,  Fellow  of  T.C.D.,  and  Rector  of  Cloudavadogue, 
Raphoe,  and  by  her  had  issue  (besides  two  daughters,  Mary, 
and  Katherine),  a  son,  William  Moore  Johnson,  barrister-at- 
law. 


120  clOndrohid.  [clotne. 


CLONDROHID. 

The  following  extract  from  Caulfield's  Pipe  Roll  has  refer- 
ence to  the  patronage  of  the  churches  of  Clondrohid,  Eilshan- 
nig,  and  another  parish,  which  it  is  difficult  to  identify : — 

Ita  couvenit  inter  venerabilem  patrem  Alanum  Episcopum 
Clone  ex  parte  ana,  ei  dominum  Johannem  de  Cogan  ex  parte 
altera,  anno  Domini  MCCLX.  secundo,  tertio  iduum  Julii  vidlt. : 
Quod  predictus  Episcopus  de  assensn  et  vohintate  Decani -et 
Capituli  Clone,  pro  se  et  snccessoribus  suis  concessit  dicto 
domino  Johanni  Cogan  jus  patronatus  ecclesiarum  de  Clondroyt 
de  feodo  anius  militis,  de  Mannachad  de  v.  carucatis  terrse,  de 
Eylsannych  de  v.  carucatis  terraa;  dictus  vero  Johannes  de 
Cogan  pro  se  et  heredibus  suis  in  excambium  juris  patronatus 
de  Clondroyt,  et  Maghmactechady,  et  de  Kylsannych,  dicto 
Episcopo  et  suocessoribus  suis,  jus  patronatus  feodi  unius  militis 
in  E^artha,  et  feodi  unius  militis  in  Eylmumgarog,  et  de  Mag- 
nnkedha.  Si  autem  oontingat  quod  predictus  Episcopus  Clone 
memorato  Johanni  de  Cogan  et  heredibus  suis,  pro  se,  et  suo- 
cessoribus suis,  jus  patronatus  predictarum  ecclesiarum  de 
Clondroyhd,  de  Mayhmactechad,  et  de  Kylsannych  waranti- 
zare  nequiverint  licite  et  sine  conditione  aliqua  dicti  Episcopi 
vel  successorum  suorum,  jus  patronatus  predictorum  feodorum, 
scilt,  unius  militis  in  Kartba,  et  unius  militis  in  Kilmumgarog, 
et  de  Maghnukedha,  ad  dictum  Johannem,  heredes  suos,  ple- 
narie  reverteretur.  Similiter  si  dictus  Johannes  Cogan,  et 
heredes  sui,  jus  patronatus  duorum  feodorum  militis,  scilt^  de 
Eartha,  Eylungaragh,  et  de  Machumkedha,  prcdlcto  Episcopo 
Clone,  et  suocessoribus  suis  warantizare  non  possint,  jus  patro- 
natus dictarum  ecclesiarum  de  Clondrochad,  de  Maghmumac- 
techad,  et  de  Eylsannych,  ad  predictum  Alanum  Episcopum,  et 
Buccessores  suos  integre  sine  conditione  aliqua,  conclamatione, 
dolo  vel  malo,  reverterentur ;  et  ad  majorem  hujus  rei  securi- 
tatem,  parti  hujus  scripti  remanenti  penes  dictum  Johannem, 
Episcopus  et  capitulum  ejusdem  rei,  ||  sigilla  sua  fecerunt  ap- 
poni ;  parti  hujus  scripti  remanenti  penes  dictum  Episcopum, 
dictus  Johannes  similiter  sigillum  suum  pro  se,  et  heredibus 
suis  fecit  apponi.  His  testibus,  domino  Roberto  de  Barry, 
David  de  Barry,  Ricardo  Co^n,  Waltero  de  Rydelsford,  M. 
Decano,  G.  Archidiacono  de  Balahat,  magistris  Precentore,  et 
ecclesia)  Thesaurario,  Willielmo  Itthes  canonico,  <kc.  [Caul- 
field's  Pipe  Roll,  pages  28  and  29.] 

1584.  July  8.  Tadbus  M'Dbemott  is  collated  to  the  vicarage  of 
Clondrohid.  "  Epus  contulit  vie'  p'petuam  ecclia*  parochialis 
de  Clondrohitt  dictaa  Clonen.  dioc.  dno  Tadeo  mt  dermott,  pres- 
bitero,  29  Junii,  anno  supra  (1584),  qui  inductus  est  quasi  in 


CLOYNE.]  CLONDBOHID.  121 

^oem  p*  p'dictum  (Philippam)  Archidiac.  VIII  die  p'ximi  sub- 
seqaentis  Julii.    Phil.  Gold."     [D.R.  Cork.] 

1691.  William  MoDbbuit  is  Vicar  of  Clondrobid.  "Clondroit 
H.  Hospit.  de  Mora  et  Econ.  Cloine.  Vicarius  Willmus  Der- 
micii."    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  WiLLLiM  Healt  (Chancellor  of  Cork,  q.  v.),  is  Vicar.  "  Clon- 
droghi,  resideDS,  Rectoria  impropriata,  Cormack  M'Donagh 
M'Carty,  firmarius.  Vicarius  William  Healy.  Val.  4  li. 
[R.V.  R.LA.] 

1618.  Jaly  7.  William  Healy  was  instituted  to  V.  Clondro- 
hid  et  Macroom  and  Keaoway  (Cannaw^y),  iu  Cork,  on  letters 
pat.  Jacobi  nuper  regis  30  June,  ano  Kegni  Anglise  26°.  He 
was  inducted  4th  August,  1618.     [R.V.  1634,] 

1618.  July  7.  Geobqe  Stukb  was  instituted  ad  V.  Clondroyt  et 
Macrome,  Clonen.  et  Can  way,  Cork,  on  letters  patent  of  May  22. 
[MSS.  Prerogative  Office  and  Lib.  Mun.]  Vide  Cannaway,  Cork. 

1632.  June  5.  Thoitas  Boyle,  clicus,  is  admitted  V^  de  Clondrohit. 
[R.V.  1634.] 

1633.  Healihie,  or  Hely,  was  possessed,  as  Chancellor  of  St. 
Flnbarry's,  of  the  vicarages  of  Clondrobid,  Macroom,  Moviddy, 
Owens,  and  Cannaway.  [Chancery  Pleadings,  vol.  i.,  p.  100, 
as  quoted  by  Ferguson  in  his  MSS.  vol.  i.,  385.] 

R.  de  Clondroit  spectat  ad  Abb.  de  Mora.  Cormack  Donogh 
Carty,  Impropriator.  Valet  IV«.  per  an.  V.  Thomas  Boyle 
sed  sub  lite.     [R.V.  1634.] 

Boyle,  in  1639,  appears  as  R.  V.  Leighmoney,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1637.  Feb.  5.  William  Dumville,  V.  Clondroghitt,  and  V.  Inchi- 
p:eelah,  Cork.     [F.F.] 

1663.  May  11.  William  Fitzgerald,  clicus,  studendi  gratia,  insti- 
tutus  Vicarius  de  Clondrohidd,  in  coll'  EpL  [V.B.  1669.1  He 
Itppears  as  Vicar,  studendi  gratia,  from  1665  to  1670.  [V.B.] 
And  on  15tb  Nov.  1670,  he  received  letters  patent  from  the 
Crown  to  R.  V.  Clondrohide.  [Lib.  Mun.]  He  was  again 
admitted  in  1675. 

1671.  August.  Vicaria  vacat.     [V.B.] 

1671.  October  10.  Francis  Synqb,  ll.d.  (Archdeacon  of  Ross,  q.  v.), 
is  admitted  V.  de  Clondrohit.  [F.F.J  He  appears  as  K.  V. 
Clondrobid  in  1673  and  1674.     [V.B.J 


1675.  June  20.  William  Fitzgerald  (Dean  of  Clojme,  q.  v.),  is 
admitted  R.  V.  Clondrohit.     [F.F.] 

1692.  Sept.  4.  Henry  Soardeyillb  {vice  Fitzgerald,  resigned),  is 
presented  by  the  Crown  to  the  V.  Clondrobid,  the  Archdeaconry 
of  Ross,  and  the  Deanery  of  Clojme,  q.  v. 

1694.  R.  V.  Clondrobid ;  value  £40,  belongs  to  Mr.  Henry 
Scardeville,  Dean  of  Cloyne.  Rex  patron  us  per  promotionem, 
sed  £pus  originaliter.     Nulla  ecclesia.     [PaUiser.J 


12:^  CLONDBOHID.  [CLOYNK. 

1704.  Dec.  13.  William  Tennison  (vice  Scardevilie,  deceased),  is 
admitted  R.  V.  Clondrohid.  [F.F.]  In  1712  he  became  also 
R.  V.  Macroom,  q.  v. 

1735.  Nov.  17.  Francis  Bland,  a.m.  (vice  Tennison,  deceased),  R. 
V.  Clondrohid.     rD.R.1 

F.  Bland  was  the  eldest  son  of  James  Bland  (an  Englishman, 
who  was  ordained  at  Carlisle  in  1689,  and  who  was  afterwards 
Archdeacon  of  Limerick  and  Dean  of  Ardfert),  by  his  wife,  Lucy, 
dau.  of  Sib  Francis  Brbwsteb,  knt. 

He  was  born  in  Limerick  in  1693 ;  and  when  sixteen  years 
old  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner  on  31st  March,  1709. 

From  1717  to  1735  he  was  R.  Agabulloge;  and  from  1735 
to  his  death  in  1755,  R.  V.  Clondrohid.  He  was  also  from 
1721  to  1728,  P.  Killenemer;  from  1725  to  1751,  V.  Kilcum- 
min  ;  and  from  1727  to  1751,  R.  Eillamey,  in  the  diocese  of 
Aghadoe. 

Francis  Bland  was  brother  to  Nathaniel  Bland,  ll.d.,  Vicar- 
General  of  Ardfert,  ancestor  of  the  Blands,  of  Dbrrtquin, 
fnde  Burke's  L.  G. 

He  (Francis  Bland)  by  his  wife.  Miss  Waterhouse,  had  a 
son,  James,  born  in  1728,  who  entered  T.C.D.  on  14th  Dec., 
1745.  This  James  Bland  was  ordained  a  Deacon  by  the  Bishop 
of  Waterford  and  Lismore,  and  Priest  by  the  Bishop  of  Cork, 
at  Carrigrohane,  on  24th  May,  1752,  on  letters  dimissory  from 
Limerick,  and  with  letters  patent  to  a  living  in  Aghadoe. 
From  1751  to  1785  he  was  R.  Killamey.  He  married  Cherry, 
dau.  of  Rev.  Thomas  Orpen,  of  Killowen,  by  Agnes  Herbert, 
and  had  issue.  (Vide  Orpen,  of  Glanerouqht,  in  Burke*s  L. 
G.,  vol.  i.,  page  979.)  He  was  buried  at  Killarney  on  24th 
June,  1785. 

1755.  Oct  7.  James  Stoppord,  a.m.  (vice  Bland,  deceased),  R.  and  V. 
Clondrohid.     [F.F.]     In  1759  he  was  P.  Glan worth,  q.  v. 

1759.  July  3.  Joseph  Stoppord  (tdce  James  Stopford,  resigned),  R. 
V.  Clondrohid.  [F.F.]  In  1780  he  became  V.  Garrycloyne, 
q.  v. 

1762.  July  8.  Joseph  Stopford  is  to  have  a  lease  of  the 
(Economy  part  of  the  tithes  and  glebe  of  Clondrohid  during 
his  incumbency,  at  the  rent  of  £17  yearly.  [Cloyae  Chapter 
Book.] 

1774.  Clondrohid,  als  Clondrort,  als  Clondrethe,  rect.  and  vie. 
in  the  bar.  of  Muskerry  ;  val.  £360.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.  the 
Bp.  Glebe,  80a.  2r.  3p.,  half  whereof  belongs  to  the  (Economy. 
Proxy,  6«.  The  rect.  formerly  belonged  to  the  Preceptory  of 
Mourne,  and  pays  £1  15«.  per  ann.  crown  rent  The  vie.  is 
taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £1  lOs.  ster.  Incumb.  Joseph 
Stopford,  a.m.  ;  Curate,  Edward  Synge  Townsend,  a.b.  Another 
rectory  in  this  parish  belongs  to  the  (Economy.     [Hingston.] 

1780.  July  25.  Walter  Giles  (vice  Joseph  Stopford,  resigned),  R. 


CLOTNE.]  CLONDROHID.  123 

and  V.  Clondrohid.     [F.F.]     In  1788  he  became  R.  Kilnemar- 
terv,  q.  v. 

1780.  July  6.  The  lease  of  the  (Economy  lands  of  Clondrohid 
is  given  to  Walter  Giles,  at  the  rent  of  £17.  In  1786  a  deed  of 
partition  of  the  glebe  of  Clondrohid  is  negotiated,  and  on  26th 
July,  1787,  it  is  agreed  that  the  glebe  of  the  parish  of  Clondro- 
hid,  which  belongs  in  common  to  the  Dean  and  Chapter  and 
the  Rector  and  Vicar  of  Clondrohid,  be  forthwith  equally 
divided,  and  that  one-half  be  for  ever  appropriated  to  the  use 
of  the  Dean  and  Chapter,  and  the  other  half  to  that  of  the 
Rector  and  Vicar  of  Clondrohid  and  his  successors  for  ever. 
[Cloyne  Chapter  Book.] 

1781.  Clondrohid  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1785.  The  Protestant  population  of  Clonm-ohid  was  21. 
[Gibbs.] 

1788.  July  21.  Edward  Delant  (uice  Giles,  resigned),  R.  and  V. 
Clondrohid.  [F.F.]  In  1793  Dekny  became  R.  V.  White- 
church,  q.  v. 

1793.  January  29.  Edwaed  Synob  Townbend  (vice  Delany,  resigned), 
R.  V.  Clondrohid,  and  R.  V.  Ballyvoumey.  [F.F.]  In  1808 
Townsend  became  V,  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

1805.  There  are  twelve  Protestant  families  in  Clondrohid 
parish.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

E.  S.  Townsend  has  cure  of  souls,  and  resides  in  summer, 
but  passes  the  winter  at  Bath,  in  England,  being  very  infirm. 
The  duties  during  his  absence  are  performed  by  his  Curate, 
Rev.  John  Orpen.     One  church.     [Rep.  1806.] 

1808.  Sept.  13.  Robert  Kirghoffer  (vice  Townsend,  resigned),  R. 
and  V.  Clondrohid.     [F.F.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  72. 

1837.  Clondrohid :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  8^ 
miles  long  by  8  broad,  containing  30,000a.  Gross  population, 
5,293.  No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £975  10«.  6d. ; 
33a.  of  glebe,  valued  at  30«.  per  acre,  £49  10«. ;  subject  to 
visitation  fees,  11«. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  lis.  6d,  Clon- 
drohid glebe-house  and  offices  built  in  1813,  under  the  new 
Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £2,280  Brit.,  whereof  £1,384  12«.  35(f. 
was  granted  in  way  of  loan,  and  £92  6^.  lf</.  in  that  of  gift,  oy 
the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  and  the  residue  of  £803  1$,  6^. 
was  supplied  out  of  the  private  funds  of  Incumbent,  who  will 
be  entitled  to  receive  the  whole  of  the  sum  last-named  from  his 
successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there  remained  £757  1 3s.  3d. 
chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instal- 
ments of  £42  Is,  lOd,  Incumbent  is  constantly  resident  in  the 
glebe-house.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating  150  per- 
sons, built  about  the  year  1756,  but  at  what  cost  unknown. 
It  was  new  roofed  and  put  into  excellent  repair,  within  the 
last  eight  years,  by  means  of  vestry  assessment.    No  charge 


124  CLONDRoklD. — CLONDULAXE.  [CLOYNE. 

6n  the  'parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  ser- 
vice is  celebrated  once  on  all  Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day 
and  Good  Friday.  The  sacrament  is  administered  eight  times 
in  the  year.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  the  half- tithes  of  four 
plowlands,  vis. : — Mounteross,  Millinroe,  Clonfadda,  and  Gur- 
ranacopple,  compounded  for  £58  Ss.  6d,  are  appropriate,  and 
belong,  together  with  5\x.  of  glebe,  to  the  Dean  and  Chapter 
of  St.  Coleman^s,  Cloyne^  ttnd  are  rented  by  the  Incumbent. 
XParl.  Rep.] 

B.  Eirchoffer  was  licensed  on  11th  May,  1805,  to  the  curacy 
of  Aghadda.  From  1804  to  1807  he  was  R.  V.  Ballyvourney ; 
from  1807  to  1808,  V.  Clonfert ;  and  from  1808  to  his  death  on 
6th  Feb.  1839,  R.  V.  Clondrohid. 

He  left  issue,  besides  a  daughter,  Sarah-Honoria,  four  sous, 
Henry-Earbury,  Nesbitt-0*Donovan,  John-Hall^  and  Richard- 
Boyle,  R.  V.  Ballyvourney,  q.  v. 
1839.  March  18.  Jobn  Torrbns  Kyle,  a.b.  (vice  Eirchoffer^  deceased)^ 
R.  V.  Clondrohid.     fD.R.] 

1860.  J,  T.  Eyle,  incumbent ;  T.  H.  Longfield,  Curate.  The 
church  and  glebe-house  in  order.  27a.  of  glebe  in  Rector's  use. 
Divine  service  twice  on  Sundays  in  summer,  once  in  winter. 
Sacrament  monthly  and  at  festivals  ;  average  of  communicants, 
12.  Two  schoolmasters  are  paid  by  Rector  and  landed  pro- 
prietors. 12  children  are  on  the  rolls  of  one  school,  and  10  on 
the  rolls  of  the  other.  The  Protestant  population  is  62.  The 
rentcharge  is  £605  8s.  6^cf»  The  land  is  worth  £49.  Total 
value,  £654  Ss.  6^.,  with  residence. 

J.  T.  Eyle  (son  of  S.  Eyle,  Bishop  of  Cork,  Cloyne,  and  Ross), 
entered  T.C.D.  on  23rd  Nov.  1832,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1836, 
and  B.D.  in  1856. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  Ist  January,  and  Priest  on  24th 
February,  1838,  at  Cork. 

From  1838  to  1839  he  was  R.  V.  Inchigeelah. 


CLONDULANE. 


1591.  "R.  de  Clondullau  .  .  .  Prendergasbe.  Exhibuit  titulos 
sub  scriptura  Presbyteri.  ViCar*  Nicholas  Sinan.**  [MS. 
T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  William  Dornet  (R.  Templeusky,  Cork,  q.  v.),  appears  as 
Vicar  of  Clondulane.  **  Clondullau,  residens,  Rectoria  impro> 
priata.  Patrick  Peppard,  ffirmarius.  Vicarius,  William  Dor- 
ney.     Val.  50«.     Ecclesia  et  cancella  repata."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1633.  March  30.  Thomas  Fisher,  V.  Clondulane.  He  was  in- 
ducted by  Rev.  S3rmon  Adam  on  23rd  June.  [R.V.  1634.]  In 
1637  he  became  R.  Mallow,  q.  v. 


CLOYNE.]  CI,qi3T)ULAN]^,  1.25 

1634.  E,  d«  ^0D(bi}laDe.  Prior  Classagh,  Rector*  Valet 
30  li^  per  an.  Wadding,  Impropriator.  V.  ThoDiaa,  Fisher, 
Predicatpr.     Valet  28  li.  per  an.     Epueconfert.     [R-V.  1634.] 

1637.  Sept.  15^  John  Bynnjb,  V.  Clondullane.  [F.F.]  He  was 
afterwards  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1661.  MjL  B^BEBT  Bkowns  (V.  Castlelyons,  q.v.),  appears  as  Vicar 
of  Clondalane,  the  rectory  being  impropriate.     [V.B.] 

Froip  1661  to  1759ClondalaiieV.wap  held  with  Castlelyons, 
q.  v-. 

1759.  Aqg.  7^  Thomas  Meulk^  a.b.,  is  collated  to  V.  Clondulane, 
vice  Charles  Perceval,  promoted.     [D.R.] 

1762,  Meulk  non-resident ;  yearly  income,  £100,  including 
a  cure  of  £40.     [Hajrman.] 

T.  Meiulk  (son  of  Samuel  Meulk,  *^Duois,"  who  married,  in 
1705,  Mary  Smith,  o£  Charleville),  was  bori>in  Cork;  and  when 
seventeen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.,  on  12th  June,  1734. 

He  wa^  ordained  Deacon  on  28th.  Feb.,  1742,  and  Priest  on 
6th  May,  1743,  both  at  Cloyne. 

He  was  appointed  Curate  of  Clonmecn  in  1757,  and  on  29th 
June,  1758,  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Clonmeen  and  Bos- 
keen.     From  1759; to  his  death  in  1772,  he  was  V.  Clondulane. 

1  think  Meulk  was  Curate  of  Mallow.  In  1 745  he  was  a 
member  of  the  Moyallow  Loyal  Protestant  Society. 

He  married,  in  17.45^  Anue  Webb,  of  Mallow,  and  by  her  had 
a  large  family,  as  appears  by  the  following  inscription,  taken 
from  the  old  church  of  Mallow  : — '^  In.  testimony  of  his  filial 
piety,  Capt.  Thos.  Meuth  {sic)  erected  this  Monument  in 
Memory  of  his  Honored  Father,  the  Rev.  Thos.  Meuth,  who 
departed  this  life.  May  the  11th,  1772,  aged  58  ys.  7  of  his 
children,  and  Miss  Grace  Webb,  lie  interred  in  this  grave." 

The  will  of  Bev.  T.  Meulk  was  dated  in  1771,  and  proved 
in  1783,  at  Cloyne.     Anne  Meulk  was  executrix. 
1772.  June  26.  Tobias  Adams,  a.b.  (vice  Meuth,  deceased),  V.  Clon- 
dulane.    [F.F.]     He  was  also  V.  Templebodan. 

1774.  Clondullane  vie.  It  lies  partly  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy 
and  partly  in  that  of  Condon  and  Clangibbon;  value  £100  per 
ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bishop.  Glebe,  1a.  ]r.  17p. 
En.  Proxy,  4s.  Taxed  in  the  Ring's  books,  £6  ster.  Incumb., 
Tobias  Adams,  a.b.  The  rect.  is  improp.  The  Hon.  and  Bev. 
Bobert  Bligh,  Impropriator.     [Hingston.] 

1785.  Protestant  population  about  5.     [Adams.] 

In  1796  Adams  became  V.  Aghern,  q.  v. 
1796.  Sept.  1.  Thomas  Cabson  (vice  Adams,  resigned),  V.  Clon- 
dullane, and  V.  Templebodane.     [F.F.]     In  1799  he  was  B. 
Edlmahon,  q.  v. 
1805.  August  24.  Sahtjel  Monsell  (vice  Carson,  resigned),  V.  Clon- 
dnlane.    [D.B.] 


126  CLONDULANE.  [CLOYNE. 

1 805.  Ten  Protestant  families  in  Clondulane.     [Abp.  Brod. 

No  church.     Mr.  Monsell  resides  at  Fermoy.     [Rep.  1806. 

1813.  Clondulane  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

Samuel  Monsell  was  a  member  of  the  family  of  Monsell, 
of  Tervoe,  county  Limerick.  He  was  descended  from  John 
Monsell,  of  Melcome  Regis,  county  Dorset,  whose  son  John 
obtained  property  near  Askeaton,  county  Limerick,  and  died 
circa  1C37,  leaving  several  children. 

Samuel  Monsell  was  licensed  on  29th  July,  1766,  to  the 
curacy  of  Mallow,  and  on  5th  July,  1780,  to  that  of  Knock- 
moume  and  Ballynoe.  From  1791  to  1811  he  was  Precentor 
of  Ardfert,  and  m  1811  became  Curate  of  Fermoy.  He  was 
also,  from  1798  to  1805,  R.  V.  Clonmult ;  and  from  1805  to  his 
death  in  November,  1818,  he  was  Y.  Clondulane. 

Mr.  Monsell  was  wealthy  and  eccentric,  fond  of  long  walks, 
and  a  bachelor.  On  27th  June,  1813,  he  made  his  will,  which 
he  commenced  in  the  following  terms  : — "  Being  obliged  to  leave 
Waterford  in  a  hurry,  in  order  to  let  my  tythes  at  Fermoy,"  Ac. 
He  also  made  this  singular  bequest,  **  I  have  left  one  thousand 
pounds  to  wage  legal  war  with  the  Lord  Bishop  of  Limerick,  if 
be  won't  restore  a  glebe  of  72  acres  on  demand,  having  made  a 
lease  of  it,  as  1  was  entitled  to  do,  for  21  years." 

He  died  on  the  road-side  in  the  coarse  of  one  of  his  length- 
ened pedestrian  excursions ;  and  his  strong  box,  or  iron  chest, 
was  broken  open  by  some  parties  who  had  it  in  trust,  and  who 
thus  cut  off  all  means  of  recovering  a  great  part  of  his  wealth, 
which  was  supposed  to  be  in  the  funds  under  a  feigned  name. 
1818.  Deo.  15.  Albxandeb  Gbant  {vice  Monsell,  deceased },  V. 
Clondulane.     [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  85. 

Alexander  Grant  (3rd  son  of  Thomas  Grant,  esq.,  of  Kil- 
murry,  by  Elisabeth  Campion,  of  Leitrim,  county  Cork),  was 
ordained  Deacon,  at  Cork,  on  26th  Sept.,  1790,  and  Priest,  at 
Cloyne,  on  5th  Oct.,  1794. 

He  was  licensed  on  5th  Oct,  1794,  to  the  curacy  of  Mogeely; 
and  from  1818  to  his  death  on  23rd  Oct.,  1833,  was  V.  Clon- 
dulane. 

He  married,  on  26th  July,  1792,  at  St  Nicholas',  Cork,  Ann, 
second  dau.  of  Peter  Carey,  esq.,  of  Carey sville,  near  Fermoy; 
and  by  her  had  issue  two  sons,  Alexander,  who  married  Margaret 
Anne  Crossley,  and  died  in  1848  ;  and  Jasper- Alexander,  R. 
Litter,  q.  v.  He  had  also  two  daughters,  Anna-Esther,  who 
became  wife  to  Thomas  St  John  Grant,  esq.,  of  Kilmurry ;  and 
Thomasina-Croker,  wife  of  Jasper  Grant,  esq.,  of  Cork. 

The  Rev.  A.  Grant  was  68  years  old  when  he  died.     He  was 
interred  at  Kilworth. 
1833.  Nov.  15.  RoBEBT  Soott,  a.m.,  V.  Condulane.     [D.R.] 

1837.  Clondulane :  a  vicarage,  with  cure,  3  miles  long  by 


CLOYXE.]  CXONDULANS.  127 

3  broad,  containing  7,694a.  Ob.  33|p.  Gross  population,  1,585. 
One  Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £15  per  annum.  Com- 
position for  the  vicarial  tithes,  it370.  12  acres  of  glebe,  paying 
a  rent  of  £3  5s.  per  acre,  £39 ;  subject  to  visitation  fees,  15«. 
Diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  2^.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is 
resident  on  the  boundary  of  the  parish,  and  pays  the  annual  sum 
of  £30  in  way  of  house-rent  One  church,  capable  of  accom- 
modating 100  persons,  built  in  1812,  by  means  of  a  gift  of 
£738  9«.  2|rf.  Brit.,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits. 
No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church. 
Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  Christmas 
Day  and  Good  Friday.  The  sacrament  is  administered  six 
times  in  the  year.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  one  moiety  of 
the  tithes  of  this  parish,  compounded  for  £370  per  annum,  are 
impropriate,  and  belong  to  the  Norcott  family.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

R.  §cott  was  R.  v.  Ardskeagh  from  1832  to  1833,  and  from 
1833  to  1850  was  V.  Clondulane.  He  was  accidentally  drowned 
on  or  about  13th  January,  1850. 

1850.  March  5.  William  Jennings,  V.  Clondulane.     [D.R.] 

W.  Jennings  (son  of  William  Jennings,  who  was  born  at  St, 
Ives,  Cornwall,  and  of  his  wife,  Elisabeth  Walker)  was,  on  1st 
Dec.,  1821,  licensed  to  be  Curate  of  Ross  Cathedral,  where  he 
afterwards  held  the  offices  of  Resident  Preacher,  Curate  to  the 
Vicar  Choral,  and  (Economns.  He  was  V.  Clondulane  from 
1850  to  the  Ist  January,  1852,  when  he  resigned,  and  became 
R.  Ballymacelligot  in  Ardfert  diocese.  He  married  Rebecca, 
dau.  of  Wensley  Bond,  Dean  of  Ross,  and  by  her  had  issue  four 
sons: — 1.  William,  the  eldest,  who  emigrated  to  Australia. 
2.  Wensley  Bond,  who  by  his  wife,  Kate-Mary,  dau.  of  Joseph 
Walker,  of  Preston,  esq.,  has  issue  a  daughter,  Edith.  3.  Louis, 
who  died  unm, ;  and  4.  John,  who  by  his  wife,  Agnes-Anna, 
dan.  of  William  Hickson,  esq.,  of  county  Kerry,  has  issue  a  son, 
William ;  and  two  daughters,  Rebecca-Bond,  and  Catherine- 
Mary. 

The  Rev.  W.  Jennings  died  in  1852. 

1852.  January  9.  Mauricb  Atkin  Cookb  Collis  {vice  Jennings, 
resigned),  V.  Clondulane.  [D.R.]  In  1862  Colles  became  V. 
Clonmel,  q.  v. 

1860.  The  church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  12  acres  of 
glebe  let.  Incumbent  resides  in  Fermoy.  Divine  service  twice 
on  all  Sundays,  and  on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly 
and  at  festivals ;  average  of  communicants,  28.  12  children 
attend  a  school  maintained  by  Vicar  and  other  subscribers. 
The  Protestant  population  is  1 1 9.  The  rentcharge  is  £277  10«. 
The  land,  after  payment  of  rent,  is  worth  £10.  Total  value, 
£287  lOf.  per  an.  without  residence. 

1862.  November  19.  Thomas  Cotter  Henbt  Finhy^  a.b.,  V.  Clon- 
d^ilane.     [D.R.] 


128  CLONDULANE. — CLONFEBT.  [CLOTKE. 

T.  C.  H.  FiDDy  was,  in  1825,  Curate,  of  Tullyagnish,  Raphoe. 
On  19th  Feb.,  1841,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  St. 
Nicholas,  Cork.  He  was  many  years  Chaplain  of  the  Free 
Church  in  Cork. 

He  was  more  than  once  married,  and  has  issue.. 


CLONFERT.. 

1291.  "  Ecca  de  Anathcrohan  Ilmr.  nnde  decia  lis.  Vllld."  [Tax. 
P.  Nic]  This  entry  occurs  between  Kilbrin  and  Kilbolane, 
and  I  think  Anathcrohan  may  be  an  alias  for  Edlnacroghan,  or 
Clonfert. 
1591.  William  Shban  is  Vicar.  ^'R.  de  Clonfert  et  Kilcoleraan. 
Prior  Bothon.  Vicar  Wm.  Shean,  or  Sheyn,"  who  was  deprived, 
"  propter  defectum  sacrorum  ordinum  et  manifestam  contuma- 
ciam." [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3. 14.] 
1615.  Israel  Taylob  is  Vicar,  and  John  Shinkwin  is  Curate  of 
Clonfert.  *'  Clonfartie.  Rectoria  impropriata.  Johes  Jepson, 
miles,  firmarius.  Vicarius  Israel  Taylor,  non-residens.  Valet 
12  li.  per  an.  Curatus  Johes  Shinkwin,  Minister.  Ecclesia  et 
cancella  in  repatione."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

Taylor  was  Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v.  Shinkwin,  in  1630, 
became  V.  Aglishdrinagh,  q.  v. 

1629.  *'SiB  Richard  Aldworth  died  at  Dublin,  21st  June, 
1629,  and  was  buried  in  Christ  Church,  in  Newmarket.  He 
was  married  to  Anne  Mervin,  but  had  no  issue.*'  [Funl.  Entries, 
U.O.] 

Sib  Riohabd  Aldworth  was  Provost-Marshal  of  Munster 
from  1610  to  1629  ;  and  in  1624  was  Commissioner  in  Munster 
for  Martial  Affiiirs ;  and  in  1626  was  also  "  Chief  Leader  of  ye 
Army"  in  Munster.  He  received  from  King  James  I.  patents 
for  the  manors  and  estates  of  Ballyhooly  and  Newmarket. 
1630.  Oct.  23.  John  Powell,  V.  Stse  Trinitatis  de  Newmarket,  als 
Clonfert.  [F.F.]  He  was  inducted  on  28th  October,  1630,  by 
Pat.  Coyne,  P.  Subulter.     [MS.  Consistorial  Office,  Dub.] 

E.  de  Clonfert  spectat  ad  Ballybegg.  Valet  205.  per  an. 
Johes  Jepson,  miles,  Impropriator.  Vicar,  John  Powell.  Valet 
8  li.  per  an.  [R.V.  1634.J  Powell  was  also  P.  Kilbrittain, 
Cork,  q.  v. 

**  John  Anketill,  of  Newmarkett,  county  Cork,  died  on  the 
12th,  and  was  buried  18th  April,  1638,  in  Newmarkett  Church. 
He  was  husband  of  Lady  Lucy,  dau.  of  Mebvin,  Eabl  of  Castle- 
HAYEN,  and  left  an  only  son,  John,  and  three  daughters,  Elisa- 
beth, Peternell,  and  Frances."  [Funeral  Entries,  U.O.]  Lady 
Lucy  married  afterwards  Colonel  Garret  Fitzmaurice,  fourth 
son  of  Thomas,  the  18th  Lord  of  Kebrt.     Frances  Anketill 


CLOYNE.]  CLONFEKT.  129 

became  the  wife  of  Thomas  O'GradjjOf  Eilballjowen,  ancestor 
of  The  O'Grady. 

1661  and  1662.  Mr.  William  Booth  appears  as  Vicar  of  the  Holy 
Trinity  de  Newmarket,  als  Killnacroghane,  and  also  as  V. 
Tullalish,  Enocktemple,  and  Eilcorkeran.     [^'B.] 

1663.  September  24.  Robert  Booth  is  admitted  ''ad  K.  de  Enock- 
temple, y.  de  Newmarket,  als  Clonfert,  als  Clonfartie,  et  V.  de 
TuUclish."  [F.F.]  He  appeared  at  the  visitation  of  August 
3,  1669.     [V.B.] 

1669.  Oct.  27.  Thomas  Palmeb,  V.  Clonfert  and  Tullilease,  and  R. 
Enocktemple,  per  mortem  Roberti  Booth.     [V-B.  1669.] 

Thomas  Palmer,  a  lineal  descendant  of  Thomas  Palmer,  of 
Rockingham  (a.d.  1402),  county  Northampton,  had  been  Page 
of  Honour  to  Anne  Htde,  wife  of  James  II.  He  was  Judge  of 
the  Admiralty  Court  of  Munster,  and  of  the  Consistorial  Court 
of  Ardfert  and  Aghadoe,  and  was  the  first  Protestant  Rector  of 
the  crown  livings  of  Eenmare,  Eilgarvan,  Templenoe,  Eil- 
croghan,  and  Cahirciveen.  He  was  appointed  to  the  commission 
of  the  peace  for  the  county  Eerry  on  15th  May,  1679.  Vide 
a  book  preserved  in  the  Eing's  Inns  Library,  Dublin,  entitled^ 
"  An  exact  relation  of  the  Persecutions,  Robberies,  and  Losses 
sustained  by  the  Protestants  of  Eilmare,  in  Ireland,  with  an 
account  of  their  erecting  a  fortress  to  defend  themselves  against 
the  bloody  insolences  of  the  Papists,  1691." 

Thomas  Palmer,  in  16t>2,  had  a  grant  of  land  at  Eenmare, 
which  bad  been  the  property  of  the  O'SuUivans,  and  which,  in 
1770,  became  the  possession  of  the  Eabl  of  Shblboubnb. 

Mr.  Palmer  married,  firstly,  Jane,  dau.  of  William  Aid  worth, 
esq.,  of  Duhallow,  county  Cork ;  and  secondly,  Shelah,  dau.  of 
the  O'SuUivan  More.  For  his  issue  vide  Burke's  L.  G.— ar<i- 
cles,  Palmes,  of  Eilmabe,  and  Okpen,  of  Glanerough. 

1671.  July  21.  Richard  Davies,  V.  Clonfert  and  Tullilease,  and 
R.  Enocktemple.     [P.F.] 

He  appears  in  1684.  [V.B.  D.R.]  He  was  afterwards,  I 
think,  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1674.  Thursday,  12th  Nov.  Rowland  Davies  (afterwards 
Dean  of  Cork),  and  Eliza,  dau.  of  Captain  Robert  Stannard,  of 
Eilmallod,  were  married  in  the  parish  church  by  Mr.  Richard 
Davies.     [MS.  penes  Davies.] 

1684/5.  January  14.  Matthew  Jones,  a.m.,  V.  Clonfert  and  Tulli- 
lease, and  R.  Enocktemple.  [F.F.]  In  1687  Jones  became 
P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 

Between  1684  and  1693  there  was  no  visitation  held. 

16 — ?  John  Shierly,  V.  Clonfert,  Tullilease,  and  Enocktemple. 
His  name  does  not  occur  in  the  visitation  books  for  these 
parishes. 

For  Shirley  vide  Eillinemer. 

1693.  June  21.  Charles  Northcote,  a.m.,  per  privationem  Johan- 

YOL.  XL  X 


130  CLONFERT.  [CLDTNE. 

nis  Shierly,   Y.   Clonfert,   Tullilease,  and   B.   Enocktemple. 
[D.R] 

He  appears  in  1693.  [V.B.  D.R.]  In  1708  he  became  P. 
KilmacdoDOgh,  q,  y. 

1694.  V.  Tullalifih,  val.  40  shillings.  K  Enocktemple, 
yal.  7  pounds.  V.  Clonfert,  val.  15  pounds.  P.  Killenenier, 
▼ai.  20  shillings.  Mr.  Charles  Norcott  curse  animarum  incum- 
bit.  Dnna  £pns  patronus.  Nulla  ecclesia  in  Tullalish. 
Church  of  Knocktemple  or  Newmarket  much  damnified  by  the 
Irish  in  the  late  war.  In  Clonfert  nnlla  Ecclesia.  Tullalish^ 
Enocktemple,  and  Clonfert  lie  contiguous,  and  are  united  pro 
faftc  vice.  Rect.  imp'  de  TuUalish  Mr.  Johes  Antill  papista  ut 
fertur.  B.  imp*  de  Clonfert  alias  Trinity  Christ  Church,  Johes 
Jephson  olim,  nunc  vendit  Johi  Longfield.     [Palliser.] 

1 700.  May  7.  The  Chapter  of  Clojme  order  a  lease  of  the 
rectory  of  Eilcorkerane,  alias  Cloghane,  to  be  made  to  Mr. 
Charles  Northcote  and  his  successors,  Vicars  of  Newmarket,  at 
such  rent  as  the  Economos  shall  think  fit  on  viewing  the  same. 
On  20th  May,  1703,  Mr.  Northcote  obtained  an  abatement  of  a 
fottrth  part  of  his  rent,  in  consideration  of  serving  the  cure  of 
Kilcorcoran,  and  a  new  lease  is  ordered  to  him  at  4  li.  per  an. 

1710.  November  16.  Mr.  Charles  Northcote,  Preb.  of  Eil- 
niaodonogh,  submitted  his  claim  (by  his  proctor,  Mr.  Walter 
Atkin,  Treasurer),  to  the  parish  of  Eilcorcorane,  which  he 
claimed  as  Vioar  of  Newmarket  The  Chapter  repudiated  his 
daim,  and  decreed  him  to  appear  in  person  next  chapter,  and 
publicly  renounce  his  pretension. 

On  13th  November,  1717,  the  Chapter  refuses  to  make  any 
payment  to  Northcote  for  the  cure  of  Eilcorkoran  until  be 
ahall  appear  and  renounce  "  all  right,  title,  and  pretension  what- 
ever to  the  pretended  vicarage  of  Eilcorkeran."  In  1722  Mr. 
Northcote  has  a  dispute  about  the  bounds  of  Eilcorkeran 
parish,  and  a  commission  of  perambulation  is  ordered ;  and 
again  in  1725  a  similar  commission  is  ordered.  [C.B.] 
1730.  August  28.  Southwell  Bicard,  a.m.  (vice  Northcote,  de- 
ceased), v.  Clonfert.  [D.B.]  Bicard  was  also  Archdeacon  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1735.  Sept.  17.  Petir  Bunworth,  a.m.  (vice  Bicard,  resigned),  V. 
Clonfert.     [D.B.]     He  was  also  P.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 

1736.  May  28.  Barry  Yelverton  (Lord  Avonmore)  was  bom 
at  Newmarket     [Cornwallis  Correspondence,  vol.  ii.  p.  449.] 
1752.  Feb.  27.  Edward  Eippax,  am.  (vice  Bunworth,  deceased),  V. 
Clonfert  and  P.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 

1752.  A  silver  chaiice,  now  (1863)  in  Newmarket  church, 
lias  this  legend  :  "  The  gift  of  ye  Honble.  Elisabeth  Aldworth 
to  the  church  of  New  Markett,  March,  1752."  This  lady  was 
daughter  of  the  first  Viscoukt  Doneraile.  Her  eldest  son, 
Boyle  Aldworth,  was  grandfather  to  the  present  B.  0.  Aid- 


CLOYNB.]  CLONFEBT.  181 

worth,  of  Newmarket ;  her  secoDd  son,  St.  Leger  Aid  worthy 
was  created  Viscount  Donebaile  on  the  death,  without  issue, 
of  his  uncle. 

1759.  May  19.  Nathaniel  Boyse,  m.a.  (vice  Kippax,  deceased),  V, 
Clonfert  and  P.  Lackeen.     [F.F.] 

1765.  April  25.  Laurence  Arundel  adm.  Ludimagister  Scho- 
Isd  de  Clonfert.  This  was  the  Rev.  L.  Arundel,  who,  on  13th 
August,  1762,  had  heen  licensed  to  teach  Greek  and  Latin  in 
the  city  of  Cork.  He  was  buried  at  Newmarket  on  26th  Jan- 
uary, 1779. 

1768.  The  following  inscription  is  now  (1863)  visible  on  a 
flat  stone  over  a  vault,  near  the  entrance  of  the  old  churchyard 
of  Clonfert :  **  Johannes  Creagh  obiit  8^  die  martis  anno  Dom. 
1768.     ^tatis  92. 

Hie  veneranda  pii  requiescant  ossa  Parentis, 
Dum  tuba  prolifico  reuovatum  pulvere  corpus 
Evocet  ad  sedes,  sic  fas  sperare,  beatas. 

Richardus,  Johannes,  filii  obsequentissimi  posuere.** 

John  Creagh,  whose  death  was  thus  recorded,  was  a  member 
of  an  ancient  Irish  &mily,  which  was  settled  iu  Cork- so  early 
as  the  time  of  Edward  111.,  and  continued  for  two  centuries  to 
form  intermarriages  with  the  leading  merchants,  and  to  attain 
power  and  wealth.  In  1644,  however,  when  the  other  ancient 
Irish  inhabitants  were  expelled  Cork,  William  Creagh,  with  his 
son,  John,  left  that  city. 

John  settled  near  Newmarket,  and  was  buried  in  Clonfert 
churchyard  ;  and  left  an  eldest  son,  John  Creagh,  of  Killowen, 
near  Newmarket,  who  died  as  above  is  mentioned. 

He  left  a  numerous  family,  and  his  descendants  still  possess 
the  lands  of  Killowen,  in  Clonfert  parish. 

1771.  March  17.  Cornelius  and  Margaret  Noonan,  and 
Thomas  M^Auliff,  renounce  Popery. 

1772.  May  17.  The  Honourable  Mrs.  Aldworth  was  buried. 
1774.  Oct.  16.  John  Philpot  Curran,  esq.,  and  Sarah  Creagh, 

both  of  this  parish,  were  married,  by  licence,  by  the  Curate, 
Henry  Weston,  in  presence  of  Richard  Odell  and  Jeremiah 
Keller.  [Par.  Reg.J  The  celebrated  Curran,  whose  memory 
is  still  affectionately  remembered  in  the  land  of  his  birth,  was 
born  on  or  about  24th  of  July  or  August,  1751,  in  a  bouse 
which  has  long  been  removed,  which  stood  to  the  west  of  the 
present  (1863)  court-house  in  Newmarket  His  father,  James 
Curran,  was  probably  from  the  north  of  Ireland,  and  held  the 
office  of  Seneschal  of  the  Manor  of  Newmarket  under  the  Aid- 
worth  family.  His  mother  was  of  gentle  blood,  being  a  de- 
scendant of  Henry  Philpot,  of  Feversham,  in  Kent,  whose 
grandson,  John  Philpot,  of  Feversham,  had,  inter  alios  (besides 
Sir  John  Philpot,  Judge  of  the  Common  Pleas),  a  son,  Nicholas 
yoL.  II.  K  2 


132  CLONFERT.  [CLOYNE. 

Philpot,  wbo,  by  his  wife,  Anne  (dau.  of  William,  and  sister  of 
Sir  Richard  Aldworth,  of  Newmarket),  had  two  sons,  John  and 
Gregory.  John  the  last  named  was  grandfather  to  William 
Philpot,  of  Dromagh,  whose  estates  passed  by  marriage  to  his 
great  grandson,  Nicholas  Philpot  Leader,  esq.,  whose  son,  N.  P. 
Leader,  is  now  (1863)  m.p.  for  Cork  county.  Gregory  (the 
other  son  of  Nicholas  Philpot  and  Anne  Aldworth),  by  his 
w:ife,  Bridgett,  dau.  of  John  Evatt,  Dean  of  Elphin,  had  issue 
two  sons,  Michael  (P.  Dromdaleague,  Cork,  q.  v.)  ;  and  Laur- 
ence, who  married  Sarah,  dau.  of  Hugh  Wigtou,  of  Raphoe, 
and  had  issue  Sarah,  wife  of  James  Curran,  and  mother  of 
John-Philpot  and  Laurence  Curran.  Mr.  Boyse,  or  Boyce,  the 
Vicar  of  Clonfert,  of. whose  charijbable  disposition  there  are 
some  traces  in  the  old  books  of  the  parish,  perceived  and  fos- 
tered the  germs  of  genius  in  the  youthful  Curran.  He  taught 
him  Greek  and  Latin,  and  sent  him  at  his  own  charges  to  Mid- 
dleton  school,  from  whence  Curran  entered  T.C.D.  as  Sizar,  in 
1769,  and  became  a  Scholar  in  17?0.  It  is  not  within  the 
scope  of  this  work  to  give  a  biography  of  Curran.  His  life  has 
been  already  more  than  once  written  ;  and  it  will  be  enough 
here  to  record  the  issue  of  the  marriage  which  he,  unhappily  for 
himself,  formed  as  above  in  1774.  On  29th  May,  1776,  Richard- 
Creagh,  son  of  John  and  Sarah  Curran,  was  baptized.  On  22nd 
Sept.  1777,  Sarah-Gertrude;  on  2nd  January,  1779,  Emily- 
Maria;  on  23rd  Dec.  1779,  Eliza-Odella ;  on  19th  January, 
1784,  John;  and  on  31st  January,  1787,  James,  children  of 
John  and  Sarah  Creagh,  were  baptized  at  Newmarket.  Another 
daughter,  Gertrude,  born  in  1780^  died  on  6th  October,  1792, 
and  was  buried  at  the  Priory,  Rathfarnham.  One  of  his 
daughters,  Sarah,  the  betrothed  of  Emmett,  and  wife  of  Mr. 
Sturgeon,  lies  buried  in  Newmarket.  Only  a  rough  stone 
marks  the  spot.  (Fwfe  supra,  vol.  i.  p.  53.)  Another  daugh- 
ter, Eliza,  I  suppose,  was  wife  to  an  English  clergyman,  Mr. 
Taylor  ;  and  another  daughter,  Amelia,  resided  at  Clifton,  near 
Bristol,  for  some  time. 

J.  P.  Curran  died  at  nine  o'clock  on  the  evening  of  14th 
Oct.  1817,  at  his  house,  Amelia-place,  Brompton,  Middlesex, 
London.  His  funeral,  which  took  place  on  4th  November, 
was  private,  the  hour  being  communicated  only  to  the  mourn- 
ers. Between  twelve  and  one  the  procession  left  Upper  Gros- 
venor-street,  where  the  body  had  been  deposited  the  night 
before.  There  were  but  three  mourning  and  three  private  car- 
riages. Mr.  Curran,  barrister.  Captain  Curran,  and  Mrs.  Tay- 
lor, his  children,  and  Mr.  Thomas  Moore,  Mr.  Godwin,  and  Mr, 
Charles  Philips,  attended.  The  body  was  deposited  in  a  vault 
at  Paddington,  and  was  twenty  years  afterwards  removed  to 
Glasnevin.  In  the  parish  church  of  Clifton,  on  the  south  wall, 
under  a  female  figure,  mourning,  is  the  following  inscription  : — 


CLOYNE.]  CLONFERT.  133 

'*  M.  S.  Jobanuis  Philpot  Curran  a  secretioribas  Domini  Regis 
consiliis  curisB  regalis  Rotulorum  in  Hibemia  olim  Prssulis 
Primarii.  Morum  comitate,  salibus  Atticis,  splendore  ingenii, 
celeberrimi.  Qui  in  horis  maxime  procellosis  reipublic»  longe 
lateque  yersatus,  fidissimuni  infaustis  tutamen,  nullum  sibi 
iniroicum  fecit,  nullo  patrisB  inimico  pepercit  Fori  senatusqne 
eloquio  inter  principes  princeps,  ad  summa  juris  evectus,  cres- 
cente  fama  animo  roagis  magisque  lucescente,  labente  tan  turn 
corpore,  sexages.  sept,  jam  agens  annum,  Heu !  immature 
mortuus  est  orbi  natus,  orbi  mcmoriam  relinquens.  Filia  super- 
biam  inter  et  lacrymas  H.  M.  dicavit.  Nat.  in  Hibernia  a.d. 
1751  ;  ob.  Londini  a.d.  1818." 

1774.  Clonfert,  als  Trinity  Christchurcb,  Newmarket,  Vic 
in  the  bar.  of  Duhallow;  value  £250  per  ann.  Church  in 
repair  at  Newmarket;  that  of  Clonfert  in  ruins.  Pat  the 
Bishop.  Glebe,  9a.  1r.  plant.  Proxy,  2$.  Taxed  in  the 
King's  books  £5  \Qs,  ster.  Incumb.  Nathaniel  Boyce,  a.b.  ; 
Curate,  Henry  Weston,  a.b.     [Kingston.] 

1775.  March  3.  Mary  Anne  Bunworth  renounces  Popery. 

1776.  April  27.  Richard  Aldworth,  esq.,  was  buried.  He 
left  £50  to  the  poor  of  this  parish,  which  was  noticed  in  the 
parish  register  thus :  **  6  months'  interest  of  Mr.  Aldworth*8 
fifty  pounds,  bequeathed  to  the  poor  of  this  parish,  £1  10«.** 
This  entry  was  after  December,  1776,  and  before  January, 
1777.  The  pages  following  have  been  lost,  so  I  am  unable  to 
trace  this  legacy  further,  until  the  year  1806,  when  the  vestry 
acknowledge  the  receipt  of  '*£!  10^.,  interest  of  £50,  the 
bequest  of  Richard  Aldworth,  esq.,  paid  by  the  representatives 
of  William  Connell."  After  some  time  the  payment  of  the  in- 
terest of  this  £50  ceased«  nor  was  it  recovered  until  the  year 
1S62,  when  the  principal  and  interest  were  paid  through  the 
medium  of  the  Incumbered  Estates  Court  to  the  Commissioners 
of  Charitable  Donations  and  Bequests.  It  is  now  called  the 
Connell  Bequest  by  the  Charity  Commissioners,  although  it  has 
been  pointed  out  to  them  that  Connell  borrowedy  not  bequeathed 
the  money. 

1781.  Nov.  11.  Michael  Creagh,  esq.,  of  Lanrentinum  and  of 
LiscarroU,  died.  He  was  the  youngest  son  of  John  Creagh 
(whose  death,  in  1768,  is  recorded  above),  by  £lIinor,  dau.  of 
Colonel  John  Barretts,  whose  esUites  and  castle  were  forfeited 
in  1688.  Michael  Creagh  left  £100  to  the  poor  of  Clonfert 
parish,  the  interest  of  which,  amountiiig  tp  £5  10«.  9^.  yearly, 
is  still  punctually  paid  to  the  Vicar  of  Clonfert  by  the  repre- 
sentatives of  the  testator.  For  an  account  of  this  branch  of 
the  Creagh  family,  Tnde  Burke's  L.  G. — article,  Crbaoh  of 
Ballt-Andrbw. 

1 785.  The  Protestant  population  of  Newmarket  and  Lackeen 
18  77. 


134  CLONFERT.  [CLOYNE. 

1787.  Dec.  7.  Boyle  Aldworth,  esq.,  was  buried.  He  left 
£46  3«.  }d.  to  the  poor  of  the  parish. 

1789.  Feb.  24.  Margaret  O'Keef  renouDced  Popery  in  ye 
parish  church  of  Newmarket.  She  was  married  on  the  same 
day  to  Michael  Hudson. 
1792.  July  22.  Richard  Woodward  (vice  Boyse,  deceased),  V. 
Olonfert  and  P.  Lackeen.  [D.R.]  On  17th  June,  1793,  he 
was  again  collated  on  receiving  Castlemagner  in  addition. 
[P.F.]     In  1799  he  became  P.  Glanworth,  q.  v. 

1794.  Henry  Weston,  a.b.,  who,  on  18th  July,  1772,  had 
been  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Clonfert,  died,  and  was  buried 
at  Newmarket.  He  lost  his  life  by  the  accidental  discharge  of 
a  gun,  January  29,  1794. 

Mr.  Weston  was  also  Chaplain  to  the  Newmarket  Rangers,  a 
corps  of  volunteers  enrolled  in  1778. 
1798.  August  12.  Ahdrbw  M'Glimtook  (vice  Woodward,  resigned), 
V.  Clonfert.     [P.P.] 

1 805.  The  number  of  Protestant  families  is  6 1 .  [Archb.  Brod.] 

Mr.  M'Clintock  has  cure  of  souls,  and  resides  regularly  in 
summer,  but  is  allowed  to  live  at  Bath  in  winter,  being  gouty. 
The  duties  are  performed  by  his  Curates,  Rev.  Robert  BuUen 
and  Rev.  George  Mayberry,  at  £50  each.  One  church  and 
one  chapel  of  ease  at  Eanturk.  No  glebe-house,  but  one  is 
about  to  be  built.     [Rep.  1806.] 

Andrew  M'Clintock  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  5th 
October,  1794,  for  the  curacy  of  Clonfert     He  died  in  1807. 

1807.  Sept.  8.  Robert  Kirohoffer  (vice  M*Clintock,  deceased),  V. 
Clonfert.     [P.P.]     In  1808  he  became  V.  Clondrohid,  q.  v. 

1808.  June  15.  A  vestry  is  held  in  Newmarket  Church,  for 
the  purpose  of  making  Kanturk  a  perpetual  cure,  and  the  fol- 
lowing plowlands  are  allotted  to  Kanturk  chapel  of  ease,  viz., 
Kanturk,  Stradeen,  Curragh,  Meelsheragh,  Rusline,  Coolavotas, 
Kilnockin,  KnockeUy,  Knockskeehy,  Knockskovane,  Gooseberry- 
hill,  Carrigcashel,  Barleyhill,  Lismire,  Duargile,  Callaghan's 
Rossacon,  Callaghan's  Lismealcoming,  Murphy's  do.,  2  Clonti- 
comades,  Greenfield,  Gnrtnacomroe,  and  Gurtnaskreggy. 

1808.  Sept,  10.   Prancis  Hewitt  (vice  Kirchoffer,  resigned),  V. 
Clonfert.     [P.P.] 

P.  Hewitt  (son  of  Thomas  Hewitt,  esq.,  of  Cork,  who  was 
buried  at  Ballyinodau,  and  of  Catherine  Eason,  his  wife),  was 
ordained  Deacon  on  25th  July,  and  Priest  on  21st  Dec,  1797, 
at  Cork.  On  26th  August,  1797,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy 
of  St.  Paul,  Cork.  Prom  1799  to  1808  he  was  V.  Clonmeen, 
Roskeen,  and  Kilcomey. 

He  married,  firstly,  Eliza,  dau.  of  Robert  Reeves,  esq.,  of 
Cork,  and  by  her  had  three  sons,  Thomas,  Barrister-at-Law ; 
Robert,  died  unmarried  ;  and  Prancis,  Colonel  H.E.I.C.,  who 
married  his  cousin,  Elisabeth  Henrietta  Hewitt,  and  died  Sp. 


CLOYNB.]  CLOMFEBT.  135 

Rev.  F.  Hewitt  married,  2ndly,  at  St.  Mary,  Shandon,  Cork,  on 
8th  Nov.,  1803,  Anna,  sister  of  Alderman  Harding,  of  Cork, 
and  relict  of  Joseph  Rogers,  esq.,  of  Cork.  By  his  second  wife 
he  had  3  sons,  John,  and  Henry,  now  in  Australia  ;  and  Charles, 
M.D.;  besides  2  daughters,  who  both  married  sons  of  Rev.  Robert 
Bullen,  of  Newmarket. 

Mr.  Hewitt  died  on  8th  Nov.,  1818.     A  tablet  to  his  memory 
is  in  the  church  of  Newmarket,  where  he  was  buried. 
1819.  Feb.  7.  Robbut  Lonofibld,  a.m.  (vice  Hewitt,  deceased),  Y. 
Clonfert  als  Trinity  Christchurch,  NewmarkeL     [B.R.] 

Robert  Longfield  (son  of  Colonel  Mouotiford  Longfield,  m.p., 
of  Castlemary,  county  Cork,  by  Miss  Bateman,  of  Oakpark, 
county  Kerry),  was  ordained  Deacon  on  23rd  Dec,  1798,  at 
Cork,  and  Priest  on  let  Sept.,  1799,  at  Cloyne.  He  was  P. 
Coole  from  1810  to  1819,  and  V,  Clonfert  from  1819  to  1823. 
He  also  held  the  P.  Disert,  Lismore,  from  August  to  December, 
1810;  from  Dec.  1810  to  1813,  the  V.  Kilcash,  Templethay, 
KilIalone,and  Kilgrant,  in  the  diocese  of  Waterford  and  Lismore; 
and  from  1813  to  1823,  the  R.  Drakestown  and  Castletown, 
Kilpatrick,  in  Meath  diocese.  He  resigned  his  church  pre- 
ferment of  Clonfert  on  5th  Sept.,  1823,  on  succeeding  to  the 
estates  of  Castlemary. 

He  married,  on  11th  Dec.,  1811,  at  St.  Peter's,  Dublin, 
Cherry,  daughter  and  heiress  of  Thomas  Hugo,  esq.,  of  Drum- 
meen,  county  Wicklow.  He  had  issue  by  her  five  sons, 
Monntiford,  now  of  Castlemary,  d.l.  for  Cork  county  ;  Robert ; 
Richard,  died  taim.;  William,  Major  of  the  West  Cork  Artillery; 
and  Thomas,  ordained  Deacon  at  Cork  on  11th  March,  1855, 
and  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Clondrohid  on  18lh  January, 
1859. 

The  Rev.  Robert  Longfield  had  also  seven  daughters, Frances, 
wife  of  Richard  Beare  Tooker,  esq.  ;  Caroline  Maria,  died  unm.; 
Cherry,  who  was  married  to  William  Oliver  Jackson,  esq.,  of 
Ahanesk,  Midleton,  and  died  lately ;  Letitia,  Margaret,  and 
Emily,  who  all  died  unm,;  and  B^y,  wife  of  Maziere  John 
Brady,  esq.,  second  son  of  the  Lord  Chancbllob. 

The  Rev.  Robert  Longfield  was  buried  in  the  family  vault  at 
Cloyne,  on  15th  January,  1843. 
1823.  Sept  27.  Richabd  Nbtillb  (vice  Longfield,  resigned),  Y. 
Clonfert.    p).R.]     In  1831  he  became  K.  Clon priest,  q.  v. 

1 823.  In  this  year  St.  Leger  Aldworth,  esq.,  died  at  Sunday's 
Well,  near  Cork.  He  was  ion  of  Boyle  Aldworth  by  Martha, 
dau.  of  Colonel  Christopher  Rogers.  St.  Leger  Aldworth,  in 
his  will  (dated  1822,  and  proved  on  12th  March,  1824),  be- 
queathed **  j£l,000  for  the  purpose  of  establishing  a  manufiEu;- 
tureof  whatsoever  kind  as  may  be  considered  as  most  conducive 
to  the  advantage  of  the  people,  by  my  executors,  in  the  town  of 
Newmarket,  and  which  may  profitably  employ  a  considerable 


136  CLONFERT.  [CLOYNK. 

part  of  the  population.  As  there  will  be  some  hundreds  of 
pounds  remaining  of  the  said  sum,  it  may  be  put  to  interest, 
and  the  interest  for  ever  may  be  disposed  of  in  equal  parts  to  two 
old  and  honest  peasants  upon  the  estate  of  Newmarket — for 
life — to  an  old  man  and  an  old  woman,  not  connected  with  each 
other  bj  marriage,  as  a  small  remuneration  for  their  toils,  and 
a  little  addition  to  their  comforts.  I  leave  the  proprietor  of 
the  estate  of  Newmarket  the  choice  of  the  most  worthy  objects.** 

1824.  April  8.  Richard  Aldworth,  esq.,  aged  84,  was  buried 
at  Newmarket.  In  his  will,  dated  30th  April,  1817,  he  left 
£100  (Irish)  to  be  applied  as  a  charitable  loan  for  the  poor  of 
the  town  of  Newmarket 

1825.  August  29.  A  site  was  granted  by  Robert  Rogers 
Aldworth,  esq.,  for  a  school-house  for  a  resident  master  to  teach 
English  and  arithmetic  under  regulation  of  grantor.  The 
master  to  be  appointed  by  grantor.  X84  ISs,  6d,  was  given 
out  of  the  Lord  Lieutenant's  fund  for  building  the  school-house, 
and  an  equal  amount  was  contributed  by  Mr.  Aldworth.  In 
1856  the  state  of  this  school  was  reported  as  being  very  un-> 
satisfactory.  The  number  of  children  on  the  rolls  being  8; 
of  whom  5  were  of  the  United  Church,  and  1  was  a  Pres« 
byterian.  The  salary  was  £25,  paid  by  Primitive  Weslejran 
Mission  Society.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1827.  At  Christmas  there  were  100  communicants.  In 
1828,  at  Easter,  there  were  70  communicants  ;  at  Christmas, 
115  ;  and  at  five  other  celebrations  of  the  sacrament  there  was 
an  average  of  35  communicants.  In  1829,  at  Christmas,  114  ; 
at  Easter,  55 ;  at  Whitsuntide,  25 ;  and  at  five  other  celebra- 
tions an  average  of  43  persons  received  the  sacrament.  In 
1830,  76  persons  at  Easter ;  51  on  Whitsunday;  96  at  Christ- 
mas ;  and  an  average  of  38  persons  at  seven  other  celebrations 
received. 

1830.  May  10.  Thanks  are  voted  by  the  parish  to  Robert 
Rogers  Aldworth,  esq.,  for  his  gift  of  a  bell  for  the  church. 

1830.  The  Protestant  population  was  275. 
1831.  Oct.  19.  John  Evans  Johnson,  V.  Clonfert,  ^nce  Neville,  re- 
signed.   [D.R.] 

1832.  In  this  year  the  average  number  of  monthly  commu- 
nicants was  45  ;  at  festivals,  76.  In  1833  the  monthly  com- 
municants averaged  41,  and  at  festivals,  69.  In  1834  the 
average  each  month  was  37,  and  at  festivals,  64.  The  average 
of  monthly  communicants  in  1835  fell  to  29,  and  at  festivals 
was  only  50. 

1835.  May  19.  70  persons  were  confirmed  by  the  Bishop  in 
Newmarket  Church. 

1836.  January  31.  Robert  Rogers  Aldworth,  esq.,  was  buried. 
He  left,  by  will,  dated  4th  May,  1827,  £100  to  the  poor  of  the 
town  of  Newmarket^  to  be  distributed  at  the  discretion  of  his 


CLOTNE.]  CLONFEBT.  137 

executors;  but  bj  a  codicil  he  afterwards  directed  that  the 
said  £100  should  ''be  placed  either  in  the  funds  or  a  sayings* 
bank,  and  not  lent  out  on  private  security."  This  bequest  is  now 
(1863)  in  the  hands  of  the  Commissioners  of  Charitable  Dona- 
tions, and  produces  yearly,  £3 1«.  104.,  which  is  paid  to  the  Vicar. 

1837.  Clonfert :  a  vicarage,  with  cure,  15  miles  long  by  8 
broad,  containing  62,395a.  Gross  population,  8,789.  One 
Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £75  per  annum.  Composi- 
tion for  the  vicarial  tithes,  £581  10«.  9d. ;  15a.  Or.  5|p.  of  glebe, 
let  at  an  annual  rent  of  £25 ;  subject  to  visitation  fees  and 
diocesan  schoolmaster,  £2  12s.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent 
resides  within  the  benefice,  and  a  sum  of  £60  a-year  has  been 
allowed  for  the  house  in  his  occupation,  exclusive  of  36  acres 
of  land  belonging  to  it.  One  church  in  this  parish,  exclusive 
of  the  church  in  the  perpet^ial  cure  of  Eanturk,  at  a  distance 
of  four  miles.  The  parochial  church,  capable  of  accommodating 
300  persons,  built  in  1830,  at  the  cost  of  £2,000  Brit,  granted 
in  way  of  loan,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  of  which 
loan  there  remained  £1,760  chargeable  on  the  parish  in  1832, 
repayable  by  anuual  instalments  of  £80.  Divine  service  is 
celebrated  twice  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  festivals. 
The  sacrament  is  administered  monthly,  and  on  Easter  Sunday 
and  Christmas  Day.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  a  moiety  of 
the  tithes  of  this  parish,  compounded  for  £581  10^.  9(f.,  are 
impropriate,  and  belong  to  John  Longfield,  of  Longueville,  esq. 
[Pari.  Rep.J 

1841.  July  23.  Two  acres  of  land  were  granted,  by  deed,  to 
the  Governors  of  Erasmus  Smith's  Schools,  as  a  site  for 
a  parochial  school  at  Newmarket.  The  Gt)vemors  granted 
£146  13s.  id,  for  the  erection  of  a  house,  <&c.,  and  £73  6s.  Sd. 
was  subscribed  by  the  Aldworth  family.  The  appointment  of 
of  a  master  is  in  the  Governors.  In  1856  there  were  35  chil- 
dren on  roll,  of  whom  5  were  Roman  Catholics.  The  salary 
was  £13,  of  which  £5  was  paid  by  Mr.  Aldworth ;  £5  by 
Church  Education  Society  ;  and  £3  by  the  Vicar.  The  teacher 
had  also  £10  as  Parish  Clerk. 

J.  E.  Johnson  (son  of  the  Hon.  Judge  Johnson,  of  Dublin) 
was  Curate  of  St.  Mary's,  Dublin,  in  1825  ;  and  from  1828  to 
1831  was  Chaplain  of  the  Royal  Chapel,  at  Ringsend.  He 
was  also  some  time  R.  Ballyroan,  Leighlin.  From  1831  to 
1843  he  was  V.  Clonfert;  and  from  1843  to  1848  was  P.  Kil- 
rush.  Ferns.  In  1848  he  became  Archdeacon  of  Ferns.  He 
was  twice  married,  and  has  issue.  Mr.  Johnson  resigned 
Clonfert  on  24th  January,  1843. 
1843.  Sept.  10.  Jambs  Morton,  a.m.  (vice  Johnson,  resigned),  V. 
Clonfert.  [D.R.]  He  was  appointed  by  the  Crown  by  courtesy 
of  the  Bishop. 

In  1859  he  became  by  exchange  R.  Farrahy,  q.  v. 


138  CLOKFEBT.  [CLOYNE. 

1859.  Feb.  2.  William  Maziere  Bbady,  b.d.  (vice  Morton,  resigned), 
V*  Clonfert.     [D.R.] 

1861.  Oct.  1.  A  coniinnation  was  held  at  Newmarket.  125 
persons  attended  church,  of  which  number  78  received  the  holy 
communion.  5  persons  from  Newmarket,  with  other  persons 
from  npighbouring  parishes,  were  confirmed  by  the  Bishop. 

1861.  W.  M.  Brady,  Incumbent;  R.  Noble,  Curate.  The 
church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  The  glebe  of  nine  acres  is 
let.  Incumbent  resides  close  to  the  church.  Divine  service 
twice  on  all  Sundays  and  once  on  the  usual  holidays ;  on  Wednes- 
days and  Fridays  in  Advent  and  Lent,  and  on  other  occasions. 
Sacrament  monthly,  and  at  festivals ;  average  of  communicants, 
32.  The  children  are  instructed  by  the  Vicar  or  his  Curate 
on  every  day  during  the  year,  except  during  school  vacation, 
from  10  to  11  A.M.  About  25  children  attend  a  school,maintained 
by  the  landed  proprietors  of  the  parish  and  the  Vicar.  The  Pro- 
testant population  is  144.  The  reutcharge  is  £436  3^.  Id. 
The  land  is  worth  £16.  Total  income,  £452  Ss.  Icf.,  out  of 
which  the  Vicar  pays  to  the  Curate  of  Kanturk,  £46  3«.  \d. 

Upon  a  timber  tablet  in  Newmarket  Church  is  written  the 
following : — 

''Charitable  bequests  to  the  poor  of  Newmarket : — Richard 
Aldworth,  esq.,  £50 ;  Boyle  Aldworth,  esq.,  £50  ;  Michael 
Creagh,  esq.,  £100 ;  William  Philpot,  esq.,  £40 ;  Richard  AM- 
worth,  esq.,  £100  ;  St.  Leger  Aldworth,  esq.,  £100 ;  St.  Leger 
Aldworth,  esq.,  £1,000  ;  Robert  R.  Aldworth,  esq.,  £100." 

Of  these  munificent  bequests,  principally  of  the  Aldworth 
family,  the  total  is  £1,540.  The  interest  of  the  Creagh  bequest 
is,  however,  almost  the  only  portion  at  the  disposal  of  the 
Vicar  and  Churchwardens  ;  and  it,  together,  with  the  interest 
arising  from  the  remainder  of  the  sums  which  are  now  avail- 
able, is  annually  distributed  by  The  Lady  Letitia  Aldworth 
amongst  the  poor  at  Christmas. 

W.  M.  Brady  [youngest  son  of  the  late  Sir  N.  W.  Brady 
(for  whom,  vide  Kilnaglory,  Cork,  vol.  i.  p.  185),  by  Katliorine 
Anne-Emily,  dau.  and  co-heirees  of  the  late  Peter  Jacob  Hodg- 
son, esq.,  Comptroller  of  the  Customs  in  Ireland],  was  born  in 
January,  1825,  and  wa^  educated  in  England,  and  at  Portora 
Royal  School,  Enniskillen. 

He  entered  T.C.D.  as  a  Pensioner  in  1842,  obtained  classical 
honors,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1848  ;  b.d.  in  1858  ;  and  d.d.  in 
1863. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  St.  Patrick's,  Dublin,  on  22nd 
Oct.  1848,  and  Priest  at  Lisbum,  by  the  Bishop  of  Down,  on 
23rd  Sept.  1849.  In  1848  he  was  Curate  of  Maynooth,  Dublin, 
and  in  1849,  of  Kilkeedy,  Limerick.  On  the  22nd  January, 
1851,  he  was  admitted  P.  C.  of  St.  Doulough's,  Dublin ;  and 
in  December  of  same  year,  became  R.  Farrahy. 


CLOYITE.]  CLONFERT CLONMEEN.  139 

He  was  appointed  one  of  the  Chaplains  to  the  Lobd  Libtj- 
TENAKT  of  Ireland  by  the  following  noblemen,  viz. : — The 
Eabl  of  Clarendon,  the  Earl  of  St.  Germans,  and  the  Earl 
of  Carlisle. 

Dr.  Brady  was  married  in  1851,  by  the  Lord  Bishop  of 
Limerick  (DR.HiGoiN),to  Frances,  relict  of  Hugh  O'Reilly,  esq., 
of  Newgrove,  county  Meath,  and  daughter  of  William  Walker, 
esq.,  of  High  Park,  county  Dublin,  by  Jane,  daughter  of  Francis 
Marsh,  esq.,  of  the  Abbey,  Stradbally,  Queen's  county,  who 
was  lineally  descended  of  Dr.  Francis  Marsh,  Archbishop 
of  Dublin,  whose  wife  was  Mary,  dau.  and  co-heiress  of  Dr. 
Jeremt  Taylor,  Bishop  of  Down  and  Connor. 


CLONMEEN. 

1591.  Cornelius  O'Brien  appears  as  Vicar  of  Clonmeen  and  Ros- 
keen.  "  Rector  de  Clonmeen  ;  Economus  of  Cloyne,  and  Hos- 
pital de  Mora.  Rector  de  Roskyne,  Prior  Bothon.  V.  Clonmeen 
et  Roskyne,  Cor.  O'Brien."  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.]  He  is  also 
Y.  Kilshannig. 

1615.  Emanuel  Phaire  appears  as  V.  Clonmeen  and  Roskeen.  "R, 
Clonmine  et  Roskine  imp.  Johes  Jephson,  miles,  firmarius. 
V.  Emanuel  Phere,  residens  et  inserviens  cura>.  Valor  utri- 
usque  3  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  de  Clonmine  bene  rcpata.  Ecclesia 
de  Roskine  ruinata."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

On  June  6th,  1621,  Emanuel  Phaire  was  admitted  to  P.  Eil- 
maclenine,  V.  Kilshanye,  Clonmyne,  and  Roskeene,  qaas  Preb. 
and  Vic.  Jacobus  Rex  per  literas  paten tes  gerentes  datum  apud 
Dub.,  9th  March,  an^  regni  18°  univit  et  annexit.  Installed 
18th  June,  1621.  [R.V.  1634.]  Phaire  was  P.  Kilmaclenine, 
q.  V. 

IQ —  )  «  Mr.Northoote,  the  elder,  was  Vicar  of  Clonmeen  in  the  time 
of  the  Usurper  Cromwell."  [Cloyne  Chapter  Book,  under  date 
of  12th  July,  1700.] 

1661  to  1663.  Mr.  Patrick  Thompson  appears  as  Vicar  of  Clonmeen, 
Roskeen,  and  Kilshannig.  [V.B.  D.R.]  In  1663  he  also  ap- 
pears as  V.  Kilcorney.  [V.B.]  R.  de  Kilshannig  in  manu 
Regis.  Vicarius  Patricius  Thompson.  [V.B.]  Thompson  ap- 
pears again  in  1669. 

1665.  Vacant.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1666.  July  23.  Theodore  Vbset,  V.  Clonmeen,  Roskeen,  Kilshannig, 
and  P.  Cooliney.  [F.F.]  In  1676  he  became  P.  Kilnaglory, 
Cork,  q.  v. 

1669.  Oct.  27.  Patrick  Thompson,  V.  Clonmeen,  Roskeen,  Kil- 
shannig et  Kilcorney  in  Coll.  Epi.  per  resignationem  Theodore 
Vesey.    [V.B.  D.R.  1669.] 


140  CLONM£EN.  [CLOTNE. 

P.  Thompson,  from  1661  to  1664,  was  V.  Clonmeen,  Roskeen, 
and  Kilsbaunig;  from  1664  to  1669,  P.Inniscarra;  and  from  1669 
to  1676,  V.  Clonmeen,  Roskeen,  Kilshannig,  and  Kilcorney. 
1676.  June  17.  John  Norcott,  7.  Clonmeen,  Roskeen,  Kilshannig, 
and  Kilcorney.     [F.F.] 

1676.  July  27.  "  We  find  and  present  that  the  parish  church 
of  Clonmeen  is  out  of  repair,  and  whereas  the  said  parish 
church  has  been  formerly  charged  with  thirty  shillings  per 
plowland  and  fifteen  horses  towards  the  said  church's  repairs, 
and  that  ten  shillings  per  plowland,  out  of  the  parishes  of  KiU 
shanig  and  Kilcorney  that  are  united  to  the  same  parish  of 
Clonmeen,  will  complete  the  repair  of  the  said  church,  and  that 
James  and  Abraham  Allen  (gentlemen)  are  fit  persons  for  to  over- 
see the  said  work,  and  that  they  may  be  to  that  end  empowered 
to  levy  the  said  ten  shillings  per  plowland."  [County  Cork 
Grand  Jury  Presentments.] 

1682.  The  church  of  Kilshannig  is  presented  to  be  repaired. 
[County  Cork  Grand  Jury  Presentments.] 

1694.  Rect*  imp'  do  Clonmeen  et  Roskeen,  val.  40  pounds. 
Johes  Jephson  armiger  olim  impropriator,  nunc  vendit  Mr. 
Samuel  Pomeroy.  Nulla  Ecclia  iu  Roskeen.  Ecclia  de  Clonmeen 
in  ruinatn  lapsa.  R.  V.  Kilshannig,  val.  50  pounds.  R.  V. 
Kilcorney,  val.  10  pounds.  V.  Roskin,  val.  3  pounds.  V.  Clon- 
meen, val.  20  pounds.  Mr.  Johes  Norcott  cursD  animarum 
incumbit.  Epus  patronus.  Mr.  Norcott's  livings  united  pro 
hac  vice  are  contiguous.  Eccline  de  Clonmeen  et  Kilshanigan 
in  ruina  lapssa  sunt  et  in  ceteris  nullap.  The  churches  of  Clon- 
meen and  Kilshannig  were  ruined  by  the  Irish  in  the  late  war, 
but  Kilshannig  will  be  rebuilt  this  year  (1694).     [Palliser.] 

1718.  A  chalice  bears  this  legend: — "  The  gift  of  Cornelius 
Callaghan,  esq.,  to  ye  Church  of  Clonmeene,  Anno  Doni.,  1718." 

John  Norcott  appeiars  in  1661  as  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Drom- 
downey,  Curate  of  Mallow,  and  P.  Kilmaclenine.  From  1666 
to  1680  he  was  V.  Bridgetown,  Castletown,  Wallstown,  and 
Monanimy  ;  and  from  1666  to  1676  was  P.  Killenemer.  From 
1676  to  his  death  in  1719,  he  was  V.  Clonmeen,  Roskeen,  Kil- 
shannig, and  Kilcorney. 

He  married  a  daughter  of  Rev.  W,  Smith,  d.d.,  P.  Killaspug- 
roullane,  Cork,  and  had  issue  four  sons,  Charles,  P.  Kilmac- 
donogh,  q.  V.  ;  John,  who  died  without  male  issue;  William, 
who  married,  in  1696,  Dorcas  Lawton,  of  Youghal,  and  who 
was  ancestor  of  the  Norcotts,  of  Springfield,  county  Cork  ;  and 
Edward,  of  Ballyellis,  who  married,  in  1699,  Mary  Stiffe,  of 
Mallow.  The  Rev.  J.  Norcott  had  also  a  daughter  Catherine, 
who  was  wife  to  Benezer  Murdock,  esq.,  and  who  married 
secondly,  in  1687,  John  White,  of  Limerick.  She  had  issue  by 
both  her  husbands. 
1719.  April  13.  Francis  Gore,  a.m.  (vice  John  Norcott,  deceased), 


CLOYNE.]  CLONMEEN.  141 

V.  Clonmeen,  Roskeen,  and  R.  V.  Kilcoraey.    [D.R.]    He  was 
also  P.  Kilmaclenine,  q.  v. 

1719.  Nov.  19.  It  is  ordered  that  the  (Economy  part  of  the 
tithes  of  Clonmeen  be  let  for  3  years  to  Mr.  Francis  Gore,  if  he 
continue  so  long  Vicar  of  the  parish.  On  17th  Sept.,  1727,  a 
new  lease  for  21  years  of  same  tithes  is  perfected  to  Mr.  Gore,  if 
he  continue  so  long  Incumbent  of  the  parish.  [Cloyne  Chapter 
Book.] 

1730.  June  30.  Date  of  Union  of  Clonmeen,  Roskeen,  and 
Kilcorney.     [D.R.] 
1748.  June  14.  John  Madden  (trice  Gore,  deceased),  V.  Clonmeen, 
Roskeen,  and  Kilcorney.     [F.F.] 

J.  Madden  (second  son  of  Dr.  John  Madden,  and  brother  of 
Premium  Madden),  was  born  in  1689,  and  from  1710  to  1724 
was  a  Fellow  of  T.C.D.  He  was  sometime  Vicar  of  St.  Anne*8, 
Dublin.  From  1734  to  1751  he  was  Dean  of  Kilmore;  and 
from  1748  to  his  death  on  7th  Nov.,  1751,  he  was  V.  Clon- 
meen, Roskeen,  and  Kilcorney. 

He  was  author  of — 1.  "  A  Fast  Sermon,  preached  before  the 
House  of  Commons,  in  St.  Andrew's,  Dublin."  4to.  Dublin, 
1741. 

2.  "  A  Fast  Sermon,  preached  before  the  House  of  Commons, 
on  30th  January,  1749."     4to.     DubHn,  1750. 

For  his  marriage  and  issue,  vide  Burke's  L.  G.  (edition  of 
1850),  vol.  i.,  page  819.  Madden  of  Kilkenny.  He  was 
buried  at  St.  Anne's,  Dublin. 
1751.  May  8.  James  Hingston  (vice  Madden,  resigned),  V.  Clon- 
meen, and  Roskeen,  and  R.  V.  Kilcorney.  [F.F.]  In  1772  he 
was  also  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 

1762.  Hingston,  non-resident ;  yearly  income,  £200.  [Hay- 
man.] 

1770.  June  21.  Hingston  proposed  to  the  Dean  and  Chapter 
to  take  on  lease  the  (Economy  part  of  the  tithes  of  Clonmeen 
for  X20  a-year,  and  his  proposal  was  accepted.  And  in  1772, 
1773,  and  1775,  resolutions  were  passed  by  the  Dean  and 
Chapter  to  set  the  tithes  of  Clonmeen  to  Rev.  James  Hingston, 
the  Vicar  of  said  parish,  for  two- thirds  of  what  he  shall  really 
set  them  at.     [C.B.] 

1771.  Hingston  resigned  Roskeen  and  Kilcorney,  and  was 
licensed  to  be  Curate  of  those  parishes  on  28th  June,  1771. 
[D.R.] 

1771.  July  10.  Redmond  Mobres,  a.b.  (vice  Hingston,  resigned), 
V.  Roskeen  and  Kilcorney.     [F.F.] 

1774.  Clonmeen,  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Duhallow;  value,  £160 
per  an.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Proxy,  2s,  The 
rect.  formerly  belonged  to  the  Preceptory  of  Mourne,  and  is 
now  enjoyed  by  William  Holmes  Pomeroy,  esq.,  who  pays  1 2«. 
per  ann.  crown-rent.     Proxy,  4<.     Another  rect.  in  this  parish 


142  CLOKMEEN.  [CLOTNE. 

belongs  to  the  (Economy.     Incumbent,  James  Hingston,  a.m. 
Curate,  Redmond  Morres,  a.b.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Roskeen,  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Dnhallow;  value,  £30  per 
ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat,  the  Bishop.  Proxy,  3«.  Taxed 
in  the  King's  books  by  the  name  of  Roskrvne,  £1  lO^.  ster. 
Incumb.,  Redmond  Morres,  a.b.  The  rect.  is  imp.  William 
Holmes  Pomeroy,  Imp.     Proxy,  3s.     [Kingston.] 

1774.  Kilcorney,  rect.  and  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Muskerry; 
value,  £70  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Glebe, 
13a.  Ob.  38p.  Proxy,  Is.  6d,  The  rect.  formerly  belonged  to 
the  Preceptory  of  Mourne,  and  pays  lis.  per  ann.  crown- rent 
Incumbent,  Redmond  Morres,  a.b.  [Hingston.] 
1776.  Oct.  10.  Redmond  Moeres,  a.b.  (vice  Hingston,  deceased), 
V.  Clonmeen.     [P.F.] 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Clonmeen,  Roskeen,  and  Kil- 
corney, 1.     [Morres.] 

R.  Morres  (second  son  of  Redmond  Morres,  of  Dublin)  was, 
from  1771  to  1794,  R.  V.  Kilcorney,  and  V,  Roskeen ;  and  from 
•1776  to  1794,  V.  Clonmeen. 

He  was  brother  of  the  first  Viscount  Frankfobt  db  Mont- 
morency; and  for  his  marriage  and  issue,  vide  Burke's  Peerage, 
page  415,  edition  of  1849. 
1794.  Feb.  15.  Hbniy  Newman  {vice  Morris,  deceased),  V.  Clon- 
meen and  Roskeen,  and  R.  V.  Kilcorney.  [F.F.]  In  1799  he 
became  R.  V.  Kilshannig,  q.  y. 
1799.  March  22.  Francis  Hkwit  (vice  Newman,  resigned),  V.  Clon- 
meen, Roskeen,  and  R.  V.  Kilcorney.  [F.F.]  In  1808  he 
became  V.  Clonfert,  q.  v. 

1805,  There  were  8  Protestant  families  in  the  union  in  this 
year.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

1807.  Hewett  resides  in  adjoining  parish.      Rev.  Qeorge 
Stannard  is  Curate  at  £50.     [I^P*] 
1808.  Sept.  12.  Edwabd  Stnob  Townsknd  {vice  Hewit,  resigned), 
V.  Clonmeen  and  Roskeen.     [F.F.] 

R  S.  Townsend  (eldest  son  of  Rev.  H.  Townsend,  P.  Donogh- 
more,  Cloyne,  from  1732  to  1772),  was  born  on  18th  January, 
1741.  He  was  licensed  on  11th  July,  1765,  to  the  curacy  of 
Donoghmore ;  on  6th  July,  1768,  to  that  of  Macroom;  on  18th 
Jaly,  1772,  to  that  of  Inniscarra  j  and  on  23rd  April,  1773,  to 
that  of  Clondrohid. 

From  1784  to  1789  he  was  R.  V.  Ballyvourney ;  from  1789 
to  1793,  R.  V.  Whitechurch;  and  from  1793  to  1799,  R.  V. 
Ballyvourney.  He  was  also,  from  1793  to  1808,  R.  V.  Clon- 
drohid ;  and  from  1808  to  1819,  Y.  Clonmeen  and  Roskeen. 
He  was  also,  from  1788  to  1789,  R  V.  Nathlash  and  Kildor- 
renr ;  and  from  1789  to  1799,  P.  Killenemer. 

He  married,  on  2nd  Oct,  1766,  Elisabeth,  daughter  of  Horatio 
Townsend,  who  was  of  Bridgemount|  otherwise  Cahirkegan, 


cloynr]  clonmeen.  143 

near  Mocroom,  the  fourth  son  of  John  Fitz-Cornelius  Townsend, 
by  John's  wife,  Margaret  Bowdler.  John  was  the  eldest  eon  and 
heir  of  Cornelius,  who  was  the  youngest  son  of  Colonel  Richard 
Townsend  (vide  V.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork,  1707-1735,  t^ie  Rev. 
Philip  Tottmaend).  Edward-Synge  Townsend  had  eight  sons 
and  six  daughters,  and  was  seated  for  many  years  at  Bridge- 
mount,  as  above.  He  died  at  Kinsale,  January  2,  1819,  aged 
seventy-eight  years ;  his  widow  died  at  the  same  town,  April 
12,  1831,  aged  eighty-eight  years. 

Edward-Synge  Townsend's  eldest  son,  Horatio,  Barrister-at- 
Law,  married,  December  5,  1799,  Elizabeth-Trelawney,  only 
daughter  of  Lieut.-General  Townsend,  of  Upper  Wimpole-street, 
London,  who  was  the  third  son  of  Samuel  Townsend,  of  White- 
hall, near  Skibbereen.  Horatio  Townsend  had  seven  sons  and 
five  daughters.  He  died  at  Cork,  January  17, 1824;  his  widow 
died  at  Bath,  February  2,  18.55.  Their  eldest  son.  Major 
Edward  Townsend,  of  Her  Majesty's  83rd  Regiment,  married, 
December  29,  1840,  Isabella,  daughter  of  the  Rev.  Horatio 
Townsend,  of  Derry,  near  Rosscarbcry  (vide  Carrigaline^  Corky 
1803-1837),  and  died  without  issue,  June  2, 1851,  at  Kurrachee, 
in  India.  The  second  son  of  Horatio  and  Elizabetii-Trclawney 
Townsend,  Horatio,  isaBarrister-at-Law.  The  third  surviving 
son,  Aubrey,  b.d.,  is  in  holy  orders,  and  is  at  this  date  Curate 
of  Wick  St.  Lawrence,  Somerset.  The  youngest  son,  John,  is 
a  Lieutenant  in  the  Royal  Navy;  and  married,  April  2Sy  1857, 
Marianne-Oliver,  eldest  <laughter  of  the  Rev.  C.  C.  Townsend 
(see  Kilmacdbea,  Ross,  1840-1852),  and  has  issue  two  sons, 
John-Chambre-Oliver,  and  Edward-Munsel. 

For  other  sons  of  Edward-Synge  Townsend,  viz.,  Richard  and 
Philip,  see  Kikolenutn,  1801-1808,  and  KUcorney,  1808-1853. 

Edward-Synge  Townsend*8  fourth  daughter,  Grace,  was  mar- 
ried to  the  Rev.  Henry  Wilson  Stewart,  ll.d.  (see  Temple' 
omalus,  Rots),  with  issue  surviving  at  this  date  one  son, 
Edward  Synge  Townsend  Stewart,  who  is  married,  with  issue. 
Edward-Synge  Townsend's  sixth  daughter,  Helena- Herbert, 
was  marrieil  to  Georgc-Digby  Daunt,  of  Kinsale,  with  issue 
surviving  at  this  date,  one  daughter,  Elizabeth-Alicia,  un- 
married ;  and  two  sons,  Thomas  Townsend  Daunt,  Barrister- 
at-Law,  of  Plymouth  ;  and  Edward-Synge-Townsond  Daunt, 
Vicar  of  St.  Stephen's,  near  Launceston,  Cornwall,  who  are 
severally  married,  with  issue. 
1819.  Feb.  23.  Benjamin  Burton  Johnson,  a.b.  (vice  Townsend, 
deceased),  V.  Clonmeen  and  Roekeen.  [F.P.j  He  was  also 
P.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 

1830.  Protestant  i)opulation  of  Clonmeen,  98  ;  of  Roskeen,  9. 

1837.  Clonmeen  union  :  10  miles  long  by  8  broad,  with  cure, 
consisting  of — 1.  Clonmeen  vicarage ;  2.  Roskeen  vicaraga 
The  union  contains  20,824a.     Gross  population,  5,935.     No 


144  CLOBMEEN. — CLONBfEL.  [CLOTNE. 

Curate  employed.  Oomposition  for  the  vicarial  titbes  of  Clon- 
meen  parish,  £325  9«.  S^d,;  of  Roskeen  parish,  £43  15s.  3hd. 
Subject  to  visitation  fees,  14«.;  diocesau  schoolmaster,  £1.  No 
fflebe-bouse.  Incumbent  is  non-resident  One  church,  situate 
m  Olonmeen  parish,  capable  of  accommodating  1 20  persons,  but 
when  or  at  what  cost  built  unknown.  No  charge  on  the  union 
in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated 
once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  festivals.  The  sacra- 
ment is  administered  six  times  in  the  year.  The  rectorial 
tithes  of  Olonmeen  parish,  compounded  for  £109  6^.  l|(f.,  are 
impropriate,  and  belong,  as  to  one  moiety  thereof,  to  the  Dean 
and  Ohapter  of  the  Cathedral  Church  of  St  Ooleman*s,  Oloyne; 
and  as  to  the  other  moiety,  to  Robert  Phair,  esq.  The  rectorial 
tithes  of  Roskeen  parish,  compounded  for  £43  Ids.  3^d^  are 
also  impropriate,  and  belong  to  the  said  Robert  Phair.  [Pari. 
Rep.] 
1847.  July  3.  Akdbbw  Todd,  a.b.  (vice  Johnson,  deceased),  Y. 
Olonmeen,  and  on  25th  Sept.,  V.  Roskeen.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  in  want  of  repairs.  No  glebe-house.  No 
glebe.  Incumbent  resides  in  Kanturk,  not  far  from  his  parish. 
Divine  service  once  on  all  Sundays  and  usual  holidays,  also  on 
Wednesdays  in  Lent,  and  on  Wednesdays  and  Fridays  in  Pas- 
sion Week.  Sacrament  monthly,  and  on  festivals ;  average  of 
communicants,  10.  No  school.  Protestant  population,  50.  The 
vicarial  rentcharge  of  Olonmeen  is  £244  Is,  lie/. ;  of  Roskeen, 
£32  16*.  7d.     Totol  income,  £276  18«.  5d. 

A.  Todd  (son  of  Charles  Hawkes  Todd,  m.d.,  and  brother  of 
Dr.  Todd,  F.T.O.D.),  was  bom  in  Dublin  in  1813,  and  entered 
T.C.D.  when  eighteen  years  old,  on  20th  Oct,  1831. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  by  the  Bishop  of  Kildare,  and  on 
13th  August,  1837,  was  admitted  to  Priest's  orders  by  the  Bishop 
of  Cork. 

On  22nd  June,  1840,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  St. 
Michael's  and  DunbuUog.  From  1846  to  1847  he  was  Y. 
Carrigamleary. 

Remarried  on  25th  Sept,  1851,  Dorothea,  daughter  of  Rev. 
James  Morton,  V.  Clon^rt,  and  has  issue  one  sou,  Charles- 
James-Hen  thorn,  bom  11th  Sept,  1853;  and  two  daughters, 
Jane  and  Dorothea. 


OLONMEL. 

1591.  John  Martell  (Chancellor  of  Cork,  q.  v.),  appears  as  Vicar 
of  Olonmel,  **  R.  de  Clonmell  Econ.  Olonen.  Vicarius  Joh€s 
Martell.'*  But  in  another  MS.  of  same  date,  John  Manbbb  ap- 
pears as  Vicar.    [MS.  T.C.D.  E  3.  14.] 


CLOYKE.]  CLONMEL.  145 

"  K.  capellffi  Robert],  seu  potius  particula  de  Clonmell,  spec- 
tat  ad  Prior  Ballibeg.     Vicariua  ibm  Johgs  Martell."     [lb.  J 

1615.  IsBABL  Tatlor  (ft-eccntor  of  Cork,  q.  v.)  appears  as  Vicar 
of  Clonmel.  *' Clonemell,  non-residens,  Rec.  Econ.  Clojne. 
Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  ruin  is.  Israel  Taylor  inservit  cune  sed 
raro.  Idem  Taylor  adraonitus  uajori  diligentia  prsBstare  offi- 
cium." 

1615.  **  Capella  Roberti  (Templerobin),  Rectoria  impropriata. 
Yicaria  ibm  vacua  et  incumbente  destituta.  Admouemus  ordi- 
narium  ad  presentandum  novum  incumbentem.  Ecclia  et  can- 
cella repatae."     [RV.  R.LA.] 

1618.  May  22.  John  Shenguin  is  appointed  by  the  Crown  to  V. 
Templerobin  and  Clonmel,  als  Clonmelt.  [Lib.  Mun.  and  MSS. 
Prerogative  Office.]  In  1630  Shenguin  is  Y.  Aglishdrinagh, 
q.  V. 

1621.  Nov.  1.  Thomas  Holfobd,  V.  Inchigeelah,  Cork,  and  V. 
Clonnell  and  Templerobin,  and  R.  V.  Rathcormack,  quas  Epus 
univit  nomine  tantum  unius  beneficii  26  Januarii,  1632.  [R.Y. 
1634.] 

R.  de  Clonmell  spectat  ad  Econ.  Clonen.  Yalet  16  li.  per  an. 
Yicar  Thomas  Holford.     Yalet  8  K.  per  an.     [R.Y.  1634.] 
E.  Capella  Roberti.     Prior  Pontis  Rector.     Yalet  16  li.  per  an. 
Yicarius  Thomas  Holford.     Yal.  8  li.  per  an.     [R.Y.  1634.] 
Holford  was  afterwards  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1637.  August  9.  Fbancis  Fbedebinohah,  Y.  Templerobin  and  Clon- 
mel.    [F.F.] 

He  was  Y.  Marshalstown  in  1627  ;  and  from  1633  to  1636 
was  P.  Effin,  in  Limerick  diocese.  In  1639  he  was  R.  Eilcoan, 
Cork.  He  appears  to  have  taken  degrees  in  T.C.D.  in  1627 
and  in  1637. 

1661  and  1662.  Mr.  Robert  Shawb  appears  as  Yicar  of  Clonmel 
and  Templerobin.  [Y.B.  D.R]  Shawe  was  also  Treasurer  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v.     He  died  in  1663. 

1663.  Thomas  Smith  (P.  Cooline,  q.  v.),  is  Yicar; — "R.  Clonmell, 
als  Clounele  Archid' ; — vicariam  Thomas  Smith  tenet  pro  se- 
questrat."  [Y.B.  D.R.]  On22nd  June,  1663,  Smith  is  admitted 
V.  Templerobin,  R.  Mogeesha,  Y.  Carrigtoghill  and  Eilcurfin. 
[F.F.]  In  1664  and  1665  the  vicarage  of  Clonmel  is  marked 
vacant  Templerobin  is  held  by  Mr.  Thomas  Smith  in  1664, 
and  is  marked  in  1665  as  vacant,  by  death  of  Thomas  Smith.' 
[Y.B.  D.R.] 

1666.  January  24.  Nathaniel  Giles  (vice  Smith,  deceased),  Y. 
Clonmel  and  Templerobin,  Carrigtowhill  cum  Kilcurfin  and  R. 
de  Mogeesha.     [F.F.] 

Nathaniel  Giles  appears  in  1639  as  Curate  of  Cannaway  and 
Eilmurry,  in  Cork.  From  1640  to  1663  he  was  R.  Eilnemar* 
tery.  In  1663  he  appears  as  Curate  of  Aghinagh  and  Aga- 
balloge. 

YOL.  IL  L 


146  CLONMEL.  [clothe. 

1670.  May.  6.  Nathaniel  Esoot  (vice  Giles),  V.  de  Clonmell,  als 
Olonmell,  V.  Templerobin,  and  R.  Mogeeeba.  [P.F.J  He  ap- 
pears also  as  V.  Carrigtowil  and  Kilcurfin  in  1671  and  1672. 

1674.  June  6.  Rowland  Davibs  (vice  Escot),  V.  Clonmel  and  Tem- 
plerobin, Carri^wil,  Kilcurfin,  R.  Mogeesba,  and  Preb.  Ins- 
kenny.  [F.F.J  In  1709  Davies  became  Dean  of  Cork, 
q.  V. 

1676.  November  27.  Benjamin  Lukey,  V.  Clonmel,  Carrigtowil, 
cum  particula Kilcurfin,  and  R.  Mogeesba.  [F.F.J  On  1  lib  Nov. 
1679,  be  became  R.  and  V.  Templerobin;  and  in  1691/2,  Janu- 
ary 14,  be  became  V.  Castracbore,  q.  v. 

1693.  April  28.  Evan  Jones,  a.m.  (vice  Lukey,  resigned),  Y.  Clon- 
mel, and  R.  V.  Templerobin.  [F.F.]  And  on  same  day  to 
V.  Templebodan,  in  coll.  Epi.  per  mort.  Danl.  Considine. 
[D.R.J     In  1694  Jones  became  also  P.  Cahirlag,  q.  v. 

1694.  R.  V.  Templerobbin  ;  val.  £20.  V.  Clonmel;  val. 
£S,  Mr.  Evan  Jones  cura)  animarum  incumbit.  Dom.  Epus 
patron  us.  Nulla  ecclia  in  Templerobbin,  scd  cura  animarum 
in  ecclia  de  Clonmell  bene  reparata  inservitur.     [Palliser.J 

1696.  April  24.  Richard  Roffen,  a.m.  (vi<!e  Jones,  <leceased),  V. 
Templebodan,  and  R.  V.  Templerobin,  per  mortem  Evan  Jones. 
[D.R.J  In  tbis  collation  tbere  is  no  mention  of  Clonmel,  but 
I  suppose  tbat  at  tbis  time  Rofien  received  tbis  vicarage  in 
tbe  absence  of  any  notice  to  the  contrary  in  tbe  other  collations 
to  the  benefices  vacated  at  same  time.  Rofien  appears  as  V. 
Clonmel  in  the  V.B.  of  1711  and  1712.  Roflfen  was  also  P. 
Cahirlag,  q.  v. 

1700.  May  7.  It  is  ordered  by  tbe  Cloyne  Chapter  that  a  lease 
of  tbe  rectory  and  glebe  of  Clonmel  be  made  to  Mr.  R.  Roflfen 
and  bis  successors.  Vicars  of  said  parish,  for  twenty-one  years, 
at  a  rent  of  £20  per  an.  Tbis  rent  was  abated  in  1703,  and 
on  18tb  Sept.  1707,  it  was  ordered  that  during  the  war  £4 
yearly  be  abated  of  the  £20  per  an.  In  1710,  Nov.  16,  a  new 
lease  is  ordered  to  be  made  to  Mr.  Rofien,  at  £16  during 
the  war  with  France,  and  £20  after  its  conclusion.  On  the 
first  advancement  of  the  rent,  £5  is  to  be  given  towards  adorn- 
ing the  east  end  of  the  church.  On  13tb  Nov.  1717,  it  appears 
tbat  Mr.  Rofien  "  intends  to  lay  out  £100  or  more,  in  buildings 
and  other  improvements  on  the  glebe  land  of  Clonmel,  to  be 
employed  in  and  remain  to  pious  and  charitable  uses,  subject 
to  the  discretion  and  direction  of  him,  tbe  said  Richard  Rofien, 
his  heirs  and  assigns.  In  consideration  of  this  pious  and  chari- 
table design,  tbe  Chapter  demise  to  him  and  his  heirs  and 
assigns,  the  said  tithes  and  glebe  land  of  the  parish  church  of 
Clonmel  for  twenty-one  years,  with  a  covenant  for  renewal 
every  seven  years.     [Cloyne  Chapter  Book.J 

1724.  March  12.  William  Fulton,  a.m.  (vice  Rofien,  deceased),  Y. 


CLOTNE.]  CLONMEL.  147 

Clonmel,  and  R.  V.  Templerobin.     [D.R.]     lo  1735  he  was 
V.  Garrycloyne,  q.  v. 

1728.  March  31.  The  parishes  of  Clonmell  and  Templerobin 
are  united  by  order  in  Council.     [Lib.  Mun.] 
1735.  Nov.  18.  DowNES  Conran,  a.m.  (vice  Fulton,  resigned),  V. 
Clonmel,  R.  V.  Templerobin,  and  particle  de  Kilgarvan.  [D.R.] 

1756.  June  14.  George  Webber,  esq.,  distributes  £5  to  the 
poor  of  Cove,  by  request  of  his  deceased  wife,  Mrs.  Elisabeth 
Webber.     [Par.  Reg.] 

1745.  July  27.  Mr.  Downes  Conran  agreed  to  pay  £30  per 
an.  for  the  (Economy  part  of  tbe  tithes  of  Clonmel,  and  for 
the  glebe  of  said  parish.     [Cloyiie  Chapter  Book.] 

Downes  Conran  was  a  younger  son  of  Robert  Conran,  of 
Walshestown,  county  Cork,  by  Mary,  dau.  of  Christopher 
Carlton,  father  of  Dean  Robert  Carlton.  The  grandfather  of 
Downes  was  Richard  Conran,  also  of  Walshestown,  and  of  Bur- 
ton, county  Cork. 

Downes  Conran  was  born  near  Kinsale,  in  1706,  and  when 
sixteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner  on  20th  May, 
1722.  He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  3rd  March,  and  Priest  on 
17th  March,  1728,  by  the  Bishop  of  Cloyne;  and  on  18th  March, 
1728,  was  admitted  to  the  rectory  of  Br u hen ny,  which  he  held 
until  the  18th  Nov.  1735,  when  he  was  collated  to  the  V. 
Clonmel  and  Templerobin. 

His  will  was  proved  in  Dublin,  in  1761,  and  in  it  he  men- 
tions a  sister,  Anne,  wife  of  Thomas  Gibbings,  esq.,  of  Gib- 
bings-grove,  county  Cork.  He  was  married,  and  his  relict  and 
executrix  appears  to  have  had  a  renewal  of  her  husband's  lease 
of  the  (Economy  part  of  the  tithes  and  land  of  Clonmel  in 
1764,  but  in  1766  she  ceased  to  hold  that  property. 
1761.  July  21.  Marmaduke  Cox,  a.m.  (vice  Conran,  deceased),  V. 
Clonmel,  and  R.  V.  Templerobin.     [F.F.] 

Marmaduke  Cox  was  son  of  Thomas  Cox,  d.d..  Vicar  of  Car- 
lingford,  and  of  St.  Peter's,  Drogheda,  and  afterwards  Dean  of 
Ferns,  by  Anne  Williamson.  He  was  born  in  the  county 
Louth,  and  when  fifteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner 
on  17th  Sept.  1722. 

The  following  extract  from  a  letter  of  Bishop  Berkeley,  dated 
20th  March,  1734,  has  reference  to  Mr.  Cox  : — **  There  is  one 
Mr.  Cox,  a  clergyman,  son  to  the  late  Dr.  Cox,  near  Drogheda, 
who,  1  understand,  is  under  the  patronage  of  Dr.  Coghill. 
Pray  inform  yourself  of  his  character  ;  whether  he  be  a  good 
man,  one  of  parts  and  learning,  and  how  he  is  provided  for. 
I  should  be  glad  to  be  apprized  of  his  character.  No  one  has 
recommended  him  to  me  ;  but  his  father  was  an  ingenious 
man  ;  and  I  saw  two  sensible  women,  his  sisters,  at  Rhode 
Island,  which  inclines  me  to  think  him  a  man  of  merit ;  and 
such  only  I  would  prefer."    [Berkeley's  WorkaJ 

YOL.  IL  L  2 


148  CLONMEL.  [CLOTNE. 

On  15th  Sept.  1736,  Cox  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Innis- 
carra.  From  1736  to  1742  he  was  P.  Subulter ;  from  1742  to 
1761,  R.  V.  Agabulloge  ;  and  from  1761  to  his  death  on  26th 
March,  1762,  V.  Clonmel,  Ac. 

He  married,  in  1743,  Ellinor  Franklyn,  of  the  parish  of 
Christchurch,  Cork,  whose  will  was  dated  22nd  June,  1762, 
and  proved  16th  March,  1763.  The  will  of  the  Rev.  Marroa- 
duke  Cox  was  proved  12th  January,  1762.  In  neither  of  these 
wills  is  there  any  mention  of  children.  [Cork  Mar.  Bonds  and 
U.O.] 
1762.  July  29.  Richabd  Bullen,  a.m.  (vice  Cox,  deceased),  V.  Clon- 
mel, and  R.  V.  Templerobin.  [P.P.]  In  1776  he  became  P. 
Donoghmore,  q.  v. 

1762.  "Bullen,  non-resident;  yearly  income,  £400,  out  of 
which  he  pays  two  Curates,  £40  each.**     [Hayroan.] 

1766.  June  10.  Mr.  Richard  Bullen  is  to  have  a  lease,  at 
£70  during  his  incumbency,  of  the  tithes  and  glebe  of  Clon- 
mel from  the  Chapter.     [Cloyne  Chapter  Book.] 

1774.  Clonmel  vie  in  the  Great  Island,  in  the  bar.  of  Barry- 
more,  to  which  is  united  for  ever  the  rect.  and  vie.  of  Temple- 
robin,  under  the  name  of  the  parish  of  Clonmel ;  value,  £290 
per  ann.  Church  of  Clonmel  in  repair,  that  of  Templerobin  in 
ruins.  Pat  the  Bp.  Glebe  at  Clonmel,  10a.  Ir.  16p.  En., 
with  a  house  and  improvements.  Glebe  at  Templerobin, 
8a.  2b.  2p.  En.  Proxy,  12«.  6d.  The  rect  of  Clonmel  belongs 
to  the  QSconomy.  Proxy,  6«.  The  vie.  of  Clonmel  is  taxed  in 
the  Eing*s  books,  £1  ster.,  and  the  vie.  of  Templerobin,  £1 
ster.  Incumb.  Robert  Bullen,  a.m.  ;  Curate,  Richard  Moore, 
A.B.     [Uingston.] 

1774.  Kilgarvan,  an  imp.  rec.  in  the  Great  Island,  in  the 
bar.  of  Barrymore.  Church  in  ruins.  George  Lukey,  esq., 
Impropriator.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Spike  Island  a  particle  imp'  in  the  bar.  of  Imokilly. 
Church  in  ruins.  Impropriator,  George  Lukey,  esq.  [Hings- 
ton.] 
1777.  January  13.  Fbanois  Attebbuby  (vice  Bullen,  resigned),  V. 
Clonmel,  and  R.  V.  Templerobin.  [P.P.]  He  was  also  Pre- 
centor of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  of  the  union  of  Clonmel 
was  188.     [Dr.  Atterbury.J 

In  1805  the  site  of  the  parish  church  of  Clonmell  is  ordered 
to  be  changed  to  Cove.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

1805.  Protestant  population,  132  families,  or  597  persons,  of 
whom  161  were  children  under  fifteen  years  of  age.  [Abp. 
Brod.] 

1813.  Clonmel  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1816.  August  25,  Sunday.  244  persons  were  confirmed  in 
Cove  Church  by  the  Bishop  of  Cloyne.     [Par.  Reg.] 


CLOTNE.]  CLONMEL.  149 

1822.  March  15.  Charles  Wabbtjrton  (vice  Atterbury,  deceased), 
V.  Olonmel,  and  R.  V.  Teraplerobin,     [D.R.] 

1822.  Sept.  20.  109  persons  were  confirmed  in  Cove  Church; 
and  on  7th  July,  1828,  144  persons  were  confirmed.  [Par. 
Reg.] 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Clonmel,  226  ;  of  Templero- 
bin,  1,044.     Total  Protestant  population,  1,270. 

1837.  Clonmell  union  :  3  miles  long  by  6  broad,  with  cure, 
consisting  of : — 1.  Clonmell  vicarage,  3^  miles  long  by  3  broad. 
2.  Templerobin  rectory,  3^  miles  long  by  3  broad.  The  union 
contains  11,  129a.  3b.  18p.  Cross  population,  11,089.  Two 
Curates  employed,  at  a  stipend  to  each  of  £75  per  annum,  and 
surplice  fees,  averaging  at  about  £12  per  annum,  equally 
divided  between  them.  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of 
Clonmell  parish,  £92  6s.  l^d, ;  40a.  of  glebe  in  said  parish, 
valued  at  30«.  per  acre,  £60.  Tithe  composition  of  Temple- 
robin  parish,  £323  Is.  6^d. ;  7a.  2r.  of  glebe  in  said  pariah, 
valued  at  30s,  per  acre,  £11  5s. ;  surplice  fees,  £10  ;  subject  to 
visitation  fees,  16^.  Qd,;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  5s,  No 
glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident ;  he  resides  on  his 
other  benefice,  in  the  diocese  of  Limerick.  One  church,  situate 
in  the  town  of  Cove,  and  parish  of  Templerobin,  capable  of 
accommodating  750  persons,  built  in  1812,  at  the  cost  of 
£2,769  is,  lid,  Brit.,  whereof  £1,846  35.  1^.  was  granted 
as  a  loan  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits  ;  and  the  residue  of 
£923  Is,  6\d,  was  raised  by  private  subscriptions ;  of  the  loan 
aforesaid  there  remained  £451  ISs.  Sd.  chargeable  on  the  union 
in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £25  4s,  Divine 
service  is  celebrated  thrice  on  the  first  Sunday  in  each  month, 
and  twice  on  all  other  Sundays,  and  once  on  the  great  festivals. 
The  sacrament  is  administered  twi«e  every  month,  and  on  the 
great  festivals.  The  present  church  is  reported  to  be  by  no 
means  large  enough  for  the  congregation,  and  that  enlargement 
of  it  is  much  required.  The  rectorial  tithes  of  Clonmell  parish, 
compounded  for  £184  12^.  3^d.  are  appropriate,  and  belong  to 
the  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Cloyne.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

C.  Warburton  (son  of  Charles  Warburton,  Bishop  of  Cloyne) 
was,  in  1806,  appointed  Archdeacon  of  Tuam ;  and  in  1 813 
Chancellor  of  Limerick.  He  held  both  those  livings  with  Clon- 
mel until  his  death  on  14th  Dec.  1855,  in  the  75th  year  of  his 
age.     He  was  also,  in  1807,  R.  Mourneabbey,  for  some  months. 

He  left  issue,  by  his  wife,  Alicia  Bunbury — Isaac,  inter  alioSf 
two  sons,  Charles  and    Augustus -Frederick,  and  a  daughter, 
Maria,  wife  of  Major  John  Blackburne. 
1856.  January  17.  Georqb  Cotter  Kingston  (vice  Warburton,  de- 
ceased), V.  Clonmel,  and  R.  V.  Templerobin.     [D.R.] 

1856.  A  faculty  was  granted  for  repairing  the  church. 
[D.R.] 


150  CLONMEL.  [CLOTNE. 

George  Sackville  Cotter  Kingston  (second  son  of  Rev.  W. 
H.  Hingston,  P.  Coole,  q.  v.),  was  bom  in  Cork,  and  when 
seventeen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner  on  17th  Oct. 
1834. 

From  1853  to  1856  he  was  P.  Coole ;  and  from  1856  to  his 
death  in  1858  was  V.  Clonmel,  <fec. 

He  married  Isabella  Rudkin,  and  had  issue.  His  relict 
married  afterwards  on  22nd  March,  1860,  George  Rainey,  esq., 
of  Bassay,  N.B. 
1858.  October  20.  James  Qwynn,  a.m.  (vice  Kingston,  deceased), 
V.  Clonmel,  and  R.  V.  Teraplerobin.  [D.R.]  In  1862  he 
became  V.  Castlelyons,  q.  v. 

1859.  A   faculty   was  granted   for  repairing  the  church. 

1860.  James  Gwynn,  Incumbent;  John  Lombard,  Curate. 
The  church  is  being  enlarged.  A  new  glebe-house  and  offices. 
13  acres  of  glebe,  of  which  one  acre  is  in  Rector's  use,  and  the 
rest  is  let.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays,  and  once  on 
all  church  holidays,  and  on  all  Wednesdays  and  Fridays,  with 
lecture  on  Wednesdays.  Sacrament  twice  each  month,  and  on 
the  greater  festivals;  average  of  communicants  at  early  cele- 
brations, 34  ;  at  late,  93.  61  boys,  34  girls,  and  76  infants  are 
on  the  rolls  of  the  schools,  which  are  maintained  by  the  Incum- 
bent and  local  subscribers.  The  Protestant  population  is  very 
fluctuating,  as  mariners  and  invalids  are  constantly  coming  and 
departing.  It  may  be  estimated  at  about  1,800.  The  vicarial 
rentcharge  of  Clonmel  is  £69  4s.  Id,  ;  the  rentcharge  of  Tem- 
plerobin  is  £242  6«.  2d.  The  glebe  of  Clonmel  (40  statute 
acres)  is  worth  £40,  and  that  of  Templerobin,  £11  os.  Total 
value,  £311  10«.  9rf. 

1862.  Nov.  18.  Maurice  Atkin  Cooke  Collis,  a.b.,  V.  Clonmel,  and 
R.  V.  Templerobin.     [D.R.] 

M.  A.  C.  Collis  (grandson  of  Rev,  Z.  C.  Collis,  Archdeacon 
of  Cloyne,  q.  v.),  is  the  second  son  of  William  Cooke  Collis, 
esq.,  of  Castlecooke,  county  Cork. 

He  was  bom  on  24th  March,  1812,  entered  T.C.D.  on  1st 
Dec.  1828,  obtained  a  Scholarship  in  1832,  and  graduated  a.b. 
in  1834,  and  D.D.  in  1863. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  in  1835  for  the  curacy  of  Sixmile- 
bridge,  in  Killaloe  diocese,  and  Priest  in  May,  1836,  at  Lime- 
rick, on  letters  dimissory  from  Cork< 

In  1835  he  was  Curate  of  Fermoy.  From  1848  (?)  to  1850  (?) 
he  was  R.  Ballycushlane,  Ardfert ;  and  from  1852  to  1862  he 
was  V.  Clondulane. 

He  married,  on  27th  June,  1839,  Anne,  eldest  dau.  of  Rev. 
John  Talbot,  and  has  issue. 

The  Rev.  Dr.  Collis  is  now  the  eldest  sw-viving  son,  and  is 
heir  of  his  father,  W.  C.  Collis,  esq.,  of  Castlecooke. 


CLOTNE.]  CLONMULT.  151 


CLONMULT. 

1291.    Ecca  de  Clonmolt   XXXs.   unde  decima  Ills.     [Tax.   P. 

NicJ 
1591.  "  E.  de  Clonmult,  Abb.  de  Chore,  Rector."    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3. 

1615.  ''Clonmolt,  Rectoria  speclat  ad  heredem  Johls  Fitzgerald, 
niilitis.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur.  NuUus  curatus.  Vicaria 
vacat  et  usurpatur  per  fimiarium."     [R.V.  R.l.AJ 

1616.  Feb.  11.  SciPio  Stukely  is  presented  to  V.  Clonmult  and 
Ballyspillane,  Castrachore,  Inchinabacky,  and  Mogealie.  [Lib. 
Mun.]     In  1618  he  became  V.  Carrigtowil,  q.  v. 

1634.  E.  de  Clonmolt  Rex  est  Rector.  Yal.  20  h.  per  an.  Johes 
Fitzgerald  miles  impropriator.  Vicaria  usurpatur  per  Rec- 
torem.     VaL  10  li.  per  an.     [R.V.  1634.] 

1637.  April  15.  Augustine  Kinobmell,  senior,  R.  V.  Clonmult, 
Dingindonovan,  and  Ballyspillane.  [F.F.]  He  was  R.  Mogee- 
sha   Q   V 

1661.  Vacant.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1663.  John  Moore  appears  as  V.  Clonmult  and  R.  Eilleagh.  [V.B. 
D.R]     In  1665  he  was  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1667.  August  2.  James  Spencer  {mce  Moore,  resigned),  V.  Clon- 
mult, Inchinabacky,  Din;:indonovan,  and  R.  Killeagh.  [F.F.] 
He  was  instituted  to  these  benefices  on  20th  May,  1667. 
[V.B.  1669.]     For  Spencer,  vide  Killeagh. 

1669.  March  8.  The  impropriate  tithes  of  Clonmult  are 
granted  to  the  Vicar  for  ever. 

1694.  R.  and  V.  Clonmult,  with  Dingindonovan,  val.  26 
pounds.  Rex  patronus  de  Dingindonovan  et  Clonmult  Dnus 
Epufi  patronus  rectorite  de  Clonmult.  Vicaria  spectat  ad  Col- 
legium de  Youghal.     [Palliser.] 

1701.  Sept.  2.  Thomas  Symcocks  (vtc«  Spencer,  deceased),  V.  Clon- 
mult.    [F.F.]     He  was  also  P.  Cahirultan,  q.  v. 

He  appears  in  1702  and  1704.  [V.B.  D.R.]  There  are  no 
visitation  books  for  1705,  1706,  and  1707. 

1708  to  1713.  Dr.  William  Andrews  appears  as  Vicar  of  Clonmult. 

[V.B.  D.R.] 
1714  to  1716.  Mr.    Humphbets  appears  as   Vicar  of  Clonmult 

[V.B.  D.R.]     In  1717  he  became  V.  Knockmoume,  q.  v. 
1717.  Thomas  Monok,  b.t.b.,  appears  as  Vicar  of  Clonmult.     [V.B. 

D.R]     From  1713  to  1717  he  was  V.  Knockmoume. 
1718  to  1720.  Robert  Carleton  appears  as  V.  Clonmult.     [V.B.] 

In  1721  he  became  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1721.  March  21.  Thomas  Cooper,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Clonmult.     [D.R.' 


Cooper  appears  in  1721,  and  ceases  to  appear  in  1733. 
In  1724  he  became  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 


[D.R.] 

:v.B.] 


152  CLONMULT.  [CLOYNE. 

1734  to  1769.  Nathaniel  France  appears  as  K  V.   Clonmult. 

[V.B.  I^.RJ     In  1759  he  became  Precentor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1770.  Nov.  8.  Francis  Atterbury  (per  mort.  Nathaniel  Prance), 

R.  V.  Clonmult.     [P.P.]     He  was  also  Precentor  of  Cloyne, 

q.  V. 

1773.  Jaly  15.  John  Kkmpston,  a.m.  (vice  Atterbury,  resigned), 
R.  and  V.  Clonmult     [P.P.] 

1774.  Clonmult,  rect.  and  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Barrymore ; 
value  £80  per  an.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat  the  Bp.  Glebe, 
5a.  2r.  32p.  Eng.  Proxy,  Is,  Incumb.  John  Kempston. 
[Hingston.] 

John  Kempston,  born  in  Cavan  in  1698,  was  son  of  John 
Kempston,  who  died  in  1752,  and  who  was  probably  a  son  of 
John  Kempston,  who  married  Deborah,  dau.  of  Sir  William 
Piers,  knt,  and  a  grandson  of  Nicholas  Kempston,  who  mar- 
ried Grace  Manje,  and  died  in  1676. 

He  entered  T.C.D.  when  sixteen  years  old,  on  24th  Feb. 
1714.     In  1730  he  was  Lecturer  at  Mallow.     Prom  1730  to 

1773  he  was  R.  Bobillane ;  and  from  1773  to  his  death  in 

1774  he  wajs  R.  V.  Clonmult 

He  was  twice  married,  and  had  issue  by  both  wives.  His 
first  wife  was  Sarah  Davis,  of  Clogheen,  county  Tipperary.  In 
his  will,  dated  10th  Oct  1770,  and  proved  8th  June,  1775,  he 
is  described  as  ^*  Rev.  John  Kempston,  of  Clogheen.*' 

1774.  Sept.  14.  Thomas  Cooke,  a.b.  (vice  Kempston,  deceased),  K 
V.  Clonmult     [P.P.] 

T.  Cooke  w^  ordi^ined  Deacon  on  6th  Oct.  1754,  and  Priest 
on  25th  Sept  1755,  both  at  Cloyne. 

On  10th  Oct.  1754,  be  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Kil- 
leagh ;  and  on  17th  August,  1773,  to  that  of  Castlemartyr. 
He  died  in  a  few  months  after  becoming  R.  V.  Clonmult,  and 
was  buried  in  Midleton  on  28th  Dec.  1774.  In  his  will,  dated 
1763,  and  proved  at  Cloyne  in  1776,  he  names  his  wife,  Jane, 
who  was  administratrix. 
1774.  Dec.  30.  William  Berkblet  (vice  Cooke,  deceased),  R.  V. 
Clonmult  [P.P.]  In  1779  Berkeley  became  P.  Bally hooly, 
q.  v. 
1779.  June  5.  Riohard  Moore,  a.m.  (vice  Berkeley,  promoted;,  R. 
V.  Qonmult     [P.P.] 

1785.  Protestant  population,  1.     [Moore.] 

Richard  Moore  (son  of  Rev.  Richard  Moore,  Treasurer  of 
Lismore,  and  Rector  of  Clonmel,  county  Tipperary,  by  his 
wife,  Mary,  sister  to  Rev.  Nathaniel  Prance,  Precentor  of 
Cloyne),  was  grandson  of  Thomas  Moore,  of  Clonmel,  county 
Tipperary. 

He  was  licensed,  on  26th  Oct  1764,  to  the  curacy  of  Clon- 
mel or  Cove,  in  Cloyne;  and  from  1779  to  his  death  in  1787 
he  was  R.  Y.  Clonmult 


CLOTHE.]  CLONMULT.  153 

His  relict,  Elisabeth,  was  admin istratrix  to  bis  will,  wbicb 
was  dated  in  1771,  and  proved  at  Cloyne  in  1787. 
1787.  July  16.  Matthew  Sleatbb,  a.m.  (vice  Moore,  deceased),  R. 
V.  Clonmult.     [F.F.] 

Matthew  Sleater  was  born  in  the  year  1756,  the  son  of  Wil- 
liam Sleater,  printer  to  the  House  of  Lords  in  Ireland,  and  of 
Margaret  Folds,  his  wife.  He  entered  Trinity  College,  Dublin, 
in  which  he  obtained  a  Scholarship  in  1776,  and  towards  the 
close  of  his  course  became  a  competitor  at  the  Fellowship  Exa- 
mination, in  which  the  late  Bishop  Elrington  was  the  success- 
ful candidate,  on  which  occasion  the  Madden  Prize  came  to 
him  as  the  second  best  answerer. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  21st  Sept.  1781,  and 
Priest  at  Cork  on  3rd  Nov.  1782.  He  was  licensed  to  Innis- 
carra  curacy  on  24th  Sept.  1731 ;  and  on  4th  August,  1783,  to 
that  of  Cloyne.  From  1783  to  1787  he  was  Vic.  Chor.  Cloyne  ; 
and  1787  to  1789  he  was  R.  Y.  Clonmult.  He  was  Chaplain 
to  Bishop  Woodward.  In  1789,  however,  he  was  induced  to 
resign  his  Cloyne  preferment,  and  to  accept  the  curacy  of  St. 
John's,  Dublin,  a  residence  there  being  more  congenial  to  his 
studious  habits.  This  curacy  he  retained  till  his  death  in 
1823. 

He  married,  in  1786,  Amelia,  dau.  of  James  Mockler,  Arch- 
deacon of  Cloyne,  and  by  her,  who  survived  him  about  eight 
years,  had  issue  six  sons  and  four  daughters.  He  and  his  wife 
were  both  interred  in  St.  Werburgh's  burial-ground,  Dublin. 

His  eldest  son,  Richard-Francis,  has  enjoyed  for  some  years 
a  retiring  salary  from  the  Chief  Secretary's  Office,  Dublin  Cas- 
tle. Another  son,  Welbore,  died  in  1847  Curate  of  St  An- 
drew's, Dublin.  Another  son  is  the  Rev.  Charles  Sleater,  of 
Eilliney;  and  the  youngest  son,  John-William,  at  present 
retains  an  office  in  the  Castle  of  Dublin. 

Rev.  Matthew  Sleater  published  the  following  works : — 
1.  "Annotations  upon  the  Bible."  2.  "The  History  of  the 
Bible."  3.  "  The  Topography  of  Ireland." 
1789.  March  20.  William  Dwteb,  a.b.  (vice  Sleater,  deceased),  R. 
V.  Clonmult  [F.F.]  In  1789  Dwyer  became  R.  Templeroan, 
q.  v. 
1789.  June  15.  Getuin  Cbonb,  a.b.  (vice  Dwyer),  R.  Y.  Clonmult 
[F.F.] 

Gethin  Crone,  son  of  John  Crone,  "coloni,"  was  bom  in 
county  Cork  ;  and  when  nineteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as 
Sizar,  on  4th  June,  1746,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1750. 

He  was  ordained  Priest  on  9th  July,  1758,  at  Cloyne.    From 
1759  to  1789  he  was  R.  Templeroan  ;  and  from  1789  to  his 
death  in  December,  1797,  he  was  R.  V.  Clonmult 
1798.  May  25.  Samuel  Monsell,  a.b.  (vice  Crone,  deceased),  R.  V. 
Clonmult     [F.F.]     Id  1805  he  became  Y.  Clondulane,  q.  v. 


154  CLOHMULT.  [cloths. 

1805.  Dec   9.  Thomas  Carsov  (vice  MoDsell),  R.  V.  Clonmolt. 

[D.R.]     He  was  also  R.  V.  Kilmahon,  q.  y. 

1806.  Carson  holds  Cloumalt  by  fiiMniUy.    Glonmult  is  too 

small  for  comfort  to  an  Incumbent     [Rep. J 
1816.  Sept   19.  John  William  Bbnhet  (vice  Oanon,  deceaaed), 

R.  Y.  Glonmult,  and  on  28th  Sept  R.  V.  Kilmahon.     [D.R.] 

In  1819  he  became  Cliancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1819.  Sept.   7.  James  San di ford,  a.m.  (vice  Bennett  promoted), 

R.  V.  Glonmult  and  Kilmahon.     [D.R.]     He  was  also  P.  Kiile- 

nemer,  q.  v. 

1824.  Feb.  20.  Samuel  Gkrard  Fairtlough  (vice  Sandiford,  de- 
ceased), K  V.  Glonmult.  [D.R.]  In  1825  he  became  R.  V. 
Aghinagh,  q.  v. 

1825.  July  25.  James  Hingston,  jun.  (vice  Fairtlough,  resigned), 
R.  Y.  Glonmult.  [F.F.]  In  1836  he  became  R.  Y.  White- 
church,  q.  V. 

1830.  Protestant  jK)pulation,  1. 

1837.  Glonmult,  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  care,  2  milee 
long  by  1 J  broad,  containing  4,398  acres.  Gross  population, 
1,1  L'8.  One  Curate  employed  for  this  and  the  adjoining  pariah 
of  Templebodane,  at  a  stipend  of  X75  per  an.,  whereof  £40  is 
contributed  by  the  Incumbent  of  Glonmult,  and  £35  by  the 
Incumbent  of  Tcmplebodano  benefices.  Tithe  composition, 
£225.  5a.  2r.  of  glebe,  set  for  an  annual  rent  of  £7  15«. 
Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  6«. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  13s. 
No  glebc-housc.  Incumbent  is  non-resident  No  church.  The 
bcnetice  is  a  rectory.  [Pari.  Hep.] 
183G.  March  24.  Richard  Gaggin  (vice  Hingston,  resigned),  R  V. 
Glonmult     [F.F.] 

1860.  The  church  in  ruins.  No  glebe-house.  5  acres  of 
glebe  let  The  Rector  resides  in  Gastlemartyr.  Divine  service 
in  a  room  in  a  dwelling-house  licensed  for  that  purpose,  once 
on  Sundays,  and  on  Ghristmas  Day.  Sacrament  four  times 
yearly ;  average  of  communicants,  4.  No  school.  The  Protestant 
population  is  6.  The  rentcharge  is  £168  15«.  The  land  is 
worth  £7.  Total  value,  £175  15«.  per  annum,  without  residence. 

Richanl  Gaggin  was  ordained  Deacon  on  8th  Oct  1809,  and 
Priest  on  30th  Oct.  1811,  both  at  Gloync. 

On  9th  April,  1814,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Dan- 
ffoumcy.  From  1836  to  his  death  on  16th  April,  1861,  he  was 
R.  V.  Glonmult 

He  married,  in  1824,  Gatherine  Foulke,  of  Young-grove 
(who  survived  him),  and  had  issue. 
1861.  April  2.  Stephen  O'Halloran,   a.b.   (vice  Gaggin),  R.  Y. 
Glonmult     [D.R] 

S.  O'Hallonm,  ordained  in  1851,  was,  on  14th  Nov.  1854, 
licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Bantry  or  Kilmocamoge,  in  Cork ; 
and  from  1860  to  1861  was  Gurate  of  Templenecarrigy. 


X^LOTKB.]  CLONPBIEST.  155 


CLON  PRIEST. 

1634.  Hbnry  Buoo  (afterwards  Dean  of  Cloyne,  q.  v.)  is  Curate  of 

Cloupriest.     "  £.  de  Clonepriest  spectat  ad  coll.  de  Youghall. 

Valet  30  li.  per  an.      Henrj  Rugg,  predicator,  curatus,  habet 

pro  salario  suo  10  li.  per  an."     PR-V.  1634.] 
1637.  August  14.  Michael  Boylb,  R.  de  Cloupriest.     [F.F.]     On 

letters  patent  of  July  22.    [Lodge.]    In  1640  Bojle  was  made 

Dean  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1661.  April  10.  Henry  Rugo  (vice  Boyle,  resigned),  R.  Cloupriest, 

R.  V .  K  ilmacdonough,  and  Dean  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1671.  August  3.  William  Fitzgerald  (vice  Rugg^  deceased),  R. 

Cloupriest,  and  Dean  of  Cloyne,  q.  y. 

From  1671  to  1789  Cloupriest  was  held  with  Ardagh,  q.  v. 

1789.  July  28.  John  Lyster,  a.m.  (vice  Killen,  dead),  R.  Clonpriest. 
[F.F.]     On  letters  patent  of  July  7.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

1805.  Clonpriest  contains  4  Protestant  families.  [Abp. 
Brod.] 

Mr.  Lyster  has  cure  of  souls,  but  resides  at  present  in  Dublin, 
on  account  of  his  wife*s  illness.  His  Curate  is  Rev.  Thomas 
Wakeham,  at  £60.  One  church.  No  glebe-house.  [Rep.  1806.] 

1813.  June  21.  A  caveat  is  entered  by  Lord  Ponsonby against 
instituting  to  Clonpriest  and  Ardagh.     rD.R.j 

John  Lyster,  d.d.,  was  of  the  family  of  Lyster,  of  Lysterfield, 
and  of  Rock»avage,  county  Roscommon,  now  represented  by 
James  Lyster,  Dean  of  Leiohlin.  A  daughter  of  Dr.  John 
Lyster,  of  Clonpriest,  was  married  on  13th  Oct,  1794,  to  Sir 
James  Crofton,  hart,  of  Longford  House,  county  Sligo.  Dr. 
Lyster  died  on  5th  July,  1820. 
1820.  Oct  21.  Richard  Babinoton,  a.m.  (vice  Lyster,  dead),  R. 
Clonpriest.     [D.R,] 

R.  Babington  was,  in  1803,  appointed  Rector  of  Upper  Lang- 
field;  and  in  1812,  R.  Cumber,  in  the  diocese  of  Derry.  He 
was  father  of  Rev.  David  Babington,  born  1812,  who  was 
ordained  Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  11th  January,  1835,  and  who  is 
now  R.  Glendermot,  Derry ;  of  Rev.  Hume  Babington,  R. 
Moviddy,  Cork,  q.  v.;  and  of  Thomas-Henderson  Babington, 
M.D.,  of  Londonderry. 
1831.  April  22.  William  Huoheb,  R.  Clonpriest.     [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  35. 

W.  Hughes  wa«  from  1811  to  1813  P.  Clonmethan,  Dublin  ; 
from  1813  to  1831,  R.  V.  Creagh,  Ross  ;  from  April,  1831,  to 
his  death  in  November  or  December,  1831,  R.  Clonpriest.  He 
was  also,  from  1815  to  1831,  Vicar  Choral  of  Limerick ;  and 
from  1816  to  1831,  a  Minor  Canon  of  Ardfert  I  think  he  was 
also,  from  1811  to  1831,  R.  Killinick,  Fenuu 


1 


156  CLONPBIEST.  [clothe. 

1831.  Dec.  16.  Richard  Nbyillb  {vice  Hughes,  dead),  R.  Clon- 
priest.     [D.R.] 

1837.  Clonpriest :  a  rectory,  with  cure,  5  miles  long  by  5 
broad,  containing  6,038a.  1r.  9p.  Gross  population,  3,417.  One 
Curate  employed,  at  an  annual  stipend  of  £92  6i.  l^  Brit. 
Tithe  composition,  £869  2«.  4i(f.  13  acres  of  glebe,  valued  at 
the  annual  sum  of  £20 ;  subject  to  visitation  fees,  £2  10«.  ; 
diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  5s,  id.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent, 
although  non-resident  in  the  benefice,  from  the  impossibility  of 
procuring  suitable  accommodation,  resides  within  a  quarter  of 
a  mile  of  it,  and  pays  an  annual  sum  of  £40  for  house-rent. 
One  church,  capable  of  accommodating  100  persons,  built  about 
100  years  ago,  but  at  what  cost  unknown.  No  charge  on  the 
parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is 
celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  festivals.  The 
Sacrament  is  administered  monthly,  and  on  the  festivals.  The 
benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.J 

R.  Neville,  brother  of  Sir  Garret  Neville,  was,  from  1817  to 
1831,  R.  Kilflynn,  Limerick  ;  and  from  1823  to  1831,  V.  Clon- 
fert ;  and  from  1831  to  his  death  in  1841,  R.  Clonpriest 

He  had  issue  by  his  wife,  Anne,  inter  alioSy  a  son,  Richard- 
Brent,  born  8th  ISLay,  1826,  now  R.  Stradbally,  Lismore  diocese; 
and  the  following  daughters: — Maria;  Frances-Arabella; 
Meriel-Anne,  born  6th  March,  1830,  who  was  married  in  1852 
to  Sib  Georob  Hodson,  Bart,  of  Hollybrook  House,  county 
Wicklow  ;  Elisabeth-Jane  ;  and  Anne- Louisa.  He  died  on  26th 
July,  1841. 
1841.  August  26.  Maubioe  Fitzoebald  Hbwson  (vu^  Neville,  dead), 
R.  Clonpriest     [D.R.] 

M.  F.  Hewson  was  the  only  son  of  Maurice  Hewson,  esq., 
J.P.,  of  Fiunuge,  county  Kerry,  by  Sarah,  dau.  of  Samuel  Ray- 
mond, esq.,  Dromin,  county  Kerry,  which  Maurice  Hewson  was 
the  second  son  of  John  Hewson,  of  Ennismore,  by  Margaret, 
daughter  of  Maurice  Fitzgerald,  Knight  of  Kerry.  Vide  Burke's 
L  G.,  Hewson  of  Enn ismobb. 

He  was  from  1835  to  1841  K  V.  Corkbeg,  and  from  1841 
to  his  death  on  27th  Dec.,  1847,  R.  Clonpriest 

He  married  Caroline,  dau.  of  Capt  Falkner  Minchin,  of 
Annagh,  county  Tipperary,  by  Maria,  dau.  of  William  Gbibbett, 
esq.,  of  Caherline,  county  Limerick. 

Be  had  issue,  inter  cUios^  a  son  Maurice,  his  successor  in  this 
living. 
1848.  Feb.  17.  Maubicb  Hewson,  R.  Clonpriest     [D.R.] 

1849.  Clonpriest  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.J 

1860.  The  church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  14  acres  of 
glebe  let.  Divine  service  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  usual 
holidays.  Sacrament  monthly,  and  on  festivals  ;  average  of 
communicants,  18.    No  school.   Protestant  population,  23.  The 


CLOTHE,]      CLOITPRIEST. — CLOTNE  (VICABS  CHORAL).  157 

rentcliarge  is  £552  3«.  The  land  is  worth  X20.  Total  value, 
£570  3«.  per  an.,  without  residence. 

Maurice  Hewson,  son  of  his  predecessor,  was  horn  in  county 
Kerry,  on  17th  June,  1816;  and  when  seventeen  years  old, 
entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner,  on  4th  Nov.,  1833. 

He  was  ordained  in  Novemher,  1839. 

He  married  Frances,  second  daughter  of  Rev.  Joseph  Jervois, 
R.  Ardagh. 


CLOYNE  (VICARS  CHORAL). 


1588-1590.  "  Quatuor  vicarii  chorales."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1612.  Feb.  22.  Thomas  Datibs.     He  was  installed  on  20th  August, 

1615.     [R.y.  1634.]     He  appears  in  1634.     He  was,  in  1618, 

P.  Inskenny,  q.  v. 
1615.  ^'Vicarii  chorales  quatuor  residentes,  Hbnrt  Stonr,  minister** 

hide  Inchigelagh,    Cork).      "  Thomas   Westmorb"  (also   R. 

Bretway,  q.  v.)     «  Thomas  Datibs."     [R.V.  KL A.] 
N.B. — There  was  one  Vicarage  Choral  vacant 
1615.  **  Ecclesia  Cathedralis  in  bene  statu.     Decanus  nullum 

habet  domum  spectantem  ad  banc  dignitatem.    John  ffitzgarrat, 

miles,  per  usurpationem  tenuit  non  solum  domum  et  raansiones 

sed  etiam  terras  et  possession es  Episcopi  et  Dignitariorum.*' 

rR.V.  RI.A.] 
1615/6.  January  16.  John  Brook,  per  cessionem  Henrici  Stone. 

He  was  installed  27th  March,  1615/16.     [RV.  1634.]     He 

appears  in  1634.     Brock  was  also  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Cork,  and 

Treasurer  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1618  (1)  Dbane  Stack.     [A  dateless  V.B.  of  this  period  quoted  by 

Cotton.] 

1628.  October  28.  Charles  Caldwell.    [R.V.  1634.]    He  appears 
in  1634.     He  was  also  P.  Lisclery,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1629.  January  10.   Sirach  Gilsland  installed  1st  March,  1629. 

SRV.  1634.]     He  appears  in  1634,  and  was  also  Rector  of 
iurragh,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1634.  4  Vic.  Chor.,  Thomas  Davies,  John  Brock,  Charles 

Caldwell,  Sirach  Gilsland.   Val.  20  li.  p.  an.  each.    [RV.  1634.] 

1637.  Dec.  21.  Henry  Ruoo.     [P.P.]     Rugg  was  also  R.  Igter- 

murragh.     In  1661  he  was  Dean  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1661  and  1662.  John  Mascall  "has  the  4  places."    [V.B.  Cloyne.] 

In  1663  he  became  P.  Subulter,  q.  v. 
1663.  Langblot  Smith,  Daniel  Considine,  Christopher  Vowbll, 
and  Thomas  Ruoo,  appear.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

Smith  appears  to  have  held  his  vicarage  choral  until  his 
death  in  1668  or  1669.     He  was  also  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 

Considine  appears  in  1674.    He  was  also  V.  Castrachore,  q.  v. 
Vowell  held  until  1668,  when  he  became  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  v. 


158  CLOTXB  (vicars  chobal).  [clotne. 

Thomas  Bngg  also  appears  in  1663.     He  was  a  son  of  the 
Dean  of  Glojne ;  was  born  in  1650,  and  entered  T.C.D.  on  6th 
Feb.  1665. 
1664  to  1669.  IIbnbt  Rugo  appears.    fV-B.  D.R.] 
1669.  John  Rugo,  Daniel  Gonsidinb,  William  Vayle,  and  Daniel 
FiTzsYMONs,  appear.     [YJB.  D.R.  of  1669.] 

John  Rugtf  seems  to  have  resigned  in  a  year  or  two.     He 
was  also  P.  fi  ilmacdonogh,  q.  v. 

William  Vayle  was  also  organist.  In  1671  he  probably 
enjoyed  2  places,  as  there  were  but  3  Vicars  Choral  in  that 
year,  namely,  Considine,  Fitzsymons,  and  Vayle.  In  1672, 
May  30,  Vayle  not  appearing,  is  ordered  to  be  suspended  ab 
officio,  and  his  vicarage  is  sequestered.  On  2nd  March,  1675, 
is  the  following  entry  made  in  the  chapter  books  : — *^  Whereas 
the  Bishop  has  collated  William  Vayle  one  of  the  Vicars  Choral, 
yet,  notwithstanding  it  is  evident  that  he  cannot  enjoy  the  same 
by  that  collation.  However,  in  consequence  of  a  reference  by 
word  of  mouth  from  Thomas,  Lord  Abp.  of  Cashel,  at  his  trien- 
nial visitation,  held  at  Cloyne  this  day,  directed  to  us,  the 
Dean  and  Chapter,  to  consider  of  an  expedient  that  neither  the 
organ  be  destitute  of  an  organist,  nor  the  present  organist,  the 
said  William  Vayle,  of  a  com}>etent  maintenance,  we  humbly 
request  and  represent  that  it  is  convenient  that  the  said  William 
Vayle  shall  continue  to  enjoy  the  one  moiety  of  the  profits  of 
the  4  vicarages  belonging  to  the  4  Vicars  Choral,  provided  he 
keep  in  repair  the  organ,  and  at  his  own  cost  find  one  to  blow 
the  bellows."  Vayle,  on  March  3,  1721,  resigned  the  vicarage 
which  he  held  as  organist,  and  Mr.  Kearney  was  appointed 
thereto,  but  was  to  pay  Vayle  £10  p.  an.  for  his  life  out  of  the 
profits.     [Cloyne  Chapter  Books.] 

Daniel  Fitzsymons,  in  1669  and  1670,  is  marked  '' absent 
studendi  gratia.  [V.B.  D.R.]  He  is  said  to  have  been  nomi- 
nated by  the  Dean  in  a  chapter  entry  of  9th  Aug.,  1671,  at 
which  time  it  was  agreed  that  Considine  should  enjoy  Fitz- 
symons' vicarage  during  the  incumbency  of  Fitzsymons,  paying 
to  Fitzsymons  £15  yearly.  And  that  when  Fitzsymons  shall 
have  other  preferment,  Considine  shall  pay  him  £12  yearly, 
and  serve  his  cure.  On  June  11,  1674,  it  was  decreed  that 
Daniel  Fitzsymons  be  deprived,  and  that  his  vicarage  be  vacant 
and  sequestered.     [Cloyne  Chapter  Book.] 

Daniel  Fitzsimons,  born  at  Aghadagh,  county  Cork,  son  of 
Rev.  Phelim  Fitzsimons  (Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v.)  was  educated 
at  Cork,  sub.  Mr.  Scroggs,  and  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pens.,  on 
30th  January,  1666/7,  being  then  sixteen  years  of  age  [Reg. 
T.C.D.]  and  was  afterwards  a  Scholar  in  that  university. 

From  1669  to  1674  he  was  Vicar  Choral  of  Cloyne,  and  he 
was  afterwards,  I  think.  Precentor  of  Ferns. 

He  m.  Una,  dan.  of  Margaret  Burke,  of  Bandon,  widow, 
M.  B.  dated  2fith  May,  1677.    [Cork  Mar.  Bon.]    by  her  ho 


CLOTNB.]  CLOYKE  (VICABS  CHOBAL).  159 

bad  a  sou  Daniel,  born  in  the  Qneen's  County  in  1683,  who 
entered  T.C.D.  in  1798. 

1670.  The  following  memoranda  are  written  on  the  fly-leaf 
of  the  Visitation  Book  of  1670,  August  2  : — ''  Ask  for  titles, 
dispensac^ns,  certificates,  &c.*' — ''A  general  act  to  be  made 
declaring  such  livings  yoyd  as  have  not  renounced  the  bloody 
covenant,  and  declared  their  assent  and  consent  according  to  tho 
Act  of  Uniformity." — **To  read  the  Book  of  Canons  again,  &c." 
— "  A  transcript  of  marriages,  <fec." — "  Habitt  Ecclesiasticall  re- 
quired by  canon  7,  <fec." — "  Lecture  against  sectaries  be  sett 

up." — "  Cathedral  service  neglected, &c *'  Theorganisttobe  att 

church  on  holydays,  Sunday  evenings  as  well  as  Sundays. — The 
Deane  to  be  desired  to  admonish  him  from  me." — ^*  A  preacher 
att  the  sitting  att  Charleville." — "What acts  were  made  att  ye 
visitation  of  Cloyne  to  be  prescribed  and  proceeded  upon." 

1671.  RicHABD  Dayibs  appears.    [V.B.  D.R.]    He  was  also  a  Vicar 
Choral  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1671.  *'In  ultima  visitatione,  2^  Augusti,  1670,  Dominus 
monuit  decan'  Ruggad  certificandum  de  negligentia  et  absentia 
.  .  .  .  Dignitarii  et  Prebendarii  diets  ecclio)  Cathedral  is 
in  non  predicando  in  dicta  ecclia  Cathedrali  juxta  tabulam  p' 
dccanum  et  capitulum  .  .  .  roster  assignat'  pro  uno  anno 
ultimo  .  .  .  infra  decem  dies  proxim*  sequentes,  .  .  . 
et  de  celebrando  Eucharist'  in  dicta  ecclia  Cathedrali  quatuor 
temporibus  annuatim.  Et  casa  quod  Decanus  .  .  .  defecit 
in  certificando  de  negligentia  diet'  Dignitarii  et  Prebendarii  in 
non  predicando  juxta  dictam  tabulam  tunc  Dominus  decrevit 
Decanum  solvere  summam  quadraginta  solidorum  p'  .  .  . 
in  mora  in  noncertificando,"  &c  *'  Dominus  monuit  omnes 
clcrOs  .  .  ad  exhibend'  in  toga  .  .  .  titulos  et  dispen- 
sacioues,"  <S^c.  "  Dominus  monuit  ludimagistrum  diet'  dioc' 
Clonen'  ad  docendum  catachismia  discipulis  infra  tres  mensas 
juxta  decimum  statutum  canonum  sub  p<ena  diet'  canonia" 

''Dominus  monuit  omnes  Dignitaries  et  Prebendaries,  dictss 
ecclise  Cath.  sancti  Colnianni  clerum,  ad  celebrand'  in  albis 
vestimentis  juxta  canonem  Dignitariorum  in  Academia.  Nec- 
non  ad  legend'  librum  canonum  in  eccliis  suis  parochialibus 
juxta  canones.  ''Dominus  monuit  Doc'  Sing  ad  comparend' 
prox'  visitatione  in  toga  et  vestimentis  Dignitatem  suam," 
Ac.  [Addenda  to  V.B.  of  6th  July,  1671.] 
1675.  Simon  Radcliffb  appears.  [VJB.  quoted  by  Cotton.]  He 
was  a  Scholar  of  T.C.D  in  1668. 

Simon,  son  of  John  Radclifie,  was  born  "domi  in  Cam- 
bria ;"  and  when  eighteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  on  29th 
Feb.  1665,  and  obtained  a  Scholarship  in  1668. 

He  was  P.  Donoghmore,  and  Kiltegan,  Lismore,  from  29th 
July,  1686,  until  his  death  in  1716.  He  was  Proctor  Capituli 
Lismor.  to  Convocation  in  1704.     [Cotton.] 


160  CLOYNE  (VICARS  CHORAL).  [CLOYNE. 

He  had,  inter  alio8,  two  eons — Simon  (in  holy  orders,  Vicar 
of  Ardraore,  county  Waterford,  whose  only  child,  Isabella,  was 
wife  to  Richard  Odoll,  of  Mount  Odell,  county  Waterford) ; 
and  John,  of  Ardraore. 
1682  to  1692.  James  Wade  appears  as  Vicar  Choral.     [V.B.] 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cork  on  2l8t  Sept.  1684,  and 
Priest  at  Cloyne  on  20th  Sept  1685.  In  1692  he  is  P.  C. 
Ballinaboy,  Cork.  He  died  in  1692.  He  was  a.b.  T.C.D. 
when  admitted  to  Deacon's  Orders  and  a.m.  when  admitted  to 
the  order  of  Priest. 

In  1687,  April  6,  the  Vicars  Choral  are  to  be  reduced,  when 
one  shall  resign,  from  four  to  three,  with  consent  of  Bishop, 
Dean,  and  Vicars  Choral.  Two  Vicars  to  be  Priests  and  one 
organist.  To  have  £23  per  annum  to  each  of  the  three. 
[Chapter  Book  of  Cloyne.] 
1692.  December  10.  Thomas  Simoox  is  admitted  to  a  Vicar  Choral- 
ship,  "per  mortem  Jacob!  Wade  vel  Danielis  Considine  vel 
alio  qnoque  mode  vacantem."  [D.R.  Cloyne.]  He  was  also  P. 
Cahirultan,  q.  v. 

1694.  Eccle^ia  Cathedralis  bona  reparata,  ad  cujus  oecono- 
miam  spectant  R.  de  Cloumell,  val.  16  pounds,  R.  de  Kilcor- 
coran,  Rectoria  integra  de  Kilbrogan.  These  livings  are  long 
annext  to  the  (Economy,  but  are  not  contiguous.  Mr.  R. 
Davies,  (Economus.  [Palliser.] 
1696.  John  Armstead  appears  as  Vicar  Choral.     [V.B.]     In  1700 

he  was  P.  Glan  worth,  q.  v. 
1699.  Robert  Sessb  appears  as  Vicar  Choral.     [V.B.]     In  1707  he 
was  V.  Whitechurch,  q.  v. 

1701.  Oct  1.  Ordered  that  Mr.  Robert  Sesse  receive  and 
enjoy  the  salary  of  the  two  Vicars  Choral  to  the  29th  Septem- 
ber last,  he  paying  or  allowing  thereout  unto  Mrs.  Edith  Synge, 
widow  of  Dr.  Francis  Synge,  £3,  and  to  Mr.  George  Owens, 
40«.  [Cloyne  Chapter  Book.] 
1704/5.  January  10.  Thomas  Coopbb  is  admitted  Vicar  Choral. 
[P.F.] 

In  1709  Cooper  and  Vayle  were  the  only  Vicars.     [V.B.] 

Cooper  was,  in  1724,  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 

1706.  The  Chapter  passed  an  order  to  pull  down  the  battle- 
ments of  the  church,  as  being  too  heavy  for  the  side  walls,  thus 
depriving  the  cathedral  of  its  ancient  respectable  appearance, 
and  making  it  look,  as  much  as  they  could,  like  a  barn.  [Bennet 
MSS.] 

1708.  The  parish  register  of  Cloyne  begins. 
1721.    April  22.    Thomas  Kbabnet  is  appointed  a  Vicar  Choral, 
{vice  Vayle,  resigned).  [D.R.]    In  1729  he  is  organist.  He  died 
in  1766. 

1721.  The  church-yard  was  levelled,  and  a  new  row  of  trees 
planted.     [Bennet  MSS.] 


CLOTNE.]  CLOTNE  (viCARS  CHORAL).  161 

1728.  Southwell  Rioabd  appears  as  a  Vicar  Choral.  [Cotton.] 
Ho  was  admitted  on  23rd  June,  1730.  [D.R.]  He  was  shortly 
afterwards  made  Archdeacon  of  Clojne,  q.  v. 

1728.  RicRABD  Lloyd  appears  as  a  Vicar  Choral.  [Cotton.]  He 
resigned  in  1770.     [D.R.] 

1730.  August  29.  William  Lewis,  a.m.  (vice  Ricard,  resigned). 
[D.R.J     Ho  was  afterwards  Chancellor  of  Cloyue,  q,  v. 

Extract  from  a  letter  of  Bp.  Berkeley,  dated  Cloyne,  Feb.  2, 
1749:  **  Our  round  tower  stands  where  it  did,  but  the  little  stone 
arched  vault  on  the  top  was  cracked.  The  bell  also  was  thrown 
down,  and  broke  its  way  through  three  boarded  stories,  but 
remains  entire.  The  door  was  shivered  into  many  very  small 
pieces,  and  dispersed^and  there  was  astone  forced  out  of  the  waU. 
The  thunder  clap  was  the  loudest  1  ever  heard  in  Ireland.** 

The  following  is  a  more  particular  account  of  this  accident : 
'^  A  storm  of  lightning,  with  thunder,  on  the  night  of  January 
10,  1749,  passed  through  the  country  in  a  line  from  W.  to  E., 
and  after  killing  some  cows  in  a  field  S.  of  Cork,  struck  the 
round  tower  of  Cloyne.  It  first  rent  the  vaulted  arch  at  the 
top,  threw  down  the  great  bell,  together  with  three  galleries, 
and  descending  perpendicularly  to  the  lowest  floor,  forced  its 
way  with  a  violent  explosion  through  one  side  of  the  tower, 
and  drove  some  of  the  stones,  which  were  admirably  well 
jointed,  through  the  roof  of  a  neighbouring  stable.  The  door, 
though  secured  by  a  strong  iron  lock,  was  thrown  to  the  dis« 
tance  of  sixty  yards,  and  quite  shattered  to  pieces.  A  few 
pigeons  that  used  to  roost  on  the  top  of  the  steeple  were 
scorched  to  death,  not  a  feather  of  them  being  left  unsinged. 
With  the  same  bad  taste  which  distinguishes  all  the  works  of 
architecture  of  this  era,  the  vaulted  stone  roof  of  the  tower  was 
never  repaired,  but  the  height  was  lowered  more  than  6  feet, 
and  a  vile  battlement,  in  imitation  of  the  worst  English  churches, 
substituted  in  its  stead.'*     [Bishop  Bennet.] 

1752.  Dec.  19.  Richard  Purcell  was  admitted  Curate  of  the 
parish  of  Cloyne.     [D.R.] 

1754.  October  7.  David  Lewis  is  admitted  to  a  vicarage  choral 
vacant  *^  per  cessionem  Gulielmi  patris.**  [D.R.I  He  held  also, 
from  1758  to  1759,  the  P.  Fenore,  Clonfert     He  died  in  1759. 

1760.  January  10.  William  Stopford,  a.m.  (on  letters  patent  of 
the  King,  dated  1st  Oct.  1759,  sede  vacante),  tn<;e  David  Lewis, 
deceased.  [D.R.  and  Lib.  Mun.]  In  1772,  May  26,  ho  resigned 
and  became  V.  Nathlash,  q.  v. 

1762.  Lloyd  (non-resident),  Stopford  (non-resident),  and 
Kearney,  are  the  Vicars.  Yearly  income  of  each,  £80.  Parish 
of  Cloyne.     [Hayman.] 

1764.  July  7.  James  Mockler,  a.b.,  was  appointed  Curate. 
[D.R.] 

1766.  January  18.   William  Kexah  is  admitted  a  Vicar  Choral 
vol.  XL  M 


Ij52  CLOTSE  (VICABS  CHORAL).  [CLOTNS. 

&iee  Thomas  Kearney,  deceased).  [D.R.]  He  was  also  organist 
e  died  in  1772. 
1770.  April  27.  Geobob  Dumbab,  armiger,  is  admitted  a  Vicar  Choral 
[D.R.]     He  resigned  in  1803. 

1770.  June  16.  Richabd  Llotd  "armiger,"  is  admitted  a  Vicar 
Choral  (vice  **  Ricardi  patris").  [D.R.]  He  died  shortly  after- 
wards. 

1771.  January  21.  Johh  Shaw  "  generosus,"  and  David  Boubke  are 
admitted  to  a  moiety  of  the  Vicar  Choralship,  vacant  by  death 
of  Richard  Lloyd-     [D.R.] 

1772.  June  26.  James  Mogkleb.  [V.B.]  He  was  afterwards  Arch- 
deacon of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1772.  July  6.  John  Shaw  and  David  Boubke  are  admitted  '*ad 
quartam  partem  vicariaa  chor.,  &c.,  vacanteui  per  mortem 
Wilhelmi  Kenah."    [D.R.]     Burke  died  in  1825. 

1773.  Feb.  17.  Hbnby  Cobnelius  '^generosus,"  is  admitted  to  "  tres 
quartas  partes  vie.  chor.,**  vice  Mockler.  [D.K]  (January  19  is 
the  date  given  in  F.F.)     Cornelius  died  in  Sept.,  1826. 

1773.  March  30.  Michael  Anoelo  Bbunett  "gcnerosus/'  is  ad- 
mitted to  }  vie.  chor.     [D.R.  and  F.F.] 

1774.  Cloyne.  Rectory  in  the  barony  of  Imokilly;  value, 
£500  per  ann.  It  belongs  to  the  (Economy  and  to  the  Vicars 
Choral,  who  are  ^ve^  viz.,  George  Dunbar,  esq.  ;  John  Shaw, 
David  Burk,  Henry  Cornelius,  and  Michael  Angelo  Brunetti, 
ffent.  Church,  the  cathedral,  in  repair.  Pat.,  tlie  Bp.  Taxed 
m  the  King's  books,  £13  13$.  id,  ster.  Curate,  James  Mockler, 
LL.B.     [Hingston.] 

1775.  "George  Dunbar,  esq.,  holds  one  Vicar  Cuoralship. 
John  Shaw,  David  Burke,  Henry  Cornelius,  and  Michael  Angelo 
Brunett,  choristers,  hold  the  other  three  places  between  them." 
[V.B.] 

1781.  June  21.  George  Cotter  appears  as  Curate  of  Cloyne. 
[Chapter  Book.] 

1783.  The  gallery  on  the  south  side  of  the  organ  was  fitted 
up  as  a  pew  for  the  Bishop*s  family.  [Bennet  MSS.] 
1783.  July  11.  Matthew  Slbatob  (vic^ Shaw),  is  admitted  to  "tres 
quartas  partes  loci  vicarii  choralis."  [D.R.]  And  on  4th 
August,  1783,  he  is  appointed  Curate  of  Cloyne.  In  1787  he 
became  R.  V.  Clonmult,  q.  v. 
1785.  January  10.  Robert  Lindsay  (vice  Sleater),  is  admitted  to 
one-fourth  part  of  a  Vicarage  Choral,  and  same  day  is  licensed 
as  Parish  Clerk  of  Cloyne.     [D.R.] 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Cloyne,  58. 
1787.  Nov.  13.  Jambs  Walsh  is  admitted  to  one-half  a  Vicara^-e 
Choral,  vice  Mathew  Sleater,  resigned.     [D.R.]     Walsh   re- 
signed in  1792.     [D.R.] 

1789.  Nov.  10.  James  Hingston  was  appointed  Curate  of 
Cloyne.     He  was  also  diocesan  schoolmaster. 


cLonrsJ  CLOTHS  (vicABs  choral).  168 

1792.  Oct.  2.  Thomas  Dormer  Cuice  Walsh,  resigned),  is  admitted 
to  a  moiety  of  Vic.  Chor.  [^.R.]  In  1797  he  became  a  Vic. 
Chor.  of  dashel.     He  died  in  1828. 

1798.  Feb.  14.  John  Rotal  Wilkinson,  esq.  {vice  Dormer),  is  ad- 
mitted to  a  moiety  of  Vic.  Cbor.  [D.R.  and  F.F.]  And  in 
1803,  Jnly  16,  to  another  moiety,  vice  G.  Dunbar,  resigned. 
[F.F.] 

1803.  July  16.  Hbnrt  Cornelius  is  admitted  to  one-fourth  part 
of  the  Vic.  Chor.,  vacant  by  resignation  of  George  Dunbar. 
[F.F.]  In  1807,  Nov.  26,  Henry  Cornelius  is  permitted  to 
cease  duty  as  Vic.  Chor.     [D.R.] 

1803.  August  17.  Michael  Anqelo  Brunett  is  admitted  to  one- 
eighth  of  Vic.  Chor.,  vacant  by  resignation  of  G.  Dunbar.  [D.R.] 

1803.  October  30.  Davit>  Burke  is  admitted  to  one-eighth  of  Vic. 
Chor.,  vacant  by  resignation  of  G.  Dunbar.     [D.R.] 

1804.  John  William  Bennett  is  Sub-dean  of  the  Cathedra). 
He  is  Residentiary  Preacher,  at  £40  per  an.,  a  house  and  gar- 
den, and  £\  Is.  per  Sunday  and  holiday,  for  preaching  for  the 
absent  Prebendaries.  He  has  also  £75  per  an.  as  Curate,  and 
as  Reader  he  has  £80  per  an.  from  the  Vicars  Choral. 

1807.  Nov.  16.  James  Sandiford  is  Curate  and  Preacher 
Residentiary.     [D.R.] 

1808.  June  28.  William  Butler  is  Curate  and  Preacher  Resi- 
dentiary.    [D.R.] 

1811.  Feb.  26.  William  Hales  Hingstonis  appointed  Curate, 
on  the  nomination  of  the  Dean.  He  was  also  appointed  a 
Surrogate  on  6th  March,  1811. 

The  following  account  of  Cloyne,  of  the  date  1813,  or  a  little 
later,  is  taken  from  the  manuscripts  of  Bishop  Beunet : — 

Cathedral,  Town,  and  Environs. 

"Smith  (in  his  History  of  Cork,  vol.  i.,  p.  135,)  has  repre- 
sented the  state  of  the  Cathedral  in  his  time,  and  given  a  list 
of  the  inscriptions  on  the  tombs.  It  is  a  respectable  building 
with  a  handsome  nave  and  transept,  and  a  small  choir,  all  kept 
in  better  order  than  is  usual  in  the  ancient  Irish  churches,  ny 
the  style  of  the  building  I  should  suppose  it  not  older  than 
1250.  It  has  no  mouldings  of  the  zig-zag,  nailhead,  or  billeted 
kind,  nor  round  arched  windows,  which  distinguish  what  is 
called  the  Saxon  or  rather  Norman  architecture,  before  the  in- 
troduction of  the  Gothic,  temp.  Henry  III.,  and  which  appears, 
for  instance,  in  Cormac*s  Chapel,  at  Cashel;  nor,  on  the  other 
hand,  has  it  the  splendid  arch  or  oak-leaved  ornamentation  so 
common  towards  the  middle  of  the  reign  of  Edward  L  I 
should,  therefore,  fix  the  era  of  its  erection  to  the  latter  years 
of  the  first  of  these  princes,  or  the  beginning  of  the  reign  of  the 
last.  The  windows,  though  since  altered,  were  evidently  lancet- 
shaped,  as  was  common  in  the  time  of  Hemy  III.     See  the 

YOL.  II.  M  2 


164  CLOTKE  (vicars  choral).  [clotkb. 

great  west  wiDdow  and  that  of  the  south  transept,  the  latter 
on  the  outside,  which  is  an  additional  reason  for  the  date  I  have 
chosen,  as  is  also  the  circumstance  that  about  this  time  three 
Prelates  out  of  four  were  from  England,  where  monastic  and 
cathedral  architecture  were  in  high  estimation.  The  Bishops 
Johnson  and  Woodward  are  buried  in  this  cathedral.  In  erect- 
ing the  present  cross  wall,  at  the  entrance  to  the  choir,  which 
was  done  by  Bishop  Agar,  1776,  as  the  workmen  dug  deep  in 
the  nave  to  lay  the  foundation,  they  discovered  a  row  of  graves 
of  rather  singular  construction,  consisting  of  brick  cells,  ex- 
actly suited  to  the  size  and  shape  of  the  body  contained  in  each, 
and  what  is  curious  enough,  one  of  them  ended  at  the  shoul- 
ders, nor  were  any  of  the  bones  of  the  skull  to  be  found  with 
the  body.  It  is,  therefore,  not  improbable  that  the  head  of  the 
owner  may  have  been  fixed  on  Cork  gates  in  the  times  of  tur- 
bulence, as  they  appear,  in  the  print  given  us  of  that  city  in 
Pacata  Uibemia,  to  be  full  of  such  kind  of  trophies. 

"  The  round  tower,  situated  near  the  west  door  of  the  cathe- 
dral, is  in  excellent  preservation.  The  dimensions  of  it  are  as 
follows  : — Height,  92  feet ;  circumference,  50  ;  thickness  of 
walls,  3  feet  8  inches;  height  of  door  from  ground,  13  feet. 
It  has  stones  projecting  on  the  first  story  for  the  joists  of  a 
floor  to  rest  on.  Windows  seem  to  have  lighted  different 
stories,  and  at  the  top  were  four  in  number,  as  is  invariably  the 
case.  The  summit,  however,  has  been  absurdly  altered,  pro- 
bably after  it  was  struck  by  lightning  in  1749,  into  the  shape 
of  battlements,  instead  of  being  closed  at  top  as  usual.  The 
stones  of  which  the  tower  is  formed  have  been  chiefly  brought 
from  the  sea-shore,  though  about  half  way  up  the  building  the 
stones  themselves,  as  well  as  the  mode  of  placing  them,  undergo 
an  evident  alteration.  Within  the  tower  hangs  the  single 
bell  belonging  to  the  church,  presented  by  Dean  Bavies.  The 
steps  to  the  door  are  also  modern,  like  the  battlements,  for  these 
round  towers  (whatever  may  have  been  their  use),  were  always 
entered  by  a  rope  or  ladder. 

"  In  the  eastern  part  of  the  church-yard,  which  is  large  and 
well  planted,  still  remain  the  ruins  of  a  small  stone  edifice 
(standing  east  and  west,  30  feet  long  and  19  in  breadth), 
known  by  the  name  of  St.  Colman's  Cliapel,  and  probably  one 
of  those  oratories  or  early  churches  still  to  be  seen  at  Eillaloe 
or  St.  Donat's,  treated  of  by  Ledwich  in  his  Antiquities. 

"The  town  of  Cloyne  is  situated  on  a  small  limestone  emin- 
ence, gently  rising  in  the  midst  of  the  valley,  through  which 
I  suppose  Cork  harbour  to  have  once  communicated  with  the 
sea,  and  this  eminence,  therefore,  was  once  an  island  sur- 
rounded with  water;  afterwards,  on  the  water  partially  drying 
up,  by  a  deep  bog;  and  at  present,  by  rich  and  in  general  well 
improved  m^Bwlows,  to  which  the  plantations  about  the  church 


CLOTKE.]  CLOTNE  (viCARS  CHORAL).  165 

and  see  house,  with  the  round  tower  appearing  everywhere 
above  them,  give  a  good  effect.  On  this  spot,  when  in  its  first 
or  second  state  of  transition  (and  in  either  it  was  a  place  of 
considerable  security),  St  Colman  before  the  year  600,  is  sup- 
posed to  have  founded  his  church,  and  the  security  of  it  must 
have  received  no  small  addition  from  the  circumstance  of  a 
cave,  which  is  on  the  most  elevated  part  of  it,  extending  in 
various  branches  underground  to  a  great  distance.  In  tliose 
unsettled  and  barbarous  ages,  caves  of  this  sort  were  resorted  to 
by  the  natives  on  the  first  appearance  of  an  enemy,  and  the 
invaders  seldom  being  able  to  make  a  long  stay,  the  wives  and 
children  of  the  tenants,  and  perhaps  even  their  cattle,  would 
remain  in  tolerable  safety  till  the  country  could  collect  in  their 
defence.  It  is  certain  that  places  of  refuge  of  this  sort  were 
looked  upon  as  of  so  much  necessity,  that  in  some  of  the  Heb- 
rides we  find  artificial  caves  constructed  for  this  purpose,  and 
where  nature  had  provided  one  so  deep  and  roomy  a^  this,  the 
rude  inhabitants  of  the  time  would  as  naturally  graze  their 
flocks  and  build  their  huts  in  its  neighbourhood,  as  in  later 
days  they  raised  their  cottages  under  the  shelter  of  a  Norman 
castle.  This  idea,  also,  will  receive  confirmation  from  the  name 
of  the  town,  Cluaine,  signifying  a  cave  in  the  Irish  language. 

**  The  cave  is  now  in  the  field  called  the  Rock-meadow,  form- 
ing part  of  the  Bishop's  demesne,  a  little  east  of  his  garden 
wall,  and  they  having  been  long  neglected,  and  the  drains  from 
it  choked  up,  it  is  generally  full  of  water  in  winter,  yet  there 
is  a  large  arched  passage,  running  some  hundred  yards,  leading 
to  another  mouth  in  the  shrubbery  north  of  it  A  third  but 
smaller  opening  is  also  visible  in  the  high  ground  above  the 
pond,  a  fourth  near  the  road  to  the  commons,  and  these  or 
similar  entrances  being  known  to  the  first  inhabitants,  gave  the 
Irish  name  to  the  whole  of  this  land  (which  since  the  enclosure 
is  preserved  in  the  small  field  joining  it)  of  Nonelus  Ry,  or  the 
field  of  the  caverns. 

*''  That  such  caves  were  used  in  Ireland  for  the  purpose  of 
security,  appears  from  the  Iceland  Annals.  [See  '  Antiq. : 
Celts  and  Scandinav.*  page  14.] 

"  *  Leifr  went  on  piracy  to  the  west,  and  infested  Ireland  with 
his  arms.  He  there  discovered  large  subterraneous  caves,  the 
entrances  of  which  were  dark  and  dismal ;  but  on  entering  they 
saw  the  glittering  of  the  swords  which  the  men  held  in  their 
hands.  The  men  they  slew,  and  brought  the  swords,  with  much 
riches,  away.' 

<<  Thus  I  conjecture  Cloyne  to  have  been  originally  inhabited 
in  the  earliest  times,  in  consequence  of  the  security  afforded  by 
its  caves,  and  to  have  increased  in  fame  after  GOO,  from  the 
veneration  paid  to  its  saint,  the  round  tower  certainly  affording 
a  mark  of  its  importance  in  the  year  900,  or  at  least  long 


166  CLOTHE  (VICABS  CHORAL).  [cLOTHB. 

before  the  English  invasion  in  1171.  [From  the  best  opinion 
I  can  form  on  this  disputed  subject,  I  conclude  the  Irish 
round  towers  to  have  been  raised  by  the  Ostmen,  on  their 
conversion  to  Christianity,  about  900.] 

"  When  the  old  retreat  of  the  cave  became  of  less  consequence, 
from  the  change  of  manners,  the  safety  of  the  inhabitants  was 
equally  consulted  about  1200,  by  the  erection  of  several  strong 
and  insulated  castles,  as  seems  to  have  been  the  case  in  all  the 
old  Irish  towns  of  much  note,  to  which  the  inmates  of  the  neigh- 
bouring caverns  retired  in  times  of  danger,  at  once  receiving 
and  giving  protection.     One  of  these  castles  was,  as  we  have 
Been,  at  the  south-east  angle  of  the  square,  formed  by  the  meet- 
ing of  the  four  streets ;  a  second  stood  in  Garryo wen-lane,  ou 
the  north  side  of  the  road ;  and  another  somewhat  to  the  east 
of  the  present  see  house:  these  buildings  were  probably  raised 
by  the  Powers,  or  Fitzgeralds,  most  likely  by  the  latter,  who 
possessed  almost  the  whole  barony  of  Imokilly,  first  when  newly 
settled  in  the  country  as  a  defence  against  the  savage  natives, 
and  afterwards,  when  assimilated  to   them  in    manners  and 
religion,  as  a  protection  to  them.     The  advantage  of  the  com- 
mons at  a  still  later  era  operated  as  a  cause  of  increase  to  the 
population,  so  that  even  at  present,  though  exceeded  in  splen- 
dour of  buildings  and  many  other  advantages  by  the  neighbour- 
ing towns  of  Middleton  and  Castlcniartyr,  it  is  not  considerably 
below  them  in  number,  which  by  a  tolerably  accurate  compu- 
tation, in  1800,  amounted  to  more  than  1,600  souls.     [The  in- 
habited houses  were  as  follows  : — Church-lane,  75  ;  Roch-lane, 
35 ;  River-lane,  62 ;  Spital-lane,  136.     By  a  later  and  more 
accurate  enumeration  taken  on  oath  in  1813,  the  number  of 
inhabitants  amounted  to  2,020,  the  town  then  having  308  in- 
habited houses,  and  at  least  5^  persons  to  every  house  on  an 
average.]  As  there  is  no  other  market  for  the  whole  well-peopled 
peninsula  from  Ballycotton  to  Rostillan,  the  influx  of  persons 
on  a  market  or  fair  day  is  very  considerable  indeed.     The 
ancient  names  of  the  neighbouring  fields  and  ground  speak 
the  savageness  of  the  place  in  early  times,  Ejiockna  Madreo 
is  the  hill  of  the  grey  dog  or  wolf;  Park  Nadristrig,  the  field 
of  briers ;  Monewraniskey,  the  meadow  of  the  wild  boars. 

''  Of  the  hills  that  surround  the  town,  that  on  the  north  is 
Bohermore,  or  the  great  highway ;  from  a  tradition  that  a  road 
passed  over  it  from  the  sea  on  the  south  to  that  on  the  north 
of  the  kingdom.  The  hill  to  the  north-west  is,  as  we  have 
said,  Knockna  Nadree,  the  hill  of  the  Wolf,  and  to  the  north- 
east is  Courtoun,  or  the  hill  with  the  naked  turn,  which  ex- 
presses its  present  appearance  with  much  precision." 

The  new  organ,  bought  by  the  Chapter  in  1813,  cost  £800. 
[Bennet  MSS.J 
1825.  July  25.  James  Hihgston,  junior,  is  admitted  a  Yicar  Choral, 


ClOTHE.]  CLOYNB  (VIOABS  CHORAL).  187 

vice  D.  Boorke,  deceased.     [D.R.]     He  resigned  in  1828.     He 
was  afterwards  R.  Whitechurcb,  q.  v. 
1825.  July  26.  John  Warburton  (vice  M.  A.  Branett,  wbo  re- 
signed.)    [D.R.]     In  1826  he  became  also  a  Vicar  Choral  of 
Cork,  q.  v. 

1827.  June  7.  Charles  Moore  Stewart  (vice  Henry  Cornelius, 
esq.,  deceased,  wbo  held  from  19th  Feb.,  1773),  is  admitted  on 
letters  patent  from  crown,  sede  vucante.     [F.F.] 

C.  M.  Stewart  (second  son  of  Alexander  Stewart,  esq.,  of 
Ards  House,  county  Donegal),  was,  from  1826  to  1829,  R.  V. 
Agbavea,  in  Clogber  diocese;  and  from  1829  to  bis  death  in 
1831,  P.  Killymard,  Raphoe. 

1828.  Feb.  28.  William  Hallaran  is  admitted  a  Vicar  Choral, 
vice  James  Hingston,  resigned.  [D.R.]  Hallaran  became  P. 
Cahirultau,  q.  v. 

1830.  July  1.  William  Rogers  was  licensed  to  be  Reader, 
vice  Hugh  Lindsay,  deceased.     [D.R.] 
1830.  Protestant  population,  348. 
1831.  March  31.  Mathew  Brinklet,  esq.,  vice  C.  M.  Stewart,  de- 
ceased, is  admitted  a  Vicar  Choral.     [D.R.] 

Matbew  Brinkley  (second  son  of  Bishop  Brinkley),  was  not 
in  holy  orders.  He  was  j.p.  for  Meath,  and  resided  at  Par- 
sonstown  House,  in  that  county. 

He  married  Harriett,  dau.  of  Dean  Graves,  of  Ardagh^  and 
had  issue  five  sons — John,  died  a  minor ;  Richard-Graves,  who 
is  now  of  Portland  House,  county  Sligo,  j.p.  (he  married  Hester, 
only  child  and  heiress  of  James  Lloyd,  esq.,  of  Ardagh,  county 
Sligo,  and  has  issue)  ;  Matthew,  Secretary  to  the  Governor  of 
South  Australia;  Hercules;  and  Francis.  Mr.  Brinkley  had 
also  six  daughters — Essie,  wife  of  John  Alexander,  esq.,  of 
Milford  House,  Carlo w ;  Eliza,  wife  of  Major  William  Long- 
field,  of  Carystown,  county  Cork;  Harriet,  wife  of  Richard 
Henry  Farrers,  esq.,  of  Dunamaise  House,  Queen's  county ; 
Anna,  wife  of  Honourable  James  King,  brother  to  the  Earl  of 
Kingston  ;  Jane,  wife  of  Edward  Vernon,  esq.,  of  Clontarf 
Castle,  Dublin ;  and  Arabella,  unmarried.  Mr.  Brinkley  died 
on  27th  April,  1855. 
1833.  Oct.  9.  George  O'Connor  (t;ic«  Hallaran),  is  admitted  a  Vicar 
Choral.     [D.R.] 

George  O'Connor  was  the  only  child  of  John  O'Connor,  D.D., 
F.T.O.D.,  and  R.  Donoghpatrick,  Meath,  by  Martha  Weld,  sister 
to  Esther  Weld,  Bishop  Brinkley's  wife. 

He  was,  from  1803  to  1842,  P.  Castleknock,  Dublin;  and 
from  1823  to  1842,  K  Donoghpatrick,  Meath;  and  from  1833 
to  his  death  on  14th  Nov.  1842,  Vicar  Choral,  Cloyne. 

He  married  Frances-Izod,  dau.  of  Lorenzo  Nickson,  esa.,  of 
Chapel  Izod,  county  Kilkenny,  and  had  issue  four  sons— John 
O'Connor,  esq.,  who  died  in  1863,  of  Ardlonaa  Oastle,  conntj 


168  CLOYNE  (vicars  choral).  [cloyne. 

Meath,  his  paternal  estate ;  George  O'Connor,  m.d.,  of  Bally- 
castle  ;  Rev.  William  Izod  O'Connor,  Curate  of  Balrathboyne, 
Meath ;  and  Matthew  Weld  O'Connor,  esq.,  of  Anglesea,  county 
Longford.  He  had  also  three  daughters — Martha,  wife  of 
Samuel  Garnett,  esq.,  of  Rossmeen,  county  Meath  ;  Frances, 
wife  of  William  Tisdall,  esq.,  of  Balbray,  county  Meath ;  and 
Elisabeth,  unmarried. 
1834,  May  17.  William  Rogers  (vice  Robert  Lindsay,  deceased), 
is  admitted  to  one-eighth  of  a  Vicarage  Choral.  [D.R.]  In 
1847  he  became  R.  V.  Kilmahon,  q.  v. 

1834.  The  Corporation  of  the  Vicars-Choral  of  Oloyne  con- 
sists of  five  persons,  viz.  : — Mr.  J.  R.  Wilkinson,  Mr.  Matthew 
Brinkley,  Rev.  John  Warburton,  Rev.  W.  Uallaran,  and  Mr. 
Robert  Lindsay.  The  average  gross  iticome  for  the  three 
years  ending  1831,  was  £1,118  14«.  7^d.,  arising  out  of  about 
five-sixths  of  the  tithes  of  the  parish  of  Cloyne.  The  payments 
were — £75  to  Rev.  W.  Rogers,  Reader;  £37  11«.  6^d.  to 
Rev.  John  Maginn,  Curate  assistant ;  £50  to  Frederick  Daly, 
Deputy  Vicar  Choral ;  £36  18».  5^d.  to  John  Brunette,  Deputy 
Vicar  Choral;  XI 11  lis.  3^(/.  to  Agent,  for  his  fees  insetting, 
receiving,  <fec.,  at  the  rate  of  2«.  per  pound.  Total  of  pay- 
ments, £311  75.  3^d,  The  balance,  after  those  outgoings,  was 
£807  7«.  id.y  which  was  divided  among  the  five  Vicars  Choral 
in  the  following  proportions,  viz. : — To  the  senior  Vicar, 
£229  188.  l^d.;  to  the  second,  £187  2s.  O^d. ;  to  the  third, 
£163  Us.  id.;  to  the  fourth,  £163  Us.  id,;  to  the  fifth 
£62  18^.  6c?.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1834.  The  average  annual  gross  amount  of  the  CEconomy 
estate  for  the  three  years  ending  31st  Dec,  1831,  was  £559 
lOs.  8d.  arising  from  the  following  sources,  viz.  : — From  rent 
of  the  lands  of  Ferramenagh  (80  acres),  £92  6s,  2d. ;  from  rec- 
torial tithes  of  certain  plowlands  in  Clonmeen  parish,  and  of 
Kilroe  townland  in  Kilbrin  parish,  and  of  Kilcorcoran,  contain- 
ing the  whole  tithes  of  Rosline  and  Coolevoty,  £69  3s.  Id. ; 
from  the  tithes  and  glebe  (56a.  1r.  20p.)  of  Clondrohid,  £65 ; 
from  rectorial  tithes  and  glebe  of  Clonmell  parish,  £92  6s.  2d.; 
from  part  of  the  rectorial  tithes  of  Agabulloge  parish,  £10; 
from  one-sixth  of  the  tithes  of  Cloyne  parish,  £223  18s.  3d.; 
from  dividend  of  stock  in  the  public  funds,  £6  lis.  The  dis- 
bursements were  as  follows  : — To  Curate  assistant  for  remote 
districts  of  the  parish,  £20;  Chapter  Clerk,  £10;  (Econo- 
mist, £30 ;  organist,  £80  ;  teacher  of  the  quire,  £60  ;  verger, 
£13  13». ;  sexton,  £10  10s.  ;  rent  of  house  for  divine  worship 
at  Ballycotton,  and  scxtoness,  £10  ;  gate-keeper,  £2  12s.  :  bel- 
lows blower,  £6  2s. ;  discharge  of  occasional  duty  at  Kilcor- 
coran, £5 ;  maintenance,  clothing,  and  education  of  six  choir 
boys,  £83  1*.  7c?. ;  Mr.  Doyle,  for  care  of  choir  boys,  £20 ; 
subscription  to  Cloyne  dispensary,  £5  ;  part  of  the  expense  of 


CLOTNB.]  CLOTNE  (viCARS  GHOBAL).  169 

erecting  a  gallery,  £60  I3s.  id,;  ditto  of  purchase  of  pianos  for 
the  choir  boys,  their  time  having  expired,  £7  lOs.  8d, ;  repairs 
of  Oarate's  house,  £2  ;  part  of  expense  of  painting  cathedral, 
XI 1;  cushions,  £2  38.  8d.;  flagging,  £11  10^.  id.;  trades- 
men's bills,  £18  11«.  3d.  ;  music  for  choir  boys,  £4  7s.  6d.  ; 
prayer  books,  £1  Ids. ;  washing  surplices,  £2  ds.  2d.;  poundage 
on  management  of  tithes,  <S:c.,  £13  lis.  Id. ;  sundries,  £21 
3s.  9d. ;  candles  for  evening  service,  £2  2«.  2d. ;  tuning  organ, 
£5  5s. ;  summoning  the  chapter,  £2  2^. ;  drawing  leases,  £2  28. ; 
rent  of  Curate's  house,  £15  ds.  6d.  Total,  £539  11^.  6e/. 
[Pari.  Rep.] 

In  1841  the  further  appointment  to  the  offices  of  Vicars 
Choral  was  suspended  by  the  Lord  Lieutenant  in  Council,  on 
the  recommendation  of  the  Ecclesiastical  Commissioners. 

1860.  The  cathedral  in  good  order.  The  Rev.  J.  Warburton 
and  Rev.  W.  Rogers  are  the  Vicars  Choral.  Thomas  W.  Garde 
is  Curate  and  Preacher  Residentiary.  Robert  M.  Evans  is 
Reader.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays,  and  once  on  all 
Fridays  and  on  church  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly  and  on  fes- 
tivals ;  average  of  communicants,  30.  26  Protestant  boys  attend 
Bishop  Crowe's  school.     The  Protestant  population  is  115. 


♦ 


COOLE. 

1891.  '*  P'benda  Magri  JoHis  Ohonbtan,  Ecc&  de  Cul  et  Bregwach 

"       Illlmr.  undo  decima  Vs.  HHd."    [Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1402.  May  15.  "Dominus  Mattheus"  appears  as  "  Perpetuus  Vica- 

rius  EcclesisB  de  Cowl."  [Caulfield's  Pipe  Roll,  p.  55.] 
1591.  **  Ecclesia  de  Cowill,  James  Prenderoastb."  In  another  part 
of  this  MS.  the  Preb.  is  said  to  bo  "  vacant  per  ix.  years." 
[MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.]  Prendergaste  is  also,  in  1591,  V.  Rath- 
connack,  Castlelyons,  Kil worth,  and  Clondulane. 
1615.  Thomas  Wilson,  a.m.,  appears  as  P.  Coole.  "Ipse  iuservit 
curu).  Val.  50s.  per  annum.  Ecclesia  ruinata,  cancella  in 
repatione."    [R.V.  KI.A.] 

The  following  is  from  the  old  book  of  Cork  Registry : — 
"  Knowe  all  men  by  these  psentes  that  Thomas  Wilson,  Dean 
of  Lismore,  in  the  countie  of  Waterford,  being  at  the  day  of 
this  pnt  demise  lawfully  seized  of  the  prebend  of  Cowill  and 
the  rectory  or  parsonage  of  Bowhillane,  within  the  dioces  of 
the  bishopricke  of  Cloine,  within  the  countie  of  Cork,  as  in  his 
owne  propp'ryghte  for  tearme  of  life,  ffor  divers  good  causes 
him  moving,  and  especially  for  and  in  consideration  of  the 
summe  of  fifteen  pounds  sterling  cur't  money  of  and  in  Eng- 
lande,  to  him  the  said  Thos.  Wilson  in  hand  paid  and  satisfied, 
before  thensealing  and  deliverie  hereof,  by  Nicholas  Qallwan, 


0  COOLB.  [CLOTKE. 

of  Tonghall,  in  tbe  countie  of  Cork,  Aid.  (whereof  and  of  everie 
pte  thereof  the  said  Tbomaa  Wilaon  doeth  hereby  cleereth, 
acquit,  aod  discharge  him,  the  B&id  Nicholas  Oallwan,  his  heires, 
executors,  and  administrators)  hath  demised,  granted,Belten,and 
to  feanne  letteo,  and  by  their  pntes  doth  demise  graote,  grant 
sett,  and  to  fearnio  lett  unto  hini,  the  sa.id  Nicholas  Qallwan, 
as  well  the  eaid  prebend  of  Cowill  as  the  said  rectorie  and 
parsonage  of  Bowhillane. together  with  all  and  einguller  tyethee, 
oblacons,  obvencona,  glebe  lands,  manses,  edifices,  customea, 
dnties,  and  coniraoJities  whatsoever,  to  them  or  either  of  them 
belonging,  or  in  anywise  appertaining;  to  have  and  to  hold  tbe 
said  demised  pmisea.  and  everie  pte  and  parcell  thereof,  with 
tbapptcnences  to  him,  the  said  Nicholas,  hia  executors,  ad- 
ministrators, and  assynes,  from  tbe  feast  of  Alballane  tide  next 
coming  after  the  date  hereof,  for  and  nntill  tbe  full  end,  time, 
and  tearme  of  five  years  frome  thencefoorth  next  ensuing,  fully 
to  be  compleat  and  ended  (if  be,  the  said  Thomas  Vi  ilaoo,  sliall 
BO  long  live),  yedding  and  paying  therefor  yearly,  during  the 
tearme  of  this  peent  demise,  unto  tbe  said  Thomas  Wilson  or 
his  assignes,  the  rate  and  aumme  of  twelve  pence  sterling,  cur't 
money  in  Englande  above  said,  at  twoe  usuall  timea  or  tearmes 
in  tbe  yeare,  viz.,  thannunciacon  of  our  blessed  lady  aforesaid 
and  Michaelmas,  by  even  and  equall  porcons.  And  the  aaid 
Thomas  Wilson  doth  for  himself  and  bis  assignes  covenant, 
grante,and  promise  to  and  with  him,  the  said  Nicbolax  Gall' 
bis  executors,  admin,  and  assignes,  that  he,  the  said  Nicl 
Qatlwan,his  exec,  admin. and  assignes,  shall  and  may,  nccordl 
tbe  tener,  entent,  and  meaning  hereof,  peaceably  and  qui 
have,  hold,  occupie,  possess,  and  enjoy  all  the  above  dem 
pmises  with  the  apptenancea  and  everie  pte  and  pcell  the 
of  and  from  all  and  all  manner  of  former  bargains,  sutc-^,  pifts, 
grants,  leasee,  assignments,  covenants,  and  condicoTit<,  :ind  a! 
and  from  all  other  titles,  charges,  incumbrances,  or  inconve- 
niences whatsoever,  had,  mode,  comitted,  or  done  by  him,  tbe 
said  Thomas  Wilson,  or  his  asslgnes,  or  any  other  pson  or  psons 
whatsoever,  pxea  and  twentieth  pte  alwaies  excepted,  for  and 
during  the  time  and  tearme  of  this  pnte  demise  (if  he,  the  said 
Thomas  Wilson,  shall  ao  long  live).  In  witness  whereof  be, 
tbe  said  Thomas  Wilaon,  hath  hereunto  put  bis  band  and  eeale, 
tbe  twentieth  day  of  April],  one  thousand  six  hundred  and 
fonrteene. — Thomas  Wilson. 

"  Signed,  sealed,  and  delivered  in  the  pnts  of  ua,  John  Sorest 
— dom  fforest — Mr.  Monsfield.  Concordat  cu'  originali  et  est 
copia  vera  et  examinat  p'me  Tbom.  Davies  Depnt.  Regea.  I  do 
allow  and  confirme  the  above  demise  for  the  time  and  tearme 
above  expressed  according  the  contents  of  the  deede. 

"Wittnes  my  hand  the  of  Aprill,  1615. 

"William  Corlce,  Cloine,  and  Roase." 


I 


SLOTira.]  COOLE.  171 

T.  Wilson  was  Ch&Dcellor  of  Cashel  from  1608  to  1610  9  &iid 
from  1610  to  1614,  Dean  of  Lisniore.  In  1615  be  was  Arch- 
deacon of  Caehel,  but  resigned  in  1616.  From  1615  to  1618 
be  held  Coole  and  Bohilkue.  From  1621  to  1622  he  waa  Dean 
of  Dromore. 
1618.  RiCHABD  Jkssop  appears  as  P.  Coole.  [V.  B.  Cork,  qnoted 
by  Cotton.] 

1634.  "P.  do  Coole,  Richard  Jessop.  Val.  13  li.  per  an." 
[R.V.  1634.1 

Richard  Jessop,  A.B.,  waa  ordained  Deacon  and  Priest  bj 
■William,  Bishop  of  Lincoln,  in  June,  1612. 

On  10th  Angust,  1626,  he  became  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Liamore. 
[MS.  Consist.  Dub.] 
1637.  March  18.  Thoxas  Rosbbts,  P.  de  Coole.  [F.F.I  In  1640 
Roberts  became  P.  Inskennj,  Cork,  and  in  1661  Chancellor  of 
Cork,  q.  7. 
1640.  Sept.  24.  James  Bruob,  P.  de  Koole.  [F.F.]  In  1662  Brnoe 
was  R.  Dongourney,  q.  v. 

1642.  Aug.  20.  James  Bruce,  of  the  parish  of  Coole,  depones 
to  losa  of  "cowes,  horsea,  and  mares,  to  the  value  of  tenne 
pounds ;"  and  of  hay  in  the  haggard  to  the  Talne  of  thirty 
ahillings.  He  was  also  "  damnified"  by  the  loss  of  a  farm,  called 
Cooleagowne,  wherein  he  had  a  lease  of  twenty  years  to  "com," 
value,  £30.  Also  to  loss  of  £30  by  another  farm,  "  Bally- 
browny,  wherein  he  had  a  leaae  of  five  years  to  com,  worth  over 
and  above  rent,  com.  ann.,  tbirteene  pounds  sixteene  shillinea 
and  tenne  pence."  Total  of  his  losses,  ''  ninety  fewer  pounds 
ind  tenne  shillings."  [MS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  15.] 
I_ )  JoHM  Jesop,  p.  Coole.     He  appears  only  in  the  following 

entry  from  the  Visitation  Book  of  1669. 
661.  Aprils.  Lamcblot  Smith,  per  mort.  John  Jeaop,  P.  de  Oool«. 
[V.B.  1669.  D.R.] 

Mag.  Lancelotus  Smyth,  P.  Coole,  appears  in  Chapter  entry 
of  1663.     [C.B.] 

He  appears  as  P.  Coole  from  1661  to  1668.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

L.  Smith  was,  in  1661,  P.  C-oole,  R.  V.  Mogeely,  V.  Carrig- 

downan  ;  in  1662,  P.  Donogbmore  and  Kiltegan,  Lismore  ;  in 

1663,  Vicar  Choral,  Cloyne  ;  and  in  1666,  V.  Knockmoume. 

All  of  these  livings  he  held  until  his  death  in  October,  1668. 

1670.  John  Wbbb  tenet,  per  mortem  L.  Smith.     [V.B.  D.R.} 

N.B. — This  visitation  was  held  on  2nd  Angust,  1670. 

Webb  was  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
167a  April  20.    Frabois  Beechbb,  P.  de  Coule,  R.  Mogeely,  V. 
Enockmounie,  and  V.  Cahirdowgane.     [F.P.] 

1694.  P.  de  Coole,  val.  5  pounds.  Mr.  Francis  Beecher  cnm 
animarum  incumbit.  lilpus  palronns,  Nulla  ecclia  ab  anno 
1641.  All  Mr.  Beeoher's  livings  nnit«d,  pro  haa  vice,  lie  conti- 
guons.    [Palliaer.] 


172  OOOLE.  [CLOYNS. 

Francis  Beecber  was  descended  from  the  ancient  family  of 
Beecher,  of  Surrey  and  Kent,  through  Henry  Beecher  (citizen 
and  Sheriff  of  London  in  1569)  by  his  first  wife,  Alice,  dau.  of 
Thomas  Home,  and  sister  of  Sib  John  Horne,  of  Croydon  and 
Edgecombe,  in  Surrey,  knight. 

Francis  Beecher  graduated  a.b.  in  1667,  and  a.m.  in  1670,  in 
T  CD 

From  1667  to  1670  he  was  R.  Kilsillagh,  Tullagh,  V.  Agha- 
downe,  Kilcoe, and  Cleere,  in  Ross;  and  from  1670  to  his  death 
in  1713,  P.  Coole,  R.  Mogeely,  V.  Enockmourne,  and  Oarrig- 
downane.  He  was  also,  from  1674  to  1682,  P.  Clash  more ; 
and  from  1682  to  1713,  P.  Modeligo,  Lismore.  From  1697  to 
1711,  he  was  also  a  Vic.  Choral,  Lismore.  He  married,  in 
1683,  Isabella  Andrews,  of  Litter,  and  had  issue  by  her  a  son, 
Lionel,  born  at  Coole,  who,  when  sixteen  years  old,  entered 
T.C.D.  in  1706.  He  married,  secondly,  in  1702,  Susannah 
Becker,  of  Curriglas.     [Cloyne  Mar.  Bonds.] 

The  Rev.  Francis  Beecher  is  named  as  a  kinsman  by  Thomas 
Beecher,  of  Sherkin,  county  Cork,  in  his  will,  dated  1705,  and 
proved  in  1709,  and  is  therein  styled  as  "  of  Tallow,  county 
Waterford." 
1713.  April  23.  Richard  Roffen,  a.m.,  P.  Coole.  [D.R.]  He  took 
the  chapter  oath  on  28th  May,  1713,  and  was  elected  Economus 
in  1714  and  1715.     [C.B.]  ,* 

Roffen  was  also  P.  Cahirlag,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1724.  March  24.  Thomas  Coopeb,  a.m.  {vice  Roffen,  dead),  P.  Coole. 
[D.R.] 

He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  20th  May,  1725,  and  in  1780 
was  elected  (Economus  for  1731.     [C.B.] 

He  appears  from  1724  to  1754  as  P.  Coole,  R.  V.  Castletown, 
Wallstown,  Monanimy,  Bridgetown,  and  Kilcummer.     [V.B.] 

[1725.  Alexander  Alcock  is  presented  by  Crown  to  R.  and 
V.  Castletown,  Bridgetown,  and  Wallstown.  [Lib.  Mun.]  He 
does  not  appear  in  the  visitation  books,  and  was  probably  never 
instituted.] 

T.  Cooper  (son  of  William  Cooper,  esq.)  was  born  at  Powers- 
court,  county  Wicklow,  and,  when  fifteen  years  old,  entered 
T.C.D.  on  12th  Nov.,  1691,  and  became  a  Scholar  in  1693. 

From  1701  to  1702  he  was  V.  Inchinabacky ;  from  1704  to 
1728  0)  Vic.  Choral,  Cloyne ;  from  1708  to  1718,  V.  Tullilease; 
from  1718  to  1734,  R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg  ;  from  1720  to  1721, 
P.  Killenemer ;  from  1721  to  1733,  R.  V.  Clonmult ;  and  from 
1724  to  1755,  P.  Coole,  &c.  He  married,  in  1708,  Sarah 
Walker,  of  Cloyne,  and  died  in  1755. 
1755.  March  31.  Robert  Johnson,  a.m.,  is  admitted  to  the  P.  Coole 
and  union  of  Castletown,  per  mortem  T.  Cooper.  [F.F.and  D.R.] 

He  took  the  oaths  as  P.  Coole  on  19th  June,  1755.     [C.B.J 

His  admission  to  Coole  P.  was  on  31st  March,  1755,  and  to 


CLOTHE.]  COOLE.  173 

Castletown,  with   Eilcammer,  Bridgetown,   Wallstown,  and 
Monanimy,  on  8th  April,  1755.     [P.F.] 

R.  Johnson  was,  from  1754  to  1755,  V.  Garrycloyne  ;  from 
1755  to  1759,  P.  Coole,  &c.  He  was  also,  from  1756  to  1759, 
Dean  of  Tuam.  In  1759  he  became  Bishop  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1759.  Nov.  26.  Richard  Purcell,  a.h  (t^^  Johnson,  promoted  to 
bishopric  of  Cloyne),  P.  Coole,  and  R.  V.  Castletown,  [F.P.] 
on  letters  patent  from  Crown  (sede  yacante  per  mort.  Epi 
Jacobi  Stopford),  dated  Nov.  16,  1759.  [Lib.  Man.]  He  took 
the  chapter  oaths  on  3rd  July,  1760.     [C.B.] 

1762.  Prebendary  Purcell  non-resident.  Val.  £400  per  an. 
[Hayman  MSS.] 

1774.  Coole,  otherwise  Cowill,  in  the  bar.  of  Eilnataloon; 
value,  £60  per  an.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Proxy, 
2s.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £1  ster.  Incumb.,  Richard 
Purcell,  A.M.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Castletown  :  rect.  and  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy,  to 
which  are  united  for  ever  the  rect.  and  vie.  of  Wallstown,  the 
rect.  and  vie.  of  Monanimy,  the  rect  and  vie.  of  Kilcummer, 
the  rect.  and  vie.  of  Bridgetown,  and  the  particle  Ballygreggin, 
all  under  the  name  of  the  parish  of  Castletown;  value,  £800  per 
ann.  The  church  of  Castletown  is  in  repair,  the  rest  are  in 
ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bishop.  Glebeat  Wallstown,  10a.  plant.  The 
rect.  of  Castletown  belonged  to  the  Abbey  of  Bridgetown,  and 
pays  £1  7s,  per  an.  crown  rent.  Proxy,  2s,  6d,  The  vie.  of 
Castletown  is  taxed  in  the  King's  books  £6,  and  the  vie  of 
Wallstown  £6,  ster.  Incumb.,  Richard  Purcell,  a.m.  Curate, 
^        William  Walker,  a.b.     [Hingston.] 

1785.   Protestant  population  of  Coole,  3 ;    of  Castletown 
*      union,  53.     [Mr.  Wallis.] 

Richard  Purcell  (son  of  Richard  Purcell,  esq.,  of  Kanturk 
House,  by  Miss  Godwin),  was  bom  in  1728,  and,  when  sixteen 
years  old,  entered  T.C.D.  on  6th  Nov.,  1744,  and  obtained  a 
Scholarship  in  1747. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  18th  May,  1752,  and 
Priest,  at  Cork,  on  12th  Nov.,  1752. 

He  was  licensed  on  19th  Dec,  1752,  to  the  curacy  of  Cloyne; 
from  1759  to  his  death  on  12th  August,  1797,  he  was  P.  Coole, 

He  married,  in  1762,  Catherine  Grove,  of  Ballyhimmock, 
now  called  Annsgrove,  county  Cork,  but  had  no  issue.  He  was 
buried  at  Castletownroche,  and  £10  was  paid  for  interring  his 
body  in  the  church  of  that  parish. 
1798.  Feb.  3.  Nathaniel  Mapletoft,  a.m.  (vice  Purcell),  P.  Coole, 
and  R.  Castletown.     TF.F.] 

1804.  March  9.  Robert  Bell  is  licensed  as  Curate.     [D.RJ 

1805.  42  Protestant  families  in  the  union.     [Abp.  Brod.J 
}806.  Coole  prebend  consists  of  Coole  parish,  onited  for  ever 


174  COOLS.  [CLOTKE. 

to  R.  y.  OastleiowiiyWallstown,  MoDanimj,  Eilcummer,  Bridge- 
town, and  Balljgregan  particle,  by  act  of  Council.  One  church 
at  Castletown.  No  glebe-house.  The  Rector,  being  incurably 
disordered,  lives  in  England.  Rev.  Robert  Bell,  Curate,  at  £80 
salary.  This  union  is  recommended  to  be  divided  into  two 
parishes  on  next  avoidance.     [Rep.  1806.] 

Nathaniel  Mapletoft  was  son  of  Reverend  Nathaniel  Maple- 
toft  (b.a.  of  Pembroke  Coll.  Camb.,  and  Rector  of  Broughton, 
in  Northamptonshire)  by  his  wife,  Anna-Maria,  daughter  of 
Charles,  5th  Yiboount  Cullen,  by  that  nobleman's  first  wife, 
Anne  Warren. 

The  Rev.  Nathaniel  Mapletoft,  P.  Coole,  died  on  31st  Oct., 
1808,  aged  forty,  and  was  buried  on  5th  November,  1808,  at 
St.  Peter's,  Rushton,  Northamptonshire.  His  sister  was  wife 
to  William  Bennett,  Bishop  of  Cloyne.    [Nichols'  Topographer.] 

1809.  April  7.  Robert  Austen  (vice  Mapletoft,  deceased),  P.  Coole 
and  union  of  Castletown,  consisting  of  R.  V.  Wallstown,  Mona- 
nimy,  Kilcummer,  Bridgetown,  and  particle  Ballygrigan,  in 
addition  to  Coole  and  Castletown.  [D.R.]  He  held  at  the 
same  time  R.  Brinny  and  Knockavllly,  Cork. 

In  1810  Austen  became  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1810.  August  16.  Robert  Longfibld  (vice  Austin,  resigned),  P. 
Coole  [D.R.]  without  Castletown.  In  1819  he  became  V. 
Clonfert,  q.  v. 

1819.  Feb.  17.  William  Hales  Hingston  (vice  Longfield,  resigned), 
P.  Coole.     [D.R.] 

W.  H.  Hingston  (second  son  of  Rev.  .Tames  Hingston,  R. 
AghabuUoge,  q.  v.),  was  ordained  Deacon  on  14th  January, 
1810,  and  Priest  on  10th  Feb.,  1811,  both  at  Cork. 

In  1810  he  was  Curate  of  Cloyne,  to  which  cure  he  was 
licensed  on  26th  Feb.,  1811.  From  1816  to  1819  he  waa  P. 
Lackeen,  and  from  1819  to  his  death  in  1823  he  was  P.  Coole. 

He  married,  on  11th  April,  1812,  Ann  (fifth  daughter  of  Rev. 
G.  S.  Cotter,  R.  Igtermurragh,  and  niece  of  Sir  James  L. 
Cotter),  by  whom  he  had  issue  inter  alios  two  sons — James, 
bom  in  1813,  who  entered  T.C.D.  in  1828,  and  died  in  a  few 
years;  and  George-Cotter,  V.  Clonmell,  q.  v.;  and  three  daugh- 
ters, Isabella-Charlotte,  Margaret-Cecilia,  and  Ann-Matilda. 

The  Rev.  W.  H.  Hingston  was  buried  at  Cloyne,  on  23rd 
January,  1823. 

1823.  July  23.    Samuel    Gerard    Fairtlouoh,   a.b.,  P.  Coole. 
[D.R]     In  1825  he  became  R.  V.  Aghinagh,  q.  v. 

1824.  March  11.    Robert  Bury  {vice  Fairtlough,  promoted),  P. 
Coole.     [D.R.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  23. 

1837.  Coole  :  a  rectory,  with  cure;  1^  mile  long  by  1  broad, 
containing  1,300a.  Gross  population,  338.  No  Curate  em- 
ployed.   Tithe  composition,  J&150 ;  subject  to  visitation  fees, 


GLOTSS.]  COOLE. — COOUNE.  1 76 

aad  diocesan  schoolmaster,  IZs.  id.  No  ^lebe-hoose.  iDcam- 
beut  is  non-resident.  No  cburch.  The  oencfice  is  a  rectory. 
[Pari.  Rep.] 

Robert  Bury  (son  of  Phineas  Bury,  esq.,  of  the  Little  Island, 
near  Cork,  by  Jane,  datu  of  Boyle  Aid  worth,  esq.,  of  New- 
market), was  ordained  Deacon  on  24th  August,  1803,  and  Priest 
on  6th  July,  1806,  both  at  Cloyne. 

He  was  Curate  of  Carrigtowil  for  many  years,  and  from  1824 
to  his  death  in  1853,  was  P.  Coole. 

He  married  Letitia,  daughter  of  General  Henry-Green  Barry, 
of  Ballyclough,  county  Cork,  by  whom  he  had  issue  three  sons — 
Phineas-Henry,  Robert,  and  Thomas  ;  and  four  daughters — 
Pha'be,  Letitia-Elisabeth,  Hester,  and  Charlotte-Mary. 
1853.  May  13.  George  Cotter  Hinoston  (vice  Bury,  deceased),  P. 
Coole.  [B.R-]  In  1856  Hingston  became  R.  Y.  Clonmel,  q.  v. 
1856.  Feb.  26.  Thomas  William  Garde  (t^ice  Hingston,  promoted), 
P.  Coole.     [D.R.] 

1860.  No  church.  No  glebe.  No  glebe-house.  No  school  No 
divine  service.  Incumbent  resides  in  Cloyne.  The  occasional 
duties  are  performed  by  the  Vicar  of  Castlelyons,  at  which 
church  the  Protestants  of  Coole  attend  service.  The  Protestant 
population  is  3.  The  rentcbarge  is  £112  10^.  The  Incumbent 
of  Coole  is  also  Preacher,  «fec.,  at  Cloyne  Cathedral. 

T.  W.  Garde  (eldest  son  of  the  late  Thomas  Garde,  esq.,  of 
Ballindinis,  county  Cork),  was  ordained  in  1840  by  the  Bishop 
of  Killaloe,  and  on  6th  January,  1841,  was  licensed  to  the 
curacy  of  Igterniurrafi;h.  In  July,  1849,  he  was  Curate  of 
Cloyne,  and  Preacher  Residentiary  at  that  cathedral. 

He  married  firstly,  in  1837,  Eliza,  dau.  of  Rev.  W.  Sullivan,  P. 
Templebryan,  Ross;  and  secondly, (1)  Colles.  He  has  issue. 


COOLINK 

1291.  "Ecca  de  Colenene  Ilmr.  et  di  unde  decia  lis.  Vllld." 
[Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1591.  "  E.  de  Cowleny ;  W.  Wollett,  Incumbens."  [MS.  T.C.D. 
£.  3.  14.]  In  another  copy  of  this  visitation  book,  John  Lajno* 
LEY  appears  as  Vicar  of  Colline.  Langley  was  also  R.  Rath- 
cormack,  q.  v.     Wollett  was  also  R.  Shandrum  in  1591. 

1615.  '^Cowlcnay  Preb.  residens,  Thomas  Holmes  inservit  cura?. 
Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  repatioue.  Val.  5  li.  per  an."  [R.V. 
R.l.A.l     Thomas  Holmes  waa  also  Vicar  of  Bally  hay,  q.  v. 

1630.  April  9.  Philip  Holmes  (per  cess.  Thomo?  Holmes  clerici), 
P.  CuUiue,  and  V.  de  Shandrum  (per  cess,  ejusdem),  quam  vica- 
riam  Prebendo)  epus  univit.     Installatus  24  April,  1630.   [R.y. 
1634.1 
Valet  £U  13^  id.  per  an.    [R-T.  1634.] 


176  COOLINE.  [CLOYNK. 

1661  to  1665.  CooliDe  is  marked  vacant  in  the  visitation  books. 
[V.B.] 

1663.  July  14.  Mag.  Joheb  Mascall  appears  as  Prebendary  of 
Coolleene  in  a  chapter  entry  of  this  date.  [C.B.]  In  Septem- 
ber, 1663,  Mascall  became  P.  Subulter,  q.  v. 

1663(1)  Thomas  Smyth,  P.  Cooline.  He  so  appears  oiijr  in  the 
titles  of  Theodore  Vesey  to  Cooline  in  the  V.B.  of  1669. 

Thomas  Smyth  was,  from  1638  to  1665,  R.  Litter;  from 
1639  to  1663,  V.  Kilcrumper ;  from  1640  to  1663,  P.  Kille- 
nemer ;  and  from  1663  to  1665,  V.  Clonmeland  Templerobin, 
R.  Mogeesha,  V.  Carrigtowil,  and  P.  Cooline. 

In  1641,  when  P.  Killeneraer,  he  was  plundered  by  the 
rebels  and  deprived  of  his  church  property,  worth  £120  per  an. 
[MS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  16.] 

In  his  will,  dated  7th  Oct.,  1661,  and  proved  at  Cork,  31st 
December,  1665,  he  is  styled  "Thomas  Smyth,  of  Bellvelly, 
county  Cork,  Minister  of  ye  Gospell.'*  He  mentions  his  sons, 
Thomas  and  Samuel,  and  his  daughters,  Anne  and  Sarah.  The 
overseers  of  the  will  are  Sir  St.  John  Brodrick  and  Mr.  Wil- 
liam Hutchins.  He  mentions  debts  due  to  him  in  England, 
and  "intrusted  in  ye  hands  of  Mr.  Giles  Sweeting,  of  Brick- 
noller,  county  Summerset."     [Cork  Wills.] 

1666.  July  26.  Theodore  Vesey,  P.  Cullinie,  per  mortem  Thomse 
Smyth.  [V.B.  1669.]  And  V.  Clonmeeu,  Roskeen,  and  Kil- 
shannig,  on  23rd  July.     [F.F.] 

He  resigned  those  vicarages  in  1669,  but  retained  the  Preb. 
until  1675.  [V.B.  D.R.]  He  was  also,  in  1676,  made  P.  Kil- 
naglory,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1676.  April  5.  Edmund  Burke  (or  Redmund  Burgh),  P.  Cooliney. 
[F.F.] 

On  August  7, 1677,  Mr.  Redmond  Burgh,  P.  of  Coolyne,  took 
the  chapter  oath.     [C.B.] 

Edmund  or  Raymund  Burgh,  or  Burke,  was,  from  1659  to 

1682,  Minister  of  Youghal ;  and  from  1676  to  1682,  P.  Cooline. 

He  was  probably  father  to  Kaymund  Burke,  who  was  bom 

in   county  Limerick   in    1649,  and   who  entered   T.C.D.    in 

1667. 

1682/3.  March  19.  Matthew  Jones,  a.m.,  P.  Coolinic,  R.  Bohillane, 
R.  V.  Kilmaghan,  and  V.  Liscarroll  and  Bregoge.  [D.R.]  On 
13th  Nov.  1683,  he  took  the  chapter  oath  as  P.  Cooline.  [C.B.J 
In  1687  he  became  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 

1684.  May  22.  Jonathan  Falkner,  a.m.,  P.  de  Cooline ;  and  on 
14th  November,  1684,  V.  Liscarroll  and  Bregoge.  [F.F.]  In 
1685,  Nov.  12,  he  took  the  chapter  oath.  [C.B.]  And  in 
1688  he  became  also  Treasurer  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1694.  P.  Cooliny,  val.  10  pounds.  Mr.  Falkner,  Prebendary. 
Epus  patronus.  Nulla  ecclia;  sed  cura  animarura  una  Qum 
Doneraile  carat'  commissa  est     [Palliser.] 


I 


CLOTHE.]  COOLIKB.  177 

1710.  JftDQaiy  20.  Jonathan  Bbuoe,  a.m.  (vice  Falkner,  deceased), 
P.  Oooline.  [F.F.]  He  took  the  chapter  oath  1711,  Jane  13 ; 
and  again  on  9th  Sept.  1714.  He  is  recommended  to  the 
(Bconomos  as  tenant  for  the  tithes  of  Eilbrogan  in  1717.  And 
in  1728  is  elected  (Economus.     [C.B.] 

Bhice,  in  1719,  became  also  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  v. 
1736.  July  14.  Charles  Bunwobth,  a.m.  {vice  Bruce,  resigned),  P. 
Cooline.  [D.R.]  He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  8th  Sept  1737. 
[C.B.]  In  1740  Bun  worth  became  V.  Bregoge,  q.  v. 
1740.  Oct  24.  Jeremiah  King,  a.m.,  P.  Cooline,  R.  Mullowney,  als. 
Knocktemple,  et  P.  C.  Eilbolane,  in  coll.  Epi  per  cessionem 
Caroli  Bun  worth  ;  et  V.  Liscarroll,  per  mortem  Johannis  Mur- 
doch. [D.R.]  King  took  the  chapter  oath  on  18th  June, 
1741.    TChapter  Book.] 

1762.  "King,  resident;  yearly  income,  XIOO."  [Hay- 
man.l 

1774.  Coolinie,  otherwise  Culliny,  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and 
Kilmore,  value  £20  per  an.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat,  the  Bishop. 
Proxy,  Zs.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books,  10«.  Incumbent, 
Jeremiah  King,  a.m.     [Hingston.J 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Cooliney  and  Liscarroll,  17* 

Jeremiah  King  (son  of  Jeremiah  Kin^,  generosi),  was  bom 
at  Mackmine,  county  Wexford,  and  was  educated  at  Waterford, 
under  Mr.  Fell.  When  seventeen  years  old  he  entered  T.C.D. 
(tutore,  Mr.  King),  on  22nd  May,  1728,  and  obtained  Scholarship 
in  1730. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  2nd  August,  1736,  and  Priest  on 
7th  March  following,  at  Cloyne. 

On  8th  March,  1736,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Gort- 
roe  and  Dysert 

From  1740  to  1764  he  was  R.  Knocktemple;  from  1740  to 
1787  he  was  P.  Cooline  and  V.  Liscarroll;  and  from  1747  to 
1787  he  was*  R.  Y.  Dingindonovan.  He  resigned  on  18th 
August,  1787,  Cooline,  Liscarroll,  and  Dingindonovan. 

In  his  will,  dated  16th  Nov.,  1787,  and  proved  7th  May, 
1788,  he  is  styled  Rev.  Jeremiah  King,  of  Marmaine,  county 
Wexford.  He  mentions  a  relative,  Rev.  Wm.  King.  [U.O.l 
1787.  August  30.  Francis  Clement,  a.m.  (vice  King,  resigned),  P. 
Coolino;  and  on  3rd  Sept,  1787,  V.  Kilbrin  and  Liscarroll. 
[F.F.l 

1805.  Thirteen  Protestant  families  in  this  union.  [Archb. 
Brod.! 

1806.  Cooliney  prebend  united  to  V.  Liscarroll  and  Kilbrin 
by  Act  of  Council  in  1787.  One  church.  No  glebe-honse. 
[Rep.  1806.] 

F.  Clements  (son  of  Thomas  Clements,  of  Carrickmacross, 
and  nephew  of  Dr.  William  Clements,  Vice-Provost,  T.C.D.), 
entered  T.C.D.,  as  Pensioner,  on  27th  April,  1721,  being  then 

TOL.  II.  N 


178  COOUNS. — COBKBBG.  [CLOTNS. 

eighteen  years  old^  and  obtained  a  Scholarship  in  1761.    He 
graduated  A.M.  in  1787. 

From  1781  to  1782  he  was  K.  V.  Litter  and  Marshalstown ; 
from  1782  to  1787,  P.  Killenemer;  from  1787  to  his  death  in 
1809,  P.  Cooline,  V.  Liscarroll.  He  held  also,  from  1782  to 
1809,  the  V.  Kilbrin. 

1809.  Sept.  14.  Jambs  Hikgston,  junior  (vice  Clements,  deceased). 
P.  Cooline,  certified  to  be  worth  only  £70  per  an.     [D.R.] 
In  1836  Hingston  became  V.  Whitechurch,  q,  v. 

1825.  August  20.  Michael  Henrt  Beecheb  {vice  Hingston,  re- 
signed), P.  Cooline.     [D.R.] 

1837.  Cooline,  a  rectory,  with  cure,  1  mile  long  by  J  broad, 
containing  1,270  acres.  Gross  population,  455.  No  Curate 
employed.  Tithe  Composition,  £70.  Subject  to  visitation 
fees,  and  diocesan  schoolmaster,  lOs.  No  glebe-house.  In- 
cumbent is  non-resident ;  he  lives  in  Eilshannig  parish,  at  a 
distance  of  twelve  miles,  of  which  parish  he  is  Curate.  No 
church.    The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

M.  H.  Beecher  was  ordained  rriest  at  Cloyne  on  1st  Sept., 
1799. 

From  1825  to  his  death  on  16th  Nov.  1847,  he  was  P. 
Cooline.  He  was  also,  from  1836  to  January,  1847,  R.  V. 
Bridgetown  j  and  from  January,  1847,  to  his  death,  was  R.  V. 
Kilsbannig. 

He  was  buried  on  20th  Nov.  1847,  at  Castlemagner.  He 
had  issue  by  his  wife,  Susan  (besides  a  daughter,  Aune-Cathe- 
rine),  three  sons: — 1.  Michael-Henry  (who  was  ordained  Dea- 
con at  Cork  on  5th  May,  1844,  and  Priest  in  same  year  by 
the  Bishop  of  Killaloe.  He  is  now  R.  Barnoldby-le-Beck,  dioc. 
Lincoln);  2.  John-Thomas,  who  was,  in  1860,  Curate  of  St. 
George  the  Martyr,  South wark,  London ;  3.  Kichard-Cranfield. 

This  preb.  was  suspended  by  Order  in  Council  of  23rd  Dec. 
1847. 

(Elected.) 
1848.  April  6.  John  Torkens  Kyle  was  elected  P.  Cooline  by  the 
Dean  and  Chapter. 

He  is  R.  V.  Clondrohid,  q.  v. 


CORKBEG. 

1280.  The  Prior  of  St.  Nicholas  of  Exeter  appears  seized  of  the  ad- 

vowson  of  Corkbeg,  in  county  Cork.     [Rot.  Plac.  Com.  Ban.] 
1291.  •'  Ecca  de  Corkbeg  Cs.  undo  decima  Xs."    [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
15 — 1  RiOHA&D  FiTZMAUBioa  FiTzaBBALD  was  Incumbent  of  certain 


CLOTVS.]  COBKBEO.  179 

partides  within  the  parish  of  Oorkbeg,  called  Trabolgan,  &e.f 
and  which  were  in  tne  patronage  of  John  fitz  Edmond  Fitz- 
gerald. 
1581.  Oct.  12.  Philip  Ooulbt  is  presented  to  Trabolgan,  dsc.,  in  the 
parish  of  Corkbeg,  hj  John  Fitzedmond  Fitzgerald. 

'^  Reverendo  in  }Uo  patri  ac  Dd5,  DnO  Mattheo  Gorca^  et 
Clonen'  Ep5, — Johannes  filias  Edmondi  de  geraldus  ex  Ulon 
dus  p'p'etalis  de  trabooUugain,  balyhon,  Balljncjanl,  gurtam- 
anee,  Ballynulahoige,  Sortnyahy^  verus  patronus  d'ctaram  p'ti- 
calarum  in  parochia  de  Oorckbegg  sitoatarnm, — Salutem  et 
p'ntes  exeqai  cnm  effectu.  Ad  libera'  siquidem  p'ticula'  p*dic- 
tarum  terrarum  p'  mortem  bonse  memoriie  Richardi  filii 
mauricii  de  geraldus  ibidem  nltimi  incumbentis,  ac  jam  de  jure 
et  de  facto  vacantem  et  ad  meam  presentationem  nunc  spectan- 
tern,  Dnum  Philippum  Ogulby  presbiterum  suis  benemeritis  id 

exigentibusq  vere  reverenticp serie  ac  tenere 

duxi  presentandura.  Vestrum  itaque  oflScium  implore,  qua- 
tenus  dictum  Philippum  ad  prenominatarum  terrarum  liberam 
p'ticulam  ut  premittitis  putatis  admittere,  ac  cetera  quse  Id  hac 
parte  incumbent  officio  yestro  pastorali  peragore  dignemini  cum 
favore.  In  cujus  rei  testimonium  ego  prenominatus  Joannes 
huic  presentationi  sigillum  meum  apposui  ac  nomen  etiam 
moum  subscripsi  apud  Clon  XIP  Octobris,  1581.  Joannes  fitz 
Edmond  geraldus.** 

"  Matheus  miseratione  divina  Corck  et  Clouen  Epns  dilecto 
nobis  in  Xto  magistro  Joanni  Barry,  Archidiacono  nostro 
Clonen  salutem  et  p'ntes  exequi  cum  efiectu.  Ad  p'ticulas 
siquidem  de  Traybholgain,  Balyhomk,  Balynoniuck,  Gorta- 
nianes,  Ballynalagaghe,  Gortryrahy,  jam  per  mortem  Richardi 
filii  maricii  de  geraldus  ultimi  ibidem  iucumbentis  vacantes,  et 
ad  presentationem  illustris  viri  Johannes  Edmondi  de  geraldus 
p'petarii  earum  spectantes,  dilectum  nobis  in  Xto,  dnum  Philip- 
pum Ogulby  prcsbitemm  p'  p'fatum  patronum  nobis  putates 
ac  charitatis  intuitu  admissimus,  sicuti  jam  p'ntes  admittimus: 
Imprimis  in  et  de  eisdem  p'ticulis,  cum  juribus  et  pertintiis  p' 
annule  nre  traditu  et  digito  sue  impositione  authorisabilit 
investimus  sen  et  nunc  etiam  investimus.  Nobis  .... 
Archid*  admittimus  et  mandamus  quatenus  p'fatum  Philippum 
sic  per  nosadmissum  et  investitum,  in  reale,  actuale,  sen  quasi, 
jurium  et  pertinentium  p'  pMictarum  p'ticnlarum,  inducatis,  in- 
ducere  faciatis,  et  inductum  defendatis :  contradictores  si  qui 
sint  (quod  absit)  authoritate  nra  canonice  copestendo.  Et  in 
signum  ezecntionis  sic  per  vos  (acUb  sigillum  vestrum  secundsB 
caudffi  p'  apponatis.  Has  nostras  Iras  sic  per  vos  executas  illic 
eidem  retradentes  dat'  Corckag'  XVI°  Octobris,  1581,  et  nostr» 
consecrationis  none.  Sub  nostri  sigilli  et  manus  testimonio 
Hattheus  Corck  et  Clon.' — R'ratu'  et  Examiatn'  per  me  Phil' 
Gold,  18  Sept.  1581."    [First  Book  of  Cork  Registry.] 

TOL.  II.  V  2 


180  COBKBEO.  [CLOTNE. 

1591.  "Vicar'  de  Oorkbeg  aod  Ballygouraey,  Philip  Qollyb." 
[MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  U.] 

1615.  William  Thomas  (P.  Cahirlag,  Cork,  q.  v.),  appears  as  Vicar 
of  Corkbeg.  "  Rectoria  impropriata.  Ueres  Johis  Fitzgerald, 
militis,  est  fimiarius.  Vicar,  Willmus  Tbomas,  minister  et 
predicator.  Val.  6  li.  per  an.  Oaratos,  Thomas  Westmore. 
Ecclesia  et  cancella  bene  repate.  Vicar  non-residens.  Curatos 
residens."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1616.  Feb.  28.  John  Thomas,  P.  Cahirultan,  V.  Ballinter,  V.  Cork- 
beg,  et  R.  de  Cahirlag.     [F.F.] 

1618.  Nov.  16.  Roger  Boyle,  P.  and  V.  Cabirultau,  V.  Ballinter 
and  Corkbeg.     [F.F.]      Vide  Cahirultan. 

1632.  Dec.  24.  JohnBynns,  V.  Corkbegg,  inducted  19th  Feb.,  1632. 
[R.V.  1 634.] 

E.  de  Corkbege.  Rex  est  Rector.  Val.  32  li.  per  an.  JohSs 
Fitzgerald,  miles,  Impropriator.  V.  John  Bynns.  Val.  16  li. 
per  an.     Eptis  confert.     [R.V.  1634.] 

In  1637  Bynns  became  V.  Clondulane.     He  was  afterwards 
Treasurer  of  Clo3me,  q.  v. 
1637.  Sept  15.  Lewis  Trix,  V.  Corkbegge.     [F.F.] 

Lewis  Trix  was  ordained  Deacon  and  Priest  by  the  Bishop 
of  Cork  on  12  th  March,  1625. 

From  1633  to  1638  (?)  he  was  R.  Titeskin,  Bretway,  and 
Templebodane;  and  from  1637  to  16 — (?)  he  was  V.  Corkbeg. 
He  was  also,  in  1634,  Curate  of  Garryvoe,  Eilcredan,  and 
Eilleagh. 

1661.  Mr.  Par  appears  as  V.  Corkbegg.     [V.B.  D.R]     In  1663  he 

became  Precentor  of  Ross,  q.  v. 
1663.  Sept.  23.  John  Mascall  (P.  Subulter,  q.  v.),  is  admitted  V. 

de  Corkbeg,  <fcc.,  and  V.  Agbada,  q.  v. 

1700  to  1835.  Corkbeg  was  held  in  commendam  by  the  Bishops  of 
Cloyne,  as  part  of  the  union  of  Aghadda,  q.  v. 
1830.  Protestant  population  of  Corkbeg,  143. 

1835.  Dec.  26.  Maurice   Fitzgerald   Hewson,  R.  V.   Corkbeg. 
[D.R.]     In  1841  ho  became  R.  Clonpriest,  q.  v. 

1837.  Corkbeg :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  4  miles 
long  by  2  broad,  containing  3,452a.  2r.  3p.  Gross  population, 
2,221.  No  Curate  employ e<l.  Tithe  composition,  i!369  ; 
34a.  Or.  23?.  of  glebe,  in  said  parish,  valued  at  £1,  per  plan, 
acre;  £21  ;  subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  5«.  ;  diocesan  school- 
master, 155.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident ;  he 
resides  in  Cloyne,  at  a  distance  of  three  miles.  No  church. 
Divine  service  is  celebrated  in  a  house  licensed  for  the  purpose, 
once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  festivals.  The  sacra- 
ment is  administered  four  times  in  the  year.  The  benefice  is 
a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 


CLOTNE.]  COBKBEO. — ^DBBBTVILLAKE.  1 81 

1841.  Sept  6.  Feanois  Shoett  (vice  Hewson),  R.  V.  Corkbegg. 
[F.P.] 

1843.  Corkbeg  Cburch  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-bouse  in  order.  Nineteen  acres  of 
glebe  in  Rector's  use.  No  font  in  the  church,  but  the  ancient  font 
with  its  pillar  is  lying  within  the  walls  of  the  old  church  adja- 
cent. Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays^  and  once  on  the 
usual  holidays,  Jlrc.  Sacrament  monthly  and  on  festivals;  average 
of  communicants,  12.  No  school.  The  Protestant  population 
is  80.  The  rentcharge  is  £276  I5s.  The  land  is  worth  £20. 
Total  value,  £290  I5s. 

The  Rector  of  Corkbeg  is  considered  responsible  for  the 
duties  of  Trabolgan,  a  particle  which  is  mensal,  the  rentcharge 
of  which  is  paid  to  the  Bishop. 

F.  Shortt  (son  of  Charles  Shortt,  esq.,  of  Shin  rone,  Kino^'s 
county),  was  born  circa  1794,  and  entered  T.C.D.  in  1813.  He 
left  the  University  for  the  army  in  1815,  but  resumed  his 
college  career  in  1817,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1820,  and  a.m. 
in  1831.  lie  was  ordained  in  1821,  and  was  Curate  in  Gcas- 
hill,  diocese  of  Kildare,  in  1821  ;  of  Mountmellick,  Queen's 
county,  in  1823 ;  of  Balbriggan,  Dublin,  in  1836.  In  1837  he 
became  V.  Drumcliffe,  Killaloe  diocese. 

Mr.  Shortt,  who  was  married  in  1823,  has  issue  six  sons  and 
five  daughters. 


DERRYVILLANE. 


1291.  "  Ecca  de  Derwyllan  XXXs.  unde  decia  Ills."    [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  '^EcclesiaD  de  Derivillane  Rectoria  spectat  ad  Sanct.  Cath. 

Waterford.  Vicaria  sub  sequestracione."  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
In   another  part  of   same  MS.  Andrew   Stritch,   laicus, 

Rector  de  Derry  villan,"  is  cited  before  the  Royal  Commissioners. 
1615.  Robert  Ford  (V.  Kildorrery,  q.  v.),  is  Vicar  of  Derry villane. 

"  Rect  iniprop.    Lauren  tins  Esmond,  miles,  firmarius.    Val.  R. 

cum  v.,  5  li.  per  an.     Vicarius  Robertus  Ford  inservit  cura?. 

Ecclesia  et  cancella  bene  repate."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 
1620.  January  13.  John  Eveleigh,  a.m.,  Vicar  de  Knockmourne 

et  Derri villane.     [F.F.]     In  1634  he  became  V.  Timolcague 

and  Templeomalus,  and  in  1661  was  Dean  of  Ross,  q.  v. 

"  E.  de  Derri  villane  spectat  ad  S.  Katherinam,  Waterford. 

Valet  10  li.  per  an.    Laurentius  Esmond  miles  est  impropriator. 

Vicar,  John  Eveleigh,  val.  10  li.  per  annum."     [R.V,  1634.] 
1634.  Sept.  26.  Edward  Eyres,  V.  Knockmourne  and  Derryvillane 

[F.F.]  vide  Knockmourne. 
1640.    April  8.    Anthony    Kingsmell,   V.   Derri  villane.      [F.F.] 

Kingsmill  was  also  V.  Bregoge,  q.  y. 


189         DBRBTYnXAVB. — ^DINGIKDOKOYAN.     [CIX)7KE. 

1661.  Mr.  Edward  Wade  appears  as  Vicar.  ''R  de  Derrivillano 
speciat  ad  St  Eatherinam,  Waterford.  [V.6.]  He  is  also 
Yicar  iD  1662,  and  od  22nd  June,  1663  is  admitted  to  V.  Der- 
riviUane,  Y.  EiUatbie,  and  P.  Glanwortb,  q.  v. 

1694.  Y.  Derryvillan,  yal.  6  pounds.  Nulla  ecclia.  Epus 
patronus.  Impropriator  of  Derryvillan,  Henry  Daniel.  [Pal- 
liser.] 

1700.  Sept.  30.  John  Aemstead  (idee  Wade),  P.  Qlanore,  Y.  Derri- 
villane,  Rillatby,  Eilworth,  and  B.  de  Litter  [F.F.]  vide  Glan- 
worth. 

1716.  Sept.  3.  Robert  Gibbon  (vice  Armstead,  deceased),  Y.  Derri- 
villane,  Eilworth,  Eillathy,  and   Glanore,  and  R.  Y.  Litter. 

[D.  R.]     N.B WUhout  the  P.  Glanore. 

Gibbon  was  P.  Subulter,  q.  v, 

1721.  June  30,  George  Strode,  a.m.  (vice  Gibbon,  deceased),  Y. 
Derrivillaue,  Litter,  Eillathy,  and  P.  Brigowne,  R.  Eilgulane, 
Y.  Ballydeloghy  and  Marshalstown.  [D.R.]  On  lltb  March, 
1721,  be  resigned  the  P.  Brigowne,  and  became  Prebendary  of 
Glan worth,  q.  v, 

1759.  July  3.  James  Stopford  (vice  Strode,  deceased),  P.  Glanore, 
R.  Eilgulane,  Y.  Ballydeloughy,  and  Derryvillane.     [D.R.] 

From  1759  to  1847  Derrivillane  was  held  in  union  with  P. 
Glan  worth,  q.  v. 

1847.  The  appointment  of  a  clerk  to  Derrivillane  was  sus- 
pended. 


DINGINDONOYAN. 


1291.  Capella  de  Dangurdonovan  (taxed  at)  2  marks — decima  2s.  Sd, 

[Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  "E.  de  Dangindonovan  spectat  ad  Prior  Glassarge."     [MS. 

T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.   Capella   de  Dingindonovan :    Rectoria   impropriata.   Joh€s 

Fitzgerald,  miles,  finnarius.     Yicaria  yacat  et  usurpatur  per 

firmarium.     Nullus  curatus.     [R.V.  R.LA.] 
1634.  Capella  de  Dingindonovane  :  Rex  est  Rector.     Johes  Fitz- 
gerald, miles,  impropriator.  Yicaria  ibm  usurpatur  per  rectorem. 

Valent  12  li.  per  annum.     [R.V.  1634.] 
1637.  April  15.  Augustine  Eingsmill,  8enr.,R.Y.  Dingindonovan, 

Clonmult,  and  Ballispillane.    [F.F.]    He  was  also  R.  Mogeesha, 

q.  V. 
1661  and  1662.  Capella  de  Dingindonovan,  Rex  est  Rector.  Yicaria 

vacat.     [V.B.] 
1663  to  1665.  John  Moorb  appears  as  Vicar.     In  1663  "  vicariam 

John  Moore  tenet  pro  sequestr.*'     In  1664  and  1665  he  appears 

as  Yicar.  [Y.B.]  Hebecame,inl665,ArcbdeaconofCloyne,q.v. 


CLOTn.]  DIHGnrDONOVAH.  18£| 

1667.  May  20.  Jambs  Spbnosb,  V.  de  Clonmult,  BingindoDoyane, 
et  Inchinabacky  per  resign.  JoLis  Moore.  [V.B.  1669.]  He 
is  also  R.  £illeagh,  q.  y. 

1694.  Capella  Dingindonoyan  cum  yicaria  ibi  et  E.  V.  de 
Cloumult,  yal.  26  pounds.  Dominus  Rex  patronus  de  Dingin- 
donoyan et  Cloumult,  et  Dominus  Epus  patronus  rectoriaa  de 
Clonmult  Yicaritt)  de  Dingindonoyan  et  Cloumult  spectant  ad 
Collegium  de  Youghall.  [Palliser.] 
1701.  Sept.  2.  RoBBBT  Sbsse,  K  V.  Dingindonoyan  (vice  Spencer, 

deceased).     [F.F.]     In  1707  he  was  V.  Whitechurch,  q.  y. 
1720  and  1721.  Cobnelius  Pyhb  (vice  Sesse),  appears  as  V.  Dingin- 
donoyan.    [V.B.]     He  was,  in  1721,  P.  Ballvhooly,  q.y. 
1721/2.    March  21.   Thomas  Rydeb  is  admitted   R.  V.  Dingin- 
donoyan, and  P.  Brigowne,  q.  y. 
1747.  June  9.  Fbancis  Hamilton  (vice  Ryder,  deceased),  R.  V. 
Dingindonoyan.    [F.F.]    In  1747  Hamilton  became  V.  Qarry- 
cloyne,  q.  y. 
1747.  January  11.   Jebemiau  King,  R.  V.  Dingindonoyan  (vice 
Hamilton,  resigned).     [D.R.]     King  was  also  P.  Cooline,  q.  y. 

1774.  Dingandonayan,  als.  Danegin;  rect  and  yic.  in  the  bar. 
of  Imokilly;  yalue,  £100  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the 
Bp.    Proxy,  4«.    Incumbent,  Jeremiah  King,  a.m.    [Hingston.] 

1785.  Protestant  population,  1.     [Kingj" 
1787.  Dec.  10.  Hon.  Chables  Bbodbiok  (vice  King,  resigned),  R. 
V.  Dingindonoyan  [F.F.],  and  same  day  P.  Killinemer. 

In  1789  Brodrict  became  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  y. 
1789.  June  9.  Edwabd  Spbbad,  a.b.  (vice  Brodrick,  resigned),  R. 
and  V.  Dingindonoyan.     [D.R.] 

In  1805  he  became  V.  Ahem,  q.  y, 
1805.  July  12.  Thomas  Stanistbebt  (vice  Spread,  resigned),  R.  V, 
Dingindonoyan.     [D.R.] 

**  Mr.  Stanistreet  has  cure  of  souls,  but  no  church.  He  resides 
at  Cove,  where  he  is  Curate."     [Rep.  1806.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  9. 

1833.  Dingindonoyan  :  a  rectory  and  yicarage,  with  cure; 
2  miles  long  by  If  broad,  containing  4,495a.  1b.  24^p.  Gross 
population,  1,120.  One  Curate  employed  for  the  occasional 
duties,  at  a  stipend  of  £10  per  annum.  Tithe  composition, 
£155;  subject  to  visitation  fees,  15^.;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1. 
No  glebe-house.  No  church.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory.  [Pari. 
Rep.] 

Thomas  Stanistreet  was  a  Scholar  of  T.C.D.  in  1776.  He 
was  ordained  Deacon  by  the  Bishop  of  Leighlin  and  Ferns,  and 
Priest  by  the  Bishop  of  Cork,  on  3rd  Nov.,  1782. 

On  23rd  October,  1782,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of 
Clonmel.  From  1799  to  1805  he  was  V.  Bregoge,  and  from 
1805  to  his  death  in  1835  he  was  R.  V.  Dingindonoyan. 

He  married,  in  1790,   Miss  Mary  Johnson,   of  Clonmel. 


i 


184      DIKGIVDONOTAN. — ^DOKBBAILB..— BONOQHMOBE.  [GLOTHS 

liar.  Bonds.]    Richard  Stanistreet  was  exeenior  of 


lis  will. 

1860.  The  temporalities  of  this  saspeDded  parish  are  in  the 
hands  of  the  Ecclesiastical  Commissioners.  Dean  Howie  is 
Cnrate.  No  church.  No  glebe-house.  Noserrice.  The  parish- 
ioners attend  Eilleagh  church.    The  Protestant  population  is  10. 


DONERAILE. 

1291.  "Ecca  de  Dunrayl  Xlllmr.  undo  decla  XVIIs.  Illld.-— 
^  Ecca  de  Rassath  Vmr.  undo  decla  di  mr.'* — ^  Oapclla  de  Clos- 
dufog  Vlllrar.  unde  decia  Xs.  Vlird.;'     (Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1591.  ''EcclesiiB  de  Cloisdoick  et  Ecclesia  de  Donnerall, — Prior 
Bothon  est  Rector  et  usurpat  utramque  vicariam."  [R.y. 
R.I.A.]     "  E.  de  Rossaughe  usurpatur  p' prior' Bothon."     [lb.] 

1615.  Donnerayle,  Rossedock,  Rossagh.  Recto riie  inipropnatn. 
JohSs  Jepson,  miles,  tenet  rectorias  et  usurpat  vicarias.  Val. 
1 2  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  et  cancclla  ruinantur.  Ouratus,  Antont 
KiNGSMiLL.    [R.V.  R.I.A.]    Kiugsmill  was  also  y.Bregoge,q.y. 

1634.  Donoghraile,  Rossdoick,  et  Rossagh.  Prior  Bothon  Rector  et 
usurpat  vie.  Valent,  lOOli.  peran.  Joh€s  Jephson,  miles,  im- 
propriator. Antuonius  Kinosmell,  curatus  nil  habet  p*  sti- 
pendio  suo.     [R.V.  1634.] 

1661.  Donoghrailo,  Rossedoicke,  Rossaghe.  Nullus  curatus.  [V.B. 
D.R] 

1663.  Dunnonghraile,  nsurpatur  per  Jephson.     [V.B.] 

1664  to  1670.  Mr.  Alfobd,  Curatus.     [V.B.] 
Alford  was  P.  Brigowne,  q.  v. 

1671  to  1674.  David  Elliot  is  Curate  of  Donoghrayle,  Cahirdug- 
gan,  Ballebeg,  Rossdoicke,  and  Rossagh.  [V.B]  Elliott,  in 
1682,  was  P.  Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

1693.  May  2.  Thomas  Elijs,  a.b.,  was  admitted  Curate  of  Done- 
raile,  Cahirduggan,  Ballebeg,  Rossdole,  Rossagh,  and  Butti- 
yant.     [D.R]     He  was  also  V.  Bregogo,  q.  v. 

From  1700  to  the  present  time,  Doneraile  was  held  with 
Templeroan,  q.  v. 


DONOGHMORE. 


1591.  Donoghmore  "  locus  vastatus  vacat  et  sequestrat'  pro  Reirina.** 

[MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1610.  October  26.  This  preb.  was  granted  in  commendam  to  JoHV 

Lakoastee,  Bishop  of  Watcrford.     [Rot.   Pat.  8  James  L, 

quoted  by  Cotton.]     Ho  died  in  1619. 


CLOTKB.]  BOKOOHMOBB.  185 

1613.  November  15.  Richabd  Owen  admissnsest  ad  "  P.  Donogh- 
more,  Cloine,  cui  prebendee,  Epds  nnivit  et  anDexit  Preb'  de 
Eilnaglorie,  R.  de  Taxax,  et  V.  de  KiDsale,  nomine  unius  bene- 
ficii.     InstallatQS  eodem  die."    [R.V.  1634.] 

1615.  P.  Donoghmore,  non  residens,  Kicfaardns  Owen,  min- 
ister et  predicator.  Valet  viginti  marcarnm.  Ecclesia  et 
cancella  repantur.     [R.V.  B.I.A.] 

1634.  P.  Donoghmore,  Richard  Owen.  Val.  50  li.  per  an. 
[R.V.  1634.] 

For  Owen,  vide  Eilnaglorj,  Cork. 
1630.  July  10.  Thomas  Babham,  P.  Donogbmore,  R.  V.  Rincurran, 
and  to  continue  to  bold  the  V.  Durrus  and  Kilcrogban.     [Lib. 
Mun.]     For  Barbani,  vide  Durrus,  Cork. 
1634.  P.  Donoghmore,  Richard  OwBN.     Val.  50  li.  per  an.     [RV. 

1634.]     He  was  P.  Kilnaglory,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1634.  Feb.  11.  John  Fitzgerald,  Preb.  de  Donoghmore.     [F.F.] 

He  was  also  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v.     He  died,  1041. 
16411  Thomas  Roberts,  P.  Donoghmore.     There  is  no  record  of 
his  admission.     He  probably  succeeded  to  this  prebend  on  the 
death  of  Fitzgerald  in  1641.     He  appears  in  a  chapter  entry 
at  Cloyne  as  P.  Donoghmore  on  14th  July,  1663.    [C.B.]    B!e 
appears  in  the  visitation  book  of  1663.     He  was  also  Chan- 
cellor of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1664.  June  10.  Richard  Clerks,  P.  Donoghmore,  per  mortem 
ThomsB  Roberts.     [V.B.  1669.  [D.R.]     Clerke  was,  on  same 
day,  made  Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1685/6.  January  25.  John  Torwat,  a.m.,  P.  Donoghmore,  per  mor- 
tem Richardi  Clerke  [D.R.],  and  same  day  to  R.  V.  Carrig- 
rohanebeg. 

J.  Torway,  a  native  of  Devonshire,  educated  *'  Exoniie,  sub 
Mr.  Whetenball,"  obtained  Sizarship,  T.C.D.  when  nineteen 
years  old,  on  6th  May,  1670. 

From  1681  to  1682  he  was  P.  Desertmore,  Cork  ;  from  1682 
to  1689,  P.  Stagonil,  Dublin;  and  from  1685  to  1687,  P. 
Donoghmore  and  R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg.  He  died  in  1689. 
1687.  July,  Matthew  Jones  was  probably  collated  in  this  month 
to  P.  Donoghmore,  as  on  18th  July,  1687,  his  successor  to  the 
P.  Killinemer  was  admitted. 

He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  12th  Nov.,  1688.  [C.B.]  He 
was  also  R  V.  Carrigrohanebeg. 

1694.  P.  Donoghmore,  Mr.  Jones.  Val.  23  pounds.  Epus 
patronus,  ecclia  in  ruinam  lapsa.     [Palliser.] 

Matthew  Jones  (son  of  Richard  Jones,  and  brother  of  Edward 
Jones,  Bishop  of  Cloyne,  q.  v.),  was  a  native  of  Wales,  and 
was  bom  in  1654,  at  his  father*s  scat,  Lloynririd,  situated  in 
Fordon  chapelry,  three  and  a-half  miles  from  the  town  of 
Montgomery.  He  was  baptized  on  4th  July,  1654.  [Fordon 
Registry.]     He  came  to  Ireland  with  his  brother,  Edward,  in 


).86  DovoGHMOBE.  [ou>jnB. 

1670 ;  and  on  Uth  April,  1673,  entered  T.C.D.,  where  he  grar 
duated  a.b.  in  1677,  and  afterwards  became  m.a. 

He  was  ordained  Priest  at  Kilkenny  on  17th  Dec.,  1680. 

From  1679  to  1693  he  was  Vicar  Choral,  Lismore;  from 
1682  to  1684,  P.  Cooline,  R.  Bohillane  and  Kilmahon,  and  Y. 
Bregoge  and  Liscarroll ;  from  1683  to  1685,  Precentor  of 
Cloyne;  from  1684  to  16—1  V.  Clonfert,  R.  Knocktemple 
and  Tullilease;  from  April  to  July  in  1687,  P.  Killenemer; 
from  1687  to  1693,  P.  Kilmaclenine ;  from  1687  to  1717,  P. 
Donoghmore,  and  R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg ;  from  1691  to  1707, 
V.  Whitechurch;  from  1706  to  1717,  R  V.  Agabulloge  and 
Kilcolman;  and  from  1693  to  1706,  R.  V.  Ardskeagh.  He 
also  appears  as  Curate  of  Tonghal  in  1693  and  1696 ;  and  was 
V.  Dromdowny  from  1687  to  1712. 

He  married  Bridget,  fourth  dau.  of  SiK  Riohabd  Ebnnedt, 
bart.,  and  by  her  (who  was  buried  in  Youghal  on  13th  Febrn- 
ary,  1733),  had  issue  one  son,  Edward,  who  married,  in  17 16, 
Mary,  dau.  of  John  Nettles,  esq.,  and  had  by  her  a  surviving 
son,  Matthew,  whose  daughter  and  sole  heir,  Melian,  was  mar- 
ried, on  16th  Nov.,  1782,  to  Samuel  Hayman,  esq.,  of  Prospect 
Hill,  l^oughal,  grandfather  of  Rev.  Samuel  Hayman,  R.  Ard- 
negihy,  Cork. 

The  Rev.  M.  Jones  had  also  five  daughters — Anne,  wife  of 
John  Oilman,  esq. ;  Bridget,  baptized  at  Toughal  on  5th  Feb- 
ruary, 1695,  wife  of  John  Parker,  esq.,  of  Toughal ;  Sarah  and 
Susannah,  who  both  died  young ;  and  Margaret,  baptized  at 
Youghal  on  23rd  Feb.,  1706,  wife  of  Rev.  John  Thomas  Atkin, 
R,  Ardnegihy,  Cork,  q.  v. 

Mr.  Joneses  last  will  is  dated  16th  Sept.,  1717.  He  died, 
setate  63,  7th  Dec.  of  same  year,  at  his  seat,  Coolbridogue,  in 
Inniscarra  parish,  and  was  buried  in  the  church-yard  of  Innis- 
carra,  near  Cork,  where,  in  the  western  wall  of  the  old  parish 
church,  is  a  stone,  with  this  inscription  : — 

"HEEK  LYETH  the  body  of  the  EEV.  MATTHEW  JONES,  OP 
LOYNVBE  (sic.)  IN  MONQUMMERIES-SHIRE,  WHO  WAS  PRESENT  OF 
DONOOHMOBE,  AND  DEPARTED  THIS  LIFE  THE  7tH  DAT  OF  DECEM- 
BER, 1717." 

1717/18.  January  28.  John  Lukey,  a.m.,  P.  Donoghmore,  per  mor- 
tem Jones.  [D.R.]  On  13th  Nov.,  1718,  Mr.  Lukey  was 
chosen  (Economus  by  the  Chapter.  [C.B.]  He  took  the  chap- 
ter oaths  as  P.  Donoghmore  on  21st  May,  1719.  [C.B.]  He 
became,  in  1730,  P.  Kilmacdonagh,  q.  v. 

1730.  Oct.  24.  George  Chinnery,  a.m.,  P.  Donoghmore,  per  cession 
of  Lukey.  [D.R.]  He  took  the  chapter  oath,  10th  June, 
1731.     [CB/]     He  was  also  R.  Mallow,  q.  v. 

1732.  December  11.  Horatio  Townsend,  a.m.,  P.  Donoghmore,  per 
cession  of  Chinnery;  and  again  ("ad  jure  et  facto  jam  vacan- 
tem")  on  24th  Nov.,  1738.     [D.R.] 


ClOTVS.]  BOKOOHMOBE.  187 

On  9t}i  July,  1733,  Townsend  took  tbe  chapter  oath]  and 
on  2l8t  Jnne  he  effected  an  exchange  of  glebe  land  witii  the 
Bishop  of  Oloyne.  On  16th  Oct,  1746,  he  was  fined  20s.  for 
non-attendance  at  chapter  meetings.     [O.B.] 

In  1762,  H.  Townsend,  resident;  yearly  income^  £300. 
[Hayman  MSS.] 

Eforatio  Townsend  (yonngest  son  of  Biran,  the  second  son 
and  heir  of  Colonel  Richard  Townsend,  of  Castletownsend,  vide 
Rev,  FhUip  Towfuend^  Holt/ Trinity  Vicarage jCoih,  1707-1735,) 
was  born  on  1st  Sept.,  1706,  at  Castletownsend,  and  entered 
T.C.D.  when  sixteen  years  old,  on  1st  June,  1722,  and  became 
Scholar  in  1724. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  23rd  Jnne,  1728,  at  Cloyna 

From  1730  to  1737  he  was  P.  Kilmeen,  Tnam ;  and  from 
1732  to  his  death  in  1772  was  P.  Donoghmore. 

He  married,  in  1739  [Mar.  Bond,  May  21],  Mary,  dan.  of 
Thomas  Hungerford,  of  Inchydoney,  near  Clunakilty,  county 
Cork.  (She  was  a  legatee  in  the  will  of  her  cousin,  John  Hun- 
gerford, lord  of  the  manor  of  Hungerford,  in  England. — See 
Burke's  "Landed  Gentry  of  Qreat  Britain  and  Ireland,"  London, 
1 862 :  Hungerford  of  Inchydoney.)  By  her,  Horatio  Townsend 
had  three  surviving  sons — the  Rev.  Edward-Synge  Townsend, 
V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. ;  Richard,  and  Samuel-Philip ;  and  two 
daughters — Susan  and  Mary.  Having  purchased  Kuockane,  in 
the  parish  of  Donoghmore,  he  resided  there  for  a  time,  while 
he  was  building  the  glebe-house  of  Coolmona,  in  the  same 
parish.     He  died  in  October,  1772. 

Horatio  Townsend's  second  surviving  sou,  Richard,  was 
seated  at  Palacetown,  near  Kinsale,  and  married,  December  29, 
1772,  Mildred,  dau.  of  Achilles  Daunt,  of  Gortigrenane  Castle. 
Richard,  died  April  8,  1805,  with  surviving  issue,  three  sons 
and  eight  daughters.  Richard's  third  son,  Samuel-Philip,  suc- 
ceeded to  his  father's  estate,  married  Frances-Helena,  youngest 
dau.  of  Adam  Newman,  of  Dromore,  near  Mallow,  and  is  seated 
at  Garrycloyne  Castle,  near  Blarney,  county  Cork.  He  has 
by  her  six  sous  and  six  daughters. 

Horatio  Townsend's  third  surviving  son,  Samuel-Philip, 
was  seated  at  Firmount,  in  the  parish  of  Donoghmore. — 
(See  Townsend's  "Statistical  Survey  of  the  County  Cork," 
vol.  ii.  p.  157,  foot-note,  Cork,  1815.)  Samuel-Philip  Towns- 
end  married  Helena,  dau.  of  the  Rev.  Thomas  Robinson,  of 
Coronea,  near  Skibbereen,  and  had  four  sons  and  one  daughter. 
Samuel-Philip's  eldest  son,  Horatio,  is  seated  at  Woodside, 
near  Cork,  and  married,  first,  Catharine,  dau.  of  Abraham 
Morris,  of  Dunkettle,  near  Cork;  and  secondly,  Henrietta, 
dau.  of  the  Rev.  John  Cbetwood,  Rector  of  Rathcooney 
(Glanmire),  near  Cork.  By  his  first  wife,  Horatio  had  four 
daughters;  by  his  second  wife  he  had  three  sons  and  two 


188  DONOGHMORB.  [CLOTKE. 

danghters.  The  youDg^st  son  of  Samuel-Philip,  of  Firmoaot, 
Edward-Richard,  is  a  physician,  residing  in  Cork,  and  married 
Jane,  dau.  of  Neville  Bath,  of  Cork,  with  issue,  four  sons  and 
five  daughters.  The  other  sons  of  Samuel-Philip  were — William- 
Robinson  Townsend,  R.  Aghada,  q.  v. ;  and  Thomas  (third  son), 
who  was  ordained  Deacon  on  10th  Feb.,  1811,  and  Priest  29th 
Sept.  following,  both  at  Cork.  He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy 
of  TuUagh,  Ross,  on  11th  Feb.,  1811;  to  that  of  Clonmel  on 
13th  March,  1812;  and  to  that  of  Farrahy  on  8th  March,  1817. 
From  1823  to  1860  he  was  R.  Mayo,  Tnam.  He  married, 
on  13th  August,  1814,  at  Queenstown,  Caroline,  dau.  and  co- 
heir of  Sib  Edwin  Jeynes,  knt..  Alderman  of  Gloucester,  and 
by  her  (who  died  on  3rd  Dec,  1840),  had  issue  four  sons — 
Samuel-Philip,  baptized  at  Clonmel,  12th  July,  1814  ;  William- 
Hothaui-Robinson,  baptized 8th  Feb.,  181 6, at  Clonmel;  Thomas, 
and  Edward.  He  had  also  four  daughters — Caroline;  Rose- 
Anne-Hotham,  born  at  Farrahy,  in  1820,  who  is  married,  and 
has  issue;  Helena;  and  Mary-Young.  The  Rev.  T.  Townsend 
died,  aged  seventy-four,  on  20th  March,  at  Tivoli  Gardens, 
Cork,  and  was  buried  at  Donoghmorc  on  24th  March,  1860. 

Horatio  Townsend's  dau.,  Susan,  married  the  Rev.  John 
Meade,  of  Ballymartle,  near  Einsale,  without  issue.  Horatio's 
dau.,  Mary,  married  in  1768,  Adam  Newman,  Collector  of  Kin- 
sale,  with  issue,  namely,  Adam,  who  succeeded  on  the  death 
without  issue  of  his  uncle.  Colonel  Newman,  to  the  family 
estate  of  Dromore,  near  Mallow;  and  Horatio  Townsend  New- 
man, who  is  at  this  date  (1863),  Dean  of  Cork. 
1772.  Nov.  7.  James  Hinoston,  a.m.,  P.  Donoghmore,  per  mortem 
Townsend.  [D.R.]  He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  8th  July, 
1773.     [C.B.] 

1774.  Donoghmore.  It  lies  part  in  the  barony  of  Barretts, 
and  part  in  that  of  Muskerry  ;  value,  £400  per  ann.  Church 
at  present  in  ruins,  but  to  be  repaired.  Patron  the  Bishop. 
Glebe,  20a.  En.,  with  a  house  and  improvements.  Proxy,  £1  2«. 
Taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £2,  ster.  Incunib.,  James  Hingston, 
A.M.     [Hingston.  J 

James  Hingston,  eldest  son  of  William  Hingston,  "  generosi" 
was,  I  suppose,  grandson  of  James  Hingston,  of  Cork,  who 
purchased  from  the  Trustees  of  Forfeited  Estates,  on  28th  April, 
1703,  for  the  sum  of  £829  3«.,  the  town  and  lands  of  Aglish, 
county  Cork,  being  353  acres. 

He  was  born  at  Aglish,  and  entered  T.C.D.  when  sixteen 
years  old,  on  10th  Nov.  1729. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  lOtb  Sept.,  1736,  and 
Priest  on  7th  March,  1737,  also  at  Cloyne,  for  the  curacy  of 
Donoghmore.  He  was  licensed  on  30th  Oct.,  1740,  to  the 
curacy  of  Kilshannig.  From  1751  to  1771  he  was  V.  Roskeen 
and  Kilcorney;  and  from    1751  to  1775  was  V.  Clonmcen. 


OLOnrS.]  DONOOHMORB.  189 

From  1771  to  1772  he  was  P.  Brigowne;  and  from  1772  to 
1775  he  was  P.  Donoghmore.  He  was  also,  on  28th  June, 
1778,  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Roskeen  and  Kilcorney. 

He  married,  in  1741,  Katherine,  dau.  of  Rev.  Benezer  Mur- 
dock,  R.  V.  Kilshannig,  and  by  her  bad  issue  four  sons,  namely, 
William;  Benezer-Murdock;  James,  R.  V.  Agabulloge,  q.  v.; 
and  John,  born  in  1762,  ordained  Priest  at  Oloyne  on  5th  Dec, 

1784,  who  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Kilbrogan  on  9th  May, 

1785,  and  who  married  Alicia,  dau.  of  Arthur  Bernard,  of 
Palace-Ann,  county  Cork,  Provost  of  Bandon. 

Rev.  James  Hingston  had  also  five  daughters — Elisabeth,  who 
was  married  in  1770  to  Rev.  Thomas  Tuckey;  Maria-Helena; 
Katherine;  Mary;  and  Isabella,  who  was  wife  of  James  Brere- 
ton,  esq.,  of  Carrigslaney,  and  after  his  death,  of  Sir  Jahea 
Cotter,  bart. 

Mr.  Hingston  translated  some  of  the  classics  into  English, 
composed  an  Abridgment  of  the  Statutes,  and  left  several 
other  manuscripts  in  his  own  handwriting,  including  the  state 
of  the  diocese  of  Clo3me  in  1762. 

He  died  in  1775,  and  was  buried  at  Aglish. 
1776.  Sept.  21.  Richard  Bullen,  a.m.,  P.  Donamore,  per  mort. 
Hingston.    He  took  the  chapter  oath  26th  June,  1777.  [C.B.] 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  was  27.     [Gibbs.] 

R.  Bullen  (son  of  Edward  BuIIen,  esq.,  of  the  Old  Head,  Kin- 
sale,  who  was  said  to  have  been  lineally  descended  from  the 
Bullen,  or  Boleyn  family,  of  Norfolk,)  was  born  at  Kinsale,  and, 
when  eighteen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.,  on  2nd  May,  1723. 

He  was,  from  1740  to  1776,  R.  Kilnemartery  ;  from  1762  to 
1776,  V.  Clonmel,  <fec. ;  and  from  1776  to  his  death  in  1789, 
P.  Donoghmore. 

He  mentions  in  his  will,  dated  2nd  August,  1788,  and  proved 
24th  Nov.,  1790,  his  only  child,  Louisa-Petitot  Bullen,  who  was 
wife  of  Colonel  Robert  Uniacke  Fitzgerald,  m.p.,  of  Corkbeg, 
ancestor  of  the  family  of  Fitzgerald,  of  Corkbeg. 
1789.  Feb.  2.  Hon.  Charles  Brodrick,  a.m.,  P.  Donoghmore,  per 
mort.  Bullen.  [F.F.]  In  1 789  he  became  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1789.  July  27.  John  Lawless,  a.b.,  P.  Donoghmore,  per  cess,  of 
Brodrick.     [F.F.] 

J.  Lawless,  a.b.,  was  ordained  Priest  on  19th  Dec,  1762,  by 
the  Bishop  of  Waterford. 

In  1764  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Aghada.  From 
1776  to  1779  he  was  R.  Kilnemartery,  and  Curate  of  Yonghal; 
from  1779  to  1790  he  was  P.  Sub ul ter ;  from  1779  to  1789,  R, 
v.  Kilmahon  ;  and  from  1789  to  his  death  in  1795  he  was  P. 
Donoghmore.  He  was  also,  on  5th  July,  1780,  licensed  a 
second  time  to  the  curacy  of  Aghada. 

He  married,  in  1777,  Judith  Ilanning,  of  Cloyne,  and  had 
issue  four  sons — James;  John,  Attorney  and  Proctor  of  Cloyne, 


190  D090QHM0BE.  [OLOYHB. 

fiither  of  Rev.  J.  P.  Lawless,  B.  Y.  Inch,  in  1836;  Paul,  and 
Thomas. 
1796.  Feb.  13.  Johh  Ebnhst,  ll.d.,  P.  Donoghmore,  per  mori. 
Lawless.     [F.F.] 

Eenney  was  also  P.  Eilbrogan,  Cork,  q.  ▼.     He  reagned 
Donoghmore  in  1801,  in  favour  of  his  son,  and  received  in 
exchange  the  Y.  Einneigh,  in  Cork. 
1801.  Sept.  5,  Thomas  Ebnnet,  a.b«,  P.  Donoghmore,  per  cess,  of 
John  Eenney.     [F.F.] 

1805.  Number  of  Protestant  families,  15.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

1830.  Protestant  population,  104. 

1837,  Donoughmore  :  a  rectory»  with  cure ;  8  miles  longbj 
9  broad,  containing  21,627a.  Gross  population,  6,794.  One 
Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £75  per  annum.  Tithe  com- 
position, £  1 ,100.  14  acres  of  glebe  in  Incumbent's  occupation, 
valued  at  £10 ;  subject  to  visitation  fees,  £3;  diocesan  school- 
master, £1  lis.  lOd.  Donoughmore  glebe-house  unfit  for  the 
residence  of  Incumbent,  having  been  condemned  under  com- 
mission of  dilapidations  about  13  years  since;  built  in  1752, 
under  the  old  Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £443  Is,  6^d.  Brit,  advanced 
out  of  the  private  funds  of  the  builder,  to  whom  the  present 
Incumbent,  being  seventh  in  succession,  was  not  chargeable 
with  any  sum  to  his  predecessor,  neither  has  he  any  demand 
against  bis  successor  on  account  of  the  house.  Incumbent 
resides  within  the  benefice,  and  pays  an  annual  rent  of  £60  for 
the  house  he  occupies.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating 
70  persons,  but  so  old  a  building  that  the  date  and  cost  of  its 
erection  are  unknown;  it  was  newly  roofed  about  the  year 
1792,  by  means  of  private  contributions  among  the  Protestant 
parishioners.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1 832  on  account  of  the 
church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on 
the  principal  festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  ei^ht 
times  in  the  year.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep. J 

T.  Kenney  (son  of  his  predecessor)  was  ordained  Priest  at 
Cloyneon  5th  Oct.,  1794;  and  on  3rd  April,  1795,  was  licensed 
to  the  curacy  of  St.  Finbarrv*s,  Cork.  From  1796  to  1801  he 
was  Y.  Einneigh,  Cork;  and  from  1801  to  his  death  in  1841, 
was  P.  Donoghmore. 

He  married  Anne-Diana,  dau.  of  Rev.  John  Eenton  Dawson, 
of  Yorkshire,  and  had  issue  (besides  two  daughters,  Catherine 
and  Mary-Anne,  who  both  died  Sp.),  four  sons — 1.  John,  who 
was  in  the  Navy  in  early  life;  he  married  Jane,  dau.  of 
Daniel  Humphreys,  esq.,  of  Broomfield,  and  has  issue  a  son, 
John,  and  six  daughters — Anna,  Jane,  Fanny,  Adelaide,  Hen- 
rietta, and  Eatherine.  Mr.  J.  Eenney  took  the  name  of  Herbert 
on  succeeding  to  the  property  of  John  Herbert,  of  Castleisland. 
2.  Edward,  Capt  R.N.,  who  married  Charlotte-Mary,  dau.  of 
Capt.  Bignell,  R.N.,  and  has  issue  two  sons,  Edward  and 


GLOTin;]  DONOGHMOBB.  191 

Arthur;  and  a  daughter,  liary-Oharlotte.    3.  Thomas,  who  diod 
Sp.    4.  William,  Capt.  H.E.I.C. 

The  Rev.  Thomas  Kenney  was  buried  at  the  family  burial- 
place  at  Ballymartle.     [F.P.] 
1841.  Oct.  30.  JosBPH  RoGEBsoN  CoTTBB,  P.  Donoghmoro,  per  mort 
Kenney.     [F.P.] 

1843.  Donoughmore  church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  in  order.  Fourteen  acres 
of  land  in  Incumbent's  use.  No  font.  Divine  service  twic^e  on 
all  Sundays,  and  once  on  Christmas  Day,  Good  Friday,  <&c. 
Sacrament  monthly,  and  on  festivals;  average  of  communi- 
cants, 14.  About  25  children  attend  school.  The  Protestant 
population  is  85.  The  rentcharge  is  £825.  The  land  is  worth 
£10.     Total  income,  £835  per  an.,  with  residence. 

J.  R.  Cotter  (son  of  Rev.  Q.  S.  Cotter,  R.  Igtermurragh, 
q.  v.),  was  ordained  Deacon  on  31st  July,  1814,  and  Priest  on 
12th  March,  1815,  both  at  Cork. 

From  1816  to  1834  he  was  Y.  Castlemagner,  and  from  1834 
to  1841,  P.  Ballyhay. 

He  married,  firstly,  in  1814,  Anne  Charlotte,  dau.  of  Captain 
Jaraes-Bagshaw  Butler,  and  had  issue — 1.  George  Sackville 
Cotter,  M.D.,  born  June,  1816  ;  m.  Henrietta,  dau.  of  Rev.  T. 
Hoare,  and  granddau.  of  Sir  E.  Hoare,  bart.  2.  Elisabeth 
Anne,  died  num.  He  m.  2ndly,  5th  Aug.,  1819,  Mary,  eldest 
dau.  of  George  Purcell,  esq.,  j.p.,  by  whom  (who  died  15th 
April,  1851,)  he  had — 1.  Rev,  Joseph-Rogerson  Cotter,  a.b.. 
Rector  of  Houghton,  Dorset,  born  9th  June,  1822;  m.  29th 
Jan.,  1850,  Philadelphia- Louisa,  dau.  of  Thomas  Hall,  esq.,  of 
Harpsden  Court,  Oxfordshire,  and  has  three  daughters,  viz., 
Mary-Elizabeth,  Catherine-Louisa,  and  Grace.  2.  Rev.  James- 
Laurence  Cotter,  A.B.,  H.B.,  Incumbent  of  Lydiate,  Lancashire, 
bom  14th  Aug.,  1824;  m.  1st,  Mary,  dau.  of  Rev.  Richard 
Gaggin,  Rector  of  Clonrault;  and  2ndly,  3rd  Sept,  1856,  Mary- 
Beatrice,  dau.  of  William  Bromilow,  esq.,  of  Haresfinch  House, 
Lancashire,  and  has  issue — Mary-Blanche-Monica.  3.  Rev. 
Charles  Purcell  Cotter,  a.m.,  Vicar  of  Stantonbury,  with  New 
Bradwell,  Bucks,  bom  17th  Feb.,  1826;  m.  13th  July,  1856, 
Mary-Anne-Caroline,  only  child  of  the  late  John-Frederick 
Gaitskell,  esq.,  Bengal  Civil  Service,  and  has — CJiarles- 
Plunkett-Rogerson,  born  16th  August,  1857;  Edmond-Ludlow- 
Purcell,  born  4th  Jan.,  1859 ;  Alice-Harriet.  4.  Rev.  Richard- 
Henry  Cotter,  A.B.,  born  5th  Feb.,  1831;  m.  Sarah,  dau.  of 

Lawrence,  esq.     5.  John-Quarry  Cotter,  born  30th  May, 

1832.  6.  Arundel-Hill  Cotter,  late  of  H.M.  8th  Foot,  bom 
15th  April,  1837.  7.  Duncan-Donald-Darroch  Cotter,  late 
H.M.  6th  Foot,  bora  12th  Sept.,  1838.  8.  Samuel-Kyle  Cotter, 
bom  10th  Nov.,  1841. 

The  Rev.  J.  R.  Cotter  had  also,  by  his  second  wife,  the  following 


192  DONOGHMOBS. — DUNOOUBNBT.  [CLOTNB. 

daughters: — 1.  Maij-PuroeU,  diedunm. ;  2.  Margaret-Anne, m. 
Eev.  Edward-Pringle  Hodgins,  d.d.,  Incumbent  of  St.  Stephen's, 
Liverpool ;  3.  Isabella,  m.  Rev.  William  Ridley ;  4.  Catherine- 
Louisa,  m.  Rev.  John-William  Stubbs,  a.m.,  f.t.o.d.,  of  Stubton, 
county  Dublin;  5,  Jane-Emily-Pereeval,  m.  Rogerson-Ootter 
Butler,  esq.;  6.  Sarah-Phillips;  7.  Georgina-Purcell ;  8.  Mary- 
Grace- Jessie.  Rev.  J.  R.  Cotter  m.  3rdly,  1st  May,  1852, 
Mary-Anne,  dan.  of  Capt.  Henry  Gaitskell,  and  widow  of  Rev. 
Edward-Bowman  Vardon,  ll.b. 

Mr.  Cotter  has  published,  besides  various  tracts  and  poems: 
— 1.  ''  True  Catholicity,"  a  work  in  one  volume,  royal  8vo.,  in 
reply  to  Dr.  Coppinger,  R.  C.  Bishop  of  Cloyne.  2.  ''  Christ's 
Promises  to  his  Church,"  a  lecture  delivered  in  Christchurch, 
Cork;  12mo:  Cork,  1843.  3.  ''Popular and  Practical  Treatises 
for  the  Present  Times ;"  1 2mo:  London,  1 849.  4.  "  The  Irish 
Widow."  5.  "  Poor  Paddy's  Cabin,"  Jtc.  6.  "  Eveline,  or  Inci- 
dents of  Irish  Convent  Life."  7.  "  The  Second  Advent  of  Christ," 
a  sacred  poem.     8.  '' The  Harmony  of  Nature  and  Revelation." 


DUNGOURNEY. 


1291.  "EccadeDnngom,VImr.  nndedecimaVIIIs."  [Tax.P.  Nio.] 

1301.  29th  Edward  I.  An  inquisition  held  in  this  year  found 
it  not  to  the  King's  prejudice  to  allow  William  de  Barry  and 
others  to  give  the  advowson  of  Dongonmey,  Karatha,  Kicoan, 
Kilmyde,  Kitherlaga,  Chirchton,  &c.  [Dugdale's  Monasticon, 
p.  1019 ;  and  Ferguson's  MSB.  vol.  i.  p.  385.] 

1355.  *'By  an  inquisition  taken  at  Cork,  before  William  de  Rose, 
Prior  of  the  Hospital  of  St  John  of  Jerusalem,  Chief  Justice  of 
Ireland,  on  the  eve  of  St.  Bartholomew,  29th  of  Edward  III., 
1355,  it  appeared  from  the  oath  of  Girald  Fitz- Maurice  and 
others,  that  it  would  not  be  to  the  King's  loss,  nor  to  any 
other's,  if  the  King  granted  William  Barry  power  to  bestow  one 
carucate  of  land,  with  its  appurtenances,  in  Cleynboly,  in  the 
great  Island,  and  the  advowson  of  the  church  of  Downgourney  ; 
and  leave  to  John  Barry  to  give  twenty  parcels  of  land  in 
Muscry  O'Lethan  and  Ibawne ;  and  to  John  Fitz-Gerald  to  give 
one  carucate  and  half  of  land  in  Garanacor,  in  Ibawne,  and 
the  advowson  of  the  church  of  Rathratha,  and  two  acres  of 
land  in  Kylmide,  in  Kinaletha,  with  the  advowson  of  that 
church,"  &0,     [Smith's  Cork,  vol.  i.  p.  42.] 

1591.  "E.  de  Dungumey,  Johes  Sullivan  in  crast'  pro  litt'  et 
titulis."  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.]  Sullivan  is  also  R.Bohillane 
and  Curate  of  Templenecarrigy. 

1615.  July  10.  Hugo  BuBOH,als.  UlickBubkb,  is  admitted  ''Vicarius 
dePungoumey,  Cloine,"  and  inducted  same  day.   [HY.  1634.] 


ClOYOTI.]  DVNGOURNET.  193 

"  Dungoarney  Rectoria  vocat.  Y icarins,  Ulick  Bourke,  min- 
ister legens,  nobis  cOmendatus  pro  diligentia  in  officio  sao. 
Ideo  in  manns  ejus  sequestrayimns  fructus  rectorise,  valoris 
4  li."  [R.V.  R.I.A.  1615.] 
1618.  Nor.  18.  Ulliok  Boubke  is  admitted  Rector  de  DongonmeYy 
quam  R.  et  V.  Epus  univit,  inductus  4th  Deo.  1618.  rR.y« 
1634.] 

1634.  R.  de  Dungoarney,  Ulick  Burke  R.  and  V.  Yalent 
26  li.  per  an.     Gerald  Barry,  Patronus.     [R.V.  1634.] 

Hugo  Burgb,  or  Ulick  Burke,  was  ordained  Deacon  and 
Priest  by  William,  Bishop  of  Cork,  on  21st  January,  1614. 
1634.  May  23.  OnBisTOPHBR  Lee  is  presented  to  R.  and  V.  Dun* 
gume,  with  clause  of  union  pro  hac  vice.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

On  31st  July,  1637,  Christopher  Lee  was  presented  to  certain 
liviDgs  not  named.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

Among  theCloyne  marriage  bonds  appears  that  of  Christopher 
Lee  and  Elisabeth  How,  both  of  Youghal,  in  1679. 
1661.  Mr.  James  Bruce  appears  as  Rector  of  Dungoumey.     [Y.B.] 
He  was  admitted  on  11th  November,  1662,  on  letters  patent  of 
29th  June.     [F.P.  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

He  appears  as  R.  Dungourney  1661  to  1674.  [Y.B. 
D.R.] 

James  Bruce,  a.m.,  was  ordained  Deacon  by  Richard,  Bishop 
of  Cork,  on  24th  Dec.  1632  ;  and  Priest  on  9th  April,  1633,  by 
the  same  Bishop. 

From  1633  to  1675  he  was  Y.  Ahem  and  Ballynoe;  from 
1634  to  1637  Y.  Enocktemple  and  LiscarroU;  from  1637  to 
1675  R.  Ahern  and  Ballynoe ;  from  1637  to  1640  P.  Ina- 
kenny,  Cork;  from  1640  to  16—1  P.  Coole;  and  from  1662 
to  1674  R.  Dungoumey. 
1675.  Sept.  24.  Antoniub  Eagane,  R.  de  Dungouran.  [P.F.]  On 
letters  patent  of  August  24  to  K  Dungoumey,  Cloyne,  and  Y. 
Eilbonane,  Agadoe  dioc.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

1694.  Ecclia  de  Dungoumey,  val.  40  pounds.  Mr.  Anthony 
Eagan,  Incumbent.  Dominus  Rex  patronus.  Ecclia  in  ruina 
lapsa.  [Palliser.] 
1702.  Sept.  1.  Walter  Atkin,  R.  Dungoumey,  per  cession  of 
Antony  Egan,  on  letters  patent,  dated  Oct.  3.  [D.R.  and  Lib. 
Mun.]  The  date  of  this  admission  is  returned  to  the  office  of 
First  Fruits  as  of  12th  November,  1702.  In  1710  Atkin  was 
also  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1742.  May  6.  Honourable  Richard  Southwell,  a.b.,  R.  Dun- 
goumey, per  mortem  Atkin,  on  letters  patent,  dated  18th  Feb* 
1741.     [D.R  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

1762.  Southwell  non-resident.  Igtermurragh,  &e,,  <fec. ; 
yearly  value,  £250.     [Hayman.] 

1774.  Doiigoumey,  rect.  Ent.  It  lies  partly  in  the  bar.  of 
Imokilly  and  partly  in  that  of  Sarrymor^     Church  in  ruins. 

VOL.  II.  0 


194  DUKOOURNEY.  [CLOTNE. 

Pat.  the  King.  Glebe^  3b.  20p.  English.  Proxy,  6s.  Taxed  in 
the  King's  books,  by  the  name  of  Dougoury,  £1  sterling.  Inc. 
Hon.  Richard  Southwell,  a.b.     [Hingston.J 

Richard  Southwell  (fifth  son  of  Sir  Thomas  Southwell,  who 
was  created  Babok  Southwell  in  1717),  was  born  on  27th 
September,  1707,  in  Dublin,  and  entered  T.C.D.  on  28th  April, 
1722. 

Prom  May  to  July,  in  1735,  ho  was  R.  Killeagh  ;  from  1735 
to  1784  R.  Igtermurragh  and  Kilcredan  ;  and  from  1742  to 

1784  R.  Dungourney. 

In  17G4  he  married  Jane  Kenah,  of  Castlemartyr.  [Cloyne 
Mar.  Bonds.]     He  died  in  1784. 

1785.  January  19.  Hobaob  Townsend,  R.  Dungourney,  per  mortem 
Hon.  R.  Southwell.  [P.F.]  On  letters  patent  of  5th  August, 
1784.  [Lib.  Mun.]  In  1803  Townsend  became  R.  Carrig- 
aline,  Cork,  q.  y. 

1785.  Protestant  population,  6.     [Townsend.] 

1786.  June  9.  Fbancib  Obpen,  R.  Dungourney.  [r.F.]  On  let- 
ters patent  of  April  1.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

1805.  Three  Protestant  families  in  Dungourney  parish. 
fArchb.  Brod.] 

F.  Orpen  (youngest  son  of  Rev.  Thomas  Orpen,  of  Killowen,  co. 
Kerry,  by  Agnes  Herbert — vide  Burke's  L.  G.  edition  of  1850, 
vol.  i.  page  978 — article,  Obpen  of  Glanebough),  was,  on  17th 
April,  1771,  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Rathcony  Cork  ;  and  to 
that  of  St.  Peter's,  Cork,  on  1st  May,  1773.  He  held  the  lat- 
ter curacy  for  many  years,  and  was,  on  leaving  it,  presented 
with  a  valuable  testimonial  by  his  parishioners.     He  was,  from 

1785  to  1786,  R.  V.  Kilcully,  Cork;  from  1786  to  1805,  R. 
Dungourney;  and  also  held  to  his  death  in  1805  the  R.  Kil- 
gorvan,  Ardfert  diocese.  He  was  also  Curate  of  Carrigaline, 
Cork,  for  some  time. 

He  married,  on  2l8t  March,  1780,  Susanna,  dau.  and  co-heir 
of  Alderman  Hugh  Millerd,  of  Cork,  by  whom  he  had  issue 
three  sons  and  three  daughters,  for  whom  vide  Burke's  L.  G. 
The  eldest  surviving  son  is  RionARD-JonN-THEODOBE  Orpen, 
esq.,  of  ArdtuUy,  Kenmare ;  and  of  Dublin. 

The  Rev.  Francis  Orpen  died  on  15th  July,  1805;  and  was 
buried  at  Upper  Shandon,  Cork,  in  the  vault  of  the  Millerd 
family. 

[1805.  August  15.  Arthur  Hyde  is  presented  by  the  Crown 
to  the  Rectory  of  Dungourney.  [Lib.  Mun.]  Vice  Orpen, 
deceased.     He  was  not  instituted.] 

1807.  Presentation  suspended  and  in  dispute  between  the 

Crown  and  Mr.  Fitzgerahl.     The  duties  are  performed  by  the 

Curate,  Rev.  Charles  Adams,  at  a  salary  of  £60  per  an.     Ho 

resides  in  the  glebe-house.    [Rep.  1807.] 

1808.  July  7.  Matthew  Pubcbll,  R.  Dungourney,  vice  Orpen,  who 


CLOTNB.]  DUHaOUBKBY.  195 

held  it  for  nineteen  years,  and  vacated  by  death   in  1805. 
[F.F.]     He  was  also  K.  Bruhenny,  q.  v. 

1830.  Protestant  population,  115. 

1837.  Dun^ourney,  a  rectory,  with  care,  5  miles  long  by  3 
broad,  containing  8,  i86Ai  Or.  26p.  Gross  population,  2,640. 
One  Curate  employed,  at  an  annual  stipend  of  £69  As.  7^ 
British,  with  a  house,  and  twelve  and  a-half  acres  of  glebe, 
subject  to  a  rent  of  £3  13«.  lO^d.  Tithe  composition,  £664 
128.  3^.  12^  acres  of  glebe,  valued  at  40«.  per  acre,  £25. 
Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  5«.  id, ;  diocesan  schoolmaster, 
£1  58.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident;  he 
resides  on  his  other  benefice  in  this  diocese.  Incumbent  reports 
that  some  otiices  were  built  on  the  glebe,  which  have  been 
fitted  up  and  converted  into  a  dwelling-house  at  the  expense 
of  the  present  Incumbent  and  his  Curate,  by  the  latter  of  whom 
it  is  occupied ;  and,  although  sufficient  for  the  accommodation 
of  a  small  family,  Incumbent  states  that  a  better  house  is 
wanting.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating  200  persons, 
built  about  the  year  1800,  by  means  of  a  gift  of  £461  lOs.  9^. 
British,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits.  No  charge 
on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  ser- 
vice is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  fes- 
tivals. The  sacrament  is  administered  six  times  in  the  course 
of  the  year.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory.  Patron,  Major  Fitz- 
gerald. [Pfetrl.  Rep.] 
1845.  July  18.  William  Wilson,  a.m.,  R.  Dungoumey,  per  mor- 
tem PurccU.  [D.R.]  Edward  Wilson,  esq.,  patron.  It  was 
vacated  9th  June,  1845. 

I860.  Church  and  glebe-house  in  order.  12  acres  of  land  in 
Rector's  use.  Divine  service  twice  on  Sundays,  and  once  on 
the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly ;  average  of  com- 
municants about  12.  No  school.  Protestant  population,  39. 
The  rent-charge  is  £498  9«.  The  land  is  worth  £12.  Total, 
£510  9s.  per  annum. 

W.  Wilson  (third  son  of  the  late  Joseph  Wilson,  esq.,  of 
Ballycrana,  by  Eliza  Courtenay),  graduated  a.b.,  T.C.D.,  in  1838, 
and  A.M.  in  1841.  He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Limerick  on 
2l8t  December,  1838,  and  Priest  on  20th  May,  1839,  at  Cork. 
On  19th  Dec.  1840,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  St.  Peter's, 
Cork. 

He  married,  on  12th  April,  1853,  Elisabeth,  dan.  of  John 
Besnard,  esq.,  of  Cork,  j.p.,  and  has  issue  five  children. 


VOL.  II.  •  0  2 


196  FABBAHYy  DEAK8.  [CLOTKE. 


FARRAHY,  Dbans. 

1225.  The  Dean  and  Chapter  of  Cloyne  are  mentioned  in  records  of 
this  year.     [Prynne's  Records,  vol.  ii.  402.] 

1251.  ''Magistee  Gilbebtus,  Decanus  Clone,"  appears  in  1251; 
and  in  1252  G.  decanus  appears.  [Caulfield's  Pipe  Roll,  pp. 
17  and  54.] 

1262.  "  M."  appears  as  Dean.    [Caulfield's  Pipe  Roll,  p.  29.] 

1277.  OMUNaAN  was  Dean  in  this  year,  as  appears  from  a  deed 
("  Datum  apud  Balycot3m,  die  Sabbati  proximo  ante  Nativita- 
tem  Beati  Johannis  Baptistss,  anno  Domini  M.CC.lxx.  septi- 
mo"),  in  which  the  Bishop  of  Cloyne,  with  consent  of  the  Dean 
and  Chapter,  leases  "  unam  villam  terrse  qusB  yocatur  Balyban" 
to  "  dilectissimo  Simoni  Omungan,  filio  Decani  Clone."  [Caul- 
field's Pipe  Roll,  p.  37.] 

1291.  "  P'benda  Decani  Clon'  Magri  Phi'  Segpa.  Oapella  de  Carry- 
gogmach  taxat'  ad  Vllmr.  unde  decima  IXs.  Illld.  JurisdiccQ 
ejusdem  Xs.  unde  decia  Xlld."  [Tax.  P.  Nic]  Segda  appears 
also  in  1302,  in  the  taxation  of  Pope  Boniface. 

1317.  Charles  O'Donchada  was  Dean.  His  death,  on  13th  Oct., 
1317,  is  thus  noticed: — "Hoc  anno  3.  id.  Oct.  Dus.  Carolus 
O'Donchada  Decanus  Clonensis  quievit,  qui  fuit  vir  magnse 
litteraturaE^  et  magni  nominis  in  tota  Momonia,  et  de  cujus  niorte 
tota  Ecclesia  Hibemicana  passa  est  magnum  dampuum  et 
jacturam."  [MS.  T.C.D.  F.  1. 18.]   In  1291  he  was  P.  Snbulter. 

1320.  "John,  Dean  of  Cloyne,"  appears.     [Plac.  Rot.  Com.  Banc] 

1324-1330.  "Jo  Le  Blound  dec.  Eccl'.  Sti.  Colman.  Clonen." 
[MS.  T.C.D.  F.  1.  18.] 

He  was  elected  Bishop  of  Cork  in  1326,  but  was  not  conse- 
crated.    [Ware.] 

1348.  Johannes  Went,  Decanus  Clonen,  appears  in  Pipe  Roll 
[Caulfield's  Pipe  Roll,  p.  43.] 

1351.  In  this  year  John  Whittock,  Dean  of  Cloyne,  was  made 
Bishop  of  Cloyne.    [King's  Collect.,  p.  102.]  He  died  in  1361. 

1359.  John  Went  is  Dean.     [Cod.  Clar.  46.] 

1367.  John  Cantok  is  Dean.  [Cod.  Clar.]  In  the  year  1368,  "apud 
Clenor  die  dominico  proximo  ante  festum  Sancti  Colmani," 
John  Cantok,  Decanus  Ecclcsisa  Clonen,  is  witness  to  homage 
(with  "  servitium  i.  lib'  cerae")  done  to  the  Bishop  by  a  tenant 
under  the  see.  [Caulfield's  Pipe  Roll,  page  49.]  Cantok  died 
in  1376.     [Cod.  Clar.] 

1376.  Thomas  Striker  is  Dean.     [Cod.  Clar.] 

1402.  May  9.  M agister  Eugenius,  Decanus  (Uone,  is  present,  and 
attests  a  deed,  signed  in  tlie  vestibule  "  Fratruni  minorum 
Bothon."     [Pipe  Roll,  p.  55.'] 

1512.  Thadetts  O'Keefve  is  Dean.  [Cod.  Clar.,  as  quoted  by  Cotton.] 

1529.  Dayid  James  Fitzoebald  is  Dean.    [Cod.  Clar.,  Cotton.] 


CLOTNB.]  FABBAUT,  DEANS.  197 

1535.  James  Fitzwilliam,  Dean  of  Cloyne,  is  mentioDed  in  a  war- 
rant of  Hen.  VIII.  (dated  2l8t  May,  1535),  in  which  the  Dean's 
nephew.  Master  Edmund,  is  nominated  to  the  Bishoprick  of 
Cloyne  and  Cork.  [Cat.  MSS.  Harl.  Cole.] 
1538  and  1555.  Edward  Fitzjahes  Fitzqebald  appears  as  Dean. 
[Memorand.  Boll  Exchequer,  and  Sarsfield  MSS.] 

1542.  "St.  Nicholas'  Priory  in  citty  Exonie— 33  Hen VIII. 
— C.  R.  0.  [Chancery  Eolls  Office  1]  Custod.  of  Corkybegge 
(Corkbeg),  Hayfada(Aghada),and  Ballycornery  (Ballygoumey), 
in  Munster,  was  granted  to  Edward  Jacobi  de  Geraldine,  Dean 
of  Cloyne."     [Ferguson's  MSS.,  vol.  i.,  386  and  397.] 

Edward,  or  Edmund,  Fitzgerald  is  stated  to  have  been  the  son 
of  James,  the  son  of  Richard,  the  son  of  the  Knight  of  Kerry. 
The  Dean  had  three  sons — Edmond  Oge,  G^rrald  Fitzedmund, 
and  Sir  John  Fitzedmund  Fitzgerald,  of  Cloyne  (the  usurper  of 
the  Episcopal  lands,  «Ji2c.,  in  1615),  who  married  Katherine,  dau. 
of  Teiguo  O'Brien,  brother  to  Donooh,  Eabl  of  Thomond.  From 
Sir  John  Fitzgerald  descended  the  family  of  Fitzgeralds  of 
Cloyne,  county  Cork. 
1560.  January  27.  William  Fltnnb  is  nominated  to  the  deanery 
of  Cloyne,  in  the  donation  of  the  Crown  pleno  jure.  [Pat  RoU 
Morrin,  vol.  1.,  p.  440.] 
1591.  ''  JoHEs  Edmundi,  Decanus,  Clonen.  E.  de  Beamy  als  Farihy 
pertinet  ad  Decanum."  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.]  "E.  do  May- 
feith  spectat  ad  Decanatum."     [lb.] 

In  Feb.,  1602,  Sir  John  Fitzedmund  Fitzgerald  entertained 
the  Lord  Deputy  at  Cloyne.     [Tuckey.  Cork  Remem.,  p.  71.] 

[He  died  1612.  Rot  Pat  10.  James  I.] 
1612.   Feb.  14.   Thomas  Winter  is  presented  to  the  deanery  of 
Cloyne.     [Lib  Mun.  and  Pat.  Rolls.] 

1615.  '^  Thomas  Winter,  A.M.,  minister  et  predicator,  nunc 
mortuus.  Valor.  20  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  Cathedralis  in  bono 
statu.  Decanus  nullum  habet  domum  spectantem  ad  banc 
dignitatem.  Johes  Fitzgerald,  miles,  p' usurpationem  tenuit  non 
solum  domus  et  mansiones,  sed  etiam  terras  et  possessiones 
Episcopi  et  Dignitariorum."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1615.  Farrihie—Prebenda  Decani.     [R.V.  R.LA.] 

T.  Winter  was,  from  1608  to  1614,  Treasurer  of  Cashel;  and 
from  1609  to  1614,  Precentor  of  Waterford  and  Lismore.     He 

was  also  Archdeacon  of  Derry  from 1  to  1612  ;  and  from 

1612  to  1615,  Dean  of  Cloyne.     Ho  died  in  1615. 
1615.  August  25.  Edward  Clerke,  Dean  of  Cloyne.     [F.F.]     In- 
stalled 1st  September,  1615  [R.V.  1634.1  per  mortem  Winter. 

"  Decanatus,  valet  25  li  per  an.  Ed.  Clerke,  Decan.  E.  de 
fl^rrihie  spectsit  ad  decanum."     [R.V.  1634.] 

Edward  Clerke,  a.m.,  was  ordained  Priest  by  the  Bishop  of 
Lincoln,  on  24th  June,  1601. 

From  1615  to  1640  he  was  Dean  of  Cloyne.    He  was  also. 


198  PABBAHT,  DKAN0.  [CLOYNB. 

from  1615  to  1623,  P.  Killanully,  Cork  ;  from  1615  to  1624, 
R.  Murragh,  Cork  ;  from  1615  to  1640,  V.  KiDneigb,  Cork; 
and  from  3629  to  1640,  R.  Kilmichael,  Cork. 

Ho  died  in  1640.  His  will  was  dated  6th  May,  1635,  and 
proved  in  Dublin  18th  Nov.,  1640.  He  left  issue  by  bis  wife 
Elisabeth  two  sons,  Edward  and  John;  and  four  daughters, 
Elisabeth,  wife  of  John  Freddy;  Emma,  Bridget,  and  Thomasina. 
[U.O.] 
1640.  April  3.  Michael  Boyle,  Decanus.  [F.F.]  On  letters  patent, 
dated  March  30,  1640.     [Lib.  Mun.l 

Michael  Boyle  (eldest  son  of  Micuael,  Bishop  of  Cork^  and 
afterwards  Archbishop  of  Tuam),  was,  from  1637  to  1661,  11. 
Clonpriost ;  from  1637  to  1678,  P.  Desertmore,  Cork  ;  from 
1640  to  1661,  Dean  of  Cloyne,  and  R.  Shandrum  ;  from  1660 
to  1663,  Bishop  of  Cork,  Cloyne,  and  Rosa;  from  1663  to  1678, 
Archbishop  of  Dublin  ;  and  from  1678  to  1702,  Archbishop  of 
Armagh  and  Primate  of  all  Ireland. 

He  was  Chaplain-General  to  the  Army  in  the  province  of 
Munster  during  the  rebellion,  with  an  allowance  of  20s.  per 
day;  and  was  plundered  by  the  rebels  of  property  to  the  value 
of  £565.     [MS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  17.] 

He  married,  firstly,  Margaret,  dau.  of  Dr.  George  Syuge, 
Bishop  of  Cloyne,  by  whom  lie  had  a  daughter,  Martha,  but 
had  the  misfortune  to  lose  both  wife  and  daughter  by  shipwreck, 
in  1641.  He  married,  secondly,  Mary,  dau.  of  Dermot,  Lord 
Inohiquin,  by  Ellin,  dau.  of  Sib  Edward  Fitzgerald,  of  Cloyne. 
He  had  by  her,  inter  alioa,  a  son,  Murrough,  who  was  created 
Viscount  Blesinton.  Vul€  Lodge's  Peerage,  edition  of  1754, 
Tol.  i.,  pages  73  and  74. 
1661.  April  10.  Henricub  Rugo  institutns  per  Itras  pat'  Dccan' 
cum  reef  de  Clonpriest  unit'  p'  hac  vice  decan';  et  per  easdeni 
Itras  pat'  P.  et  Vic.  de  Kilmadonogh  unit'  p'  hac  vice  decanatui. 
Rex  est  patron'  decan'  et  R.  et  V.  Kilmodonogh,  sed  Preb.  de 
Kilmodonogh  est  in  coll'  Epi.     [V.B.  1669.] 

1669.  June  3.  A  lease  of  the  manse  lioi^e  of  Farraghee, 
made  by  the  Dean  to  George  Arnold  for  twenty-one  years,  at 
40«.  per  ann.  (in  consideration  of  said  Arnold's  having  expended 
12  li.  in  building  the  same,  and  inclosing  the  land),  was  con- 
firmed by  the  Chapter  of  Cloyne.     [Chapter  Book.] 

Henry  Rugg  was  ordained  Deacon  and  Priest  by  the  Bishop 
of  Cork  on  24th  May,  1628;  and  on  20th  Sept.  1631,  wtis  ad- 
mitted one  of  the  Fellows  of  the  College  of  the  B.V.M.  de 
Youghall.     [R.V.  1634.] 

From  1637  to  1661  he  was  Vicar  Choral,  Cloyne,  and  K. 
Igtermurragh;  and  from  1638  to  1671  was  a  Vicar  Choral  of 
Ross.  He  was  also  from  1640  to  1661,  P.  Cahirultan;  from 
1661  to  1663,  P.  Kilmacdonogh;  from  1661  to  1671,  R.  Clon- 
priest, and  Dean  of  Cloyne;  from  1662  to  1666,  P.  Dromda- 


OLOTHB.]  FABBAHT,  DSAK8.  199 

league,  Cork;  from  1664  to  1669,  Vicar  Choral  of  Cloyne;  and 
from  1669  to  1671,  R.  Bohillane  and  Kilmahon. 

The  Dean  was  plundered  by  the  rebels  in  1641  of  property 
to  the  amount  of  £1,928.     [MS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  17.] 

Dean  Rugg  had  issue  (by  his  wife,  Sarah,  relict  of 

Smith),  two  sons,  John,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  q.  v.;  and  Thomas, 
who  was  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Cloyne,  in  1663. 

The  Dean  was  buried  in  Cloyne  Cathedral,  under  the  south 
end  of  the  communion  table,  in  June,  1671. 
1671.  August  3.  William  Fitzgeeald,  Dean  of  Cloyne,  and  R.  Clon- 
priest.      [F.F.]     On  letters  patent,   dated  July   13.      [Lib. 
Mun.] 

In  1672,  May  30,  he  took  the  chapter  oath;  and  in  1678, 
January  9,  was  (with  three  others),  chosen  Guardian  of  the 
Spiritualities,  on  the  death  of  Edward,  Bishop  of  Cork,  Cloyne, 
and  Ross.     [C.B.]     Ho  was  attainted  by  James  II.  in  1689. 

William  Fitzgerald  was  the  eldest  son  of  John  Fitzgerald, 
who  was  Dean  of  Cork  from  1628  to  1641.  Dean  John  Fitz- 
gerald could  not,  however,  have  died  in  1641,  as  I  have  stated 
on  the  authority  of  Cotton.  On  referring  to  Lodge  (edition  of 
1754,  vol.  i.,  page  73),  I  find  that  ho  states  that  the  Dean's 
%v}fe  died  in  Bristol,  in  1641.  The  matriculation  book  of  T.C.D. 
states  that  William  and  John,  the  first  and  the  second  sons  re- 
spectively of  "  Gerald,  decani  Corcag.,"  were  born  in  Cork,  and 
entered  as  Pensioners  on  22nd  June,  1660,  being  aged,  the  elder 
nineteen,  the  younger  seventeen  years.  They  must,  if  this 
entry  of  their  matriculation  be  correct,  have  been  sons  of  Dean 
John  Fitzgerald,  by  a  second  wife. 

W.  Fitzgerald  was  from  1661  to  1669,  P.  Kilmacdonogh; 
and  from  1669  to  1691,  P.  Tipper,  Dublin.  He  was  also,  from 
1663  to  1671,  V.  Clondrohid;  and  from  1671  to  1691,  Dean  of 
Cloyne,  R.  Ardagh  and  Clonpriest;  and  from  1675  to  1692, 
Archdeacon  of  Ross,  and  R.  V.  Clondrohid. 

From  1691  to  his  death  in  1722  he  was  Bishop  of  Clonfert. 

"  William  Fitzgerald,  d.d..  Dean  of  Cloyne,"  married,  in  1688, 
Letitia  Cole,  of  Dublin,  spinster.  [Dublin  Marriage  Licence,  1st 
July.]  The  Dean  married,  also,  Mary,  relict  of  Boyle  May- 
nard,  esq.,  and  second  daughter  of  Sir  Heney  Tynte,  by  Ma- 
bella,  dau.  of  Sir  Percy  Smith,  of  Ballynatray.  By  her  the 
Dean  had  no  issue,  but  whether  she  was  his  first  or  second  wife 
I  cannot  say. 
1691.  Sept.  4.  Henry  Scardeville,  b.d.,  is  appointed  Dean.  [Lib. 
Mun.]  But  he  was  not  instituted  for  some  years ;  and  from 
1691  to  1694,  Mr.  Rowland  Davies  acted  as  Sub-dean. 

1693.  Nov.  14.  The  Precentor,  John  Patrickson,  was  elected 
President  by  fifteen  members  of  the  Chapter,  decano  abserUe. 
[Chapter  Book.] 

1694.  '*  The  parish  of  Farrahie,  belonging  to  the  Dean,  worth 


200  FARBAHT,  DEAH8.  [OOUynTB. 

30  pounds.  Bfr.  Henry  Scardeville,  Chaplain  to  present  DuKS 
SoHOMBEBQ,  obtained  a  patent  some  yean  ago  for  the  deanery, 
bat  never  came  hither  to  exhibit  his  patent,  nor  to  be  installed, 
nor  to  take  institution  from  the  Bp.  for  a  living  he  holds  with 
his  deanery,  as  required  to  do,  but  excuses  himself  that  he  is 
in  his  Majesty*8  service  in  England,  and  that  Lord  Canterbury 
has  writ  to  Lords  Justices  in  his  behalf.  Dominus  Rex  patro- 
nus.     Ecclesia  in  ruina — lapsa."     [Palliser.] 

1695.  August  2.  Dean  Scardeville  was  instituted.  [D.B.] 
He  took  the  chapter  outb  on  8th  August     [Chapter  Book.] 

Dean  Scardeville  gave  to  Cloyne  Cathedral  one  large  silver 
ohalice  and  a  paten.     [D.R.] 

Henry  Scanieville  (bom  at  Salisbury,  and  educated  at  Rep- 
ton),  entered  T.C.D.  when  nineteen  years  old,  on  24th  April, 
1673,  and  graduated  afterwards  b.d. 

He  was  Chaplain  to  Field  Marslial  the  Duke  of  Schombebo. 
From  1681  to  1685  he  was  R.  Cloghran,  Swords,  Dublin;  from 
1682  to  1703,  P.  Swords,  Dublin;  from  1691  to  17C3,  Dean  of 
Cloyne,  and  V.  Clondrohid;  and  from  1693  to  his  death  in  1703 
he  was  Archdeacon  of  Ross. 

The  family  history  of  Di>an  Scardeville  is  best  told  by  the 
inscriptions  on  a  mural  tablet,  and  on  a  tombstone  in  the 
chancel  of  Swords  Church,  copies  of  which  were  kindly  fur- 
nished by  Rev.  Thomas  Twigg,  the  Incumbent. 

"  Here  lyeth  ye  body  of  ye  Rev.  Henry  Scardevile,  Dean  of 
Cloyn,  Archdeacon  of  Rosse,  Prebendary  and  Vicar  of  Swords, 
who  departed  this  life  ye  3rd  of  February,  1703;  together  with 
ye  body  of  his  first  wife,  Mary,  ye  daughter  of  the  Hon.  Colonel 
Guy  Molesworth,  of  London,  [The  Dean  was  married  in 
December,  1682,  M.  L.  Dublin.]"  who  died  in  childbed,  and 
left  no  issue.  He  also  married  Margrety,  daughter  of  Robert 
Culliford,  of  Encoomb,  in  the  county  of  Dorsetshire,  esq.,  who 
lies  interred  at  Thistleworth,  in  Middlesex,  by  whom  he  had 
issue  a  son  and  a  daughter,  viz.,  Frederick  Maynbard,  and 
Elisabeth. 

"Here  also  lieth  the  body  of  Elisabeth  Scardevile,  his 
daughter,  who  departed  this  life  the  4th  day  of  May,  1704." 

Dean  Scardeville  is  said  to  have  repaired  the  old  round  tower 
at  Swords.  He  left,  bv  will,  £100  for  teaching  the  Protestant 
children  of  Swords,  which  bequest  seems  never  to  have  been 
paid.  His  executor,  Mr.  John  Scardeville,  was  sued  for  it  by 
direction  of  the  Swords  Vestry,  in  1731,  and  he  appears  to  have 
handed  over  in  lieu  thereof  a  lease  M^hich  he  held  from  the 
Dean  and  Chapter  of  St.  Patrick's,  of  the  tithes  of  the  parish 
of  Killeek.  That  lease  was  afterwards  made  over  to  the  Curate 
of  Swords,  Rev.  Alexander  Eustace;  and  the  parish  of  Swords 
has  had  no  benefit  from  the  bequest  of  Dean  Scardeville  since 
the  year  1774. 


CLOTNB.]  FABRAHT,  DEANS.  201 

1704.  July  20.  ThoMAs  Dban,  a.m.,  Dean.      [F.P.]     On  letters 
patent  of  March  9,  1703/4.     [Lib.  Man.] 

He  attended  chapter  meetings  on  4th  August,  1704,  and  on 
18th  Sept.  1705.  [C.B.]  He  was  "  Proctor  Cleri  Waterford" 
to  Convocation,  in  1704. 

Thomas  Deane  was  born  in  Cardiff,  Glamorganshire,  and  was 
son  of  Reverend  Richard  Deane.  He  was  educated  at  Dublin, 
and  entered  T.C.D.  when  seventeen  years  old  on  29th  August, 
1662,  was  a  Scholar  in  1663,  and  afterwards  graduated  d.d. 

He  was  from  1668  (?)  to  1713,  P.  Cloneamery,  Ossory;  from 
1677  to  1713,  R.  Callan;  from  1681  to  1713,  V.  Callan,  Ossory; 
from  1686  to  1713,  Treasurer  of  Waterford;  and  from  1704  to 
1713,  Dean  of  Cloy  no. 

He  married,  in  1691,  Anne  Booth,  of  Dublin,  spinster  [M. 
L.  Dublin,  28tli  April],  He  had  issue  (as  appears  by  his  will, 
dated  17th  June,  1713,  and  proved  at  Dublin  in  1714),  a  son, 
Richard  (who  had  a  son,  William),  and  five  daughters,  Con- 
stance, Anne  (wife  of Phillips),  Mary,  Sarah,  and  Alice. 

[U.O.] 

1713.  Dec.  23.  Robert  Sess,  d.d.,  was  presented  to  the  deanery. 
[Lib.  Mun.] 

On  20th  May,  1714,  Dr.  Robert  Sess  was  admitted  Dean  of 
St.  Colman's,  Cloyne,  on  exhibiting  the  Queen*8  letters  patent, 
and  took  the  chapter  oath.     [C.B.J 

He  received  a  second  patent  (having  omitted  to  sign  the  Act 
of  Uniformity)  on  12th  August,  1714.  [Lib.  Mun.]  Sess  re- 
signed the  deanery  in  Cloyne,  in  1714,  and  retained  his  other 
living  of  Whitechurch,  q.  v. 

1714.  Sept.  21.  Thomas  Stmcocks,  a.m..  Dean.     [D.R.]     He  was 
also  P.  Cahirultan,  q.  v. 

On  9th  Sept.  1714,  he  took  the  chapter  oath.  He  appears 
for  the  last  time  at  a  chapter  meeting  on  13th  Nov.  1717. 
[C.B.] 

Dean  Symcocks  resigned  in  1718,  and  received  the  V.  White- 
church. 
1718.  April  3.  JosiAH  Hort  is  presented  to  the  deanery.  [Lib.  Mun.] 

There  is  no  notice  of  Hort  in  the  chapter  book,  excepting 
that  his  absence  is  remarked  on  5th  June  and  13th  Nov.  1718. 

Josiah  Hort  (son  of  John  Hort,  esq.,  of  Markfield,  county 
Gloucester),  was  born  in  Gloucestershire,  and  was  educated  at 
Clare  Hall,  Cambridge,  but  took  no  degree  there.  He  came  to 
Ireland  in  1709  as  Chaplain  to  the  Lord  Lieutenant,  the  Mar- 
quess of  Wharton. 

He  was  from  1709  to  1721,  R.  Kilskier,  Meath;  from  1718 
to  1720,  Dean  of  Cloyne;  from  1719  to  1721,  R.Louth,  Armagh; 
from  1720  to  1721,  Dean  of  Ardagh;  from  1721  to  1727, 
Bishop  of  Ferns  and  Leighlin;  from  1727  to  1741,  Bishop  of 
Kilmore  and  Ardagh;  and  from  1741  to  1751,  Archbishop  of 


202  FABSAHT,  DEANS.  [OLOTNE. 

Tuam,  &c.  He  died  on  14th  December,  1751,  and  was  buried 
at  St.  George's,  Dablin.  For  his  marriage  and  issue,  vicle 
Burke's  Peerage  and  Baronetage — article,  Sib  Josiah  Hort. 
1720.  June  22.  Henry  Maule  is  appointed  Dean.  [Lib.  Mun.] 
He  was  instituted  August  15,  1720.  fF.F.]  He  took  the 
chapter  oath  on  17th  Nov.  1720.     f O.B.J 

Dean  Maule  gave  the  site  of  the  Green  Coat  Hospital  to  the 
parish  of  St.  Mary,  Shandon,  Cork,  in  1715.  And  he  gave  to 
Cloyne  Cathedral  (when  Dean)  one  silver  paten,  weighing 
17oz.  and  17dwt3.,  with  a  blue  cushion  for  the  chapter  house. 
[D.ll.]  For  his  gift  of  church  plate  he  received  the  thanks  of 
the  Chapter  on  May  28,  1724.     [C.B.] 

On  ^larch  21, 1721,  Dean  Maule  granted  an  acre  of  land,  at 
Farrahy,  for  an  English  schoolmaster  to  teach  the  English 
tongue;  and  on  March  28,  1722, conveyed  to  William  Philpott 
and  Lie  well  in  Nash  an  acre  of  glebe  land  at  Farrahy,  with  a 
slate  house  thereon,  for  a  Protestant  schoolmaster.  [Lib. 
Mun.]  N.B. — Some  remains  of  this  house  existed  in  the 
time  of  Lord  Mountmorres. 

1722.  Nov.  15.  The  Dean's  conveyance,  of  one  acre  of  Far- 
raghie  glebe  for  the  use  of  a  resident  Protestant  schoolmaster, 
is  ordered  to  be  registered  in  the  chapter  book  of  Cloyne. 
[C.B.] 

Ileniy  Maule  (eldest  son  of  William  Maule,  esq.,  Comptroller 
of  the  Customs,  Dublin,  by  Jane,  eldest  dau.  of  Roger  West, 
esq.,  of  The  Rock,  county  Wicklow),  was  ordained  Priest  on  18th 
June,  1699,  by  the  Bishop  of  Clo3me,  in  the  Chapel  of  Trinity 
College,  Dublin. 

From  1702  to.  1719  he  was  P.  Lackeen;  from  1702  to  17—? 
R.  Mallow;  in  1703  and  1704  was  R.  Templeroan,  and  P.  0. 
Doneraile;  from  1702  to  1726,  R.  Mourneabbey;  from  1706  to 
1726,  R.  St.  Mary,  Shandon,  Cork;  and  from  1720  to  1726, 
Dean  of  Cloyne.  From  1726  to  1731  he  was  Bishop  of  Cloyne; 
from  1731  to  1744, Bishop  of  Dromore;  and  from  1744  to  1758, 
Bishop  of  Meath. 

He  married,  firstly,  Lady  Anne  Barry,  daughter  of  Richard, 
second  Earl  of  Barrymore.  By  her  he  had  two  sons,  Capt. 
Thomas  Maule,  who  died  unmarried;  and  James,  who  married, 
in  1727,  the  Lady  Elisabeth  Barry,  daughter  of  James,  Earl 
of  Barrymore,  and  died  in  1749.  He  had  also  by  his  first 
wife  two  daughters,  Anne  (wife  of  John  Coghlan,  esq.,  of  Ban- 
don,  mother  of  Rev.  Henry  Coghlan,  of  the  King's  county,  R. 
Tessauran,  Ac);  and  Dorothy,  wife  of  Rev.  S.  Ricard,  Arch- 
deacon of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

Dean  Maule  married,  secondly,  Catherine,  dau.  of  Sir  Richard 
RooTH,  and  relict  of  William  Stawell,  of  Kinsalc.  He  married, 
thirdly,  in  1725,  Dorothy  Rofifen,  of  Rossmore,  widow.  [Cloyne 
Mar.  Donds.]    She  was  the  relict  of  Rev.  R.  Roffen,  P.  Cahir- 


CLOTHS.]  FABBAHT,  DEAK8.  203 

\&g,  Cork,  q.  V.     He  had  do  issne  by  his  second  and  third 
marriages. 

He  died  on  13th  April,  1758,  at  Ardbraccan,  Meath,  and  was 
bnried  there,  in  the  tomb  of  Bishop  Montgomery.  For  his 
works  and  charities,  vide  the  Bishops  of  Cloyne.  For  his  line- 
age, vide  Lodge's  Peerage,  vol.  ii.,  page  182,  «S^c.,  under  Maule, 
Earl  Panhube. 
1726.  October  26.  James  Ward,  a.m..  Dean.  [F.F.j  The  Queen's 
letter  is  dated  July  6,  and  the  patent  24th  Sept.,  1726.  [Lib. 
Mun.]     He  was  Chaplain  to  Lobd  Carteret,  Lord  Lieutenant. 

Ho  took  the  cha|)tcr  oath  on  17th  Nov.,  1726,  and  attended 
chapter  meetings  constantly  up  to  Sept  4,  1735.     [C.B.] 

He  published  "  A  Sermon,  preached  at  Christchurch,  Dublin, 
on  30th  January,  1724.*'     Dublin.  4to.  1734. 

James  Warde  (fion  of  Isaac  Warde,  esq.,  of  Dublin,  by 
Cordelia,  dau.  of  William  Howard,  esq.),  was  grandson  of 
Richard  Warde,  esq.,  of  Dublin. 

He  entered  T.C.D.  on  24th  January,  1706,  being  then  sixteen 
years  ohl,  and  afterwards  graduated  a.m. 

From  1726  to  1736  he  was  R.  V.  St.  Mary,  Shandon,  Cork, 
and  Dean  of  Cloyne. 

He  married,  in  1730,  Mary  Harris,  of  Glasnevin,  Dublin, 
spinster.  [M.  L.  Dublin,  29th  June.]  He  had  issue  by  her 
a  daughter,  Elisabeth,  baptized  at  St.  Mary,  Shandon,  Cork,  on 
22nd  June,  1731;  and  a  son,  James,  who  was  baptized  in  same 
place  on  13th  Feb.,  1732. 

Dean  Warde  died  on  15th  June,  1736. 

The  following  is  extracted  from  a  letter  of  Dean  Swift's  to 
Lady  E.  Germaine,  date<l  Jnne  15,  1736  : — 

''  His  Grace  hath  now  an  opportunity  to  serve  a  clergyman 
of  great  merit,  Mr.  John  Jackson.  One  Mr.  Ward,  who  died 
this  morning,  had  a  sinecure  of  small  value,  it  was  a  Hedge 
Deanery,  (my  Lord  Duke  will  tell  you  what  I  mean);  we  have 
many  of  them  in  Ireland.  As  it  doth  not  require  being  there 
except  about  a  month  or  two  in  the  year,  although  it  be  but 
of  forty  or  fifty  pounds  yearly  rent,  it  will  be  a  great  ease  to 
him  ;  it  is  the  deanery  of  Cloyne."  [Bennet  MSS.] 
1736.  Oct  2.  Isaac  Goldsmith,  a.m.,  Dean.  [F.F.]  The  patent  is 
dated  24th  Sept.,  1736.  [Lib.  Mun.]  He  took  the  oath  on 
April  14,  1737. .  He  was  a  frequent  attendant  at  meetings  of 
the  Chapter,  and  was  present  for  the  last  time  on  16th  Aug., 
1768.    [C.B.] 

In  1762,  Goldsmith  non-resident.  Value  £60,  out  of  which 
a  Curate  is  paid  £30.     [Hayman  MSS.] 

Isaac  Goldsmith  (son  of  Edward  Goldsmith,  Dean  of  Elphin), 
was  born  at  Elphin,  and  entered  T.C.D.  on  2nd  July,  1719, 
when  only  fourteen  years  old.     He  became  a  Scholar  m  1723. 

He  was  V.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork,  from  1735  to  1769;  and 


20i  FABKIHT,  SEABfl.  [^CXOYBS. 

from  1736  to  1769,  Dean  of  Cloyne ;  from  1741  to  1763,  P. 
Kill&imlly,  Cork  ;  and  from  1763  to  1769,  P.  V.  Lisclery, 
Cork. 

He  married  Mary,  d&n,  of  Richard  Blackbnm,  esq.,  of  Boa- 
common,  by  Jane,  dau.  of  Cbicbester  Phillips,  esq.,  and  Sar&h 
Handcock. 

He  died  in  1769,  and  woa  buried  at  St.  Peter's,  Drogbeda, 
where  hie  tombetone  ia  still  visible,  [Notes  and  Queries,  2nd 
S.,  vol.  xii.,  p.  43.] 

1769.  Angoatie.  William  Pr\tt,  Dean.  [F.F.]  On  letters  patent, 
dated  36th  May,  1769  [Lib.  Mna.],  per  mortem  Qoldaniith. 

William  Pratt  (son  of  Rev.  David  Pratt,  R.  Plumton,  North- 
amptonshire), was  M.A.  of  Wadham  College,  Oxon ;  and  was 
ordkined  Priest  by  the  Abp.  of  Dublin,  at  Swords,  on  13th 
June,  1756. 

From  1761  to  1769  he  was  V,  Desertserges,  Cork  ;  and  from 
1769  to  March  in  1770  (when  he  died  of  ferer,  caujiht  in  the 
discharge  of  his  professional  duties),  he  was  V.  Holy  Trinity, 
Cork,  and  Dean  of  Clojne. 

H«  married,  in  May,  1761,  Alice  Walsh,  spinster,  of  St. 
Werburgb's,  Dublin.     She  was  daughter  of  .  Walsh,  esq., 

of  The  Mounlairu,  Kilkenny. 

Dean  Pratt's  will  was  dated  16tb  March,  1770,  and  proved 
in  Dublin  on  the  2nd  March  following. 

1770.  Angnst  31.  Ettom  Buttb,  Dean,  per  mort  Pratt.   [F-P.]  On 
letters  patent,  dated  21et  April,  1770.     [Lib.  Mun.J 

He  never  attended  any  meetings  of  the  Chapter,  and  in  V.B> 
1772  and  1775  the  deanery  is  said  to  be  vacant  In  the 
chapter  entries,  from  1770  to  1774  the  deanery  is  "  vacant." 
[D.B.  and  O.B.] 

1774.  The  deanery  of  the  cathedral  church  of  St.  Coleman, 
Cloyne,  consists  of  the  entire  rectery  of  Fharihy;  value,  £180 
per  ann.  The  cathedral  and  the  chorob  of  Phariby  are  in 
repair.  Patron,  the  King.  Qlebe  at  Phariby,  23a.  2r.  32p., 
with  a  honse  and  improvements,  together  with  a  small  glebe 
in  Cloyne  ;  proxy,  9s, ;  taxed  in  tlio  King's  Lonlirf,  £3  ster. 
InrumiJeiit  (blunk.)  Curate,  Edwaril  Delany.A.H.  [Ilingston.] 
Hytrin  BuUh  (oldest  son  of  Robert  Butts,  Bishop  of  Ely— wrfe 
Burke's  I..  G. — article,  Botts  of  Camebwoeth),  was  educated 
at  Catherine  HtUl,  Cambridge,  and  in  1776  took  the  degree  of 
—  '-  pQJ>. 

He  *  Fellow  of  Catherine  Hall,  Cambridge,  on  31st 
t,  nd  vaoatod  bis  Fellowship  on  2Jth  .\pril,  1745. 
"'  ■■  al  livtnjtB  tu  Suffolk  and  Cambridgefibire,  one  of 
^Iwoll,  EIr,  hut  exchanged  them  all  for  prefer- 
^^ 

u  Chancellor  of  Ferns  ;  in  175G,  Precentor  of 
'LDwBof  Uloyne;  and  in  1776,  Praoentorof 


CLOTHS.]  FABBAHT,  DEANS.  205 

Waterford.    He  held  all  these  livings  at  his  death  in  the  spring 
of  1779. 

He  was  twice  married,  bat  left  no  issue.  He  was  buried  at 
Wexford,  with  his  first  wife.  His  second  wife,  Catherine,  sur- 
vived him,  and  administered  to  his  will  in  Dublin  in  1782. 
1779.  May  27.  Honourable  John  Hewitt,  Dean.  PF.F.]  On  letters 
patent,  dated  4th  May,  1779.  [Lib.  Mun.J  He  took  the 
chapter  oath  on  26th  July,  1787.  In  1782  and  1783  the 
Chapter  had  great  difficulty  in  renewing  leases,  &c.,  owing  to 
the  absence  of  the  Dean.     [C.B.] 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  of  Parrahy  was  12. 
[Delany.] 

John  Hewitt  (fourth  son  of  the  first  Viscount  Lifford), 
was,  from  1779  to  his  death  on  13th  May,  1804,  Dean  of 
Cloyne. 

He  married  Jane,  daughter  of  Dr.  John  Moore,  of  Dublin, 
and  had  issue  two  daughters,  Mary,  wife  of  Hon.  Major-Qeneral 
Sir  Hbnrt  Einq,  4th  son  of  Robert,  2nd  Earl  of  Kingston  ; 
and  Jane,  wife  of  Acheson  St.  George,  esq.,  of  Woodpark, 
County  Armagh. 
1804.  Oct.  9.  James  Archibald  Hamilton,  d.d.,  Dean,  per  roort. 
Hewitt  [F.F.]  On  letters  patent,  dated  17th  Sept,  1804. 
[Lib.  Mun.] 

He  had  been  educated  at  Armagh  Royal  School.  In  1790 
he  was  appointed  Astronomer  Royal  at  Armagh.  From  1784, 
March  1st,  to  1790,  he  was  Treasurer  of  Armagh  and  R.  V. 
Creggan ;  from  1790  to  1804,  Archdeacon  of  Ross;  and  from 
1804  to  1815,  Dean  of  Cloyne.  He  died  on  21st  Nov.,  1815, 
at  the  Observatory  in  Armagh. 
1816.  July  27.  Alexander  Arbuthnot,  Dean.  [F.F.]  On  let- 
ters patent  of  Feb.  22,  1816.  [Lib.  MunJ  Per  mortem 
Hamilton. 

Alexander  Arbuthnot  was  ordained  Priest  at  Limerick  on 
2nd  Nov.,  1794. 

In  1801  he  was  V.  Annaghdown  and  Eillascobe;  and  in 
1808,  R.  Crossboyne  and  Kilcoleman,  Tuam.  From  1809  to 
1816  he  was  Archdeacon  of  Aghadoe ;  from  1816  to  1823, 
Dean  of  Cloyne  ;  and  from  1823  to  1828,  Bishop  of  Eillaloe. 

He  was  married,  on  5th  May,  1819,  at  St  Peter's,  Dublin, 
by  the  Archbishop  of  Tuam,  to  Margaret  Phcebe  Bingham. 

He  died,  on  9th  January,  1828,  at  Eillaloe,  aged  fifty-nine^ 
and  was  buried  in  the  church-yard  of  that  cathedral 
1823.  Nov.   17.  Thomas  John  Burgh,  a.m..  Dean.    [F.F.]    On 
letters  patent,  dated  25th  Oct.,  1823  [Lib.  Mun.],  vice  Arbuth* 
not,  made  Bishop  of  Eillaloe. 

1830.  Protestant  population,  38. 

1837.  Farrahy,  a  rectory,  with  cure,  3  miles  long  by  2^ 
broad|  containing  4,770  aqres.    Qross  population^  1^937.    One 


206  FABBAHT,  DSASTS.  [OLOTNK. 

Onrate  employed^  at  an  anDoal  stipend  of  £69  is.  7^d.y  British, 
with  the  use  of  the  glebe-house  and  garden.  Tithe  composi- 
tion, £41 0.  22a.  2b.  28^p.  of  glebe,  let  at  a  rent  of  £41  6«.  2d. 
A  small  piece  of  land  in  Clojme,  £2  0«.  Id.  Rent  of  houses, 
£11  158.  Id.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  6s, ;  diocesan 
0choolmaster,  I5s,  Farrahy  glebe-house  in  thorough  repair, 
bnilt  in  1815,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £923  Is.  6^c?., 
Britisli,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  viz.,  £92 
6<.  l^d.  in  way  of  gift,  and  £830  I5s.  4^  in  that  of  loan  ;  of 
which  loan  there  remained  £463  Os,  Id.  chargeable  on  the 
benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £27  5s.  Id. 
Incumbent  is  non-resident;  the  Curate  resides  in  the  glebe- 
honse.  Exclusive  of  the  moneys  aforesaid,  Incumbent  reports 
that  he  has  expended  sums,  the  amount  whereof  is  not  speci- 
fied, out  of  his  own  funds,  on  the  house,  which  are  not  charged 
against  his  successor.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating 
LOO  persons,  rebuilt  in  1720,  but  at  what  cost  unknown.  No 
charge  on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine 
service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal 
festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  four  times  in  the 
year.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory.  The  King  is  patron.  [Pari. 
Rep.] 

T.  J.  Bnrgh,  bom  6th  May,  1786,  was  the  eldest  son  of 
Thomas  Bnrgh,  esq.,  of  Oldtown,  county  Kildare,  by  his  wife, 
Florinda  (Gardiner,  sister  of  Lukb,  Viscount  Moumtjot.  He 
was  educated  at  Porterstown  School,  near  Portarlington  ;  and 
entered  T.C.D.  in  March,  1803,  as  a  Fellow-Commoner.  He  ob- 
tained in  that  university  several  classical  honors  and  a  gold  medal. 

Having  graduated  A.6.,  he  was  ordained  in  1809,  and  was 
some  time  Curate  of  Letterkenny.  From  1815  to  1822  he 
was  v.  Eilbixy,  Meath.  In  1821  he  was  appointed,  by  his 
first-cousin,  W.  P.  Trench,  Archbishop  of  Tuam,  to  the  R.  Bal- 
Hnrobe,  Tuam.  From  1823,  to  his  death  on  4th  Sept.,  1845, 
he  was  Dean  of  Cloyne. 

He  married,  in  May,  1811,  Anna  Louisa,  eldest  dan.  of  the 
Honourable  Francis  Hely  Hutchinson,  brother  to  the  £abl  of 

DOKOGHMORB. 

He  had  issue  by  her,  besides  five  children  who  died  in 
infancy,  five  sons  : — ^Thomas,  who  married  Jane,  only  child  of 
Major  Campbell,  of  Scarva,  county  Monaghan ;  Francis ;  Henry, 
who  married  Elisabeth  Louisa^  dau.  of  Hans  Hendrick,  esq.,  of 
Eerdiffstown,  couuty  Kildare ;  Robert ;  and  George,  who  mar- 
ried Constance,  youngest  dau.  of  Samuel  Matthews,  esq.,  of 
Dublin.  The  Dean  had  also  three  daughters : — Frances,  wife 
of  Samuel  Goold  Adams,  esq.,  of  Jamesbrook,  county  Cork ; 
Florinda,  wife  of  Thomas  Hutchinson  Tristram,  ll.d.,  of  Doc- 
tors Commons ;  and  Charlotte,  wife  of  James  Stuart  Tighe, 
second  son  of  Daniel  Tighe,  esq.,  of  Bosaona. 


CLOTNB.]  FABBAHT,  DEANS. — ^BECTOBS.  207 

Since  the  Dean's  death,  the  family  have  resumed  the  older 
name  of  De  Burgh. 
1845.  Nov.  1.  Right  Honoubablb  Hebyetde  Montmobenoi,  fourth 
Viscount  Mountmobbes,  ll.d.,  was  admitted  Dean  on  letters 
patent  of  28th  Oct,  1845.     p.R.] 

Prom  1787  to  1848  there  is  no  trace  of  the  Deans  of  Cloyne 
taking  any  chapter  oaths ;  and  on  28th  Sept.,  1848,  the  taking 
of  the  oath  was,  after  discussion,  pronounced  illegal.     [C.B.] 

Lord  Mountniorres  published,  "  A  brief  Notice  of  the  Past 
and  Present  Parties,"  &c.     8vo.     London,  1842. 

Hervey  de  Montmorency  (son  of  the  third  Viscount  Mount- 
mobbes), was  born  in  1796.  He  graduated  in  T.C.D.,  a.b.  in 
1826,  and  a.m.  and  ll.d.  in  1849. 

He  resigned  the  Deanery  of  Cloyne  in  January,  1851,  and 
became  Dean  of  Achonry.     .For  his  marriage  and  issue,  vide 
the  Peerage. 
1851.  January  17.  James  Howie,  a.m.,  Dean.     [F.F.]     On  letters 
patent  of  11th  January,  1851. 

On  Oct.  23,  an  Act  of  Council  transferred  the  corps  of  the 
Deanery  from  Farrahy  to  Killeagh,  q.  v. 

Reotobs. 

1851.  Dec.  23.  William  Maziebb  Bbady,  a.m.,  Rector  of  Farrahy. 
[D.R]     On  letters  patent  of  8th  Dec. 

In  1859  he  became,  by  exchange,  V.  Clonfert,  a.  v. 
1859.  March  12.  James  Morton,  a.m.,  Rector  of  Farrahy.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  in  order.  22  acres  of 
glebe  in  Rector's  use.  Divine  service  twice  on  Sundays,  and 
once  on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly,  and  at  fes- 
tivals j  average  of  communicants,  12.  A  school  under  the 
National  Board  of  Education  is  in  this  parish,  of  which  the 
Rector  is  Superintendent.  The  Protestant  population  is  34. 
The  rentcharge  is  £307  10«.  The  land  is  worth  £28.  Total 
value,  £335  10«.  per  an.,  with  residence. 

James  Morton  graduated  a.b.  in  1817,  and  a.m.  in  1832.  He 
was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  29th  Sept.,  1819.  He  was 
for  some  time  Curate  of  Myshall,  Leighlin  ;  and  afterwards  of 
Navan,  county  Meath. 

From  1843  to  1859  he  was  V.  Clonfert. 

He  married,  firstly.  Miss  Jane  Ryall,  by  whom  he  had  issue 
two  sons — James,  in  holy  orders ;  and  George,  also  in  holy 
orders,  who  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cork  on  24th  August, 
1854.  He  had  also  five  daughters: — Dora,  wife  of  Rev.  A. 
Todd,  R.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. ;  Olivia,  who  was  married,  firstly,  on 
1st  Aug.,  1848,  to  George  Wood,  esq. ;  and  secondly,  to  Major 
Robert  Aid  worth,  brother  of  R.  0.  Aid  worth,  esq.,  of  New- 


208  FARBAHT,  HECTORS — FEBMOT.  [CLOTKE. 

market ;  Sopbia,  wife  of  Rev.Thomas  Olden,  Y.  Tullilease,  q.  v. ; 
Helen,  wife  of  Captain  Robert  Knox ;  and  Anne  Susan. 

Rev.  J.  Morton  married,  secondly,  on  28th  Dec.,  1862, 
Lavinia  Mary,  dau.  of  the  late  Henry  A.  Bushe,  esq.,  of  Glen- 
cairn  Abbey,  county  Waterford. 


FERMOT. 

1774.  Fermoy,  an  extra-parochial,  in  the  bar.  of  Condon  and 
Clangibbon.  It  formerly  belonged  to  the  Cistertian  monks. 
Church  in  ruins.  Impropriators,  the  heirs  of  Wm.  Forward, 
esq.     [Kingston.] 

1774.  Donmahon,  an  impropriate  rectory,  in  the  bar.  of  Con- 
don and  Clanj^bbon.  Church  in  ruins.  John  Nason,  esq.,  Im- 
propriator.    [Hingston.] 

1785.  Fermoy  is  impropriate,  and  without  Curates,  No 
return  is  made  of  the  Protestant  inhabitants.     [D*R*] 

1803.  May  11.  An  order  in  Council  unites  the  parishes  of 
Litter,  Fermoy,  and  Downemahon.  [Lib.  Mun.  vol.  ii.,  p.  177.] 

1803.  The  parish  register  begins. 
1803.  June  20.  William  Adair  was  admitted  to  the  union  of  Fer- 
moy, consisting  of  the  impropriate  curacy  of  the  consolidated 
R.  of  Fermoy  and  Dunmahon,  and  R.  V.  Litter,  united  by  Act 
ofCouncil,  inl803.     [P.F.] 

1805.  70  Protestant  fi&milies,  besides  the  military.  [Abp. 
Brod.] 

1806.  Fermoy  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

In  1809  Fermoy  was  certified  to  the  Board  of  First  Fruits, 
as  worth  but  £20  per  an.     [D.R.] 

1810,  Order  of  Council  for  disuniting  the  parishes  of  Litter, 
Fermoy,  and  Dunmahon.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

In  1813  Adair  became  V.  Litter,  q.  v. 
1813.' Dec.  11.  Francis  Jones,  Perpetual  Curate  of  Fermoy.  [D.R.] 
In  1826  Jones  became  R.  Aglishdrinagh,  and  in  1833,  R.  Cas- 
trachore,  q.  v. 

1814.  The  Rev.  William  Adair  left  £1,000  for  schools  in 
Fermoy. 
1827.  Oct.  4.  James  White,  Perpetual  Curate  of  Fermoy.     [F.F.] 
In  1849  White  became  R.  Inchigeelah,  q.  v. 

1830.  Protestant  population,  789. 

1837.  Fermoy :  a  perpetual  cure,  with  spiritual  duties  an- 
nexed, erected  within  the  impropriate  parish  of  that  name, 
2^  miles  long  by  2  broad,  containing  3,319a.  1r.  Cp.  Gross 
population,  7,839.  No  assistant  Curate  employed.  Income 
from  stipend,  payable  by  Impropriator,  £18  9«.  2Jf/.     Aug- 


CLOTNB.]  FERMOT.  209 

mentation  allowance,  payable  by  the  Ecclesiastical  Gommis- 
eioners  out  of  Boulter's  fund,  £73.  4a.  of  glebe,  let  at  70«.  per 
acre,  £14.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  resident,  and  pays 
the  sum  of  £30  a-year  for  house  rent.  One  church,  capable 
of  acconnuo<lating  500  persons,  built  in  1808,  at  the  cost  of 
£5,538  9«.  2^1,  Brit.,  whereof  £2,769  is.  7\d.  was  granted  in 
way  of  loan,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits;  and  the  residue 
of  £2,769  4«.  7\d,  was  raised  by  donations,  principally  from 
John  Hyde,  of  Castlehyde,  and  John  Anderson,  of  Fernioy, 
esquires.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there  remained  £1,772  65.  \d. 
chargeable  on  the  parish  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instal- 
ments of  £70  17«,  8^d,  Divine  service  is  celebrated  twice  on 
Sundays,  and  once  on  the  principal  festivals ;  and,  occasionally, 
for  the  troops  of  the  garrison,  when  required.  The  sacrament 
is  administered  monthly,  and  at  Christmas,  Easter,  and  Whit- 
suntide. The  tithes  of  this  parish,  compounded  for  £591 95.  lOc^. 
are  wholly  impropriate,  and  belong  to  the  representatives  of 
the  late  John  Anderson,  of  Fermoy,  esq.,  who  are  also  the 
Patrons  of  the  curacy.  [Pari.  Rep.J 
1848.  July.  William  Clarke  Walker,  a.b.,  P.  C.  Fermoy. 
[Preacher  s  Book]  In  1861  he  became  P.  Timoleague,Ro8S,  o.  v. 

1859.  A  faculty  was  granted  for  repairing  the  church.  [D.R.] 

1860.  Church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  4  acres  of  glebe 
let.  Divine  service  twice  on  Sundays,  and  once  on  Thursdays 
and  festivals,  in  the  parish  church.  There  is  also  service  in 
the  poorhouse  and  in  the  barracks.  Sacrament  monthly  and 
at  festivals;  average  of  communicants,  96.  The  schools  are 
supported  by  the  Adair  Endowment.  55  boys,  48  girls,  and 
120  infants  (the  average  attendance  being  respectively  23,  28, 
and  66),  are  on  the  rolls.  The  Protestant  population  (includ- 
ing 907  Protestant  soldiers)  is  1,825.  The  income  is  £97  per 
an.  It  arises  from — land,  £6;  from  stipend  payable  by  Im- 
propriator, £18  9«.  2^d.;  from  augmentations,  £73.  Total  in- 
come, without  residence,  £97  9a.  2^d,  The  Incumbent  is,  how- 
ever. Chaplain  to  the  garrison,  and  is  paid  for  his  services. 

1861.  April  21.  Arundel  Hill,  Perpetual  Curate  of  Fermoy. 
[D.B.I 

A.  Ilill  (second  son  of  Arundel  Hill,  esq.,  of  Graig,  county 
Cork,  by  Thomasine,  dau.  of  Sir  James  Laurencb  Cotter, 
baronet),  was  born  at  Rockforest  on  11th  Nov.,  1830.  He 
entered  T.C.D.  on  1st  July,  1847,  and  obtained  a  Hebrew  pre- 
mium.    He  graduated  a.b.  in  1851,  and  a.m.  in  1858. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cork  on  18th  Dec,  1853,  and 
Priest  on  21st  Dec,  1854,  at  Holywood,  by  the  Bishop  of 
Down. 

He  was  Curate  of  Buttevant  from  1853  to  1855.  On  1st 
January,  1855,  he  was  appointed  Curate  of  Fermoy,  which 
post  he  retained  until  made  Incumbent  of  that  parish  in  1861. 

VOL.  II.  p 


210  FEEMOY.— GARRYCLOYNE.  [CLOYNE. 

He  married  on  24th  Marcb,  1859,  FraDces-Elisabetb,  eldest 
dan.  of  Edward  Francis  Stratton  Reader,  esq.,  of  Sandwich, 
Kent  j  and  by  her  (who  has  since  deceased)  had  issue  a  daughter, 
Bertha-Freraoult,  born  at  Fermoy  on  18th  January,  1860. 

Mr.  Hill  married,  secondly,  on  23rd  June,  1863,  Mary- 
Harriett,  dau.  of  the  late  James  Aaron  Roy,  Capt.  Tlst  Light 
In&ntry. 


GARRYCLOYNR 


15 — I  DoHALD  Yeokoallaghak  was  Vicar  of  (Jarrycloyne. 

1579.  John  O'Cbumtn  is  appointed  Vicar,  vice  Veckcallaghan,  de- 
ceased ;  "  vicariam  ])*petuam  de  Garoufcloyn,  Clonen'  dioc', 
oontalit  EpiLs  dno  Joanni  O'Cruniyn,  diet*  dioc*  presbitero, 
•  .  •  1579.  Qusequidemvicariavacabat  per  mortem  donalde 
yeckcallaghan  ultimi  incumbentis.  Phil.  Gold,  Registrar i us.** 
[First  Book  of  Cork  Registry.] 

15 — V  Daniel  Sbtne  was  Vicar. 

1591.  *'  Rectoria  de  Ghircloine  pertinet  ad  hospit*  de  Mora — ^vicaria 
vacat  per  mortem.** — The  name  Daniel  Seyne  being  crossed  out. 
[MS.  T.C.D.  R  3.  U.] 

1612.  Januarys.  Thomas  Dayies,  ''Clericus,  vicarius  de  Garra- 
clone,"  is  a  witness  to  a  document  in  the  first  book  of  Cork 
Registry.     Davies,  in  1618,  became  P.  Inskenny,  q.  y. 

1615.  ''Gkirraclone  Rectoria  impropriata,Cormack  M'Donogh 
Carty  firmarius.  Vicar,  Thomas  Davies,  minister  legens  et 
insenriens  curse.  Val.  4  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  rep&ta.  Cancella 
ruinata.**     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1618.  Dec.  1.  Debicigius  0*Qlavin,  R.  V.  Titeskin  et  V.  Garraclone. 
[F.F.] 

1619.  November  24.  Ludovious  Trix,  Vicar  de  Garraclone.  [F.F.] 
He  was  also  V.  Titeskin,  q.  y. 

1633.  January  24.  Thomas  Blackwell,  a.b.,  V.  Garraclone  quam 
yicariam  et  vicariam  de  Oarrigrohanebeg  Epus  univit  In- 
ductus  fuit  2^  Feb.,  1633.  [R.V.  1634.]  In  1661  Blackwell 
became  P.  Cahirultan,  q.  v. 

^R.  de  Gkurecloyne  spectat  ad  Abb*  de  Mora.  Val.  10  li. 
per  an.  Gormack  M'Donogh  Carty,  Impropriator.  Vicar' 
Thomas  Blackwell,  Predicator.  Vid.  6  li.  per  an.**  [R.V. 
1634.] 

1663.  Sept.  26.  Thomas  Goodman,  V.  Garrycloine.  [V.B.  1669.] 
In  1675  Goodman  became  Precentor  of  Ross,  q.  y. 

1681.  April  8.  Rowland  DAyiES,  a.m.,  V.  de  Gfarrocloine,  per 
mortem  ThomsB  Goodman.  [F.F.  and  D.R.]  In  1709  Davies 
was  also  Dean  of  Cork^  q.  ▼. 


1 


CLOTNE.]  OARBTCLOYNE.  211 

1694.  R.  y.  Grenagh  and  Garrycloine  were  nnited  to  Innis- 
carra,  q.  v. 
1721.  March  13.  Robert  Oabletoh^  a.m.,  P.  Inniscarra,  Y.  Mathea, 
and  R.  V.  Ghtrrycloyne,  and  Grenagh  per  mortem  Davies. 
[D.R.]  Ho  was  also  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1735.  Sept.  16.  William  Fulton,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Gkirrycloyne  and 
Grenagh,  per  mortem  Robert  Carleton.     [D.R] 

William  Fulton  (son  of  Thomas  Fulton)  was  bom  near 
Belfast,  and,  when  sixteen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.,  on  19th 
February,  1 704. 

From  1720  to  1747  he  was  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Cork.  He 
was  also,  from  1724  to  1735,  V.  Clonmel ;  and  from  1735  to 
his  death  in  1747,  V.  Garrycloyne. 

He  was  buried  at  St.  Peter*s,  Cork,  on  4th  January,  1747/8. 

He  had  a  son,  John  Fulton,  bom  in  Dublin,  who  entered 
T.C.D.  in  1734,  aged  seventeen,  and  who  was  ordained  Deacon, 
at  Cloyne,  on  28th  Feb.,  1741;  and  Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  27th 
February,  1742. 
1747.  January  5.  Francis  Hamilton,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Garrycloyne  and 
Grenagh  per  mortem  Fulton.     [D.R.] 

F.  Hamilton  was  licensed  on  22nd  June,  1746,  to  be  Curate 
of  Youghal.  On  9th  June,  174Z,  he  was  admitted  R.  V.  Din- 
gindonovau,  which  he  shortly  afterwards  vacated  for  Garry- 
cloyne. 

1754.  June  8.  Robert  Johnston^  a.m.,  K  Y.  Gkirrycloyne  and 
Grenagh,  per  cession  of  Hamilton.  [D.R.]  In  1755  Johnston 
became  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 

1755.  Sept.  29.  James  Stofkord,  a.m.,  R.  Y.  Garrycloyne  and 
Grenagh,  per  cess.  Johnston.  [D.R.]  In  1759  he  was  also  P. 
Glan  worth,  q.  v. 

1762.  Garrycloyne  was  valued  with  Glan  worth,  q.  v. 

1766.  March  4.  The  site  of  the  parish  church  of  Ghtrry- 
cloyne  is  moved  to  the  town  of  Blarney,  by  order  in  Council. 
[Lib.  Mun.] 

1774.  Gbrrycloyne:  rect.  and  vie.  in  the  bar.  of  Barretts, 
to  which  the  rect.  and  vie.  of  Grenagh  is  united  for  ever  by 
Act  of  Parliament,  9  Anne,  c.  12,  under  the  name  of  the  parish 
of  Garryclo3me ;  value,  £450  per  ann.  The  church  of  Garry- 
cloyne is  in  repair,  that  of  Grenagh  in  ruins.  Pat,  the  Bp. 
Glebe  at  Garrycloyne,  5a.  En. ;  at  Grenagh,  16a.  2r.  En. 
Proxy,  17«.  4d  The  rectories  of  Garrycloyne  and  Grenagh 
formerly  belonged  to  the  Preceptory  of  Moume,  and  pay  £1  os. 
per  ann.  crown  rent.  The  vie.  of  Gkirrycloyne  is  taxed  in  the 
King's  books  by  the  name  of  Garotten,  £1  ster.;  and  the  vie.  of 
Grenagh  by  the  name  of  Grekenaugh,  £1  13«.  id,  ster.  In- 
cnmb.,  James  Stopford,  a.m.  ;  Curate,  Thomas  Davies,  a.m. 
[Hingston.] 
1780.  July  21.   Joseph  Stopfobd,  a.m.,  R.  Y.  Qarrydoine  and 

VOL.  II.  p  2 


212  OABRYCLOTNE.  [CLOYNE. 

Orenagb,  per  mortem  James  Stopford.     [D.R.]     He  was  also 
P.  Bally  hay,  q.  v. 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Qarrycloine  union,  58. 
1795.  Nov.  9.  William  Stopfoed,  R.  V.  Garrycloyne  and  Grenagh, 
per  cess.  Joseph  Stopford.     [F.F.] 

1799.  The  present  parish  registry  begins,  the  former  one 
having  been  burnt  in  1798. 

1805.  22  families  of  Protestants  in  the  union.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

"  One  church  at  Blarney.  A  glebe-house  lately  built.  Curate* 
Rev.  George  Munroe,  at  .£50."     [Rep.  1806.] 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Garrycloyne,  66;  of  Grenagh, 
32.     Total  Protestant  population,  98. 

1837.  Gkirrycloyne  union  :  8  miles  long  by  4i  broad,  with 
cure,  consisting  of — 1.  Garrycloyne,  rectory  and  vicarage,  3 
miles  long  by  2^  broad.  2.  Grenagh,  rectory  and  vicarage, 
6  miles  long  by  4  broad.  The  union  contains  18,986a.  Gross 
population,  7,070.  Two  Curates  employed,  at  a  stipend  to 
each  of  £75  per  annum.  Tithe  composition  of  Garrycloyne 
parish,  £512  8s,  6d. ;  of  Grenagh  parish,  £1,150  125.  5 
acres  of  glebe  in  Garrycloyne  parish,  valued  at  258,  per  acre, 
£6  58.  15  acres  of  glebe  in  Grenagh  parish,  valued  at  255.  per 
acre,  £18  155.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  155.;  diocesan 
schoolmaster,  £2  75.  6d,  Garrycloyne  glebe-house  built  in 
1804,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £2,279  Is,  7^(1 
British,  of  which  sum  £738  9^.  2  jd  was  granted  in  way  of  loan, 
and  £92  68,  Ifd,  in  that  of  gift,  by  the  late  Board  of  First 
Fruits;  and  the  residue  of  £1,448  65.  3d.  was  supplied  out  of 
the  private  funds  of  the  Incumbent,  who  will  be  entitled  to 
receive  from  his  successor  the  whole  of  the  sum  last  mentioned. 
Of  the  loan  aforesaid  there  remained  £85  IO5.  chargeable  on 
the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £4  155. 
Incumbent  resides  in  the  glebe-house.  One  church,  situate  in 
Garrycloyne  parish,  capable  of  accommodating  200  persons, 
built  about  the  year  1777,  but  at  what  cost,  or  from  what  funds 
supplied,  unknown.  No  charge  on  the  union  in  1832  on  account 
of  the  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays, 
and  on  Christmas  Day,  and  Good  Friday.  The  sacrament  is 
administered  eight  times  in  the  year.  The  benefices  forming 
this  union  are  rectories.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

W.  Stopford  (son  of  Rev.  Joseph  Stopford,  P.  Ballyhay,  and 
brother  of  Sir  James  Stopford,  k.c.b.),  was  ordained  Deacon  on 
28th  Oct.,  and  Priest  on  1st  November,  1795,  both  at  Cloyne. 

He  held  this  living  for  sixty  years,  until  his  death  on  8th 
September,  1855« 

He  married,  on  6th  July,  1796,  Abigail,  dau.  of  Eyre  Evans, 
esq.,  of  Ashhill  Towers,  county  Limerick,  and  had  issue  four 
sons,  Joseph  (who  was  born  in  1799,  and  who  was  ordained 
Deacon  on  10th  June,  1827,  and  Priest  on  15th  March,  1829, 


CLOTNE.]  GARRYCLOYNB.— GABRTYOE.  213 

both  at  Oloyne.  He  was,  on  7tli  Sept,  1837,  licensed  to  the 
curacy  of  Qarrycloyne);  Eyre  Evans,  baptized  12th  January, 
1802,  killed  by  a  fall  from  his  horse  in  India;  James,  a  Brigadier- 
General,  killed  in  action  while  leading  a  forlorn  hope  at  the 
attack  on  Bushire,  in  Persia  ;  and  Thomas.  Mr.  Stopford  had 
also  three  daughters,  Mary,  wife  of  George  Maunsell,  esq.,  of 
county  Limerick ;  Angelina,  wife  of  Thomas  Sarsfield,  esq ,  of 
Ducloyne  ;  and  Anne,  wife  of  James  Hunt,  esq.,  of  Danesfort. 
1 855.  Sept.  13.  Louis  Perrin,  R.  V.  Garrycloyne  and  Grenagh.  [P.F.] 

1860.  L.  Perrin,  Incumbent.  T.  P.  Morgan,  Curate.  The 
church  and  glebe-house  in  excellent  order.  18^  acres  of  glebe 
let,  and  4^  in  Rector's  use.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sun* 
days,  and  also  on  church  holidays,  &c.  Sacrament  monthly, 
and  on  festivals ;  average  of  communicants,  12.  The  commu- 
nion plate,  weighing  15  oz.,  is  of  silver,  gilt,  without  inscription. 
The  font  is  pentagonal,  of  Caen  stone,  with  marble  shaft.  The 
Protestant  children  attend  a  National  school.  The  Protestant 
population  is  45.  The  rentcharge  of  Garrycloyne  isX384  4«.  4(f.; 
of  Grenagh,  £862  19«.  The  glebes  are  worth  £25.  Total  grost 
income,  £1,272  3^.  4c/. 

L.  Perrin  (son  of  the  Right  Hon.  Louis  Psrbin,  lately 
Second  Justice  of  the  Queen's  Bench,  by  Hester  Stewart)  was 
born  on  6th  March,  1821,  and  was  educated  at  Rev.  Thomas 
P.  Huddart's  school,  in  Dublin.  He  entered  T.C.D.  in  1837, 
and,  having  obtained  classical  honors,  graduated  a.b.  in  1842, 
and  A.M.  in  1857.  He  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Dublin,  on 
22nd  Oct,  1848;  and  Priest,  at  Cork,  on  3rd  June,  1849. 

He  was  appointed  Domestic  Chaplain  to  James  Wilson, 
Bishop  of  Cork,  on  22nd  Oct.,  1848. 

From  1849  to  1851  he  was  R.  Monanimy ;  and,  from  1851 
to  1855,  V.  Whitechurch. 


GARRYVOE. 

1591.  Thomas  Sullivan,  a  layman,  appears  as  Rector;  and  William 
RooTHE  as  Curate  of  Garry  voe.  "  Eccl.  de  Garrivoy  spectat  ad 
Coll.  Youghal  et  St.  Thomas,  Dublin.  Willmus  Roothe,  Cura- 
tus.  Rector  ejusdem  Thomas  Sullivan,  laicus  ps.  pvats."  (pre- 
sens  privatusi).     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.1 

1615.  William  Wood  appears  as  Curate.  **  Garravoy  cur'  residens. 
Rectoria  impropriata  spectat  ad  heredem  Johannis  ffitzgerald, 
militis.  Vicaria  teuetur  p*  collegium  de  Youghall.  CuratuSf 
Magister  Willmus  Wood,  minister,  et  predicator.  Ecclesia  et 
cancella  bene  repantur.**   [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1634.  Lewis  Tbix  (afterwards  V.  Corkbeg,  q.  v.),  is  Curate;  "  E. 
de  Garravoy.     Rex  est  Rector.     Yal.,  20  11.  per  an.    Johfo 


214  GABBTYOE. — GLANWOBTH.  [CLOTKE. 

Fitzgerald,  miles,  firmarius.     Vic.  spectat  ad  Coll.*  de  Yonghal. 

VaL,  4  IL  per  an.     Ladovicus  Trix,  Curatus,  liabet  pro  salario 

8U0  50s.  per  an."     [R.V.  1634.] 
1637.  August  12.  John  Ttnt,  V.  Garryvowe,  et  Kilcredan.    [F.P.] 

For  Tjnt,  mde  Kilcredan. 

In  1661  and  1662,  the  rectory  is  in  manu  regis.     In  1664 

Edmnnd  Fitzgerald,  in  1667  Patrick  Qalvane,  and   in  1711 

Henry  Rugg,  appear  as  Rectors  or  Impropriators  of  Ghurry  voe. 

[V.B.  D.R.] 
1661.  The  vicarage  of  Gfanyvoe,  als.  Garrinoe,  is  vacant.     [V.B. 

D.R] 
1662  to  1668.  Chbistopheb  Vowell  appears  as  Vicar  of  Garrivoe. 

[V.B.]     In  1668  Vowell  became  P.  Bally  hay,  q.  v. 

1669  to  1831.  (Jarryvoe  was  held  with  Igtermurragh,  q.  v. 

1831  to  the  present  time  Garrjrvoe  was  held  with  Kilcredan,  q.  v. 


GLANWORTH. 


1591.  "Phil*  Gold,  PreV  de  Glanore."    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

He  was  also  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne  and  of  Cork,  q.  v.     He  died 

in  1612. 
1615.  '^  Glannor  prebenda  est  corpus  prebendse  Archidiaconi  Olon- 

ensis.     Valor  an  tea  in  Archidiaconatu.     Ecclesia  et  cancella 

ruinate.     Archidiaconus  tenetur  ad  rep^ndum."  [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

Vide  the  Archdeaconry. 
1627.  Nov.  13.  Rawleigh  Bellott,  a.m.,  P.  Glanore.     FF.F.]     On 

letters  patent  of  Crown,  dated  22nd  Oct.  1627.     [Lib.  Mun.1 

He  was  installed  on  16th  Nov.,  1629.     [MS.  Consist.  Dub. J 

He  appears  in  1634  as  P.  Glanoro. 

R.  Bellott  was  son  of  Thomas  Bellot,  of  Cheshire  and  of 

Waterford,  by  Lucy,  sister  to  Dr.  Ryves.     [U.O.] 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  28th  August,  1627,  and  Priest 

on  7th  August,  1628,  both  by  Michael,  Bp.  of  Waterford  and 

Lismore. 

He  was  from  1627  to  —  ?  P.  Glanworth,  <kc.;  and  from  1630 

to  1636,  Precentor  of  Lismore,  and  V.  Lismore.     His  sister. 

Christian,  was  the  second  wife  of  Miohael  Boyle,  Bishop  of 

Waterford  and  Lismore. 

1661.  Mr.  Edward  Wadb  appears  as  P.  Glanore  in  this  year  and 
in  1662.  [Y.B.]  On  the  22nd  June,  1663,  he  is  admitted  P. 
Glanore,  V.  Killathie,  and  V.  Derryvillane.  [V.B.  1669  and 
F.F.]  On  14th  July,  1663,  "Ma^r  Edwardus  Wade,  P.  de 
Glennor,"  took  the  chapter  oath.     [C.B.] 

1694.  P.  de  Glanor,  val.,  35  pounds.     Mr.  Edward  Wade, 
car»  animarum  inoumbit  in  privatis  »dibus,  ecclesiis  in  rui- 


CLOTNB.]  GLANWOBTH.  215 

nam  lapsis.  Ecclia  de  Glanor  in  rninam  lapsa,  in  ceteria  oalla 
ecclia.  Dominus  Epus  patronus.  V.  Killathie,  val.,  6  pounds. 
Donj^  Meschamp,  Impropriator.  Legane,  vaF  2  pounds.  All 
Mr.  Wade's  livings  lie  contiguous,  and  are  united  pro  hao  rice. 
[Palliser.] 

£.  Wade  was  from  1661  to  1662,  V.  Nathlash  and  Kil- 
dorrery;  from  1661  to  1700,  P.  Glanworth,  Ac;  and  from  1666 
to  1700,  R.  V.  Litter.  He  was  also,  in  1666,  a  Vicar  Choral 
of  Lismore. 
1700.  Sept.  30.  John  Armstead,  P.  de  Glannor,  R.  V.  Litter,  V. 
Killathie,  Derrivillane,  and  Kil  worth.  [F.F.]  Mr.  John 
Armstead  took  the  chapter  oath  as  P.  Glanore  on  1st  Oct, 
1701,  and  on  18th  Sept.,  1707,  was  elected  (Economus.  [C.B.] 

J.  Armstead,  of  the  family  of  Armstead,  of  Eilworth,  county 
Cork,  was  a  Scholar  of  T.C.D.  in  1683,  but  was  an  Under- 
graduate wheu  he  was  ordained  a  Deacon  at  Cork  on  10th  June, 
1688.  In  1696  he  was  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Clojme.  From  1700 
to  his  death  in  1716  he  was  P.  Glanworth,  E.  V.  Litter,  <S£c., 

He  married,  in  1698,  Mary  Mascall,  of  Cloyne  [Cloyne  M. 
£.],  and  by  her  had  a  son,  William,  born  in  1699,  at  Eilwortft, 
who  entered  T.C.D.  in  1719,  and  died  in  1724,  leaving  issue 
an  only  child,  Gertrude,  by  his  wife,  Sarah,  who  was  the  dan.  of 
Randal  Gethin,  esq.,  of  Doueraile,  by  Gethin's  wife,  Mary,  dan. 
of  William  St.  Leger  and  Ladt  Mart  Chiohbster,  the  dan.  of 
Arthur,  first  Earl  of  Donegal.  Mr.  Randal  Gethin  was 
third  brother  of  Sir  Richard  Gethin,  third  baronet.   [Davis.] 

1716.  Sept.  1.  Robert  Carlbton,  P.  Glanore,  per  mort.  Armstead. 
rp.R.]  The  V.  Glanore  was  for  this  time  severed  from  the 
rrebend,  and  given  to  the  Rector  of  Litter,  q.  v.  In  1716, 
Nov.  15,  Carleton  was  elected  (Economus.  [C.B.]  And  in 
1721  he  became  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1721/2.  March  14.  George  Strode,  a.m.,  P.  Glanore,  per  cess,  of 
Carleton.  [D.R.]  In  1722,  Nov.  16,  Mr.  Strode,  P.  Glanore, 
was  elected  CBconomus.     [C.B.] 

G.  Strode  was  from  1716  to  1721,  P.  Brigowne;  and  from 
1721  to  1759,  P.  Glanworth,  and  V.  Derryvillane,  Kilgulane, 
and  Ballyloghy.  He  was  also  from  1716  to  1753,  V.  Mar- 
shalstown;  and  from  1721  to  1743,  R.  V.  Litter. 

He  married,  in  1742,  Jane  Stretch,  of  Castlelyons.  [Cloyne 
M.  B.]  In  his  will,  dated  and  proved  in  1759,  he  makes  his 
wife,  Jane  Lynam,  or  Strode,  his  executrix.     [Cloyne  Wills.] 

1759.  July  3.  Jambs  Stopford,  P.  Glanore,  R.  Kilgulane,  V.  Bally- 
deloghie,  als.  Ballyloghie,  and  Derrivillane  [F.F.],  per  mortem 
Strode.     [D.R.] 

In  1760,  July  3.  Mr.  James  Stopford  took  the  chapter  oath. 
[C.B.] 
1762.  James  Stopford,  resident;  yearly  inoome  of  Glanworth, 


216  GLANWORTH.  [CLOYNE. 

Ac,  £700,  out  of  which  he  pays  two  Curates,  £40  each.  [Hay- 
man.] 

1774.  Glanore,  with  the  particle  Legane.  It  lies  part  in  the 
bar.  of  Fermoy,  and  part  in  that  of  Condon  and  Clangibbon, 
yalue,  £400  per  an.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.,  the  Bishop. 
Glebe,  1a.  3e.  plant.  Proxy,  £1  6».,  ster.  Taxed  in  King's 
books,  £6,  ster.     Incumb.,  James  Stopford,  a.m.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Eilgullane  rec.  It  lies  part  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy, 
and  part  in  that  of  Condon  and  Clangibbon,  value  £100  per 
ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  5p.  Glebe,  6a.  2r.  IOp. 
Proxy,  10«.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books,  the  rect.,  £6,  the 
vie,  £6,  ster.     Incumb.,  James  Stopford,  a.m.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Ballydelogy,  otherwise  Ballylogh  vie,  in  the  bar.  of 
Fermoy.  Value,  £50  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Patron,  the 
Bp.  Proxy,  3s.  Incumb.,  James  Stopford,  a.m.  The  rect.  is 
impropriate.  Impropriator,  John  Hely  Hutchinson,  esq. 
Proxy,  3«.     [Kingston.] 

1774.  Derryvillane  vie.  It  lies  part  in  the  bar.  of  Fermoy, 
and  part  in  that  of  Condon  and  Clangibbon.  Value,  £80. 
Church  in  ruins.  Pat,  the  Bp.  Proxy,  2«.  6d.  Incumb.,  James 
Stopford,  A.M.  This  rect.  is  improp.  John  Hely  Hutchinson, 
esq..  Impropriator  ;  his  proxy.  Is,  3cL     [Hingston.] 

James  Stopford  (son  of  James  Stopford,  Bishop  of  Cloyne), 
was  born  in  Dublin,  and  entered  T.C.D.  on  5th  January,  1747, 
being  then  sixteen  years  old. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Cloyne,  on  6th  October,  1754, 
and  Priest,  on  28th  Sept.,  1755,  also  at  Cloyne. 

He  was,  from  1755  to  1780,  V.  Garrycloyne  ;  from  1755  to 
1759,  K  V.  Clondrohid;  and  from  1759  to  1780,  P.  Glanworth. 

He  married,  in  1759,  Anne,  dau.  of  William  Wray,  esq.,  of 
Ards,  county  Donegal. 
1780.  July  1.  Henry  Baoos,  a.m.,  P.  Glanore,  with  the  particle 
Legane,  R.  Kilgulane,  V.  Ballyloughy,  and  Derrivillane  [F.F.] 
per  mort.  Stopford.  [D.R.]  He  took  the  chapter  oath  on 
6th  July,  1780.    [C.B.] 

1785.  Protestant  population,  15.     [Baggs.] 

H.  Baggs  was  descended  from  Major  James  Bagge,  Governor 
of  Tilbury  Fort,  temp.  Eliz.,  who  was  knighted  by  James  I.  in 
1606.  Sir  James  had  issue  an  eldest  son,  John,  who,  by  his 
wife,  Anne  Lewis,  of  Lorraine,  had  a  second  son,  Edmund,  who 
had  a  second  son,  John,  who  married  Ellinor  Kent,  and  by  her 
had  five  sons  and  two  daughters.  Richard  (fifth  son  of  John  last 
named)  by  his  wife,  Jane,  daughter  of  Richard  Smith,  of  Ormond- 
quay,  Dublin,  had  five  sons  and  seven  daughters.  The  eldest 
of  his  sons  was  Charles  Baggs,  who  married  Susanna,  dau.  of 
Rev.  Isaac  Gervais,  Dean  of  Tuam,  and  was  father  of  Henry 
Baggs,  the  P.  Glanworth. 

Henry  Baggs  was,  from  1774  to  1794,  a  Vic  Chor.,  Lismore; 


CLOYNB.]  GLANWORTH.  217 

from  17 — ?  to  1794,IL  Powerstown,  Leighlin  ;  and  from  1780 
to  his  death,  at  Qlanworth,  in  October,  1794,  P.  Glanworth, 

He  married,  in  1763,  Mary,  sister  of  George  Chinnery,  Bp. 
of  Cloyne,  and  by  her  had  issue  two  sons,  James,  who  died 
unmarried  in  1844  ;  and  George,  who  married  in  1811,  Cathe- 
rine Ellis,  of  Ballyellis,  near  Mallow,  and  had  by  her  a  son, 
Henbt  Baggs,  esq.,  now  of  Mallow,  who  married  Maria,  daa. 
of  Rev.  W.  Bunbury  (R.  Shandrum,  q.  v.),  and  has  issue. 

The  Rev.  H.  Baggs,  P.  Glan worth,  had  also  two  daughters, 
Mary,  wife  of  the  late  Robert  Delacour,  esq.j  and  Anne,  wife 
of  the  late  James  Hunter,  esq. 
1795.  Feb.  7.  John  William  Bennett,  a.m.,  P.  Glanore  (as  before) 
[F.F.],  per  mort.  Baggs.  [D.R.]  He  was  also  P.  Desertmore 
and  R.  Y.  Eilcully.  In  1799  he  became  Treasurer  of  Cloyne, 
q.  V. 
1799.  Feb.  24.  Richard  Woodward,  a.m.,  P.  Glanore  [F.F.],  per 
cess,  of  Bennett.     [D.R.] 

1805.  11  Protestant  families  in  Glan  worth  union.  [Abp. 
Brod.]  **  Curate  is  Rev.  Oliver  Lodge,  at  salary  of  £75.  A 
glebe-house  is  being  built.  The  Rector  is  in  Dublin.*'  [Rep. 
1806.1 

Richard  Woodward,  eldest  son  of  Richard  Woodward,  Bp. 
of  Cloyne,  was  ordained  Deacon  on  1st  August,  1790,  at  Cloyne, 
and  Priest  on  15th  July,  1792,  at  Clifton,  Bristol,  by  his  £Either. 
He  was  a.m.  and  d.d. 

He  was  P.  Lackeen  and  V.  Clonfert  from  1792  to  1798,  and 
v.  Ballyclogh  and  Castlemagner  from  1793  to  1798  ;  from 
1798  to  1799  he  was  R.  V.  Agabulloge,  and  P.  Inniscarra  ; 
and  from  1799  to  1828  he  was  P.  Glanworth. 

He  married  Elisabeth,  second  daughter  of  John  Bathoe,  esq., 
of  Bath,  by  whom  he  had  four  sons — 1.  Richard,  who  married, 
firstly,  his  cousin  Lucy  (dau.  of  General  Joseph  Gubbins,  of 
Eilfrush,  county  Limerick,  and  sister  of  the  Duchess  of  St. 
Albans)  ;  and  secondly,  Julia,  dau.  of  John  Lean,  esq.,  of 
Clifton.  2.  John,  Capt,  71st  Light  Infantry,  who  died  unm, 
at  Lausanne,  in  1829.  3.  Francis-Blake,  of  Balliol  College, 
Oxford,  who  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Cloyne,  on  1st  June, 
1828,  and  died  unm,  in  1830.  4.  Charles,  who  died,  aged 
sixteen,  at  Eton  College,  in  1827.  Dr.  Woodward  had  also 
three  daughters — 1.  Susan,  who  in  1819  became  the  wife  of 
Rev.  John  Leveson  Hamilton,  who  was  born  at  Little  Hadham, 
Herts,  and  who  was  the  son  of  Admiral  Thomas  Hamilton, 
R.N.,  by  Sally  Keble.  The  Admiral  was  sou  of  Dr.  William 
Hamilton,  of  Dublin.  The  Rev.  J.  L.  Hamilton  had  issue  by 
Susan  Woodward,  a  daughter,  Elisabeth>Sally,  born  1821, 
married  in  1842  to  the  Rev.  Harry  Mengden  Scarth,  R.  Bath- 
wick,  Bath  and   Wells;   and  a  son,   Rev.  Levesou   Russell 


218  OLAK  WORTH.  [CLOTNE. 

Hamilton,  born  in  1822,  Curate  of  St.  Mary's,  Bathwick. 
Susan  Woodward  was  married,  secondly  (after  the  death  in  1825 
of  her  first  husband.  Rev.  J.  L.  Hamilton,  R.  Ellesborogh,  Bucks), 
to  the  Rev.  T.  W.  Carr,  of  Southboro',  Kent,  and  died  in  1834, 
leaving  issue  by  him  three  children,  Thomas- William,  Lucy- 
Emily,  and  Frank>Culling.  2.  Lucy,  wife  of  Rev.  Frederick 
Baker,  R.  Beaulieu,  Hants.  3.  Caroline,  wife  of  Major  Willock, 
of  Lansdowne  Crescent,  Bath. 

Dr.  Woodward  died  at  Nicet  on  11th  Dec.,  1828;  and  was 
buried  at  Cloyne,  on  8th  January,   1829.      A  tablet  to  his 
memory  is  in  Uloyne  Cathedral. 
1828.  December  31.  John  Brinklet,  P.  Glanore,  [F.F.]  per  mort. 
Woodward. 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Glanore,  100 ;  of  Eilgulane, 
8  j  of  Bally  loghy,  10. 

1837.  Glanworth  union  :  6  miles  long  by  5^  broad,  with 
cure,  consisting  of — 1.  Glanworth  rectory,  6  miles  long  by  2 
broad.     2.  Derryvillane  vicarage,  2f  miles  long  by  li  broad. 

3.  EjUgnllane  rectory  and  vicarage,  1  j  mile  long  by  l|  broad. 

4.  Ballylough  vicarage,  1^  mile  long  by  1^  broad.  The  union 
contains  16,436a.  2r.  32p.  Gross  population,  7,135.  One 
Curate  employed,  at  a  yearly  stipend  of  £69  4«.  7^c?.,  British. 
Tithe  composition  of  Glanworth  parish,  £729  16«.  ll^d. 
29a.  25p.  of  glebe  in  said  parish,  valued  at  £3  per  plan.  acre. 
£54.  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of  Derryvillane 
parish,  £66  lis.  lOid.  Tithe  composition  of  KillguUane  parish, 
£221  Ss.  6^d,  9a.  2r.  35p.  of  glebe  in  said  parish,  valued  at 
408.  per  plan,  acre,  £12.  From  composition  for  the  vicarial 
tithes  of  Ballylough  parish,  £89  I65.  6^d.  Subject  to  visitation 
fees,  £1  15&;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £2  10«.  Glanworth  glebe- 
house  built  in  1809,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of 
£3,046  3«.  Id.,  Brit.,  whereof  £923  Is.  6^d.  was  granted  in 
way  of  loan,  and  £92  6^.  l^d,  in  that  of  gift,  by  the  late  Board 
of  First  Fruits,  and  the  residue  of  £2,030  I5s.  4|c?.  was  sup- 
plied out  of  the  private  funds  of  the  builder,  to  whom  the 
present  Incumbent  is  next  in  succession  ;  and  having  paid  his 
predecessor  the  whole  of  the  sum  last  named,  he  will  be  entitled 
to  receive  £1,523  Is.  6^.  from  his  successor  on  account  thereof. 
Of  the  loan  aforesaid  there  remained  £165  8s.  5d.  chargeable 
on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of 
£10  6s.  9d.  Incumbent  resides  in  the  glebe-house.  One  church, 
situate  in  Glanworth  parish,  capable  of  accommodating  150 
persons,  but  when,  or  at  what  cost  built,  unknown.  No  charge 
on  the  union  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service 
is  celebrated  twice  on  Sundays  in  summer,  and  once  in  winter, 
and  on  the  principal  festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered 
eight  times  a-year.  The  rectorial  tithes  of  Derryvillane  and 
Ballylough  parishes^  and  a  small  portion  of  the  tithes  in  Kill- 


CLOYNE.]  GLANWORTH.  219 

gullane  parish,  are  impropriate,  and  belong  to  Lord  Donoagh- 
more,  and  are  compounded  as  follow  : — those  of  Derryvillane 
for  X98  Os.  3d.;  of  Ballylough,  for  £69  19«.  5id.;  and  Killgul- 
lane  portion,  for  £7  Ss,  per  annum.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

J.  Brinklej  (eldest  son  of  John  Brinklej,  Bp.  of  Cloyne),  was 
in  1825  Curate  of  Clontibret,  Clogher.  From  1828  to  his 
death,  on  14th  February,  1847,  he  was  P.  Glan worth. 

He  married  Anna,  daughter  and  co-heir  of  Rev.  Walter 
Stephens,  of  Dublin,  and  had  issue  (besides  an  elder  son,  John, 
of  the  9th  Lancers,  who  died  in  India,  unmarried,  and  a 
daughter,  Sarah,  unm.)  a  son,  Walter  Stephens  Bnnkley,  esq., 
of  Anockmaroon  House,  county  Dublin,  and  late  of  the  11th 
Hussars;  who  married  Susanna- Caroline,  dau.  of  Major  Turner, 
of  Ipswich,  and  has  issue. 

The  Rev.  John  Brinkley  was  buried  at  Cloyne,  on  19th 
February,  1847. 
1847.  March  29.  John  Aldwobth,  P.  Glanore,  and  particle  Legane. 
[F.F.] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  in  order.  28  acres  of 
glebe  in  Incumbent's  use.  Divine  service  in  the  church  twice  on 
Sundays  in  the  summer  months,  and  once  in  winter,  and  on  the 
usual  holidays.  Evening  service  on  Sundays  in  winter,  at  the 
glebe-house.  Sacrament  monthly  and  at  festivals ;  average  of 
communicants,  13.  The  Protestant  population  is  about  60. 
The  rentcharge  of  Glanworth  is  £547  7^.  Sd,  The  land  is  worth 
£31.     Total  value,  £578  7^.  Sd.,  with  residence. 

J.  Aid  worth  (second  son  of  the  late  Robert  Rogers  Aid  worth, 
esq.,  of  Newmarket),  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Cloyne,  on  17th 
Oct.,  1824. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Clonfert  on  24th  Nov.,  1825. 
From  1833  to  1836,  he  was  R.  Inchinabacky ;  and  from  1836 
to  1847,  was  R.  Youghal. 

He  married  Anne,  dau.  of  Charles  Deane  Oliver,  esq.,  of 
Rockmills,  and  has  issue — 1.  Charles-Oliver,  born  1829.  2. 
Robert-St.Leger,  bom  8th  July,  1832;  ordained  Priest,  at  Cork, 
on  21st  Dec.,  1856;  and  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Fanlobbus, 
on  18th  May,  1859.  3.  Richard  Fitzjohn.  4.  St.  Leger  Hewitt. 
Also,  three  daughters, Elisabeth-Catherine ;  Sarah-Maria;  and 
Letitia-Agnes. 

Mr.  Aldworth  married,  secondly,  Mary,  dau.  of  Benjamin 
Jackson,  esq.,  by  his  second  wife,  Miss  Hyde. 

He  published,  in  1843,  "  The  Estatica  of  Youghal  compared 
with  the  wonders  of  the  Tyrol**;  also,  his  "  Correspondence 
with  the  Rev.  R.  Smiddy,  a  Roman  Catholic  Priest.'* 


MS.  T.C.D.  F.  1.  18.J 

appears  as  ArohdeacoD  of  Tuam 


220  OOBTROE  AND  DT8EBT,  ARCHDEACONS.  [CLOTNE 


QORTROB  AND  DYSERT,  Archdeacons. 

There  seem  anciently  to  have  been  two  Archdeacons  in 

Oloyne  diocese,  the  second  of  whom  was  called  the  Archdeacon 

of  &]ahath  or  Ballyhaj. 
1179.  CoLMAN  O'SoANNLAiN,  Aircinncach  (qnasre,  Archdeacon)  of 

Clojne,  died.     [Four  Masters.1 
1201.  Christianus,  Archdeacon. 

Christian  us  (query  the  same] 

in  1201  and  in  1233.     Also  as  Archdeacon  of  Ardagh  in  1255. 
1224.  Florencius,  '*  Archidiaconus  Beleghatensis,"  was  made  Bishop 

of  Clovne.     FPrynne's  Records,  ii.,  p.  393.] 
1252.  April  24.  M.  '* Archidiaconus'*  and  G.  "Archidiaconus  de 

Omachatba,'*  are  witnesses  to  a  deed.     [Caulfield*s  Pipe  Roll, 

p.  54.1 
1262.  G.  Archidiaconus  de  Balahat  appears.     [Oaulfield's  Pipe  Roll, 

p.  29.] 
1271.  Matguman  0  Donchada,  Archdeacon,  died.    [MS.  T.C.D.  F. 

1.  18.1 
1291.  "P'benda  Ar'diaconi  Magr.   Maur'  0*Sullbvan,  Ecca  de 

Atheros,  Neynan  et  modica  poco  de  Clenowyr  taxat'  ad  Ls. 

decia  Vs.     Jurisdico  ejusdem  Xmr.  unde  decima  Imr."     [Tax. 

P.  Nic]     At  this  time  the  corps  of  the  present  Chancellor 

seems  to  have  been  appropriated  to  the  Archdeacon.    Probably 

Disert  and  Teniplebodane,  alias  Droraoyre,  is  to  be  found  in 

the  following  : — "  P'benda  M^gri  Gilb'ti  Maab^a'm,  porcO  de 

Wisscrt  et  porco  de  Drumor  XLs.  unde  decima  Tills."     [Tax. 

P.  Nic.]     Archdeacon  O'Sullevan,  in  1320,  became  Bishop  of 

Cloyne. 
1320.  Mauritius  is  still  Archdeacon.     [MS.  T.C.D.  F.  1.  18.] 
1322.  Luke  O'Murray,  Archdeacon,  died.     [Four  Masters.] 
1361  to  1377.  Roger  Braybrook  appears  as  Archdeacon.     [MS. 

T.C.D.  F.  1.  18.1 
1403.  AipnX  17.  John  Meyle  appears  as  Archdeacon.  [Pipe  Roll,  p.  57.] 
1463.  William  Roche,  the   Archdeacon,  became  also  Coadjutor 

Bishop  of  Cloyne,     In  1479  he  became  Bishop  of  Cork  and 

Cloyne.     [Ware.] 
1480.  John  Barry  is  Archdeacon.     [D.  Reg.  ex  Cotton.] 
1500.  David  Barry  is  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne  and  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1520.  David  Tyrry,  A.M.,  appears  as  Archdeacon.  In  1521  Edmund 

Tyrry  appears.     [Tyrry  MSS.] 
1571.  Patrick  Roche,  Archdeacon  of  Cork  and  Cloyne,  appears. 

[D.R.  Cork.]     He  appears  also  in  1577. 
1580.  Oct.  16.  John   Barry   appears  as  Archdeacon   of  Cloyne. 

[D.R.  Cork.] 
1583.  Philip  Gould  appears  as  Archdeacon  of  Cork  and  of  Cloyne. 

[D.R.  Cork.]     He  appears  again  in  1591. 


CLOTNE.]         GORTROE  AKD  DTSERT,  ARCHDEACONS.  221 

1585.  Thomas  Wethebhead  is  appointed  Archdeacon  of  Clojne  and 

of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1591.  Philip  Gold  is  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne  and  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

'^R.  de  Qortrow  als.  Inchicollin,  locus  vastatus.  Vicaria 
spectat  ad  Arcbid.  E.  de  Disert  spectat  ad  Arcbid."  [MS. 
T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.]  But  in  another  part  of  same  visitation  Look 
**  Thomas  Carroll,  laicns,  Preb.  de  Disert,"  is  cited  by  the 
Royal  Commissioners.  [US.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1613.  January  7.  Michael  Boyle  is  admitted  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne 
and  of  Cork,  q.  v.  He  was  also  P.  Glanworth,  which  is  said 
to  be  the  corps  of  the  Cloyne  Archdeaconry  in  1615. 

1615.  "Archidiacouus,  non  residens,  Michael  Boyle^  8.t.i>. 
Valor,  10  li.  per  an.     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

"Gurtraveals.Iniscullin.  Rector  Archidiac.  Clonen.  Vicar, 
RiCHUS  Par,  ipse  inservit  cura).  Val.,  5  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia 
et  cancella  in  ruina."  [R.V.  R.I.A.]  Par  was  also  V.  Tem- 
plebodau,  q.  t. 

Disert,  rrebenda  est  Archidiaconi  Clonen.  Doctor  Boyle, 
Incumbent.  Val.,  10  li.  per  an.  No  church.  No  chancel. 
The  parishioners  repair  to  the  adjoining  church  of  Gortroe, 
where  there  is  service.     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

In  1619  Boyle  became  Bishop  of  Waterford,  and  retained  all 
his  benefices  (save  the  Deanery  of  Lismore)  in  commendam. 
1625.  March  7.  Edward  Finch  is  presented  to  the  Archdeaconry 

of  Cloyne  and  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1634.  Michael  Boyle  appears  as  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne  and  of 
Cork,  q.  V. 

"Arcblnus  Michael  Boyle.    Epus  Waterford."    [R.V.  1634.] 

"  E.  de  Gortrow  spectat  ad  Arcbid.  Clonen.  Vicar,  John 
Ibish.  Val.,  9  li.  per  an.  Epus  confert."  [R.V.  1634.]  Irish 
was,  in  1615,  R.  V.  Rathcormack,  q.  v. 

"R.  V.  Disert,  spectat  ad  Archidiaconum.**     [R.V.  1634.] 
1636/7.  April  23.  William  Steeee,  Bishop  of  Ardfert,  is  admitted 
Archdeacon  of  Cloyne  and  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1640.  John  Robbbtson  is  admitted  Vicar  of  Gortroe  and  of  Tem- 
plebodane.     [F.F.] 

1641.  August   13.  Philip  Bisse,   Archdeacon   of  Cloyne.     [Lib. 
Mun.J     N.B.  The  name  is  John  Bishe  in  Lib.  Mun. 

The  following  extract  is  from  the  MS.  P.  2.  19  :_"  Richard 
Gethin  being  examined  before  the  Commissioners  on  23rd 
October,  1652,  deposed  that  Archdeacon  Philip  Bisse,  a  Com- 
missioner appointed  to  inquire  concerning  the  murders  and 
losses  in  the  Rebellion  of  1641,  was  waylaid  on  his  return, 
between  Cork  and  Youghal,  and  murdered  by  one  Gerald,  of 
Dromaddagh.  His  trunk,  which  contained  all  the  depositions 
taken  by  him,  was  sent  from  his  lodgings  at  Youghal  to  Lord 
Inchiquin,  Commander-in-Chief  of  Munster.  He  took  it  to  the 
King,  then  at  Oxford,  but  had  no  opportunity  to  show  the 


222  QOBTROR  AND  DY8ERT,  ARCHDEACONS.  [CLOTNE. 

papers  to  His  Majesty,  so  broaght  tbem  backhand  left  tbem  in 
trust  with  Mr.  Lett  Peereigb  [Pery  ?]  (formerly  Secretary  to 
Sir  William  St.  Leger,  late  President  of  MuDster),  now  deceased, 
whose  wife  aud  sons  reside  at  or  near  Audley  End,  in  Cam- 
bridgeshire ;  where  the  trunk  was  taken  great  care  of»  and  (as 
deponent  believes)  was  sent  to  London,  to  Sir  Philip  Perceval. 
He  thinks  that  Mr.  Bettesworth,  Agent  to  the  Protestant  Forces 
in  Munster,  can  say  something  about  it."  [MS.  T.O.D.  F.  2. 19.] 
1661  to  1664.  Hugh  Dunstervillb  appears  as  Archdeacon.  [V.B. 
D.R.] 

Hugh  Dunsterville  (probably  a  son  of  Edward  Dunsterville, 
who  was  Archdeacon  of  Kilmacduagh  from  1630  to  1637),  was, 
from  1638  to  1665,  P.  Einvarra,  Kilmacduagh,  and  also  P. 
Annaitalla,  Clonfert ;  from  1661  to  1665,  P.  Eilbrogan,  Cork ; 
from  1662  to  1666,  R.  Dunderrow,  Cork;  and  from  1663  to 
1665,  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne. 

He  died  in  1665,  having  made,  on  14th  Oct.,  1665,  in  the 
presence  of  the  Rev.  Henry  Parr,  a  nuncupative  will,  which 
was  proved  in  Cork,  Feb.  1,  1665/6.  All  his  effects  are  left  to 
his  wife,  Katherine,  for  the  benefit  of  his  children,  of  whom  his 
son,  John,  and  an  only  dau.,  Alice,  are  mentioned.  [Cork 
Wills.]  His  son,  Septimus,  was  P.  Tymoleague,  in  Ross,  q.  v. 
1665.  Sept  20.  John  Moorb  was  admitted  Archdeacon.  [F.F.] 
On  20th  May,  1667,  he  was  again  admitted, ^er  mortem  Hugonis 
DunstervUle.     [V.B.  1669.] 

John  Moore  was  of  the  family  of  0*Moore,  or  O'More,  of 
Leix,  in  the  Queen's  county. 

He  was  from  1637  to  1661,  P.  Aghoure,  Ossory;  and  from 
1637  to  1667,  R.  Kilmocahill,  Leighlin.  He  was  from  1662 
to  1667,  R.  Killeagh  and  Dingindonovan;  from  1663  to  1667, 
R.  Clonmult;  from  1667  to  1699,  V.  Ballyfeard,  aud  P.  Kil- 
brittain,  Cork;  from  1667  to  1679,  R.  Ballymartle,  Cork;  from 
1667  to  1692,  Rector,  and  from  1667  to  1702,  Vicar  of  Inni- 
shannon,  Cork;  from  1667  to  1692,  R.  Leighmoney  and  Temple- 
raichael  de  Duagh,  Cork;  and  from  1665  to  1687,  Archdeacon 
of  Cloyne. 

The  Archdeacon  resigned  many  of  the  above  livings  to  his 
sons. 

He  married  Catherine,  the  dau.  of  Walter  Weldon,  esq.,  of 
Raheens,  Queen's  county,  by  Celia,  dau.  of  Thomas  Loftus,  of 
Clonard,  county  Meath,  by  Letitia,  dau.  of  Simon  Diobt,  d.d., 
Bishop  of  EI  phi  n,  great  neice  of  the  first  Lord  Diobt. 

Archdeacon  Moore  left  issue,  inter  alios,  two  sons,  John, 
Treasurer  of  Cork,  q.  v.;  and  Francis,  R.  Innishannon,  Cork,q.  v. 
1687.  Nov.  14.  Dominic  Meade,  a.m.,  Archdeacon,  per  cess.  Johis 
Moore.  [F.F.  and  D.R.1  He  took  the  chapter  oath  as  Arch- 
deacon on  12th  November,  1688,  and  again  on  20th  May, 
1714.     [OB.] 


CLOYKE.]         QORTROE  AND  DTSEBT,  ARCHDEACONS.  223 

1694. '' Archidiaconus  (ad  quern  spectant  R.  de  Gortroe,  val. 
20  pounds,  et  V.  de  Desert)  Mr.  Dominic  Meade,  perpetuum 
non-residens,  etiamsi  ad  officium  archidiaconi  strictissime  spec- 
tat  residere  in  Diocesi  cum  est  Archidiacouus.  Dominus  Epus 
patronus.  Ecclesiae  dc  Gortrow  et  Disert  in  ruina  lapsse  sunt 
et  cura  animarura  ibidem  rectori  de  Rathcormuck  commissa 
est."     [Palliser.] 

1722.  A  chalice  bears  this  legend  : — "The  gift  of  Thomas 
Hodder  and  Barbara,  his  wife,  to  ye  church  of  Gortroe,  in  ye 
diocess  of  Cloyne,  and  county  of  Cork,  24th  of  June,  1722." 

Archdeacon  Meade  was  descended  from  the  ancient  Irish 
family  of  Myaghe,  or  Meagh.  In  1559  John  Meade  was  m.p. 
for  Cork  city,  and  his  son  and  heir,  John  Meade,  of  Ballintob- 
ber,  was  m.p.  for  the  same  city  in  1585.  The  son  of  the  last- 
named,  John,  was  Sir  John  Meade,  knt.  of  Ballintobber,  who, 
by  his  wife,  Catherine,  dau.  of  Sir  Dominick  Sarsfield,  the  first 
Viscount  Eilmallock,  had  issue  an  only  son,  William  Meade, 
who  was  a  Lieut-Colonel  in  the  Army,  and  raised  a  troop  of 
horse  for  Charles  II.  in  1666.  This  Colonel  William  Meade, 
by  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Sir  Robert  Travers  and  Elisabeth  Boyle, 
dau.  of  the  Archbishop  of  Tuam,  had  four  sons,  of  whom  the 
first  was  John,  created  a  baronet  in  1703,  who  was  ancestor  of 
the  Earls  of  Clanwilliam,  and  the  fourth  son  was  Dominick, 
Archdeacon  of  Cloyne. 

Dominick  was  born  at  BaU in tobber,  circa  1661, and,  when  nine- 
teen years  old,  entered  T.C.D.,  on  13th  June,  1680;  and,  having 
graduated,  was,  on  19th  Dec,  1686,  ordained  a  Deacon  at  Cork. 

From  1686  to  1692  he  was  R.  Rathcony,  Cork;  and  from 
1687  to  his  death  in  1729  or  1730  was  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne. 

He  married  Mary,  dau.  of  Francis  Smjrth,  of  Rathconrsey,  by 
Maria,  dau.  of  Beverly  Usher.  [Cork  M.  R  of  9th  Sept.,  1695.] 
He  also  married,  according  to  family  papers,  Margaret,  dau.  of 
Mathew,  fifth  Lord  Louth,  and  relict  of  Sir  Christopher  Aylmer. 
A  chalice  now  in  Ballymartle  Church  has  this  legend: — '^Ex 
dono  Dominap  MargaritsB  Meade.*' 

The  Archdeacon  had  issue  three  sons — Richard,  whose  son, 
Sib  Richard,  m.p.  for  Cork  county  in  1776,  died  Sp.;  John, 
born  in  Tipperary,  who  entered  T.C.D.  in  1722,  aged  fifteen 
years ;  and  Percy,  V.  Einsale,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1730.  Feb.  11.  Southwell  Rioabd,  aji..  Archdeacon,  per  mortem 
Dominic  Meade.  [D.K]  On  10th  June,  1731,  he  took  the 
chapter  oaths.  [C.B.]  He  seems  to  have  been  also  (Economus ; 
for  on  4th  Sept,  1735,  Mr.  Thomas  Squire  was  chosen  to  that 
ofiice  in  room  of  Archdeacon  Ricard,the  present  (Economus,  who 
is  called  out  of  the  country  upon  particular  occasion.    [C.B.] 

S.  Ricard  (son  of  Thomas  Ricard,  eausidici),  was  bom  in 
Dublin;  and,  when  seventeen  years  old,  entered  T.CJ).,  on  17th 
March,  1720,  and  became  a  Scholar  in  1723. 


224  coBTMC  Ajn>  nmsT,  ABcamAOosm.      [cuitxk. 


He  wag  ordaiftad  Print  st  Gorse  on  23rd  SepC  17%  licr 
Ardbgfa  esncj.  He  wa«  for  a  few  moDihi  in  1720  m  Tie. 
CV^^y  CV^jse^  aad  F,  KiUcseicer ;  znd  h^mi  175Ci  to  1735  vas 
Arebd«ii»4i  <^  Clojiie,  vmI  V.  CUmfttL  Frcoi  17^  to  kii 
death  in  174^  lie  wai  P.  DrMnaia,  and  R.  Lnrgan.  l>rc«Eiorp. 

He  Married  od  12tli  Joae,  1731^  DorodiT,  dan.  of  Henrr 
Maiile,  Bi«bop  of  Clojne,  br  wlioni  he  ha^  no  isne. 
1735*  I>ee«  17«  Jobs  JEnucis,  ji.m.,  Arefadei«OD,  per  eeas.  Sooth- 
well  Bieard  [D.E.],  aoJ  nme  daj  E.  and  Y.  AghabnUoge.     He 
took  the  Chapter  oath,  8th  >ept.,  1737.     [C.B.] 

J,  JfqAtmm  (tm\j  ton  of  WiJliam  Jephson,  R.  Ardagh,  q.  t^ 
aiMl  Ikao  of  IJufmoTe)  was  from  1728  to  1730,  V.  Ihuibojne 
aod  KiUfride,  Meath;  from  1730  to  1735,  Y.  Kioaale;  from 
1730  to  1742,  K,  Kiocomo,  Cork;  fjt>m  1733  to  1742,  B. 
Tazax,  Cork;  and  from  1735  to  his  death  io  1742,  R.  Y.  Aga- 
btiUof e,  aod  Archdeacon  of  Gojne. 

Arehdeaeon  John  Jephcon  mas  the  f&ther  of  WiUiam  Jeph- 
son, bom  in  1734,  in  Dublin,  who,  when  sixteen  yeais  old, 
entered  T.CD.,  on  5th  Jnlj,  1750 ;  and  in  1761  [May  7.  M.L] 
married  Thomasine,  dan.  of  Richard  Monnteney,  and  sister  of 
Richard  Monntener,  Baron  of  the  Excheqner  in  Ireland.  The 
second  son  of  this  William  Jephson  and  Tbomasine  Monnteney 
was  Richard'Monnteney  Jejihson,  who,  in  1815,  was  created  a 
baronet,  and  who  left,  int^  aiios^  an  eldest  son,  Sib  Richaed 
IfonvTEVET  Jepiisov,  of  the  Spring  Yale,  connty  Dorset. 

Archdeacon  John  Jephson  died  in   June,   1742,  and  was 
bnried  in  St.  Andrew's,  Dublin. 
1742.  Nor.  3.  MiCHiiEL  Da  vies,  a.m.,  Archdeacon,  per  inert  Jephson. 
TD.R.I     On  23rd  June,  1743,  he  took  the  chapter  oath,  and 
in  1750  was  elected  (Economus.     [C.B.] 

1762.  Archdeacon  Davies  (non-resident)  ;  yearly  income 
from  Gortroo,  £150 ;  from  Dysert,  £150.  Total,  X300  per  an., 
out  of  which  he  pays  two  Curates  £40  each.     [Hayman.] 

1774.  The  archdeaconry  consists  of  the  rect.  and  vie.  of 
Gortroe,  and  the  rect.  and  vie.  of  Disert,  value,  £150  per  ann. 
The  church  of  Gortroe  is  in  repair ;  thai  of  Disert  in  ruins. 
Patron,  the  Bp.  Glebe  at  Gortroe,  6a.  1b.  8p.,  En.  Proxy,  9».  6d. 
The  archdeaconry  is  taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £1  hs.  sterl. 
Inc.,  Michael  Davies,  A.M.     Curate,  John  Connor.     [Hingeton.l 

Michael  Davies  (the  youngest  surviving  son  of  Rowland 
Davies,  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v.),  was  "bom  at  Gillabbey,  Ist 
August,  1 694,  at  10  a.m.  Godfathers,  Thomas  fiarren,  and  John 
Payne,  esqrs.  Godmothers,  Mrs.  Ann  Ballard,  and  Mrs.  Jane 
ffrenoh.**     lie  entered  T.C.D.  on  15th  May,  1711. 

From  1727  to  1746  ho  was  Curate  of  Youghall.  He  was, 
from  1730  to  1733,  V.  Kilmahon  ;  from  1732  to  1742,  R.  V. 
'Whitechuroh  ;  from  1735  to  1779,  R.  V.  Aghinagh;  and  from 
1742  to  his  death,  on  9th  June,  1779,  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne. 


CLOTHE.]  GORTROB  AND  DT8ERT,  ARCHDBAC0N8.  225 

He  was  buried  at  St  Finbar*s,  Cork,  where  is  the  following 
inscription  on  a  slab  over  the  family  vault : — 

"P.  M.S. 
Revd.  Rowlandi  Davies,  ll.d., 
Hujus  Cathedralis  Eclesiastao 
Annis  XIL,  ab  anno  1710 

Decani, 
Cui  et  CharissimaD  uxori 
£lisabetha3  ex  familisB 
Stannard  et  Traversum 
Coram  suis  natis  Dormitorium 
poditum  est  subter  banc  Tabulam, 

Anno  domini,  1736. 
In  Beata  Spe  Resurrectionis 
IIic  Jacet  Michael  Davies, 
Archdecanus  Clonensis,  obiit 
9  June,  1779,  iEtatis84, 
et  Maria,  Henrici  Daries  uxor 
i)UOB  obiit,  1809,  ^tat  86, 
hie  etiaro  Henricus  Davies  Amiiger 
Mariu)  Maritus  et  Archdecani 
Davies  filius  qui  dilectus  vixit 
et  deflectus  obiit,  5  August, 
Anno  domini,  1812,  iEtatis  82." 

The  Archdeacon  married,  on  19th  Oct,  1723,  Rebecca,  dau. 
of  Noblet  Rogers,  esq.,  of  Lota,  county  Cork;  and  by  her,  who 
died  at  Cahirdowgan,  on  21t$t  June,  1755,  had  a  oumeroos 
family.  Rowland,  his  eldest  son,  was  bom  at  Cork,  Slst 
Dec.,  1724,  and,  when  seventeen  years  old,  entered  T.CJD.,  on 
14th  August,  1741,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1745,  and  aji.  in 
1752.  He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  16th  August,  1752,  and 
Priest,  on  12th  Nov.,  same  year,  both  at  Cork.  He  was  Oorata 
of  St.  Peter's,  Cork;  and  died  in  1768,  and  was  buried  at  St. 
Finbar*s.  He  left  no  issue  by  his  wife,  Mary  MoUoy,  whom 
he  married  at  St  Nicholas,  Cork,  on  23rd  January,  1754. 

The  eldest  daughter  of  Archdeacon  Davies  was  Elisabeth, 
wife  of  James  Morrison,  esq.,  of  Cork.  No  male  descendants 
of  the  Archdeacon's  sons  now  exist. 

The  Archdeacon  published: — 1.  "  A  Farewell  Sermon, 
preached  in  the  Parish  Church  of  St.  Mary's,  Yonghall,  on 
Sunday,  March  23,  1745-6,  by  the  Reverend  Michael  Davies, 
ji.M.,  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne.  Published  at  the  special  request 
of  the  Worshipful  the  Mjayor,  the  Corporation,  and  Inhabitants 
of  the  town  of  Yonghall.  Cork :  Printed  by  Thomas  Cum- 
ming,  1746,  (pp.  14.)"  2. — *^  A  Sermon,  preached  in  the 
Parish  Church  of  Gortroe,  on  the  occasion  of  Uie  late  Earth- 
quakes. Cork,  1756.** 
TOL.  IL  q 


2S6  QOBTROB  AKD  DTSEBT,  ARCHDEACONS.       [CLOYMK. 

1779.  June  18.  Jambs  Mocklbb,  Archdeacon,  per  mort.  Davies,  and 
R.  y.  Aghinagb  on  same  day.  [F.F.  and  D.R.]  He  was  again 
collated  on  22Dd  August,  1782. 

1781.  The  parish  register  begins. 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  of  Gortrow  and  Dysert 
was  15.    fMockler.] 

James  Mockler  (son  of  Edward  Mockler)  was  a  brother  of 
William  Mockler,  V.  Ballyclogh,  q.  v.  He  entered  T.C.D.  as 
Sizar,  on  18th  June,  1749,  and  afterwards  graduated  ll.b. 

He  was  ordained  Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  5th  Dcc.^  1756.  He 
was  licensed  on  2nd  Oct.,  1755,  to  the  curacy  of  Bruhenny; 
and  on  7th  July,  1764,  to  that  of  Cloyne.  He  was,  from  1770 
to  1779,  P.  Subulter ;  from  1779  to  1789,  R.  V.  Aghinagh, 
and  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne;  also,  from  1770  to  1772,  R.  V. 
Nathlash  and  Kildorrery;  from  1772  to  1779,  R.  Mallow; 
from  1772  to  1773,  Vic  Chor.,  Cloyne;  and  from  1777  to  1779, 
K  Kilmahon.  He  was  also,  in  1775,  Diocesan  Schoolmaster  at 
Cloyne;  and  from  Dec.  4, 1788  to  1789,  was  Rector  of  Tipperary. 

He  married,  in  1764,  Sophia  Spread,  and  by  her  had  issne, 
ijUtr  alios,  three  daughters,  Mary,  wife  of  John  Rawlins,  esq., 
and  after  his  death,  married,  in  1793,  to  Major  William  Ashe, 
of  Ashfield,  county  Moath  ;  Amelia,  wife  of  Rev.  Mathew 
Sleator ;  and  Sophia.  The  Archdeacon  had  also  three  sons, 
James,  R.  Litter,  q.  v. ;  William,  and  Robert.  Archdeacon 
Mockler  died  in  May,  1789. 
1789.  January  10.  Honourable  James  St.  Leoeb,  a.b.,  Archdeacon, 
per  cess  Mockler.  [F.F.  and  D.R]  In  1810  he  became  R.  V. 
Castletown,  q.  v. 

1805.  There  are  four  Protestant  families  in  Gortrow  and 
Disert.     [Abp.  Brod.]     One  church.     No  glebe-house.     Mr. 
St.  Leger  resides  on  his  other  living,  in  Cashel  diocese.     Rev. 
John  Ross,  Curate,  at  £50  per  an.     [Rep.  1806.] 
1810.  August  16.  Zachaby  Cookb  Collis,  Archdeacon.     [F.F.] 

1817.  Oct  12.  Sunday  evening,  the  Rev.  Archdeacon  Collis 
and  his  son,  Capt.  Collis,  late  of  North  Cork  Militia,  sitting  in 
the  parlour,  at  Rathcormuck,  are  attacked  by  four  or  five 
burglars,  and  robbed.     [Cork  In  tell.] 

1824.  Gortroe  church  was  consecrated  under  the  name  of 
St  Peter's.    [D.R.] 

1834.  Protestant  population,  50. 

Z.C.  Collis  (son  and  heirof  Rev.  William  Collis,  of  Castle-Cooke, 
county  Cork,  by  Martha  Cooke),  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Cork, 
on  5th  Oct,  1777,  and  Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  2l8t  Sept,  1781. 

He  was  licensed  on  5th  May,  1780,  to  the  curacy  of  Litter 
and  Marshalstown.  He  was  R.  V.  Litter  and  Marshalstowii 
from  1785  to  1810,  and  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne  from  1810  to 
his  death,  on  4th  May,  1834. 

He  married,  in  1782,  Jane,  dau.  of  Charles  Leslie,  u.d.,  of 


CLOTNE.]  QORTROE  AND  DTSERT,  ARCHDEAC01I8.  227 

Cork,  and  by  her  (who  was  baried  at  Kil worth,  on  4th  April, 
1811),  had  issue,  inter  alios,An  eldest  son,  William  Collis-Cooke, 
esq.,  of  Castle-Cooke,  who,  by  Elisabeth  Atkins,  has  issue,  in^ 
cdios,  a  son  (now  the  eldest  surviving,  and  heir),  Maurice  Atkin 
Cooke  Collis,  d.d.,  V.  Clonmel,  q.  v. 

Archdeacon  Collis  was  seventy-nine  years  old  when  he  died. 
He  was  buried  at  Kilworth. 
1834.   May  6.   William  Eydeb,  Archdeacon,  per  mortem  Collis. 
[F.P.  and  D.R.] 

1837.  Gortroe  and  Dysert :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with 
cure,  5  miles  long  by  2^  broad,  containing  9,364a.  Gross 
population,  2,8*56.  One  Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £90 
per  annum.  Tithe  composition,  £415  7s,  8d,  5a.  2e.  of  glebe, 
valued  at  20«.  per  acre,  £5  10s.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  I5s.; 
diocesan  schoolmaster,  &.  (kl.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is 
resident,  and  pays  a  sum  of  £60  a-year  for  house-rent.  One 
church,  capable  of  accommodating  70  persons,  built  in  1825,  at 
a  cost  of  £646  3«.  ld,y  Brit.,  granted  in  way  of  loan  by  the  late 
Board  of  First  Fruits,  of  which  loan  there  remained  £465  4«.  IcL 
chargeable  on  the  parish  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instal* 
ments  of  £25  17^.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  all 
Sundays,  and  on  the  festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered 
six  times  in  the  year.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [l^arL  Kep.] 

1860.  W.  Ryder,  Incumbent.  J.  B.  M*Creery,  Curate.  The 
church  in  neat  order.  No  glebe-house.  5  acres  of  glebe  near 
the  former  parish  church  are  let  Incumbent  is  resident.  Divine 
service  once  on  Sundays,  and  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament 
monthly,  and  at  festivals  ;  average  of  communicants,  13.  No 
school.  Protestant  population,  39.  The  rentcharge  is  £311 
lOs.  dd.  The  land  is  worth  £4.  Total  value,  £315  lOi.  9d., 
without  residence. 

W.  Ryder  (son  of  Rer,  John  Ryder,  Chancellor  of  doyne, 
[.  v.),  was  born  in  1790,  at  Mitchelstown,  and  graduated  a.b., 
\C.D.,  in  1813. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  14th  Sept.,  1817,  and  Prieat, 
on  11th  Oct.,  1818,  both  at  Cloyne,  for  the  curacy  of  Rath- 
cormack.  From  1833  to  1834  he  was  P.  St.  Michael's,  Cork  ; 
and  from  1834  to  his  death,  at  Queenstown,  on  26th  May,  1862, 
he  was  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne. 

He  married,  in  1821,  Anne,  dan.  of  Rev.  William  Ross,  of 
Ballinterry,  county  Cork,  and  had  issue  two  sons,  John-Ross, 
and  William,  both  deceased;  and  four  daughters — 1.  Maxianne, 
bom  20th  Sept,  1822,  who  was  married  on  15th  Aagust,  1843, 
to  John  Leslie  Hendley,  of  the  Bombay  Army,  Bon  of  Mathias 
Hendley,  esq.,  of  Mount  Rivers,  Fennoy,  and  had  issue  one  son, 
John  Leslie  Henry  Hendley,  now  in  New  Zealand.  Marianne 
Ryder  waa  macried,  secondly,  iji  1850  (her  first  hasbaD4  hariqg 
deceased)  to  James  Florence  Murray,  Major  97tk  Rcigiment, 
TOL.  II.  q  2 


I 


228  OOBTROE  AND  DT8EBT,  ABCHDEAC0N8.        [CLOTVK. 

son  of  General  John  Marray,  and  has  issue  six  children  surviving. 
2.  Margaret,  bom  8th  Oct.,  1825,  who  was  married  in  1851  to 
Major  George  Gleig  Browne,  of  the  Royal  Artillery,  and  has 
issue  two  children  surviving.  3.  Annie,  bom  January  5, 1827, 
who,  in  December,  1853,  became  wife  of  Walter  Bourne,  c.b., 
son  of  Peter  Boume,  esq.,  of  York-street,  Dublin,  and  died  in 
1859,  leaving  two  children.  4.  Eleonora-Helen,  bom  1828, 
died  1862.  6.  Isabella-Dorothea,  bora  30th  June,  1831. 
1862.  Sept.  17.  Robert  Maunsell  Evans,  Archdeacon.     [D.R.] 

E.  M.  Evans  (second  son  of  Eyre  Evans,  esq.,  of  Ashill  Towers, 
county  Limerick,  representative  of  the  Miltown  Castle  branch 
of  the  Carbbrt  family),  was  educated  at  Rev.  Dr.  Willis' 
school.  Limerick,  at  Rev.  J.  Lord's,  Mitchelstown,  and  at  the 
Feinaglian  Institution,  Dublin.  He  was  a  Fellow  Commoner 
of  T.C.D.,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1830,  and  a.m.  in  1863. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  30th  June,  1833,  and  Priest  on 
6th  Oct.,  same  ye&i*,  both  at  Eillaloe. 

He  was,  in  lo33,  Curate  of  Ogonilloe,  Eillaloe  ;  and  in  1834, 
Corate  of  Ballymodan,  Cork.  He  soon  after  was  compelled  to 
resign  his  curacy  from  ill-bealth,  and  went  abroad,  and  had 
sole  charge,  for  a  time,  of  the  English  church  at  Geneva,  after- 
wards of  that  at  Legliorn,  (where  lie  received  an  address  of 
thanks  from  the  congregation),  and  subsequently  of  that  at 
Sorrento,  Bay  of  Naples.  In  1847  he  accepted  the  curacy 
of  Charleville;  and  in  Dec.  of  that  year  became  Reader  at 
Cloyne  Cathedral,  to  which  post  he  was  formally  licensed  on 
20th  January,  1848. 

He  married  in  1835,  Deborah,  third  daughter  of  William 
Gausabon  Purdon,  esq.,  of  Tinnerana,  county  Clare,  but  has  no 

issue. 

Archdeacon  Evans  is  the  author  of  numerous  sketches  and 
tales  in  St  James'  Magazine,  and  other  periodicals. 


GRENAGH. 

1591.  "Rectoria  de  Grenagh  pertinet  ad  Hospit*  de  Mora.    Vicaria 

vacat."    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  Nicholas  Bright   (P.   Lisclery,  Cork,   q.   v.),  appears  as 

V.    Grenagh.     "  Grenagh ;    Rectoria   impropriata.     Cormack 

M'Donogh  Carty  firmarius.    Ecclesia  etcancella  ruinose.    Vic, 

Nicholas  Bright,  qui  iuterdum  inservit  curse.     Yal.,  5  li.  per 

an."    [R.V.  1615.] 
1615.  August  3.  James  Trbdeniokb,  adm.  V.  de  Grenagh.     [P.F.] 

In  1628  Tredenicke  became  R.  Shandon,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1634.  Sept.  5.  Urban  Vigors,  V.  de  Grenagh  and  R.  Ardnegihie. 

[F.F.j     In  1637  he  became  V.  Marshaistown,  q.  v. 


CLOTNE.]  GREKA6H. — IGTERMURRAGH.  229 

"R.  Grenagh,  val.  8  li.  per  an.,  spectat  ad  Abb.  de  Mora. 

Oormack    M*Donogh   Carty,   Impropriator.     Vicar*  Urbanus 

Vigors,  Predicator,  est  in  Anglia,  val.  8«."     [R.V.  1634.] 
1637.  August  8.  MuRTAOH  0*IIagherne,  V.  de  Grenagh.     [P.F.] 
Murtagh  Agharen  (Abern  ?)  was  ordained  Deacon  on  24th 

Sept,  1615,  by  William,  Bishop  of  Cork,  and  Priest  on  20th 

Dec,  J  618,  by  John,  Bishop  of  Cork. 

He  was  made  V.  Carrigdownan,  and  Nathlash,  and  Bally- 

Youmey  in  1615 ;  V.  Monanimy  in  1621,  and  V.  Leitrim  in 

1633. 
1665  and  1666.  Vicaria  vacat.     [V.B.  D.R.] 
1668  to  1672.  Carolus  Stnob,  vicariam  de  Grenagh  tenet,  stndendi 

gratia,  et  habet  curatum.     [V.B.  1669.]     In  1676  Synge  wa» 

r.  Killeneraer,  q.  v. 
1673  and  1674.  Mr.  Isaao   Mansfield  appears  as   V.  Grenagh. 

[V.B.  D.R.]     Mansfield  was  also  P.  Inskenny,  Cork,  q.  v. 
1673.  Oct  26.  Roland  Daties,  a.m.,  P.  Inniscarra,  V.  Mathea,and 

V.  de  Grenagh.     [D.K]     In  1709  Davies  was  also  Dean  of 

Cork,  q.  v. 

1694.  Grenagh  was  held  with  Inniscarra,  q.  v. 
1721.  March  13.  Robert  Carleton,  a.m.,  P.  Inniscarra,  unitam 

cnra  R.  and  V.  Inniscarra,  R.  and  V.  de  Mathea,  R.  V.  Garry- 

cloyne^  R.  and  V.  de  Grenagh,  in  coll.  Epi,  per  mortem  Roland 

Davies.     [D.R.]     Carleton  was  also  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
From   1721   Grenagh   has  been  united  with  Garrycloyne^ 

q.  V. 


IGTERMURRAGH. 


1291.  NiOHOLAS  DE  Clbr  is  Rector,  and  Robert  de  Haltwell  is 

Vicir.     They  are  also  Rector  and  Vicar  of  Toughal,  q.  v. 

"Capella  de  Itermoriw  in  q*a  idem  Rector  et  idem  Vicar'  ad 

Vlllmr.  unde  decia  Xs.  Vllld."     [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1637.  July  27.  Henry  Ruag,  Rector  de  Entermorogh.    [F.F.]    He 

was,  in  1661,  Dean  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1661.  John  Veset  is  presented  by  Crown  to  R.  Igtermuragh  and 

Shandrum.     [Lib.  Mun.]     lie  was,  in  1667,  Dean  of  Cork, 

q.  V. 

In  the  V.B.  of  1661  **  John  Vesie,  ezcusatus,"  appears  as  R. 

Igtermnrragh.     He  appears  also  in  1663. 
1662  and  1664.  Henrt  Ruoo  (Dean  of  Cloyne,  q.  y.),  appears  as  R. 

Igtermnrragh.     [V.B.  D.R.] 
1665.  Mr.  MooRE  appears  as  Rector.     [V.B.  D.R]     He  was  also 

Archdeacon  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1667.  July  12.  Christopher  Vowell,  R.  Igtermnrragh  [P.P.],  on 

letters  patent  of  April  5  same  year.     [Lib.  Mun.]    He  appears 


S30  IGTERMURRAGH.  [CLOTXE. 

in  1667  and  1668.  [V.B.  D.R.]  And  in  1668  be  became  P. 
Balljbay,  q.  v. 
1669.  July  15.  John  Rugo  is  institnted  ad  Rectoriam  iniegram  de 
Utennoroagb  unacam  vicariis  de  Garrybowe,  als.  Garryvoe^ 
Kilmaodonagb,  et  Kilcredan  [F.F.],  on  letters  patent  of  Jaly 
5.  [Lib.  Mun.]  **  Rex  est  patronus  earundeni."  [V.B.  1669.J 
He  was  also  P.  Kilmacdonougb,  q.  v. 

1694.  R.  Utennurrogb,  valor  30  pounds.  Spectat  ad  colle- 
gium de  Toughall.  Dominus  Rex  patronus.  Mr.  Jobes  Rugg 
cnrsB  animarum  sedulo  incumbit.     [Palliser.] 

Garrivoe  V.,  val.  4  pounds.  Mr.  Rugg,  Incumbent.  NulK 
Ecclia.  Rex  patronus.  Impropriators  of  Garrivoe,  beirs  of 
Captain  Jobn  Smith.  Value  of  Garriboe  rectory,  8  pounds. 
[Palliser.] 

Kilcredfane  V.,  val.  3  pounds.  Mr.  Rugg,  Incumbent.  Rex 
patronus.  Ecclia  de  Eilcredane  bene  reparata  ubi  cune  ani- 
marum in  omnibus  inservitur.  Impropriator  of  Eilcredane, 
Mr.  John  Patrickson.  [Palliser.] 
1708.  Dec.  24.  John  Lukey,  a,m.,  R.  Utennurrogb,  V.  Eilmacdo- 
uagh,  Eilcredan,  and  (Jarrivoe  [F.F.],  per  mort.  Rugg  [D.R.], 
on  letters  patent  of  6th  Dec.  [Lib.  Mun.]  Lukey  was,  in 
1730,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  q.  v. 
1735.  July  15.  Honourable  Richard  Southwell,  a.b.,  R.  Igter- 
murragb,  V.  Eilmacdonogh,  Kilcredan,  and  Garry  voe,  per  mort. 
Lukey  [D.R.],  on  letters  patent  of  2nd  July.  [Lib.  Mun.] 
In  1742  Southwell  became  also  R.  Dungourncy,  q.  v. 

1762.  Southwell  (non-resident)  ;  yearly  income  from  Igter- 
mnrragh,  &c.,  £250.     [Hayman.j 

1774.  Itermurrogh  rect,  in  the  bar.  of  Imokilly,  value,  £150 
per  an.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.,  the  King.  Glebe,  4a.  2r.  21  p. 
Proxy,  6<.  It  formerly  belonged  to  the  College  of  Youghal. 
Incnmb.,  Hon.  Richard  Southwell,  a.b.  Curate,  James  Pratt, 
A.B.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Kilmacdonogh  vie,  in  the  bar.  of  Iinokilly,  value 
£100  per  an.  Glebe,  8a.  3r.  8p.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books, 
£3  ster.  Proxy,  5<.  Church  in  ruins.  It  formerly  belonged 
to  the  College  of  Youghal.  Incumb.,  Hon.  Richard  Southwell, 
A.B.     The  rec.  belongs  to  the  prebend.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Kilcredan  vie.,  in  the  bar.  of  Imokilly,  value  £190 
per  an.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.,  the  King.  Proxy,  5«.  It 
formerly  belonged  to  the  College  of  Youghal.  Incnmb.,  Hon. 
Richard  Southwell,  a.b.  ;  Curate,  James  Pratt,  a.b.  [Hingston.] 

1774.  Garrivoe  vie,  in  the  bar.  of  Imokilly,  value  £60  per 
an.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  King.  Proxy,  2«.  It  for- 
merly belonged  to  the  College  of  Youghal.  Incumb.,  Hon. 
Richard  Southwell,  a.b.  The  rect.  is  imp.  John  Rugge,  esq., 
Imp.  Proxy,  3«.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books  by  the  name  of 
Qarribone,  JU  eter.     [Hingston.] 


CLOYHE.]  IGTERMURRAGH.  231 

1784.  Oct.  19.  Thomas  Bunbury,  a.b.,  R.  Igtennurragh,  V.  Kil- 
macdonogh,  Kilcredan,  and  Garryvoe  [F.F.],  on  letters  patent 
of  Angast  7  [Lib.  Mun.j,  vic€  Southwell,  deceased.     [D.R.] 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Igtermurragh,  6  ;  of  Kilcre- 
dan,  Kilmacdonogh,  and  Garry  voe,  17.     [Bunbury.] 

T.  Bunbury  (son  of  Thomas  Bunbury,  esq.,  of  county  Tippe- 
i^iy))  ^^  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Castlemartyr  on  20th 
June,  1777,  and  from  1784  to  his  death  in  1793  was  R.  Igter- 
murragh,  &c 

He  left  issue,  by  his  wife  Jane,  two  daughters,  Jane  and 
Emily.  [U.O.] 
1793.  August  26.  Kobbbt  Dodqe,  R.  Igtermurragh,  V.  Eilmac- 
donogh,  Kilcredan,  and  Garrivoe  [F.F.],  on  letters  patent  of 
April  9  [Lib.  Mun.],  per  mort.  Bunbury.  [D.R.] 
1797.  May  27.  George  Sackville  Cotter,  R.  Itermurrough,  V. 
TuUinockonogh,   Tullcredan,  and  Garryvoe,  als.  Gburaybowe 

[F.F.],  on  letters  patent  dated  May  13,  per  mort  Dodge. 
Lib.  Mun.] 

Mr.  Cotter  performs  his  own  duty  at  Igtermnrrogh,  and  has 
a  Curate  at  Kilcredan,  the  Rev.  James  Cotter,  at  £50,  who 
resides  at  his  father's,  near  the  parish.  This  union  (in  gift  of 
Crown)  if  divided,  might  support  two  clergymen  comfortably. 
[Rep.  1806.] 

G.  S.  Cotter  (youngest  son  of  the  first  Sir  Jambs  Cotter, 
Baronet,  for  whom  vide  Burke's  Peerage  and  Baronetage),  was 
an  M.A.  of  Trin.  Coll.  Cambridge,  and  was  ordained  Deacon  on 
12th  May,  1776,  and  Priest  on  Ist  November,  1778,  both 
at  Cork. 

He  was  licensed,  on  21st  June,  1781,  to  the  curacy  of 
Cloyne.  He  was  R.  V.  Kilmichael,  Cork,  from  1784  to  1797  ; 
and  from  1797  to  his  death  in  1831,  was  R.  Igtermurragh,  Ac 

He  married  Margaret,  dan.  of  Bayley  Rogers,  esq.,  of  Cork, 
and  had  issue,  inter  alios,  Rev.  Joseph  R.  Cotter,  P.  DonogmorA, 
q.  V. ;  and  two  daughters — Sophia,  wife  of  Rev.  W.  Butler,  P, 
Ballyhooly ;  and  Anne  (fifth  daughter),  wife  of  Rev.  W.  H. 
Hingston,  P.  Coole. 
1831.  Sept.  10.  James  William  Graves  is  admitted  to  the  Rectory 
of  Igtermnrrogh  (without  the  Vicarages  of  Kilcredan,  &c), 
vice  Cotter,  deceased.     [D.R.] 

1834.  Protestant  population  of  Igtermurragh,  101. 

1837.  Igtermurrough,  a  rectory,  with  cure,  3  miles  long  by 
2  broad,  containing  5,363  acres.  Gross  population,  2,627.  No 
Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £638  I8s,  4^.  5 
acres  of  glebe,  demised  at  25s.  per  acre,  £6  6s.  Subject  to 
visitation  fees,  £2  2f. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  Is.  Ko 
glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident  for  want  of  suitable 
accommodation  within  the  benefice ;  he  resides  in  the  town  of 
Toughal,  and  pays  the  som  of  £60  a-year  for  hoose-reni.    One 


S32  IGTEBMUBRAGH. — mCH.  [CLOYNE. 

church,  capable  of  accoimnodating  100  persons,  built  more  than 
a  century  ago,  but  at  what  cost,  or  from  what  funds  supplied, 
unknown.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the 
church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on 
the  principal  festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  monthly, 
and  on  the  great  festivals.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory ;  a  por- 
tion of  the  tithes,  however,  in  this  parish,  is  appropriate,  and 
belongs  to  the  Vicar  of  an  adjoining  benefice.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1860.  J.  W.  Graves,  Rector;  J.  S.  Rubie,  Curate.  The 
church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  5  acres  of  glebe  let.  In- 
cumbent non-resident.  The  Curate  resides  in  Castleroartyr, 
adjacent  to  this  parish.  Divine  service  once  on  all  Sundays, 
and  on  the  usual  holidays.  Evening  service  also  during  sum- 
mer. Sacrament  monthly,  and  on  festivals ;  average  of  com- 
municants, 8.  No  school.  The  Protestant  population  is  60. 
The  rentcharge  of  Igtermurragh  is  £392  16«.  9^.  The  land  is 
worth  £5.    Total  value,  £397  I6s,  9d. 

J.  W.  Graves  has  held  from  1809  the  V.  Monisternenagh  ; 
and  from  1820  the  V.  Castlerobert  and  Dunmoylan,  in  Limerick 
diocese. 

He  is  married,  and  has  issue. 


INCH. 

1291.  "  Capella  de  Ninch  Vlllmr.  un'  decia  Xs.  Vllld.-  [Tax.  V. 
Nicl 

1591.  '*  MAUBinns  Supple,  Rector  de  Inch,  als.  Ninshe  exh't  titulos 
tantum.  C5stat  prest'r  ex  titulis."  (He  is  also  Rector  of 
Ballygomey.)  Nicholas  Verling,  Vicar  de  Inch,  et  Vicar  de 
Aghadda,  "  comraittitur  manuali**  [custodiaB  ]J  [MS.  T.C.D. 
E.  3.  U.  and  R.V.  R.I.A.]     For  Verling,  vide  Aghadda. 

1614.  Sept  3.  DiooBY  Hawkbs,  "  R.  V.  Ninch,  als.  Inch,  et  Agh- 
adda, quas  Jacobus  Rex  per  literas  paten tes  suas  gerentes  da- 
tum apud  Dublin,  17th  July,  1613,  univit  et  annexit;  vacau- 
tes  per  mortem  ult'  incurabentis."     [R.V.  1634.] 

1615.  "Inshie,  ala  Nynch,  R.  and  V.  Degorius  Hawks, 
minister  legens,  et  inserviens  curse.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  rui- 
natsB.  Rector  admonitus  ad  rep&ndum  cancellam,  quod  fideli- 
ter  promisit     Val.,  10  li.  per  an."     [RV.  R.I.A.] 

1634.  *'E.  de  Ninch,  Diagoras  Hakes,  Predicator.  Vicarius 
idem.  Val.,  40  li.  per  an.  Wm.  Power  de  Shangarry,  Patro- 
nuB."     [R.V.  1634.J     For  Hawkes,  vide  Aghadda. 

1661  and  1662.  Mr.  Henry  Pae  is  Vicar.  [V.B.]  In  1663  he  was 
Precentor  of  Ross,  q.  v. 

1663.  *'  E.  de  Nachell,  als.  Inch,  John  Masoall."  [V.B.]  He  was 
also  P*  Subolter,  q.  v. 


CLOYNE.]  INCH. — INCHINABACKT.  233 

1663  to  1836.  Inch  was  held  with  Aghada,  q.  v. 
1834.  Protestant  population,  140. 

1836.  January  8.  John  Paul  Lawless,  R.  V.  Inch.     [F.F.] 

1837.  Inch  :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  5^  miles 
long  by  2^  broad,  containing  3,808  Ob.  6p.  Gross  population, 
1,854.  No  Curate  eraployed.  Tithe  composition,  £52i  8s, ; 
8a.  Ib.  38p.  of  glebe,  valued  at  30^.  per  acre,  £12  14«.  6c^ 
Subject  to  visitation  fees,  15«.;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  7«.  QcL 
No  glebe-house.  Incumbent,  although  non-resident  within  the 
benefice  for  want  of  suitable  accommodation,  resides,  by  per- 
mission of  the  diocesan,  conveniently  thereto,  in  his  fiftther's 
house,  and  is  not  at  any  charge  for  lodging  money.  One  church, 
capable  of  accommodating  270  persons,  built  in  1831,  by  means 
of  a  gift  of  £600  Brit.,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First 
Fruits.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the 
church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  twice  on  Sundays  in 
summer,  and  once  in  winter,  and  on  the  principal  festivals. 
The  sacrament  is  administered  every  sixth  Sabbath,  and  at 
Christmas,  Easter,  and  Whitsunday.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory. 
The  Incumbent  of  Inch  serves  the  cure  of  Garranekenefeck, 
als.  Rath,  without  any  emoluments     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1860.  J.  Lawless  Pyne,  Rector.  Church  in  order.  No  glebe- 
house.  (Mr.  Lawless  built  a  glebe-house  in  1862.)  10  acres  of 
glebe  in  Rector^s  use.  Rector  resides  a  very  short  distance  from 
the  bounds  of  his  parish.  Divine  service  once  on  Sundays  and 
on  the  usual  holidays.  Evening  service  during  summer.  Sacra- 
ment monthly^  and  on  festivals;  average  of  communicants,  12. 
16  children  attend  a  school,  maintained  by  the  Rector.  The 
Protestant  population  is  136.  The  rentcharge  is  £393  6«. 
The  land  is  worth  £15.     Total  value,  £408  6«.  per  an. 

J.  P.  Lawless  (son  of  John  Lawless,  esq.,  of  Cloyne,  by  Mary 
Pyne)  was  ordained  Deacon  on  13th  August,  1829,  and  Priest 
on  19th  Sept,  1830.  On  30th  July,  1832,  he  was  licensed  to 
the  curacy  of  Inch.  He  was  also,  in  1847,  elected  Honorary 
Prebendary  of  Lackeeu. 

Mr.  Lawless,  who  assumed  the  additional  surname  of  Ptnb, 
married  in  1838,  Miss  Alicia  Lindsay,  and  secondly,  in  1858, 
J.  G.  Gillespie. 


INCHINABACKY. 


1291.  *'Capella  de  Inchenebaky  Ilmr.  undo  decia  lis.  yilld." 
[Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1591.  Edmundus  M'Bbiant  is  Vicar  of  Inchinabacky.     **Eccl*de 
Inshinibacky  spectat  ad  Prior*m  Omniam  Sanctor'm  ei  Abb*  de 


234  nffCHINABACKT.  [CLOTNE. 

Chore.  Vicar'  Edmund  M'Briany,  idem  B.  de  Martelfitown, 
als.  Kilmedye."  [MS.  T.C.D.  B.  3.  U.]  M'Briany  was  also 
V.  iDchigelab,  q.  v. 

1615.  "  Inchinibackej  reci  imp.  Heres  Johes  ffitzgerald,  militis, 
est  firmarios.  Vicaria  vacat  et  osarpatur  p'  firmarium  rectorisB. 
Nallus  curatus."     [R.V.  RI.A.] 

1616.  Feb.  11.  SoiPio  Stctkelt  is  presented  to  Y.  Castracbore,  In- 
obinabackj,  Mogealie,  Clonroult,  and  Ballispillane.  [Lib.  Mun.] 
In  1618  Stukelybecame  V.  Carrigtowil,  q.  v. 

1625.  January  11.  William  Bublbt  is  presented  to  Y.  Incbina- 
backy  and  Bruhenny.  [Lib.  Mun.]  He  was  again  presented 
in  1630. 

1629.  Feb.  20.  Donatus  O'Connor,  Yicar.  resp.  de  Domnigetbie, 
als.  Templegale  et  Inshenabathey,  per  let'  patent'  Di.  Kegis, 
dat'  10th  July,  1629.     [F.F.  and  Lib.  Mun.] 

Donatus  O'Connor  was  from  1629  to  1630  V.  Whitechurch 
and  Inchinabacky;  from  1629  to  1634  (?)  V.  Ballyspillane ; 
from  1630  to  16— (?)R.  Ardtramont,  Ferns;  from  1631  to 
1642,  P.  Donoghmore,  Dublin;  and  from  1643  to  1660(?)  P. 
Tipper,  Dublin,  and  P.  Edermine,  Ferns. 

In  1641,  when  at  Ardtramont,  he  was  plundered  by  the 
rebels  of  property  to  the  value  of  £120,  and  his  liviog,  worth 
£100  a  year.  He  was  imprisoned  by  them ;  then  sent  to  Kil- 
kenny, to  be  examined  by  the  Supreme  Council  [of  whom  he 
gives  the  names].  He  made  a  long  and  curious  deposition 
about  the  desi^s  and  the  language  of  the  priests  and  friars  at 
that  time.  He  himself  had  formerly  been  a  Bomish  priest 
[MS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  11.] 

1630.  Dec.  3.  William  Bublbt,  Preb.  Tipper,  Dub.,  and  V.  Cahir, 
with  clause  of  union,  pro  Juw  vice,  to  the  vicarage  of  Bricke  and 
Inskirribagshie,  dioc'  Clune,  now  in  possession  of  said  Burley. 
[Lib.  Mun.]     In  1637  Burley  became  R.  Scull,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1634.  "  Capella  de  Inchinabackey.  Rex  est  Rector.  Johea 
Fitzgerald,  miles,  Impropriator.  Valet  20  li.  per  an.  Vicar 
Willmus  Burley."     [R.V.  1634.] 

1661.  Mr.  Wandbiokb  appears  as  Vicar.  [V.B.  D.R.]  He  is  also 
Y.  Castracbore,  Ballyspillane,  and  Mogeesha. 

1662  to  1665.  The  vicarage  is  vacant.  [V.B.]  In  1662  Mr.  Mas- 
gall  appears  as  ^^  Curatus."  He  became,  in  1633,  P.  Subulter, 
q.  V. 

1666(1)  John  Moobe,  Y.  Inchinabacky.  lu  1665  he  was  Arch- 
deacon of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1667.  August  2.  James  Spbnoeb,  V.  Inchinabacky,  and  R.  Eilleagh, 
Clonmult,  and  Dingindonovan  [F.F.],  per  resign'  Johis  Moore 
[V.B.  1669.]     For  Spencer,  vide  Killeagh. 

1669.  March  8.  The  impropriate  tithes  of  Inchinabacky  are 
granted  to  the  Vicar  for  ever. 

1694.  B%  and  Y.  loshinabaoky,  val.  13  pounds.     Mr.  Jac' 


CLOTHE.]  IHCHINABACKT.  235 

Spencer  curse  animamm  iocambit.     Dominus  Epos  patronas. 
[PaUiser.] 

1701.  Sept  2.  Thomas  Cooper,  V.  de  Incbinebacke  [F.F.],  per  mor- 
tem Spencer.     [D.R.]     Cooper  waa  afterwards  P.  Coole,  q.  t. 

1702.  Sept.  1.  Walter  Atkin,  R.  V.  Incbinabacky,  per  cess,  of 
Cooper;  and  same  day  P.  Sabulter,  and  K  Dongoumey.  [F.F. 
and  D.R.]     He  was,  in  1710,  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

From  1710,  when  Atkin  became  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  Inchi- 
nabacky  was  held  with  the  Treasurership  until  1833,  when  the 
union  forming  the  corps  of  Treasurer  was  dissolved. 

1833.  Oct.  14.  JoHH  Ald WORTH,  R.  V.  Inchinabacky.  [F.F.]  In 
1836  he  was  collated  to  Glan worth,  q.  y. 

1834.  Protestant  population,  17. 
1836.  Feb.  24.  John  Abraham  Bolster,  R.  V.  Inchinabacky.  [D.R.] 
In  1842  he  became  P.  Killaspugmullane,  Cork,  q.  y. 

1837.  Inchinabacky :  a  rectory  and  yicarage,  with  cure,  2 
miles  long  by  i  broad,  containing  1,459a.  Qross  population, 
515.  The  Curate  of  the  adjoining  parish  employed  at  a  stipend 
of  £25  per  annum.  Tithe  composition,  £152  5«.  8d.;  1a.  of 
glebe,  set  for  £1.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1 ;  diocesan  school- 
master, 4f.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident;  he 
resides  in  the  city  of  Cork.  No  church.  Divine  service  is 
celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day,  in  a  house 
fitted  up  for  that  purpose  by  the  present  Incumbent,  and 
licensed  by  the  diocesan.  The  sacrament  is  administered  every 
second  month.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory.  The  Incumbent  holds 
also  a  stipendiary  curacy  of  a  benefice  near  Cork.    [ParL  Rep.] 

1839.  inchinabacky  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 
1842.  Sept.  9.  William  AiBADB,  R.  V.  Inchinabacky.     [F.F?]     On 
10th  Dec,  1853,  he  resigned,  and  was  reappointed  to  &  V. 
Inchinabacky,  and  V.  Bally spillane.     [F.F. J 

1860.  Church  in  order.  No  glebe-house  or  glebe.  Rector 
resides  in  Midleton,  a  short  distance  from  the  boundary  of  his 
parish.  Divine  service  once  on  Sundays  and  the  usual  holi- 
days. Sacrament  eleven  times  in  the  year.  No  school.  Pro- 
testant population,  12.  The  rentcharge  is  £114  4«.  3^  One 
acre  of  land  is  worth  £1.     Total  value,  £115  is.  Zd.  per  an. 

W.  Meade  (second  son  of  John  Meade,  esq.,  of  Ballintobber) 
is  brother  of  John  Meade,  R.  Leighmoney,  Cork,  q.  v. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  1st  June,  1823,  and  Priest  on 
10th  April,  1825,  both  at  Cloyne. 

On  10th  Oct.,  1837,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Donogh- 
more.     He  holds  Ballyspillane  along  with  Inchinabacky. 

He  has  issue  by  his  wife,  Anne,  dau.  of  Robert  Warren, 
esq.,  seven  sons  and  one  daughter.  His  third  son  is  Richard 
Corker  Meade,  a.b.,  ordain^  in  1859,  and  now  Oaiate  of 
Fermoy. 


236  1KHI8CARRA,  [CLOTNB. 


INNISCARRA. 

1291.  <'P*benda  Mftgri,  Pui.  O'Uthoyan.  Ecc&  de  Imscara  et 
Magamkeda  XXs.  decima  lis."     fTax.  P.  Nic] 

1591.  William  Feld,  or  Field  (P.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork,  q.  v.),  is 
P.  Inniscarra.  "  ProBb.  de  Iniscarr,  Willmus  Feld" — "  R.  de 
Mathea,  hospit  de  Mora.  Vicaria  seqaestrat." — ''  £.  de  CIod- 
herkin,  hospit  de  Mora.  Vicaria  vacat."  [MS.  T. CD.  E,  3. 14.] 

1615.  ''Iniskarr  Preb*  Righabd  Allbt,  residens,  iDservit  carae. 
Val.  4  li.  per  an.  Oancella  repata.  Ecclesia  in  repatione. 
Matea  als  Cloherkin — Rectoria  impropriata.  Vicarios  RichOs 
Alley.  Val.  4  li*  lOs,  per  an.  Eccleeia  repata.  Oancella 
ruinata."  [R.  V.  R.I.AJ  Alley  was  also  Curate  of  AgabuUoge 
in  1615. 

1629.  Angost  20.  Edward  Johns,  P.  Iniscarr  cni  Prebends  EpQs 
nnivit  et  annexit  V.  Cloberkine  als  Matea.  Installatos  19th 
May,  1630.  [R.V.  1634.]  This  collation  is  dated  15th 
August,  1629,  in  First  Fruits  Records.  In  1640  Johns  became 
R.  Aglishdrinagb,  q.  v. 

1634.  **  P.  de  Iniskar,  Edward  Johns,  val.  22  li.  per  ao. 
R.  de  Matea  als  Cloberkine  spectat  ad  Abb'  de  Mora.  Cormack 
M'Donogh  Carty,  Impropriator.  Vicar,  Edward  Johns.  VaL 
8  li.  per  an."  [R.V.  1634  J  "  Cloherkin,  val.  20  li.  per  an. 
Comes  Cork,  Impropriator.  Benjamin  Hearice,  the  Curate, 
bath  4  li.  per  an."     [MS.  Consist.  Office,  Dublin.] 

1640.  Sept.  10.  Philemon  Fitz  Stmomds,  Preb.  de  Inniscarra. 
[F.F.] 

On  30tb  June,  1642,  Phelim  Fit7.symons,  late  of  Cloine,  (an 
Irish  Protestant),  Clk.,  depones  to  being  "  damnyfied"  to  amount 
of  three  score  and  twelve  pounds,  besides  the  loss  of  his  church 
living  of  Inniscarr,  worth,  communibus  annis,  four  score  pounds 
per  an.     [MS.  T.C.D.  F.  2.  15.1 

Fitzsymonds  appears  as  Prebendary  in  1663.  [V.B.  D.R.] 
He  was  also  Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1664.  July  5.  Patbiok  Thompson,  a.m.,  P.  Inniscarra,  and  V. 
Matea  [F.F.I,  per  mort  Fitzsymonds.  rD.R.]  He  appears  as 
Preb.  in  V.B.  of  1669,  August  3.  [V.B.  D.R.]  In  1669  he 
resigned  this  Prebend,  and  became  V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

1669.  Oct.  27.  Thomas  Willoox,  P.  Inniscarr,  and  V.  Mathea,  per 
resign'  Patricii  Thompson.  [V.B.  1669.]  In  1671  Wilcox 
became  P.  Brigowne,  q.  v. 

1671.  May  15.  Qbobgb  Stnob,  P.  de  Inniscarr  als  Inniskarry  et 
V.  de  Mathea  et  P.  Lisclery,  and  V.  Lisclery,  Inchigeelah,  and 
Kilmichael.  [F.F.]  In  1674  he  was  P.  Kilbrogan,  Cork,  q.  v. 
He  appears  1671  to  1673  as  P.  Iniscarra.  [V.B.  D.R.]  He 
took  the  chapter  oath  in  1672.  [CD.]  In  the  pedigrees  of 
the  Synge  fjeunily,  which  I  have  seen,  there  is  no  trace  of  more 


CLOTirS.]  INNI8GARRA.  237 

than  one  George  Synge  of  this  date.  Accordingly,  I  have  re- 
ferred this  George  Sjnge  to  Kilbrogan,  Cork,  although  the 
titles  of  his  successor  to  this  prebend  of  Inniscarra  mention  the 
vacancy  as  by  deaJth  of  George  Synge. 
1673.  Oct.  26.  Roland  Davies,  a.m.,  P.  Iniscarra,  V.  Mathea,  and 
V.  Grenagh,  in  colT  Epi  per  mortem  Georgii  Synge.  [D.R.]  In 
1710  Davies  became  also  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

In  a  y.B.  of  1674  Samuel  Synge  is  said  to  hold  this  prebend 
and  v.  Matea,  studendi  gratia,  [Y.B.  D.R.]  On  4th  August, 
1675,  Roland  Davies  took  the  chapter  oath  as  P.  Iniscarra,  and 
in  1682  was  elected  (Economus  by  the  Chapter.     [C.B.] 

1694.  P.  de  Iniscarr,  val.  about  40  pounds.  R.  and  Y. 
Grenagh,  Matbea,  and  Garracloine,  val.  120  pounds.  Mag. 
Roland  Davies  curas  animarum  incumbit.  Dnus  Epus  patronus. 
Contiguous  and  perpetually  united.  EcclesisB  legaliter  juxta 
formam  statuti  unit'  P'bendsB  de  Iniscar  ubi  cura  debita  inser- 
vitur  et  ecclia  bene  reparata.     fPalliser.] 

Sept.  1700.  "  I  saw  the  church  of  Inniskarra ;  it  is  in  repair ; 
the  walls  were  built  with  stone  and  clay.  The  north  wall  is 
supported  by  two  buttresses.  There  is  a  handsome  altar  rayPd 
in  ;  a  pulpit,  desk,  and  three  large  good  pews.  The  church- 
yard is  not  well  fenct.  This  church  stands  near  the  River  Lee, 
on  the  north  of  the  river,  four  miles  from  Corke,  to  the  west 
This  is  in  the  diocese  of  Cloyne."  [Downes'  Tour.] 
1721.  March  13.  Robert  Carletoh,  am.,  P.  Iniscarra,  unitam  cum 
R.  Y.  Inniscarra,  R.  Y.  Mathea,  R.  Y.  (Jarrycloyne,  and  R.  Y. 
Grenagh,  in  coll.  EpI  per  mort  Roland  Davies.  [D.R.]  And 
at  same  time  he  was  appointed  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1735.  December  23.  Christopher  Donbllam,  s.t.p.,  P.  Inniscarra 
and  Mathea,  in  coll.  Epi  per  mortem  Robert  Carleton.  [D.R.] 
He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  8th  Sept.,  1737.     [C.B.] 

1742,  June  17.  Dr.  Donellan  obtains  a  certificate  for  certain 
improvements  on  the  glebe  of  Inniscarra.     [D.R.] 

1748.  The  following  inscription  was  on  a  head  stone,  about 
fifteen  feet  from  the  entrance  of  the  ancient  church  of  Innis- 
carra, at  the  north  side.  An  armorial  bearing  formerly  existed 
over  the  inscription,  but  is  now  completely  detrited,  and  partly 
broken  off; — 

''Here  Lyeth  the  Revd.  Thomib  Patrickson,  m.a.,  who 
Resigned  the  cure  of  Iniscarra  For  A  Better  Country,  July  16, 
1748,  aged  45  years. 

His  Sacred  Ashes  here  Abide, 
Who  in  God's  Service  Lived  and  Died; 
but  now  by  Christ  advanced  Higher, 
he  Serves  in  the  Celestial  Choir. 

N.B. — The  above  inscription  was  copied  by  R.  Caulfield  in 
1851.    The  tombstone  has  since  disappeared.    The  Thomas 


238  INNISCARRA.  [CLOTNB. 

Patrickson  whose  death  is  thus  recorded  was  ordained  Deacon 
at  Cloyne,  on  24th  Sept,  1738,  being  then  a.m.  He  was  a 
native  of  County  Cork,  and  was  probably  son  of  Wingfield 
Patrickson.  If  so,  he  entered  T.C.D.  on  1st  June,  1722,  being 
then  about  seventeen  years  old. 

Dr.  Donellan  is  mentioned  as  sick  in  a  chapter  entry  of  11th 
Oct,  1750.     [C.B.] 

Christopher  Donellan  (son  of  Chief  Baron  Nehemiah 
DoHELLAN,  by  Martha,  daughter  of  Christopher  Usher,  esq.,  of 
Dublin,  which  Martha  was,  after  the  Chief  Baron's  death,  wife 
of  Philip  Perceval,  brother  of  Sir  John  Perceval,  created,  in 
1733,  Earl  of  JSgmont),  was  born  in  Dublin,  and  when  sixteen 
years  old,  entered  T.C.D.  on  11th  Nov.,  1719.  He  was  Fellow 
in  that  University  from  1728  to  1735. 

From  1733  to  1735  he  was  E.  Ballymaglasson,  Meath  ;  and 
from  1735  to  1750,  P.  Inniscarra.  He  held  also,  from  1737  to 
1750,  the  P.  Kilnaglory,  Cork;  and  from  1745  to  1750,  the 
V.  Athnowen,  Cork. 

By  his  wiU,  dated  7th  July,  1750,  and  proved  at  Dublin  2nd 
Nov.,  1751,  he  gave  £G00  to  the  Charter  School  Society,  to 
erect  a  school  at  Inniscarra  ;  to  trustees  (the  Bishop,  Dean,  and 
Archdeacon  of  Cloyne),  X:^80  lis,  6d.,  the  interest  to  be  given 
to  some  widow  of  the  diocese,  having  children.  This  bequest 
is  the  basis  of  the  present  Widow's  Fund  of  Cloyne  Diocese. 
He  gave  to  the  Hospital  of  Incurables,  £200 ;  to  Mercer*s  Hos- 
pital, £200 ;  to  Swift's  Hospital,  £200.  He  also  left  money, 
with  which  the  steeple  of  Inniscarra  Church  was  built,  and  a 
bell  put  up  in  1756. 
1750/1.  March  15.  Marmaduke  Phillips,  d.d.,  P.  Inniscarra  [F.F.], 
per  mortem  Donellan.  [D.R.]  Phillips  took  the  chapter  oath 
on  20th  June,  1751.    [C.B.] 

1762.  Phillips,  resident ;  yearly  income,  £500.    [Hayman] 

Phillips  was  author  of  "  A  Sermon,  preached  before  the 
House  of  Commons,  on  the  Anniversary  of  the  Irish  Rebellion.'* 
4to.  Dublin,  1745. 

1755.  The  following  inscription  is  on  the  bell  of  Inniscarra 
Church: — "Prosperity  to  this  kingdom.  A.R.  (Abraham 
Rudhall),  1755." 

The  following  inscription  is  still  visible  on  a  tablet  on  the 
wall  of  Inniscarra  Church  : — "  This  steeple  was  erected  and 
bell  put  up  by  a  legacy  of  the  Rev.  Christopher  Donellan,  d.d., 
late  Rector  of  this  parish,  under  the  direction  of  the  Right  Rev. 
the  Lord  Bishop  of  Cloyne,  a.d.  1756." 

Marmaduke  Phillips  was  descended  from  Sir  Thomas 
Phillips,  of  Hammersmith,  county  Middlesex,  whose  will  was 
proved  in  1635,  and  who,  by  his  wife,  Alicia  (buried  in  St. 
Andrew's,  Dub.),  dau.  of  Sir  William  Usher,  of  Dublin,  had 
an  eldest  son,  Chichester,  who,  by  Susannah  Warner  (after- 


CLOTHS.]  INNI8CARRA.  239 

wards  wife  of  Simou  Eaton,  and  by  bim,  mother  of  Sib  Simon 
Eaton,  wbo  married  the  only  daughter  of  Sir  Riohard  Ald- 
WORTH,  of  Newmarket,  vide  Browne's  Parliamentary  Reports), 
had  a  son,  also  called  Obicbester  (will  dated,  Srd  Jan.,  1726, 
proved  12tb  Dec.,  1728),  wbo,  by  bis  wife,  Sarah,  dan.  of  William 
Handcock,  of  Twyford,  county  Westmeath,  had  four  sons: 
Thomas;  George,  in  holy  orders  (will  proved  1790);  Charles, 
Rector  of  Kilcoleman;  and  Marmaduke;  and  two  daughters, 
Abigail  (wife  of  Godfrey  Greene);  and  Jane,  wife  of  Richard 
Blackbume^  of  Roscommon,  whose  dau.  Mary,  married  Isaac 
Goldsmith,  Dean  of  Oloyne.  Marmaduke,  the  eldest  son  of 
Obicbester  and  Sarah  Phillips,  was  born  at  Drumcondra,  near 
Dublin,  and  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner,  setat  14,  on  5ih 
July,  1711,  and  graduated  d.d.  on  12th  July,  1743. 

He  was  from  1726  to  1731,  R.  Moume  Abbey;  from  1731 
to  1770,  R.  Ahem  and  Bally noe;  and  from  1750  to  1770,  P. 
Inniscarra.  He  was  also  from  1731  to  1735,  R.  Raheney, 
Dublin ;  and  in  1 749  was  R.  Drumachose,  Derry.  He  died  in 
1770,  leaving  his  brother,  Charles,  R.  Kilcoleman,  q.  v.,  his 
executor. 
1770.  June  8.  Hbnry  Agar,  P.  Inniscarra  [F.P.],  per  mort.  Philips. 
[D.R.]  On  4th  July  he  took  a  second  collation  to  R.  V.  Aga- 
Dulloge. 

1774.  Iniscarra  lies  partly  in  the  bar.  of  Barretts,  and  part  in 
that  of  Muskerry,  to  which  is  annexed  for  ever  the  rect.  and  vie. 
of  Matteby,  otherwise  Matbeba,  otherwise  Matha,  by  the  name 
of  the  parish  of  Iniscarra,  value,  X160  per  ann.  Church  of 
Iniscarra  in  repair,  that  of  Mattehy  in  ruins.  Glebe  at  Inis- 
carra, 15a.  1r.  22p.  En.,  with  a  house  and  improvements;  glebe 
at  Mattehy,  11a.  1r.  7p.  £n. ;  glebe  at  Kilmurry,  formerly  a 
chapel  of  ease  to  Iniscarra,  24a.  2r.  28p.  Proxy,  I8s,  The 
prebend  is  taxed  in  the  King's  book  £2  lOf. ;  and  the  via  of 
Mattehy,  by  the  name  of  Matheba,  £2  ster.  The  rect.  of 
Mattehy  formerly  belonged  to  the  preceptory  of  Moume,  and 
pays  £1  8«.  crown  rent.  Incumb.,  Henry  Agar,  A.B.;  Our., 
Richard  Davies,  a.b.     [Hingston.] 

In  1785  the  Protestant  population  was  22.     [Hingston.] 

Henry  Agar  (younger  brother  of  James  Agar,  created 
Viscount  Clifpbn,  and  of  Charles,  Abp.  of  Dublin,  who  was 
created  Earl  of  Normanton)  was  educated  at  Westminster, 
and  Christchurch,  Oxon. 

From  1768  to  1769  he  was  P.  Subulter;  from  1769  to  1770, 
P.  Brigowne;  from  1770  to  1798,  P.  Inniscarra;  and  from  1769 
to  1798,  R.  V.  AgabuUoge. 

He  married  Mary,  dau.  of  Benjamin  Tyrrel,  esq.,  and  died 
on  14th  May,  1798,leaviuff  two  sons  and  a  daughter,  for  whom, 
vide  the  Peerages,  under  the  titles,  Olifdsn  and  Normanton. 
1798.  Jaly  28.  Riobabd  Woopwabjd^  A.M.y  P.  lonisoarra,  and  on 


240     '  INKISCABRA.  [CLOYNB. 

23rd  August,  R.  Y.  Agabulloge  fF.F.],  vice  Agar,  deceased. 
[D.R.]  In  1799  Woodward  became  P.  Glan worth,  q.  v. 
1799.  March  17.  Qbobgb  De  La  Poeb  Bebbsford,  P.  Inniscarray 
united  for  ever  to  R.  V.  Mattehy  and  V.  £ilmurry  [F.F.],  vi4x 
Woodward,  resigned.  [D.R.]  He  held  also  preferments  in 
Tuam. 

1805.  5  Protestant  families  in  Inniscarra.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

1806.  Rev.  Giles  Lee  is  Curate,  at  £50.     [Rep.J 

Georfi^  De  La  Poer  Beresford,  of  Emmanuel  College,  Cam- 
bridge (second  son  of  the  first  Lord  Dboibs,  Abp.  of  Tuam)  was 
ordained  Deacon  on  25th  June,  1797,  and  Priest  on  1st  May, 
1798,  both  at  Dublin. 

He  was  from  1798  to  1816,  P.  Faldoon,  and  R.  Killereran, 
Tuam ;  from  1799  to  1826,  P.  Inniscarra;  from  1816  to  1826, 
Vic.  Chor.,  Cork;  and  from  1816  to  1842,  Provost  of  Tuam. 

He  married  in  May,  1798,  Susan,  third  dau.  of  Hamilton 

Gorges,  esq.,  of  Eilbrew,  county  Meath,  and  had  issue  by  her 

seven  children.     He  died  at  Bundoran,  aged  sixty-seven,  on 

10th  August,  1842. 

1826.  August  4.  William  De  La  Poer  Beresford,  P.  Inniscarra. 

[f.f!] 

1834.  Protestant  population  of  Inniscarra,  117;  of  Matehy, 
45. 

1837.  Inniscarra  union  :  8  miles  long  by  7  broad,  with  cure, 
consisting  of: — 1.  Inniscarra,  rectory  and  vicarage,  8  miles 
long  by  4  broad.  2.  Mattehy,  rectory  and  vicarage,  4  miles 
long  by  4  broad.  The  union  contains  17,055a.  Gross  popu- 
lation, 5,598.  One  Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £75  per 
ann.  Tithe  composition  of  Inniscarra  parish,  £636  5«.  9d,; 
14  acres  of  glebe  in  said  parish,  in  Incumbent's  occupa- 
tion, valued  at  £20.  Tithe  composition  of  Mattehy  parish, 
£513  14s.  3d. ;  8  acres  of  demised  glebe  in  said  parish,  valued 
£8.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £2  7$.  6d.;  diocesan  schoolmaster, 
£2  58,  Inniscarra  glebe-house,  in  excellent  order,  built  in 
1812,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £3,092  65.  2d,  Brit., 
whereof  £1,384  12«.  3f<f.  was  granted  in  way  of  loan,  and 
£92  6<.  l|c/.  in  that  of  gift,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits; 
and  the  residue  of  £1,615  7«.  S^d,  was  supplied  out  of  the 
private  funds  of  the  builder,  to  whom  the  present  Incumbent 
18  next  in  succession;  and  having  paid  his  predecessor  the 
entire  of  the  sum  last-named,  he  will  be  entitled  to  receive 
£1,211  10<.  9J(f.  from  his  successor  on  account  thereof.  Of 
the  aforesaid  loan,  there  remained  £926  Is.  chargeable  on  the 
benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £48  14s.  dd. 
Incumbent  resides  in  the  glebe-house.  One  church,  situate  in 
Inniscarra  parish,  capable  of  accommodating  120  persons,  built 
in  1820,  by  means  of  a  loan  of  £923  1«.  6^d.  Brit,  granted  by 
the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  of  which  loan,  there  remained 


CLOTNE.]  IKNISCARRA. — KANTURK,  P.C.  241 

£427  134.  6d,  chargeable  on  the  union  in  1832,  repayable  by 
annual  instalments  of  £36  IBs.  6d.  Divine  service  is  celebrated 
onoe  on  Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day  and  Good  Friday.  The 
sacrament  is  administered  eight  times  in  the  year.  The  bene- 
fices constituting  this  union  are  rectories.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

W.  De  La  Poer  Beresford  (eldest  son  of  his  predecessor)  was 
bom  on  24th  May,  1799,  and  held  Inniscarra  from  1826  until 
he  was  deprived  on  19th  July,  1856,  by  sentence  pronounced 
by  the  Archbishop  of  Dublin. 

He  married  in  1830,  Sarah,  relict  of  David  Simpson,  esq., 
and  dau.  of  John  Bull,  esq.,  and  has  issue  a  daughter,  Cecilia- 
Melauie. 
1856.  August  23.  William  Gabbett,  P.  Inniscarra,  vacant  by  de- 
privation of  William  Beresford.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  and  glebe-house  in  order.  16^  acres  in 
Incumbent's  use,  and  11  acres  let.  Divine  service  twice  on  Sun- 
days, and  once  on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly ; 
average  of  communicants,  17.  14  children  attend  a  school, 
maintained  by  Incumbent  and  local  aid.  The  Protestant  popu- 
lation is  127.  The  rentcharge  of  Inniscarra  is  £477  At,  id. ; 
of  Matehy,  £385  5$.  8c/.  The  land  is  worth  £36.  Total  value, 
£898  lOs.  per  an. 

W.  Gabbett  (son  of  Joseph  Gabbett,  esq.,  of  Dublin,  by  Miss 
Litton,  sister  of  Edward  Litton,  Master  in  Chancery.  Joseph 
Gabbett  was  third  son  of  William  Gabbett,  of  Oaherline,  by 
Jane  Maunsell)  was  licensed  on  21st  January,  1840,  as  Curate 
of  Brigowne.     From  1849  to  1856  he  was  P.  Ballyhooly. 

He  married  Mary,  dau.  of  the  Lord  Bishop  of  Meath  (J.  H  • 
Singer),  by  Mary,  dau.  of  Rev.  Henry  Crofton ;  and  by  her 
(who  has  since  deceased),  has  issue  three  sons — Joseph-Litton, 
William,  and  Henry. 

He  published  *'  An  Address  to  the  Ycung»  on  the  New  Year," 
1848;  and  ''An  Address  to  the  Macclesfield  Teachers,**  1848. 


KANTURK,  P.  C. 


In  Kanturk,  formerly  a  village  in  the  parish  of  Clonfert,  there 
seems  to  have  been  some  place  of  worship  in  1772,  where  ^he 
Curate  of  Clonfert  used  to  preach  about  one  Sunday  in  four.  Be- 
tween 1794  and  1798,  during  the  incumbency  of  Richard  Wood- 
ward, the  Bishop's  son,  at  Clonfert,  a  chapel  was  erected  in 
Kanturk,  on  a  site  granted  by  the  Earl  of  Eomomt,  a  little  below 
the  confluence  of  the  rivers  Alio  and  Dallua.  The  Earl  gave,also, 
£50  towards  the  building ;  and  William  Allen,  esq.,  of  Green- 
field, to  whose  zeal  and  attention  the  completion  of  the  church 
may  in  a  great  measure  be  ascribed,  erected  in  it  a  handsome 

TOL.  II.  E 


842  KANTURK,  P.C.  [CLOTMX 

gallery  at  his  own  expense.  In  1805,  Oct.  11,  the  Rev.  George 
May  bury  seems  to  have  been  licensed  to  the  caraoy  of  Kanturk 
by  the  Vicar  of  Clonfert,  and  at  the  Clonfert  vestries  of  that 
period  a  parish  clerk,  <fec.,  fur  Kanturk  was  regularly  appointed. 
In  1808,  howeyer,  Mr.  Hewitt,  the  Vicar  of  Clonfert,  took  steps 
to  have  Kanturk  made  a  perpetual  cure,  and  in  1809  it  was 
accordingly  formed  into  a  chapel ry  or  parish,  as  it  is  at  present 
1809.  Robert  Bullek  is  Curate. 

1809.  .July  12.  The  Bishop  of  Cloyne,  and  Francis  Hewitt, 
V.  Clonfert,  sign  the  deed  for  erecting  Kanturk  into  a  perpetual 
cure,  under  the  Act  11  and  12  George  L  The  Bishop  assigns 
to  the  Cure  of  the  church  or  chapel  of  Kanturk  the  toUowing 
townlands  : — ''  Kanturk,  G^radeen,  Curragh,  Mylihiragh,  Roa- 
line,  Coolevotas,  Kilnockin,  Knockelly,  Knockshehy,  Knock* 
shesane,  Gooseberry-hill,  Carrigcashel,  Barleyhill,  Lismire^ 
Duarrigle,  Callaghan's  Rosacon,  Callaghan*s  lasm^cummin, 
Murphy's  Lisniealcummin,  Two  Clontimacades,  Greenfield, 
Gortnaconroe,  and  Gortnascreggy,  which  several  townlands 
shall  belong  to  the  Cure  of  the  church  or  chapel  of  ease  so 
erected  in  the  town  of  Kanturk  as  aforesaid,  which  shall  here- 
after be  one  parish,  to  be  called  and  known  by  the  name  of  the 
parish  or  chapelry  of  Kanturk,  and  shall  be  deemed  and  reputed 
to  be  one  entire  parish,  for  the  purposes  in  the  said  Act 
mentioned,  saving,  nevertheless,  to  the  said  Francis  Hewitt 
and  his  successors,  Vicars  of  Clonfert,  otherwise  Trinity  Christ 
Church,  Newmarket,  all  his  and  their  rights  as  Vicars  of  said 
parish  of  Clonfert **  At  this  time  the  Vicar  of  Clonfert  allocated 
for  the  stipend  of  the  Curate  the  tithes  of  two  farms,  called 
Coulacousane  and  Curragh,  amounting  to  £54  per  an.  The 
Board  of  First  Fruits  gave  an  equal  sum,  and  also  gave  £450 
to  fine  down  the  rent  of  10  plantation  acres  for  a  glebe,  and 
an  additional  £450  for  a  house.  This  (says  Mr.  Hewitt,  in  his 
account  of  Clonfert,  preserved  in  manuscript  by  his  son),  makes 
it  one  of  the  best  curacies  in  the  diocese,  and  the  Bishop  allows 
the  Curate  to  perform  the  occasional  duties  of  Tullilease,  a  non* 
cure,  for  which  service  £10  per  an.  is  allowed.  This  provision 
for  the  Curate  is,  every  way,  worth  £150  per  an.  The  Earl  of 
Egmont  allows  annually  £30  to  Mr.  Bullen,  as  schoolmaster  at 
Kanturk.     [D.R.  and  Hewitt  MSS.] 

N.B. — The  townlands  above  mentioned  as  comprising  the 
district  of  the  perpetual  curacy,  are  identical  with  those  selected 
on  15th  June,  1807,  by  the  parishioners  of  Clonfert,  "for 
paying  the  clerk  and  sexton  of  Kanturk,  and  for  keeping  the 
chapel  in  repair,  in  order  that  said  chapel  of  ease  may  be  made 
a  perpetual  cure."     [Clonfert  Vestry  Book.] 

1 809.  Kanturk  church  was  consecrated. 

1809.  £5  2*.  4id  for  a  silver  salver  ;  £9  2«.  Id,  for  a  Bible 
and  twe  Prayer-books ;  and  £1  14«.  1^.  for  table-linen,  were 


CtOTKE.J  KAKTURK,  P.C  348 

applotted  for  at  Clonfert  vestry,  for  the  chapel  of  Kanturk. 
[Clonfert  Vestry  Book.] 

Robert  Bullen  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Cork,  on  23rd  Sept., 
1792,  and  Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  5th  Oct.,  1794,  for  the  curacy 
of  Clonfert     From  1809  to  1817  he  was  P.  C.  Kanturk. 

He  died,  aged  forty-six,  on  10th  January,  1817,  at  the  i^lebe* 
house,  Kanturk,  and  was  buried  at  Newmarket 

1818.  John  Emmanuel  Orpen,  P.  C.  Kanturk. 

1820.  Sept  2.  A  grant  was  made  from  Lord  Lieutenant's 
Fund  of  £46  3s.  Id,  for  a  school-house,  at  Glebe 'hill,  in  the 
parish  of  Clonfert,  to  Rev.  John  Orpen;  the  local  subscriptions 
being  £18  95. 2d.;  the  land,  2a.  Or.  30p.,  being  worth  £4  2s.  Id. 
In  1858  ''the  house  was  in  bad  repair,  and  no  school waa  held 
for  twelve  months  past."     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1837.  Kanturk  :  a  perpetual  cure,  with  spiritual  duties 
annexed,  erected  within  Clonfert  parish  ;  gross  population, 
5,356.  No  assistant  Curate  employed.  From  stipend  payable 
by  Vicar  of  Clonfert  parish,  £4o  3«.  Id. ;  ditto,  payable  by  Im- 
propriator, £46  3s,  Id.;  augmentation  allowance  payable  by 
Ecclesiastical  Commissioners  out  of  Boulter's  fund,  £46  4^.; 
16a.  Or.  31|p.  of  glebe  in  Incumbent's  use,  valued  at  40«.  per 
acre,  £20,  but  for  this  land  a  rent  of  £12  is  payable.  Kanturk 
glebe-house,  built  in  1818,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of 
£415  7s.  S^d.  British,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits, 
viz.,  £3G9  is.  7^d.  in  way  of  gift,  and  £46  3s.  Id.  in  that  of 
loan,  of  which  loan  there  remained  £15  19«.  5d.  chargeable  on 
the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £1  4s. 
Incumbent,  who  is  resident  in  the  glebe-house,  reports  that  he 
has  expended  £100  in  enlarging  and  improving  the  house,  Ac^ 
without  having  any  charge  on  his  successor  for  the  repayment 
of  any  portion  thereof.  One  church,  situate  hi  the  town  of 
Kanturk,  capable  of  accommodating  300  persons,  built  about 
the  year  1792,  but  at  what  cost  anknown,  further  than  that 
£184  I2s.  3|</.  British  was  granted  as  gift  by  the  late  Board  of 
First  Fruits  H>r  that  purpose.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832 
on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  twice 
on  Sundays  in  summer,  and  once  in  winter,  and  on  the  principal 
festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  monthly,  and  on  the 
three  great  festivals.  The  rectorial  tithee  of  Clonfert  parish, 
within  which  has  been  established  this  perpetual  cure,  are  im- 

Fropriate.     The  Vicar  of  Clonfert  nominates  to  this  curacy. 
Pari.  Rep.] 

J.  E.  Orpen  (second  son  of  John  Herbert  Orpen,  m.d.,  of 
Cork,  who  was  son  of  Rev.  Thomas  Orpen,  of  Killowen,  county 
Kerry),  was  bom  in  1779,  and  was  a  Scholar  of  T.C.D.  in  1798. 
He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  30th  August,  1801,  and  Priest  on 
12th  Sept,  1802,  both  at  Cloyne. 
TOL.  II.  m  2 


244  KANTURK,  P.O.  [CLOTNB. 

Id  1801  he  was  Curate  of  Clondrohid,  and  from  1818  to  his 
death  on  16th  June,  1852,  was  P.  G.  EaDturk. 

He  married,  in  1804,  Frances,  dau.  of  Richard  Ashe,  esq., 

of  Aghina,  and  had  issue  four  sons  and  five  daughters,  for 

whom  vidt  Burke's   L.  G.,   article^  Orpen  of  Glanerough. 

Eichard  Ashe  Orpen,  esq.,  is  now  (1 863)  his  sole  surviving  son. 

1852.  John  Galbraith,  P.  C.  Kanturk. 

1854.  At  this  time  the  old  church,  huilt  ahout  1792,  had 
fallen  into  decay,  and  exertions  were  made  to  collect  funds  for 
a  new  one.  The  following  sums  were,  in  addition  to  many 
smaller  con trihutions,  subscribed — £50  by  Sir  Edward  Tiemey, 
bart ;  £30  by  Mr.  Longfield,of  Longueville  ;  £20  by  William 
Leader,  esq.,  of  Rosnalie;  £20  by  Nicholas  P.  Leader;  £10  by 
the  Earl  of  Cork ;  and  £5  each  by  R.  0.  Aldworth,  esq.,  Leeson 
Marshall,  esq.,  the  Bishop  of  Cork  ;  Walter  Berwick,  esq.,  q.c, 
Rev*  J.  Morton,  Vicar  of  Clonfert,  Miss  Nash,  of  Bath,  and 
Mrs.  Leader. 

1858.  The  oew  church  of  Kanturk  (built  on  new  site,  granted 
for  ever  for  that  purpose  by  Sir  Edward  Tiemey  to  the  Vicar 
of  Clonfert  and  the  Curate  of  Kanturk,  and  their  successors), 
was  consecrated  under  the  name  of  St.  Peter. 

1860.  The  church,  the  windows  of  which  are  adorned  with 
stained  glass,  the  gift  of  the  Rev.  Sir  Lionel  Darell,  is  in  order. 
A  glebe-house,  and  12  acres  of  land  in  the  occupation  of  the 
Curate.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays,  and  once  on  all 
Fridays,  and  on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly  and 
on  festivals ;  average  of  communicants,  15.  No  school.  Pro- 
testant population  of  the  district,  69.  The  income  of  the  Per- 
petual Curate  is  £46  Ss.  Id,  from  the  Vicar  of  Clonfert, 
£46  38.  Id,  from  Boulter^s  Fund,  £10  from  union  for  services  as 
Chaplain.  Total  income,  £102  6^.  2d.y  besides  a  house  and  16 
statute  acres  of  land,  worth,  after  payment  of  head  rent,  £12. 

J.  Galbraith  (son  of  Captain  William  Galbraith,  of  the  Royal 
Irish  Artillery,  by  Susan  Crowe),  entered  T.C.D.  on  1st  July, 
1837,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1842. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  18th  Dec,  1843,  and  Priest  on 
16th  Deo.,  1844,  both  at  Waterford. 

He  was,  in  1843,  Curate  of  Ballintemple,  Cashel ;  in  1845, 
Curate  of  Lynally,  Meath;  and  In  April,  1847,  became  assistant 
Curate  of  Kanturk. 

He  married  Mary,  dau.  of  Thomas  Gonnell,  esq.,  and  has 
issue  surviving  four  children. 


CLOTNE.]  KILBOLANE KILBRIN.  245 


KILBOLANE. 

1291.  "  Ecca  de  Kylbalya  VImr.  unde  decia  VIIIs."      [Tax.  P. 

Nic] 
1591.    ''  R.  de  Eilblayne  spect*  ad  ab*  de  insula,  vicaria  vaoat.** 

[MS.T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  Rectoria  impropriata.     Richard  Boyle,  miles,  fir  mar  i  as.     £o* 

clesia  et  cancella  repantur.     Vicaria  vacat  et  usurpatur  p'  fir- 

marium.     [R.V.  R.I. A.] 
1638.  April  30.  John  Clarke  is  instituted  to  V.  Kilbolane.  [F.P.] 

He  does  not  appear  elsewhere. 
1661.    Eilbonane  spcctat  ad  Abb.  de  Insula.      Dominus  Orrery, 

firmarius.   Vicaria  vacat.    [V.B.  D.R.]    The  vicarage  is  vacant 

from  1661  to  1677.     [V.B.  D.R.] 
1678.  Christopher  Vowell  was  Curate.     [V.B.  D.R.]     He  alao 

appears  as  Curate  in  1681.  [V.B.  D.R.]  Vowell  was  P.  Ballyhay, 

q.  V.     The  vicarage  is  still  vacant  in  all  visitation  books. 
1708  to  1729.   Jonathan  Bbuoe  appears  as  Curate  of  Kilbolane. 

[V.B.]     In  1719  Bruce  was  P.  Ballyhay,  q.  v. 

From  1728  to  the  present  time  Kilbolane  was  held  with 

Knooktemple,  q.  v. 


KILBRIN. 

1291.  •*  Ecca  de  Kylbryn  Ilmr.  unde  decia  lis.  VHId.**— «  Capella 

Rogi  Calin  XXs.  unde  decia  lis."     (Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591.  Dermicius  Sehully  (Scully?)  is  Vicar.     '' Rectoria  de  Kil- 

brin  spectat  ad  Prior  Bothon.     Vicarius  Dermicius  Sehully." 

[MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.1 

"  K  de  Ballihusti,  Prior  Bothon  Rector — Vicaria  spectat  ad 

vicariam  de  Kilbrin." — "  Kilmabo  et  Scrulane  similiter."  [lb.] 

1615.  Pktbr  Betesworth  is  Vicar,  and  Emanuel  Phaire  is  Curate 
of  Kilbrin,— "Kilbrin,  R  impropriata,  Johes  Jephson,  miles, 
firmarius.  Vicariam  habet  Peter  Betesworth,  studendi  gratia. 
Val.  4  li.  Curatus,  Emanuel  Phere.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  re- 
p&ntur.  Villa  Roger!  Calvi  est  p*ticula  Kilbrin.  Joh^  Jephson, 
miles,  firmarius.  Vicaria  similiter  spectat  ad  Kilbrin  et  in 
eadem  est  valuata."  [R.V.  R.I.A.]  Bettesworth  was  also  P^ 
Subulter,  q.  v. 

1616.  Sept.  23.  Patrick  Coyne  is  admitted  V.  Kilbrin,  Gastle- 
mi^ner,  and  P.  Subulter,  q.  v. 

From  1616  to  1693,  vide  Castlemagner. 
1693.  June  26.  Edward  Saters  is  admitted  V.  Castlemagner,  Rogeri 
Oalvi,  et  Kilbrin,  and  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1694.  V.  Kilbrin,  als.  Roger  Otlvi,  val.  10  poaada.     Mr. 


246  KILBAIN.  [CLOTMB. 

Sayers^  Incumbent.     Epus  patronus.    Impropriator  of  Kilbrin, 
Mr.  Jephson.     [Palliser.] 
1730.  Nov.  6.  Peter  Bunworth,  a.m.,  V.  Kilbrin,  per  mort.  Sayers. 

[D.R.]     In  1731  be  wbs  also  P.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 
1735.  November  4.   William  Lewis,  a.m.,  Y.  Kilbrin,  per  cess. 
Bunwortb.     [D.R.]      In  1742  Lewis  became  Chancellor  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1742.  January  12.  Robert  Brsrbton,  a.m.,  Y.  Kilbrin,  per  cess. 
Lewis,    rp*^]     111  1735  Brcreton  was  R.  Bruhenny,  q.  v. 

1762.  Brereton,  non-resident ;  yearly  income,  £200.  [Hay- 
nan.] 
1764.  June  27.  Charles  Bunworth,  a.m.,  V.  Kilbrin,  per  mort. 
Brereton.  [F.F.  and  D.R]  Bunwortb  was  also  Y.  Bregoge,  q.  v. 
1778.  Marcb  6.  Thomas  Hbwitsok,  s.tp.,  Y.  Kilbrin,  per  mortem 
Bunwortb.  [F.F.  and  D.R.]  In  1776  Uewitson  became  also 
P.  Killenemer,  q.  v. 

1774.  Kilbrin,  otherwise  Ecclesia  Rogeri  Calvi  :  vie.  in  the 
bar.  of  Dnballow  ;  val.  £100  per  an.  Churcb  in  ruins.  Pat^ 
the  Bp.  Olebe,  4r.  plant.  Proxy,  9«.  Taxed  in  tbe  King's 
books,  £1  ster.  Incumb.,  Thomas  Hewitson,  d.d.  The  rect. 
is  imp.     John  Longfield,  esq.,  Imp.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Kilmanlo,  als.  Scrulane  :  rectory  imp.,  in  the  bar.  of 
Duhallow.  Church  in  ruins.  Proxy,  4s.  John  Longfield,  esq.. 
Impropriator.  [Hingston.] 
1782.  July  19.  Francis  Clement,  a.m.,  Y.  Kilbrin,  and  P.  Kille- 
nemer, per  mortem  Hewetson.  [D.R.]  In  1787  Clement 
resigned  Killenemer  and  became  P.  Cooline,  q.  v. 

In  1782,  August  9,  Edward  Syng  appears  to  have  been  in- 
stituted to  Y.  Kilbrin,  and  R.  Y.  Litter  and  Marshabtown,  but  he 
probably  resigned  Kilbrin  immediately,  as  in  1787,  August  30, 
Francis  Clem^ent  is  instituted  to  Kilbrin  Y.,  per  cess,  ejusdem 
Clement,  and  to  Y.  Liscarroll,  per  cess,  of  Jeremiah  King.  [p.R.] 

1785.  P^testant  population  of  Kilbrin,  22 ;  of  Kogeri 
Calvi,  0. 

1789.  April  8.  An  order  in  Council  changes  the  site  of  the 
parish  church  of  Kilbrin.     [Lib.  Mun.,  vol.  2,  p.  177.] 

1802.  The  new  church  of  Kilbrin  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1805.  The  old  parish  register  begins. 

1805.  Thirteen  Protestant  families  in  Kilbrin  and  Cooliney. 
[Abp.  Brod.] 
1809*  SepL  8.  SagkyilIiB  Robgat  Hamilton,  Y.  Kilbrin  and  Lis- 
carroll, per  mortem  Clements.  [D.R.]  In  1828  he  was  R. 
Hallow,  q.  V. 
1828.  March  20.  Nicholas  Wbixon,  Y.  Kilbrin  and  Liscarroll,  by 
exchange  with  bis  predecessor,  and  same  day  P.  Subulter,  q.  v. 

1828.  The  new  parish  regi^fter  begins. 

1 834.  Protestant  ^pabiiioa  of  Kilbrin,  53;  of  Liscarroll,  30. 

]UB37i»  Kilbrin  uihob,  witli  isare«  consisting  of — 1.  Kilbrin 


CLOYKE.]  KILBRIN. — KILBROOAN.  247 

vicarage,  4^  miles  long  by  3^  broad.  2.  Liecarroll  vicarage, 
3  miles  long  by  2  broad.  The  union  contains  18,300a.  Qroes 
population,  6,338.  One  Curate  employed,  at  a  stipend  of  £15 
per  annum.  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of  Eilbrin 
parish,  £420.  8  a.  Or.  15|p.  of  glebe  let  for  £10.  Composition  for 
the  vicarial  tithes  of  Liscarroll  parish,  £127.  Subject  to  visita- 
tion fees,  £1  10«.;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  ]7<.  Gd  No  glebe- 
house.  Incumbent,  although  not  resident  within  the  benefice, 
resides  within  a  very  short  distance  of  it,  in  his  brother^s 
house,  and  does  not  pay  any  rent  for  his  present  residence. 
One  church,  situate  in  Eilbrin  parish,  capable  of  accommodating 
130  persons,  built  about  the  year  1790,  by  means  of  a  gift  of 
£520  12<.  ^d.  British,  granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First 
Fruits.  No  charge  on  the  union  in  1832  on  account  of  the 
church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on 
Christmas  Day  and  Good  Friday.  The  sacrament  is  adminis- 
tered five  times  in  the  year.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of  one 
moiety  of  the  tithes  of  Liscarroll  parish,  compounded  for  £127, 
and  the  rectorial  tithes  of  Eilbrin  parish,  compounded  for  £30, 
are  impropriate.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1860.  N,  Wrixon,  Incumbent.  William  Stewart,  Curate. 
Church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  resides  at  Bally- 
giblin,  within  half  a  mile  of  the  parish,  and  the  Curate  resicles 
also  within  the  same  distance  of  the  boundary.  Divine  service 
once  on  Sundays  and  the  usual  holidays,  and  on  Sunday 
evenings  in  summer.  Sacrament  monthly  and  on  festivals ; 
average  of  communicants,  10.  No  school.  Protestant  popu- 
ifltion,  45.  Rentcharge  of  Eilbrin,  £315 ;  of  Liscarroll,  £95  5«. 
The  land  is  worth  £10.    Total  value,  £417  5<.  per  an. 


EILBROGAN. 

1591.  "  E.  de  Eilbrogan  spectat  ad  c5e  Cloine."  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3. 14.] 
1615.  '*  Eilbrogan  R.  and  Y.     Spectat  ad  Ecclesiam  Cathedralem 

de  Cloyne.     Val.  5«.     Ecclesia  repata."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 
1 634.  "  E  de  Eilbrogan  spectat  ad  Econ.  Cloyne.     Val.  20«."     [R  V. 

1634.] 
1669.  R.  de  Eilbrogan  cum  p*ticula  Cloghane  sunt  membra  ad  Econ. 

Clonen.  pertinentia.     [V.B.  1669.J 
1710.  Nov.  16.  A  lease  of  the  rectory  of  Clohane  is  ordered  to  be 

perfected  to  Mr.  Edward  Sayers,  at  the  yearly  reiMt  of  3  li., 

daring   his  incumbency  of  the  pariiih  of  Eilbrin.     [Qoyne 

Chapter  Book.] 
1774.  Eilbrogan,  rect.  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Eilmore.    Proxyi 

2<.    Ohnrch  in  ruioe.     It  is  appropriated  to  the  (Economy. 

[Hingstob] 


248  KILBROWNT. — KILCOLMAN  OR  HAGOITRNEY.      [CLOYNB. 


KILBROWNY. 

1291.  "Ecca  de  Kylbrone  Ilmr.  unde  decia  lis.  Vllld."     [Tax. 

P.  Nic] 
1591.   Thomas  Pbendebgaste  appears  as  Vicar.      "Reef  de  Kil- 

browny  pertinet  ad   Bothon.      Vic.  Thomas   Prendergaste." 

[MS.  T.C  D.  E.  3.  14.1 
1615.  Thomas  Holfobd  is  Vicar.     "  Kilbrony,  rectoria  impropriata. 

Johgs  Jephson,   miles,   firmarius.       Vicar,  Thomas   Holford. 

Val.  iOs.   per  an.     Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur."     [R.V. 

R.LA.]     Holford  was,  in  1637,  Treasurer  of  Clojme,  q.  v. 
1630.  January  8.  John  Shinkwin,  V.  Imphricke,  Kilbrowny,  et 

Aglisdradine  quas  vicarias  Epus  univit     [R.V.  1634.] 

1634.  "E.  JKilbrowny  spectat  ad  Ballybegge.     Johes  Jeph- 

son,  miles,  impropriator.     Valet  IX.  li.  per  an.     Vicar,  John 

Shenguine.     Valet  4  li.  per  an.     Epus  confert."   [R.V.  1634.] 

For  Shinkwin,  vid^  Aglishdrinagh. 
1661  to  1665.  The  vicarage  is  vacant.     [V.B.  D.R.] 
1667  to  1668.  Mr.  Matne  tenet  banc  vicariam  per  scquestrationem. 

[V.B.  D.R.] 
1669.  June  2.  Samuel  Alford,  V.  Bregoge  and  Kilbrowny.  [P.F.] 

Vide  Brigowne. 
1*671.  May  13.  Thomas  Wilcox,  V.  Bregoge  and  Kilbrowny,  and  P. 

Brigowne,  q.  v. 
1681.  January  23.  Francis  Quayle,  V.  Kilbrowny,  and  P.  Brigowne, 

q.  V. 

1694.  V.  Kilbrowny,  val.  5  pounds.     Epus  patronus.     Nulla 

ecclia.     One  Watkins  is   Impropriator.     [Palliser.]     R.  imp. 

Kilbrowny,  val.  10  pounds.     Johes  Jephson,  armiger,  olira  im- 
propriator,    [lb.] 
1721.  July  19.  Kerry  Fitzmaurice,  V.  Kilbrowny.     [D.R.]     lie 

was  also  R.  Bruhenny,  q.  v. 

From  1721  Kilbrowny  has  been  always  held  with  Bregoge, 

q.  V. 


KILCOLMAN  or  MAGOURNEY. 

1584.  July  2.  John  William  Y  Rhuwden  is  appointed  V.  Kilcol- 
man.  *'  Epus  contulit  vicariam  ])erpetuam  eccliw  parochialis 
de  Kilcolman,  Glonen.  dioc,  Johanni  Willm.  y  Rhuwden, 
Scholari,  20^  Junii,  qui  inductus  est  v*te  mandati  per  Philippum 
Goldeum,  2*^  die  Julii."     [Ist  Book  of  Cork  Registry.] 

1591.  William  Shbyne,  a  layman,  appears  as  Vicar  : — "  R.  de  K\U 
colman  spectat  ad  Hospit*  de  Mora.  Vicarius  ibm.  WilUs 
Sheyne,  laicos."    [MS.  T.CJ).  E.  3.  14.]   Wm.Sheyn,  "  Vicar' 


pai 
tLi 


CLOTNE.]  ACLCbLXAN  OB  M AOOURKET.  249 

reepective  de  Glonfert  et  Kilcoleman,*'  was  deprived  in  1591, 
'' propter  defectum  sacrorara  ordinam  et  manifestum  contum- 
acium.*'     [lb.]     Vide  Glonfert. 

1615.  "  Bathlemey,  als.  Bathbener,  als.  Eilcolman,  rectoria  impro- 
priata.  Cormack  M*Donogh  Garty  est  firmarius.  Val.  20s, 
Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur.  Nallus  cnratus,  vicaria  vacat. 
Val.20»."    TR-V.  RI.A.] 

1618.  Nov.  10.  John  Oldis  adm'  ad  Y.  de  Rathlearnej,  als.  Eil- 
colman, et  V.  de  AghabolWe,  quas  vicarias  Epus  nnivit. 
Inducted  5th  March,  16ia     [V.B.  1634.]     Fwfe  Aghabulloge. 

From  16I8tol717  Eilcoleman  was  held  with  Aghabulloge, 
q.  V. 

1717.  Robert  Bulfbll  was  admitted  R.  Y.  Magoumey  and  Eilcol- 
man, vacant  per  mortem  Jones.     [D.R.] 

1728.  June  22.  An  order  in  Gouncil  was  passed,  uniting  the 
krishes  of  Eilcoleman  and  Magoumey,  in  the  diocese  of  Gloyne. 

iib.  Mun.] 

R.  Bulfell  (son  of  Rev.  Robert  Bulfell)  was  bom  at  Hawks- 
head,  in  England,  and,  when  nineteen  years  old,  entered  T.G.D. 
on  15th  July,  1706,  and  became  a  Scholar  in  1709. 

He  was  ordained  Priest  at  Gloyne  on  19th  Dec,  1714.  He 
was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Gortroe  and  Dysert  on  3rd  July, 
1714;  and  on  12  th  July,  1728,  to  that  of  Garrigrohanebeg. 
He  was  R.  Y.  Eilcoleman  and  Magourney  from  1717  to  1755; 
and  R  Y.  Garrigrohanebeg  from  1734  to  1755. 

He  died  in  1755,  and  left  £10  to  the  poor  of  Magoumey. 

1755.  Oct.  10.  Gharlbs  Philips,  a.m.,  R.  Y.  Magoumey  and  Eil- 
coleman, per  mortem  Bulfell.     [D.R.] 

1755.  The  glebe  of  Magoumey  was  improved.  [p.R.] 
1762.  G.  Philips,  resident ;  yearly  income,  £250.  [Haymau.] 
1774.  Magoumey,  als.  Mogallowe,  rect.  and  vie.  in  tne  bar. 
of  Muskerry,  to  which  is  united  for  ever  the  rect.  and  vie.  of 
Eilcoleman,  under  the  name  of  the  parish  of  Magoumey,  value 
£300  per  ann.  Ghurch  of  Magourney  in  repair;  that  of  Eil- 
coleman in  ruins.  Patron,  the  Bishop.  Glebe  at  Magoumey, 
69a.  2r.  28p.  En.,  with  a  house  and  improvements.  Proxy,  &. 
The  rect  of  Mogallowe  formerly  belonged  to  the  preceptory  of 
Moume,and  pays  a  crown  rentof  £1  8«.  per  ann.  Magoumey  was 
a  particle  of  Mo^lowe,  and  anciently  belonged  to  the  parish  of 
Aghabologue.  The  vie.  of  Eilcoleman  is  taxed  in  the  Eing's 
books  at  £2  ster.  Incumb.,  Gharles  Phillips,  a.m.  [Hingston.] 
0.  Phillips  (son  of  Ghichester,  and  brother  of  Marmaduke 
Phillips,  P.  Inniscarra,  q.  v.)  was  bom  in  Dublin,  and,  when 
sixteen  years  old,  entered  T.G.D.  on  10th  Feb.,  1722. 

From  1755  to  his  death  in  1777  he  was  R.  Y.  Eilcolman. 
He  married,  1758,  Gatherine,  dau.  of  Thomas,  and  niece  of 
Rev.  Williaiii  Yowell,  Y.  Ahem.    Py  her  he  had  a  daughter. 


250  KSLCOJMAV  OB  MAGOUEHXT.  [CLOTVB. 

ThomMine  (wife  of  Edward  Croker,  esq.),  of  LisDabrin,  ooantj 
Cork,  the  &ifaer  by  her  of  Bobert  Nettles  Croker,  m.d. 
1777.  April  19.  Samuel  Rastal,  is  admitted  to  the  union  of  Ma- 
gonmey,  consisting  of  {larticle  of  Agabulloge  or  Hagonroeyf 
and  R.  y.  Kilcohnan  [F.F.],  per  mort.  Philips.     [D.H.J 

8.  Rastal,  A.if.,  of  Peter  House,  Cambridge,  was  R..  Kil- 
coleman  from  1777  to  1780;  and  from  1780  to  his  death 
in  1781  was  Precentor  of  St.  Patrick's,  Dublin,  and  Dean  of 
KiUaloe. 
1780.  March  9.  Simon  Datibs,  a.m.,  R.  Magourney.  [F.F.I  On 
letters  patent  from  Crown  of  22nd  Feb.,  1780  (Rastal  resigned, 
and  see  vacant).     [Lib.  Mun.] 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Magourney,  51.   [T.  Davies.] 

Simon  Davies  (son  of  the  second  son  of  Rowland  Dariee, 
Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v.,  which  second  son  was  Simon,  *'  bom  at 
Burdanstown,  in  je  county  Cork,  the  15th  daie  of  September, 
1686,  about  8  of  the  clock,  afternoon,"  who  married  Judith 
Farthing,  and  who  was  in  holy  orders,  and  died  5th  Not.* 
1754)  entered  T.C.D.  on  9th  May,  1746,  and  from  1772  to 
1795  was  R  V.  Macroom ;  and  from  1780  to  his  death  in  July, 
1798,  was  R  Kilcolman,  &c. 

Ho  married,  in  1757,  Martha,  dau.  of  Michael  Davies,  Arch- 
deacon of  Cloyne,  and  by  her  had  issue,  a  json,  Simon,  R.  Ma- 
croom, q.  v.;  and  two  daughters,  Mary  (wife  of Leader, 

esq.);  and  Rebecca  (wife  of  Rev.  Robert  Aslie). 
1798.  August  SO.  Robert  Austbn,  R.  Magourney,  per  mortem 
Davies.    [D.R.]    In  1810  Austen  was  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1801.  July  30.  Richard  Townsbnd,  R.  Magourney,  per  cession  of 
Austen.     [D.R.]     And  on  same  day  P.  Laekeen,  q.  v. 

1805.  14  Protestant  families  in  Magourney.     [Abp.  Brod.] 
1808.  April  12.   Jambs   Sandiford,  R  Magourney,   per  mortem 
Townsend.     [D.R.1     Sandiford  was  also  P.  Eillenemer,  q.  v. 

^*  Magourney  gleoe,  the  best  we  liave,  containing  above  69 
acres,  was  buught  by  the  Board  of  First  Fruits  for  £240." 
[Bennett  MS8.] 
1819.  Oct.  1.  Hkkrt  Johkson,  a.m.,  R.  Magourney  [F.F.],  per  cess* 
Sandiford.     [D.R.]     He  was  also  Y.  Carrigtowil,  q.  v. 

1834.  Protestant  population,  126. 

liB37.  Magonmey  union :  2j  miles  long  by  2^  broad,  with 
cure,  consisting  of — 1.  Magourney  rectory.  2.  Kilcoleman 
rectory.     Qroas  popolation  of  union,  2,397.     One  Curate  em- 

?loyed,  at  a  stipend  of  £75  per  ann.  Tithe  composition,  £684; 
0  acres  of  glebe,  valued  at  12<.  per  acre,  £42.  Subject  to  visi- 
tation fees,  £3  I5c  ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £2.  Magourney 
gleb^house,  bnilt  under  the  new  Acts,  in  the  year  1812,  at  the 
cost  of  £2,446  3^.  Id.  Brit.,  whereof  £92  6&  l|d  was  granted 
in  way  of  gift,  and  £1,246  3«.  l<f.  in  that  of  loan,  by  the  late 
Bowd  of  Knt  Frnits ;  and  the  resMue  of  £1,107 13s.  W^d.  was 


CLOTNE.]  KILCOLMAN  OB  UMCOVRKSY^  251 

supplied  out  of  the  private  fande  of  the  builder,  to  whom  the 
present  Incumbent  is  next  in  succession ;  and  having  paid  his 
predecessor  £830  Ids.  4^  on  account  of  the  sum  last-men- 
tioned, he  will  be  entitled  to  receive  £553  16^.  llcf.  from  his 
successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there  remained  ^440  9<.  llc^. 
chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  bj  annual  instal- 
ments of  £25  18<.  dd.  Incumbent  resides  in  the  glebe-house. 
One  church,  capable  of  holding  about  100  persons,  but  when, 
or  at  what  cost  built,  unknown;  a  sum  of  £184  12«.  3J€?, 
was  granted  in  way  of  loan  for  this  church  in  1818,  by  the 
late  Board  of  First  Fruits;  of  which  loan  there  remained 
£110  16<.  Id,  chargeable  on  the  union  in  1832,  repayable  by 
annual  instalments  of  £13  18^.  lOd.  Divine  /service  is  cele- 
brated once  on  Sundays  and  on  the  principal  festivals.  The 
sacrament  is  administered  monthly,  and  on  the  great  festivals. 
The  benefices  constituting  this  union  are  rectories.  {ParL 
Sep.] 
1840.  May  5.  William   Hallaran,  R.  Magonrney,  per  mortem 

Johnson.     [D.R.]     In  1851  he  became  P.  Oahirultan,  q.  y» 
1851.  April  22.  John  Demis  Peveose,  E.  Magourney,  per  ceesion  of 
Hallaran.     [D.R.] 

1855.  A  faculty  was  issued  for  repairing  the  chareh. 
[D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  in  order.  The  glebe-hoose  extensively 
repaired.  67  acres  of  glebe  in  Rector^s  use.  Divine  service 
once  on  all  Sundays  and  on  the  usual  holidays  in  the  church, 
and  evening  service  on  Sundays  in  the  school-honse.  Sacra- 
ment monthly  and  on  festivals ;  average  of  communicants^  26. 
18  children  attend  a  school  maintained  by  Rector,  &c.  The 
Protestant  population  is  143.  The  rentcharge  is  £423  5«. 
The  glebe  of  69a.  1&.  17p.  is  valued  (under  the  poor  law,)  at 
£64  68.     Total  value,  £487  10s.,  and  residence. 

J.  D.  Penrose  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cloyne  on  18th  Oct., 
1828,  and  Priest,  also  at  Cloyne,  on  20th  May,  1830. 

From  1828  to  1834  he  was  P.  C.  Tracton,  Cork ;  from  1834 
to  1851,  V.  Castlemagner ;  and  from  1851  to  1862,  when  he 
resided,  was  R.  Y.  Eilcolman,  &c. 

Mr.  Penrose,  who  is  a  younger  brother  of  the  late  Cooper 
Penrose,  esq.,  married  Harriet,  dau.  of  Rev.  Mr.  Hardy,  and 
sister  of  Madame  Merle  D*Aubign^,  and  has  issue. 
1862.  Sept.  23.  Thomas  O'Qbadv,  a.b^  R.  Y.  Magourney  and  Eil- 
oolemao,  vacant  by  cession  of  Penrose.     [D-R*] 

Thomas  O'Qrady  (son  of  James  O'Grady,  brother  of  the  first 
YisoouNT  Qpillamoeb),  graduated  A.B.,  T.C.D.,  4>n  23rd  Dec., 
1826. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Dublio  on  2l8t  Dec.,  1828,  by 
the  Archbishop  of  Dublin  (Ma^) ;  and  Prieei  on  24th  June^ 
1830,  by  Lindsay,  Bishop)  of  Kilduf. 


i52  KILCOBCOBAN. — KILCOBKET.  [CLOYKB. 

He  was  Carate  of  St.  Gatlierlne*s,  Dublin,  in  1829  ;  of  Eil- 
keedy,  Limerick,  in  1830;  of  Kilmoe,  Cork,  in  1831 ;  and  from 
1839  to  1862  was  V.  Kiliaconenagb,  Ross. 

He  married,  on  2l8t  January,  1837,  Susannah-Bishop-Good- 
win, dau.  of  Joshua  Dowe,  esq.,  of  Carrigmanus,  county  Cork, 
and  has  issue  four  sons  and  two  daughters. 


KILCORCORAN. 


1591.  "  E.  de  Kilcokeran  C6o  Cloine  R.    Vic.  de  Kilbrin  est  Vicar.- 

[MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  John  Shinkwin  appears  as  Curate; — **  Eilcorcorane.   Curatus 

residens.   Inserviturcura  p*  John  Shinkwin,  min' leg*.    Vicaria 

vacat.      Val.  utriusque  10<.  per  an.     '*  Ecclesia  et  cancella 

ruinantur.**     [V.B.  R.I.A.]     In  1630  Shinkwin  was  R.  Aglish- 

drinagh,  q.  v. 
1634.    Andeew  Johnsoh  (V.  Kilcomey,  q.  v.),  appears  as  Vicar ; — 

"  E.  de  Kilcorcoran  spectat  ad  Econ'  Cloyne.     Vicar*  Andrew 

Johnson.    Val.  30*.  per  an.**    [V.B.  1634.1 

1661.  Mr.  Booth  appears  as  Vicar.  [V.B.  D.RJ  He  was  also  V. 
Clonfert,  q.  v. 

1662.  ''R.  Eilcorkoran  spectat  ad  Econ.  Cloyne.  Vicaria  vacat  et 
usurpatur  p*  Econ."    [V.B.  D.R.] 

1742.  June  18.  Peter  Bumwobth  was  appointed  Curate  of  Ellroe 
and  Eilcorcoran.     [D.R.]     Bunworth  was  P.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 

•1774.  Eilkorkyrane,  rec.  and  vie,  in  the  bar.  of  Duhallow.  Church 
in  ruins.  Proxy,  Is.  The  rec.  is  taxed  in  the  Eing*8  books, 
£1  ster.,  and  the  vie.  lOs.  ster.  It  is  appropriated  to  the 
CBconomy.     [Kingston.] 

1834.  Protestant  population,  0.  The  rectory,  value  £60,  is  appro- 
priated to  the  (Economy  of  Cloyne. 


EILCORNEY. 

1591.  "  V.  Eilcorney,  als.  Loughane,  vacat"  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  John  Shinkwin  is  Vicar.  "  Rectoria  impropriata.  Cormack 
M'Donogh  Carty,  fimiarius.  Valor  la,  Vicarius  Johes  Shink- 
win, inserviens  cune.  Val.  50*.  per  an."  [R.V.  R.I.A.] 
Shinkwin,  in  1630,  was  R.  Aglishdrinagh,  q.  v. 
1634.  Andeew  Johnson  appears  as  V.  Eilcorcoran  and  V.  Eilcor- 
ney. "E.  de  Eilcorney  spectat  ad  Abb'  de  Mora.  Val.  40*. 
Cormack  Donogh  Carty,  Impropriator.  Vic*  Andrew  Johnson. 
Val.  3  li.  per  an."    [R.V.  1634.] 


CLOTNX.]  KILOBNET. — KILCCREDAN.  253 

1 662.  Mr.  Henry  Parr  appears  as  V.  Kilcomey.  [V.B.]  In  1 663 
he  was  Precentor  of  Ross,  q.  v. 

1663.  Mr.  Patriok  Thompson  appears  as  V.  Kilcomey  [V.B.],  and 
also  of  Olonmeen,  q.  v. 

1667  and  1668.  The  vicarage  is  vacant.    [V.R] 

1669  to  1808.  For  Kilcomey,  vide  Clonmeen,  with  which  the  vicar- 
age was  held  for  1 39  years. 

1808.  Sept.  12.  Philip  Townsend,  R.  V.  Kilcomey,  vice  Francis 
He  wit,  resigned.     [D.R.] 

1834.  Protestant  population,  0. 

1837.  Kilcomey,  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  care,  2  miles 
long  by  1^  broad,  containing  8,606  acres.  Gross  popnlation, 
1,257.  No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £147  13«.  10(f. 
12  acres  of  demised  glebe,  valued  at  25s,  per  acre.  Subject  to 
visitation  fees,  Ss. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  5$,  No  glebe-house. 
Incumbent  is  non-resident;  he  resides  in  the  adjoining  parish 
of  Oloameen.  No  church.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory.  The  In- 
cumbent holds  also  the  stipendiary  cure  of  Kilbrin.  [Pari. 
Rep.] 

P.  Townsend  (fifth  surviving  son  of  Rev.  £.  S.  Townsend, 
V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v.),  was  ordained  Deacon  on  12th  July,  1807, 
and  Priest  on  21st  Sept.,  same  year,  both  at  Cloyue. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Clonmeen  and  Roskeen  on 
17th  April,  1810;  and  held  that  curacy,  along  with  Kilcomey 
rectory,  for  some  time. 

He  married,  on  30th  Nov.,  1824,  Helena,  eldest  dan.  of  Rev. 
Arthur  Kelly,  of  Rellevne,  nearYoughal;  she  died  on  7th  March, 
1840,  and  was  buried  at  Castlemagner.  He  married,  secondly, 
on  12th  Sept.,  1846,  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Sandford  Palmer,  esq., 
of  Ballyknocken  Castle,  King's  county.  He. had  no  issue  by 
either  of  his  wives.  He  lived  for  many  years  at  Gurtmore 
Cottage,  in  the  parish  of  Clonmeen;  and  afterwards  at  Femhill 
or  Betsborough,  near  Mallow.  He  died,  aged  73,  in  Oct., 
1853,  and  was  buried  at  Castlemagner. 

The  benefice  of  Kilcomey  is  suspended. 


KILCRBDAN. 


1381.  In  this  year  the  King  recovered  from  the  Bishop  the  right  of 
presentation  to  the  prebend  of  Kilcredan.     [Chancery  Rolls.] 

1244.  April  6.  In  an  agreement  of  this  date,  made  between  the 
Bishop  of  Cloyne  and  Maurice  Fitzgerald,  the  patronage  of 
the  church  of  Kylcridan  is  secured  to  the  Bishop  of  Cloyne  for 
ever,  and  the  possession  of  the  said  church  is  confirmed  to 
Magistei  Thomas  ds  Cayilla  for  his  life,  he  paying  annually 


254  KILCRKDAV.  [(AO 


t4>  the  ebnrcfa  of  C3otd«  one  poond  of  w&x  bj  way  of  penaion^ 

[Caolfield's  Pipe  Roll,  page  44.] 

13^1.  **  Pniieoda  Thovb  Obithetan.  Eoca  de  Kylcridaii  Ilmr.  et 
di  ande  decima  XIxL"    [Tax.  P.  Xie.] 

1332.  Sept.  10.  Chablbs  Batmoitd  de  BBBMnroHAM  is  presented  by 
Crown,  sede  vacante,  to  the  Preb'  of  Kileredan.  [Rot  Pat^ 
16  Edwd.  IL] 

1400.  May  13.  Johh  Atlward  is  presented  by  tbe  Crown  to  thia 
prebend.    [Rot.  Pat,  1°  Hen.  IV.] 

1409.  Feb.  5.  Maubice  Coooebahb,  Rector  of  Dant^rvan,  is  pre- 
sented by  the  Crown  to  tbis  prebend.     [Rot  Pat,  Hen.  IV.] 

1^91.  ^  Albxahdbb  Gouohe,  Rector  de  Kileredi^  Yicarius  ibm. 
CoU'  de  YonghalL-  [MS.  T.C.D.  K  3.  14.]  He  was  abo  Pre- 
centor  of  (3oyne,  q.  ▼. 

1615.  **  Kilcredan  prebenda.  Reotor,  Alexander  €k>ngb,80 
annorum,  valor  3  li.  Nallns  cnratas.  Vicarios  Coll^ium 
YonghalL  Willmns  Wood,  minister  legens,  inservit  care. 
Ecclia  et  cancel  la  in  ruina."     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1634.  '*£.  de  Kilcredane  spectat  ad  Precentor,  Cloine.  Yiearia 
ibm.  spectat  ad  Coll*  de  Yougbal.  Yal.  4  li.  per  an.  Lewis 
Teix,  Caratns,  habet  pro  salario  sno  50<.  per  an."  [R.Y.  1634.] 
Trix  was,  in  1637,  Y.  Corkbeg,  q.  ▼. 

1637.  Aagastl2.  Johh  Ty»t,Y.  de  Garry voeet  Kilcredan.  [P.P.] 
He  was  of  tbe  same  fiunily  as  Sir  Robert  Tynte,  whose  burial 
is  recorded  in  1663. 

1661.  *'  R.  de  Kilcredan  spectat  ad  Precentor.  Yicaria  vacat** 
[Y.R  D.RJ 

1662  to  1668.  CuBiSTOPHEB  Yowell  is  Yicar  of  Kilcredan.  [Y.B. 
D.R] 

1663.  "  R.  de  Kilcredan,  Precentor.  Vic,  Christopher  Yowell 
tenet  pro  sequestr."  [Y.B.  DR.]  Yowell  was  P.  Ballyhay, 
q.  V. 

Aboat  three  miles  E.  of  Ca8tlemart3rr  is  the  church  of  Kil- 
credan, in  which  are  two  old  monuments.  That  on  the  south 
side  of  the  altar  has  the  following  inscription  : — "  Hie  jacet 
corpus  Roberti  Tynte,  militis  aurati,  hnjus  provincise  regis 
conciliis,  filii  quinti  Edmund  Tynte  de  Wrexhall,  Comitatu 
Somersetenti  in  Anglia  armigeri,  qui  honorem  suum  gladio 
acquisivit.  Hanc  ecclesiam  atque  monumentum  fieri  fecit, 
Dei  oninipotentis  providentift.  An.  Dom.  1G63.**  [Smithes 
Cork,  vol.  i.,  p.  130.] 

1669  to  1831.  Kilcredan  was  held  with  Igtermurragh,  q.  v. 

1831.  Sept  19.  John  Leslie,  Y.  Kilcr^n,  Kilmacdonogh,  and 
Qarrivoe.     [D.R.] 

1834.  Protestant  population  of  Kilcredan,  11;  of  Kilmac- 
donogh, 40  ;  of  Garry  voe,  9. 

1837.  Kilcreddan  union:  61  miles  long  by  3^  broad,  with 
enre,  consisting  of — L  Kilcreddan  yicamge,  2  miles  long  by 


CLOTVX.]  KILCRSDAN.  255 

1  broad.  2.  Gktrryroe  vicarage,  2  miles  long  by  1|  broad. 
3.  Kilmacdonougb  vicarage,  4^  miles  long  by  3^  broad.  The 
union  contains  8,770a.  Gross  population,  4,83^.  No  Curate 
employed.  From  composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of  Kil- 
creddan  parish,  X40.  1 1  acres  of  glebe  in  said  parish,  let  at 
an  annual  rent  of  £10.  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of 
Garry V 06  parish,  X77  10<.  3^.  2  acres  of  glebe  in  said  parish, 
let  at  a  rent  of  £2  2$,  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of 
Kilmacdonougb  parish,  £337  Ws,  Sd,  8  acres  of  glebe  in  said 
parish,  let  at  a  rent  of  £11.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £1  ; 
diocesan  schoolmaster,  10«.  2d,  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent, 
although  non-resident  in  the  benefice,  from  want  of  suitable  ac- 
commodation, resides,  by  ))ermis8ion  of  the  Diocesan,  in  theacy  oin- 
ing  parish  of  Igbtermurrough,  in  a  house  belonging  to  a  friend, 
and  is  not  liable  to  any  rent.  One  church,  situate  in  Kilcreddan 
parish,  capable  of  accommodating  150  persons  if  the  vacant 
space  were  enclosed  with  pews,  built  about  200  years  ago,  but  at 
what  cost,  or  from  what  funds,  unknown.  No  charge  on  the 
union  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is 
celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day  and  Qood 
Friday.  The  sacrament  is  administered  montlily.  The  rectorial, 
consisting  of  two-thirds  of  the  tithes  of  the  parishes  forming 
this  union,  are  compounded — those  of  Kilcreddan  for  £80, 
those  of  Kilmacdonougb  for  £G75  3^.  id,,  and  those  of  Ghinyvoe 
for  £155  0^.  6^.;  the  first  two  are  appropriate,  and  belong, 
those  of  Kilcreddan,  to  the  Precentor  of  the  cathedral  church 
of  Cloyne ;  and  those  of  Kilmacdonougb  to  the  prebendary  of 
that  name,  founded  in  said  cathedral  church  ;  the  rectorial 
tithes  of  Garry  voe  are  impropriate,  and  belong  to  Doctor  Mann. 
[Pari.  Rep.] 

J.  Leslie  (son  of  John  lieslie,  esq.,  by  Catherine- Maria,  second 
dau.  of  John  Hyde,  esq.,  of  Cregg  and  of  Castlehyde),  was  bom 
at  Castlemartyr,  and  graduated  A.B.,  T.C.D.,  in  182& 

He  was  ordained  I)eacon  at  Cork,  on  18th  Oct.,  1828,  for 
the  curacy  of  Abbeymabon,  Ross ;  and  from  1831  to  his  death 
in  May,  1838,  was  V.  Kilcredan. 

He  married  in  1828,  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Jonas  Travers,  esq., 
of  Butlerstown,  and  had  issue  a  son.  Rev.  John  Leslie,  f.t.g.d.; 
and  two  daughters,  Catherine-Mary,  wife  of  Rev.  A.  Daunt,  R. 
Rincurran,  Cork  ;  and  Sarah. 
1838.  Oct  9.  William  Agar,  V.  Kilcredan,  Kilmacdonogh,  and 
Ghirrivoe.    [D.R.] 

1860.  Church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  has 
no  residence  within  the  parish,  but  lives  a  short  distance  from 
it  Divine  service  once  on  Sundays  and  the  usual  holidays  in 
the  church,  and  also  (at  3,  p.m.),  at  a  licensed  place  of  worship, 
at  Knockadoon.  Sacrament  monthly  and  on  festivals ;  average 
of  oommanieaots^  IQ.  The  ohUdren  attend  a  school  supported 
by  sobscriptioDS.    The  Protestant  population  is  40.    The  rent- 


256  KILCBKDAN KILCRUMPEB.  [CLOTNK. 

charge  of  Kilcredan  is  £30;  of  Kilmacdonogh,  £214  9«.  2f</.; 
of  Garrjvoe,  £58  2«.  8c/.     The  three  glebes  (in  all  21  acres), 
are  worth  £23.     Total  value,  £325  11«.  lOfrf. 
W.  Agar  was,  from  1836  to  1838,  R.  V.  Titeskin. 


KILCRUMPER. 


1291.  "  Ecca  de  Kylcruinirthir,  VImr.  unde  decia  VIIIs."  [Tax. 
P.  Nic.l 

1591.  "  Ecclia  de  Kilcrumpir,  pr.  Glasse  R.  et  femioy  vie.  nullus 
curatus."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1591.  "  RoBKRTUS  Walshe,  laicus,  R.  and  V.  de  Kilcrompe,"  is 
cited  to  appear  before  the  Royal  Commissioners.  And  in 
another  copy  of  the  same  visitation  book  Mr.  Prendbrqaste  is 
said  to  hold  the  rectories  of  Kilcrumpir,  Leitrim,  and  Macrony, 
while  the  Abbot  of  Fermoy  usurps  the  vicarages  of  Kilcrumper 
and  Macroney,  Lei  trim  vicarage  being  "locus  desertus  et 
vastatus."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  "  E.  de  Kilcrumper  spectat  ad  Glascarig.  Patrick  Peppard 
est  firmarius.  Val.  10  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  ruinis. 
John  Irish,  curatus."  [R.V,  R.I.A.]  Irish  was  R.  Rathcor- 
mack,  q.  v. 

1634.  "  E.  de  Kilcromper  Prior  Classage  est  Rector.  Comes  Cork, 
impropriator.  Michael  Saunders,  clicus,  curatus,  habet  pro 
salario  suo  Y  li.  per  an.  Yicaria  spectat  ad  Abb*  de  ffermoy  et 
usurpatur.     Valent  R.  et  V.,  24  li.  per  an."     [R.V.  1634. J 

1635.  Feb.  25.  Urban  Vigors  adm'  ad  V.  Macrony  and  Kilcrump. 
[F.F.]  On  8th  August,  1636,  he  was  instituted  to  V.  de  Leitrim; 
and  in  1637  he  became  V.  Marshalstown,  q.  v. 

1639.  April  2.  Thomas  Smith,  V.  de  Kilcrumper.   [F.F.]   In  1661 

and  1662  he  appears  as  V.  Kilcrumper,  Leitrim,  and  Macrony, 

and  as  R.  V.  Litter.     [V.B.  D.R.]     In  1663  Smith  became  P. 

Cooline,  q.  v. 
1663.  Sept.  29.  David  Elliott,  V.  Leitrim,  Kilcrumper  et  Macrony. 

[P.F.]     He  became,  inl682,  P.  Ballyhooly,  q.  v.     He  died  in 

1719. 

1694.  Rectory  of  Kilcrumper  impropriate,  val.  12  pounds. 

Mr.  Edward  Boyle,  Impropriator.     The  vicarage  is  worth  7 

pounds.     Mr.  David  Elliott,  Incumbent.     Nulla  ecclia.     Epus 

est  patron  us  vicaria*.     [Palliser.] 
1719.  Nov.  24.  Cornelius  Pynb,  a.m.,  V.  Macrony  in  perpetuum 

unitam  cum  V.  de  Leitrim  et  Kilcrumper,  in  Coll.  Epi.    [D.R.] 
In  1721,  August  12,  Pyne  was  admitted  V.  de  Kil worth 

[D.R.];  and  on  March  21, 1721,  to  the  preb.  Ballyhooly  [D.R.] 

q.  y. 

From  1721  to  the  present  time,  Kilcrumper  has  been  held 
with  Kilworth,  q.  v.  .  .  . 


CIOTNE.]  KILCUHMER.  257 


KILOUMMER. 

1201.  *'Ecca  de  Kylcomyr  XXXb.  unde  decia  Ills."    [Tax.   P. 

Nic] 
1591.  "  E.  do  Eilcummir.     Priur  Bothon  est  Rector  et  usurpatar 

vicaria.';     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  U.] 
1G15.  **  Dominus  de  Rupe  et  Fermoy  est  firmarius  Rectoria?.     Vica- 

ria  vacat  et  usurpatar.     Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  ruin  is.     Nulluff 

curatus."     [KY.  R.I.A.] 
1634.  ^  E.  de  Kiicummer.     Doniinus  Roch  est  Rector.    Valet  20  IL 

per  an.     Nullus  curatus."     [K.V.  1634.] 

1661.  Doniinus  Roch  est  Rector,  Vicarius  Mr.  BobtlIbt.  [V.B.] 
For  Bortley,  vide  Ballyhooly. 

1662.  Vacant.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1667  to  1674.  John  Noboott  appears  as  R.  V.  Kiicummer.  [V.B.] 
In  1676  lie  became  V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

1683/4.  Feb.  8.  John  Shibley,  a.m.,  is  presented  to  R.  V.  Kiicum- 
mer, Castletown,  Wallstown,  Bridgetown,  Monanimy,  and  alao 
P.  Kinonenier,  q.  v. 

1684.  Nov.  14.  John  Bulkblbt,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Kiicummer,  and  R. 
Templeroan.  [F.F.]  He  is  again,  in  1687,  admitted  to  these 
rectories,  and  also  to  P.  Killeuemer,  q.  v. 

1693.  Nov.  14.  RiCHABD  Vebling,  a.b.,  V.  Kiicummer,  Bridgetown, 
Monanimy,  and  Wallstown,  and  Castletown,  q.  v. 

From  1693  to  1835  Kiicummer  was  held  with  Castletown, 
q.  V. 

1834.  Protestant  population,  28. 
1835.  April  9.  Hugh  Stewabt,  R.  V.  Kiicummer.    [P.F.] 

1837.  Kiicummer  :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  3 
miles  long  by  1  broad,  containing  2,478a.  Gross  population, 
812.  No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £133.  Sub- 
ject to  visitation  fees,  158,  3d, ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1, 
No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident ;  he  resides  near 
Mallow,  within  six  miles  of  this  parish.  No  church.  It  is 
observed  that  the  Protestant  parishioners  of  this  parish  attend 
the  church  of  Castletown,  which  is  within  a  mile  of  this  parish. 
The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

II.  Stewart  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Brigowne  on  15th 
July,  1830.     He  resigned   Kiicummer  on  27th  Nov.,  1840. 
lie  is  now  Chancellor  of  Ferns. 
1840.  Dec.  4.  William  Collins,  R.  V.  Kiicummer.    [D.R.]    He 
was  also  P.  St.  Michaers,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1860.  No  church.  No  glebe-house.  No  glebe.  No  divine 
service.  No  school.  The  Incumbent  is  non-resident.  The 
Curate,  Rev.  S.  B.  G.  ^oung,  resides  in  the  adjoining  parish. 
The  Protestant  population  is  23.    The  rentcharge  is  X99  15<. 

VOL.  II.  8 


258         KILOUHMER. — KILDOBBERY. — KILOULLANE.         [ClOTNE. 

1860.  Sept  17.  Samuel  Barker  Greek  Yoitnq,  a.b.,  R.  V.  Eilcam- 
mer  and  Bridgetown,  which  were  episcopallj  united,  under  the 
sanction  of  the  Lord  Lieutenant  and  Priyy  Council,  upon  the 
vacancy  of  Eilcummer,  on  the  death  of  Collins.  Vide  Bridge- 
town. 


KILDOKRERY. 


1291.  "  Ecca  de  Kyldarur  XXXs.  undo  decia  Ills."     [Tax.  P.  NicJ 

1591.  "  E.  de  Eildarrery  locus  vastatus  et  desertus  vacat"  [MSl 
T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  Robert  Ford  appears  as  Vicar ; — ''  Eildaurere  Rectoria  im- 
propriata.  Laurentius  Esmond,  miles,  est  firmarius.  Vicarioa 
Robert  Ford.  Ecclesia  et  cancclla  repantur.  Val.  3  li.  per 
an.*'  rR.V.  R.LA.]  Ford  was  also  V.  Derryrillane  and 
Ballydeloghy,  and  R.  Litter. 

1634.  Nicholas  Hall  (Archdeacon  of  Ross,  q.  v.),  is  Vicar; — 
^E.  de  Kildarrarie  spectat  ad  St.  Kath.,  Waterford.  VaL  10 
li.  per  an.  Vioecomes  Esmond,  Impropriator.  Vicarius  Nicholas 
Hall.     VaL  10  li.  per  an.     [R.V.  1634.] 

1661  to  1863  Kildorrery  has  been  held  with  Nathlash,  q.  v. 


KILGULANE. 

1591.  WiLUAM  Condon  appears  as  Rector  and  Vicar.     "  E.  de  Kil- 

guUane  Wm.  Davidis  Condon,  Rector  et  Vicarius.     Tituli  et 

Ire.  ord'  combuste."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  '' Kilgullane,  non-residens,  R.  and  V.  James  Tredbnniok, 

minister  et  predicator.     Val.  9  li.     Ecclesia  repata,  cancella 

in   ruinis.      Admonetur  Incumbens  ad  repandum."      [R.V. 

R.I.A.]     In   1628   Tredennicke  became  also  R.   St.  Mary, 

Shandon,  Cork,  q.  y. 
''E.  de  Kilgulkne,  James  Tredennicke.     Val.  10  li.  per  an. 

Condam,  patronus."     [R.V.  1634.] 
1635.  May  11.  Edward  Pbrrt  was  admitted  Rector  de  Eilgulane, 

and  on  11th  June,  1635,  Vicar  de  Eilgulane,     [F.F.]     Perry 

was  P.  Eillenemer,  q.  v. 

1661  to  1721.  Eilgulane  was  held  with  Brigowne,  q.  y. 

1721  to  1847.  Eilgulane  was  held  with  Glan worth,  q.  y. 
In  1847  Eilgulane  was  suspended. 


CLOTHS.]  KILLEAGH.  259 


EILLEAaH« 

1291. ''  Eoca  de  KjU  Xmr.  unde  decima  Imr."    [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1591. ''  Ecca  de  Kilieh  spectat  ad  Coll.  TongLal.  *    [MS.  T.O.D.  E. 

3.  U.] 
1615.  ''Kifieagb.    Eectoria  spectat  ad  Coll.  YouglialL    Eccleaia  et 

cancella  bene  repiintur  cum  librie,  &o.     Decanus  Botlb  inser- 

vit  cura."    [KV.  R.I.A.] 
1634.  *«  E.  de  KiUea^b  spectat  ad  Coll*  de  Yougbal.     Val.  30  IL 

per  an.    Lewis  Triokss,  Curatus,  babet  pro  salario  suo  60s. 

per  an."     [R.V.  1634.]    In  1637  Trix  became  V.  Corkbeg, 

q.  V. 
1661.  John  Ashb  appears  as  Bector.    "E.  de  Eillagbe,  Mr,  Ashe 

comp*.     Monitus  est  ad  exbibend'  litteras  patentes  infra  sex 

menses.**    [V.B.] 
Jobn  Ashe  was  ordained  Deacon  by  Tobias,  Archbishop  of 

York,  on  13th  March,  1624,  and  Priest  by  the  same  Archbishop 

on  18th  Dec.,  1625. 

He  wafl  from  1633  to  1661,  P.  Mora,  Lismore;  and  Irom 

16—  (?)  to  1 661  was  R.  KUleach. 
John  Ashe.  B.  Killeagh,  died  in  1661,  and  in  his  will,  dated 

on  18th  April,  1661/2,  mentions  his  wife,  Anne,  a  daughter, 

Christian  (wife  of  Mr.  Hill),  and  two  sons,  Robert  and  Richard. 

[TJ.0.1 
It  has  been  inadvertently  stated  at  pases  109  and  153  of 

Cork,  that  Richard  Ashe,  r.  EillaspagmuDane,  and  V.  Holy 

Trinity,  was  also  B.  Killeagh.     The  error  arose  from  the  ah- 

sence  of  any  Christian  name  in  the  Visitation  Book  of  1661. 

I  give  here  the  information  concerning  Richard  Ashe,  which 

was  omitted  in  the  Cork  Becords. 
Bichard  Ashe,  a.b.,  was  ordained  Deacon  by  John,  Bishop  of 

London,  on  1st  March,  1617,  and  Priest  by  George,  Bishop  of 

Lincoln,  on  20th  December,  1618. 

From  1626  to  1639  (?)  he  was  P.  Killaspugmollane,  Cork ; 

and  from  1631  to  1639  (?)  he  wm  V.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork. 
1662/3.  January  30.  John  Moobb  is  presented  to  B.  Killeagh. 

[Lib.  Mun.J 

1663.  Killeaghee  JohSs  Moore  tenet  pro  sequestr.    [V*B.] 

His  admission  is  dated  4th  June,  1664.     [F.T.]     In   1665 

Moore  was  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1667.  May  20.  James  Spbnosb,  B.  Killeagh,  Y.  Clonmnlt,  Inchina- 

backy,  and  Dingindonovan,  per  resignation  of  John  Moore. 

[D.B.]    In  the  First  Fruit  Becords  this  institution  is  dated 

August  2, 1667.    This  admission  to  Killeagh  was  on  letters 

patent.     fV.B.  1669.] 

1694.  llectoria  integra  de  Killeagh  spectat  at  collegium  de 

Toughall.    Bex  est  patronus.    Ec<ma  de  Killeagh  bene  repa- 
yok  II.  0  2 


260  KILLEAQH.  [CLOTNE. 

rata.  Value  of  Killeagh  rectory,  38  pounds.  DingindoDovan, 
Olonmult,  and  Killeagh,  united  pro  hac  vice,  lie  contiguous. 
[Palliser.] 

James  Spencer  was  Curate  of  Youghall  in  1662.  From 
1662  to  1671  (?)  he  was  V.  Raghan,  Ardagh.  In  1663  he 
was  Chaplain  to  the  Bishop  of  Ardagh.  From  1667  to  his 
death  in  1701  he  was  V.  Inchinabacky,  Clonmult,  Dingindon- 
ovan,  and  K.  Killeagh. 

He  was  married.  **  Dorothy,  ye  wife  of  Mr.  James  Spencer, 
Minister,"  on  17th  March,  1670/1,  was  buried  in  Youghall. 
Ho  had  issue  a  daughter,  *'  ffrancis,"  who  was  baptized  at 
Youghal  on  1st  Feb.,  1668/9.     [Youghal  Par.  Reg.] 

I  venture  no  remark  as  to  tlie  relationship  of  this  James 
Spencer  to  Edmund,  the  poet  But  I  will  here  give  some  very 
brief  notes  of  the  Spencer  family,  which  may  be  of  interest. 
I  find  Henry  Spencer  was  ordained  Priest  by  the  Bishop  of 
Ardfert  on  18th  March,  1663.  He  was  V.  Drehidtarsna,  in 
Limerick.  Perhaps  he  is  the  same  person  who  was  buried  in 
Cork,  in  1646.  Vide  Holy  Trinity  Vicarage,  Cork,  page  110 
of  vol.  i. 

Edmund  Spencer,  the  poet,  died  in  1599.  In  1600  Sib 
Gerald  Aylmer  and  Sir  William  Sarsfield  grant  a  deed  of 
feofiment  on  20th  August,  of  11.  Athnowen,  Rennybrough,  R. 
Kilbride,  Kilbrogane,  Kilmainane,  Agneholtie,  <S:c.,  parcels  of 
the  Abbey  of  Grany,  in  Munster,  to  the  use  of  Roger  Seeker- 
ton  and  his  wife  (the  poet's  relict),  with  rem'  to  Peregrine 
Spencer,  in  tail  male,  with  rem'  to  Roger  Spencer  and  wife,  with 
rem'  to  the  right  heirs  of  Edmund  Spencer  for  ever.  [Fer- 
guson's MSS.  I.  74.] 

The  eldest  son  of  the  poet,  by  his  wife,  Elisabeth,  was  Syl- 
VANUS  Spencer.  He  married  Ellinor,  dau.  of  David  Nagle,  of 
Monanimy,  by  Ellen,  dau.  of  William  Roche,  of  Ballyhooly. 
He  had  two  sons,  Edmund,  who  died  Sp.,  and  William,  who 
was  heir  to  his  brother,  and  recovered  the  estates  of  Kilcol- 
man,  and  also,  in  1697,  of  Renny.  This  William  had,  by  his 
wife,  Barbara,  a  daughter,  Susannah,  and  a  son,  Nathaniel,  who 
was  of  Renny,  and  died,  having  had,  by  his  wife,  Rosamund 
Bulkeley,  a  daughter,  Barbara,  and  three  (^ous,  Edmund,  Na- 
thaniel, and  John.  Edmund,  the  last-named,  was  born  25th 
Nov.,  1711,  and  married  in  1736,  Anne,  dau.  of  John  Freeman, 
esq.,  of  Ballinguile. 

The  second  son  of  the  poet  was  Laurence  Spencer,  whose 
will  was  dated  in  1653,  and  proved  in  1654,  at  Cloyne.  In  it 
he  is  styled  "  Laurence  Spencer,  of  Camden  Bridge,  Youghal." 
This  will  (I  am  told  by  the  Registrar  of  Cloyne)  is  very  brief. 
The  testator  bequeathes  feather  beds,  and  a  few  legacies  of 
20  shillings  each,  to  persons  whose  names  seem  to  be  Morton 
and  Bathurst. 


OLOTNS.]  KIIXBAOH.  261 

The  poet*s  third  son  was  Pbbegbinb.  He  married  Dorothy 
Morres,  or  Maurice  [Book  of  Orders  of  CromweH's  Court  of 
Claims,  1654  to  1655,  pp.  213-18],  and  had  from  his  brother 
the  lands  of  Renny.  He,  in  1634,  had  also  the  impropriate 
rectory  of  Athnowen,  Cork,  and  of  Brinny,  He  was  father  of 
HuQOLiNUS  Spencer,  who  married  Ellinor,  widow  of  William 
Roche,  of  Ballymaclauraco,  county  Cork,  and  became  a  Roman 
Catholic,  and  was  outlawed.  He  was  possessed  of  the  impro- 
priate rectories  of  Brinny  and  Athnowen,  and  appeared  for 
them  in  the  Visitation  Books  in  1694.  His  property  was 
granted  to  William  Spencer,  his  cousin,  "as  next  Protestant 
heir."  The  only  child  of  Ilugolino  Spencer  was  Dorothy,  who 
was  wife  of  Pierce  Power,  and  bore  to  him  three  sons — Hugo- 
lin  Power  (who  married  Uonora,  dan.  of  Richard  Barrett), 
Pierce,  and  William. 

In  1640,  June  24,  Thomas,  eldest  son  of  Thomas  Spencer, 
bom  at  Bramlcy,  in  England,  entered  T.C.D.  as  a  Sizar,  being 
then  fifteen  years  old.     [T.C.D.  Reg.] 

Thomas,  son  of  Rev.  Nathaniel  Spencer,  entered  T.C.D.  as 
a  Pensioner  on  13th  May,  1684,  being  then  sixteen  years  old. 
[T.C.D.  Reg.] 

John  Spencer,  of  Youghal,  merchant,  in  his  will,  dated  4th 
Feb.,  1688,  mentions  his  mother,  Jemima,  and  his  wife,  Florence. 
1701.  July  28.  Thomas  Derham,  a.m.,  R.  Killeagh  FF.F.],  per  mort 


Spencer. 
[Lib.  Mun.] 


D.R.]     His  letters  patent  were  dated  24th  May. 

In  1704/5,  Derham  was  P.  Kilnaglory,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1705.   April   30.  Thomas  Symcocks  is  presented  to  R.  Killeagh. 

[Lib.  Mun.]     He  was  also  P.  Cahirultan,  q.  v. 
1732.  December  11.  Ralph  Smith,  a.m.,  R.  Killeagh.     [D.R.]     On 
letters  patent  of  Nov.  27,  1732.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

On  12th  May,  1734,  he  was  presented  to  the  rectory  of 
Kelliestown,  diocese  of  Leighlin.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

Ralph  Smith  (son  of  Rev.  John  Smith),  born  in  county  Fer- 
managh, entered  T.C.D.  on  5th  May,  1723,  being  then  eighteen 
years  old. 

From  1732  to  1735  he  was  R.  Killeagh ;  and  from  1735  to 
his  death  in  1740  was  P.  Tulmagynagh,  Leighlin. 

1734.  May  12.  Richard  Southwell  was  presented  to  R.  Killeagh, 
on  letters  patent  [Lib.  Mun.]  His  admission  is  dated  21st 
May,  1735,  in  the  Diocesan  Register,  as  per  cessionem  Rodolphi 
Smith.  He  was  also  R.  Igtermurragh.  And  in  1742  became 
R.  Dungoumey,  q.  v. 

1735.  Sept.  23.  George  Chinnert,  a.m.,  R.  Killeagh.  [D.Pi.]  On 
letters  patent  of  July  2  [Lib.  Mun.],  per  cessionem  Southwell. 
[D.R.]     Chinnery  was  also  R.  Mallow,  q.  v. 

1745/6.  April  15.  Georqb  Chinnert,  a.m.,  junior,  R.  Killeagh. 
[F.F.J  On  letters  patent,  dated  25th  March,  1745.  [Lib. 
Mun.T  Vacant,  per  cessionem  Georgii  Chinnery,  senioris. 
[D.BT}    In  1763  Chinnery  became  also  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 


262  KILLBAOH.  [OLOTITB. 

1774.  KiUeagh  rec.^  in  tbe  bar.  of  Imokillj,  value  £200. 
Oiurch  in  repair.  Pat  the  King.  Glebe,  16a.  1b.  9p.  En. 
Froxj,  10&  It  formerly  belonged  to  tbe  College  of  TongbaL 
Inonmb.  Qeorge  Chinnerj,  ll.d.  ;  Oorate,  Francis  Atterbury, 
LL.D.  [Hingston.] 
1779.  Marcn  22.  Johv  Erskinb,  a.m.,  R.  Killeagh.  [F.F.]  On 
letters  patent  of  Feb.  24  [Lib.  Man»],  and  same  year  Deaa 
of  Cork,  q.  t. 

1785.  Protestant  population,  22.     [Hart.] 
1796.  January  26.  Richard  Henry  Rogers,  R.  Killeagb.    [F.F.J 
On  letters  patent  of  Dec.  19,  1795,  per  mortem  John  Erskine. 
[Lib.  MunJ 

1805.  1y  Protestant  families  in  KiUeagh.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

1806.  R.  H.  Rogers,  ll.d.,  resides  at  xoughal,  5  miles 
from  his  parish,  but  is  now  building  a  glebe-house  near  bis 
church.  Uurate,  Re?.  Jeremiah  Harte,  at  £60.  [Pari.  Rep. 
1806.] 

1834.  Protestant  population,  90. 

1837.  Killeagh :  a  rectory,  with  cure,  3  miles  long  by  4 
broad,  containing  6,000a.  Gross  population,  2,785.  One  Curate 
employed,  at  an  annual  stipend  of  £69  4^.  7^d.  Brit.  Tithe 
composition  £974  95.  9d, ;  IGa.  3r.  of  glebe,  viUuedat  30s.  per 
acre,  £25  2^.  6d.  Surplice  fees,  16^.  Subject  to  visitation 
fees,  18^. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  5s.  Killeagh  glebe-house, 
built  in  1809,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  tbe  cost  of  £1,794  5s.  8jc?. 
Brit.,  whereof  £923  Is.  6id.  was  granted  in  way  of  loan,  and 
£92  6«.  Ifrf.  in  that  of  gift,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits  ; 
and  the  residue  of  £778  I85.  was  supplied  out  of  the  private 
funds  of  Incumbent ;  the  whole  of  which  sum  last  named  he 
will  be  entitled  to  receive  from  his  successor.  Of  the  loaa 
aforesaid  there  remained  £265  I6s.  8d.  chargeable  on  tbe 
benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £14  I5s.  5d. 
Incumbent  is  resident  in  the  glebe-house.  One  church,  capa- 
ble of  accommodating  100  persons,  built  in  1812,  at  the  cost 
of  £657  4#.  7J(i.  Brit.,  whereof  £346  3«.  Id.  was  granted  in 
way  of  loan,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits,  £188  6«.  2d, 
was  raised  by  private  subscriptions,  and  £122  15^.  i^d.  by 
parochial  assessment.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid,  there  remained 
£70  lis.  5d.  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by 
annual  instalments  of  £4  Ss.  Sd*  Divine  service  is  celebrated 
twice  on  Sundays  in  summer,  and  once  in  winter,  and  on 
Christmas  Day  and  Good  Friday.  The  sacrament  is  adminis- 
tered monthly  and  on  the  festivals.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory. 
The  King  is  ratron.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

Richard  Henry  Rogers  (son  of  Bayly  Rogers,  esq.,  by  Martha, 
dan.  of  Emmanuel  Pigott,  m.p.),  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Cork 
on  24th  August,  1784,  and  Priest  on  5th  Dec.,  same  year,  at 
Cloyne. 

l^om  1796  to  his  death  on  3rd  March,  1837,  he  was  R. 


CLOtHS.]  KHXEAGH. — DSAK8.  268 

Killeagh.  He  waa  buried  at  Ohriatchorcb,  Cork,  on  5th  April, 
1837. 

He  hsA  \aane  by  bis  wife,  Snsannab  Qumbleion,  whom  be 
married  in  1783,  three  sons — Henry-Richard,  Qeorge-Gnmble- 
ton,  and  Josepb-Pigott ;  and  four  daughters — Elisabeth, 
Heloise,  Susannah,  and  Catherine,  who  was  wife  to  Mr.  Atkins. 

His  eldest  son,  Bichard-Henrj  Rogers,  was  ordained  Deacon 

at  Cloyne  on  8th  Oct,  1809,  and  on  15th  Feb.,  1812,  was 

licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Inchigeelah.     He  married  in  1811, 

Augusta,  dau.  of  John  Lyster,  of  Yonghal. 

1837.  June  14.  Richard  Lorenzo  Fitzoibbon,  R.  Killeagh.   fD.R.] 

R.  L.  Fitzgibbon,  born  in  England,  circa  1798,  was  the  son 
of  the  late  Richard  Hobart  Fitzgibbon,  of  the  Royal  Na^,  and 
afterwards  of  Dublin,  by  his  second  wife,  Sarah,  dau.  of  Thomas 
O'Neile,  Barrister-at-Law. 

He  was  educated  at  the  school  of  Mr.  White,  in  Grafton- 
street,  Dublin,  and  graduated  a.b.  and  I).d.  in  T.C.D.  For 
some  years  he  was  Curate  of  Castledermott,  county  Rildare. 
From  1836  to  1837  he  was  P.  Monehonock,  and  R.  Castleder- 
mott; and  from  1837  to  his  death  in  1851  he  was  R.  Killeagh. 

He  married  firstly,  Sarah,  dau.  of  Rev.  Neligan,  of 

Silvermines,  county  of  Tipperary,  by  whom  he  had  eight  chil- 
dren, of  whom  three  only  survive,  viz. : — ^A  son,  Richard-E. 
Fitzgibbon,  Surgeon  in  the  Army,  now  in  India;  and  two 
daughters,  one  of  whom  is  wife  of  Edward  Connelly,  esq.,  of 
Killeagh,  county  Cork. 

He  married  secondly,  the  relict  of  Edward  Johnson,  esq.,  of 
Cork,  and  had  issue  by  her  five  children,  of  whom  three  only 
survive. 

The  Rev.  R.  L.  Fitzgibbon  was  buried  at  Killeagh,  on  26th 
August,  1851,  aged  fifty-three  years. 

Deans. 

1851.  October  23.  James  Howie,  Dean  of  Goyne,  by  order  in 
Council,  receives  EoUeagh  rectory,  as  the  corps  of  his  deanery 
instead  of  Farrihy. 

1860.  Church  and  glebe-house  in  order.  15  acres  of  glebe 
in  the  Dean's  use.  Divine  service  once  on  all  Sundays  and  on 
the  usual  holidays.  Evening  service  during  summer.  Sacra- 
ment monthly,  and  on  festivals ;  average  of  communicants,  20. 
No  school.  Protestant  population,  70.  Rentcharge,  X539 
19&  8^  The  land  is  worth  £20.  Total  income,  £559  19«.  S^ 

James  Howie,  formerly  Curate  of  St  Mary's,  Dublin,  was, 
in  April,  1847,  P.  Howth,  Dublin ;  in  August  of  that  year,  P. 
St  Audoen's,  Dublin;  and  in  1851  became  Dean  of  Gloyne, 
and  Rector  of  Farrihy. 

He  is  married. 


264  XtlXENEMEB.  [CLOTKB. 

EILLENEMEB. 

1591.  «  E.  deKillenemir,  JohksEdmtxndi."    [M.S.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  U.] 
1615.  '^  Killenemir,  Samubl  Bushop,  Scholaris,  habet  ad  quinquen- 
nium etudii  gratia.     Prebenda  est  mere  laica.      Valor  20«. 
Nullam  habet  curam.**     [R.V.  RJ.A.] 
1618  to  1624.  Bishops  Mensal.     [V.B.,  in  Cork  Registry,  quoted 

by  Cotton.] 
1627.  Feb.  1.  Edward  Perrt  was  admitted  P.  Killinemer,  and  B. 
Knocktemple.     [MS.  Consist.  Dub.] 

1634.  P.  Killenemor,  E.  Perry,  Predicator.     Val.  4  li.  per 
an.    [R.V.  1634.] 

]  E.  Perry  was  ordained  Priest  on  20th  January,  1625,  by 

;  Richard,  Bp.  of  Cork. 

i|  Prom  1627  to  1634  he  was  P.  Killenemer;  from  1627  to 

I'  16—?  R.  Knocktemple;  and  from  1635  to  16—1  R.  Kil- 

gulane. 

He  was  plundered  by  the  rebels  in  1641.     [MS.  T.C.D.  F. 
2.  18.] 
1634.  August  31.  Thomas  Fullwar  was  admitted  Prcub.  de  Kille- 
f  nymer,  and  R.  Ringroue.     [F.F.]     In  1641  he  became  Bp. 

\  Ardfert,  with  Ringrone  in  commendam. 

In  1639  Fullwar  became  Chancellor  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1640/1.  March  2.  Thomas  Smith,  Proeb.  de  Killinemer.   [P.P.]  He 
was  also  R.  Litter,  &c. 

He  appears  as  P.  Killenemer  in  1661  and  1662.   [V.B.]    In 
1663  "  vacant;"  but  in  another  V.B.  of  1663,  and  in  1664 and 
1665,  Thomas  Smith  appears  as  Prebendary.     [V.B.  D.R.] 
In  1663  Smyth  became  P.  Cooline,  q.  v. 
1666.  William  Boetley,  P.  Killenemer,  &c.     He  was  also  P.  Bally- 

hooly,  q.  v. 
1666.  Dec.  8.  John  Norcott  was  instituted  to  V.  Castletown, 
Bridgetown,  Wallstown,  et  Monanimy,  cum  Prcb.  de  Killinemer, 
per  cessionem  Willmi  Bortley.  [V.B.  1669.]  In  1G76  he 
became  V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 
1676.  August  9.  Mr.  Charles  Synge,  Preb.  Killenemor,  took  the 
chapter  oath.     [C.B.] 

C.  Synge  (son  of  Francis  Synge,  ll.d.,  Arclidcacon  of  Ross, 
q.  v.),  was  born  at  "com*  Cornubra?,"  and  when  seventeen 
years  old,  entered  T.C.D.  as  Pensioner,  on  17th  May,  1671. 

From  1668  to  1672  he  was  V.  Grcnagh,  and  from  1676  to 
1680  he  was  P.  Killenemer. 
1680/1.  April  20.  Charles  Newborogh,  a.m.,  V.  Castletown, 
Bridgetown,  Wallestown,  and  Monanimy,  and  P.  Killenemer. 
[F.F.]  On  12th  Nov.,  1680,  Mr.  Ncwborough  appointed 
Daniel  Considine,  one  of  the  Vicars  Choral,  to  receive  his  instal- 
lation. [C.B.]  Newborogh  was  appointed  to  these  livings  by 
letters  patent  of  14th  July,  1680.     [Lib.  Mun.] 


CLOTKB.]  kulsnemer.  265 

C.  Newborogh,  or  Newburg  (son  of  Tbomas  Newborogb, 
chiliarchcBJj  was  born  at  Lifford,  connty  Donegal,  and  entered 
T. CD.  as  Pensioner,  on  19tb  March,  1663,  being  then  seventeen 
years  old,  and  was  a  Scholar  in  1664. 

He  was  in  1676  V.  Ratoath,  Meath,  and  in  1678  V.  Dun- 
dalk.  He  held  Elllenemer,  &c.,  from  1680  to  1683,  and  then 
resigned. 

He  married,  in  1675,  Elisabeth  Bonn,  of  St.  Katherine's, 
Dublin.     [M.L.  10.  May.] 
1683.  August  27.  John  Shieblt,  a.m.,  per  cess,  of  Newborongh 
[D.R.],  P.  Killinemor,  als.  Kilnumery,  V.  Castletown,  Walls- 
town,  Bridgetown,  and  Monanimy.     [F.F.] 

On  8th  Feb.  1683/4,  letters  patent  are  signed,  presenting 
John  Sherley  to  R.  V.  Castletown,  Bridgetown,  Wallstown, 
Kilcummer,  P.  Killinemer,  and  Monanimy.     [Lib.  Mun.] 

John  Shierly,  son  of  David  Shierly  generosiy  was  bom  in 
county  Kerry,  and  when  eighteen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.  as 
Pensioner,  on  27th  April,  1675. 

Ho  was,  from  1683  to  1686  P.  Killcneraer,  <tc.,  ^c. ;  from 
16—  ?  to  1693,  V.  Clonfort;  and  from  1698  to  1705,  was  Sacrist 
of  Clonfert,  in  the  diocese  of  Clonfert. 
1 687.  April  6.    Mb.  Matthew  Jones,  Prebendary  of  Killenemer, 
took  the  chapter  oaths.  [C.B.]  He  was  also  P.  Donoghmore,q.v. 
1687.  July  18.  John  Bulkelet,  a.m.,  P.  Killinemer,  v.  Carrigam- 
leary,  R.  V,  Monanimy,  Kilcummer,  and  R.  Templeroan,  in 
Coll.  Epi.     [D.R.l     In  1693  he  became  P.  Kilmaclenine,  q.  v. 
In  1687,  Nov.  12,  Mr.  John  Bulkeley  took  the  chapter  oaths 
as  Preb.  of  Killenemer.     [C.B.] 
1693.  Nov.  14.  Chakles  Northcote,  a.m.,  P.  Killenemer,  per  cess, 
of  Bulkeley.    [D.R.]    He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  14th  Nov., 
1693.     [C.B.]     In  1708  he  became  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  q.  v. 
1694.  Killenemer  P.,  val.  20  shillings.     [Palliser.] 
1708.  Januanr  21.  Francis  Qore,  P.  Killinemer,  and  V.  Carrigam- 

leary.     [F.F.]     In  1717  he  became  P.  Kilmaclenin,  q.  v. 
1714.   Sept.  11.    Robert  Carleton,  a.m.,  P.  Killenemer,  and  R. 
Mogeely  and  Templebelagh,  per  cess  of  Qore.     [D.R.] 

He  took  the  chapter  oaths  as  Prebendary  of  Killenemer  on 
20th  May,  1714.  [C.B.]  In  1721  he  was  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1716.  May  24.  Mr.  Thomas  Ryder  took  the  chapter  oaths  as  Pre- 
bendary of  Killenemer.  fC.B.]  Cotton  gives  the  date  of  his 
institution  from  F.F.  as  Nov.  18,  1716.  In  1721  Ryder  was 
P.  Brigowne,  q.  v. 
1719/20.  April  16.  Thomas  Cooper,  a.m.,  P.  Killenemer  [D.R.]  per 
cession  of  Robert  Carleton  !     [D.R.] 

On  9th   June,  1720,  Mr.  Cooper  took  the  chapter  oaths. 
[C.B.]     In  1724  he  was  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 
1721.  April  14.  Francis  Bland,  a.m.,  P.  Killenemer  [D.R.]  per 
cessiouem  Cooper.     [D.R.] 


266  XnftBlTBIfEB.  [OlOTHS. 

On  IMb  Not.,  1799,  lie  took  the  chapter  oatha    [0.B.]    In 
1735  Bland  became  B.  ▼•  Olondrohid,  o.  v. 
1788/9.  Jannarj  2.  Williav  Lewis,  a.m.,  P.  Eillenenior  [D.R.], 
per  cessionem  Bland.     [D.B.] 

He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  29th  May,  1729.  [O.B.]  He 
beoune  in  1780  a  Vicar  Choral  of  Oloyne,  and  in  1741  was 
made  Chancellor  of  Clojne,  q.  v. 
1730.  Sepi  24.  Mb.  Southwell  Kioabd  took  the  chapter  oaths  as 
Prebendary  of  Killenemer.  [C.B.}  He  was  also  V.  Obnfert^ 
and  on  Feb.  11,  1730/1,  became  Archdeacon  of  Clojne,  q.  t. 
1730/1.  Feb.  11.  Thomas  Fkankland,  P.  Killenemor.    [P.F.] 

He  took  the  chapter  oaths  on  June  10,  1731,  and  on  16th 
Oct,  1746,  was  fined  20$,  for  absence.     [O.B.] 

1762.  Frankland,  non-resident,  yearly  income  from  Qurig- 
towill,  &c.,  £90.     [Hayman.] 

1774.  Killenemer^  in  the  bar.  of  Condons  and  Olangibbons; 
ralue,  £10  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Proxy, 
4«.     Incumb.y  Thomas  Frankland,  a.m.     [Hingston.] 

Thomas  Frankland,  son  of  Barry  Frankland,  esq.,  of  Cork, 
was  bom  near  Cork,  and  when  sixteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D., 
on  24th  January,  1714. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Cork,  on  23rd  Sept.,  1722.  He 
held  Killenemer  from  1730  to  1775,  and  was  also  V.  Carrig- 
towil  from  1732  to  his  death  in  1775. 

He  married  Anne,  dau.  of  Walter  Spring,  esq.,  by  Alice 
Blennerhasset. 

He  was  buried  on  17th  Nov.,  1775,  at  Cloyne. 
1776.  May  8.  Thomas  Hkwetson,  d.d.,  P.  Killenemor.     [P.F.] 

He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  July  11,  1776.     [C.B.] 

Thomas  Hewetson,  d.d.,  was,  for  nearly  30  years,  master  of 
the  endowed  school  at  Kilkenny.  From  1768  to  1770  he  was 
P.  Cloneame^,  Ossory;  from  1770  to  1772,  V.  Clarah  and 
St.  John's,  Kilkenny;  from  1770  to  1782,  P.  Killardriffe, 
Cashel;  from  1771  to  1772,  P.  Blackrath,  Ossory;  from  1772 
to  1782,  P.  Aghoure,  Ossory;  from  1773  to  1782,  V.  Kilbrin; 
and  from  1776  to  1782,  P.  Killenemer. 

He  died  at  Wellbrook,  near  Freshford,  on  14th  April,  1782. 
1782.  July  19.  Feanois  Clement,  P.  Killenemor.     [F.F.J 

He  took  the  chaoter  oath  on  22nd  August,  1782.     [C.B.] 

Clement  was  also  Y .  Kilbrin.  In  1 787  he  became  P.  Coolme,  q.  v. 

1785.  Protestant  population,  0. 
1787.  Dec.   10.  Honourable  Chables  Brodeiok,  P.  Killenemor. 
[F.F.] 

He  was  also  R.  V.  Dingindonovan.     In  1789  he  became  P. 
Donoghmore,  Cloyne,  and  in  the  June  of  1789  became  Trea- 
surer of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1789.  June  15.  Edwabd  Synob  Townsend,  P.  Killenemer.    [P.P.) 
In  1808  he  became  Y.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 


OLOYVSj  UIXBVIKXE.  S67 

1799.  March  10.   Riohabd  Townsekd^  F.  KilleDemor,  and  B.  V. 
Ballyvourney.     [D.R.]    In  1801  he  became  P.  Lackeen,  q.  v. 

1801.  Jolj  30.   John  Rtdeb,  P.  Killenemor,  and  R.  V.  Bdly- 
vourney.    [D.R.] 

In  lo02  Kyder  became  Chancellor  of  Oloyne,  q.  v. 

1802.  Dec.  25.  Jambs  Sandifobd,  P.  Killenemor.    [F.F.] 
1805.  Protestant  popolation,  0. 

1807.  Sandiford  resides  at  Clojne,  as  Preacher  in  the  cathe- 
dral. [Rep.]  In  1809  Killenemer  was  certified  to  F.F.  as 
worth  £50  per  an.     [D.R.J 

James  Sandiford  (son  of  Rev.  Henry  Sandiford,  Precentor  of 
Cork,  q.  v.,  vide  also  Eilmaccabee,  Ross,  Rev.  Edward  Sandi- 
ford), was  ordained  Deacon  on  29th  Sept.,  1796,  and  Priest  on 
2l8t  Dec.,  1797,  both  at  Cork. 

He  was  licensed  on  26th  Dec.,  1797,  to  the  curacy  of  Douglas, 
Cork;  and  on  4th  July,  1799,  to  that  of  Lisgoold ;  and  on  16th 
Nov.,  1807,  to  that  of  Cloyne.  From  1802  to  1823  he  was  P. 
Killenemer;  from  1806  to  1808, R.  Eilnemartery  ;  from  1808 
to  1819,  R.  Kilcolman ;  and  from  1819  to  1823,  K  Kilmahon 
and  Clonmult. 

He  died  in  October,  1823,  and  was  buried  at  Carrigrohane, 
near  Cork.  He  left  issue,  inter  alios,  a  son.  Rev.  Samuel 
Sandiford,  V.  Nathlash,  q.  v. 

1824.  Feb.  13.  Samuel  Qebakd  Faibtlouoh,  P.  Killenemer.  [D.R.] 

In  1825  Fairtlough  became  R.  V.  Agliinagh,  q.  v. 

1825.  January  29.  William  Welland,  P.  Killenemor.     [D.R.] 

1834.  Protestant  population,  0. 

1837.  Killenemer:  a  rectory,  with  cure;  1  mile  long  by 
^  broad,  containing  408a.  Ob.  32p.  Gross  population,  197. 
No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £40.  Subject  to 
yisitation  fees,  Ss.  Diocesan  schoolmaster,  is.  5d,  No  glebe- 
house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident ;  he  resides  at  Cloyne.  No 
church.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  RepJ 

William  Welland  (son  of  Wm.  Welland,  of  dastlemartyr), 
was  a  Scholar  of  T.C.D.  in  1813,  and  graduated  A.B.  in  1815. 

He  was  ordained  Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  29th  Sept,  1819. 
From  1819  to  1822  he  was  Curate  of  Youffhal.  In  1822  he 
was  Curate  of  Clonmel.  On  1 1th  Nov.«  1823,  he  was  appointed 
Surrogate. 

In  1825  he  became  P.  Killenemer;  from  1826  to  1830  he 
was  R.  Ardskeagh.  He  held  with  this  prebend  of  Killenemer 
the  K  Aglishdrinagh  from  1830,  and  the  R.  V.  Agabulloge 
from  1840.  His  eldest  daughter,  Ellen-Henrietta,  was  married 
on  12th  May,  1863,  to  Rev.  Lewellin  Charles  Nash,  who  was 
ordained  Deacon  on  21st  Sept.,  1858,  and  Priest  on  3rd  July, 
1859,  for  the  curacy  of  Agabulloge. 


268  KILMACDOKOGH.  [CLOTHB. 

KILMACDONOGH. 

1291.  "P'benda  p'centoris  Willi  de  Valla  Ecca  de  Eylmodofnog 
Xli.  decia  XXs.  magr.  Adam  Handun  p'cipit  t'ciam  p'tem." 
[Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1355.  March  18.  Maurice  de  Bermingham,  Prebenda^  of  Kilmao- 
donogb,  receives  letters  of  protection  from  the  King.  [Rot. 
Pat.,  29  Edw.  III.l  In  1384  he  held  the  then  Prebend  of 
Newcastle,  Dublin  dioc.     [Cotton.] 

1355.  April  22.  Richard  Fitzralph,  Preb.  Kilmacdonogh,  receires 
letters  of  protection  from  the  Crown.  [Rot.  Pat,  29  Edw.  III.] 
N.B.  This  and  the  foregoing  entry  are  taken  from  Cotton. 

1591.  Daniel  O'Sullivan,  a  layman,  is  Rector.  "  Reef  de  Kilnio« 
donog  Daniel  og  Swillivane,  laicus.  Vic'  coll'  Youghall." 
[MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.]  He  was  also  V.  Mogeely ;  and  per- 
haps is  the  same  person  as  Daniel  Sowlyrane  who,  in  1602, 
appears  as  Carate  of  Youghal. 

1615.  Manasses  Marshall  appears  as  Prebendary,  and  Alexander 
GouoH  as  Curate.  "  Eilmadonoge  Prebenda ;  Rector,  non- 
residens,  Manasses  Marshall,  A.B.,  minister  ct  predicator.  Val. 
24  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  minis.  Alexander 
Gough,  Ouratus."  [RV.  R.I.A]  Gough  was  also  Precentor  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v.  Marshall,  in  1615/16,  became  Archdeacon  of 
Cork,  q.  v. 
,;  1616.  Roger  Boyle,  P.  Kilmacdonagh.     [Cotton.]     In  1618  he  was 

i\  also  P.  Cahirultan,  q.  v. 

iv  1620/1.  January  31.  Thomas  Weight,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmadynoge,  per 

j(!  resignation  of  Roger  Boyle.     The  mandate  for  his  induction  is 

dated  as  above;  he  was  installed   18th  June,  1621.     [K.V. 
1634.]     He  was  also  P.  Kllnaglory,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1634.  "P.  Kilmacdonogh,  Thomas  Weight;  35  li.  per  an. 
Epiis  confert.  Vic'  ibm.  spectat  ad  Coll'  de  Youghell.  Val. 
15  li.  per  an.  Lewis  Trix,  Curatus,  habet  pro  salario  suo  50*. 
per  an."     [R.V.  1634.1 

1661  to  1668.  The  Dean  (Henry  Rugg)  appears  as  P.  and  V.  of 
Kilmacdonogh.     [V.B.  D.R.]     Vide  Deans  of  Cloyne. 
He  resigned  in  1669  in  favour  of  his  son. 

1669.  May  31.  John  Rugg,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  per  resignationem 
Henrici  Rugg  in  coll.  Epi.  [V.B.  1669.]  And  on  July  5, 
1669,  R.  Igtermurragh,  V.  Kilmacdonogh,  Kilcredan,  and 
Garrivoe.     rV'-B.  1669.] 

1694.  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  val.  20  pounds.  Vicaria,  val.  10. 
Johes  Rugg,  P.  et  V.  Dominus  Rex  est  patronus.  V.  Kilmac- 
donogh spectat  ad  Coll'  de  Youghall.     [Palliser.] 

John  Rugg  was  a  frequent  attendant  at  Chapter  meetings. 
He  was  chosen  Quardian  of  Spiritualities  on  the  death  of  the 
Bishop  in  1678,  and  in  1695  was  elected  (Economus,  Syndic, 


,ii 


' 


I 

I 


I 


CLOTNE.]  KILMACDOKOOH.  269 

or  Proctor.  He  is  directed  in  1700  to  make  a  return  of  the 
chapter  lands  and  tithes,  and  is  to  have  for  his  trouUe  £15 
and  his  viatical  expenses.  In  1701  he  is  Sub-Dean  ;  and 
in  1703  appears  again  as  (Economus.  [Chapter  Book  of 
Cloyne.] 

John  Rugg  (son  of  Henry  Rugg,  Dean  of  Cloyne),  nattu 
Miniardas  in  AngUa,  entered  T.C.D.  as  a  Fellow  Commoner  on 
30th  May,  1662,  being  then  sixteen  years  old. 

He  was,  from  1663  to  1708,  P.  Kilmacdonogh.  He  was 
also,  from  1666  to  1672,  P.  Dromdaleague,  Cork  ;  from  1672  to 
1706  (1)  V.  Stradbally,  Lismore;  in  1669  ho  was  a  Vicar  Choral, 
Cloyne  ;  and  from  1669  to  1708,  was  R.  Igtermurragh  and 
Kilcredan.  He  held  also,  from  1685  to  1708,  the  R.  Kilmahon 
and  Bohillane. 

He  was  Proctor  capituli  Clonen'  to  Convocation  in  1704. 

He  married,  according  to  a  manuscript  in  T.C.D.,  Jane 
Molyneux ;  or,  according  to  Sir  Bernard  Burke  [L.G.,  vol.  ii., 
p.  154,  supplement  of  edition  of  1850],  he  married  Catherine, 
dau.  of  Sib  Pbroy  Smith,  knight,  of  Ballynatray,  by  whom, 
besides  a  dau.,  wife  of  Samuel  Hayman,  esq.,  he  had  two  sons. 
Pierce  and  Henry,  who  were  both  born  at  Ballydaniel,  county 
Cork. 

Pierce  or  Percy  (eldest  son)  Rugg,  entered  T.C.D.  in  1679, 
and  was  in  holy  orders.  He  held,  from  1706  to  17 — ?  the  V. 
Mothel  and  Stradbally,  in  Lismore.  He  was  of  Carrignashure, 
in  the  county  Tipperary.  He  had  issue  four  sons — John,  of 
Ardmore,  county  Waterford  ;  Piorcy,  a  surgeon ;  Henry,  of 
Cork,  a  merchant ;  and  Beverly. 

Henry,  the  younger  son  of  Rev.  John  Rugg,  born  circa 
1682,  entered  T.C.D.  in  1699,  became  Recorder  of  Youghal, 
and  represented  that  town  in  Parliament  from  1721  to  1731. 

He  left  issue  by  his  wife,  Elisabeth  Lucas,  four  sons — John, 
Jasper,  John,  and  Henry.  Vide  Lucas  of  Rathecdy^  in  Burke's 
L.G. 

The  Rev.  Henry  Rugg,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  was  buried  in 
Cloyne  Cathedral  on  3rd  December,  1708. 
1708/9.  January  21.  Charles  Northcote,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmacdonogh, 
R.V.  Kilmaghan,  R.  Bohillane,  V.  Clonfert,  and  V.  Knock- 
markaine.     [F.F.] 

In  1719  Norcott  became  Dean  of  Kilmacduagh,  with  permis- 
sion to  hold  this  prebend  in  commendam.  [Boulter's  Letters, 
quoted  by  Cotton.] 

Charles  Norcott,  or  Northcote  (eldest  son  of  Rev.  John 
Norcott,  V.  Clonmeon,  q.  v.),  was  born  in  county  Cork,  and 
when  eighteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.,  on  8th  Oct.,  1679. 

He  was,  from  1693  to  1730,  V.  Clonfert.  He  was  also,  from 
1693  to  1708,  P.  Killenemer,  V.  Knocktemple  and  Tullileaee; 
and  from  1708  to  1730,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  R.V.  Kilmahon  and 


270  KILMACDONOOH.  [CLOTVB. 

Bohillane.    He  was  al80|  from  1702  to  1708,  V.  Garrigamlearj ; 
and  from  1718  to  1730,  Dean  of  Eilmaodoagh. 

He  was  snnmioned  to  Convocation  in  1703  as  iPiootor  Cleri 
Clonensis. 

In  MarsVs  Library,  among  the  manuscripts  [vol.  i-zxr,  page 
83],  is  a  petition  from  Northcote  to  the  Lords  Justices  and 
Council,  for  reparation,  on  account  of  some  severe  language 
addressed  to  him  in  Cork  at  the  assizes,  by  Lord  Chief  Justice 
Pine,  who  abused  Northcote  for  not  paying  her  jointure  to  Mrs. 
Baines,  mother  of  Richard  Aid  worth,  a  minor,  to  whom  Charles 
Northcote  was  guardian. 
l730.  August  29.  John  Lukbt,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  per  mort.  North- 
cote. [D.B.1  He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  24th  September, 
1730.    [CJB.] 

John  Lukey  (son  of  Bev.  B.  Lukey,  V.  Castrachore,  q.  v.), 
was  bom  in  county  Cork,  and  when  fifteen  years  old  entereid 
T.C.D.,  on  16th  Sept.,  1695,  and  became  a  Scholar  in  1696. 

He  was,  from  1708  to  1735,  B.  Ifftermurragh  and  Kiloredan. 
He  was  also,  from  1713  to  1717,  r.  Kilmaclenine ;  and  firom 
1717  to  1730,  P.  Donoghmore;  and  from  1730  to  1735,  P. 
Kilmacdonogh. 

He  married,  in  1704,  Alicia  Crosse,  of  St.  Finbarry,  Cork. 
[M.L.,  2nd  June.]  He  died  in  1735. 
1735.  April  19.  Nathaniel  F&anob,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  per 
mortem  Lukey.  [D.B.]  In  1759  he  became  Precentor  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1759.  August  9.  Charles  Perceval,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmacdonogh,  per 
cess'  France,  and  B.  Mogeely.  [F.F.]  He  took  the  chapter 
oath  on  6th  Sept.,  1759,  and  was  elected  (Economus  on  7th 
July,  1763.     [C.B.] 

1762.  Perceval,  resident;  yearly  income,  £280.     [Hayman.] 

1774.  Kilmacdonogh,  in  the  bar.  of  Imokillj,  value  £100 
per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the  Bishop.  Qlebe,  9a.  1r. 
32p.,  En. ;  also,  two  glebes  in  Cloyne,  one  containing  Ir,, 
En.  j  and  the  other,  Ir.  17p.,  En.  Proxy,  5$,  Taxed  in  the 
King's  books,  £4  ster.  Incumb.,  Charles  Perceval,  a.m.  [Hing- 
stou.] 

Charles  Perceval  was  third  son  of  William  Perceval,  Dean  of 
Emly,  bv  Catherine,  dau.  of  Henry  Prittie,  esq.,  of  Bunally. 
Dean  William  Perceval  was  second  son  of  Qeorge  Perceval 
(son  of  Sir  Philip  Perceval),  who  married  Mary,  dau.  and 
heiress  of  William  Crofton,  esq.,  of  Temple  House,  county 
Sligo,  and  who  was  drowned  on  29th  March,  1675,  near  Holy- 
head, as  he  was  voyaging  to  England.  ( Vide  Collins*  Peerage 
«— article,  Lord  Lovel  and  Holland). 

Charles  Perceval  was  bom  on  7th  Dec,  1713.  He  was  P. 
Brigowne  from  1747  to  1751 ;  V.  Castlelyons  and  Clondulane 
from  1751  to  1759 ;  and  P.  Kilmacdonagh  from  1759  to  his 


CLOTVB.]  KILMACDONOQH.  271 

death,  on  9th  AagUBt,  1785.    He  was  also  K  Bruhenny  from 
1764  to  1780. 

He  married,  in  1744,  Mary  Sqnlre,  of  Eilnacera  [Cloyne 
M.  B.],  but  had  no  issue. 
178d.  Sept.  27.  Bsatheb  Kino,  ll.I).,  P.  Kilmaodonogh.    [D.E.] 
And  K  Hoffeelyjon  16th  October,  1785.    [F.F.]    He  took  the 
ch^ter  oath  on  22nd  June,  1786.    [C.B.] 

B.  King  was,  in  1764,  Curate  of  StiUorgan  and  Kilmacnd, 
Dublin.  He  was,  from  1785  to  his  death  in  1805,  P.  Kihnac- 
dono^h  and  R.  Mogeely.  He  held  also,  from  1786  to  1801,  the 
v.  Kildrought  and  Strafian,  Dublin. 
1805.  Not.  16.  Honoubablb  Thomas  St.  Lawbenob,  P.  Eilmac- 
donogh,  R.  Mogeely,  cum  particula  Templebelagh.  [F.F.]  He 
was  also  Dean  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1805.  Protestant  population,  0.     TAbp.  Brod.] 

1807.  St  Lawrence  resides  in  Cork  as  Dean.  Has  a  Curate 
at  Mogealy  (Rev.  Alexander  Grant)  at  X60.  One  church  at 
Mogealy.  [Rep.] 
1808.  March  29.  Thomas  Qitik,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmacdonogh.  [F.F.] 
On  letters  patent  from  Crown  of  March  7,  mce  Dean  St.  Law- 
rence, promoted  to  the  Bishoprick  of  Cork  and  Ross.  [Lib. 
Mun.] 

1834.  There  is  no  house  of  residence  for  this  prebendanr. 
His  duties  are  preaching  in  the  cathedral  in  rotation,  &c  Hin 
gross  revenue  is  £600,  arising  from — rectorial  tithes  of  Kilmac- 
donogh, £584  17 s.  dd, ;  from  nineteen  English  acres  of  glebe, 
XI 4  is.  icL ;  from  a  tenement  in  Clayne,  188.  5d*  The  net 
income  is  £515  12«.  lid.    [Pari.  Rep. J 

T.  Quin  was,  from  1780  to  1782,  Vic.  Chor.,  Armagh  ;  from 
1782  to  1791,  P.  Loughgall,  Armagh;  from  1791  to  1807,  P. 
Tynan,  Armagh;  and  from  1808  to  1841,  P.  Kilmacdonogh. 
He  was  also,  from  1786  to  1791,  P.  Donoghmore,  Limerick; 
from  1791,  April,  to  1791,  July,  Precentor  of  Limerick ;  and 
from  1791,  July,  to  1841,  Treasurer  of  Limerick. 

He  died  in  1841. 

In  1841,  Feb.  25,  the  appointment  of  a  Clerk  to  this  pre- 
bend was  suspended  by  act  of  Council. 

Elboted. 

1841.  William  Roobbs  was  elected  by  the  Chapter  Honorary 
Prebendary,  vide  Kilmahon. 


272  KILHACLENINE.  [CXOYNE. 


KILMACLENINE. 

1400,  circa.  "  Hie  jacet  jacobus  fiP  Wlmi  do  barry  I  tep*alib'  dnsde 
Kylm'clenyn."  This  entry  is  taken  from  an  old  slab  now  on 
the  walls  of  the  ruined  church  of  Mallow.  The  slab  was  dug 
up  out  of  a  grave  in  the  church-yard.  The  full  rendering  of 
this  ancient  inscription  is  *' hie  jacet  jacobus  filius  Wilhelmi 
de  Barry,  in  temporalibus  dominus  de  Kylmaclenine." 

1402.  May  9  and  11.  Dominus  Johannes  Walsh,  Vicarius  de  Kil- 
maclenyn,  witnesses  some  documents.  [Pipe  Roll,  pp.  54 
and  55.1 

1591.  ''  Ecclesia  de  Kill  m4enny  locus  desertuset  vastatus."*  [MS. 
T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  DoNATUs  MuBBiE  appears  as  Rector  ; — "  Kilmaclenan  Recto- 
riam  tenet  Donatus  Murrie,  studendi  gratia,  ad  quinquennium. 
Val.  4  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  et  cancclla  ruinantur."  [R.V. 
R.I.A.] 

1618.  November  10.  Thomas  Bourden  is  admitted  P.  de  Kilm*lenan, 
cui  Prebendsc  Epus  univit  V.  Sti.  Lapuani  als.  insula)  parv;e 
et  V.  de  Kilvoynan,  Cork  dioc,  nomine  tantum  unius  beneficii. 
Installatus  13  Nov.,  1618.     [R.V.  1634.] 
For  Bourden  vide  Kilbonane,  Cork. 

1621.  June  6.  Emanuel  Phaire,  a.b.,  P.  Eilmaclenine,  V.  Kil- 
shannyc,  Clonmyne,  et  Roskeene,  quas  P.  et  Vs.  Jacobus  Rex 
per  literas  paten tes  gerentes  dat  apud  Dublin,  9°  Martii,  an*^ 
regni  sui  18%  univit  et  annexit.  Installatus  18  Junii.  [R.V. 
1634.] 

1634.  "  Ecclesia  de  Kilraacleninc,  Emanuel  Phaire,  Prcdi- 
cator.     Val.  10  li.  per  an."     [R.V.  1634.] 

Emanuel  Phaire,  a.b.,  was  ordained  Deacon  on  23rd  Dec, 
1604,  and  Priest  on  24th,  1604,  both  by  William,  Bp.  of  Oxford. 
He  was  V.  Kilshannig  in  1612,  and  besides  the  preferments 
above  mentioned,  held  in  1634,  the  curacy  of  Morneabbey. 
He  was  plundered  by  the  rebels  in  1641,  and  lost  his  church 
livings,  worth  £50  per  annum.     [MS.  T.C.D.  P.  2.  18.] 

The  family  of  Robert  Phaire,  one  of  the  persons  to  whom 
was  directed  the  warrant  for  the  execution  of  Charles  I.,  settled 
in  Ireland.  Colonel  Phaire  was  appointed  by  Cromwell  to  bo 
Governor  of  Cork  in  1651;  and  in  1660  was  sent  prisoner  to 
London,  but  saved  his  life  by  means  of  Lord  Clang  arty.  He  was 
afterwards  concerned  in  a  plot  for  seizing  Dublin  Castle,  and 
again  escaped  punishment.  He  died  near  Cork,  and  was  buried, 
as  is  recorded  in  Smith's  Cork  [Vol.  i.,  p.  205],  in  the  Ana- 
baptist burying  ground  in  that  city. 

Colonel  Phaire  married  Elizabeth,  dau.  of  Sir  Thomas  Her- 
bert, knight,  and  mentions  in  his  will,  proved  in  Dublin  in 
1682,  four  sons,  Onesiphorus,  Alexander,  Thomas,  and  John; 


CLOTNE.]  KILMACLENINE.  273 

and  fire  daughters,  Elisabeth,  wife  of  Richard  Famiar;  Mary, 
wife  of  Qeorge  Gamble ;  Frances,  Lucy,  and  Elisabeth.  He  is 
deficribed  as  of  Grange,  co.  Cork,  in  the  barony  of  Barretts. 

The  will  of  his  widow  was  dated  27th  January,  1697,  and 
was  proved  at  Cork,  on  7th  Nov.,  1698.  She  is  described  as  of 
^*  Grange,  in  ye  barony  of  Barretts.*'  She  wishes  to  be  buried 
''  neere  my  dearly  beloyed  husbant,  ColF  Robert  Phaire,  de- 
ceased.** She  bequeathes  to  her  '*  sonn,**  Henry  Phaire,  plate 
and  other  articles,  viz.,  "  my  chaire  with  wheels,  my  charrett 
and  all  ye  harness** — "  a  bond  of  two  hundred  poundJs  yt  I  lent 
to  my  son-in-law,  Bartholomew  Pordon,  and  all  my  garrons 
wt  other  housould  stuff.**  She  mentions  her  daughters,  "  Lucy 
fflower,  and  Elisabeth  Pordon  ;'*  her  sons,  Alexander  Herbert 
Phaire,  John  Phaire^  and  Thomas  Phaire,  the  sole  executor. 
She  leaves  to  her  children  whatever  '*  profett  may  be  had  out 
of  ye  iron  works.'*  She  mentions  also  her  "cozen,**  James 
Peiver.  The  overseers  of  the  will  are  Abraham  Morriss,  of 
Cork  ;  and  Robert  Peiver,  of  Ballygronans.  The  witnesses  are 
E.  Wetenhall  and  Ben  Tartarian.  The  seal  attached  to  this 
document  bears  *'a  cross  mouline,  debruised  by  a  bend,  impal- 
ing three  lions  rampant."  Among  the  Gloyne  marriage  bonds 
is  one  dated  1G92,  for  marriage  between  Thomas  Phaire,  of 
Grange,  and  Elisabeth  Purdon,  of  Bally clogh. 

Of  the  issue  above-mentioned  of  Colonel  Phaire,  three  (Onesi- 
phorus,  Mrs.  Elisabeth  Farmer,  and  Mrs.  Mary  Gamble)  were 
children  by  a  former  wife,  not  named  in  the  will.  Onesiphorus 
was  of  Grange,  and  died  circa  1702,  leaving  by  his  wife,  Elisa- 
beth, two  sons — Robert  and  Aldworth,  and  a  daughter,  Elisa- 
beth, wife  of  Edward  Rogers,  and  after  bis  death,  wife  of  Onesi- 
phorus  Gamble.  Of  the  sons,  Aldworth,  the  younger,  died  Sp., 
and  Robert,  the  elder,  was  of  Grange,  and  died  circa  1712, 
leaving  issue  by  his  wife,  Anne  Gamble  (besides  a  dauj^hter, 
Elisabeth,  and  a  younger  son,  Robert),  an  elder  son,  Onesi- 
phorus,  who  was  of  Templeshannon,  county  Wexford,  and  died 
m  1757,  having  had  issue  by  his  wife,  Frances,  dau.  of  Rev. 
Dr.  John  Patrickson,  four  children — Robert,  who  married  Lady 
Richarda  Annesley;  Aldworth ;  Polly- Anne,  wife  of  Henry 
Nixon,  of  Newtown  ;  and  Elisabeth. 

The  eldest  son  of  Colonel  Phaire,  by  the  second  marriage, 
was  Thomas  Phaire,  esq.,  of  Mount  Pleasant.  He  married  Alicia 
or  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Bartholomew  Purdon,  esq.,  senior,  of  Bally- 
clogh,  and  had  issue  five  sons  and  two  daughters.  The  sons 
were — Robert,  of  Grange,  died  circa  1742  ;  Herbert ;  Thomas, 
died  circa  1748 ;  Onesiphorus ;  and  Francis.  The  daughters 
were — Elisabeth,  wife  of  Richard  Chinnery  ;  and  Alicia. 
1661.  Mr.  No&coTT  appears  as  P.  Kilmaclenin,  V.  Ballyclogh  and 
Dromdowny.  [V.i3.  D.R.]  John  Norcott  was  afterwards  V. 
Clonmeen,  &c,  q.  v. 

YOL.  n.  T 


274  KILMACLENIKB.  [CLOTKB. 

1663*  Mr.  James  Cox  appears  as  P.  Eilmaclenin,  Y.  Ballyclogh,  and 
Dromdownej.  [v .B.  D.R.]  He  was  instituted  to  these  bene- 
fices, and  to  the  P.  Cahirlag,  in  Cork,  on  16th  June,  1663. 
[P.P.]  Yet,  in  a  chapter  entry  of  14th  July,  1663,  the  P. 
Kilmaclcnny  is  said  to  be  vacant.     fC.B.] 

James  Cox,  a  descendant  of  the  learned  Dr.  Richard  Cox, 
tutor  to  Edward  VI.,  and  one  of  the  compilers  of  the  Liturgy, 
was  the  eldest  son  of  Michael  Cox,  of  Eilworth,  who  came  from 
Biehop^s  Canning,  near  Devizes,  and  was  the  first  of  the  family 
who  settled  in  Ireland.  Michael  had  three  sons,  of  whom  the 
youngest,  Richard,  was  the  father  of  Sib  Richard  Cox,  Lord 
Chancellor  of  Ireland;  the  second,  Jasper,  was  Alderman  of 
Toughal,  and  died  circa  1663,  leaving  by  his  wife,  Mary,  two 
sons,  John  and  Jasper;  and  two  daughters,  Margaret  and  Anne. 
James  (the  oldest  son  of  Michael)  Cox,  took,  I  think,  a  degree 
in  T.C.D.  in  1663,  and  was,  in  1661,  V.  Shandrum.  He  was, 
from  1663  to  1684,  P.  Cahirlag,  Cork;  from  1663  to  1687,  P. 
Kilmaclenine,  and  V.  Ballyclough ;  and  from  1667  to  his  death 
in  1687,  R.  Mallow  and  Mourneabbey.  He  was  also,  from 
1680  to  1687  (i)  R.  Fennough,  Leighlin  diocese. 

He  married,  it  is  supposed,  Rachel,  dau.  of  John  Freeman, 
of  Ringrone,  county  Cork.  [Vide  Mr.  Freeman's  will,  dated  1st 
April,  1658,  and  proved  at  Uork  in  June,  1667.]  By  her  he 
had  ist^ue  three  sons — 1.  John,  born  in  county  Cork,  and 
educated  at  Charleville,  who  entered  T.C.D.  when  twenty 
years  old,  on  2nd  June,  1673.  2.  James,  who  entered  T.C.D. 
on  the  same  day  as  his  elder  brother,  being  then  eighteen  years 
old,  and  who  was  Archdeacon  of  Ferns  from  1683  to  his  death 
in  1717.  He  married  Margaret,  dau.  of  Rnndol  Roberts,  esq., 
of  Cork,  and  by  her  had  issue.  His  great-grandson  is  the 
present  Colonel  Sir  William  Cox,  k.t.s.,  and  d.l.,  of  Coolclifife, 
county  Wexford.  3.  Jasper,  P.  Cahirlag,  Cork,  q.  v.,  who,  by 
his  wife,  Miss  Pearson,  had  issue  one  son,  Allan,  and  several 
daughters. 
1687.  June  1.  Matthew  Jones,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmaclenin,  and  V.  Bally- 
clogh, als.  Laban.  [D.R.]  Jones  was  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 
1693.  Sept.  21.  John  Bulkelbt,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmaclenin  [D.R.J  per 
cession  of  Jonos.     [D.R.] 

1694.  P.  Kilmaclenine,  val.  3  pounds.  Mr.  Bulkeley,  In- 
cumbent.    Epus  patronus.     [Palliser.l 

J.  Bulkeley,  son  of  John,  "  generosi,"  was  bom  in  Anglesea, 
Wales,  and  entered  T.C.D.  as  rensioner,  on  28th  June,  1673, 
being  then  sixteen  years  old. 

He  was,  from  1G84  to  1693,  R.  V.  Kilcummcr;  and  from 
1684  to  1702(1)  R.  Templeroan.     He  was  also,  from  1687  to 
1693,  P.  Killenemer,  and  V.  Monanimy;  from  1692  to  1702 
R.  Mallow  and  Mourneabbey ;   and  from  1687  to  1702,  V. 
Carrigamleary.    He  was  also,  from  1679  to  1692  (1)  Vic.  Choral 


CLOTHE.]  KILMACLSKINE.  275 

of  Liamore;  and  from  1684  to  1687,  Vicar  Choral  of  Ossory. 
He  was  P.  Kilmaclenin  from  1693  to  his  death  in  1702. 

1702.  July  6.  Edward  Stnob,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmaclenine  [F.F.],  vice 
John  Bolkeley,  deceased.  [D.R.]  He  took  the  chapter  oath 
on  20th  May,  1 703.  [C.B. J  Synge  was  also  P.  Holy  Trinity, 
Cork,  q.  v. 

1706.  Sept.  3.  Walter  Neale,  S.T.B.,  P.  Kilmaclenine.  [F.F.]  He 
took  the  chapter  oaths  the  same  day.  [O.B.]  He  was  also 
Precentor  of  Cork,  q.  v. 

1706/7.  Feb.  19.  William  Tennison,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmaclenin.  [F.F.] 
He  was  also  R.  Clondrohid.  He  appears  in  1712  as  P.  Kil- 
maclenin. [V.B.]  In  1712  he  was  collated  to  Macroom,  q.  y. 
He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  18th  Sept.,  1707.     [C.B.] 

1713.  May  21.  John  Luket,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmaclenin.  [D.R.]  He 
took  the  chapter  oaths  on  May  28.  [0.B.1  He  was,  in  Jan- 
uary 1717,  collated  to  P.  Donoghmore,  and  in  1730  became  P. 
Kilmacdonogh,  q.  y. 

1717.  Feb.  25.  Frakois  Gore,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmaclenin.  PD.B.]  He 
took  the  chapter  oaths  on  May  21,  1719.  [C.B.J  And  on 
16th  Oct,  1746,  was  fined  20s.  for  absence.     [O.B.J 

F.  Gore  was  the  second  son  of  BrioadibrtGeneral  Francis 
Gore,  of  Clonmel,  county  Clare,  who  by  his  wife  Catherine, 
dau.  of  Sir  Arthur  Gore,  of  Newtown  Gore,  baronet,  had  six 
children,  of  whom  the  eldest  was  Arthur,  who  by  his  wife, 
Mabella  Cusack,  had  issue  three  sons,  of  whom  Francis  (the 
only  one  who  married)  had  issue  by  Anne,  dau.  of  Kev.  — 
Lewis,  a  son,  Francis,  the  father  of  Francis  Gore,  of  Tyreda^ 
Castle,  and  Clonroad,  county  Clare. 

Francis  Gore,  the  second  son  of  the  Brigadier-General,  was 
bom  in  the  county  Clare,  and  when  eighteen  years  old,  entered 
T.C.D.,  on  14th  September,  1702,  and  afterwards  graduated 

A.M. 

He  was  ordained  Priest,  at  Cloyne,  on  29th  Sept.,  1708,  and 
on  30th  Sept,  1708,  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Kilshannig. 
He  was,  from  1708  to  1714,  V.  Carrigamleary  and  Arskeagb ; 
from  1714  to  1748,  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Castlemagner.  He  was 
also,  from  1708  to  1714,  P.  Killenemer ;  from  1713  to  1714, 
R.  V.  Mogeely;  and  from  1719  to  1748,  Y.  Clonmeen,  Roskeen, 
Kilcorney,  and  Tullilease.  He  was  P.  Kilmaclenin  from  1717 
to  1748. 

He  married,  firstly,  Catherine,  youngest  dau.  of  Edward 
Croker,  esq., of  Ballinagarde,  county  Limerick,  relict  of  Nicholafl 
By ves,  esq.,  of  Ballyskidane,  county  Limerick,  and  had  issue 
one  son,  who  died  young. 

He  married,  secondly,  Ellinor,  fourth  dau.  of  Kingsmill 
Pennefather,  esq.,  of  Newpark,  county  Tip.,  m.p.  for  C^hel, 
and  afterwards  for  county  Tip.  By  her  he  had  two  sons  and 
one  daughter.     His  eldest  son,  George,  by  his  wife,  Catherine, 

TOL.  II.  T  2 


276  KILMACLEMNK.  [CLOYNE. 

eldest  dau.  and  co-heiress  of  Laurence  Clutterbuck,  eso.,  of 
Derrylucken,  county  Tip.,  bad  issue  three  sons — I.  Rev. 
Francis-Lawrence  Gore,  R.Donaghhenry,  Armagh,  who  married 
Miss  Penelope  Ellis,  and  died  Sp.  2.  Lieut -Col.  George  Gore, 
of  the  9th  Lancers,  who  married  Lydia,  dau.  of  James  Smith, 
esq.,  of  Rock  House,  Peckham,  Surrey,  and  died  Sp.  3.  Vice- 
Admiral  John  Gore,  who  married  Ann-Tucker,  dau.  of  Daniel 
Gilbert,  esq.,  of  Selina-place,  Pagets,  Isle  of  Bermuda,  and  haa 
no  issue. 

John  Gore,  second  son  of  Rev.  Francis  Gore,  died  unm. ;  he 
was  killed  at  the  battle  of  Bunker's  Hill. 

Catherine,  the  daughter  of  Rev.  F.  Gore,  was  wife  to  George 
Parker,  esq.,  brother  of  Sir  Peter  Parker,  Baronet,  Lord 
High  Admiral  of  England.  She  bore  to  him  two  sons. 
Admiral  Sir  George  Parker,  k.o.b.,  who  married  Miss  Batt» 
and  died  Sp.;  and  Christopher  Parker,  esq.,  who  died  unm. 
She  (Mrs.  George  Parker)  bad  also  a  daughter,  Ellin  Parker, 
wife  of  Nathaniel  Evans,  second  son  of  Nicholas  Evans,  esq.,  of 
Garker,  county  Cork,  and  mother  of  one  daughter,  Georgina- 
Katherine  Evans,  who  was  married  to  Charles  Vernon,  esq., 
late  of  Lower  Mount-street,  Dublin,  and  now  of  Royal  York 
Orescent,  Clifton,  Bristol,  son  of  Lt.-Colonel  Brabazon-Dean- 
Vernon,  late  of  H.M.  IGth  Regiment  of  Foot 

The  Rev.  F.  Gore  died  aged  sixty-five,  on  10th  May,  1748, 
and  was  buried  at  Ca^tlemagner.     A  tablet  to  his  memoiy  is  on 
the  north  side  of  the  chancel  in  Castleraagner  Church. 
1748.  August  18.  George  Jackson,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmaclenin.     [F.F.J 

George  Jackson  was  of  G  Ian  beg,  county  Waterford.  He  was 
ordained  Priest,  at  Cork,  on  6th  May,  1743,  and  on  6th  June 
following  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Killeagh.  He  was  P. 
Kilmaclenin  from  1748  to  his  death  in  May,  1761.  He  was 
licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Castletown  on  20th  June,  1754.  He 
succeeded,  on  the  death  of  an  elder  brother,  to  the  Glanbeg 
estates,  and  died  unmarried  in  1761. 
1761.  May  16.  Norris  Jephson,  P.  Kilmaclenin.     [F.F.] 

1762.  Jephson,  resident;  yearly  income,  Mallow,  ic,  £260. 
[Hayman.l 

Norris  Jephson  (younger  son  of  Antony  Jephson,  whose 
will  was  proved  in  1756),  was  born  at  Mallow,  and  when 
sixteen  years  old  entered  T.C.D.  as  a  Pensioner,  on  22nd  June, 
1743,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1747. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  23rd  June,  1751,  and  Priest  on 
9th  July,  same  year,  both  by  the  Bp.  of  Cloyne. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Clonmeen  on  24th  June, 
1751.  He  was  Rector  of  Mallow  from  1754  to  1768,  an<l  waa 
P.  Kilmaclenin  from  1761  to  his  death  in  1768. 

He  married,  in  1755,  Deborah  Lombard,  of  Lombardstown. 
She  died  circa  1788. 


CLOTHE.]  KILMACLBNINE.  277 

1768.  Nov,  24.  John  Baeby,  a.m.,  P.  Kilmaclenine.    [F.P.]    In  a 
few  weeks  he  was  also  P.  Desertmore,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1774.  Kilmacleuny,  otherwise  Kibnaclenine,  in  the  bar.  of 
Orrery  and  Kilmore,  value,  £40  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins. 
Pat.,  the  Bp.  Proxy,  12«.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books  by  the 
name  of  Kilmaclemyne,  13«.  4</.  Incuinb.,  John  Barry,  a.m. 
[Hingston.] 

178.5.  Protestant  population,  0.     [Dr.  Barry.] 
1794.  Feb.  14.  John  Lombard,  P.  Kilmaclenin,  per  mort.  Barry, 
and  V.  Brcgogc  and  Kiibrowney,  and  P.  0.  Bothon,  and  Cahir- 
duggan,  per  cess,  of  Henry  Newman.     [F.P.  and  D.R.] 

In  1809  Kilmaclenin  was  certified  to  the  Board  of  First 
Fruits  as  worth  £120  per  an. 

In  1799  Lombard  resigned  Bregoge,  <S:c.,  and  in  1800  became 
R.  y.  Kilshannig,  q.  v.     He  resigned  this  Prebend  in  1824  in 
favour  of  his  son. 
1824.  July  16.  John  Newman  Lombard,  P.  Kilmaclenin.     [F.F.] 

1834.   Protestant  population,  0. 

1837.  Kilmaclenan :  a  rectory,  with  cure,  1 J  mile  long  by 
1  broad,  containing  635a.  3r.  39p.  Gross  population,  32*5.  No 
Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £92  6s.  Subject  to 
visitation  fees,  lOs.  Diocesan  schoolmaster,  3«.  2d.  No  glebe- 
house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident.  No  church.  The  benefice 
is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

J.  N.  Lombard  (son  of  his  predecessor),  was  ordained  Deacon 
on  March  18, 1820,  and  Priest  on  Oct  18, 1821,  both  at  Cloyne. 

He  was  licensed  on  21st  June,  1823,  to  the  curacy  of  OlonmeL 
From  1824  to  his  death,  on  18th  July,  1855,  he  was  P.  Kilma- 
clenin. He  was  also,  from  1826  to  1838,  Chancellor  of  Cork; 
and  from  1838  to  1855,  R.  Carrigaline,  Cork. 

He  left  issue  by  his  wife,  Elisabeth-Catherine  Swan,  two 
sons,  Graves-C.-S.,  Captain  16th  Foot;  and  John  Lombard, 
who  was  ordained  Deacon,  at  Cork,  on  26th  May,  1850;  and 
who  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Rathcony,  Cork,  on  13th 
May,  1852;  to  that  of  Carrigaline,  on  20th  Dec,  1852;  and  to 
that  of  Clonmel,  on  29th  Nov.,  1853.  The  Rev.  John  Lombard 
is  still  Curate  of  Clonmel,  and  is  married. 

On  6tb  August,  1855,  the  further  appointment  to  this  pre- 
bend was  suspended  by  order  in  Council. 

Elected. 

1856.  March  27.  Francis  Jones  (R.  Castrachore,  q.  v.),  was  eleded 

by  the  Chapter  as  Honorary  Prebendary. 

1860.  January  10.  The  suspension  was  removed  by  order 

in  Council,  subject  however  to  the  severance  of  temporalities. 
1860.  Feb.  6.  John  Quarry  (R.  Castrachore,  q.  v.),  was  collated  to 

this  prebend  by  the  Bishoj).     [D.R]     The  revenues  belong  to 

the  Eoclesiastical  Commissioners, 


278  KILMAHOK.  [CLOTITE. 

KILMAHON. 

129L  *'£cca  de  Eylmayne  cujus  Rector  For  Hospital*  qui  est 
exempt*.  Vicar  Ph*us  Ocolman,  VII  li.  decia  vicar*  Illle. 
Vind.**     [Tax-P.Nic] 

1579.  August  3.  Nicholas  Collbn  is  admitted  V.  Kilmahon  by  the 
Bishop.*'  Mattheus,  miseratione  divina,  Corcag*  et  Clonen' 
Epus,  dilecto  nobis  in  Ohristo  Archidiacono  nro  Clonen*  Saltim 
et  p*nt6s  exequi  cum  effectu.  Vicariam  siquidem  perpetuam 
eocleBisB  parocDialis  de  Kilmaghany  diet*  dioc*  Clonen  jam  de 
jure,  drc,  et  ad  n*ram  coUocationem  spectantem,  dilecto  nobis 
in  Christo  Nicolao  Collen,  clerico  supradict*  dioc*  Clonen*,  multis 
noibiis  ante  Regia  nobis  commendato,  contulimus,  (Src,  et  per 
p'ntes  p*annuli  uri  traditionem  et  digito  ejus  impositionem  con- 
tierrimus  &c,  &c.  Datum  sub  sigilli  mei,  quo  ad  niajora  utimur, 
testimonio  apud  Corcagen'  civitatem  die  tertio  Augusti  mensis 
1 57  9,  consecration  is  me«  octavo."  [First  Book  of  Cork  Registry.] 

1891.  ^^  R.  de  Kilmachin  spectat  ad  Hospit  de  Morne.  Vicaria  ibm 
vacat  per  mortem.**     [AIS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  Thomas  Westmoee  (R.  Bretway,  q.  v.),  appears  as  Vicar; — 
''Eilmacbin  Rectoria  impropriata.  Heres  Johes  ffitzgarret, 
militis,  firmarius.  Vicari us  Thomas  Westmore,  minister  legens. 
Val.  5  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  minis.**  [R.V. 
R.I.A.] 

1626.  April  5.  Charles  Coldwell,  V.  Kilmaghan,  and  R.  Bohillane, 

united  by  Bishop  [R.V.  1634],  and  also  P.  Lisclery,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1634.  "E.  de  Kilmachin  Rex  est  Rector.     Val.  12  li.  per 

ann.      Cormack   M'Donogh   Carty,  Impropriator.       Vicari  us 

Charles  Cold  well     Val.  12  li.  per  an.**     [R.V.  1634.] 

"  Charles  Coldwell,  a  Preaching  Minister  and  an  honest  man, 
hath  R.  Bohillane,  val.  6  li. ;  and  V.  Kilmaghan,  val.  12  li.  in 
lapse.**     [MS.  Probate  Court,  Dub.] 

1661  and  1662.  John  Mascall  appears  as  Vicar  of  Kiimaghane. 
[V.B.  D.RJ     Mascall  wa^,  in  1663,  P.  Subulter,  q.  v. 

1664  to  1668.  Christopher  Vowell,  Rector  of  Bohillane,  appears 
as  V.  Kiimaghane.  [V.B.  D.R.]  In  1668  he  was  P.  Bally- 
hay,  q.  V. 

From  1664  to  1730  Kilmahon  was  held  with  Bobillane,  q.  v. 

1730.  August  29.  Michael  Davies,  a.m.,  V.  Kilmahon.  [D.R.] 
In  1730  Kilmahon  and  Bohillane  were  disunited.  [D.R.]  In 
1742  Davies  became  Archdeacon  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1733.  January  26.  Nathaniel  France,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Kilmahon  [D.R.], 
per  cessionem  Miclil.  Davies.  [D.R.]  In  1735  he  was  P.' 
Kilmacdonogh,  and  in  1759,  Precentor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1770.  Nov.  30.  Francis  Atterbury  (vice  France,  deceased),  R.  V. 
Kilmahon.  [D.R.]  And  on  Dec.  1,  same  year,  Precentor  of 
Cloyne,  q.  v. 


CLOTITE.]  KILMAHOK.  3^9 

1774.  EilmahoD,  als.  Shanagan,  rect.  and  vie.  in  the  bar.  of 
Imokilly,  valae  £160  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.  the  Bp. 
Glebe  in  two  places,  12a.  2b.  29p.  En.  Proxy,  12«.  The 
rect.  formerly  belonged  to  the  preceptory  of  Moume,  and  bays 
7«.  6d.  per  ann.  crown  rent.  The  vie.  is  taxed  in  the  King's 
books£5  10«.  Incumbent,  Francis  Atterbury,LL.D.  [Hinc^ston.l 

1777.  January  25.  Jambs  Mockleb,  ll.b.,  R.  V.  Kilmahon.  [F.P.J 
He  was  also  B.  Mallow,  and  P.  Subulter,  and  in  1779  became 
Archdeacon  of  Clojme,  q.  v. 

1779.  June  18.  John  Lawless,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Kilmahon.  [F.P.]  He 
was  also  P.  Subulter,  and  in  1789  he  became  P.  Donoghmore, 
q.  V. 

1785.  Protestant  population,  4. 

1789.  July  29.  William  Nbsbitt,  a.m.,  R.  V.  Kilmahon.     [P.P.] 
Vf,  Nesbitt  (son,  probably  of  Rer.  Wm.  Nesbitt,  of  Athy, 
county  Kildare,  who  died  in  1740),  entered  T.O.D.  on  1st  May, 
1741,  being^then  seventeen  years  old. 

He  was  from  1768  to  1799,  R.  Stackallen,  Gernonstown,  and 
Dunmoe,  Meath;  and  from  1789  to  1799,  R.  V.  Kilmahon.  In 
his  will,  dated  16th  Dec,  1797,  and  proved  in  Dublin,  18th 
April,  1799,  he  is  called  the  Rev.  William  Nesbitt,  of  Drogheda. 

1799.  March  13.  Thomas  Cabson,  R.  V.  Kilmahon.     [F.P.] 

Mr.  Carson  seems,  from  the  following  letter  addressed  to 
him  by  Bishop  Bennct,  to  have  required  a  faculty  to  hold 
Clondulane  and  Kilmahon  together.  His  opinion  seems  to  have 
been  highly  valued  by  his  Lordship  on  other  matters.  This 
letter  of  the  Bishop  is  now  in  the  possession  of  Mr.  Carson's 
descendant,  the  Dean  of  Kilmore.  It  is  dated  from  Dublin, 
17  th  March,  1800. 

"  Deab  Cabson, 

"  The  expense  of  a  ^ulty  is  very  serious,  and  the  danger 
of  objecting  to  the  title  by  which  you  hold  your  present  parishes 
not  imminent  at  present,  so  that  I  am  inclined  to  advise  you 
to  wait  till  you  think  you  have  more  pressing  necessity. 

"  The  questitms  you  ask  depending  on  the  union,  and  the 
wording  of  the  Act  of  Union  itself,  make  it  impossible  at  pre- 
sent to  give  a  precise  answer  to  them ;  but  I  apprehend  the 
Irish  laws  previous  to  the  union  will  still  bind  the  Irish  Church, 
unless  expressly  repealed  by  the  Imperial  Parliament.  The 
nature  of  the  connexion  in  the  clerical  line  is  now  before  Sir 
Wm.  Scot  to  give  his  opinion  on  it. 

"  In  order  to  answer  the  latter  part  of  your  letter,  which  I 
fear  I  cannot  do  exactly  to  your  wishes,  I  must,  in  perfect 
dependence  on  your  secrecy  and  honour,  enter  more  than  I  am 
apt  to  do  into  the  plan  I  have  of  disposing  of  Dr.  Atterburys 
preferments,  in  case  it  should  be  my  lot  to  outlrre  him. 

'*  My  intention  has  been  to  separate  the  Chantership  from 


tSO  khjuhov.  [clothb. 

tiie  great  union  of  Clonmell ;  to  settle  Austin  in  the  latter,  and 
Hingston  in  the  former ;  in  which  cajse  the  plan  yon  mention 
of  uniting  Eilmahon,  Ohurchtown,  and  Bohillane,  might  in  time 
take  effect ;  but  of  late  Mr.  Mapletoft  seems  to  have  wished  to 
give  up  Castletown  for  Atterbury's  preferment,  and  then  no 
separation  would  take  place. 

''  But  though  either  of  these  schemes  shuts  the  door  to  your 
advancement,  there  are  other  passages  equally  broad  left  open. 
Dr.  King's  living  was  valued  in  1796,  at  upwards  of  £900;  and  as 
that  preferment  would  be  more  than  equivalent  for  both  yours, 
it  would  probably  be  a  great  object  to  you.  Circumstances 
make  me  wish  at  present  for  two  livings,  such  as  you  now 
hold,  to  dispose  of;  and  though  I  would  not  be  understood  to 
make  an  actual  promise,  the  chance  of  King's  living  furnishes 
an  additional  reason  for  you  not  to  be  too  hasty  in  applying 
for  a  faculty  to  hold  your  present  parishes. 

"  I  feel  happy  in  the  gratitude  you  express  for  such  services 
as  I  have  been  able  to  render  you  ;  and  shall  I  confess  also 
that  I  have  always  thought  myself  obliged  by  your  expressing 
your  dislike  to  my  leaving  the  country  in  1796?  I  wish  we 
had  talked  over  the  reasons  for  and  against  it :  there  were 
many  on  both  sides,  and  I  knew  too  much  of  the  state  of  the 
.  country  for  my  own  comfort — the  same  knowledge  of  which 
poor  Dodge,  so  fotally  for  himself,  partook  with  me.  So  apt, 
however,  is  the  world  to  Judge  by  the  event,  that  the  same 
mouths  which  were  opened  against  me  for  quitting  my  diocese 
in  1796  were  extended  to  the  full  as  wide  against  Bishop 
Stock  for  not  quitting  his  when  the  same  enemy  came  in 
1798.  The  Primate  too,  in  1798,  followed  my  example  in 
quitting  Armagh  at  the  first  report  of  a  landing,  as  did  poor 
Stock  and  his  whole  family  on  the  second  appearance  of  the 
French  frigates  in  the  bay  of  Killalla.  They  knew  by  expe- 
rience to  what  dreadful  distress  they  exposed  themselves.  I 
knew  it  by  anticipation.  Besides,  all  my  money  was  at  Dub- 
lin, and  I  had  a  very  numerous  family  to  feed,  who  were  to 
have  left  the  country  ten  days  after.  I  thought  at  the  time 
that  all  travelling  would  soon  become  impracticable,  as  it  did 
in  1798,  and  that  as  it  was  determined  to  give  up  the  county 
of  Cork  to  the  enemy,  it  was  better  for  me  to  prevent  the 
misery  of  so  terrible  a  retreat,  and  that  ten  days  sooner  or 
later  made  no  difference.  Providence  saved  us ;  and  therefore 
the  world  in  general  blamed  me.  I  have  even  myself  since 
thought  I  was  too  precipitate ;  but  I  doubt  whether  I  should 
have  thought  so  at  the  moment  of  danger.  At  any  rate  it  was 
kind  of  you  to  suggest  your  doubts,  and  I  have  endeavoured  to 
be  grateful  for  the  advice. 

"  1  am,  dear  Sir,  yours  very  truly, 

"  Wm.  Cloyne." 


CLOYNB.]  KtLMABON.  S81 

1805.  Protestant  population,  1.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

Thomas  Carson  (eldest  son  of  the  Rev.  Thomas  Carson,  of 
Silloo,  county  Monaghan,  bjr  Marj  Dawson),  was  bom  in  No- 
vember, 1763,  and  graduated  in  T.C.D. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  at  Clojne  on  2nd  November, 
1788,  and  Priest,  also  at  Clojne,  on  1st  August,  1790. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Mogeely  on  3rd  Nov., 
1788,  and  held  that  post  until  1794.  From  1795  to  1796  he 
was  V.  Ahem,  and  R.  Bretway ;  from  1796  to  1805,  V.  Cloii- 
dulane  and  Templebodane ;  and  from  1805  to  1816,  R.  Y. 
Clonmult.     He  was  also  from  1799  to  1816,  R.  V.  Kiimahon. 

On  27th  March,  1797,  he  was  appointed  Domestic  Chaplain 
to  the  Earl  of  Inchiquin. 

He  married,  in  Qarrycloyue  Church,  on  16th  Sept.,  1802, 
Elisabeth,  eldest  dau.  of  Christopher  Waggett,  esq.,  of  Kits- 
borogh,  county  Cork,  sister  of  William  Waggett,  the  late  emi- 
nent Recorder  of  Cork.  By  her  Mr.  Carson  had  issue  two 
Bons — Thomas,  now  Dean  and  Vicar-General  of  Kilmore,  and 
Joseph,  D.D.,  Fellow  of  Trinity  College,  Dublin.  Mr.  Carson 
had  also  twodaughters — ^Elisabeth,wifeof  James  Colthurst,  esq.; 
of  Cork ;  and  Anna,  wife  of  Rev.  William  Fisher,  R.  Eilmoe, 
Cork. 

The  Rev.  Thomas  Carson  died  on  30th  August,  and  was 
buried  on  2nd  Sept.,  1816,  in  Eilmahon  Church-yard. 
1816.  Sept.  28.  John  William  Bennett,  R.  V.  Kiimahon  [P.P/J, 
and  on  19th  Sept,  1816,  he  was  collated  to  Clonmult  He 
became,  in  1819,  Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1819.  Sept  4.  James  Sandifobd,  R.  Y.  Kiimahon  and  Clonmult. 
[F.F.]     He  was  also  P.  Killenemer,  q.  v. 

1824.  January  31.  John  Michael  Brooke,  R.  Kiimahon.     [F.F.] 
He  was  also  R.  V.  Ahinagh,  q.  v. 

1825.  January  23.  Bigob  Henzell,  R.  Kiimahon,  per  mortem 
Brooke.     [D.R.] 

1834.  Protestant  population,  22. 

1837.  Kiimahon  :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  4  miles 
long  by  3  broad,  containing  2,600a.  Gross  population,  1,658. 
No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition, £506  IQs.GcL;  12a. 
of  glebe,  valued  at  SOs.  per  acre,  £30.  Subject  to  visitation 
fees,  £1  10«. ;  quit  rent,  8i. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  15<.  Kii- 
mahon glebe-house,  built  under  the  old  Acts  in  1807,  at  the 
cost  of  £1,209  is.  7^  British,  whereof  £193  16<.  lUd.  was 
granted  as  gift  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ;  and  the  resi- 
due of  £1,015  7b,  B\d.  was  supplied  out  of  the  private  funds  of 
the  builder,  to  whom  the  present  Incumbent  is  fourth  in  suc- 
cession ;  but  his  immediate  predecessor  having  died  within  a 
year  after  his  appointment,  he  became  chargeable  with  the 
payment  of  £507  13<.  10(2.,  on  account  of  the  sum  last-named, 
and  will  be  entitled  to  receive  £253  16«.  lid,  from  his  sue- 


Sd2  KiikiBoK.  [ctOTirs. 

o688or.  Incumbent  is  conBtanUy  resident  in  the  gleb^hoose. 
One  church,  capable  of  accommodating  seventy  persons,  built 
about  thirty-five  years  ago,  but  at  what  cost,  or  from  what 
funds  supplied,  unknown.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832 
on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on 
all  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal  festivals.  The  sacrament  is 
administered  monthly,  and  on  Christmas  Day,  Easter,  and 
Whitsundays.     The  benefice  is  a  rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

Bi^oe  Henzell  (son  of  Rev.  Bigoe  Henzell,  V.  Duushaughlin 
and  Rathregan,  and  R.  Tryvett  and  Kilbrew,  in  Me^th,  by 
Lucy,  dan.  of  Richard  Gorges,  of  Kilbrew,  county  Meath,  m.p.) 
was  from  1807  to  1819  (?)  R.  Tryvett  and  Kilbrew  ;  from  1825 
to  1847,  R.  Kilmahon,  and  from  1834  (?)  to  1847,  R.  Killei- 
ladb,  &c,y  Kilfenora. 

He  married  Sophia,  dau.  of  the  fourth  Visooukt  Botbs,  the 
relict  of  the  Rev.  Mr.  Hamilton  and  of  Mr.  Lowe. 

He  died  on  the  10th,  and  was  buried  on  the  14th  January, 
1847,  at  Cloyne. 
1847.  January  21.  Francis  Tempest  Bradt,  R.  V.   Kilmahon. 
[D.R.]     In  1847  he  was  R.  Kilshannig,  and  in  1849,  V.  Kil- 
worth,  q.  V. 
1847.  Dec.  15.  William  Rogers,  R.  V.  Kilmahon.     [F.F.] 

1851.  A  faculty  was  granted  for  the  repair  of  the  church. 
[D.R.] 

1860.  W.  Rogers,  Incumbent;  Robert  Reeves  Collins,  Curate. 
The  church  and  glebe-house  in  good  order.  1 2  acres  of  glebe 
in  Rector's  use.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sundays,  and  once 
on  the  usual  festivals.  Sacrament  monthly,  and  on  festivals  ; 
average  of  communicants,  6.  There  is  a  Protestant  school- 
master, but  there  are  no  poor  Protestant  children  in  the  parish. 
The  Protestant  population  is  43.  The  rentcharge  is  £S22  0«.  8^. 
The  land  is  worth  £20.     Total  value,  £342  Os.  8\d.  per  an. 

W.  Rogers  (grandson  of  Rev.  William  Rogers,  of  St.  Paul's, 
Dublin,  who  married  in  1777,  Mary,  dau.  of  William  Taylor, 
esq.)  is  the  eldest  son  of  the  late  Lynegar  Rogers,  Capt.  Royal 
Meath  Militia,  by  Ann,  dau.  of  Rev.  James  Hingston,  Vicar- 
General  of  Cloyne,  and  R.  Agabulloge,  q.  v. 

He  graduated  in  T.C.D.  a.b.  in  1821,  and  a.m.  in  1825. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  1st  May,  and  Priest  on  23rd 
August,  1829,  both  at  Cloyne,  for  the  curacy  of  Whitechurch. 

On  Ist  July,  1830,  he  was  licensed  to  be  Reader  at  Cloyne 
Cathedral,  and  on  29th  March,  1831,  was  appointed  Surrogate. 

In  1834  he  was  Vic.  Chor.,  Cloyne.  He  was  V.  Marshals- 
town  from  1836  to  1840 ;  and  R.  Knocktemple  from  1840  to 
1747.  He  was  appointed  Honorary  Prebendary  of  Kilmac- 
donogh  in  1841,  and  was  also,  on  13th  April,  1854,  appointed 
Registrar  of  Cloyne.     He  is  still  a  Vic.  Choral  of  Cloyne. 


CIOTVB.]  KILKBMABTSRT.  i6S 

KILNEMARTERT. 

1591.  DsRMionis  Dovati  is  Vicar.  ''Rectoria  de  Eilnemarterj 
aJs.  Dromj  pertinet  ad  Hospit :  de  Mora.  Vicarius  Dermicius 
Donati."  [US.  T.C.D.  E.  3. 1 4.]  He  wa«  also  V.  Drinagh,  Cork. 
1615.  Thomas  Wat  (R.  V.  Scull,  Cork,  q.  v.,  is  Rector  and  Vicar). 
^'Dromine  als.  Kilnamartery,  iion-residens,  Thomas  Way, 
Rector  et  Vicarius,  miuister  et  predicator.  Val.  4  li.  10«.  Od, 
per  an.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  rep&ntur.*'  [R^V.  R.I.A.] 
1618.  Dec.  1,  Thomas  Dayies  was  admitted  Rector  de  Eilnemar- 
tery.     [F.P.]     He  was  also  P.  Inskeuny,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1634.  ''R  de  Eilnawtery.  Thomas  Davies.  Val.  15  li.  per 
an-"    [R.V.  1634.] 

'*  Thomas  Davies,  a  reading  Minister,  and  an  auncient  paine- 
fnll  man  in  his  calling,  hath  R.  Dromy  als.  Eilnemartery,  val 
15  li.,  and  V.  Maal  als.  Aglish,  val.  7  li.  in  lapse."  [MS. 
Probate  Court,  Dub.] 
1634.  Dec.  19.  Morgan  Mundyn,  Rector  de  Dromy  als.  Eilne- 
martery et  V.  de  Maal  als.  Aglis.     [F.P.] 

1636.    "  Ecclesia  de  Dundrinane  als.  Eilnawtry,  Morgan 
Mundyn,  in  Cloyne  diocese."     [V.B.  1636.]     He  appears  in 
V.  R  1639. 
1640.    Sept.  30.    Nathaniel    Giles,    Rector  de    Eilnamartcry. 
[P.F.] 

Giles,  notwithstanding  the  entries  which  follow,  appears  in 
the  visitation  books  for  Eilnemartery  from  1665  to  1669.  In 
1668  this  rectory  is  marked  as  vacant  "per  acceptacionem 
aliorum  beneficiorum  curam  Animarum  habentium.'*  [V.B. 
D.R.] 

In  1666  Giles  became  R.  Mogeesha,  V.  Carrigtowil,  and  V. 
Clonmel,  q.  v. 
1663.  Sept  29.  William  Sgroogs,  ''  A  Student  in  Oxford  College,** 
R.  Eilnemartery,  per  resignation  of  Nathaniel  Giles.     [D.R.] 

"  Rector  ecclias  polis  de  Eilnymartery,  post  cessionem 
Nathanielis  Giles,  Glici,  tenet  Willimus  Scrogg,  filius  Willimi 
Scrogg,  Clici,  defuncti,  jam  studens  in  Academia  Oxoniensi  in 
Collegio  SacrsB  Marise  Magdalen®.**    [V.B.  1669.] 

In  1671  Wm.  Scroggs  was  still  a  student  "in  Academia.** 
On  4th  Dec.,  1673,  he  was  again  instituted  to  R.  Eilnemarteiy, 
and  a  third  time  was  instituted  to  the  same,  on  26th  Sept., 
1677.     [V.B.  and  F.F.] 

W.  Scroggs  (son  of  W.  Scroggs,  V.  Carrigrohanebeg,  q.  v.), 
was  R.  Eilnemartery  from  1663  to  1682.      He  was,  in  1674, 
a  Vic.  Chor., Cloyne;  and  from  1680  to  1682,  was  a  Vic.  Chor. 
St.  Patrick's,  Dublin. 
1682.  Nov.  6.  Charles  Sgroogs,  a.b.,  R.  Eilnemartery.    [F.P.] 

Charles  (son  of  William  Scroggs,  V.  Carrigrohanebeg,  q.  y,), 
was  bom  at  Cork,  and  when  fifteen  years  old,  obtained  Sizar- 
ship,  T.C.D.,  on  26th  July,  1678,  and  Scholarship  in  1681. 


284  KmrSMAftTEBT.  [CLOTVE. 

1685.  March  18.  Richard  Beownb,  a.k.,  K  Eilnemartery  PF.F.] 
per  cessionem  C&roli  Scroggs.  [D.B.]  Browne  was  also  V. 
ICacroom,  q.  y. 

1694.    Bectoria  Integra  de  Kilnemartery,  ral.  15  pounds. 
Epos  patronns.     [Palliser.] 
1712.  Sept  17.  Gborob  M'Cormicil,  a.m.,  R.  and  Y.  Kilnemarterj, 
vacant  per  mortem  Browne.     [D.R.] 

G.  M*Cormick  was,  from  1712  to  1740,  R.  Kilnemartery ; 
and  from  1717  to  1740,  R.  V.  Aglish,  Moviddy,  and  Kilbonane, 
in  Cork. 
1740.  Oct.  11.  Richard  BuLLBN,A.K.(vi(^M'Oormick,  deceased),  was 
admitted  R.  Y.  Kilnemartery, and  in  1763,  January  20,  Richardus 
Bnllen  denuo  irutittUus  ad  Rectoriam  integram  de  Eilnemartenr 
in  coll'  Epi  per  cessionem  ejusdem  Richardi.  [D.R.]  Iii 
1776  Bullen  became  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v, 

1774.  Kilnemartery:  rect.  in  the  bar.  of  Mnskerry;  value, 
XlOOperan.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat,  the  Bp.  Glebe,  37a.  1r.13p. 
En.  Proxy,  6s,  Incnmb.,  Richard  BuUen,  a.m.  [Hingston.] 
1776.  Dec  30.  John  Lawless,  R.  Kilnemartery  [F.F.],  and  on  same 
day  he  was  admitted  Curate  of  Toughal.  [D.R.]  In  1789  he 
b^me  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 
1779.  June  21.  John  Dennis,  R  Kilnemartery.     [F.F.]     Dennis 

was  also  Treasurer  of  Cork,  q.  v. 
1784.   March  18.    Samuel  Meade,  R.  Kilnemartery  [F.F.]  per 
cessionem  John  Dennis.    [D.R.]    Meade  was  also  R.  Stl'aurs, 
Cork,  q.  V. 

1 785.  Protestant  population,  6.     [Meade.] 
1788.   May  15.   Edward  Delant,  a.b.,  H.  Kilnemartery  [F.F.I, 
vacant  per  mortem  Meade.     [D.R.]     He  was,  in  1793,  R.  V. 
Whitechurch,  q.  v. 
1788.  July.  Walter  Giles,  R.  Kilnemartery.    [F.F.] 

Walter  Giles  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  28th  Sept,  1755,  and 
Priest  on  5th  Dec,  1756,  both  at  Cloyne. 

He  was  licensed  on  29th  Sept,  1755,  to  the  curacy  of  Clon- 
priest.  He  was,  from  1773  to  1780,  R.  Litter  and  Marshals- 
town;  from  1780,  April,  to  1780,  July,  V.  Knockmourne  and 
Ballynoe ;  from  1780,  July,  to  1788,  R.  Clondrohid ;  and  from 
1788  to  1794,  R.  Kilnemartery. 

He  married,  in  1763,  Elisabeth  Uniacke,  and  had  issue,  inter 
alioi,  three  sons,  George,  Walter,  and  Richard  ;  and  three 
daughters,  Anne,  Ursula,  and  Mary.  [Youghal  Par.  Reg.] 
1794.  Oct  5.  Robert  Austen,  R.  Kilnemartery  [F.F.],  vacant  per 
mort  Giles.  [D.R]  He  took  a  second  collation  to  Kilne- 
martery, on  Feb.  26,  1799,  and  a  third  on  Slat  Oct.,  1801. 
SD.R.]  In  1801  he  became  P.  Brigowne,  and  was  afterwards 
treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v.  He  resigned  Kilnemartery  in  1806, 
on  becoming  R.'brinny  and  Knockavilly,  in  Cork. 

1805.  Two  Protisstant  fftmilies  in  Kilnemartery.  [Abp. 
Brod.] 


CLOTHE.]  KILNEMARTERT.  285 

1806.  March  12.  James  Sandifobd,  R.  Kilnemartery  [F.F.]  per 
ccssionem  Austen.  [D.R.1  Sandiford  was  also  P.  Killenemer,  q.y. 
1808.  Kilnemartery  Church  was  consecrated.     [D.R.] 

1808.  June  28.  William  Butler,  R.  Kilnemartery,  vacant  per 
resignation  of  Sandiford.  [D.R.]  On  same  day  he  was  ad- 
mitted Curate  and  Preacher  at  Cloyne  Cathedral.  [D.R.]  He 
was  at  the  same  time  P.  Lackeen.  In  1817  he  became  P. 
Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

1810.  July  28.  James  Kingston,  R.  Kilnemartery.    [D.R.]     In 
1836  fiingston  became  R.  V.  Whitechurch,  q.  v. 
1814.  The  baptismal  register  begins. 
1818.  The  vestry  book  begins. 

1826.   Feb.  2.  John  Chari^es  Monoan,  R.  Kilnemartery  [F.F.], 
vacant  per  cessionem  Hingston.     [D.R.] 
1834.  Protestant  population,  16. 

1837.  Kilnemartery  :  a  rectory,  with  cure;  8  miles  long  by  2 
broad.  Containing  10,1)59a.  Gross  population, 2,604.  NoCurate 
employed.  Tithe  composition,  £420.  30  acres  of  glebe,  valued 
at  20«.  per  acre,  £30.  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  and  diocesan 
schoolma8ter,£3.  Kilnemartery  glebe-house  built  under  the  new 
Acts,  in  1813, at  the  cost  of  £1,384  I2s,  S^d,,  British,  whereof 
£92  6s.  l|d  was  granted  as  gift,  and  £830  I5s,  4^.  in  way  of 
loan,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits,  and  the  residue  of 
£461  lOs.  9^cL  was  advanced  out  of  the  private  funds  of  the 
builder,  to  whom  the  present  Incumbent  is  next  in  succession  ; 
and  having  paid  his  predecessor  the  entire  of  the  sum  last 
mentioned,  and  since  expended  £250  on  improvements  under 
certificate,  he  will  be  entitled  to  receive  £d96  3«.  2d,  from  his 
successor  on  account  of  the  building  and  improvement  charges. 
Of  the  loan  aforesaid  there  remained  £326  158,  6d.  chargeable 
on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of 
£19  7b,  8d.  Incumbent  is  constantly  resident  in  the  glebe- 
house.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating  100  persons, 
built  in  1813,  by  means  of  a  gift  of  £553  16«.  Ud.  Brit, 
granted  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits.  No  charge  on  the 
parish  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is 
celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  two  principal  festivals. 
The  sacrament  is  administered  monthly.  The  benefice  is  a 
rectory.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1 852.  The  marriage  register  begins. 

1860.  Mr.  Morgan,  Rector.  J.  F.  Whitinff,  Curate.  The 
church  in  tolerable  order.  No  font.  The  gleoe-house  in  very 
bad  repair.  40  acres  of  glebe  let  Divine  service  once  on 
Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day  and  Ash  Wednesday.  Sacra- 
ment monthly ;  average  of  communicants,  3.  No  school. 
Protestant  population,  10.  Rentcharge,  £241  15«.  i^d.  The 
land  is  worth  £30.     Total  income,  £271  15«.  ^d. 

J.  C.  Mongan  (nephew  of  Bishop  Warburton)  was  ordained 
Peacon,  at  Tralee,  on  23rd  August,  1819. 


286  KILNEMARTERT KIL8HANNI6.  [CLOTNB. 

He  was,  from  1821  to  1860,  £.  Drishane,  Ardfert ;  and  from 
1826  to  1860,  R.  Kilnemartery. 

He  married  Elisabeth,  daa.  of  John  Wallis,  esq.,  of  Drishane 
Oastle,  Millstreet,  county  Cork,  and  by  her  had  issue  two  sons, 
Charles  Henry,  born  1822  ;  and  John.  He  had  also  three 
daughters,  Selina-Sophia,  Mary- Anne-Charlotte,  and  Caroline. 

Mr.  Mongan  was  for  many  years  a  Chaplain  abroad.     He 
was  Incumbent  of  St.  Mary's,  Belize,  Honduras ;  and  died  at 
Belize,  on  24th  August,  1860. 
1861.  January  1.  Caleb  Henbt  Clifford^  a.b.,  B.  Kilnemartery, 
vacant  by  death  of  Mongan.     [D.R.] 

C.  H.  Clifford  (son  of  Denis  Barton  Clifford,  esq.,  by  Anne 
Casey),  entered  T.C.D.  in  1832,  and  graduated  a.b.  in  1837. 
He  was  ordained  in  1838;  and  on  21st  March,  1849,  was 
licensed  to  the  curacy  of  St  Nicholas,  Cork. 


KILSHANNIG. 


15-»?  DoMiNTTS  CoEOALius  T  NswNANE  was  Vicar  of  Kilshannig. 
He  was  deprived  circa  158]. 

1681.  Sept.  9.  DoHiNus  Uermitits  M'Woony  Y  Ealghan  was  ap- 
pointed Vicar; — "Idem  Epus  (Mattheus)  contulit  vicariam 
ecclisB  parochialis  de  Kilshanny  Clonen  dioc,  propter  manifes- 
tam  rebellionem  dniCorcalii  y  newnane  ultimi  ibmincumbentis, 
dno  Dermitio  mtt  Wogny  y  Kalghan,  presbitero  dictce  dioc  : 
none  Septembris  A°.  1581."     [D.R.] 

1591.  Cornelius  O'Bbien  appears  as  Vicar  of  Kilshannig.  **  Rect. 
de  Eilflhanig  pertinet  ad  Hospit.  de  Mora.  Vicarius  Cor  0' Brian, 
idem  V.  Clonmeen  and  Roskeen.''     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1612.  '' Emanuel  Phayeb,  clericus,  Vicarius  de  Kilsbanny"  attests, 
on  8th  January,  the  delivery  to  John  Travers,  Registrar  of 
Cork,  of  the  books  of  wills,  cfec,  by  Ellin  Goulde.  [D.R.  Cork.] 
1615.  *' Kilshanny  resideus.  Rectoria  impropriata.  Cor- 
mack  Donogh  Carty,  firmarius.  Vicarius  Emanuel  Phaire. 
Val.  4  li.  per  annum,  Ecclesia  et  cancella  ruinantur.**  [R.V. 
E.LA.] 

1634.  '^B.  de  Kilshannig  spectat  ad  Abb'  de  Mora.  Val. 
40  li.  per  an.  Cormack  Donogh  Carty,  Impropriator.  V. 
Emanuel  Phaire.     Val.  12  li.  per  an."    [R-V.  1634.] 

Phaire  was  also  V.  Clonmeen  and  Roskeen,  and  in  1621  be- 
came P.  Kilmaclenine,  q.  v. 

1661  to  1719.  Kilshannig  was  held  with  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

1719.  April  7.  Benezeb  Murdoch,  R.  V.  Kilshannig  [D.R.],  vacant 
by  death  of  John  Northcote.     [D.R.]     Murdoch  was  inducted 
on  10th  April,  1719,  by  Rev.  Charles  Northcote,  Vicar  of 
Ctowfert.    P-B-] 
1731.  The  Panflh  BegiAtor  b^ns. 


GLOirVB.]  KILSHAKNIO.  287 

Benezer  Murdoch  (grandsoD,  it  is  probable,  of  Joseph  Mur- 
doch, of  Toughal,  who  died  circa  1670,  leaving  three  sous — 
Daniel,  John,  and  Ebenezer,)  was  son  of  Benezer  Murdoch,  by 
Catherine,  dau.  of  Rev.  John  Norcott,  V.  Clonmeen,  q.  v. 

He  was  bom  in  Mallow,  and  when  seventeen  years  old 
entered  T.O.D.  on  Feb.  21, 1699,  and  graduated  afterwards  a.k. 

fie  was  ordained  Deacon  on  30th  May,  and  Priest  on  29th 
Sept.,  1708,  both  at  Cloyne,  and  was  licensed  on  30th  Sept., 
1708,  to  the  curacy  of  Qortroe  and  Dysert  From  1719  to  his 
death  in  1747  he  was  R.  V.  Kilshannig. 

He  married,  in  1714,  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Herbert  Love,  esq., 
and  had  issue,  inter  alioSy  a  son,  Benezer,  and  a  daughter, 
Catherine,  wife  of  Rev.  James  Hingston,  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 
1747.  Sept.  9.  John  Pallisbr,  a.m.,  R.  and  V.  Kilshanniff  [D.R. 
and  F.F.],  per  mortem  Murdoch.  [D.R.]  In  1771  he  oecame 
Chancellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 

1762.  Palliser,  non-resident;  yearly  income  out  of  Eilshan- 
nick,  &c.,  £400,  out  of  which  he  pays  two  Curates  £40  each. 
[Hayman.] 
1772.   March  10.  Edmond  Lombard,  a.m.,  R.  and  V.  Kilshannig. 

1774.  Kilshannig  rect.  and  vie,  in  the  bar.  of  Duhallow, 
value,  £400  per  aiiti.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.,  the  Bp.  Olebe, 
4a.  1r.  12p.  En.  Proxv,  5s.  id.  The  rect.  formerly  belonged 
to  the  preceptory  of  Moume,  and  pays  1  Is.  per  ann.  crown 
rent.  The  vie.  is  taxed  in  the  King's  books  by  the  name  of 
Kilshane,  £1  lOs.  ster.  Incumb.,  Edmund  Lombard,  a.m.  ; 
Curate,  Richard  Bourne,  a.m.     [Hingston.] 

1785.  Protestant  population,  111. 

Edmund  Lombard  (son  of  James  Lombard,  esq.,  of  Lom- 
bardstown,  and  afterwards  of  Cork,  by  Mary,  dau.  of  James 
Uniacke,  esq.,  of  Coologaragh,  county  Cork),  was  ordained 
Priest  at  Cloyne  on  9th  July,  1758,  and  on  4th  Sept.,  1758, 
was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Inniscarra,  and  afterwards  on 
17th  August,  1759,  to  that  of  Farrahy. 

He  was  from  1759  to  1765,  B.  Y.  Carrigdownan  ;  from 
1766  to  1772,  V.  Carrigamleary  and  Rahan ;  from  1768  to 
1772,  R.  Mallow ;  and  from  1772  to  his  death  in  1779,  R.  V. 
Kilshannig. 

He  married,  in  1763  [M.L.  Dublin,  20th  June],  Miss  Elisa- 
beth Trydell;  and  by  her  had  issue,  inter  alios,  an  eldest  son, 
James  Lombard,  who,  by  his  wife,  Anne  Beecher,  bad  issne 
four  daughters. 
1779.  March  22.  Hbnbt  Newman,  R.  and  V.  Kilshannig  [F.F.], 
vacant  per  mortem  Lombard.     fD.R.] 

Henry  Newman  was  descended  from  an  ancient  family  in 
the  sister  kingdom,  a  member  of  which,  Richabd  Nxwman, 
esq.,  High  Steward  of  Westminster,  purchased  from  Sir  Francis 
Htetiiigs  the  manors  of  North  and  booth  Cadbnrj,  in  Somer- 


288  KILSHANNIG.  [CLO¥VE. 

setshire.  This  Richard  Newman  had  sufiered,  in  Cromweirs 
time,  in  consequence  of  his  attachment  to  Charles  I^  and  was 
rewarded  bj  the  succeeding  monarch  bj  an  augmentation  of 
his  family  arms ;  "  or,  gules,  a  portcullis  crowned,  or."  [  Vide 
History  of  Somersetshire,  by  Rev.  J.  Nightingale,  vol.  xiii. 
part  i.,  page  '279.2  In  16S7,  Richard  Newman  (the  second  son,  it 
is  said^  of  Humphrey  Newman,  esq.,  of  Wincanton,  Somersetshire, 
by  Dorothea,  dau.  of  Sir  Thomas  Phillips,  of  Barrington),  passed 
patent  on  28th  August,  for  the  castle  and  lands  of  Drumaneen, 
near  Mallow,  and  for  several  other  lands  and  houses  in  Cork. 
The  said  lauds,  i&c,  to  be  erected  into  a  manor,  called  the 
nmnor  of  New  hurry,  with  power  to  erect  a  court  leet  and 
court  baron,  to  appoint  a  £;aoler,  seneschal,  and  bailiffs,  and  to 
impark  500  acres  of  land,  <S^c.  [^Vide  Smith's,  Cork,  vol.  i., 
page  295,  edition  of  1815.] 

This  Richard  Newman  died  on  the  12th  June,  1694,  and 
was  buried  in  Mallow,  as  is  testified  by  an  inscription  on  a 
slab  in  the  old  church  of  Mallow.  He  was  the  father,  intet^ 
cUioBf  of  Charles  Newman,  who  was  born  in  1661,  in  the  county 
Cork,  and  entered  T.C.D.  as  a  Fellow  Commoner,  aged  seven- 
teen, on  22nd  June,  1678.  This  Charles  Newman,  in  1694, 
had  purchased  the  impropriations  of  Bothon,  Ballybeg,  Kil- 
browney,  <fec. 

Richard  Newman,  who  died  in  1694,  had  also  a  son,  Dillon, 
whose  second  son,  Adam,  succeeded  to  the  estates  of  Dromore 
and  Newberry,  and  married  Mary  Carleton,  aunt  to  Lord  Carle- 
ton  ;  and  had  issue,  inter  alio$y  a  fifth  son,  Henry,  the  Rector  of 
Kilshannig. 

Henry  Newman  was  ordained  Deacon  on  16th  June,  and 
Priest  on  22nd  Sept.,  1771,  both  at  Cork. 

On  17th  June,  1771,  he  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Drom- 
daleague  and  Caheragh,  Cork.  He  was  from  1773  to  1794, 
V.  Bregoge;  from  1794  to  1799,  V.  Cloumeen,  Roskeen,  and 
Kilcomey ;  and  from  1799  to  his  death  on  20th  January,  1800, 
R.  V.  Kilshannig.  He  was  also  from  1777  to  1800,  V.  Any, 
Hospifal,  Ballynamona,  KiUrush,  Doonemore,  Ballinlogh,  and 
Ballynard,  in  the  diocese  of  £mly. 

He  bequeathed  100  guineas  to  his  brothers,  John  Newman, 
of  Dromore  j  Adam,  and  Charles,  in  trust,  to  distribute  the 
interest,  or  to  lend  the  principal  as  a  charitable  loan  to  the 
poor  of  Kilshannig  parish. 
1800.  Feb.  12.  John  Lombard,  a.b.,  R.  and  V.  Kilshannig  [F.F.], 
vacant  per  mortem  Newman.     [D.R.] 

1805.  75  Protestant  families  in  Kilshannig.     [Abp.  Brod.] 

1806.  One  church.  No  glebe-house.  The  Rev.  John  Michael 
Beecher  is  Curate,  at  stipend  of  £50.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

1834.  Protestant  population  559. 

1837.  Kilshannig :  a  rectory  and  vicarage,  with  cure,  7 
miles  long  by  6  broad,  containing  27,1  92a.  3r.  1p.     Gross 


CXOTirX.]  KILSHANNIG.  289 

population,  8,057.  One  Curate  employed,  at  an  annual  stipend 
of  £69  is.  7id.  British.  Tithe  composition,  £738  9«.  2M  ; 
4a.  Ob.  29p.  of  glebe,  valued  at  40«.  per  acre,  £8  Is.  3d.  Sub- 
ject to  visitation  fees,  18«.  Sd. ;  diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1 5s.  2d. 
No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  although  non-resident  within  the 
parish  for  want  of  suitable.accominodation,  resides  closely  ad- 
joining, and  £50  is  considered  a  reasonable  sum  to  be  allowed 
for  house  rent.  One  church,  capable  of  accommodating  340 
persons,  built  in  1719,  but  at  what  cost,  or  from  what  funds 
supplied,  unascertained.  No  charge  on  the  parish  in  1832  on 
account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is  celebrated  once  on 
Sundays,  and  on  Christmas  Day  and  Good  Friday.  The  sacra- 
ment is  administered  seven  times  in  the  year.  The  benefice 
is  a  rectory.    [Pari.  Rep.] 

John  Lombard  (son  of Lombard,  esq.,  by  his  wife,  Lucy 

Yielding),  was  a  Scholar,  T.C.D.,  in  1777,  and  was  ordained 
Deacon  at  Cork  on  1st  Nov.,  1778.  He  was  licensed  to  the 
curacy  of  Kilshannig  on  5th  July,  1780. 

He  was  from  1794  to  1799,  V.  Bregoge  ;  from  1799  to  1801, 
V.  Ballyclough  ;  from  1800  to  1847,  R.  V.  Kilshannig.  Ho 
was  also  from  1794  to  1824,  P.  Kilmaclenine. 

He  loft  issue  by  his  wife,  Dorothea,  dan.  of  William  Pare- 
foy,  esq.,  besides  a  daughter,  Martha,  two  sons — Rev.  Edmund, 
P.  Kilnaglory,  Cork,  q.  v.,  and  Rev.  John-Newman,  P.  Eilmao- 
lenine,  q.  v. 

He  bequeathed  £200  to  the  Commissioners  for  Charitable 
Bequests,  the  interest  to  be  given  to  five  poor  men  and  ^ve 
poor  women,  who  are  to  be  selected  annually  by  the  Rector  of 
Kilshannig.  He  was  buried  on  3rd  January,  1847,  in  Kilshan- 
nig church-yard,  being  at  the  time  of  his  death  ninety-six 
years  old. 
1847.  January  19.  Michael  H.  Beegheb,  R.  and  V.  Kilshannig. 

[D.R.]     He  was  also  P.  Cooline,  q.  v. 
1847.  Nov.  30.  Francis  Tempest  Brady,  R.  and  V.  Kilshannig,  per 
mortem  Beecher.    JTD.R]     Mr.  Brady  resigned  on  27th  April, 
1849,  and  became  V.  Kil worth,  q.  v. 
1849.  May  4.  William  Hall,  a.ii.,  R.  and  V.  Kilshannig.     [D.R.] 

W.  Hall,  born  1803,  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  23rd 
December,  1827,  for  the  curacy  of  Abbeymahon.  Ross,  and  in 
1828  was  Curate  of  Kinneigh,  Cork.  From  1838  to  1841  he 
was  Chancellor  of  Cork ;  from  1841  to  May,  1849,  he  was  P. 
Ballyhay;  and  from  May  to  June,  1849,  he  was  R.  V.  Kil- 
shannig. 

He  died,  of  fever,  at  Charleville,  on  5th  June,  1849,  aged 
forty-six  years,  leaving  issue  by  his  wife,  Mary  Swan,  an  only 
child,  James- William,  who  died  in  1854. 

A  tablet  to  the  memory  of  the  Rev.  William  Hall,  A.X.,  ^  an 
able  and  unoompromisiog  Preacher  of  the  Gk>8pel,  a  watohfol 
TOL.  n.  u 


MO  KiLSHAinnR}, — ^kxlitobth.  [ourm. 

gnardian  of  his  flock/*  drc,  drc,  is  in  Oharlerille  Ohnrcb,  whicb 
was  '*  built  by  his  exertioDa" 

Mr.  Hall  beqaeathed  £100  to  the  Charch  Edncation  Society; 
£50  to  the   Church   Missionary  Society;   £50  to  the  Irbh 
Society ;  and  £25  to  the  Hibernian  Bible  Society. 
1849.  Jnne  20.  Henry  Swanzt»  a.m.,  R.  and  V.  Kilshannig,  TEcant 
per  mortem  HalL     [D.R.] 

1853.  A  faculty  was  granted  for  repairing  the  church.  [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  in  order.  A  tombstone  of  a  Knight 
Templar  in  the  church-yard.  No  glebe-house.  4-^  acres  of 
glebe  in  Rector^s  use.  Divine  service  twice  on  all  Sandays, 
and  once  on  the  usual  festivals,  &c.  During  the  winter  months 
the  Sunday  evening  service  is  held  in  a  licensed  school-house. 
The  congregation  on  Sundays  averages  from  150  to  200. 
Sacrament  monthly;  average  of  communicants,  55;  and  on 
Christmas  and  Easter  Day,  average  of  communicants,  100.  83 
children  attend  at  one  school,  and  30  at  another  school  Both 
schools  are  maintained  by  the  Rector  and  the  landed  proprie- 
tors in  the  parish. 

The  Protestant  population  is  335.  The  rentcharge  is  £553 
per  annum.  The  land  is  worth  £8.  Total  income,  £561  per 
ann.,  without  residence. 

Henry  Swanzy  (grandson  of  Henry  Swanzy,  esq.,  of  Harry- 
mount,  county  Monaghan,  who  married  Anne  Nixon,)  was  son 
of  Henry  Swanzy,  esq.,  of  Rockfield,  county  Monaghan,  by 
Rose,  dau.  of  Hugh  Rosborogh,  esq.,  of  the  county  Fermanagh. 

He  graduated  in  T.C.D.  a.b.  in  1824,  and  a.m.  in  1838. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  1st  June,  1828,  and  Priest  on 
15th  March,  1829,  both  at  Cloyne. 

He  was  licensed  on  26th  Dec,  1831,  to  the  curacy  of 
Youghal.  From  1839  to  1840  he  was  R.  Inchigeelah,  Cork  ; 
and  from  1840  to  1849  he  was  R.  Macroom. 

He  married,  in  1 835,  Elisabeth,  dau  of  Edward  Greene,  esq., 
of  Toughal,  and  has  issue,  a  son,  Henry,  and  four  daughtei 
Alice,  Rosa-Ormsby,  Elisabeth-Anne,  and  Catherine-Qreen. 


KILWORTH. 

I  find  no  mention  of  Eilworth  in  any  visitation  books  before 

1700. 
1700.  Sept  30.  John  Abmstbad,  was  admitted  P.  de  Glannor,  R.  V. 

Litter,  V.  Killathie,  Derrivillane  et  Kilworth.     [F.F.]     Vide 

Glan  worth. 
1716.  Sept.  3.  RoBBBT  Gibbon,  R.  V.  Litter,  Vic.  Kilworth,  Kil- 

lathy,  Derrivillane  and  Glanore.      [F.F.]     He  was  also  P. 

Subulter,  q.  v.     He  died  in  1721. 
Vt%\.  August  12.   CoBNBLius  Ptnb  is  adm.  V.  de  Kilworik  in 


CtOTVS.]  KILWOITH.  S91 

perpet.  nnitam  cum  Yicariis  de  Lietrim  et  Eilcrnniper. 
[D.R.]  Pyne  was  also  P.  Ballyhooly,  q.  v.  He  died  in  1749. 
1749.  Sept.  2.  Cbowther  Dowding,  a.m.,  P.  Aghultie,  and  V.  Kil- 
worth,  Macronej,  Kilcrumper,  and  Leitrim,  per  mortem  Pyne. 
[D.R.] 

1 762.  "  Dowding,  resident;  yearly  income,  £300."  [Hayman.] 

1774.  Eilworth,  als.  Eillard,  in  the  bar.  of  Condon   and 

Clangibbon  ;  value,  £50  per  ann.     Church  in  repair.     Pat., 

the  Bp.     Glebe,  4a.  Ib.  3p.,  plant.     No  proxy.     Incumbent, 

Crowtlier  Dowding,  a.m.     [Hingston.] 

1774.  Macrony :  vie.  in  the  barony  of  Condon  and  Clangib- 
bon, to  which  are  united  for  ever  the  vie.  of  Leitrim  and  the  vie.  of 
Kilcruraper,  under  the  name  of  the  parish  of  Macrony.  Churches 
in  ruins.  Patron,  the  Bishop.  Glebe  at  Macrony  ...  .  with 
a  house  and  improvements.     Glebe  at  Kilcrumper,  12a.  2b., 

?lant.  Proxy,  12«.  6c/.  Incumbent,  Crowther  fiowdinfir,  a.m. 
'he  rectories  are  impropriate.  The  Honourable  and  Rev. 
Robert  Bligh,  Impropriator.  Proxy,  12a.  6c?.  Kilcrumper  vie. 
lies  partly  in  the  barony  of  Fermoy,  and  partly  in  that  of 
Condon  and  Clangibbon.     [Hingston.] 

For  Dowding,  vid^  Ballyhooly.     He  died  in  1779. 
1779.  June  7.  Honoubable  Robert  Moobe,  a.m.,  V.  Kilworth,  other- 
wise Killard,  the  union  or  united  parish  of  Macrony,  consisting  of 
the  Vs.  Macroney,  Leitrim,  and  Kilcrumper  [F.P.],  per  mortem 
Dowding.     [D.R.] 

1785.  Protestant  population,  60. 

1788.  The  parish  register  begins. 
1805.  Thirty-eix  Protestant  families  in  Kilworth.     [Abp.  Bred.] 

The  Hon.  R.  Moore  has  cure  of  souls.  Resides  near  his 
parish  in  general,  but  is  now  absent  in  Italy,  where  he  went 
for  the  health  of  his  daugliter,  but  is  daily  expected  to  return 
by  order  of  his  Metropolitan.  The  duty  is  performed  by  the 
Curate,  Rev.  John  Lodge ;  salary,  £75.  All  the  parishef  are 
too  poor  to  maintain  a  Minister  in  comfort  if  separated.  [Re- 
port of  1806.] 

Robert  Moore  (fourth  son  of  Stephen  Moore,  of  Kilworth, 
who  was  created,  in  1764,  Babon  Kilwobth,  and  id  176(5, 
Viscount  Mountcabhel),  was,  from  1779  to  his  death  in  1817, 
V.  Kilworth. 

He  married  in  January,  1774,  Isabella,  only  dan.  of  Richard 

Odell,  esq.,  and  by  her  left  issue  three  daughters,  Mary,  wife  of 

her  consin,  William  Moore,  of  Saperton  ;  Harriet,  and  Louisa. 

1817.  August  7.  Thomas  Nbwbnham,  a.b..  Vicar  of  Kilworth  Union, 

vacant  per  mortem  Moore.     [D.R.] 

1834.  Protestant  population  of  Kilworth,  188;  of  Kil- 
crumper, 35;  of  Macrony,  23;  of  Leitrim,  11.  Total  Pro- 
testant population,  257. 

1837.  Kilworth  union  :  9  miles  long  by  6^  Vroad,  with  cure, 

VOL.  II.  u  2 


292  KILWORTH.  [clothe. 

consisting  of : — 1.  Eilworth  -vicarage,  4  miles  long  by  2^  broad. 
2.  Kilcramper  vicarage,  3  miles  long  by  2  broad.  3.  Macronej 
vicarage,  5^  miles  long  by  3  broad.  4.  Leitrim  vicarage,  5 
miles  long  by  3  broad.  The  union  contains  24,665a.  2r.  Qross 
'  population,  9,264.  One  Curate  employed,  at  an  annual  stipend  of 
£75  Brit.  Composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of  Kilworth  parish, 
£170 ;  of  Kilcruniper  parish,  .£220.  44  acres  of  glebe  in 
said  parish,  valued  at  32«.  per  acre,  £70  8s.  Composition  for  the 
vicarial  tithes  of  Macroney  parish,  £230;  of  Leitrim  parish,£230. 
Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £2  5s.;  glebe  rent,  £13  16^.  lid.  ; 
diocesan  schoolmaster,  £3.  The  glebe>house,  situate  in  Kil- 
cruniper parish,  built  under  the  new  Acts,  in  1821,  at  a  cost  of 
£1,984  14«.  5id.  Brit.,  whereof  £1,200  was  granted  in  way 
of  loan,  and  £92  6s.  1 1</.  in  that  of  gift,  by  the  late  Board  of 
First  Fruits;  and  the  residue  of  £692  8s.  3f'/.  was  supplied 
out  of  the  private  funds  of  Incumbent,  who  will  be  entitled 
to  receive  from  his  successor  £5 1 9  6s,  2^d.  on  account  of  the 
sum  last  named.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid  there  remained  £816 
chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832,  repayable  by  annual  instal- 
ments of  £48.  Incumbent  resides  in  the  glebe-house.  One 
church,  situate  in  Kilworth  parish,  capable  of  accommodating 
230  persons,  but  when,  or  at  what  cost,  built,  or  from  what 
funds  supplied,  cannot  be  ascertained.  No  charge  on  the 
union  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine  service  is 
celebrated  twice  on  Sundays  in  summer,  and  once  in  winter, 
and  on  the  principal  festivals.  The  8:icrament  is  administered 
the  first  Sunday  in  each  month,  and  on  the  festivals.  The 
rectorial,  consisting  of  a  moiety  of  the  tithes  of  the  parishes 
forming  this  union,  are  impropriate  ;  those  of  Kilworth,  com- 
pounded for  £170,  belong  to  William  Charters,  esq.;  and  those 
of  Kilcrumper,  Macroney,  and  lieitrim,  the  first  compounded 
for  £220,  and  the  second  and  third  for  £230  each,  belong  to 
the  Norcott  family.     fParl.  Rep.] 

T.  Newenham  (son  of  Thomas  Newenham,  esq.,  the  brother 
of  William  Worth  Newenham,  esq.,  of  Coolmore),  was  ordained 
Deacon,  at  Cork,  on  6th  Dec.,  1807;  and  on  14th  January, 
J808,  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Carrigaline,  Cork;  and  on 
18th  Febmarv,  1812,  to  that  of  Spike  Island,  in  the  harbour  of 
Cork.     From '1817  to  his  death  in  1849,  he  was  V.  Kilworth. 

He  wrote,  for  Mason's  Statistical  Survey,  an  account  of  Car- 
rigaline parish. 

He  died  at  the  age  of  sixty-four  years  unmarried,  and  was 
buried  at  Kilworth,  on  4th  April,  1849.  He  succeeded,  before 
bis  death,  to  the  family  inheritance  of  Coolmore,  near  Carrig- 
aline, and  left  that  property  to  his  brother  Robert's  second  son, 
the  Rev.  Edward  Henry  Newenham,  who  married,  on  15th 
Nov.,  1849,  the  Lady  Helena  Moore,  daughter  of  the  Earl  of 

MOUHTGASHEL. 


CLOYNE.]  KILWORTH.  293 

1849.  April  27.  Francis  Tempest  Brady,  a.m.,  V.  Kil worth  Union. 
[D.R.1 

1860.  The  church  in  repair.  The  gleho-honse  in  order.  34 
acres  of  glebe  in  Vicar's  use,  and  1 0  let  to  a  tenant.  Divine 
service  twice  on  Sundays  and  on  the  usual  holidays,  and 
occasionally  on  week  days.  Sacrament  monthly,  and  on  festi- 
Tals ;  average  of  communicants,  29.  16  children  attend  a 
school  maintained  by  an  endowment  of  £15  yearly  from  a 
bequest  of  the  Mountcashel  family,  and  by  Vicar,  and  Church, 
Education  Society.  Tlie  Protestant  population  is  200.  The 
rentcharge  is  £637  15a.  The  land  (44  acres)  is  worth  £70 
but  is  subject  to  a  rent  of  £13  IGs,  \\d.  Total  gross  value  is 
£693  18s.  Id. J  with  residence. 

F.  T.  Brady  (third  son  of  Francis  Tempest  Brady,  esq.,  of 
Willow  Park,  county  Dublin,  by  Charlotte,  dau.  of  William 
Hodgson,  esq.,  of  Whitehaven),  is  a  younger  brother  of  Maziere 
Brady,  Lord  Chancellor,  and  of  the  late  Sir  Nicholas 
William  Brady,  vide  Rev.  Nicholas  Brady,  P.  Kilnaglory,  Cork, 
page  185  of  vol.  i. 

He  was  bom  on  21st  March,  1808,  and  graduated  a.b.,  T.C.D., 
in  1829,  and  subsequently  a.m. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  18th  December,  1831  ;  and 
Priest,  on  29th  July,  1832,  both  at  Cork. 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Kilbrogan,  Cork,  on  2nd 
August,  1832,  and  in  1838  became  Curate  of  Kinneigh,  Cork. 

From  January  to  November,  1847,  he  was  R.  Eilmahon  ; 
from  1847  to  1849,  was  R.  Kilshannig  ;  and  from  1849  lo  1861, 
was  V.  Kilworth.  In  January,  1861,  he  became,  by  exchange, 
R.  St.  Mary's,  Clonmel,  in  Lismore  diocese,  and  soon  after  was 
also  appointed  Chancellor  of  Lismore  Cathedral. 

He  married  Frances,  dau.  of  John  Norman,  esq.,  of  Dublin ; 
and  by  her  (who  died  aged  thirty-eight,  at  Kilworth,  and  was 
buried  there  on  6th  June,  1854),  has  issue  surviving  two  sons, 
Horace  Newman,  born  12th  Aug.,  1843;  and  Francis-Tempest- 
Wilson,  born  20th  July,  1849.  He  has  also  four  daughters, 
Susanna-Frances;  Charlotte-Elisabeth,  who  was  married  on 
12th  March,  1863,  to  the  Rev.  Richard  J.  Thorpe,  Assistant 
Minister  of  St.  John's,  Monkstown  ;  Letitia,  and  Harriette. 
1861.  Feb.  2.  Charles  Seymour  Lanoley,  a.m.,  V.  Kilworth  Union. 


^n. 


Langley,  bom  in  Ballinasloe,  3rd  April,  1830,  was 
educated  at  the  school  of  Rev.  D.  Flynn,  Dublin.  He  obtained  in 
T.C.D.a  first  honor  in  Classics,  an  honor  in  Ethics  and  Logics, 
a  Divinity  Premium,  and  a  double  Moderatorship  in  Classics 
and  in  Logics.  He  graduated  a.b.  in  1854,  and  a.m.  in  1859. 
He  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  16th  July,  1854,  at  Gloucester, 
on  letters  dimissory  from  Limerick  ;  and  Priest,  on  15th  July, 
1855,  at  St.  Patrick*s,  by  the  Abp.  of  Dublin. 


S94  KILWORTH. — KNOCKMOURNE.  [CLOm. 

He  was  Carate  of  St.  MichaeFs,  Limerick,  in  1854 ;  of  Tanej, 
Dublin,  in  1855  ;  and  from  1856  to  1861,  was  Rector  of  St. 
Mary*6,  Clonmel,  Lismore. 

He  is  author  of  Sermons,  in  8vo.,  published  by  Hodges  and 
Smith,  Dublin,  1859.     He  is  married. 


KNOCKMOURNE. 


1291.  "Ecca  de  Cnokmorne  Cs.  unde  decima  Xs."    [Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1597.  Feb.  15.  Alexander  Sturt  is  presented  to  "perpet.  ricarias 
respective  Agharen  et  Cnockmourney.'*     [Lib.  Mun.] 

1615.  Robert  Potter  (R.  Bret  way,  q.  v.),  appears  as  Vicar. 
"  Cnockmomey  non  residens.  Rectoria  impropriata.  Thomas 
White,  Alderman'  Waterford,  est  firmarius.  Vicarius  ibm. 
Robert  Potter,  minister  et  predicator.  Val.  8  li.  per  an. 
Memorandum,  quod  Thomas  White,  ffirmarius  antedictus,  tene- 
tor  p*  recognitionem  coram  me  cancellario  rep&re  cancellam 
ante  ffestum  omnium  sanctorum  proximum."     [R.V.  R.LA.] 

1591.  John  Bride  appears  as  Vicar  of  Knock moume.  "  R.  de 
Cnockmorny  pertinet  ad  Coll'  Youghal.  Vicarius  ibm.  Job. 
Bride."  In  another  part  of  this  MS.  "Jho.  M*Bridie,  idem 
Vicar  de  Aghcaryn,  privatus  est."  In  another  part  again, 
Jacobus  M'Bride  appears  as  Vicar.    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1620.  January  13.  John  Eyeleioh,  a.m.,  adm'  V.  Knockmoine  et 
Derrivillane.     [P.F.]     In  1661  he  was  Dean  of  Ross,  q.  v. 

1634.  "R.  de  Knockmorney  Rex  est  Rector.  Comes  Cork 
Impropriator.  Val.  30  li.  per  an.  Vicarius  John  Eveleigh. 
Val.  30  li.  per  an."     [R.V.  1634.] 

1634.  Sept.  26.  Edward  Eyres,  V.  Knockmoume  et  Derrivillane. 
[F.F.] 

1640.  A  silver  chalice,  now  (1863),  in  Knockmoume  church, 
bears  this  legend — "  W.  H.  L.  F.  For  the  parish  of  Knock- 
moume, 1640." 

Edward  Eyres,  "of  the  parish  of  Durrus,"  was  ordained 
Deacon  on  30th  May,  1625,  and  Priest  on  25th  March  follow- 
ing, both  by  Richard,  Bishop  of  Cork. 

From  1630  to  1634  he  was  P.Timoleague,  Ross  ;  from  1633 
to  1634,  R.V.  Templeomalus,  Ross  ;  from  1634  to  1640,  V. 
Derrivillane ;  from  1634  to  16G0,  V.  Knockmoume;  and  from 
1663  to  1666,  R.  Bretway. 

In  1661  and  1662  he  is  marked  cegrotat  in  the  visitation 
books,  but  appears  in  1665.     He  died  in  1666. 

1666.  July  2.  Lancellot  Smyth,  Vic*  Knockmoume,  per  mortem 
Edwardi  Eyres.     [V.B.  1669.]     He  was  also  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 

1669  and  1670.  "Adhucvacat  per  mortem  L.  Smyth."  [V.B.  D.R.] 

1670.  April  20'  Francis  Beecher,  P.  Coole,  R.  Mogeely,  V.  Knock- 
moume and  Carrigdowoan.     [F.F.]     Vide  Coole. 


OLOTVB.]  KNOOKMOUBKB.  S95 

He  appears  as  V.  Knockmourne,  1671  to  1712.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1694.  V.  Knockmourne,  val.  20  pounds.  Mr.  Beecher,  In- 
cumbent. Epos  patronus.  The  church  of  Knockmourne  was 
burnt  by  the  Iribh  in  the  late  war.  Impropriator  of  Knock- 
mourne, Earl  of  Cork.  [Palliser.] 
1713.  August  5.  Thomas  Monok,  s.t.b.,  adm^  V.  Knockmourne, 
per  mortem  Beecher.  [D.R.]  In  1717  Monck  is  also  V. 
Olonmult,  q.  v. 
1717.  John  Humphreys  appears  as  V.  Knockmourne.    [V.B.  D.R.] 

He  was  also  Y.  Clonmult,  which  he  resigned  in  1717. 
1706.  April  3.  Stephen   Rolleston,  a.b.,  V.  Knockmourne,  per 
mortem  Johis  Humphreys,  and  V.  Ballynoe,  per  cessionem 
ejusdem  Rolleston.     [D.K.] 

In  1770  Rolleston  was  also  made  R.  Aghern  and  Ballynoe, 
q.  V.     He  died  in  1780. 

1762.  Rollstone  non-resident ;  yearly  income,  £120.    [Hay- 
'     man.] 

1774.  Knockmourne,  vie,  lies  partly  in  the  bar.  of  Kilnata- 
loone,  and  partly  in  that  of  Condon  and  Clangibbon,  value  £80 
per  ann.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.,  the  Bishop.  Glebe,  3a. 
Ob.  IOp.,  Eng.  Proxy,  4a.  Taxed  in  the  King's  books,  XI  10«. 
ster.  Incunib.,  Stephen  Rolleston,  a.b.  The  rect.  is  impro- 
priate, and  belongs  to  the  Corporation  of  Waterford.  Proxy, 
4«.  [Kingston.] 
1780.  April  24.  Walter  Giles,  V.  Knockmourne  and  Ballynoe 
[F.F.],  per  mortem  Rolleston.  [D.R.]  In  1788  Giles  was  R. 
Kilnemartery,  q.  v. 
1780.  July  27.  Thomas  Dayies,  a.m.,  V.  Knockmourne  and  Bally- 
noe [T.P.],  per  cess.  Giles.     [D.R.] 

1785.  Protestant  population  of  Knockmourne  and  Ballynoe, 
11.     [Davies.] 

T.  Davies  (second  eon  of  Rev.  Boyle  Davies,  P.  Lisclery, 
Cork,  q.  v.,  by  his  second  wife,  Mary  Tuckey),  was  bom  17th 
July,  1726,  and  entered  T.C.D.  on  31st  May,  1742,  and  gra- 
duated a.m.  in  1749. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon  on  23rd  June,  and  Priest  on  9th 
July,  1751,  both  at  Cloyne  ;  and  on  24th  June,  1751,  wms 
licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Glan worth,  <tc.  He  was,  from  1773 
to  1780,  V.  TuUilea^e ;  and  from  1780  to  his  death  on  9th 
Nov.,  1793,  V.  Knockmouru,  «fcc.  He  died  unmarried. 
1795.  Dec.  24.  Thomas  Spread  Campion,  a.m.,  V.  Knockmonme 
and  Ballynoe,  per  mort.  Davies.  [D.R.]  Mr.  Campion  re- 
signed V.  Knockmourne  in  1848,  but  retained  Ballynoe,  q.  v. 

1805.  Six  Protestant  families  in  Knockmourn  parish.  fAbp. 
Brod.] 

1814.  June  21.  It  is  ordered  by  the  Privy  Council  that  the 
site  of  the  parish  church  of  Knockmourn  be  changed.  [Lib.  Mun.] 

1815.  Knockmourn  new  chureh  was  oonsecrated.    [D.B.] 


296  KNOCKMOURNfi.  [cLOtTNfiw 

1830.  Protestant  population  of  Knockmourn,  86  ;  of  Ballj- 
noe,  48. 

1837.  Enocknionrne  union,  with  cure,  consisting  of: — 1. 
Enockmoume  vicarage,  4^  miles  long  by  2|  broad  ;  2.  Bally- 
noe  vicarage,  4  miles  long  by  2^  broad.  Tbe  union  contains 
13,880  acres.  Gross  population,  5,836.  One  Curate  employed,  at 
a  stipend  of  £75  per  annum,  who  resides  in  the  glebe-house,  with 
Incumbent.  From  composition  for  the  vicarial  tithes  of  Enock- 
moume parish,  £535  Qs.  i\d. ;  1a.  2b.  of  glebe  in  said  parish, 
valued  at  25^.  per  acre,  £1  17^.  6d,  Composition  for  the  vica- 
rial tithes  of  Ballynoe  parish,  £305  Is,  1  acre  of  glebe  in  said 
parish,  valued  at£l  5s,  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  £2  I2s.  6d,; 
diocesan  schoolmaster,  £1  lOs.  Enockmoume  glebe-house, 
built  in  1828,  under  the  new  Acts,  at  the  cost  of  £1,223  Is,  Sj^d,, 
British  ;  whereof  £830  15a.  4f  ^/.  was  granted  in  way  of  loan  ; 
and  £92  6*.  l^d.  in  that  of  gift,  by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits ; 
and  tbe  residue  of  £300  was  supplied  out  of  the  private  funds 
of  Incumbent,  who  will  be  entitled  to  receive  the  entire  of  the 
sum  last  mentioned  from  his  successor.  Of  the  loan  aforesaid, 
there  remained  £731  2«.  chargeable  on  the  benefice  in  1832, 
repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £33  4^.  Sd.  Incumbent 
and  his  Curate  are  constantly  resident  in  the  glebe-house.  One 
church,  situate  in  Enockmoume  parish,  capable  of  accommo- 
dating JOO  persons,  built  in  1815,  but  at  what  cost  unknown, 
further  than  that  £276  18^.  5\d,  was  granted  in  way  of  loan 
by  the  late  Board  of  First  Fruits,  for  that  purpose  ;  of  which 
loan  there  remained  £86  7s.  9d.  chargeable  on  the  union  in 
1832,  repayable  by  annual  instalments  of  £5  25.  6d.  Divine 
service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal 
festivals.  The  sacrament  is  administered  every  second  month, 
and  on  the  three  great  festivals.  The  rectorial,  consisting  of 
a  moiety  of  the  tithes  of  Enockmoume  parish,  compounded  for 
£535  6s.  4^ ,  are  impropriate,  and  belong  to  the  Corporation  of 
Waterford ;  and  those  of  Ballynoe  parish,  consisting  of  two- 
thirds  of  the  tithes,  are  appropriate,  and  received  by  an  eccle- 
siastical Incumbent.  [Pari.  Rep.] 
1848.  January  17.  Robert  Deane  Campion,  a.b.,  V.  Enockmoume. 
[F.F.] 

1860.  A  vestry  lately  added  to  the  church.  Glebe-house  in 
order.  21 J  acres  of  glebe  in  Vicar's  use.  Divine  service  once 
on  all  Sundays  and  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly ; 
average  of  communicants,  13;  and  at  festivals;  average,  18. 
Five  children  attend  a  school  maintained  by  Vicar.  The  Pro- 
testant population  is  69.  The  rentcharge  is  £401.  The  land 
is  worth  £23.     Total  value,  £424,  with  residence. 

R.  D.  Campion  (son  of  his  predecessor  in  this  living),  was 
ordained  Deacon  on  10th  April,  1825,  and  Priest  on  28th  Jan- 
uary, 1827,  both  at  Cloyne. 


CLOTNE.]  KNOCKTEMPLE. — KNOCKMOUBNE.  297 

He  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  EnockmoorDe  on  5th  July, 
1827. 

He  married,  in  1847,  Mary  Charlotte  Nason,  and  has  issoe 
one  son,  Thomas  Spread  Campion. 


KNOCKTEMPLE. 


1591.  "  E.  de  Mowlowny— vacat  Rectoria  et  vicaria."  [MS.  T.C.D. 
E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  July  5.  John  Temple  is  adm.  Chancellor  of  Cloyne  cui  can- 
cellariatui  Epus  univit  et  annexit  V.  de  Liscarroll,  Enocktem* 
ple,  als.  Molowny,  Ballyclogh,  and  Dromdowney.  Union  con- 
firmed by  Dean  and  Chapter,  6th  May,  1617.  [R.V.  1634.] 
Vide  the  Chancellors  for  Temple. 

1615.  V.  Enocktemple,  valet  3  li.  per  an.  Ecclesia  ruinosa 
cancelia  in  ruioa.     John  Temple,  Vicarius.     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

1627.  Feb.  1.  Edward  Perrt,  P.  Eillenemer  and  R.  Enocktemple. 
[MSB.  Consist.  Dub.]      Vide  Eillinemer. 

1634.  ''E.  de  Molowny  als.  Enocktemple  spectat  ad  Pre- 
centor.    V.  John  Temple,  vaL  IX li.  per  an."     [R.V.  1634] 

1634.  Dec.  19.  Jambs  Bruce  is  presented  to  V.  Enocktemple,  Lis- 
carroll,  and  Aghem.  [Lib.  Mun.]  In  1637  Bruce  became 
P.  Inskenny,  and  in  1662  R.  Dungourncy,  q.  v. 

1637.  Sept.  18.  George  Ellis,  V.  Enocktemple  and  LiscarroU. 
[P.  F.] 

1640.  March  10.  Bartuolemew  Allebton,  V.  Enocktemple  and 
LiscarroU.     [F.F.] 

1661.  Vacant.     [V.B.  D.R.] 

1662.  Mr.  Booth  appears  as  V.  of  Enocktemple;  and  on  24th 
Sept.,  1663,  he  was  admitted  R.  Enocktemple,  V.  Clonfert,  and 
V.  Tullalease.     [P.P.]     Vide  Clonfert. 

From  1663  to  1708  Enocktemple  was  held  with  Clonfert, 
q.  V. 
1708/9.  January   21.  William   Hadlock,  a.m.,   R   Enocktemple 
[F.F.],  vacant,  per  cess,  of  Northcote.     [D.R.] 

W.  Hadlock  was  R.  Enocktemple  in  1708,  V.  Carrigamleary 
and  Rahan  in  1714,  and  R.V.  Ardskeagh  in  1715,  ail  which 
livings  he  held  until  his  death  in  1719. 

Roger  Hadlock,  son  of  Rev.  Mr.  Hadlock,  was  baptized  at 
St.  Mary's,  Shandon,  on  10th  Dec.,  1719.  Roger  entered 
T.C.D.  in  1737.  Another  William  Hadlock  was  P.  Clondagad, 
Eillaloe,  from  1720  to  1763,  when  he  died,  and  was  succeeded 
in  that  prebend  by  Roger  Hadlock,  who  died  in  1801.  A  third 
William  Hadlock  was  R.  Eildysert,  Eillaloe,  from  1801  to  hia 
death  in  1834. 
1719/20.  January  13.  Nioholas  QuattboD;  R.  Knocktemplei  V, 


298  KNOCKTEMPLE.  [CLOTHS. 

Carrigamleaiy  and  Bahan.     [D.R.]    Id  1730  be  became  Ohan- 
cellor  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1728/9.  March  16.  Charles  Bunworth,  a.m.,  is  admitted  to  R. 
KnocktemplO;  and  Curacy  of  Kilbolane  [D.R.],  per  cessionem 
Quay  trod.     [D.R.1     Bun  worth  was  P.  Cooline  in  1736.     In 
1740  he  resigned  Knocktemple  for  Bregoge,  q.  v. 
1740.  Oct.  24.  Jeremiah  Kino,  a.m.,  R.  Enocktemple,  P.O.  Kilbo- 
lane, and  Preb.  Cooline,  both  vacant  per  cessionem  Bunworth. 
rp.R.]     On  same  day  he  was  also  admitted  V.  Liscarroll.    Mr. 
king  resigned  Knocktemple  in  1764,  retaining  his  Prebend  of 
Cooline,  q.  v. 
1764.  August  2.  William  King,  a.m.,  per  cessionem  Jeremiah 
King,  R.  Knocktemple,  et  P.  C.  Kilbolane.     [D.R.]     He  took 
a  second  collation  on  2nd  March,  and  in  1779  was  R  Mallow, 
q.  V. 

1774.  Knocktemple,  als.  Mullowny,  rect.,  in  the  bar.  of 
Duhallow ;  value,  £50  per  ann.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.,  the 
Bp.     Proxy,  2«.     Incumb.,  William  King,  a.m.     [Kingston.] 

1774.  Kilbolane,  a  perpetual  curacy,  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery 
and  Kilmore;  value,  £6  13^.  4c/.  Church  in  repair.  Pat.,  the 
Bishop.  Curate,  William  King,  a.m.  The  rect.  is  improp. ; 
the  Earl  of  Cork,  Imp.  It  was  formerly  a  rect.  and  vie,  and 
taxed  in  the  King's  books,  £2  lOs.  ster.  [Hingston.] 
1794.  Feb.  28.  Henrt  Major,  R.  Knocktemple  and  P.  C.  Kilbolane 
[P.F.],  per  cessionem  William  King. 

Mr.  Major  was,  in  1801,  Y.  Kilbarron,  Raphoe,  and  after- 
wards was  R  Killereran,  Tuam;  and  died  circa  1820. 

He  was  author  of  an  account  of  Kilbarron  parish  in  Mason's 
"Parochial  Survey;"  and  was  a  member  of  the  Geological 
Society,  London. 
1799.  May  22.  Thomas  Kino,  R.  Knocktemple,  and  P.  C.  Kilbo- 
lane [F.F.],  vacant,  per  resignation  of  Major.     [D.R.] 

1834.  Protestant  population  of  Knocktemple,  9 ;  of  Kilbo- 
lane, 95. 

1837.  Knocktemple  union,  5  miles  long  by  2^  broad,  with 
cure,  consisting  of : — 1.  Knocktemple  rectory,  2  miles  long  by 
1-^  broad  ;  2.  Kilbolane  imp.  cure,  3  miles  long  by  2  broad. 
The  union  contains  14,940a.  2r.  36p.  Gross  population,  5,815. 
One  Curate  employed  at  a  stipend,  the  amount  of  which  is  not 
stated.  Tithe  composition  of  Knocktemple  parish,  £250. 
Stipend  payable  by  Impropriator  out  of  Kilbolane  parish, 
£6  3$  Id,  Subject  to  visitation  fees,  lis,  Od, ;  diocesan  school- 
master, 10s.  No  glebe-house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident, 
by  permission.  One  church,  or  chapel  of  ease,  situate  in  Kil- 
bolane parish,  capable  of  accommodating  100  persons ;  rebuilt 
in  1834,  at  the  cost  of  £300,  provided  by  the  parish.  No 
charge  on  the  union  in  1832  on  account  of  the  church.  Divine 
service  is  celebrated  once  on  Sundays,  and  on  the  principal 


CLOTVX.]  KNOCKTEMPLE. — ^LACKEEN.  299 

festivalB.  The  sacrament  is  administered  four  times  in  the 
year.  The  tithes  of  Kilbolaue  parish,  compounded  for  £550, 
are  wholly  impropriate,  and  belong  to  the  Earl  of  Cork.  The 
Bp.  collates  to  Knocktcmple.  The  Earl  of  Cork  nominates  to 
the  impropriate  cure.     [Pari.  Rep.] 

T.  King  died  on  27th  February,  1840.  He  left  issue  b^  his 
wife,  Elisabeth  Eerwan,  who  was  buried  at  Kilbolaue,  inter 
alios,  four  sons — Thomas-Kerwan  King,  m.d.,  of  London  ; 
Charles-Hamilton,  Robert,  and  Quinton. 
1840.  April  10.  A^^illiam  Rogers,  R.  Knocktemple  and  P.  C.  Kil- 
bolane,  vacant  per  mortem  King.  [D.R.]  In  1847  Rogers 
became  R.  V.  Kilmahon,  q.  v. 
1847.  Dec.  29.  Robert  Bastable,  R.  Knocktemple  and  P.  C.  Kil- 
bolane.     [D.R.] 

1853.  A  faculty  was  granted  for  repairing  the  church  of 
Knocktemple  and  Kilbolane.     [D.R.] 

1860.  The  church  in  order.  No  glebe-house.  No  glebe. 
Incumbent  resides  in  an  adjoining  parish.  Divine  service 
twice  on  all  Sundays  during  summer,  once  during  winter,  and 
on  the  usual  holidays.  Sacrament  monthly,  and  at  festivals ; 
average  of  communicants,  17.  No  school.  The  Protestant 
population  is  64.     The  rentcharge  is  £187  10«. 

Robert  Bastable  (son  of  Charles  Bastable,  esq.,  of  Kanturk, 
by  Dorothy,  dau.  of  Robert  Swayne,  esq.,  of  Banteer,  co.  Cork, 
J.P.),  was  ordained  Priest  at  Cloyne  on  11th  January,  1835; 
and  on  25th  Nov.,  1836,  was  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Bally- 
vourney. 

He  married  a  dau.  of  Doctor  Little,  of  Sligo,  and  has  issue. 


LACKEEN. 

1691.  David  Tyert,  P.  Lackeen,  R.  Bretway,  V.  Kilcurfin.  [MS. 
T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.]     Tirry  was  also  P.  Cahirlag,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1615.  '^  Lackeen  Preoenda.  George  Bradford.  Valor,  6s.  Sd. 
Neq'  ecclesia,  neq*  cancella,  neq'  domus  in  p'rochia."  [R.V. 
R.LA.] 

16 — 9  January  28.  Richard  Williams  was  instituted  to  P.  Lac- 
keen between  1621  and  1634,  on  the  28th  of  January,  but  the 
year  is  not  mentioned.  He  was  ordained  in  March,  1620.  He 
appears  in  1634  as  P.  Lackin.  Val.,  15  li.  per  an.  [&.V. 
1634.] 

1661  to  1674.  This  prebend  is  marked  vacant  by  reason  of  its 
poverty.  In  the  V.  B.  of  1669  it  is  thus  noticed,  '' Preb. 
Ecclioi  parochlis.  de  Lackyn  vacat;  nuUius  valoris;  valet 
tantum  decern  solidorum  p'  annum.*'     [V.B.  D.R.] 

From  1674  to  1682  the  entries  in  the  visitation  books  for 
Laekeen  are  '*  vacat  pauper/* 


300  tACKEfiN.  [CLOTNK. 

1675.  May  27.  Mr.  Thbodobe  Yeast,  Preb'  of  LackeeD,  toolc  the 
chapter  oaths.  [C.B.J  Vesey  was  also,  in  1676,  P.  Kilna- 
glory,  q.  v. 

1683.  May  8.  John  Burdett,  a.m.,  was  appointed  Seques- 
trator of  the  prebend  of  Lackeen.  [D.R.]  In  1684  he  appears 
in  the  visitation  book  as  Prebendary,  but  was  never  admitted. 
He  was  R.  V.  Ardskeagh,  q.  v. 

1693/4.  February  28.  Edward  Synob,  a.m.,  Preb.  of  Lackeen. 
[D.R.]     He  was  also  P.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork,  q.  v. 

1694.  P.  Lackeen,  val.  20  shillings.  Mr.  Edward  Synge, 
Incumbent.     [Palliser.] 

E.  Synge,  in  1695,  was  auditor  of  chapter  accounts;  and 
on  Sept.  4,  1695,  Dr.  E.  Synge  (with  Dr.  Rowland  Davies, 
Preb'  of  Inniscarra,  and  Vic-Gen.,  and  Dr.  Francis  Quayle, 
Commissioners  for  St.  George,  Ld.  Bp.  of  Cloyne),  held  his 
Lordship^s  primary  visitation  at  Cloyne  Cathedral.     [C.B.] 

1702.  August  15.  Henry  Maule,  a.m.,  P.  Lackeen  [F.F.],  per 
cessionem  Synge  [D.R.],  and  on  same  day  R.  Mallow,  Moume- 
abbey,  and  Templeroan.  Maule  took  the  chapter  oath  on  20th 
May,  1703,  and  was  elected  Sub-Dean  of  Cloyne  Cathedral,  on 
2l8t  May,  1719.  [C.B]  In  1706  Maule  became  also  R.  V. 
St  Mary,  Shandon,  and  in  1719  he  was  made  Dean  of  Cloyne, 
q.  v. 

1719.  November  24.  Cornelius  Pyne,  a.m.,  P.  Lackeen,  per  ces- 
sionem Maule.  [D.R.]  Ho  did  not  take  the  chapter  oath 
until  3rd  March,  1720/1.  [C.B.]  He  became,  in  1721,  P. 
Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 

1722.  August  27.  Thomas  Hall,  a.m.,  P.  Lackeen,  per  cess'  Pyne. 

[D.R.]     On  16th  November,  1722,  he  took  the  chapter  oath. 
O.B.]     On  6th  Nov.,  1730,  Hall  became  P.  Subulter,  q.  v. 
1731.  June  10.  Peter  Bunworth,  a.m.,  P.  Lackeen,  took  the  chapter 
oath.     [C.B.] 

Peter  Bunworth  was  the  eldest  son  of  Richard  Bunworth, 
esq.,  of  Newmarket,  who  married  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  John 
Philpot,  of  Newmarket,  and  by  her  had  isauc,  besides  Peter, 
two  other  sons,  Charles,  V.  Brcgoge,  q.  v. ;  and  Richard,  who 
died  unmarried.     He  had  also  two  daughters,  Elisabeth,  wife 

of  William  Aid  worth,  esq.,  second  son  of Aid  worth,  esq., 

of  Newmarket  House ;  and  Ruth,  wife  of  John  Beere,  esq.,  of 
Gurteen,  county  Cork. 

Peter  Bunworth  was  bom  at  Newmarket  in  1699,  and  when 
fifteen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.,  on  11th  March,  1714,  and 
obtained  a  Scholarship  in  1717,  and  afterwards  graduated  a.m. 

He  was,  from  1726  to  1735,  R.  V.  Carrigdownane  ;  and  from 
1735  to  1752,  V.  Clonfert.  He  was  also,  from  1730,  August, 
to  1730,  November,  R.  Bohillane  ;  from  1730,  Nov.,  to  1735, 
y.  Kilbrin ;  and  from  1731  to  1752,  P.  Lackeen.  He  was  also, 
on  6th  Oct.,  1733,  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Templemologgi ; 


CLOTNE.]  LACKEEN  301 

and  on  18th  June,  1742,  was  appointed  Curate  of  Kilroe  and 
Eilcorcoran. 

The  Rev.  Peter  Bun  worth  married  Grace,  dau.  of  Philip 
Cradock,  esq.,  of  Redcross,  county  Wicklow,  by  Jane  Maule, 
sister  to  Henry  Maule,  Bp.  of  Gloyne.  By  her  he  had  issue 
two  sons,  Richard  and  Peter ;  and  two  daughters,  the  eldest  of 
whom,  Jane,  was  wife  of  William  Purcell,  esq.,  of  Park,  co.  Cork. 

Richard,  the  son  of  Rev.  Peter  Bun  worth,  entered  T.C.D. 
when  seventeen  years  old,  on  15th  March,  1745  ;  and  in  De- 
cember, 1760,  was  licensed  to  be  Curate  of  Clunfert ;  and  on 
22nd  December,  1762,  \ias  licensed  to  the  curacy  of  Bruhenny. 
He  married,  it  is  supposed,  in  1765,  Miss  Penelope  Foot,  of 
Newmarket. 

Peter,  the  other  son,  was  an  attorney,  and  by  his  wife, 
Harriet  Webb,  of  Newmarket,  had,  inter  alios,  Brevet-Major 
Richard  Bunworth,  of  the  88th  Regt. ;  and  Lieut.  Peter  Bun- 
worth,  of  the  53rd  Regt. 
1752/3.  February  27.  Edwabd  Kippax,  a.m.,  Preb.  Lackeen,  and 
Vic.  Clonfert  [F.P.],  vacant  by  death  of  Bunworth.     [D.R.] 

On  June  21,  1753,  he  took  the  chapter  oath,  and  in  1756 
was  elected  (Economus  of  Cloyne.     [C.B.] 

In  1745  Kippax  appears  as  member  of  the  Mo3ralIow  Loyal 
Iribh  Protestant  Society.     [MS.  penes  R.  Cole  Bowen,  esq.J 

Edwaid  Kippax,  son  of  Rev.  John  Kippax,  was  bom  in 
England,  and  entered  T.C.D.  on  12th  June,  1734,  being  then 
seventeen  years  old,  and  obtained  Scholarship  in  1739. 

He  was,  from  1752  to  his  death  in  1759,  P.  Lackeen,  and  V. 
Clonfert. 

He  married  Elisabeth,  dau.  of  Ralph  Berkeley,  of  Scarteen, 
(brother  of  Bishop  Berkeley),  by  Anne  Hobson,  and  had  issue 
two  sons,  George  and  Charles ;  and  two  daughters,  Anne  and 
Mary.  His  son  Charles  is,  no  doubt,  the  same  person  who  is 
called  Charles  Berkeley  Kippax,  and  who  corresponded  with 
Lord  Cornwallis  in  1798.  He  was  clerk  in  the  Chief  Secretary's 
Office,  Dublin  Castle.  Vide  Lord  Cornwallis*  Correspondence, 
vol.  iii.,  page  10. 
1759.  May  19.  Nathaniel  Boyse,  a.m.,  P.  Lackeen,  and  V.  Clonfert. 
[F.F.]     He  took  the  chapter  oath  on  21st  June,  1759.     [C.B.] 

1762.  B<)yse,  Prebendary  Newmarket,  <fec.;  yearly  income, 
£180.     [Hayman.] 

1764.  "Mr.  Mockler  was  sworn  in  Prebendary  of  Lackeen 
on  a  false  report  of  the  death  of  Boyce,  who  lived  twenty-seyen 
years  afterwards,  thus  surviving  Mockler,  the  Bishop,  and 
almost  every  member  of  the  chapter."     [Bennet  MSS.] 

1774.  Lackeen,  in  the  bar.  of  Orrery  and  Kilmore;  value, 
£10  per  an.  Church  in  ruins.  Pat.  the  Bp.  No  proxy.  Taxed 
in  the  King's  books,  10s.  Inc.,  Nathaniel  Boyce,  ab.  FHingston.] 

The  Reverend  Nathaniel  Boyse  was  descended  from  Nath- 


909  LAcmssv.  [cs/ynt, 

aniel  Boyse,  of  Dablin,  who  pnroliased  lands  in  the  county 
Wexford  under  the  Act  of  Settlement  in  1703,  and  left  issue 
by  his  wife,  Magdalen,  inter  alios,  a  son  and  heir,  Nathaniel, 
who  married  Frances,  dau.  and  co-heir  of  Samuel  Helsham,  esq., 
by  Frances,  a  dau.  and  co-heir  of  Colonel  Humphrey  Hind. 
Tliis  Nathaniel  Boyselast  named  died  in  1714,  leaving,  besides 
an  eldest  son  Samuel  (who  by  his  wife,  Anne,  dau.  of  Thomas 
Cooke,  had  issue  a  son  Thomas,  ancestor  of  the  Boyse  family, 
of  Bannow,  county  Wexford),  a  second  son,  Nathaniel,  of 
Dublin,  who  had  by  his  wife,  Elisabeth  (dau.  of  Richard  Rowe, 
and  sister  and  co-heir  of  Richard  Rowe,  of  Ballyharty,  county 
Wexford),  two  sons,  Richard  Boyse,  of  Graigue,  county  Wex- 
ford, and  Nathaniel  Boyse,  P.  Lackeen. 

Nathaniel  was  born  in  Dublin,  and  when  seventeen  years 
old,  entered  T.C.D.,  on  26th  January,  1743,  and  obtained 
Scholarship  in  1746.  He  graduated  A.B.  in  1747,  and  a.m.  in 
1755. 

He  was  ordained  Priest  on  12th  August,  1753,  at  Cork,  on 
letters  dimissory  from  Cloyne. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon,  atCloyne,  on  1st  July,  1753  ;  and 
Priest,  on  12th  August,  same  year,  at  St.  Nicholas,  Cork,  by 
the  Bp.  of  Cork,  on  letters  dimissory  from  Cloyne. 

He  was,  from  1755  to  1759,  R.  V.  Carrigrohanebeg ;  and 
from  1759  to  his  death  on  3l8t  May,  1792,  P.  Lackeen,  and  V. 
Gonfert. 

Mr.  Boyse  was  a  learned  and  charitable  man.  He  was  the 
benefactor  and  friend  of  John  Philpot  Currau,  who  owed  to 
Boyse  his  education  when  a  boy,  and  was  in  afterlife  fond  of 
acknowledging  his  obligations  to  this  worthy  clergyman.  [  Vide 
"  The  Speeches  of  J.  P.  Curran,  by  Thomas  Davis,  esq."  Duffy, 
Dublin,  1859  ;  and  "Memoirs  of  Curran,  by  William  O'Regan." 
London,  James  Harper,  1817.] 
1792.  July  22.  Richard  Woodward,  P.  Lackeen,  and  V.  Clonfert, 
vacant  per  mortem  Boyse.  [D.R.]  From  1793,  Woodward 
held  V.  Ballyclogh  and  Castlemagner,  along  with  Lackeen  and 
Clonfert;  and  in  1798  he  was  made  P.  Inniscarra;  and  in  1799 
became  P.  Qlan worth,  q.  v. 
1798.  August  29.  Robert  Austen,  junr.,  a.b.,  P.  Lackeen  [F.F.], 
and  on  30th  August,  same  year,  R.  V.  Eilcoleman  als.  Ma- 
gourney.  [D.R.]  He  was  also  R.  Kilnemartery.  In  1810 
he  was  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v. 
1801.  July  30.  Richard  Townsend,  a.b.,  P.  Lackeen,  and  R.  and 
V.  Eilcoleman.     [F.F.] 

1805.  One  Protestant  family  in  Lackeen  parish.  [Abp.  Brod.] 

Richard  Townsend  (fourth  son  of  Rev.  B.  S.  Townsend,  V. 
Clonmeen,  q.  v.)  was  born  1774,  and  was  ordained  Deacon,  at 
Qoyne,  on  13th  Nov.,  1796  ;  and  Priest,  at  Cork,  on  25th 
July,  1797. 


eiOTinE.]  LACKEEK.  308 

He  was,  from  1799  to  1801,  P.  Killenemer,  and  R.  V.  Bally- 
Youmey  ;  and  from  1801  to  his  death  on  6th  March,  1808,  P. 
Lackeen,  and  R.  Magourney. 

He  married  Henrietta- Murray,  dau.  of  John  Hume,  Dean  of 
Derry,  and  hy  her  (who  died  at  Bath,  on  29th  January,  1851, 
aged  seventy-two  years)  had  issue,  inter  alias,  an  only  sur- 
viving son,  Edward  Hume  Townsend,  of  the  Bombay  Civil 
Service,  who  married,  on  12th  March,  1831,  Susan,  dan.  of  Rev. 
Horatio  Townsend,  R.  Carrigaline,  Cork,  and  has  issue  five  sons 
and  five  daughters.  £.  H.  Townsend  is  now  seated  at  Ouilna- 
connorra,  between  Clonakilty  and  Dunmanway. 

The  Rev.  R.  Townsend,  P.  Lackeen,  was  buried  at  Christ- 
church,  Cork,  on  17th  March,  1808. 
1808.  June  27.  William  Butler,  P.  Lackeen,  vacant  per  mortem 
Townsend.  [D.R.]  In  1809  this  prebend  was  certified  to  the 
Board  of  First  Fruits  as  worth  £20  per  an.  [D.R.]  In  1816 
Butler  was  P.  Ballyhooly,  q.  v. 
1816.  Sept  21.  William  Hales  Hinoston,  P.  Lackeen.  [F.F.]  In 

1819  he  became  P.  Coole,  q.  v. 
1819.    Feb.  19.   Benjamin  Burton  Johnson,   a.m.,  P.  Lackeen. 
[F.F.] 

1834.  Protestant  population,  20. 

1837.  Lackeen  :  a  rectory,  with  cure  ;  gross  population,  89. 
No  Curate  employed.  Tithe  composition,  £31.  No  glebe* 
house.  Incumbent  is  non-resident ;  he  resides  on  his  other 
benefice,  in  this  diocese.  No  church.  The  benefice  is  a  rectory. 
[Pari.  Rep.] 

B.  B.  Johnson  (a  nephew  (?)  of  Bishop  Bennet),  was  appointed 
Registrar  of  Cloyne  on  7th  July,  1814,  which  post  he  resigned 
in  1818,  when  he  was  re-appointed  Joint-Registrar  in  con- 
junction with  J.  R.  Wilkinson,  esq. 

He  was  ordained  Deacon,  on  14th  Sept.,  1817;  and  Priest, 
on  13th  Sept.,  1818,  both  at  Cloyne. 

From  1819  to  1847  he  was  P.  Lackeen,  V.  Clonmeen,  and 
Roskeen. 

He  married,  in  1820,  Miss  M.  A.  Thornhill,  of  Castlekevin. 
He  died  on  25th  May,  1847. 

The  appointment  to  this  prebend  was  suspended  by  an  order 
in  Council  of  June  29,  1847. 

Elected. 

1847.  August  26.  John  Pine  Lawless  Pyne,  (R  Inch,  q.  v.),  was 
elected  by  the  Chapter  as  Honorary  P.  Lackeen. 

1860.  Protestant  population  of  lackeen,  7.  No  church.  The 
benefice  is  suspended.  The  Curate  of  Bruhenny,  Mr.  Stevenson, 
has  charge  of  the  occasional  duties. 


304  LIETBIM. — ^USCABROLL.  [CLOTMB. 


LIETRIM. 

1291.  "  Capella  de  Lectrum  Vmr.  unde  decia  di  mrc."    [Tax.  P.  Nic] 

1591.  **  R.  de  lietrim  pr.  gnmae  (i.e.,  Prendergbasse).    Vicaria  ibm. 
locus  desertus  et  vastus."     [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
Prendergrasse  was  also  R.  Kilcruniper  and  Macroney. 

1615.  William  Dobnbt  appears  as  Vicar.  "Lietrim.  Reci  im- 
propriat.  Patrick  Peppard,  ffimiar.  Vicarius,  William  Domey, 
minister  legens,  inserviens  cune.  VaL,  50«.  p*  an.  Ecclesia 
et  cancella  bene  repantur  cum  libris.'*     [R.y.  R.I.A.] 

W.  Domey  was,  in  1G15,  V.  Clondulane  and  V.  Leitrim ;  he 
was,  from  1623  to  1632,  R.  Templeusque,  Cork.  He  died  in 
1632/3. 

1632/3.  April  2.  Murtagh  Agharen,  V.  Lietrim.     [R.V.  1634.] 

1634.  £.  de  Lytrim.  Prior  Classagh  est  Rector.  Yalet 
10  li.  per  an.     Wadding,  de  Dublin,  Impropriator. 

Vicarius,  Murtagh  Agharen.  Val.,  10  li.  per  an.  [R.V. 
1634.]     In  1637  Agharen  became  V.  Grenagh,  q.  v. 

1636.  August  8.  Ureax  Vigors,  V.  de  Leytrim.  [F.P.]  He  was 
also  V.  Macrony  and  Kilcrumper.  In  1637  be  became  V. 
Marsbalstown,  q.  v. 

1661  and  1662.  Thomas  Smyth  appears  as  V.  Leytrim.  [V.B.]  He 
was  P.  Cooline,  q.  v. 

1663.  September  29.  Dayid  Elliott  was  admitted  V.  Leitrim  and 
Macroney,  and  also  V.  Kilcrumper,  q.  v. 

1694.  R.  Leitrim,  impropriate.  Valor,  12  pounds.  Mr. 
Edward  Boyle,  Impropriator.  Nulla  Ecclia.  Vicaria,  valor 
6  pounds,  Mr.  D.  Elliott,  cursB  animarum  incumbit.  Dnus 
Epus  patronus.  R.  de  Macrony  impropriate,  valor  14  pounds, 
Ecclia  de  Macroney  bene  reparata.  Mr.  Edward  Boyle,  Im- 
propriator. Vicaria,  valor  7  pounds,  Mr.  Elliott  cura  animarum 
incumbit.     Dnus  Epus  patronus.     [Palliser.] 

For  further  notices  of  Lietrim,  vide  Kilcrumper  and  Kil  worth. 


LISOARROLL. 


1291.  "Ecca  de  Kylscarwyl  XXs.  unde  decia  lis."  [Tax.  P.  Nicl 
1591.  Patrick  Lombard  is  Vicar.  "  R.  de  Liscarroll  pertinet  ad 
Prior  Bothon.  Vicarius,  Patrick  Lombard,  laicus,  propter 
defectum  sacrorum  ordinum  ct  manifestam  contumaciam  depri- 
vatus,"  circiter  1591.  [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 
1615.  July  5.  John  Temple  is  instituted  Chancellor  of  Clo3me,  V. 
Liscarroll,  Knocktemple,  Ballyclogh,  and  Dromdowny.  [R.V. 
1634.] 

1615.  V.  Liscarroll,  val.  3  li.  per  an.     Ecclesia  et  cancella 
in  ruina.     [R.V.  1615.]     Vide  Clenore. 


CLOTHE.]  LISOABBOLL.  305 

In  1615  and  1634  Rectoria  impropriata.    Johes  Jephson, 

miles,  est  firmarius.     [R-V.  1615  and  1634.] 
1634.  Dec.  19.  Jamss  Bbuob  is  presented  to  V.  Tiiscarroll,  Knock- 
temple,  and  V.  Aghem.     [lab.  Mun.]    In  1662  he  became  B. 

Dungourney,  q.  v. 
1640.  Miurch  10.  Babtholemew  Allebtov,  V.  LiecarroU  and  V. 

Enocktemple.     [F.F.] 

1642.    Sept.  3.  The  battle  of  Liscarrol  was  fought  between 

the  Irish,  under  Qeneral  Barry,  and  the  English,  under  Lord 

Inohiqnin,  Lord  Einalmeaky  being  slain  at  the  beginning  of 

the  conflict,  which  ended  in  the  defeat  of  the  Irish. 
1661  and  1662.     Vacant.     [V.B.  D.R.] 
1667.  July  3.  Samuel  Alfobd,  V.  Liscarroll  and  Ballylougfay. 

rF.F.J    He  appears  1668  to  1670.    [V.B.  D.B.]    In  1663  he 

became  also  P.  Brigowne,  q.  y. 
1671.  May  13.  Thomas  Wilcox,  P.  Brigowne,  R.  Ei^ulane,  V. 

Marshalstown,  Liscarroll,  Bregoge,Kilbrowny,  and  Biulyloughy. 

[P.P.]     Vide  Brigowne.     Wilcox  died  in  1681-2. 
1682.  May  19.  Matthew  Jones,  P.  Cooline,  V.  Liscarroll  and  Bre- 

goge,  R.  BohiUane,  R  V.  Kilmaghan.     [P.P.]     In  1687  he 

was  P.  Dunoghmore,  q.  y. 
1684.  Nov.  14.  Jonathan  Palkneb,  A.H.,  V.  LiscarroUe  and  Bre- 

goge.     [P.P.] 
Palkner  was  P.  Cooline.     In  1688  he  became  also  Treasurer 

of  Cork,  q.  y.     He  resigned  Bregoge  in  1693. 

1694.    v.  Liscarroll,  val.  7  pounds.     Mr.  Palkner,  Vicar. 

Thomas  Ellis  cune  animarum  incnmbit    Epns  patronns*   Nulla 

ecclia  sed  cnra  animarum  unacum  Doneraile  curat*  commissa 

est.     [Palliser.] 
1699.  June  13.  Thomas  Ellis,  a.b.,  V.  Liscarroll  [P.P.],  per  resig- 
nation of  Palkner.     [D.R.]     Ellis  was  also  V.  Bregoge,  q.  y. 
1705.   Oct.  11.   Rebby  PiTZMAiTBiOE,  V.  Liscarroll  and  Bregoge. 

[P.P.]     He  was  also  R.  Bruhenny,  q.  y. 
1728.  Nov.  6.  John  Mubdoou,  a.m.,  V.  Liscarroll,  Eilbrowney,  and 

Bregoge,  q.  v. 
1740.  Oct.  24.  Jebbmiau  Kino  (vice  Murdoch,  deceased),  P.  Cooline, 

R.  Enocktemple,  P.  C.  Kilbolane,  and  V.  Liscarroll      [P.P.] 

Vide  Cooline. 
1774.  Liscarroll :  vie.  iu  the  bar  of  Orrery  and  Eilmore ; 

value,  £80  per  ann.    Church  in  ruins.    Patron,  the  Bp.    Proxy, 

2«.  Taxed  in  the  Eing's  books,  £5l0s,  ster.    Incumb.,  Jeremiah 

Eing,  A.M.    The  rect.  is  imp.   Mr.  Henry  Pearde,  Imp.   Proxy, 

2$.     [Hinjraton.] 

\7o5,  Protestant  population,  17.     [Eing.] 
1787.  Sept.  3.  Pbanois  Clement,  a.m.,  V.  Eilbrin  and  Liscarroll; 

and  on  August  30  P.  Cooline  [P.P.],  per  ceasionem  Eing. 

[D.R.]     Vide  Cooline. 
Prom  this  time  the  V.  Liscarroll  has  been  held  with  V.  Eil- 

brin,  q.  y. 
VOL.  n.  *  X 


306  LI8G00LD — PBfiCENTOBS.  [CLOTKE. 


LISaOOLD^PBBOBNIOBS. 

1252.  M.  is  the  signature  of  the  Precentor  to  a  deed.  [Oaulfield*s 
Pipe  Boll,  p.  54.1  In  1253,  Mauriob,  the  Precentor  of  Clojme^ 
is  raised  to  the  Bishopric  of  Ross.  [Ware.] 
1291.  William  pe  Yallb  was  Precentor.  His  prebendal  church 
was  Eilmacdonogh,  q.  y.  "  P'benda  Magri  Datid  O'Sulleyan 
Ecc&  de  Baljcarranych  Ilmr.  et  di  unde  decima  XLd.**— 
"  Capella  de  Ballycaranich  Ilmr.  decia  lis.  Vllld."— "  Capella 
de  Lvskul  XXVIIIs.  unde  decima  lis.  IXd.  ob."— "  Ecca  de 
Inthric  XXXs.  unde  decia  Ills."  [Tax.  P.  Nic] 
1449.  John  Bysk,  or  Bbit.     He  was  fined  for  misconduct  as  Proctor 

of  the  clergy.     [Rot  Pat.  28°  Hen.  VI.,  quoted  hy  Cotton.] 
1553.  John  fitz  philip  Babby,  Precentor  of  Cloyne,  signs  a  deed. 

[Sarsfield  MSS.] 
1591.  Alexandeb  Gough  appears  as  Precentor.     '' E  de  liscowell 
spectat  ad  Precentor,  et  Baliibeg.*^ — *'  E.  de  Ballicarany  spectat 
ad  Precentoriatum." — "  E.  de  Ymfrick  locus  vastatus,  vicaria 
vacat."    [MS.  T.C.D.  E.  3.  14.] 

1615.  Precentor  residens.  Alexander  Gough,  minister  legens, 
senex  setatis  octoginta  annorum.  Valor.  4  li.  tenet  etiam  Pre- 
bendam  de  Eilcredan,  val.  30s.     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

LiscoilL  Rectoria  impropriata.  Johes  Jephson,  miles,  ffirma- 
rius.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  ruina.  Val.  30  li.  Vicarius 
Alexander  Gough,  parvi  Yaloris.     [R.V.  1615.] 

Ballycarany.  Corpus  Precentoriatus.  Precentor  est  Vicar, 
ante  valuata.  Ecclesia  et  cancella  in  ruinis.  The  Precentor  is 
admonished  to  repair  the  chancel,  and  the  Bishop  is  to  compel 
the  parishioners  to  repair  the  church.     [R.V.  R.I.A.] 

Inffrick,  residens,  Rec.  Precentor  Clonens.  Vicarius,  Thomas 
Holford ;  (afterwards  Treasurer  of  Cloyne,  q.  v.)  Valor,  4  li. 
Ecclia  in  ruina,  cancella  ruinata.     [R.V.  1615.] 

Alexander  Gough,  although  eighty  years  old,  was,  in  1615, 
Precentor  of  Cloyne,  V.  Eilcredan,  and  Curate  of  Kilmacdo- 
nogh,  <&c.     He  was  in  1591  also  V.  Mogeely. 
1616.  April  23.  John  Hull,  Precentor.     [F.F.j 

J.  Hull,  or  Hall,  was,  from  1615  to  1625  (1)  V.  Ballintemple; 
from  1615  to  1627,  V.  Wallstown  and  Templeroan  ;  from  1615 

to ,  P.  St  Munchin's,  Limerick ;  from to  1627,  R.  V. 

Aglishdrinagh  ;  from  1616  to  1627,  Precentor  of  Cloyne  ;  and 
from  1617  to  1627,  R.  Shandon,  Cork.     He  died  in  1627. 
1627/8.  April  30.  Edwaed  By  am,  Precentor.    [F.F.] 

E.  de  Liscoel,  spectat  ad  Prior  Pontis.     Johes  Jephson,  miles, 
impropriator.     Vicaria  spectat  ad  Precentor.     [R.V.  1634.] 
E.  de  Ballycurrane,  spectat  ad  Precentor.     [R.V.  1634.1 
E.  de  Innricke  spect'  ad   Precentor'  Cloine.      Vic,  John 
Shenguine  (V.  Aglishdrinagh,  q.  v.) ;  val.  6  li.     [R.V.  1634.] 
Edward  Byam  (third  son  of  Rev.  Lawrence  Byam,  R.  Luck- 


CLOTHE*]  USGOOLD.  307 

ham  or  Luccorabe,  in  Somersetshire^  by  bis  wife  Anne,  or  Agnes, 
dan.  of  Henry  Yewings  or  Ewens,  of  Oapton,  in  the  parish  of 
Stognmber,  Taunton),  was  bom  in  1584,  and  when  sixteen 
years  old,  matriculated  at  Exeter  College,  Oxford,  on  dlstOct, 
1600,  and  in  1601  was  chosen  Demy,  at  Magdalen  College, 
whence  he  graduated  B.A.on  12th  June,  1603,  and  ]£.▲•  on  13th 
July,  1607. 

Having  resigned  his  Demyship  in  1610,  he  was  ordained 
Priest  by  William,  Bp.  of  Oxford,  on  1st  April,  1612. 

He  was,  from  1612  to  1625,  V.  Dulverton,  diocese  of  Bath 
and  Wells  ;  and  having  resigned  that  living  in  favour  of  his 
brother,  he  became,  in  1627,  Precentor  of  Clojme,  which  he  held 
until  his  death  in  1639.  He  was  also,  from  1628  to  16 — % 
V.  Litter ;  from  16—  1  to  1631,  V.  Ballygoumey ;  from  1632 
to  1639,  V.  Castlolyons;  from  1638  to  1639,  B.  Bretway;  and 
from  17th  April,  1639,  to  his  death  in  June,  1639,  P.  Oash- 
more,  Lismore. 

He  married,  on  22nd  July,  1613,  at  Walton,  Elisabeth  (dau. 
of  Rev.  Antony  Eaglesfield,  Rector  of  Walton-cnm-street,  Bath 
and  Wells,  and  Prebendary  of  Wells),  by  whom  he  had  issue 
six  sons  and  five  daughters. 

He  died  at  Kilwillan  (RiUavullan),  about  the  6th  Juno,  1639, 
and  was  buried  in  the  church  of  Castlelyons. 

His  relict,  Elisabeth,  suffered  in  the  rebellion  of  1641,  as 
appears  from  the  depositions  now  in  T.C.D.  Library,  from  the 
"  despoiled  and  impoverished  Protestants.'' 

His  eldest  son,  Lawrence,  was  a  "  Comet  of  Horse"  in  the 
garrison  at  Youehal  in  1644,  and  was  one  of ''  the  1649  officers," 
who  signed  the  ilcmonstrance  to  the  Duke  of  York. 

William,  the  second  son,  was  bom  at  Luccombe,  in  England, 
and  was  educated  at  Lismore.  He  entered  T.C.D.  as  a  Fellow 
Commoner,  on  24th  May,  1639,  being  then  eighteen  years  old, 
but  after  his  father's  death  entered  the  army.  He  was  a  Cap- 
tain of  Horse  at  the  siege  of  Bridgewater  in  1644,  and  in 
February  of  that  year  was  mentioned  as  having,  by  his  loyal 
conduct,  defeated  an  attempt  of  the  rebels  to  gain  over  the 
giirrison  by  bribery.  He  was  promoted  to  the  rank  of  major ; 
but  being  forced,  with  the  rest  of  the  gallant  defenders  of  that 
]>]aco,  to  surrender  himself  a  prisoner  of  war  in  1645,  he  with- 
drew to  Barbadoes,  with  other  unfortunate  adherents  of  the 
royal  cjiusc.  Major  William  Byam,  at  Barbadoes,  was  "  Master 
of  the  Ordnance,  and  Treasurer  of  the  Island,**  and  soon  after 
was  compelled  to  leave  Barbadoes  for  Surinam,  of  which  place 
ho  was  chosen  Governor,  and  where  he  remained  until  the  Dutch 
dcct  in  1666  took  possession  of  that  place,  which  was  finally 
ceded  to  the  Dutch  in  1667.  William,  now  General,  Bjram, 
next  settled  at  Antigua,  where  he  died  in  1670,  in  the  forty- 
eighth  year  of  his  age,  leaving  three  sons,  for  whom  tide  Burke's 
L.  a. :  Byak,  of  Amtioua,  and  of  Sombbsbtbhibx. 

VOL.  II.  x  2 


308  USGOOLD.  [CLOTNE. 

The  other  children  of  Precentor  Byam  were  Edward,  who 
died  young;  John,  buried  at  Bridgewater,  in  1644;  Henry; 
Barry ;  and  Arthur,  who  are  suppoaed  to  have  perished  in  the 
troubles  of  1641  in  Ireland;  Sarah,  wife  of  Oapt.  Thomas 
Morley ;  Elisabeth,  wife  of  B«v.  Augustine  Kingsmill,  R.  Mo- 
geesha,  q.  v.;  Market,  alive  in  1639;  Joan,  wife  of  Capt. 
Thomas  Mills,  of  Ballebeg,  county  Cork  ;  and  Anne,  unmarried 
in  1669.  [Byam  Memoirs.  Tenby.  1862.] 
1661  and  1663.  John  Etbleioh  appears  as  Precentor.  [V.B. 
D.R.]     He  was  also  Dean  of  Ross,  q.  v. 

1661  and  1662.  Vicaria  de  Ymphrick  vacat.    In  1663  and 

1665  Mr.  John  Eveleigh  is  Vicar.     [V.B.] 

1664.  June  16.  Benjamin  Cross  is  admitted  to  the  Precentorship, 

consisting  of  Bally gourney,  Ballycarana,  Lisgoold,  and  Imphrick 

[D.R.],  vacant  by  resignation  of  John  Eveleigh.    [V.B.  1669.] 

In  1668  and  following  years  "  Precentor  tenet  vicariam  de 
Ymphrick  pro  sequestr."     [V.B.] 

Benjamin  Cross,  of  Emmanuel  College,  Cambridge,  was  Pre- 
centor of  Cloyne,  and  P.  Holy  Trinity,  Cork,-  from  1664  to 
1683.     He  was  afterwards  Rector  of  Spelsbury,  in  Dorsetshire. 

He  married  Anne,  daughter  and  co-heir  of  John  Eveleigh, 
Dean  of  Ross,  q.  v.,  and  by  her  had  issue  three  sons,  John, 
Robert,  and  William,  who  all  died  Sp.;  and  three  daughters — 
TryphsBua,  died  unmarried;  Mary  (who  married  in  16S7, 
William  Collis,  and  bore  to  him,  inter  alios,  three  sons — 1. 
John,  who  by  his  wife,  Elisabeth  Cooke,  had  issue  William  and 
John  Collis  ;  2.  Rev.  Thomas,  of  Dingle,  who  married  Avis 
Bleu nerhasset, and  had  three  daughters;  3.  Edward  Collis,  who, 
by  Ellen  Hilliard,  his  wife,  had  four  sons);  and  Elisabeth,  wife 
of  John  Blennerhasset,  esq. 

Rev.  B.  Cross  inherited  from  Dean  Eveleigh  the  lands  of 
Blackball  and  Coplands  meade,  near  Oxford. 
1683.  Nov.  29.  Matthew  Jones,  Precentor.     [F.P.]     He  was  also 

P.  Cooline.  Ho  became,  in  1687,  P.  Donoghmore,  q.  v. 
1685.  May  1.  John  Patrickson,  a.m.,  Precentor.  [F.F.]  On  letters 
patent  from  Crown,  dated  March  25,  1684.  [Lib.  Mun.]  He 
took  the  chapter  oath  on  12th  Nov.,  1685.  On  3rd  Sept., 
1706,  he  was  fined  by  the  Chapter  40«.  for  having  contuma- 
ciously absented  himself.  In  1711  he  was  elected  Sub-Dean, 
and  in  1712  was  President  of  the  Chapter.  [C.B.]  In  1704 
he  was  Proctor  Capituli  Rossen.  to  Convocation. 

Patrickson  received  a  second  patent  to  this  Precentorship  on 
14th  March,  1685.     [Lib.  Mun.J 

1694.  "Precentor  ad  quern  spectaut  R,  de  Kilcredane,  V. 
de  Ballycarany,  V.  de  Lisgoole,  R.  de  Iniphricke  (perpetually 
united,  and  appropriate  to  the  Chantorship,  but  not  contiguous- 
yearly  value  about  40  pounds);  also  R.  V.  Ballygourney,  and  v! 
de  Imphricke,  impropriated  to  Chantorship,  but  not  contiguous  • 
yearly  value,  28  pounds.     Dominus  Episcopus  patronus.     Mr' 


CLOTVE.]  USOOOLD.  809 

Johes.  Fatrickson  makes  frequent  journeys  to  Dublin,  and  stays 
there— very  negligent  in  his  cures.  Nulla  ecclesia.  Anciently 
there  was  a  church  at  Ballygourney,  but  it  is  long  ago  fallen 
to  ruin.  Mr.  Benjamin  Lukey  is  Impropriator  of  Lisgool." 
"  Reef  irap'de  Carrigtohill,  Killcur8in,Ballyspellane,  et  Lisgool^ 
val.  40  pounds.  Johes  Jephson  olim  impropriator,  nunc  Ben. 
Lukey  ut  fertur.     Nulla  ecclia  Lisgool."     [Palliser.] 

J.  ratrickson,  son  of  John  Fatrickson,  was  bom  in  the 
county  Down,  and  when  fifteen  years  old,  entered  T.C.D.,  on 
Hth  Dec,  1C6G,  and  obtiiined  a  Scholarship  in  1667. 

He  was,  from  1G8I  to  1717,  Precentor  of  Boss,  and  V.  Kil- 
maccabeeand  Kilfaughnabeg.  He  was  also,  from  1683  to